Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers

Item #: 018FS51

In Stock

19 Reviews | 2 questions - 17 answers

Your price: $449.99 pair Earn up to 450 Rewards points

Add to Cart Free Shipping Lifetime Tech Support

+ Add to wishlist + Email me alerts for this product

View all associated offers

The Free Space® 51 environmental speakers are yet another example of Bose®'s commitment to making great sound possible just about anywhere. They're perfect for placement in a garden or backyard, so you can enjoy your favorite music outdoors. And you don't have to worry about placing the speakers in a protected spot — constructed of ultra-durable green plastic, these sturdy speakers are ready to handle the toughest weather and sound good doing it.

Bose's innovative radial design lets each speaker disperse sound in a 360º pattern, while protecting the weather-resistant driver — no worries about finding the perfect "sweet spot" for listening. Plus, these rugged, flexible speakers can withstand temperature extremes from 158º F to -40º F, and passed the rigorous salt fog test 66% longer than required by the Marine Industry Standard. That means they can handle direct exposure to the elements. They're designed for placement flexibility, too — they can be placed on or around decks or patios, secured in-ground, mounted onto hard surfaces, or just left free-standing. And with a 5-year warranty, expect years of expansive outdoor music.

Got wire?
Most speakers don't include any. Learn more about in-wall wiring at the Crutchfield Learning Center.
Shop our selection of in-wall speaker wire.

Read our hands-on review of the Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers.

Details:

  • bass-reflex
  • downward-firing 4-1/2" environmental full-range driver
  • recommended power 10-100 watts with receivers rated from 4-8 ohms
  • base flanges with mounting holes for easy installation
  • three wire grooves in base permit stable footing and a tidy appearance
  • textured green enclosure
  • 14-1/2" base diameter; 14-7/8"H
  • withstands loads of up to 350 lbs.
  • warranty: 5 years
Priced per pair

Outdoor speakers let you move the party outside

Outdoor speakers are built tough -- they laugh at wind, rain and weather. Tuck a pair under your eaves and they'll pump out the tunes to keep everybody smiling and swaying at your next cookout or pool party. We also have some "rock" speakers that blend seamlessly into your landscaped lawn or garden.

Hands-on research

What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • 2 Free Space 51 outdoor speakers
  • 4 Wire nuts
  • Owner's Guide
  • Bose Product Registration and Warranty Information
  • "Our Commitment to You" letter
  • Bose website information sheet

Product Research

Driver Technology
Enclosure Design
Connections
Mounting Options

Driver Technology

Downward-firing 4-1/2" Full-range Drivers: Each woofer cone combines a pulp and plastic mixture with waterproofing agents for high-quality sound reproduction that is resistant to the type of deterioration often caused by extreme conditions. Because the drivers are downward-firing, they are further protected from the elements to help deliver high fidelity, long-lasting sound. Each woofer uses a treated cloth surround.

Radial Design: The Free Space 51 speakers offer exceptionally broad, even coverage thanks to a radial design that enables 360-degree sound dispersion.

Enclosure Design

Environmentally Tested: While all Bose speakers are thoroughly tested, the extreme demands placed on outdoor speakers require an even more rigorous evaluation. Bose engineers re-create extreme environmental conditions, like exposure to sunlight, rain, heat, ice, even corrosive salt and fog. They also simulate years of exposure to these conditions to ensure that these speakers can deliver reliable, long-lasting performance.

Green Speaker Enclosures: The speaker enclosures blend in with backyard greenery.

Centrally Located Ports: The centrally located port on each enclosure enhances low-frequency performance to help preserve the depth and richness of your favorite music outdoors.

Domed Port Grilles: Positioned over the centered port, this grille reflects high-frequency tones into the listening area to help deliver clear, consistent performance.

Connections

Wire Grooves: Wire grooves on the bottom of each speaker enclosure prevent the speaker from rocking on the speaker wire and enables a professional-looking installation on decks, patios and other flat surfaces.

Mounting Options

Base Flanges with Mounting Holes: The mounting holes in each base flange provide easy, solid and secure installation on hard surfaces or in the ground.

In-ground Installation: Each speaker can be buried up to 7-1/4" in the ground. With the speakers buried, 7-5/8" of each enclosure will remain above ground.

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers Reviews

Average Customer Review:

19 reviews
Review this product
Great Gear Giveaway

Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Review this product:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
(e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
1500 characters left
  Attach a YouTube Review
Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
  • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
  • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
  • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
500 characters left
500 characters left

As good as all the reviews suggest

Written By Ken, CT on Thursday, September 04, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Toiled over a variety of outdoor speaker options for around pool area (As context, we already had 2 speakers in an adjacent ourdoor porch ceiling that required being turned up really loud to hear around the pool... i.e., if you turned it up so you could hear around the pool, it would be unpleasantly loud if you sat on the porch).

Poured through reviews of various rock-shaped speakers and others that could be mounted on the fence and though many had good reviews, nothing stood out as a clear winner.

I had passed by seeing these Bose 51's many times not realizing that a large part of the speaker sits in the ground. Once I finally read the spec's and then the glowing reviews, I knew these would be it (and also knowing general Bose quality). You can tell a good review from a "wow these are life changing" reviews and there seemed to be a lot of the "wow" type on this speaker--too many for it to be a bias.

Spot on, these are amazing speakers. The omni-directional aspect - wow! I run them off a Marantz SR7005 off zone 3 which gives 125 watts per channel--but I have further split zone 3 using a Aton DLA4 speaker selector (distributes to 4 sets of speakers - 2 pairs outdoor and 2 pairs in 2 garages... these things are great at redistributing the power and giving volume panels/adjustments where needed). So even where this power is split a bit, it is plenty to drive these and sound great! Nice full sound. Some degree of bass (Not the same as if you had a sub but pretty good.

Pros: Omnidirectional sound, sound quality, look good when put behind some ornamental grass, guests are also impressed with sound

Cons: None that I have found yet

Bose free space 51 Review

Written By michael d., Austin, TX on Saturday, July 26, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Easy to set up and they sound great! I'm really enjoying them. I love my Crutchfield Team!!

Pros: Quick set up. Great crisp sound.

Cons: Wish they came in different colors.

Bose 51 Speakers

Written By JL, Corona, CA on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Wired four Bose 51 speakers to Russound X75 amplifier. Speakers are spaced 40 ft apart around our backyard pool area. . Set up left right left right. No matter where you are, the sound is great. No over bearing disturbing the neighbors. You can still have conversations with nice backroung music

Pros: Easy to setup, can bury part way in your planters.

Good outdoor speaker

Written By RickG, CT on Sunday, August 25, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Speakers have good quality sound, seem to be constructed well.

Pros: Sound. Sold as a pair.

Cons: The drain hole on the bottom does not appear to be large enough as the speaker does get water inside after rain. There is nothing obstructing the drain hole as the speakers were placed over stone as recommended. Hoping this doesn't cause any problems.

Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers

Written By BrandonK, Ohio on Thursday, August 01, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Put one on either side of my patio (buried) and they bathe the entire area in sound. Great quality.

Pros: Rich sound, easy install

Cons: A little weak with the base but I don't push them that hard.

Bose Free Space 51 Speakers

Written By Mercury, NY, NY on Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I needed outdoor speakers that could cover a large area. I tried wall-mount outdoor speakers and they just didn't get the wide dispersion. These speakers are all about 360-degree, wide dispersion which was just what I needed. Sound great and true 360-degree sound.

Pros: Wide, disperse, high quality sound.

Cons: A little inefficient. My 50-watt Sonos is just barely powerful enough. I would go with a bigger amp than 50 watts.

Bose 51

Written By Bose lover, Georgia on Friday, May 24, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I am a Bose's lover. I think Bose make the best speakers on the market for indoors. Well, the Bose 51 are the best speakers for the outdoors. Their 360 degree directional sound design is incredible. You will not believe your ears when you crank up the speakers. Very clear sound. I am thinking about buying another pair of the Bose 51 instead of installing my old Bose 151 that are just straight directional. Again, the 360 degree directional sound design is INCREDIBLE!

Pros: Great Sound.

Cons: None. Very easy to install in the ground.

Bose Free Space 51

Written By rickrolled6336, Collierville, TN on Wednesday, January 23, 2013

I heard these speakers in an outdoor mall in Collierville, TN and they sounded wonderful! Great overall sound. Crisp, clear, clean sound.

Pros: Rich overall sound.

Cons: These don't give off body shaking bass.

Awesome Speakers

Written By BobC, St. Louis Greater Area on Wednesday, July 11, 2012

These speakers are tremendous. Sound quality, including base, is extremely good. Volume without distortion is also extremely good. No problems listening to music on my patio area, in the backyard, even down at the dock when the volume is up. For the sake of decent conversation, usually I have these at low volume and they still sound great. My kids have cranked them a few times without any dire consequences too. I compared several brands and models and these came out on top. Mainly because of their range when played at a reasonable volume, but also because of their unobtrusive installation. I put these speakers in the landscaping area surrounding my rear patio more than 3 years ago. They were installed to the manufacturers suggested depth and are hooked up to my older (and I might say "very fine") Kenwood receiver which in turn is hooked up to a computer (both indoors). I control iTunes through a dedicated laptop, that I don't use anymore, right from my comfy chair on my patio. For those having problems, I'd suggest you look hard at your installation and what you are using to drive the speakers.

Pros: Nicely blend into the landscape, no hanging speakers on the house or posts with exposed wires. Also no fake looking rocks (that don't sound that great anyway). Good quality sound that is omnidirectional.

Cons: None to speak of

does not handle bass or volume

Written By Duane, cincinnati, OHIO on Monday, February 13, 2012

The Bose Free Space 51 , do not live up to the Bose name . They do not handle bass levels very well .And I've also had to return them a couple of times . I don't reccommend them for large areas .Invest your money on something else. I purchase them for my back yard pool area . Not happy at all.

Deck Party in a box

Written By Busychild, Chesapeake, VA on Wednesday, June 08, 2011

I set these up in my back yard oasis. I followed the MFG recommendations and I have them buried in the rose garden by the house with about 5/8" of the base showing. I have them powered with a HCA-1000A that is zoned from an URC-1 processor. I think that they sound very good for out door speakers. With the 360 degree disperse pattern you can walk any where in the back yard and hear them. Clearly. They have good full range and for single driver, they also have notable high end. The over all sound is smooth and colorful. They will be easy to listen to all day long in your oasis with out getting listener fatigue. If you are considering these, please note that they are a lot larger than they look in the pictures. Once installed in the ground they do blend in quite nicely. My wife and kids think they sound great too. I had considered several other speakers and I ended up going with these based on several other reviewers notes. My wife and I did a lot of research prior to putting the out side zone together. Over all I am very happy with the sound of these speakers and Crutchfield is a name you can trust. I am very glad I spent the money on this particular set of out door speakers.

Spend the money!

Written By Arthur, Columbia, S.C. on Monday, March 16, 2009

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

These speakers give a very well distributed, balanced full range sound that just seems to float in the air. The first time I heard them play was several years ago at Newport Beach, Ca. in a tank of water. They drained out the water, immediately cranked the power to them from an Onkyo amplifier, and everyone in the store came over to see what we were listening to. I have wanted them ever since but refused to spend the money. I finally broke down and made the purchase. Even my wife who normally says "it must be a guy thing, they all sound about the same to me" was impressed with the quality of the sound. We spend a lot of time outside and recommend these speakers to anyone who enjoys listening to music. They sound great at low and high volumes. I currently have them connected to a multi zone system with 50 watts of power going to them and normally have them playing betwen half and two-thirds volume. They will play considerably louder but you do not need it. My neighbor on the other side of the pond has no problem hearing the music! If you want good clean sound without having to blast out the speakers these are for you. If you want to blast out the sound these are still the speakers to get (they will take up to 100 watts of power).

High quality, good sound

Written By milesm, Salt Lake City, UT on Sunday, September 07, 2008

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This is the second set of Free Space ® 51 speakers that I have purchased. I don't believe there is a comparable speaker on the market. The first pair has been in place for more than 4 years and perform just as well today as they did when I buried them. The sound produced is somewhat subdued which is both good and bad -- great for parties and relaxation. With their relatively compact size, they do not produce DEEP base well. To qualify that, however, they are far superior to any wall- or ceiling-mounted speaker. Reproduction of sound is accurate without being harsh.

When buried, they blend well in any landscape. I have chosen to have them somewhat surrounded by plantings to keep them from being a focal point. With such a placement, people cannot determine where the sound is coming from, which is what I had wanted.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Bose® Free Space® 51
Outdoor speakers to anyone looking for an outdoor. They produce very pleasing sound that is not brash. With the in-ground mounting near walls and plantings, the sound does not carry as much to neighborhood homes and I have never had any complaints about noise -- even though I will play them at high levels in the daytime and early evenings.

Relatively high price (they are Bose®, after all, and are rarely discounted) is, in my opinion, justified by the sound and flexibility of placement.

Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers

Written By Steve, West Sayville, NY on Thursday, August 14, 2008

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I just built a new deck (650 Sq. Ft.) and permanently mounted these speakers to the deck floor on the far outsdie corners. Amazing sound for such a small speaker. I upset one neighbor with the now loud music and frequent deck parties. I never had anything outside before, but now that I do, the tunes are blasting all the time I'm outside. I also purchased an Onkyo receiver (TX-8522, XM ready) and Onkyo i-pod dock which pushes these speakers to the recommended 100 watts each producing the best sound. The only other thing I need to complete this ultimate outdoor sound system is the XM Mini tuner package. I highly recommend these speakers over the other Bose 151 and 251 Series outdoor loud speakers.

Excellent Sound for around pool

Written By TONY, Arkansas on Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I put these speakers beside my pool and was completely blown away. We
have an outdoor mall locally that uses these speakers in the flower bed so
I had an idea of what I was getting before I purchased these. The sound
is rich and carries VERY well. I've got one on each side of the deep end of
the pool and when your on the Diving board it just surrounds you with rich
sound. They are also easy to hide or just leave out in the open and they
still look fine. If a multimillion dollar mall thinks they are the best, the'll do
for my back yard. :P

Bose Free Space 51: Great Sound

Written By Larry, Austin, Tx on Saturday, April 12, 2008

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Best speaker purchase I have made in some time. Very smooth refined
audio. First Bose ever purchased. I will definitely buy Bose again! These
Bose Free Space 51's are excellent outdoor speakers. I installed them by
the pool and the sound is fantastic. My neighbors will be complaining soon!

Regarding Crutchfield, their Customer Service Dept. really did a super job
with shipping me "replacement speakers" in three days turn around. One
of the Bose was damaged in shipment. No questions, no hassel, they just
shipped out the replacement and I shipped back the original. Simple,
Done! Great service...

Great 360ø sound and practically hidden from view

Written By Matthew, CT on Tuesday, January 01, 2008

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I put these in the ground last summer and used them nearly every night for the remaining summer/fall evenings. The sound is great and the speakers are practically hidden from view. They create great atmosphere when hosting firepit parties on the patio. I've noticed our guests stay longer when there is music playing (that could be a negative though!).

We'll see how the construction/materials hold up over the winter(s) but so far so great.

Not for Volume or Bass

Written By Aggiegator, Pensacola, FL on Tuesday, June 05, 2007

I have been running my 51s for a couple of years now. At low volume levels they sound nice, but their bass is very limited and I have found that they begin to distort at very low volume levels. I am running 100 watts RMS to them through a Sony ES receiver, so the source should not be the problem. I recently bought a pair of the Mirage Omni 6s from Crutchfield to support the overworked 51s and mounted them under my cover lanai with the Bose out in the landscaping. The Mirages are far superior in music reproduction and their capability to handle the higher volume needed for a large space. This does create a problem though as my 51s begin to distort terribly... long before the Mirages even seem to be working hard. I almost am lead to think that something may be wrong with my 51s after reading the other review.

An unbelievable set of outdoor speakers

Written By Mark, Washington, NJ on Monday, May 22, 2006

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I placed these speakers about 30 feet away from each other and burried them as recommended in the manual. The directions did suggest placing them closer to one another but 30 feet was as close as I could get due to the size of my patio. The sound is simply amazing!! I have an Onkyo TX-SR803 powering the speakers and the sound has far exceeded my expectations. Considering the speakers only have 4 1/2 inch drivers, the bass is incredible. There are absolutely no down sides to these speakers after a month of HEAVY use. The price seemed a little high when I made the purchase but after listening to the speakers for a few weeks they seem like a great bargain. Buy these speakers.

Product reviews from the Crutchfield Labs

What are the Labs?

Get everything you’ll need to enjoy your new Bose® Free Space® 51 environmental speakers

UL-listed speaker wire is designed to be run through walls and is building code compliant.
Set the volume level in your remote location without going back and forth from indoors to outdoors.
Add power protection to your outdoor speakers and volume controls.
AudioQuest FLX-14/2 14-Gauge 2-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

AudioQuest FLX-14/2 14-Gauge 2-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

UL-approved for in-wall use; direct-burial rated (125 feet)

Item #: 703142125

(52)

$129.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest FLX-14/4 14-Gauge 4-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

AudioQuest FLX-14/4 14-Gauge 4-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

UL-approved for in-wall use; direct-burial rated (125 feet)

Item #: 703144125

(2)

$219.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest FLX-16/2 16-Gauge 2-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

AudioQuest FLX-16/2 16-Gauge 2-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

UL-approved for in-wall use; direct-burial rated (125 feet)

Item #: 703162125

(28)

$99.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest FLX-16/4 16-Gauge 4-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

AudioQuest FLX-16/4 16-Gauge 4-Conductor In-Wall Speaker Cable

UL-approved for in-wall use; direct-burial rated (125 feet)

Item #: 703164125

(7)

$159.99
Add to Cart
Russound WALTX-2

Russound WALTX-2

Weatherproof stereo volume control with impedance magnification

Item #: 543WALTX2

$134.99
Add to Cart
Panamax MOD-SPKP

Panamax MOD-SPKP

Add-on protection module for outdoor speakers and control lines

Item #: 299MODSPKP

$54.99
Add to Cart

Questions & Answers Ask the community. Share your knowledge.

2 questions already asked

My speakers are by a pool and also have a volume control and I have no issues with the volume level. What gauge wire and length are you using for these? I suspect you are getting a lot of loss in the cables. Are the other speakers on a separate channel of the receiver? As a test I would just connect the Bose speakers directly to your receiver with a short cable length and see if the volume level is what you are expecting. If it is, it would show you that you are losing power in your installation. [ RICHARD P  Dec 07, 2014 ]
Hello Alper, I must first tell you that I am no expert with the technical side of stereo watts and speaker ohms. I have a set of 2 of these speakers and 4 rock loud speakers. The rock speakers, also purchased from Crutchfield, are weather proof loudspeakers and provide sound 24-30 feet from each speaker. The Bose Free Space 51 speakers, are not loudspeakers, and generally provide sound coverage 3-4 meters (up to 13 feet) from center of speaker placement. I can tell you that the technical folks at Crutchfield are highly knowledgable and helped me design my system. In answering your question, I usually play zone 2 (outside speakers) no louder than 50%. I don't remember the advisors name at Crutchfield, but ask them to compare your setup to Onkyo's TX-NR709 and Niles Rock Loudspeakers. I have a total of 18 (eighteen) speakers powered by my Onkyo (inside & outside combined) split in zone 1 and zone 2, with perfect sound quality. I love Crutchfield, and have been with them for more than 2 decades. [ JEFF  Dec 01, 2014 ]
Hi Alper S. I have mine powered by the Sonos CONNECT:AMP and placed on opposite ends of my backyard, which is somewhat sizeable for San Diego standards (still about 40-50yds apart). When it is just a couple people lounging in the back, sonos volume at 50% is fine. When we entertain, it must go closer to 80% or greater (but still sounds fantastic). I hope this helps. [ MATTHEW  Nov 30, 2014 ]
I'm not a big expert in this area, but are you powering all three sets of speakers with one receiver and one set of L/R outputs? I think you may be spreading the signal/power too thin. I have two sets of these too but each channel is going through a 12 channel amp at 100w per channel. I am having no issue when I run outdoor audio to four of these Bose plus two in ceiling patio speakers. Volume is appropriate across the entire volume spectrum. sorry, I don't know what else I can tell you. Best of luck. [ BRIAN  Nov 30, 2014 ]
I fire a pair of Bose Free Space 51 speakers with a Yamaha RX-A730 receiver and find that they're not all that efficient at a lower volume setting either, especially compared to my Klipsch AWR650 "Rocks" directional speakers on my front patio. Granted, they're located about 130 feet away from my amp and I'm using direct burial 16/2 speaker cable, so I expected some loss in efficiency due to voltage drop over this distance. Like you, I find that it's at about 60%-70% volume where they begin to punch-out half way decent. I've kind of accepted that fact since I really needed omnidirectional speakers set into my backyard landscaping berms ... the Bose are awesome with their deep and discreetly dispersed sound, they're just not a booming, high-output party speaker like my Klipsch "Rocks". Hope this helps. [ Jeff  Nov 30, 2014 ]
I have them hooked up to a separate amplifier. I don't really know what level. I do know that they sound amazing. [ STEVEN  Nov 30, 2014 ]
My house in az has a cement brick privacy fence like all homes here. We have two around our pool and it is tear dropped shaped. About 14 by 40. Two speakers is enough for us but they are up against the wall I mentioned. That helps keep the sound in the area. That said we never turn it up past 40 percent volume. I think u will be just fine with two. [ BRIAN  Jul 20, 2014 ]
I have a 16 X 36 pool and installed two of these in the garden area that runs along the far side of the pool (long side). They are spaced right about 30 feet apart from each other and about 12 feet away from the edge of the pool. They provide plenty of sound for the pool, and surrounding areas. I would consider 4 only if I were worried about achieving a more perfect stereophonic sound. Not a fault of the speakers, but the large distances they are separated and where you intend to sit relative to that placement. But hey, it's a pool area, right? Two will provide plenty for ambient sound and can easily annoy your neighbors if you want to crank them a bit. [ MARK  Jul 19, 2014 ]
Two should be fine. I have a pool 20x40, and a 2000 sqft lawn next to it. I'm using 4 of them. Enjoy [ ZHIGANG  Jul 19, 2014 ]
2 is plenty. [ JOE M  Jul 19, 2014 ]
They are fantastic! I have high end outdoor speakers on my porch but the bose are just as good. I have 4 throughout my back yard allowing sound to be heard wherever I am. I have had the first pair since 2010 and I have nothing negative to say. I also get constant positive comments which have led to neighbors and friends installing them as well. You will enjoy them for years. [ PAUL T  Jul 19, 2014 ]
If you are only installing the Bose speakers and no other surface mount speakers than yes get four (two pair), But if you are supplementing them with a surface mount then two (one pair) is more than enough. [ TIM  Jul 19, 2014 ]
A pair is plenty. The sound is amazing. [ STEVEN  Jul 19, 2014 ]
2 speakers will be plenty. Many of the upscale outdoor malls in my area use these very speakers. It was at these malls that I first became aware of the Bose 51s. I just completed a large hard landscape of my backyard patio and these speakers are nothing short of amazing. They sound professional at low and louder levels. Thru experimentation I found that 34 feet seems to be the optimum maxiimum distance to place them apart from one another. At that distance you never have a dead area of sound, it continues flawlessly from one speaker to the other. [ MICHELLE R  Jul 19, 2014 ]
Hello Alper, I have a 20' x 40' pool and have 6 speakers total, 3 on each side of the pool (deep end, middle, and shallow end). Four of the six are rock speakers (also purchased from Crutchfield). All of the speakers combined provide outstanding surround sound, and by having extra speakers, you don't have to play music too loud in order to hear it from all areas of your yard. You may want to try 2 of the Bose 51s first, maybe placing them on each side of the pool and towards the middle. As far as the performance of the speaker, I am very pleased with my purchase and highly recommend the Bose 51s environmental speakers. The sound is incredible. I hope this helps. - Best regards, Jeff [ JEFF  Jul 19, 2014 ]
The two we installed around our pool can be heard 400 feet away. Love them!!! [ KURT J  Jul 19, 2014 ]
I forwarded your question to an Advisor and they responded with the following: I'm sure going with two of them would be ok, but if you are after more volume and overall output for a space of that size I would recommend going with 4. If you would like to discuss further you can contact an Advisor directly by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat. [ Krissy  Jul 19, 2014 ]  Staff