Converting your vinyl records to MP3 files just got a whole lot easier with the Denon DP-200USB. Simply insert a thumb drive into the front-panel USB port and press "Record." This fully automatic turntable converts your music to MP3 and saves it to the thumb drive — no PC required. You can also transfer your records directly to a USB-equipped MP3 player for immediate on-the-go listening.

After you transfer your vinyl to the thumb drive, you can edit the files on your PC using the included Trans Music Manager software. This flexible program lets you manually split tracks as you see fit, or you can take advantage of the automatic option that splits tracks when it detects brief periods of silence. It can also tap into Gracenote® to retrieve album and track information. A manual option lets you enter in your own information if you prefer.

Adding convenience doesn't mean sacrificing quality — the DP-200USB includes a dynamically balanced tone arm and a cast aluminum platter for stable rotation. Stereo RCA outputs and a switchable phono preamp let you connect the DP-200USB to any audio system with an auxiliary or phono input.

Product Highlights:

  • automatically converts LPs to MP3 (192 kbps)
  • USB port for a thumb drive or MP3 player (a direct connection to a PC is not possible)
  • built-in phono preamp with bypass switch
  • fully automatic belt drive operation
  • 33-1/3 and 45 rpm playback speeds (45 rpm adapter included)
  • front-mounted controls
  • balanced tone arm
  • includes moving magnet cartridge
  • cast aluminum platter
  • hinged dust cover
  • includes Trans Music Manager software
    • split tracks manually or automatically
    • manual and auto MusicID Record
    • PC requirements: Windows XP/Vista™/2000
  • wow & flutter: 0.15%
  • attached RCA audio cable
  • 14-3/16"W x 3-7/8"H x 14-1/8"D (16-3/8"H with dust cover open)
  • warranty: 2 years
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

Hands-on research

What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • DP-200USB Turntable with attached 6.5' power cord and 3.5' stereo RCA cable
  • Platter
  • Rubber mat
  • Adapter for 45 rpm records
  • Plastic dust cover (installed)
  • Head shell with cartridge (installed)
  • Trans Music Manager CD-ROM software
  • Owner's Manual
  • Warranty sheet
  • Warranty Registration card
  • "Denon Service Network" sheet
  • Notes on EQ switch and drive belt

Product Research

Features
Supplied Software

Features

Overview: The Denon DP-200USB is a fully automatic turntable which can convert your LPs to MP3 files and record them to a USB Flash Drive. You don't need a PC nearby during recording. The supplied Trans Music Manager software includes automatic and manual track splitting functions, and will allow you to obtain artist and title information through your PC.

Note: The included Trans Music Manager software is only compatible with Windows XP/Vista/2000 operating systems (not newer Windows 7/8 or Mac).

Fully Automatic Operation: The turntable is fully automatic with front panel controls. Once you have set the speed (33-1/3 or 45 rpm) and record size (30 or 17 cm), you can press the Start button, the turntable will start and the tone arm will automatically move to the lead-in groove on the record. When the record has finished playing, or when you press the stop button, the tone arm will automatically return to its rest and the turntable will shut off.

Manual Operation: The turntable also allows manual play, so you can lift the tone arm and place it on the record wherever you want. The automatic return function will return the tone arm to its resting position when the record has finished playing.

Built-in Switchable Preamp: The turntable includes a built-in phono preamp, allowing you to connect the unit to an amplifier or receiver without a phono input. If your receiver has a phono input, and you prefer to use it, a small switch under the turntable platter turns off the built-in phono preamp.

33-1/3 and 45 RPM Compatible: The turntable will play at 33-1/3 and 45 rpm speeds. An adapter is included for playing 45 rpm records.

Platter: The DP-200USB turntable features a professional aluminum die cast turntable platter for high inertial mass and stable rotation. The platter is driven by a DC servo belt drive motor.

Note: Before playing, the drive belt must first be placed on the driving roller of the DC servo motor.

MM Cartridge Included: The DP-200USB features a Moving Magnet (MM) stereo cartridge with a replaceable stylus. After approximately 400 hours of playback, Denon recommends the stylus be replaced with a DSN-84 stylus.

Audio Output: The turntable has a hardwired output cable with left and right RCA connectors. These connectors plug directly into your receiver or amplifier.

Supplied Software

Trans Music Manager: The DP-200USB turntable includes the Trans Music Manager software on CD-ROM. You can use Trans Music Manager to perform the following functions:

  • File Splitter: for marking track numbers
    • Auto MP3 Splitter: detects the silent part between tracks and automatically tags tracks accordingly
    • Manual MP3 Splitter: manually tags tracks as you wish (helpful for live recordings)
  • MusicID: (powered by Gracenote MusicID Music Recognition Service on the Internet)
    • Auto MusicID Record: automatically records music information, including titles
    • Manual MusicID Record: allows manual editing of music information, including titles
  • File Deletion: for music library maintenance

System Requirements: When using Trans Music Manager, your computer must have the following minimum requirements:

  • Operating System: Windows Vista, Windows XP, or Windows 2000 (does not work with Windows 7 or 8)
  • Hard Disk Space: minimum of 30 MB free space
  • USB Port: compatible with USB 2.0

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Denon DP-200USB Reviews

Average Customer Review:

17 reviews
Review this product
Great Gear Giveaway

Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Review this product:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
(e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
1500 characters left
  Attach a YouTube Review
Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
  • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
  • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
  • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
500 characters left
500 characters left

nice tight unit

Written By R. T. J., Fair Lawn, NJ on Thursday, June 26, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great turntable for the money. Thoughtfully laid out and the auto pickup at the end of vinyl is really a simple but great but oh so useful feature. I currently use a much more expensive (and old) Thorens table on which you can watch the arm go back and forth interminably at the end of a record until you get up and take it off.

Pros: As above.

Cons: It would be nice if a pickup mechanism which would allow pickup of the arm at any point in the record.

Worthless--outdated product

Written By Sorrynow, Catawissa, PA on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I would assign zero stars if possible!!! The turntable functions nicely--however, the software is obsolete--won't load on windows 7 or higher. No substitute software from Denon or Crutchfield. I was offered a return, but I bought the darned thing for a purpose--and cannot possibly use it for that purpose. Shame on you Cructhfield and Denon for selling obsolete stuff! DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT. In fact, Crutchfield says none of the turntables sold to convert to usb will work on windows 7 or higher,

Pros: nice turntable for the money

Cons: cannot use software -- why bother with the turntable then

Crutchfield response on Monday, June 16, 2014 Denon informed us that one of their technicians installed the existing software on a Windows 7 computer and found that it works without a problem. Programs such as Audacity are another option.

Denon DP-200USB

Written By Don M, Rixhmond, Va on Monday, February 17, 2014

I like this turntable. It has a USB on front (some are in the back). It is automatic and so lifts and returns. I have listened to the mp3 files created with the USB and they sound good to me. If you want to convert or play your LPs, then this might fit your need. It did mine. The only problem is, you have to train your children to not bounce around when it is playing.

Pros: Easy to use. Does what it promises. Like that it has a switch to use with either a preamp or without one. USB is in the front of the unit.

Cons: bouncing children.

DENON DP-200USB

Written By CraigM, Boise, ID on Sunday, January 26, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Turntable works great, except it is not compatible with Apple products. You have to contact Denon and they will tell you to obtain a program compatible with Apple products. It only has software for Windows.

Pros: Works well, simple to use.

Cons: No information included for Apple products, and you have to obtain software for Apple products in order to make it work with iTunes, etc. There is quite a lag time from when you turn on the copying program with USB before recording actually begins. As you play a record, you can't just stop and start the copying, you have to play one song, then stop the copying, then turn on the copying, wait for the red light to begin blinking and then set the tone arm down on the song to be recorded

Denon dp 2000usb

Written By Bill L., new windsor N.Y. on Friday, January 24, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros: Easy to operate

Cons: Can't run with stylus in storedsetting..for cleaning lps.

Great turntable

Written By Dean, Onalaska, WI on Friday, January 24, 2014

Great sounds, simply set up and very nice analog to digital recording

Pros: Simply, sounds great, easy recording

Cons: None

Love it

Written By Jodie, Annapolis MD on Friday, January 17, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This is exactly what we have been looking for. Both my husband and I have albums from our college years (many years ago) and this is perfect for listening and digitizing music we already own. Neither of us are audiophiles--just regular music listeners who want to hear our old stuff-- and we are happy. Looks great. Works well.

Pros: Can digitize sound. Connects to husband's old component unit.

Cons: Doesn't have an arm with a lift. That has to be done manually.

Happy Customer

Written By JohnK, Cape Cod, MA on Saturday, September 21, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Denon Makes it Easy!

Pros: Generates MP3 very easily, Nice action for the money. It works great!

Cons: none

Bringing my Vinyl back!

Written By PaulB, Houston, Tx on Sunday, June 23, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

After a long time without them and paying again for the same music on iTunes I decided to look into a turntable option. This turntable does everything nicely that I need. Having a Mac proved to be the hardest part to overcome but once I found the right software (for me) it became a rather easy. I'm now bringing back the music I saved for 40 years and turning it into my library in iTunes. LOVE IT!

Pros: Quiet, you don't have to run anything but the turntable to record, and literally everything is included except for the thumb drive.

Cons: Wish it had Apple OS instructions. I used a lot of blog material to figure out the small differences to make things work.

Great turntable

Written By Anonymous, Huntsville, AL on Saturday, April 20, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This turntable makes my 40 yo records sound like new.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Can't plug my IPhone directly into it, I use a thumb drive.

Denon DP-200USB

Written By MarkK, Chicago on Saturday, March 03, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

The Denon DP-200USB is a fantastic turntable that does what it is supposed to do; convert your vinyl to MP3. The built-in MP3 converter is very convenient and works well. The only concern I have with the turntable (and it is a BIG concern in my opinion) is with the software that comes with the turntable. While the Track Splitter works well, the Track Identifier software only identifies about 1/4 of the songs on an album. The other 3/4 you must label yourself if you choose to have something more descriptive than audio### where ### is a number between 001 - 999 (not very discriptive!). Hey, it does what I want it to do ... convert my old vinyl to MP3. I just wish track labeling was easier.

Pros: Converted vinyl has great sound, providing your vinyl is in good condition. Of course if your vinyl is beat up you do hear crackling on your converted MP3.

Cons: Track Labeling software functions poorly at best.

Easy Conversion

Written By Joe, New Orleans, New Orleans, LA on Saturday, March 03, 2012

This system works really great though you might want to be prepared to separate tracks manually and to input most of the file data yourself. In a little over three weekends of time I have added 750 songs worth of LP's to my iTunes library (roughly 66 albums). Most of my LP's are in good shape so record noise is a minimal issue. Manual track separation is much faster, and more accurate, than the automatic feature. The quality of the digital file and sound reproduction is top notch! I have a number of 1/2-speed mastered discs and, maybe it's just my imagination, but they seem to exceed the dynamics of the standard CD version of the same album. Well worth the money if you are dedicated to preserving those LP's you may not be able to find in a digital format.

Pros: 1. Ease of Use 2. Quality of sound reproduction. 3. Recognized by, and plays in my iTunes library.

Cons: 1. The instructions and HELP files are not detailed enough, but then again, it's not that difficult to figure out. 2. Doesn't accommodate 78-rpm (of which I have a small collection).

Denon DP-200USB

Written By Anonymous, Port Washington NY on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

the turntable works perfectly. No regrets !! The service from Crutchfield was perfect and appreciated. Their follow up and care is superb. thank you

Denon DP-200USB

Written By MichaelJ, New York, NY on Monday, March 28, 2011

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This turntable does everything I want it to do. It's extremely light, has a small footprint, and easy to dub discs to the thumb drive. While I have little use for the switch that enables the pre-amp, a friend of mine, after seeing my turntable, was looking for something just like this. She'll be purchasing in the future...from Crutchfeld, of course.

Denon DP-200USB

Written By Mike A, Little Rock, AR on Saturday, February 05, 2011

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I am definitely enjoying my Denon DP-200USB turntable. I have quite a collection of
33LPs that I have been wanting to digitize for some time and the DP-200USB is making
that pretty efficient. I have converted more than a dozen LPs to CD now and I have the
process down fairly well. Operationally, everything is conveniently located on the front of
the turntable: the USB port and port on/off switch; the 'record' on/off switch and the
automatic turntable start/stop buttons. I am using the DP-200USB with a Denon
bookshelf audio system that has AUX connections but no Phono input, so it is great that
the turntable has a switchable internal pre-amp. The one feature I would have liked to
have would be a 'que' to allow raising and lowering the stylus manually, but I am well
pleased with the DP-200USB and consider it a great investment for my needs. My
computer is a small notebook so the USB jump drive works much better than trying to
plug in a turntable! The Trans Music Manager software that is bundled with the system is
fairly easy to learn and use, though the documentation could use a little more work--
The software has worked really well for me overall.

This USB Turntable is a "Groove"!

Written By Bob C, Carbondale, IL on Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

This unit really works & works well. I have at least 75 LPs in great shape that I haven't
heard in years. After only one recording to an 8g flash drive, I am sold. The recording is
flawless! The set up is easy and a snap to use. It does have a stylus guard but lacks a
tone arm clip for security. Other than that I have no reservations and Crutchfield's
service is second to none.

You get what you pay for

Written By Tom, Boston, Ma on Monday, October 19, 2009

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Initially I was disappointed in the quality of this turntable, because of my impression of other Denon products I've owned. It's very lightweight, and made of cheap materials, but it does what I need, which is play and convert LP's. I did find that the turntable sounded better when using an external phono preamp instead of the built-in (my A/V receiver does not not have a phono input).

As usual Crutchfield purchase and shipping was smooth and fast.

Get everything you’ll need to enjoy your new Denon DP-200USB

The turntable has a built-in phono preamp (a.k.a. RIAA equalizer), but it's defeatable if you want to upgrade the performance with an outboard phono stage.
Protect your investment from power surges and interference.
The turntable has a built-in phono preamp, which means you can even hook up powered speakers for a simple high-quality system.
Keep your records clean and static-free, or prevent disruptive vibration, for the best performance.
Cambridge Audio Azur 551P

Cambridge Audio Azur 551P

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet cartridges (Black)

Item #: 779551PB

(16)

$149.99
Add to Cart
Panamax MD2

Panamax MD2

Space-saving surge protector with two outlets

Item #: 299MD2

(8)

$39.99
Add to Cart
Monster PowerCenter™ AV 625

Monster PowerCenter™ AV 625

Surge suppressor

Item #: 119MPAV625

(2)

$29.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 800 USB

Monster Core Power® 800 USB

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121889

$49.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 350 USB

Monster Core Power® 350 USB

Space-saving surge protector with built-in USB charging (Black)

Item #: 119121822

$24.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 650 USB

Monster Core Power® 650 USB

Space-saving surge protector with built-in USB charging (White)

Item #: 119121887

$29.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 1200 USB

Monster Core Power® 1200 USB

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121890

(1)

$59.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 600 USB

Monster Core Power® 600 USB

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121888

$34.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 1200 AVU

Monster Core Power® 1200 AVU

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121830

(1)

$59.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 600 AVU

Monster Core Power® 600 AVU

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121826

$39.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 800 AVU

Monster Core Power® 800 AVU

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121828

(1)

$49.99
Add to Cart
Audioengine A5+

Audioengine A5+

Premium powered bookshelf speakers (Black)

Item #: 772A5PLUSB

(48)

$399.99
Add to Cart
Audioengine 5+N (A5+N)

Audioengine 5+N (A5+N)

Premium powered bookshelf speakers

Item #: 772A5PLUSN

(14)

$469.99
Add to Cart
Audioengine A2+

Audioengine A2+

Powered desktop stereo speaker system (Satin Black)

Item #: 772A2PB

(29)

$249.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest Record Brush

AudioQuest Record Brush

Item #: 703BRUSH

(11)

$14.99
After $10.00 Price Break Add to Cart
AudioQuest SorboGel Q Feet

AudioQuest SorboGel Q Feet

4 pack

Item #: 703SQFEET

$98.99
Add to Cart

Questions & Answers Ask the community. Share your knowledge.

1 question already asked

This unit does come with a pair of RCA cables to connect this to your receiver. Purchasing a pair of upgraded cables could result in better sound quality. [ Jeff  Dec 11, 2013 ]  Staff