Skip Navigation

Boston Acoustics SE55

5-1/4" 2-way car speakers

Item #: 065SE55

19 Reviews

This item is no longer available.

Original Price: $49.99 pair

Shop all 5-1/4" Speakers

Does it fit my car?

Select your car

Find what fits your car

Can't find your exact car?

If the dull, fuzzy music coming from your car's current system is making you dread getting trapped in traffic, a pair of Boston Acoustics SE speakers can transform your ride into a safe haven.

Boston Acoustics designed the SE55 5-1/4" 2-way speakers to make your favorite music sound clean and natural in your ride, and they use proven materials that'll stand up to life on the road. These speakers feature a sturdy copolymer woofer cone teamed up with a durable butyl rubber surround to deliver strong performance with minimal distortion. The carbon-injected polymer dome 3/4" tweeter gives you clear, focused highs that stay smooth, even when you turn the volume up.

The unique contoured tweeter plane guides high-frequency output to create a wider listening "sweet spot," so you'll hear more detail from the driver seat even if your speakers aren't firing directly at you. Boston's extensive research and testing pay off with accurate, consistent performance, so you can enjoy reliable, lifelike sound whenever you drive.

Product Highlights:

  • 2-way 5-1/4" speakers (pair)
  • copolymer woofer cone with butyl rubber surround
  • 3/4" carbon-injected polymer dome tweeter
  • power range: 2-35 watts RMS (100 watts peak power)
  • frequency response: 60-20,000 Hz
  • sensitivity: 92 dB
  • top-mount depth: 1-7/8"
  • warranty: 2 years
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

Why replace your car's original speakers?

The speakers that originally came in your car were made from inexpensive materials, designed to create acceptable sound at the lowest possible cost to the manufacturer. If you love music, you deserve better. Name-brand aftermarket speakers deliver fuller, richer sound with considerably more detail and nuance, and they're capable of playing louder and cleaner than factory speakers. Connect new speakers to your factory radio and you'll get the best possible sound from your dealer-equipped system. Pair them up with a new car stereo for a level of enjoyment that can rival a high-fidelity home audio experience.

Boston Acoustics SE55 Reviews

Average Customer Review:

19 Reviews

Smooth

Written by: CBT from Coquitlam, BC on July 16, 2012

Had a pair of component Boston Acoustics years ago in my old car and have fond memory of them. Ordered these on faith in favor of Alpine and Infinity when the time came to replace the rear stock speakers in my 2005 Forester. I don't regret my choice of these over the go-to names mentioned at all; these are every bit as good as the more popular mades and then some. The sound from these are very balanced across the band. The highs don't call out for attention, mids are standout, and bass is respectable for this size. Overall a very smooth pair of speakers well deserved of the Boston name known best for home speakers. More Boston in the future for me.

Pros: Very balanced sound. Mids excel. Great price.

Cons: None even when compared to the more popular brands.

good for what I needed it to do.

Written by: D from Not Charlottesville, VA on June 10, 2012

1982 Volvo 240 Series
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

speakers sound just fine. Great option for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Great sound for the cost

Written by: ErnieS from Elkhart, IL on June 8, 2012

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Replaced my factory speakers in my front doors in my '03 Silverado. Excellent choice I must ad. Sounded great with the factory head unit...and even better with my new JVC unit!

Pros:

Cons:

se55

Written by: Anonymous from mass,01938 on May 19, 2012

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

For fifty bucks these speakers sound great. Have fourty watts to each and great total spectrum of sound

Pros:

Cons:

Great!

Written by: Michael from Ashtabula, Ohio on May 7, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I got the Bostons to replace the Bose speakers in my 2006 Envoy. I wanted to get around the Bose system all together because I think I lost sound quality through the GMOS adapter. Crutchfield said that the Boston Acoustics SE55 didnt fit my back doors. I called the advisor and he said its a really close fit and you may be able to make it work. I thought id give it a try. They fit perfectly into my factory bose speaker mounts. Sound is very clear. They sound okay being powered by a aftermarket head unit but then I added a 4 channel amp and then they really came alive but if your looking for a lot of bass your going to need a subwoofer.

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

2 words... loud and clear

Written by: Anonymous from Miami, FL on May 5, 2012

2005 Nissan Sentra
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Best speakers I've ever had in my car. My Sony Explod receiver is pushing them. The clarity is remarkable and they are surprisingly loud for small 5 1/4'" speakers. Obviously, a subwoofer is required to complete a balanced system. Of course, these speakers are not meant top put out bass, but I highly reccommend them for the price... that is, if clear music is what you value over a rattling cadillac trunk.

Pros: Very clear and clean sound, integrated crossovers, very well made, quality product.

Cons: If an adapter is required for these speakers to fit in a 6 1/2" hole in your car doors, it is crap. It's a cheap, plastic Scosche ring with holes that do not match up. Plus, the tiny screws it comes with are too small to grab and keep vibrating loose. I'm replacing them with better ones.

For my Jeep TJ

Written by: Perry from Kathleen, GA on May 1, 2012

2004 Jeep Wrangler
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I was skeptical, but glad I opted for these. A perfect fit in my soundbar. Works even better with an Alpine KTP-445U amp driving them. With clean power going to them the sound quality is decent.

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: None

Great replacement speakers for the money

Written by: Anonymous from FW, IN on April 13, 2012

1998 Chevrolet Blazer
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Was looking to replace speakers in a 98 Chevy Blazer, bought two sets of these for it. Front installed easy with included parts from Crutchfield, Rear took more time. Included bracket needed quite a bit of modification, but a few drilled holes and some cutting and install looks nice. Sound: Not sure how much bass people want, but being old school "80's" these sound good and have enough bass for me. Looking to replace a couple speakers,and don't want to spend alot money, you can't go wrong with a set of these.

Pros: Nice sound, not real expensive

Cons:

Clearer than stock

Written by: Tan T from Seattle, WA on April 12, 2012

1996 Toyota Corolla
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

These are so-so speakers. They're a little pricey for the sound of quality that you get. The first thing I noticed about them is that they are made of much better material than the stock paper cone speakers. And then the second thing I noticed is that the distance that the cone can travel is very limited, meaning that bass is going to be pretty weak. And this was confirmed by listening to music with decent bass content. Bass is nearly non-existent. On the other hand, everything above the low end was nice and clear. No complaints at all at that end.

Pros: Mids and highs are excellent for the price.

Cons: No bass, worse than stock speakers.

Boston Acoustics SE55

Written by: MadDog from MN on April 2, 2012

2000 Jeep Cherokee
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Highs and mids are excellent compared to the stocks they replaced. Price was right but sacrificed bass for clarity. Will need to add a sub but happy with purchase so far.

Pros: Price and sound

Cons: Lost all bass response.

Boston Acoustics SE55

Written by: K. M. Beck from Eastman, Georgia on April 2, 2012

1994 Dodge Dakota
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Good speakers for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Easy Install - Wife is Happy

Written by: Slpcorner from Texas on March 25, 2012

2002 Volvo S40
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Caught these on sale and snapped up two pair for the wife's Volvo to replace blown out factory speakers. My original plan was to do a complete replacement of the entire system, but due to some recent financial challenges, we could only do the speakers. I kept warning her that it wasn't going to sound as good as I had originally planned (hoping to ease any possible disappointment). I popped all four in the car in less than an hour, gave my wife the keys and said, "ok... it's done - remember it's just the speakers so don't expect too much". She took the car for a drive and came back. She actually jumped up and down and clapped (girls - right?) - Anyway bottom line - she cannot BELIEVE how good these speakers sound. I was quite impressed myself.

Installation was a slight challenge on the door speakers because there's a small "hump" in the metal of the door on on side that made the speaker fit a little crooked - but I improvised by sealing around the speakers with a bit of weatherstripping - no big deal. Other than that - the installation on our particular car (2002 Volvo) was a breeze.

Pros: Very impressive sound difference for a speaker of this size

Cons: None that I can think of so far...

Great little speakers

Written by: Basey from Illinois on March 21, 2012

1997 Jeep Cherokee
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers! They replaced old factory front door speakers in a 97 Cherokee with a sub in the back. They are a little light on bass. but that is good in this situation. Much louder and clearer than the OEM speakers. (they are also louder than the back 6.5 speakers. Might have to replace them now) The kit and the instructions Crutchfield sent made the whole job easy and fast. It took about an hour. Really good for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Great Speakers!!!

Written by: RonnieDaytona from Pittsburgh, PA on March 19, 2012

2007 Jeep Wrangler
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I just bought these speakers a few weeks ago and hooked them up in the dash of my 2007 Jeep Wrangler....I am very pleased with the clear sound that comes out of these speakers. They are very loud and I only have them hooked up to my JVC cd player. There is not alot of bass coming from these speakers however but again they are only a 5.25....I have a bass tube for that so its no big deal. If your looking for a speaker with crisp, clear sound then I recommend these!

Pros: Great crisp and clear sound Very loud

Cons: None

Great speakers

Written by: polishsumgai from Lillian,AL on March 19, 2012

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

Replaced 2 rear door speakers on a 2007 Avalanche that had died. Great sound, easy to in stall

Pros: Price, ease of installation - one hour for the pair start of finish. First timer, no experience

Cons: Nada

Boston Acoustics SE55

Written by: Anonymous from Orange County, CA on January 22, 2012

2006 Toyota Tacoma
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

excellent speaker perhaps a little light on bass

Pros:

Cons:

Great product

Written by: MH from Dallas, PA on November 23, 2011

Bought these to replace the stock speakers in my 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser and I am no less than impressed. The sound quality is fantastic and I have a picky ear when it comes to that. Very clear, rich, and sweet tone to them no matter what you are listening too and they are powerful!! However, being small speakers, you are NOT going to get much bass out of them. They put out excellent mid range and treble with ease but bass is a weakness, once again because they aren't big enough to produce a deep punch or belt out low notes with power. Don't get me wrong, they have pretty impressive bass for their size being the good speakers that they are (turn the bass equalizer up on your radio and you'll see) but nothing compared to what bigger speakers put out. I have them combined with the Boston Acoustics 3 1/2 inch tweeters which I also bought off Crutchfield and they are fantastic as well! But I had to buy a subwoofer to get some bass into the car and once I installed that, WOW. The sound difference was incredible. If you have a good sub in your car, these are great, affordable speakers that will blow out factory ones!! But if you want more bass without a sub, spend the extra money on bigger sized speakers. All in all, I highly recommend Boston Acoustics and would definitely consider them in the future! If your stock speakers are pathetic sounding, look no further than this company for excellent, affordable speakers.

Pros: Everything!! Small, but very powerful. My stock speakers were bigger but these are much more powerful and can handle a lot more.

Cons: Lack of bass but normal being small speakers.

Boston Acoustics SE55

Written by: Anonymous from NV on August 11, 2011

1977 Toyota Land Cruiser
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

OK for the size

Pros:

Cons:

great speakers

Written by: o1 civic from norridge ill on July 16, 2011

2001 Honda Civic EX
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

amazing sound great tone

Pros:

Cons:

Hands-on research

What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • Two 2-way speakers
  • 2 Grilles
  • 2 Grille frames
  • Two 7" Lengths of speaker wire (each has quick-slides on one end and bare wire on the other)
  • Eight 1" Self-tapping screws
  • 8 Speed clips
  • 4 Butt connectors
  • Specification sheet
  • Warranty information
  • Product registration card

Features and Specs

General
Design 2-way
Tweeter Design 3/4" Dome
Tweeter Composition Carbon-Injected Polymer
Woofer Composition Copolymer
Woofer Surround Butyl Rubber
Parts Warranty 2 Years
Labor Warranty 2 Years
Specifications
Sensitivity 92 dB at 1 watt
Frequency Response 60 - 20k Hz
RMS Power Range (Watts) 2-35
Peak Power Handling (Watts) 100
Impedance (Ohms) 4
Top-mount Depth (Inches) 1 7/8
Bottom-mount Depth (Inches) N/A
Cutout Diameter or Length (inches) 4 1/2

Product Research

Features

Tweeter: Each speaker uses a 3/4" carbon injected polymer Type-S3 dome tweeter with a neodymium motor structure. The Ferrofluid cooling increases power handling. Boston's CATB (Contoured Asymmetrical Tweeter Baffle) improves the off-axis response of the tweeter, and its asymmetrical shape makes the baffle acoustically invisible to the woofer, keeping the frequency response from the woofer flatter and smoother than conventional designs.

Woofer: The copolymer woofer cone and durable butyl rubber surround stand up to the harsh automotive environment.

Crossover: Each speaker in Boston's SE line features a specifically tuned crossover to deliver the best transition between the woofer and tweeter.

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team. They verify what’s in the box, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.