For home theater sound that pulls you into the movie action, check out the popular Bose® Acoustimass® 16 speaker system. It uses six of Bose's famously tiny, swiveling, dual-cube speakers to create rich, room-filling audio. Bose's patented Direct/Reflecting® speaker technology helps this system deliver wraparound effects, sending a mixture of direct and reflected sound to your ears. Plus, those small cubes don't clutter up your living room the way some full-sized speakers might.

The powered Acoustimass® bass module (the same one found in the AM15 Series II system) provides deep, rich, room-filling lows — thanks to the three 5-1/4" woofers, Bose is able to describe it as having "the deepest bass" of any Acoustimass bass module yet. Sound good? You betcha. And it's compact enough for unobtrusive placement in almost any room.

With color-coded cables, this system is exceptionally easy to get up and running. Bose build quality and electronic protection circuitry mean this system will be filling your room with sound for years to come. Now, set it up, sit back, and enjoy the transformation of your movies and music!

Details:

  • six video-shielded, dual-cube satellite speakers
  • each speaker has two 2-1/2" drivers
  • powered bass module has three 5-1/4" drivers
  • recommended power 10-200 watts with receivers rated from 4 to 8 ohms
  • satellites: 3-1/8"W x 6-3/16"H x 4-1/8"D
  • Acoustimass bass module: 8-1/4"W x 16-5/16"H x 29-1/8"D
  • warranty: 5 years drivers, 1 year electronics

Why choose a pre-matched speaker system?

Looking for speakers that'll deliver thrilling, edge-of-your-seat surround sound? Choosing a pre-matched speaker system is one way to ensure seamless home theater performance. These systems are made up of speakers that share the same tonal characteristics — that means the sound will stay consistent as it moves from speaker to speaker around your room. Most pre-matched systems come with a subwoofer — a must-have for high-impact bass.

Hands-on research

What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • Black powered Acoustimass module
  • 6 Black dual-cube speaker arrays
  • One 8' AC power cord
  • 1 Black 20' system input cable (has a 15-pin female connector on one end and tinned wire/single male RCA jack on the other end)
  • 3 Black 20' front speaker cables (each cable has a male RCA connector on one end and tinned wire on the other end)
  • 1 Black 49.75' rear speaker cable (the cable has two male RCA connectors on one end and tinned wire on the other end for both rear speakers)
  • 1 Black 49.75' center rear speaker cable (the cable has a male RCA connector on one end and tinned wire on the other end)
  • 4 Self-adhesive rubber feet for the front center cube speaker
  • Owner's Guide (English/Spanish/French)
  • Quick setup guide
  • Important Safety Instructions
  • Bose Product Registration and Warranty Information
  • List of worldwide Bose corporate contacts
  • "Our Commitment To You" letter

Features and Specs

General
Enclosure Bass reflex
Video Shielded Cubes
Pieces in System 7
Color Black
Tweeter Not Given
Midrange size (inches) 2-1/2
Woofer size (inches) 5-1/4
Woofer Composition Paper
Woofer Surround Foam
Impedance (Ohms) 8
Connector Type Spring clip
Mounting Bracket Included No
Recommended Stand Height (inches) 30-40
Parts Warranty 5 Years*
Labor Warranty 5 Years*
Specifications
RMS Power Range (watts) 10-200
Subwoofer RMS Power (watts) Not Given
Dimensions
Main Speakers (inches) 6-3/16H x 3-1/8W x 4-1/8D
Center Speaker (inches) 6-3/16H x 3-1/8W x 4-1/8D
Surround Speakers (inches) 6-3/16H x 3-1/8W x 4-1/8D
Subwoofer (inches) 16-5/16H x 8-1/4W x 29-1/8D

Product Research

Features
Controls
Inputs and Outputs
Specifications
Dimensions
Warranty Note

Features

6.1-Channel Speaker System: The Acoustimass 16 offers 6 cube speakers and the Acoustimass module to accommodate 6.1-channel receivers, providing more realistic, cinema-like sound. The newly-added Center Surround cube speaker array covers a broad soundstage with full, rich, spacious performance.

Virtually Invisible Speaker System Design: The Virtually Invisible speaker system design gives you expansive sound without dominating your décor. The Acoustimass module delivers deep, powerful bass without audible port noise, so it can be hidden almost anywhere in the listening area. The music and sound effects seem to come from the tiny cube speaker arrays.

Next-generation Powered Acoustimass Module: The newly engineered Acoustimass module uses a proprietary acoustic enclosure and patented technologies to produce deeper, richer and louder bass than the previous generation.

Direct/Reflecting Speaker Technology: The Direct/Reflecting speaker technology helps the compact cube speaker arrays deliver more open, spacious sound throughout the listening area. You hear enhanced surround sound and exceptionally lifelike stereo with a larger soundstage.

Integrated Signal Processing: The Bose patented integrated signal processing compensates for the human ear's reduced sensitivity to bass at low volumes. You hear the proper balance of deep bass, even at very low, late-night listening levels and dialogue continues to sound natural.

Automatic System Protection Circuitry: When played at high volume, this system's automatic protection circuitry activates to prevent damage to the system from electrical stress or overload. When this happens, you may notice a slight decrease in volume, which is normal.

Drivers: The powered Acoustimass module uses three 5-1/4" high-excursion paper cone woofers, each with a foam surround. Each cube speaker array features dual 2-1/2" wide-range Twiddlers. The top and bottom sections of the cube speaker arrays can be rotated to create room-filling sound patterns.

Cube Speaker Mounting: Each cube speaker array has a rear-mounted 5mm female threaded insert. The threaded inserts allow you to mount the cube speaker arrays using optional stands or wall-mount brackets.

Controls

Left Side of Acoustimass Module:

  • LFE: the LFE level control increases or decreases the relative level of low-frequency effects on movie soundtracks
  • Bass: allows you to increase or decrease the bass level of the Acoustimass module

Inputs and Outputs

Bottom of Acoustimass Module:

  • Audio Input: 15-pin male jack for use with supplied system input cable. The other end of the system input cable has tinned wire that connects to the Left Front, Right Front, Center Front, Left Rear, Center Rear and Right Rear speaker outputs and a male mono RCA plug that connects to the subwoofer output of the A/V receiver or amplifier.
  • Audio Output: 6 RCA jacks (Left Front, Right Front, Center Front, Left Rear, Center Rear and Right Rear); using the supplied speaker cables, these jacks connect to the cube speaker arrays
  • Power: jack for use with supplied AC power cord

Specifications

Specifications:

  • Connectivity: compatible with A/V receivers and amplifiers rated from 10 to 200 watts per channel, rated from 4 to 8 ohms

Dimensions

Dimensions:

  • Powered Acoustimass Module: W=8.234", H=16.3125", D=29.125"
  • Cube Speaker Arrays: W=3.065", H=6.184", D=4.079"

Warranty Note

Warranty Note: The drivers have a 5-year parts and labor warranty, and the electronics have a 1-year parts and labor warranty.

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Bose® Acoustimass® 16 Reviews

Average Customer Review:

3 reviews
Review this product
Great Gear Giveaway

Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Review this product:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
(e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
1500 characters left
  Attach a YouTube Review
Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
  • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
  • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
  • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
500 characters left
500 characters left

It's everything I thought it would be......and more!

Written By Julie, Redondo Beach, CA on Saturday, January 28, 2006

Wow! I couldn't believe the sound. It's definitely more bass than I would ever need. I purchased this with the Onkyo TX-SR703. The sound is so crisp and clear that I don't even realize how loud it is until I go into the next room and the walls are shaking. If you play a real action movie, you better be ready! The speakers also fill the room with sound when I play music without sounding like it's coming from one direction. I absolutely love it! It's definitely worth the price and I feel confident that Crutchfield will be there for me if I need them.

Don't under estimate the size of these speakers

Written By Tequila, Harvey,La. on Sunday, January 15, 2006

I had this system with a Bose vcs 10 center channel. Powered by a Onkyo TX-NR801 receiver that is 100 watts x 7. I had this system in a 450 sq ft room. And really had to crank it up to get it loud in that size room. But even cranked this system didn't distort. But the vcs 10,thats another story.

The vcs 10 speakers and encloser rattled and resonated so bad it made the rest of the system sound like crap. The vcs 10 was ran right to the receiver,the AM 16 cubes was ran through the AM sub. So I figured maybe that was the problem with it not being x-over like the cubes. I tried every setting on the Onkyo but nothing helped the vcs 10.

So I started reading all these websites that bash Bose,and I was brain wash into thinking I needed a bigger system with bigger speakers. But all I really needed was a better center channel. I got a new system with bigger speakers, and its much louder. But it really wasn't much better than the Bose AM 16. You know you can only turn your system so loud anyways before the neighbors start to complain. This system gets plenty loud. Bose just need a better center channel to go with it. Because 1 of the AM 16 cubes won't do either.

If this system had a better center channel I would give it 5 out of 5 stars. Because of the small system and how easy it is to put anywere in any room. Its great for music but is horrible for movies.

Best Sound there is.

Written By Adam, Charleston, SC on Tuesday, December 27, 2005

I recently upgraded my sound system from a samsung all in one reciever/dvd player 5.1 channel to the bose acoustimass 16 with a pioneer elite 7.1 channel reciever and a pioneer elite 5 disc dvd player. I was so amazed by the sound, it was the clearest and the loudest that I had ever heard. I didn't think that it could possible get any better and I connected it digitally with a Monster THX fiber optic cable and the sound quality probably doubled with ease. The bass from the bose acoustimass module hit harder and the sound became more clear. One of the best things that I have noticed about Bose is that the more volume you send to the speakers the louder and clearer it gets, but with my old samsung the more I turned it up it would start to distort and sound horrible. Everytime my friends come over to watch a movie or play my xbox 360, which I have run through my surround sound digitally they are amazed and sometimes tell me to turn it down cause it is to loud. I would recommend these speakers for anyone but how good you want them to sound is up to you. You can buy a crappy five channel reciever and connect it up with analog cables or you can buy a high end reciever connect it digitally and only the sky is the limit in the sound that these speakers will produce.

Get everything you’ll need to enjoy your new Bose® Acoustimass® 16

Mount your speakers on the wall or ceiling for a clean, clutter-free installation.
Pinpoint AM24

Pinpoint AM24

Adjustable wall-mount speaker bracket (Black)

Item #: 121AM24B

(20)

$24.99
Add to Cart
Pinpoint AM25

Pinpoint AM25

Ceiling-mount speaker bracket (Black)

Item #: 121AM25B

(17)

$24.99
Add to Cart
Pinpoint AM20

Pinpoint AM20

Wall- and ceiling-mount speaker bracket (Black)

Item #: 121AM20B

(49)

$34.99
Add to Cart