Skip Navigation

Yamaha R-S300

Stereo receiver

36 Reviews | 8 questions - 25 answers

Overview

Our take on the Yamaha R-S300

The Yamaha R-S300 is a classic-style stereo receiver with a few simple improvements that are sure to please. Yes, you'll get 50 rock-solid watts per channel to drive your favorite speakers. And you'll get the audio inputs you expect to connect a turntable, a tape deck, and more. But you'll also have an input for an optional dock for your iPod® or iPhone®. There's even a line-level output so you can add a powered sub.

Seems like a bargain. Solid feel, sounds great, and good price.

Willie F, Santa Fe, NM

What's in the Box:

  • Black stereo receiver
  • Wireless remote control (RAX23)
  • 2 "AA" batteries
  • AM loop antenna
  • FM wire antenna (with push-on "F" connector)
  • Owner's manual
  • Warranty information
  • On-line product registration information

Product Highlights:

  • 50 watts x 2 (stereo) into 8 ohms (20-20,000 Hz) at 0.04% THD
  • 4-ohm capability allows use with a wide range of speakers
  • 40 AM/FM presets
  • 5 audio inputs (including phono)
  • 1 mono RCA output for powered subwoofer
  • input for optional iPod/iPhone dock:
  • rotary bass and treble controls
  • continuously variable loudness control
  • Pure Direct mode bypasses tone, balance, and loudness controls for cleaner sound
  • remote control
  • headphone jack
  • front-panel and remote switching for two pairs of main speakers
  • binding post speaker connectors
  • sleep timer
  • 17-1/8" W x 6" H x 15-3/8" D
  • weight: 19 lbs.
  • warranty: 2 years
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee
Reviews

Yamaha R-S300 Reviews

Average Customer Review:

36 Reviews

Yamaha R-S300

Written by: Anonymous from New York, NY on May 28, 2016

I have not hooked up my system because of my finances. BUT what I can say is that the staff are incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, trustful, and every other possible adjective I can think of. I am a senior citizen and remember when sales associates all these qualities Service was the norm. It still is at Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Yamaha R-S300

Written by: Willie F from Santa Fe, NM on April 28, 2016

Seems like a bargain. Solid feel, sounds great, and good price.

Pros: Affordable, and is compatible with my 4-Ohm speakers.

Cons: None.

Very Nice Receiver

Written by: AnalogMan from Johnson City, TN on April 19, 2016

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I read all the reviews I could find before purchasing this one. I was never able to find a comment from anyone on the bass response, although many commented on the clarity and the variable loudness control. The bass response is outstanding, especially at low volume and I've quit using my 80's model Kenwood equalizer. I may even unhook it and pack it away in the near future. I've been on a quest for a rich full sound since my Pioneer receiver went south about four years ago. I replaced it with a 100 watt Teac with good specs, but something was missing. Soon, I found myself looking for a good used equalizer which I alluded to earlier. Something was still missing so I put an area rug on my hardwood floor to reduce reflected sound. Something was still missing. I finally pulled the string on the Yamaha and the difference is WOW! I used to think that the sound of your system came mostly from the speakers and that receivers mostly just pushed current around. Boy was I wrong. If you're looking for a nice linear sound with some punch, I don't think you could go wrong with this. I'm actually hearing for the first time what my old school JBL 3 ways that I've had for fifteen years can deliver. Presetting the stations is a breeze too. Thank you Yamaha and thank you Crutchfield for the five star communication and shipping.

Pros: Solid look and feel. The brushed metal face looks classy and like it would cost much more.

Cons: The control knobs have a plastic feel to them. That's my only negative. Otherwise, it's a perfect ten. I'm just happy to feel the soul moving vibration of my classic rock again like the synthesizers in Heart's Magic Man and ELP's Lucky Man.

Works fine so far.

Written by: Denver Dolly from Denver, CO on April 18, 2016

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I have my TV running through my sound system speakers and needed the invaluable help of a Crutchfield tech person to set that up. For some reason, the TV connection would only work on the CD jack outlets of the receiver. But they work there and the CD cables work on the Line 2 outlets. Sound is fine, for both sets of speakers. Haven't tried a turntable yet. Might need a new turntable first.

Pros:

Cons: My old receiver had 3 outlets in the back for other pieces of equipment. That's a nice feature that this Yamaha unit does not have. I'm rating the unit a 4 star because of the lack of these outlets. What really matters to me tho is that it works well and for a long time. That may not be fair. Customers have to decide this.

Item #: 022RS300

Written by: dswopes from Pueblo West, CO on April 7, 2016

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-S300 Stereo receiver is just what I needed. All I required was a receiver to use with my turntable and the Yamaha R-S300 is perfect for my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Simple But Sufficient

Written by: Gary S from Millstadt, IL on March 7, 2016

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-S300 receiver is exactly what I was looking for in a replacement for my 35+ year-old Pioneer receiver that recently gave up the ghost. I'll probably (at first) only use about half the features included with the R-S300 but it's just what I needed to power my cassette deck, turntable, CD & DVD players. It has more than enough wattage to drive 2 sets of speakers with no distortion. Also appreciated is the ability to pre-set 40 FM stations (like we have that many worth listening to here). Never owned any Yamaha products before but based on reputation I'm hoping this is the last receiver I'll ever need to purchase.

Pros: Basic component, easy to set-up with an actual printed owners manual that answered my questions (didn't really understand the function of the loudness knob til now), even easier to operate

Cons: Attaching bare-wire speakers was a little awkward

Yamaha Stereo Reciever

Written by: Anthony from Jackson Hole, Wyoming, U.S.A. on January 26, 2016

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great sounding Receiver...Great Features and Quality...Very Satisfied...Thank You...

Pros:

Cons:

R-S300

Written by: Steven D from hannibal, MO on January 19, 2016

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Sounds good and easy to set up. Replaced a 28 yr old receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Really nice receiver

Written by: BHD from Connecticut on December 24, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Nothing to say but love this receiver. Wonderful sound, easy to use and nice looking design.

Pros: Everything mentioned above

Cons: None

Great Sound

Written by: Reu N from North Carolina on November 22, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great sound from my speakers, and the level of tones from the turntable are awesome. For a modestly priced receiver, the quality is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Wonderful Receiver

Written by: Steve S. from California on November 12, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I always thought my speakers were inferior, judging by the sound I got through my previous Denon Receiver. But once I hooked up my Yamaha R-S 300, I realized it was the receiver that had been the problem, not the speakers. Now I have really great sound coming through my perfectly good speakers.

Pros: Easy to use machine, producing great sound.

Cons: You have to buy a separate device to use Bluetooth.

Great sounding stereo

Written by: BillJ from Kansas City, Missouri on September 15, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This replaced my KLH R3000M receiver. It's a great upgrade. The stereo radio sounds good, and CDs played through the Yamaha sound even better. I now hear details from individual instruments that I never heard before! Lots of connectors give this unit great versatility.

Pros: Great sounds, lots of connectors.

Cons: None.

Yamaha R-S300

Written by: Anonymous from lewiston, me on July 26, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Very good for the price.

Pros: solid, reliable

Cons: the overall sound is not as lovely as my old Jolida, but it is less fussy

Love hi current amps

Written by: Warcry from Lansing KS. on June 22, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Fantastic,the high current amp makes my Klipsch towers and bookshelves really sing.I love the sub out feature which I guess is typical now but my last Yamaha didn't have that,sure simplified my wiring.Sounds great,easy set up and looks pretty cool.Very happy with this choice.

Pros: Its so easy to operate,you almost don't need the handbook.

Cons: None

Great sterio

Written by: patrick s from Florida on June 2, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

great stereo. need one for outdoor use by the pool (under cover of course). . puts out plenty of sound with 4 speakersi

Pros: love that I can hook up my ipod through the optional ipod dock. great power

Cons: none to mention at this time. have had the unit 2 weeks.

R-S300

Written by: LorieP from Michigan on March 27, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This unit replaced my Yamaha CR-820 that I've been using for 40+ years. I was reluctant to replace it hoping to find a fix. Then reality hit that most appliances need replacement after 20-25 years. I bought this. Initial problem was connecting the speakers. Once I called Crutchfield for assistance and successfully found sound, it's been wonderful. No regrets. A great replacement. Glad I stayed with Yamaha.

Pros: Size and weight.

Cons: Speaker connection isn't the clearest.

Great Value

Written by: Anonymous from Omaha, Ne on March 8, 2015

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great receiver. Has all the inputs I needed and sounds great. Easy to use and listen to.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

R-S300 Yamaha

Written by: J.L. from Charlotte, NC on December 14, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Replaced a 20+ year old Yamaha with the new unit. It is simple to configure (turn table, CD player, and yes, a cassette player). Works fine and sounds great on some really old Polk Audio speakers. Hats off to the Crutchfield expert who confirmed that this was the right purchase for my needs.

Pros: Simplicity and sound

Cons: None so far

Questionable quality

Written by: Tom M from Eugene, OR on December 8, 2014

I bought this receiver locally. Initially I was interested in a NAD receiver, but the salesman steered me toward the Yamaha saying I'd get the same performance for less money. I voiced my skepticism based on the fact the the first Yamaha receiver I owned had a problem during warranty that required two repairs. "Not to worry," he said. "Yamaha equipment is quite reliable." Here we are, 18 months later and the input selection knob on my receiver is malfunctioning. It will sometimes skip an input, or switch to an incorrect input. Fortunately I can have it repaired under warranty. Unfortunately, 100% of the Yamaha receivers I've owned have had problems during the warranty period. I expect better build quality from this brand, but haven't gotten it. My experience makes me question how good their products really are.

Pros: Excellent FM reception. Easy to set up and use.

Cons:

Yamaha R-S300

Written by: Erica Bartoe from Hamburg NY on October 31, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Very reasonable

Pros:

Cons:

Great for an uncomplicated system!

Written by: Gail C from Livingston, NJ on September 1, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I was looking for a receiver to replace my old Denon. I picked the Yamaha upon the recommendation of an audiophile who is a radio DJ and former manager of a record/audio equipment store. I needed something that had a spot for a turntable (many do not) . This fit the bill! I was also concerned about hooking up my iPod to the receiver. I spoke to tech support and he said that I could probably hook it up as is with my Apple Universal Dock or buy an adapter at Radio Shack. It works fine but I had to connect it to "tape" since my dock does not have a USB connector. Works perfectly. You don't have to buy a dock that costs almost as much as the receiver unless you are determined to use the remote for everything. Very easy to hook up. Sounds better than my old Denon. Highly recommend it for someone who doesn't need every imaginable bell and whistle.

Pros: Simple set-up Contains phono input Sounds great Easy to use

Cons: None

Bargain Receiver

Written by: Alan S from Arvada, CO on July 8, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I replaced my 'worn out' Nakamichi Receiver 2 with the Yamaha R-S300 after looking at favorable online reviews. I can say I am nothing but pleased. There is nothing I would change about the looks or performance of this receiver.

Pros: Phono input (MM only), 24 radio presets, simple operation, excellent sound and good looks.

Cons: Maybe a bit larger and heavier than I had anticipated, but no big deal.

Great value, love it

Written by: Greg... from Virginia on April 30, 2014

After talking with the salesperson at the Charlottesville store, really liked what he had to say about this unit. Happy I bought it. It is a very simple and straight forward unit. Like the room on the back panel for connecting other components and speakers, including a sub woofer. The FM antennea looked kind of questionable, but it works great. And we live in an area with horrible reception. Have not tried the AM antenna, nor do I own an iPod, so no comment there. Love the Pure Direct feature. The owners manual explains why the display panel goes out, but if you make an adjustment, it temporarily does come back on. Not a worry, or to me. The unit has a big clean sound. Very happy with it.

Pros: Very simple and straight forward to operate. Great sound.

Cons:

For The Value Investor

Written by: RB from Memphis,TN on April 6, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

On the front end,I'm not nor to I desire to be an audiophile. I have three old receivers: Onkyo, Denon and JVC but I wanted to update a basic stereo set up for the home. I cut the list down to an Onkyo and the Yamaha RS-300. I was swayed by the customer reviews to try the Yamaha. Buying an "open box" and using "reward points" I got a great bargain from the great Crutchfield. Within ten minutes I had it up and running (not interested in the remote ) and hooked to my Infinity's and NAD cd player. Pushed the "PURE DIRECT" button and sat and sampled Classical,Jazz and Folk favorites. It was amazing. If I do use the FM,it will be for NPR so I spent very little time on this feature. I did purchase the Yamaha IPOD doc from another retailer and hooked my Classic up and it worked fine. Plenty of power for the average room without pushing the amp. It is a solidly built unit and for the money offers all the hook ups most will need for a music set up. I did not have issues with the knob quality or other con's listed in some reviews; I can hear the quality inside.

Pros: Really like and use the "Pure Direct" switch button; it just makes the music come alive. A real bargain that delivers quality and features for the basic home stereo set up.

Cons: None. If I wanted all the bells and whistles; then I would have to be prepared to spend two to three times the cost of the Yamaha.

R S300

Written by: Dean from Onalaska, WI on January 24, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Simply yet great sound

Pros: Easy setup, great sound

Cons: Having to buy the iPod docking unit

every thing and more

Written by: dirtguy from uhrichsville ohio on January 2, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

wow I think this is the best receiver you can buy for the money. don't let the 50 watts fool you. i bought this unit to drive a set of 25 year old 50 watt pioneer speakers and they not only sound better than before butt I think this unit would have no problem with 100 watt speakers. What a great receiver

Pros: easy setup

Cons: front panel is not lit i.e.. control knobs. so put in a well lit space

review of Yamaha R-S300

Written by: RKW from Carmel IN on September 22, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I received the first unit, dead in the water. Wouldn't even turn on. However, Crutchfield immediately sent me a new unit, on their own dime, with return labels for the old unit. New one works great, exactly what I was hoping for.

Pros: Simple to set up, slick simple looks. Built like a tank. Lows, highs, and most importantly mid range and background is very clear. (when I hear a snare drum, I don't just want to hear a drum, I want to hear the snares. I want to hear the ding of a triangle, get it? Bass has a nice presence, and the pure direct button, does indeed make the sound crisp and lifelike.

Cons: Having to buy a dock unit, is kind of an inconvenience. Be easier to just have an input jack for iPods and iPhones, and Androids. Doesn't matter, I can do a Y input with a jack on one end, and RCA's on the other end.

Great value

Written by: Leo H from Allentown, PA on August 21, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Simple, yet effective receiver for non-AV sources. For those of us who still have vinyl, CD and cassettes, this receiver is an economical yet musical solution.

Pros: Ease of set up, easy to navigate controls

Cons: None that I have found, yet

A step up

Written by: randall from Nashville, Tn on June 22, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I bought this Yamaha R- S300 to mate with some old Pioneer speakers I refurbished with new woofers. The sound coming out of this receiver outclasses the sound I was getting from my old Sherwood. You can't go wrong with Yamaha quality. I has a phono output which was an influence on my decision to buy. I am very pleased with the purchase.

Pros: Sound quality....good looks....separate controls for bass and treble

Cons: none

yamaha r-s300

Written by: marty g from va beacb on February 8, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This was an upgrade for on onkyo receiver I've had since 94. It is a great simple way to listen to CD, FM and patch the blu ray and tv into the system. Now just need to update the cd player. I did replace the wires and cables with AudioQuest and a noticable improvement even with my old ears.

Pros: good performance at a reasonable cost. always enjoyed Yamaha products during the yrs.

Cons: none

Great big sound for tiny little bucks

Written by: Harry from North Carolina (Y'all!) on December 4, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Is this the worlds greatest audiophile receiver? No. Is this a great receiver for the money? Oh yeah! While it does not have outlets in the rear of the unit to plug in your ancillary gear, and it isn't the most powerful unit in its price range, it has great FM sensitivity (with a cheap powered indoor antenna from Radio Shack), solid sound, and when you hit the "Pure Direct" button, the sound becomes full and rich, and very, very satisfying for the money. I wanted the very expensive NAD, and a new set of speakers, but what I could afford is to keep my old Cerwin Vegas, and this Yahaha. Am I satisfied? YES!!!! Would I recommend this unit? Again, yes, as long as you weren't trying to fill an ampitheatre, and just wanted to listen to music in a normal room. And yes, it will get darn near loud enough to make your ears bleed at close range with a proper Led Zeppelin CD!

Pros: Great sound for the money. Very solid unit, good FM reception, great sound.

Cons: None, really.

Yamaha R-S300

Written by: mobydoug from Denver Metro, CO on October 30, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great receiver for rock music as the midrange and lows are very storng. Lacking in the highs though. Amazing receiver for the price.

Pros: Great unit overall. Rock on.

Cons: Highs are weak and the treble increase just adds to a synthtic sound.

no pre outs

Written by: Anonymous from Pensacola, Fl on August 29, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

couldnt believe it didnt have pre outs to connect to an amp. My 30 year old reciever has them. Had to send it back before use

Pros:

Cons: No preouts

I love this receiver!

Written by: RichardJ from Youngstown, NY on July 6, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I absolutely love this receiver. I was dissatisfied with the performance of my Pioneer SX-2600 receiver when listening to music at low volumes. 99% of my listening is CDs and about 1% is turntable or radio. The ability to play cleanly at low volume was an essential need and the Yamaha R-S300 exceeds my expectations. From the moment I connected it the sound was so clean I picked out subtleties in the music that I never heard before. And when I need to crank it up it sounds just as nice. Easy hook-up, simple to use, and fantastic performance. I like the black cabinet and face and the style of the buttons has Yahama written all over it - a nice change from the standard round knobs. The remote seems adequate but quite honestly, I didn't buy the unit for the features on the remote - I'm the type to actually get up and walk over to the unit to make my adjustments.

Pros: Easy to hook-up. Simple to operate. Very clean sound. Ability to apply negative dB to the volume as well as rattle my neighbors windows if I desired.

Cons: None.

Very nice for the price

Written by: John S from Vermont on June 20, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I bought this unit for a small bedroom system where I didn't need or want mega power. And I needed an amp that was compatible with 4 ohm speakers less than 65 Watts. The sound is crisp and clean. The tuner is remarkable. Loads of features. Really like the sleep feature and the power saver feature. A little complicated to set up at first. Loads of menus. But very versatile for such an inexpensive unit. Its kinda big though. Lot of empty space in there. Seems like a waste. One thing I don't like so much is the new knobs Yamaha has put on this line. I like round controls. These straight up and down stick knobs don't seem right. But thats just my personal preference. Overall you can't beat what you get in this receiver for the money.

Pros: High quality sound and versatility for little money.

Cons: A little complicated and a little big.

Nice, too complex

Written by: anon from Seattle, WA on February 7, 2011

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

good stuff: Sounds nice. I update from a 20+ year old amp, and this is a noticeable improvement. Very happy with sound. "Relatively" simple to use - select function by turning a knob. Nice big volume control. Annoyances: 1) using the "Pure Direct" function causes the screen to blank, and this behavior cannot be overridden. This is a huge issue for me, and I almost sent it back. What are they thinking?????? Screen blanking should be a user function, not tied to an unrelated button. They should have put screen blanking on the display dimmer button instead. 2) many functions are available only through the remote. I strongly dislike this philosophy. MOST of those functions I don't need anyway, so perhaps it won't matter. Time will tell. 3) Tuning and Programming radio stations is really awkward using the scan up/down buttons. That seems to be fashion these days. Fortunately, there are enough memories that you should only have to do it once. 3) The included FM antenna will only work for a few people, as it comes directly off the back of the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Details

Hands-on research

What's in the box?

Download the Yamaha R-S300 manual

  • Black stereo receiver
  • Wireless remote control (RAX23)
  • 2 "AA" batteries
  • AM loop antenna
  • FM wire antenna (with push-on "F" connector)
  • Owner's manual
  • Warranty information
  • On-line product registration information

Product Research

Audio Features
Remote Control

Audio Features

ToP-ART/High Current Amplification: Yamaha uses the ToP-ART (Total Purity Audio Reproduction Technology) design concept, which combines the latest and best technologies, parts, and circuit designs, to maximize sound quality. High Current Amplification uses superior quality components from input to output to achieve high current power with low impedance.

High-Quality Power Amplifier: With 50 watts of power per channel (at 8 ohms, 20 Hz-20 kHz, 0.04% THD), the R-S300 delivers solid, reliable audio performance even when driving both A and B speakers at the same time.

Wide Frequency Response: The receiver's wide frequency response, 10Hz to 50kHz, allows you to enjoy the full fidelity of any source with two channel analog outputs.

Loudness: The amount of loudness compensation is adjustable, using a rotary knob on the front panel.

Pure Direct: The Pure Direct feature bypasses the bass, treble, balance, and loudness controls for the best sound from any source.

Speaker Terminals: All of the receiver's speaker terminals are binding posts. They are not 5-way binding posts because a plastic collar prevents their use with spade lugs and they are too far apart for dual banana plugs.

Bi-Wire: Compatible speakers can be bi-wired using the A and B speaker terminals simultaneously (they are wired in parallel).

Impedance Switch: The R-S300 has an impedance switch, allowing operation with 4 ohm speakers (one pair).

Phono: The RCA phono input is designed for moving magnet (MM) turntable cartridges. If you have a moving coil (MC) cartridge a phono preamp is necessary.

Headphone Jack: The receiver has a standard 1/4" headphone jack on the front panel for private listening. When headphones are plugged in, the receiver's speaker output is not muted, so remember to turn the A and B speakers off.

Max Volume Adjustment: Use this feature to set the maximum volume level (separate settings in the main zone and Zone 2); used to avoid turning the volume too loud by mistake. You can set the Max Volume from -30 dB to +15 dB in 5 dB steps, or to +16.5 dB (full volume range is -89.5 dB to +16.5 dB).

Initial Volume Setting: Use this feature to specify the volume level when the power is turned on (separate settings in the main zone and Zone 2); choose between Off (same as the volume when the unit was turned off), Mute, and -89.5 dB to + 16.5 dB in 0.5 dB increments.

Power Management: The power (main room and Zone 2) can be set to turn off after a specific amount of time without any adjustments being made; options include 4, 8, or 12 hours.

Remote Control

RAX23 Remote Control: The remote control can operate the receiver, a Yamaha CD player, and an iPod (when the optional YDS-12 iPod dock is added).

Remote Jack: The receiver a mini-jack input and output for use with other compatible components.

Sleep Timer: The sleep timer turns the receiver off after 30, 60, 90, or 120 minutes.

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team. They verify what’s in the box, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Accessories
Q & A

Customer Q&A

Crutchfield asked  
Why did you buy this?

Great features, Yamaha quality, excellent price. [ ALLEN  May 22, 2016 ]
Good quality and capability for turntable. [ Rafael  May 05, 2016 ]
I wanted an inexpensive receiver for my outdoor pool/patio area. It has performed great! [ TIMOTHY  May 01, 2016 ]
My original YAMAHA receiver bought new in 1978 just couldn't take it anymore. Given its reliability over the years, I wouldn't even consider anything else. [ Fred  Apr 12, 2016 ]
Previous experience with Yamaha products [ Jeffrey  Apr 11, 2016 ]
looking of a receiver to replace a 23 year old Pioneer that moved on to stereo heaven, reasonably priced that could handle phono, tape and cds well as iPod a bonus [ William  Mar 26, 2016 ]
Just needed a basic receiver to play CD's, records & cassettes to replace a 40 year old Pioneer that was slowly dying. [ Gary  Feb 22, 2016 ]
Overall, positive internet reviews and pricing point was below $300.00. [ Stephen  Dec 28, 2015 ]

8 questions already asked

Bare wire [ Robert  Feb 26, 2016 ]
They have both. Either type will work. You can plug a cable in where you see in the picture. Or you can loosen them which opens a hole on top where you can stick a bare wire. [ BRYAN  Feb 25, 2016 ]
Bare wire onto screw terminals. You can also use "banana plugs." [ MARK H.  Feb 24, 2016 ]
The receiver can take either type of hook-up. [ ANTHONY A  Feb 23, 2016 ]
Speaker connections can accept either RCA or bare wires. [ ALAN  Feb 23, 2016 ]
The speaker hook-ups are RCA type. [ JOHN  Feb 22, 2016 ]
I think they may have both but I know they have the bare wire type because thats what I use. [ BENJAMIN E  Feb 22, 2016 ]
They are Bare Wire [ katy  Feb 22, 2016 ]
I have mine hooked up to 2 x Blumenstein Audio Orca Classics, their Dungeness Powered subwoofer, and a U-turn Audio Orbit turntable. I have it set up in a large "great room" and it sounds incredible. The speakers are 8 ohms, but not 100% sure of the watts offhand. I play all sorts of music on mine, from Sinatra on up to the heaviest of metal, and it fills the room nicely. If I was to go back and do it over again, I would fork out the extra money and go for the R-S500, but the 300 is fine for my set up. I would highly suggest sticking to the Yamaha though. Can't beat the quality for the price. [ BRYAN  Nov 30, 2015 ]
You can hook up a turntable. I'm not sure about the speakers, but I assume the receiver would work with them. One thing I don't like about the receiver is that it lacks a switched AC outlet. I use a powered FM antenna that I consequently have to leave on all the time. [ ANTHONY A  Nov 30, 2015 ]
Hello Mike. I purchased this receiver along with some Infiniti speakers for my daughter to take with her to college. Sorry, I am not familiar with these particular Polk speakers. This receiver is pretty basic, but pushes plenty of power for her needs and the speakers sound great. My daughter is running the past and the present through this receiver. She is into vinyl and is using my vintage 1985 era Technics turntable, and also is running her ipod and ipad through it. Very good purchase for the money. [ RICHARD J  Nov 25, 2015 ]
Probably so. I use mine with a pair of Polk S6 (an older model). [ JOHN  Nov 23, 2015 ]
I forwarded your question to an Advisor and they responded with the following: This receiver can work with floor standing speakers, but that type of speaker will perform better with more power like what the R-S500 model offers. If you would like to discuss further you can contact an Advisor directly by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat. [ Krissy  Dec 12, 2014 ]  Staff
Thanks for your response, it is helpful in my decision making. I had read a review that suggested a negative impact on the sound without a subwoofer and couldn't find anything to clarify. [ paulh  Dec 08, 2014 ]
Thanks for your response, it is helpful in my decision making. I had read a review that suggested a negative impact on the sound without a subwoofer and couldn't find anything to clarify that observation. [ paulh  Dec 08, 2014 ]
Thanks for your response, it is helpful in my decision making. I had read a review that suggested a negative impact on the sound without a subwoofer and couldn't find anything to clarify. [ paulh  Dec 08, 2014 ]
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter who is into my old vinyl collection so she could play my old turntable through it as well as her Ipad. Added some decent bookshelf speakers and sounds great. Have only had it set up in stereo; never had subwoofer. It performs very well. She has it in her college dorm room now; working out very nicely. [ RICHARD J  Dec 08, 2014 ]
BTW - additional info, my Yamaha R-S300 is used with Polk Audio RTi A7 speakers. [ WILLIAM  Dec 08, 2014 ]
I use this unit with some simple, large Yamaha bookshelf speakers and the sound is incredible. No sub-woofer. Bass is not as strong as I would like; however, since I also use a turntable with this unit, low bass is more desirable for record feedback. This unit is fantastic! Sleek and outputs great sound. [ MICHAEL  Dec 08, 2014 ]
I do not have a subwoofer and i am very pleased with the sound quality. [ WILLIAM  Dec 08, 2014 ]
This particular model is intended less as a home theater receiver, and more as just a stereo system. It has no video inputs, nor does it have any digital inputs. Its only inputs are analogue RCA connections. If your TV has an RCA "audio out", you could connect that to this receiver, but you cannot run video through it. As an example, for your cable TV, you could connect the cable box to your TV through, say, HDMI, then have your TV's "audio out" (provided it has one in RCA) connected to this receiver. It's not an ideal solution, but it would work. If you're going for a more tradition receiver setup, you will have to get one with video and digital inputs, which will get more expensive. [ MARCI  Aug 05, 2014 ]
Many HD TV's are not equipped with standard line level stereo RC jacks and the R-S3000 is not equipped for digital audio which presents a problem for this otherwise excellent receiver. It could be done if the TV has a coaxial cable input by using another device as a router like an old stereo VCR. Route the cable into the VCR and out of the VCR to the TV and set both to channel 2 or 3 (Note - the VCR has to be powered on to route the sound). Route the VCR's stereo RC outputs to the inputs on the receiver. Hook up speakers as you would normally. Yep, it's rigging. Hope it helps. [ GLENN  Aug 05, 2014 ]
Sorry I can't help - I did not connect to a TV. [ PAUL  Aug 05, 2014 ]
Thanks for your question. For information on selecting the best subwoofer for your receiver I would recommend reaching out to an Advisor by phone (1-800-324-9695) or online chat. They will be able to help determine the differences between the models and help you make the best choice for your system. [ Krissy  Apr 05, 2014 ]  Staff
Library

Looking for more? Check out the next model in this lineup.

Yamaha R-S500

Yamaha R-S500

(52)

In Stock

$299.99 After $50.00 Sale

Add to Cart

More stereo power, second zone and satellite ready

The Yamaha R-S500 offers these features:

75 watts x 2

line-level zone two output

Sirius ready with optional tuner and subscription