1.888.955.6000
 
 
1-888-955-6000
crutchfield.com
Crutchfield

Yamaha RX-V371

Home theater receiver with 3D-ready HDMI switching

Zoom
  • Yamaha RX-V371

    Front

  • Yamaha RX-V371

    Back

  • Yamaha RX-V371

  • Yamaha RX-V371

    Remote

Item #: 022RXV371
 

Review Summary

DISCONTINUED
 
This item is no longer available to purchase.
 
Contact us for other options
 
Call   Email  
 
 
 
 
 

Our take on the Yamaha RX-V371

by Marshall Chase
Yamaha

Receivers: Your ticket to sensational sound

Your receiver powers your speakers and lets you connect and select your entertainment sources. But a great receiver does a lot more — it ignites your emotions. From the passion of a favorite musical artist, to the crossfire of a super-charged movie soundtrack, to the intensity and immersion of a fast-paced video game, your receiver is the key to experiencing and enjoying it in full.

3D TV Learn more

Movie nights at your place can be transformed into a thrilling home theater experience with Yamaha's future-ready RX-V371. Find yourself whisked off the sofa and right into the middle of the action with gripping surround sound for all your movies, TV shows, video games, and music sources. With decoding for the latest high-resolution audio formats found on many Blu-ray movies and concerts, the 'V371 delivers sound that makes you feel like you are there. Its four HDMI connections will even pass 3D video signals from a 3D Blu-ray player to a compatible 3D HDTV.

Give your digital tunes a tune-up
Digital audio compression formats like MP3 let you squeeze lots of songs into a little space, but you lose some fidelity in the process. The RX-V371 features Yamaha's Compressed Music Enhancer, which restores your favorites to near-original sound quality. Play your iPod® or iPhone® with the optional Yamaha dock. And, there's a front-panel mini jack input for connecting any portable audio player.

Get to the fun fast with preset "SCENE" buttons
Yamaha's special SCENE modes make this receiver a snap to use. Just press one of the four dedicated buttons on the receiver's front panel or remote, and the 'V371 automatically switches to the correct input setting and sound mode for viewing DVD or Blu-ray discs, playing CDs, watching TV, or listening to the radio. Plus, you can individually reprogram each button for different activities of your choice, such as playing video games, listening to your iPod, and more.

Learn about the ins and outs of HDMI connections at the Crutchfield Learning Center.
Shop our selection of HDMI cables.

See more info on this item
    Power and Processing:
    • 5-channel amplifier
    • 80 watts per channel into 8 ohms (1k Hz) at 0.9% THD, with 2 channels driven
    • Dolby® TrueHD, DTS-HD™ Master Audio, Dolby® Digital Plus, and DTS-HD™ High Resolution Audio
    • Cinema DSP modes
    • Adaptive Dynamic Range Control keeps a lid on explosive sound effects for more discreet late-night listening
    • Silent Cinema for simulated surround sound via standard stereo headphones
    Digital Music Options:
    • iPod/iPhone integration (requires optional Yamaha dock)
    • Compressed Music Enhancer for better sounding MP3s and other digital music files
    Audio Performance Features:
    • 192kHz/24-bit Burr-Brown digital-to-analog converters for all channels
    • direct mode switches off unnecessary circuitry to provide cleaner sound
    Connections:
    • 1080p-compatible HDMI digital video switching (4 in, 1 out)
    • HDMI version 1.4a with support for 3D video, Audio Return Channel, Deep Color, x.v.Color, auto lip-sync, and HDMI-CEC
    • Audio Return Channel function receives digital audio signals from a compatible HDTV's tuner via HDMI
    • component video switching (2 in, 1 out)
    • digital audio inputs: 2 optical and 2 coaxial
    • 3 audio/video inputs (including 1 front-panel) with composite video
    • 2 audio-only inputs
    • no phono input — to connect a turntable you'll need to add a phono preamp
    • 1 front-panel minijack audio input for connecting a portable player
    • 1 pair of main speaker outputs
    General Features:
    • four SCENE presets for easier source switching
    • 40 AM/FM presets
    • multibrand remote
    • 17-1/8"W x 5-15/16"H x 12-7/16"D
    • weight: 16.5 lbs.
    • warranty: 2 years
    • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

    Hands-on research from the Crutchfield Labs (what are the Labs?)

    Features and Specs
    General
    Number Of Channels
    Loading...
    5
    Stereo RMS Power (watts)
    Loading...
    80
    THD in Stereo
    Loading...
    0.9 %
    Frequency Bandwidth (stereo)
    Loading...
    1 k Hz
    FM Sensitivity
    Loading...
    Not Given
    HD Radio Tuner
    Loading...
    No
    On-Screen Display
    Loading...
    No
    Auto Speaker Calibration
    Loading...
    No
    HDMI Standby Pass-through
    Loading...
    No
    Composite Video Conversion
    Loading...
    No
    S-Video Conversion
    Loading...
    No
    Component Video Conversion
    Loading...
    No
    HDMI to HDMI Upconversion
    Loading...
    No
    Internet-ready
    Loading...
    No
    Apple AirPlay
    Loading...
    No
    App Remote Control
    Loading...
    No
    Bluetooth-compatible
    Loading...
    ---
    USB port for iPod/iPhone
    Loading...
    No
    DLNA Certified
    Loading...
    No
    MHL-compatible
    Loading...
    ---
    Multibrand Remote Control
    Loading...
    Yes
    Learning Remote
    Loading...
    No
    LCD Remote
    Loading...
    No
    Width (inches)
    Loading...
    17-1/8
    Height (inches)
    Loading...
    5-15/16
    Depth (inches)
    Loading...
    12-7/16
    Weight (pounds)
    Loading...
    16.5
    Parts Warranty
    Loading...
    2 Years
    Labor Warranty
    Loading...
    2 Years
    Multi-room Audio--Video
    Powered Multi-room Audio Output
    Loading...
    No
    Preamp Multi-room Audio Output
    Loading...
    No
    Multi-room Video
    Loading...
    No
    Multi-room HDMI Output
    Loading...
    No
    Surround Processing
    Dolby Digital
    Loading...
    DD, EX, TrueHD, DD+
    DTS
    Loading...
    DTS, ES, HD, HDMA, Neo6, 96/24
    Inputs & Outputs
    Phono Input
    Loading...
    No
    Audio-Video Inputs
    Loading...
    9
    Audio-only Inputs
    Loading...
    3
    S-Video Inputs
    Loading...
    None
    S-Video Outputs
    Loading...
    None
    S-Video Monitor Outputs
    Loading...
    None
    Component Video Inputs
    Loading...
    2
    Component Video Monitor Outputs
    Loading...
    1
    Optical Digital Inputs
    Loading...
    2
    Coaxial Digital Inputs
    Loading...
    2
    Optical Digital Outputs
    Loading...
    None
    Coaxial Digital Outputs
    Loading...
    None
    HDMI Inputs
    Loading...
    4
    HDMI Monitor Outputs
    Loading...
    1
    Subwoofer Outputs
    Loading...
    1
    Multi-Channel Analog Input
    Loading...
    No
    Multi-channel Preamp Output
    Loading...
    No
    Main Speaker Output Pairs
    Loading...
    1
    Main Speaker Terminals
    Loading...
    Posts
    Ethernet Port
    Loading...
    None
    USB Connections
    Loading...
    None
    Removable Power Cord
    Loading...
    No
    Product Research
    What's in the box?

    Download owner's manual

    • 5.1ch AV receiver
    • Wireless remote control (RAV331)
    • 2 "AAA" batteries
    • AM loop antenna
    • FM wire antenna (with push-on "F" connector)
    • Front AV terminal cover
    • Owner's Manual CD-ROM
    • Quick Reference Guide
    • US Specs sheet
    • Safety Brochure
    • Warranty information
    • On-line product registration information
    • Front panel and remote diagram sheet
    • Additional HDMI information

    Our Product Research Team

    At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

    Audio Features
    Video Features
    Tuner Functions
    Convenience Features
    Remote Control
    Add-on Devices

    Audio Features

    80 Watts x 5 Channel: The Yamaha RX-V371 AV Receiver is equipped with a 5-channel amplifier rated at 80 watts (into 8-ohms, at 1khz, with 0.9% THD, driving 2 channels) which provides high dynamic power with low-impedance drive capability.

    Wide-range Frequency Response: The receiver's wide-range frequency response, 10Hz to 100kHz, allows you to enjoy the full fidelity of DVD-Audio and Super-Audio CD players.

    192kHz/24-bit Burr Brown DACs: The Yamaha RX-V371 uses high quality, audio-grade Burr-Brown 192kHz/24-bit digital-to-analog converters for all channels to maximize sound quality.

    Multi-Channel/Stereo Decoding Formats: The Yamaha RX-V371 supports the following multi-channel (Dolby Digital, DTS, Dolby Pro Logic) and Stereo decoding formats.

    Stereo
    2ch Stereo 2-channel stereo sound (from the front speakers only), regardless of the playback source
    Straight/Direct Modes
    Straight 2-channel stereo sources are output from only the front left and right speakers while multi-channel sources are decoded straight into the appropriate channels without any additional effect processing
    Direct

    turns off the surround and tone circuitry, and dims the front panel display, allowing sources to bypass the decoders and DSP processors of this unit so you can enjoy pure hi-fi sound from 2-channel analog sources. During Direct playback no sound is output from the subwoofer

    Dolby Digital
    Dolby Digital digital surround sound format that gives you completely independent multi-channel audio; with 3 front channels (front L/R and center) and 2 surround stereo channels, Dolby Digital provides 5 full-range audio channels
    Dolby Digital EX developed as an extension to Dolby Digital, the coding technology supports 6.1 discrete channels
    Dolby Digital Plus developed as an extension to Dolby Digital, the coding technology supports 7.1 discrete channels
    Dolby TrueHD a lossless coding technology that supports up to 8 channels of multi-channel surround sound for the next generation optical discs; the reproduced sound is true to the original source bit-for-bit
    DTS
    DTS digital surround sound format that produces practically distortion-free 5.1ch sound (front L/R, center, Surround L/R, and Sub)
    DTS-Express digital audio format supporting low bit rates (maximum 5.1-channels, 24 to 256 kbps)
    DTS-ES (Discrete/Matrix) 6.1-channel discrete digital audio format adding a surround back channel to the DTS digital surround sound.
    DTS-HD Master Audio an advanced lossless technology that delivers sound that is bit-for-bit identical to the studio master, offering a high-definition home theater experience (up to 7.1ch)
    DTS-HD High Resolution high resolution audio, virtually indistinguishable from the original audio track (up to 7.1ch)
    DTS 96/24 digital audio format enabling high sound quality playback in 5.1-channels with a sampling frequency of 96 kHz and 24 bit quantization of DVD-video
    DTS Neo: 6 (Cinema/Music) matrix decoding technology for achieving 6.1-channel surround playback with 2-channel sources
    Dolby Pro Logic
    Dolby Pro Logic processes any high-quality stereo (two-channel) movie and music audio into four playback channels of surround sound - Front Left, Front Right, Center, Mono-Surrounds
    Dolby Pro Logic II (Cinema/Music/Game) a matrix surround decoding technology, Dolby Pro Logic II detects the directional cues that occur naturally in stereo content and uses these elements to create a five-channel surround sound playback experience
    DSD
    DSD 6ch audio signals are stored as single-bit values at a high-frequency sampling rate of 2.8224 MHz, while noise shaping and oversampling are used to reduce distortion - providing a better audio quality with a dynamic range of up to 128 db.

    Note: Dolby Digital and DTS listening modes can only be selected if your audio source is connected to the AV receiver via a digital audio connection (HDMI, optical, or coaxial). Even though the AV receiver will decode 7.1channel surround sound (via HDMI), it will only output 5.1ch surround, because it lacks Surround Back channel speaker outputs.

    CINEMA DSP: Conventional multichannel audio reproduction systems base their sound on Dolby Digital and DTS decoding, using matrix and steering technologies to create surround sound effects. Yamaha CINEMA DSP is much more advanced, actually creating richly realized independent soundfields that envelop you in an unmatched surround sound experience. With dialogue, music and effects ideally located in these separate soundfields, you will hear sound with accurate placement, smooth movement, exceptional clarity and richness, and realistic presence. It will seem as if the walls of your room have disappeared and you are in the middle of your own immense theater. The AV receiver offers 17 CINEMA DSP programs for movies, music, and games.

    Cinema DSP Movie Modes

    Standard emphasize the surround feeling without disturbing the original acoustic positioning of multi-channel audio, such as Dolby Digital and DTS
    Spectacle reproduces a broad theater soundfield that matches cinemascope and wider-screen movies with an excellent dynamic range providing everything from very small sound effects to large, impressive sounds
    Sci-Fi enjoy a variety of cinematographically created virtual spaces reproduced with clear separation between dialogue, sound effects, and background music
    Adventure restrains reverberations, but puts emphasis on reproducing a powerful space expanded widely to the left and right; reproduced depth is also restrained relatively to ensure the separation between audio channels and the clarity of the sound
    Drama reverberations are modest, but offers and optimum 3D feeling, reproducing effects and background music softly around clear words and center positioning in a way that does not fatigue the listener
    Mono Movie produces the optimum expansion and reverberation to the original mono audio soundtrack to create a comfortable space with a certain sound depth
    Cinema DSP Entertainment Modes
    Sports voice of the commentator and sportscaster are positioned clearly at the center while the atmosphere of the stadium expands in an optimal space to offer the listener a feeling of presence in the stadium
    Action Game various effects make the player feel like they are right in the middle of the action, allowing for greater concentration
    Role Playing Game adds depth to the soundfield for natural and realistic reproduction of background music, special effects, and dialogue
    Music Video emphasizes the vividness of vocals and solo play and the beat of rhythm instruments, and to the surround soundfield that reproduces the space of a big live  hall
    Cinema DSP Music Modes
    Hall in Munich simulates a concert hall with approximately 2500 seats in Munich; beautiful reverberation spread richly, creating a calming atmosphere - the listener's virtual seat is at the center left of the arena
    Hall in Vienna simulates an approximately 1700-seat middle-sized concert hall with a shoebox shape that is tradition in Vienna; creates extremely complete reflections from all around the audience, producing a very full rich sound
    Chamber creates a relatively wide space with a high ceiling like an audience hall in a palace
    Cellar Club simulates a live house with a low ceiling and home atmosphere for a realistic live sound
    The Roxy Theater simulates a rock music live house in Los Angeles with the virtual listening position at the center left of the hall
    The Bottom Line simulates the front stage of the Bottom Line, a famous New York jazz club - offering real and vibrant sound
    5ch Stereo use this program to output stereo sound from all speakers

    Note: You can change the receiver's CINEMA DSP effect level (level of the soundfield effect to be added). You can adjust the level of the soundfield effect to -6 dB, 0 dB, or 3 dB.

    Virtual CINEMA DSP: Virtual CINEMA DSP is an algorithm that allows you to enjoy DSP soundfield surround effects while using a minimal two-speaker system. This unit will switch to virtual CINEMA DSP mode automatically when surround speakers are unavailable.

    SILENT CINEMA: SILENT CINEMA makes it possible to hear large-scale surround sound through ordinary headphones. This is a variation of CINEMA DSP technology that Yamaha developed to let you listen in private to movies and other multi-channel sources for hours without listening fatigue. Virtual CINEMA DSP lets you enjoy the effects of CINEMA DSP surround sound without using surround speakers (handy for use in custom installations where some rooms don't have surround speakers). It can be used with the front / center / presence speakers or even with just the two front left and right speakers.

    Compressed Music Enhancer: Yamaha employs sophisticated digital signal processing with exclusive algorithms to enable playback that improves the performance of compressed music formats, including MP3, WMA, and AAC. With the Compressed Music Enhancer, highs and especially lows are richer and smoother, bringing music back to life to be as close to the original as possible.

    Pro Logic II Parameters: You can adjust the following parameters in Pro Logic II Music modes:

    • Panorama: Sends stereo signals to the surround speakers as well as the front speakers for a wraparound effect.
    • Dimension: Adjusts the soundfield either towards the front or towards the rear of the room.
    • Center Width: Moves the center channel output completely towards the center speaker or towards the front left and right speakers.

    Center Image (DTS NEO: 6 Music): This parameter adjusts the front left and right channel output relative to the center channel to make the center channel more or less dominant as necessary.

    Speaker Setup: This feature allows you to manually adjust the following speaker settings:

    • Speaker Sizes: Set the size and connection status of speakers and subwoofers, and whether to designate a specific speaker (or subwoofer) for low-frequency sound.
      • Front: Large or Small
      • Center: Large, Small, or None
      • Surround: Large, Small, or None
      • Subwoofer: Yes, None
    • Equalizer: Each of the full range channels can be adjusted individually using the seven band equalizer (63Hz, 160Hz, 400Hz, 1kHz, 2.khz, 6.3kHz, 16kHz.)
    • Crossover: Select the crossover frequency (40, 60, 80, 90, 100, 110, 120, 160, or 200Hz) of all the speakers set to Small. Audio with a frequency below this limit (40-200Hz) will be output from the subwoofer or the front speakers.
    • Subwoofer Phase: Switch the phase of your subwoofer between Normal and Reverse.
    • Extra Bass: Select whether to play front channel low-frequencies through either of the front speaker or the subwoofer, or through both the subwoofer and front speakers.
    • Speaker Distance: Set the distance between the speakers/subwoofer and the listening point, so that the sound from each speaker and the subwoofer reaches the listening point at the appropriate timing. Select from 1 to 80 feet in 0.5 foot steps.
    • Speaker Level Adjustment: Adjust the volume (-10 to +10 dB) for each speaker and the subwoofer so that the sound is balanced. A test tone is played back through the receiver for each speaker and subwoofer to help with adjustment.

    Bass and Treble Control: You can adjust the balance of the high-frequency range (Treble) and low-frequency range (Bass) of sounds output from the receiver' front left and right speakers to obtain a desired tone. You can independently adjust the bass (50Hz) and treble (20kHz) from -10dB to +10dB in 2 dB increments. The tone control of the speakers or headphones can be set separately.

    Dynamic Range: The amount of dynamic range compression applied to bitstream signals is adjustable; Min/Auto is suitable for low volume listening, Standard is typical for home use, and Max doesn't compress the dynamic range at all.

    Adaptive DRC: Adaptive DRC (Dynamic Range Control) adjusts the dynamic range in relation to the volume, useful at low volume.

    Max Volume Adjustment: Use this feature to set the receiver's maximum volume level. This feature is useful to avoid turning the volume too loud by mistake. You can set the Max Volume from -30 dB to +15 dB in 5 dB steps, or to +16.5 dB (full volume range is -80 dB to +16.5 dB).

    Initial Volume Setting: Use this feature to set the volume level when the power is turned on. You can choose between Off (same as the volume when the unit was turned off), Mute, and -80 dB to + 16.5 dB in increments of 0.5 dB.

    Volume Trim: Use this feature to adjust the volume level of each input. This is useful to balance the level of each input to avoid sudden changes in volume when switching between input sources. The range is from -6 dB to +6 dB in 0.5 dB increments.

    Digital Inputs: The Yamaha AV receiver is equipped with two optical digital inputs (AV-1/AV-4) and two coaxial digital inputs (AV-2/AV-3).

    Speaker Terminals: The receiver has binding post terminals for the front speaker outputs and spring terminals for the center and surround outputs. The binding posts can accept bare wire, pin connectors, and single banana plugs. The terminals are spaced too far apart for dual banana plugs. The collar surrounding the binding post terminals prevent the use of spade connectors.

    Impedance Selection: You can select 8 ohms or 6 ohms in the menu depending on your speaker application.

    Headphone Jack: The Yamaha RX-V371 is equipped with a front-panel 1/4" headphone jack for connecting a set of headphone, so you can listen to your music privately. Connecting a set of headphones automatically mutes the receiver's speaker outputs.  Sound effects applied during playback can also be heard through the headphones.

    Video Features

    1080p HDMI (v.1.4): 1080p HDMI (v.1.4) with 3D and Audio Return Channel (4 In/1 Out) deliver crystal-clear, all-digital audio and video via a single cable. HDMI dramatically simplifies cabling and helps provide you with the highest-quality home theater experience. HDMI can provide an interface between most audio/video sources, such as a set-top box, Blu-ray player, DVD player, or A/V receiver and a video monitor, such as a High Definition Television (HDTV), over a single cable. The AV receiver's HDMI jacks can be used for 2-channel and multi-channel linear PCM (up to 8-channel) and Bitstream (Dolby Digital, DTS, etc) digital audio formats as well as digital video signals up to 1080p resolution (including 1080/24p). They also support Deep Color (30 bit and 36 bit), xvColor, 120 Hz and 24 Hz refresh rates, and auto Lip-Sync compensation.

    3D Ready: The Yamaha RX-V371 AV receiver supports 3D HDMI pass-through from connected 3D-compatible Blu-ray, games and broadcast devices to 3D-compatible HDTVs (all 3D components must be connected via HDMI). 3D provides a more engaging audio and video consumer experience. Note that special eyewear may be required for viewing 3D content

    x.v.Color: The AV receiver supports x.v.Color, offering a wider color range than the current broadcast standard. For the x.v.Color feature to be useful, the entire video production chain must be compatible (camera-editing-format-player-display).

    Deep Color: The Yamaha receiver also supports Deep Color which allows the color depth of video signals passing through HDMI to be raised. The number of colors that could be expressed by 1 pixel was 24 bits (16,777,216 colors) with a standard HDMI jack. However, the number of colors which can be expressed by 1 pixel is 36 bits with a Deep Color enabled HDMI jack. Since the gradation of the depth of a color can be expressed more finely with more bits, continuous color changes can be more smoothly expressed.  For the Deep Color feature to be useful, the entire video production chain must be compatible (camera-editing-format-player-display).

    Note: x.v. Color and Deep Color technology are supported only when source product, HDMI cable, media and HDTV all support those features.

    ARC (Audio Return Channel): This feature allows audio to be sent from your compatible HDTV to your receiver through the same HDMI cable already being used to send audio and video to your HDTV. This eliminates the need for extra cables connected to your television.

    Audio/Video Sync: You can delay the sound output up to 250ms to synchronize it with the video image.

    HDTV-compatible Component Video: The RX-V371 offers two component video inputs and a component video monitor output. These inputs and output have a frequency response of 5 Hz to 60 MHz and will pass High Definition video sources up to 1080p.

    Front Panel AV Input: The front panel's Video Aux input features analog stereo RCA, composite video, and a 3.5mm stereo mini-plug.

    Background Video: The Background Video feature allows you to watch a video source while listening to a different audio source. With the RX-V371, you can select any video input, and listen to AM/FM radio at the same time.

    Tuner Functions

    AM/FM Tuner: The Yamaha RX-V371 AV receiver features a built-in AM/FM tuner with manual, seek, and preset tuning.

    40-Station Preset Tuning: The RX-V371 lets you store up to 40 AM/FM station presets. This can be done manually or automatically (auto-preset tuning).

    Stereo/Monaural Modes: You can set this receiver to automatically match FM broadcast frequencies in stereo, or convert the frequency to monaural for weaker stations.

    Indoor Antennas: An indoor FM wire antenna and AM loop antenna are included with the receiver.

    Convenience Features

    Input Rename: You can rename each input so the display reflects the actual source; choose from 15 templates or create an original name, up to nine characters.

    Display Dimmer: You can set the brightness of the front-panel display from -4 to 0.

    Memory Guard: This feature is used to prevent accidental changes to the DSP program parameter values and other system settings.

    Sleep Timer: The receiver's Sleep Timer function can be set turn the unit automatically off after 30, 60, 90, or 120 minutes.

    Auto Power Down: If you don't operate the receiver or use the remote for an extended period of time, the unit will automatically go into standby mode (Auto Power Down function). The Auto Power Down feature is selectable to 4, 8 or 12 hours.

    Remote Control

    Multibrand Remote Control: The receiver comes with a multibrand wireless remote control. In addition to the receiver, the remote can control multiple brands of TVs, Blu-ray players, DVD players/recorders, DVRs, VCRs, etc.

    HDMI Control: The Yamaha AV receiver supports the HDMI control function, which allows you to operate external components via HDMI. If your TV or other external components support HDMI control, you can use the remote controls of those devices to operate some of this unit's functions, and to synchronize this unit with the operation of those devices. You can use the following operations with the remote control of any of the connected HDMI Control compatible devices.

    • Power synchronization (On/Standby)
    • Volume control, including Mute
    • Changing the volume of the audio output signal device (either the TV or the receiver)

    Scene (for One-Touch Start): The RX-V371 features four Scene buttons on the front panel and remote to make operating the receiver easier. These buttons are initially set to default settings for Blu-ray/DVD viewing, TV viewing, CD listening, and Radio listening. Each can be reprogrammed to any input and any soundfield. Pressing a Scene button will automatically launch a number of operations that initiate play of the source controlled by that button. Other Scene settings are also available, such as iPod Listening, TV Sports Viewing, and Action Game Playing. Browsing and selecting the settings is quickly accomplished by changing Input via the front panel and watching the on-screen display. The settings can be selected for one-time use, or they can replace the original default settings. The Scene names can be changed also.

    Add-on Devices

    iPod Universal Dock: With the optional YDS-12 iPod Universal Dock (022YDS12, sold separately), you can connect your iPod digital music player to the RX-V371 and control audio/video playback using the remote control. Most fourth generation and later iPods (Click Wheel) are compatible. Video from your iPod and album art can be displayed on a connected TV monitor.

     
    Review this product
    Great Gear Giveaway rewards card

    Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

    Yamaha RX-V371 Reviews

    Average Customer Review:

    25 people say:

    Review this product:

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

    Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
    (e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
    (e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

    Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
    1500 characters left
    Attach a YouTube Review
    Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
    • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
    • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
    • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
    500 characters left
    500 characters left
    Filter by rating:
    5 out of 5

    Yamaha RXV-371

    Written By John B., Poquoson Va. on Thursday, April 05, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Great unit , I am a Yamaha Man from way back .. My last unit that I had lasted 30 years !!! I have old style speakers and this little gem works GREAT!! I had a sony unit that was a joke ,and I put in my garage.. I still can not believe you can still get a unit this cheap that plays this good .. As always you at crutchfield are good people to deal with//// Thank you much J B!!!!
    Pros:
    Yamaha still builds a great unit for the money HANDS Down!!!!!!
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Read the owners manual!

    Written By Anonymous, Upstate SC on Monday, March 26, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    The biggest help for me was actually printing out the owners manual (it comes in cd form) and practicing with the various speaker settings. I paired this with the Energy Micro 5.1 system and after the initial 50 hour break in period I am satisfied with the performance. As far as reviewers sting that the system lacks bass and treble controls (read the owners manual!!!!!). The receiver has a separate (using the remote) volume control for the subwoofer along with many choices for the subwoofer crossover range. Pair these two unctions along with the separate bass and treble on the front of the unit and you have more than enough EQ controls. I didn't even mention the fact that you can the set the EQ range for every speaker (not just bass and treble) and also change the volume for each individual speaker. My biggest mistake was turning the sub way to high and only being able to hear the bass drum. Keep the sub at half and the sub crossover all the way up. Set the crossover in the receiver for around 100hz and keep all of the other EQ settings flat, this should give you a good starting point. I also found that the FM tuner was far better than the one I had in my previous Denon unit. Just be patient and play with the unit, once you crank the volume you may find you need to readjust the settings. Have fun, it's a great unit for the price!
    4 out of 4 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Yamaha RX-V371

    Written By HenryC, NYC on Sunday, March 25, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Great unit. Perfect with my Bose satellites! Tons of features! Lovin it! Best buy for the money.
    Pros:
    Pleanty of ports, and the remote control codes worked great with my Samsung TV and cable box
    Cons:
    The unit has this autO sense function that can be annoying at times.
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    2 out of 5

    Yamaha RX-V371 receiver

    Written By ColemanT, Pearland Tx. on Thursday, March 15, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Receiver did not alow for reconnection of all of my existing component peices. More adaptable for state of the art components with HDMI and Coaxial connections. My components are standard red, white and yellow cable connections.
    Pros:
    Good for state of the art/new technology.
    Cons:
    Not adaptable for older component devices.
    2 out of 10 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Terrific sound!

    Written By PaulG, Lake Elmore,VT on Tuesday, March 06, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I'm using all HDMI version 1.4 cables for my components. I'm driving five 8 ohm bookshelf speakers and a powered 150 watt subwoofer. This receiver shakes the windows in my 20ft X 20ft family room with no distortion. The room is on a concrete slab so no help from the floor as far as resonance goes. The Blu Ray sound on this is incredible. It really is theater quality. We watched Avatar, Puss in Boots, and Captain America (all were 3D Blu Ray versions) and all have stunning audio tracks. My wife and kids won't let me turn up the sound to theater levels but when I'm alone I let it crank. Action movies are supposed to have loud explosions but it freaks them out so no need to torture them! Even after ten years I'm still impressed with the sound you can get with bookshelf speakers. This receiver replaced a Panasonic receiver (bought from Crutchfield 11 years ago as part of a complete home theater system) when I needed to switch over to hdmi connections for our 3D tv. The speakers are from that original system and they still sound great. This receiver has so many ways to tweak the sound that its difficult to imagine anyone being disappointed in the sound quality, especially considering the price. Its a great value. I would be suspicious of inferior quality cables and wires if you find anything other than clear crisp sound with a full dynamic range. No hiss during quiet moments of video either. I like the features like "initial volume" setting that protects the speakers at startup.
    Pros:
    Loaded with adjustable features like crossover frequency with a fine resolution, distortion free sound with 8 ohm 100 watt bookshelf speakers. 3D Blu Ray sound is amazing, 5 channel "enhanced" setting sounds great with Pandora through the sattelite receiver. Lots of preset sound options for different kinds of television viewing. I still can't believe you can get this much quality for this little money.
    Cons:
    None as far as I can hear.
    3 out of 3 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Yamaha rx v371

    Written By Allen, Grove, Ok on Thursday, March 01, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Very fine unit, performs better than expected. I am disappointed that the price was lowered just 56 days after my order.
    Pros:
    Easy setup and great performance
    Cons:
    None
    1 out of 2 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Yamaha rx-v371 receiver

    Written By westerfi, puyallup, wa on Monday, February 27, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I needed a receiver for our bedroom to run the cable box, xbox, and blueray. the yamaha rx=v371 worked perfectly, and I love the smaller size as it fits so much better in the cabinet
    Pros:
    small size, great sound
    3 out of 5 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    RX-V371

    Written By B, Florida on Friday, February 24, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    It's what I needed. So of coarse it works well. I'm Pleased.
    Pros:
    Price and no tax
    Cons:
    none
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    nice

    Written By katie, montezuma, co on Thursday, February 02, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    advanced, but sweet. something we will look forward to growing into.
    2 out of 5 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Yamaha RX-V371

    Written By Tommyboy, Tennessee on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Nice sound quality and relatively easy setup.
    Pros:
    Sound quality
    Cons:
    Poor owner's manual
    4 out of 6 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    3 out of 5

    its the little things its missing

    Written By Gary D, NorthPort Fl on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
     
    I got this in a complete system bundle. No video up conversion , so if your cable company sets you up with composit cable hook up box .you have to use composit to the tv, And if your BluRay player your running a hdmi , then you have to also run a hdmi cable to tv
    Cons:
    sound not that great, no video up conversio.
    6 out of 11 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    5 Star on Value and performance

    Written By Anthony D', Akron, Ohio on Friday, October 28, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I'm really satisfied with this reciever. I didn't have to spend a ton on it just to get a bunch of stuff I didn't need. The integrqated surround sound features for Music & Movies sound exceptional. I really like being to listen to my music like I'm at a Hall in Munich or The Roxy. Easy speaker test system, and sound set-up. Plenty of jacks to hook everything including a front jack for MP3, camera, ect. You just can't go wrong for the price. I've had a lot of High End equipment in the past, the V371 may not beat them but it sure does give them a run for the money.
    Pros:
    Easy to set-up and use. Great variety of Integrated sound features. Plenty of input slots including front portable electronics jack.
    Cons:
    It wasn't FREE! But oh well
    22 out of 23 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Great receiver!

    Written By Charles S., New Jersey on Tuesday, October 18, 2011
     
    First receiver I've ever bought. Easy to set up and I haven't had any problems. I probably need to upgrade my FM antenna to get a better reception when listening to the radio. Overall a great investment for the price.
    5 out of 7 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    1 out of 5

    Broke in two weeks

    Written By Joel, Guam on Saturday, October 15, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    It worked for a couple of weeks, after that, the amp won't turn on, all you hear is a continous clicking sound. DON'T BUY!
    3 out of 23 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    3 out of 5

    OK home theater receiver

    Written By Bob, Rural central Washington on Friday, September 30, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    FM receiver is not particularly sensitive....a problem in fringe reception areas.
    2 out of 11 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Very impressed

    Written By Doug, Lake Villa, IL on Sunday, September 25, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I replaced what I thought was a good receiver from Kenwood with the Yamaha 371. The Kenwood was almost 10 years old and I knew there had to be general improvements made in that time frame but, wow. The Yamaha really blew me away, especially for the price. I love the DSP Cinema enhancer which will take my 2-channel stereo signal and play it in 5.1 and it sounds amazing. It brought new life to aging speakers that I bought at the same time as my Kenwood. The thing that I thought made the most difference was in the subwoofer. The Kenwood did not drive the sub well at all in my opinion. It sounded "boomy" and distorted at times. I hooked up the same sub to the Yamaha and it sounded totally different. It was tight, solid bass - finally. I could have paid more for extra features but if you are looking for great sound reproduction/enhancement, I don't think you will be disappointed with the Yamaha 371.
    14 out of 14 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Yamaha RX-V371

    Written By mitch, ocala, FL. on Friday, September 23, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    this is the best one you can buy for the money sound quality is great and its easy to set up i'm very happy with this product i strongly recommend this reserve
    3 out of 4 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Unmatched value

    Written By Aeroheadcww, Corbin, Ky on Wednesday, August 31, 2011
     
    You will not find a better reciever at this price! Crystal clear sound, seamless transitions when the source changes audio formats (essential for DirectTV). Video switching is excellent! I use this with a Polk TL150 speaker system and a Polk PSW404 sub. Great match, and great home theater system! The only feature it doesn't have that I wish it did is video upscaling, because the Nintendo Wii only does 480p. Basically you can only output video with the same connection that you input it with, i.e. HDMI to HDMI, Component to Component, where recievers with upscaling will transform a component or lower grade signal to HDMI 1080P. But how many cases require that and how much are you willing to pay for it?
    7 out of 7 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    GREAT SYSTEM

    Written By DAVID, on Thursday, July 28, 2011
     
    love this reciever the surround is amazing as is the price , so many bells and whistles to keep you enetrtained. my only complaint is that they should have printed a better instruction manual. FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY well worth the money from a brand u can trust.
    2 out of 2 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Very good!

    Written By MattP, Atlanta on Wednesday, July 13, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I had been acquiring more and more HDMI equipped electronics and my 11 year old Yamaha had zero HDMI inputs, my TV only had 2. So I decided that it was time to upgrade to a receiver that had HDMI switching. So I was very excited when I read about Yamaha's new RX series.

    I am not a complete gadget freak but I am impressed with this receiver, it has great settings and sounds wonderful through my Polk soundbar. I also added a belkin bluetooth adapter which was much cheaper than the Yamaha, but it works wonderfully with the receiver and it sounds very good.

    I have been very happy with my Yamaha receivers, I hope to continue to be.
    3 out of 3 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    great sound - easy to use -great value

    Written By Melmouth, Nth Jersey on Friday, July 08, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I bought this to replace/upgrade to my 2 year old RXV-365. In addition to having 4 HDMI ports and 4 digital inputs, the RXV371 also is easier to configure, has a better remote control, and automatically charges my ipod via RD-11 ipod adapter. And, it even sounds better than the old RX-V365! Does it sound as good as my $800 Cambridge Audio 650A Integrated Amp? Of course not. But the RX-V371 is pretty darn good (90% of the CA) for a little more than a quarter of the price, so it is great value for a great sound. Crutchfield is a pleasure to deal with. Great prices, fast free shipping.
    7 out of 7 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Yamaha RX-V371

    Written By Barnes, Lincoln,NE on Wednesday, June 22, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I bought this receiver to upgrade and replace my Sony STGR710 receiver since it was not able to pass through 3D images. Also upgraded home theater with a Samsung 60" 3D Plasma.(amazing TV) This receiver, I must say, is pretty amazing out of the box. It is powerful, has good menu of controls to suit your tastes in sound, and looks great too. The EQ presets on this receiver are many and different so you will find one that will suit your needs. I love this thing and its only been about a week now. Fast, free shipping, not dreaded grey market gear with no warranty if you go through Cruthfield either. You honestly cannot beat this receiver for the price. 5stars all the way.
    4 out of 4 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Yamaha RX-V371

    Written By Musicmama, Gloucester, Ma on Friday, June 17, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    We were looking to upgrade our surround sound system when we got a new flat screen tv. Having had a wonderful experience with the old reciever (also Yamaha), we were excited when the Crutchfield Advisor suggested another Yamaha (Well within our price range). We absolutely LOVE it! The sound is fabulous, and the surround crisp... the bass is rumble perfect! We would tell anyone that wanted a reasonably priced, great sounding system to start with this reciever... we would buy it again without question.
    3 out of 3 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    good basic unit

    Written By Mb, Minnesota on Wednesday, May 18, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    good basic unit to use for my home stereo and theater system. Quick to hook up
    and works well with my sound bar. good all around basic system
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Good buy for the money.

    Written By Dave C., Galesburg, IL on Monday, April 25, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    For the price, I challenge anyone to find a better deal. With 4 HDMI inputs, there should be more than enough room to plug in necessary components. There are dozens of features that I will probably never use but for those audiophiles who like that sort of thing, you should be happy with this unit. And, of course, let's not forget the great technical support from the Crutchfield crew. I've never failed to get an answer to a question from them.
    9 out of 9 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     

    Add accessories for the Yamaha RX-V371

    Get digital transfer of the picture and sound with an HDMI cable. See all categories & accessories

    AudioQuest Forest "High Speed with Ethernet" HDMI cable (2 meters/6.6 feet)
    13 people say
    Your Price: $68.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Pearl "High Speed with Ethernet" HDMI cable (2 meters/6.6 feet)
    65 people say
    Your Price: $38.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Chocolate "High Speed with Ethernet" HDMI cable (2 meters/6.6 feet)
    9 people say
    Your Price: $138.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Cinnamon "High Speed with Ethernet" HDMI cable (2 meters/6.6 feet)
    9 people say
    Your Price: $98.99
    Add to Cart
    Planet Waves "E" Series HDMI Cable "High Speed with Ethernet" HDMI cable (1.8 meters/6 feet)
    61 people say
    Your Price: $27.99

    After $1.00 Price Break

    Add to Cart
    Original Monster Cable With gold pin connectors (15-foot pair)
    31 people say
    Your Price: $39.99
    Add to Cart
    Monster Cable SuperFlat™ Mini Decor-friendly speaker cable with gold pin connectors (50-foot spool)
    24 people say
    Your Price: $34.95
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest X2 Speaker Cable 14-gauge cable, connectors optional (50 feet, White)
    19 people say
    Your Price: $94.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest G2 Speaker Cable 16-gauge cable, connectors optional (50 feet, Gray)
    17 people say
    Your Price: $64.99
    Add to Cart
    Monster XP® Speaker cable with clear jacket, connectors optional (50 feet)
    39 people say
    Your Price: $34.95
    Add to Cart
    Monster XPHP™ MKII Speaker cable with clear jacket (50 feet)
    8 people say
    Your Price: $49.95
    Add to Cart
    Monster XP® Navajo White MkII Speaker cable (50 feet)
    2 people say
    Your Price: $39.95
    Add to Cart
    11 people say
    Your Price: $14.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest YIQ-G Component video cable (2 meters/6.6 ft.)
    Your Price: $74.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest YIQ-X Component video cable (2 meters/6.6 ft.)
    Your Price: $114.99
    Add to Cart
    Yamaha YID-W10 Wireless iPod®/iPhone® dock
    2 people say
    Your Price: $149.99
    Add to Cart
    Monster Cable® 600sw Subwoofer cable (4 meters/13.2 feet)
    20 people say
    Your Price: $59.95
    Add to Cart
    Monster Cable® 400sw Subwoofer cable (4 meters/13.2 feet)
    29 people say
    Your Price: $39.95
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Irish Red Subwoofer cable (16 meters/52.5 feet)
    Your Price: $219.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Boxer Subwoofer cable (5 meters/16.4 feet)
    Your Price: $219.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Black Lab Subwoofer cable (16 meters/52.5 feet)
    2 people say
    Your Price: $104.99
    Add to Cart
    CableTruth 303S Subwoofer cable (9 ft.)
    1 person says
    Your Price: $29.99
    Add to Cart
    NAD PP 4 Digital phono preamplifier with USB output
    3 people say
    Your Price: $199.99
    Add to Cart
    Panamax M8-AV Power line conditioner and surge protector
    7 people say
    Your Price: $119.99
    Add to Cart
    Panamax M8-AV-PRO Power line conditioner and surge protector
    7 people say
    Your Price: $169.99
    Add to Cart
    Panamax PM8-AV Power line conditioner and surge protector
    3 people say
    Your Price: $89.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest VDM-X Coaxial digital audio cable (2 meters/6.6 ft.)
    2 people say
    Your Price: $44.99
    Add to Cart
    Arista 18-5460 6-foot coaxial digital audio cable
    4 people say
    Your Price: $10.99
    Add to Cart
    Monster Video® 2 Composite video cable (2 meters, 6.6 ft.)
    1 person says
    Your Price: $29.95
    Add to Cart
    Monster Cable 400dfo Optical digital audio cable (2 meters/6.6 ft.)
    21 people say
    Your Price: $49.95
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Cinnamon OptiLink Optical digital audio cable (1.5 meters/5 feet)
    3 people say
    Your Price: $78.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Forest OptiLink Optical digital audio cable (3 meters/10 feet)
    18 people say
    Your Price: $48.99
    Add to Cart
    AudioQuest Vodka OptiLink Optical digital audio cable (1.5 meters/5 feet)
    1 person says
    Your Price: $228.99
    Add to Cart
    CableTruth 303T Optical digital audio cable
    2 people say
    Your Price: $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Monster Cable Stereo Audio 400i Stereo interconnect cables with RCA plugs (2 meters/6.6 ft.)
    5 people say
    Your Price: $49.95
    Add to Cart
    Monster Cable Stereo Audio 200i Stereo interconnect cables with RCA plugs (2 meters/6.6 ft.)
    12 people say
    Your Price: $29.95
    Add to Cart
    CableTruth 303A Stereo interconnect cable with RCA plugs (6 ft.)
    1 person says
    Your Price: $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Terk Tower Amplified indoor AM/FM antenna
    36 people say
    Your Price: $24.99
    Add to Cart
    Terk FM Edge Indoor amplified FM antenna
    33 people say
    Your Price: $39.99
    Add to Cart
    Terk FM Pro (FM-50) Indoor/outdoor amplified long-range FM antenna
    15 people say
    Your Price: $119.99
    Add to Cart
    Universal MX-450 Remote Control Multibrand remote with one-touch operation
    6 people say
    Your Price: $249.99
    Add to Cart
    Logitech® Harmony® Ultimate One Universal remote with customizable swipe and tap touchscreen
    3 people say
    Your Price: $199.99

    After $50.00 Price Break

    Add to Cart
    Logitech® Harmony® Ultimate Remote Universal remote with customizable touchscreen and Bluetooth® and IR hub
    51 people say
    Your Price: $349.99
    Add to Cart
    Logitech® Harmony® Smart Control Turn your smartphone into a powerful Wi-Fi® Harmony remote
    38 people say
    Your Price: $129.99
    Add to Cart

    Why choose SquareTrade?

    The #1-Rated Protection Plan

    Thousands of people have reviewed SquareTrade Protection Plans — and made us #1.

    5-Day Service Guarantee & Free Shipping

    We'll repair or replace your item in five business days or less after we've received it, or your plan is free. And, as always, we pay for all shipping.

    Protection from Normal, Everyday Use

    Repairing your average mechanical or electrical failure can cost as much as buying a new device. With SquareTrade, you're covered — including parts and labor.

    3 Year Protection Plan
    3 Year Protection Plan
    Your Price: $29.99
    Add to Cart

    For a more in-depth review and enhanced detailed information on the Yamaha RX-V371, please visit the Crutchfield website product page (/ISEO-rccbcspd/p_022RXV371/Yamaha-RX-V371.html ).