1.888.955.6000
crutchfield.com
Crutchfield

Axxera XDMA7800

CD receiver

Watch video
Zoom
  • Axxera XDMA7800

    Front

  • Axxera XDMA7800

    Back

  • Axxera XDMA7800

  • Axxera XDMA7800

  • Axxera XDMA7800

  • Axxera XDMA7800

  • Axxera XDMA7800

    Remote

Item #: 070XDM7800
 

Review Summary

DISCONTINUED
 
This item is no longer available to purchase.
 
Contact us for other options
 
Call   Email  
 
 
 
 
 

Our take on the Axxera XDMA7800

by Zak Billmeier
Axxera

Why replace your factory radio?

Two good reasons - sound quality and cool features. A new car stereo offers power that's superior to most factory radios, along with more sophisticated tone controls. And most car stereos offer built-in or optional features that add safety and fun to life in your car, including inputs for your iPod or MP3 player, Bluetooth connectivity for hands-free cell phone calls, satellite radio or HD Radio reception, and connections for building an audio system in your car.

The "Do-it-all" car stereo

It's nice to have choices. Axxera knows that no two drivers are alike, so they give you all kinds of ways to enjoy your digital files on the XDMA7800 CD receiver. Whether you have your tunes on an iPod®, a USB thumb drive, an SD™ card, or old-fashioned CDs, you can plug 'em into this versatile stereo on your daily drive.

aXXera XDMA7800

Play all your music

The USB slot on the front gives you a couple of ways to play your tunes: through your iPod or a USB drive. Connect your iPod, and you can browse your music library using the stereo's control knob, letting you stash your iPod safely in your glove box or console.

Read more

But if you don't have an iPod, that's fine, too — just load up a thumb drive with MP3 and WMA files, plug it into the USB slot, and navigate your files and folders in much the same way. Got both? Axxera includes a second USB drive in the rear. As a bonus, Axxera builds an SD card slot behind the fold-down face. However you carry your music files, Axxera's XDMA7800 CD receiver can play them.


Built-in hands-free calling

Keep your eyes on the road while you drive with built-in Bluetooth®. Simply pair your compatible phone and you'll hear your caller over your speakers. Axxera includes an external mic you can mount right nearby, so your callers can hear you loud and clear. Plus, you can stream music from a compatible device through this receiver — no wires needed.

Bluetooth note: Bluetooth compatibility of this device may vary, depending on your phone and service provider.


Sounds great, looks great

Axxera gives you the tools you need to dial in just the right sound. High- and low-pass filters let you send your speakers and subs the frequencies they were designed to handle, which lets them hit harder and run more efficiently. Then use the 3-band EQ to fine-tune your sound — you can even set the center frequency on each band for precise adjustments. Axxera includes a remote for on-the-fly changes. You can choose from 31 display colors, or create your own custom color, so this Axxera will look right at home in your dash.


Adding on

Three sets of preamp outputs make it easier to add amps and subs when you build a complete system. You can add an HD Radio™ tuner for crystal-clear AM/FM sound — the difference is truly amazing.

Want to keep your car's steering wheel audio controls?
In most vehicles, you can use an adapter (See "Accessories") to connect your vehicle's steering wheel controls to this Axxera stereo. Connect a few wires, then program the adapter for your particular car and the Axxera, and you'll retain the convenience of your steering wheel controls.


Note: If you're going to use your iPod with this receiver, be sure to check "Details" for specific iPod model compatibility with this receiver.

Highlights:

    General features:
    • CD receiver with built-in amplifier (18 watts RMS CEA-2006/50 peak x 4 channels)
    • plays CDs, CD-Rs, and CD-RWs (including discs loaded with MP3, WMA, and AAC files)
    • variable color display: 31 preset colors, plus custom color option
    • remote control
    • built-in iPod control
    • built-in Bluetooth for hands-free calling and audio streaming
    Audio features:
    • 3-band parametric EQ
    • subwoofer level control
    Expandability:
    • compatible with Dual's HDM90 HD Radio tuner
    • inputs: front and rear USB input, front auxiliary input, SD-card slot
    • outputs: 6-channel preamp outputs (2-volt front, rear, subwoofer)
    Other info:

    Hands-on research from the Crutchfield Labs (what are the Labs?)

    Features and Specs
    General
    CEA-2006 Compliant Yes
    RMS Power Output 18 watts
    Peak Output 60 watts
    RMS Power Bandwidth 20-20kHz
    Preamp Outputs 6-channel
    Sub Preamp Outputs Yes
    Switchable Rear Preamp Outputs No
    Video Screen No
    Preamp Voltage 2 volts
    Display Color Variable
    Key Button Color Variable
    EQ Bands 3
    Wireless Remote Yes
    Steering Wheel Control Compatible Adapter required
    Parts Warranty 2 Years
    Labor Warranty 2 Years
    Expandability
    AUX Input Front
    USB Input Front/Rear
    Memory Card Slot USB/SD-card
    Bluetooth Compatible Built-in
    Satellite Radio Ready No
    HD Radio Optional
    Navigation ---
    iPod Compatibility
    Full size Classic/5Gen
    Nano Nano6/Nano5/Nano4/Nano3/Nano2/
    Touch Touch4/Touch3/Touch2/Touch1
    Mini No
    iPhone Phone4/Phone3GS/Phone3G/Phone
    Tuner
    FM Sensitivity 8.5 dBf
    European Tuning Yes
    Seek/Scan Seek/Scan
    Radio Data System No
    Product Research
    What's in the box?

    Download owner's manual

    • AM/FM CD receiver (with a 10-amp fuse inserted into the chassis)
    • Face (inside hard plastic face case)
    • Sleeve (installed)
    • Trim ring
    • Wiring harness
    • XDMA7800 IR wireless remote control
    • CR2032 Lithium battery
    • 39" USB extension cable (with female USB type-A connector on one end and a male USB connector on other end)
    • Microphone with visor-clip (attached 9.75' cable terminated by a 3.5mm connector)
    • 2 Radio removal tools
    • Rear-support bolt
    • 4 Pan-head screws
    • Star-washer
    • Hex-nut
    • 2 Face-fixing screws
    • Installation/Owner's Manual
    • "Remove Transit Screws" note (attached to chassis)

    Our Product Research Team

    At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

    Disc Playback
    USB/SD-Card Support
    iPod/Auxiliary Connection
    Audio Section
    Radio Functions
    Bluetooth/Remote Control
    Display Features

    Disc Playback

    CD Compatibility: The Dual XDMA7800 headunit supports CD-Audio, CD-Text, CD-R, and CD-RW disc playback

    MP3/WMA/AAC Compatible: The headunit supports playback of MP3, WMA, and AAC music files recorded onto CD-R and CD-RW discs.

    Compatible Files MP3, WMA, AAC
    Recording Format ISO9660 level 1/level 2, Yellow book Mode1/Mode 2, Multi-session
    Sampling Frequency MP3: 8-48khz, WMA: 32-48kHz, AAC: 8-48kHz
    Bit Rate MP3: 32-320kbps, WMA: 32-192kbps, AAC: 48-288kbps
    ID3 Tag Support MP3 Tags: version 1.0-2.4, WMA Tags
    Character Support Song/Artist/Album Names: 30 characters, File/Folder Names: 32 characters
    File Folder Limit Maximum Folders/Files: 256, Maximum Folder Levels: 8

    Playback Features: The XDMA7800 offers playback features such as Repeat, Random and Intro scan.

    • Repeat: You can repeat a single track, a specific folder, or an entire disc.
    • Random: You can shuffle the playback order of all your songs or only the songs in a specific folder.
    • Intro Scan: You can scan the first 10 seconds of each track or the first 10 seconds of each track in a folder.

    File/Folder Search: This search function allows navigation through compressed music files' folders to find a specific file or for playback.

    USB/SD-Card Support

    Dual USB Ports: The Dual XDMA7800 is equipped with front- and rear-panel USB (type-A) port for playback of MP3/WMA/AAC files stored on a USB mass storage device. The XDMA7800 offers the following playback features for MP3/WMA/AAC USB files - File/Folder Search, Fast Forward/Reverse, Repeat/Random, and Intro Scan. The unit's USB ports will also charge your USB devices during connection.

    SD-Card Slot: The Dual XDMA7800 is equipped with hidden SD-card slot (behind detachable face-plate) for playback of MP3/WMA/AAC files stored on a SD/SDHC memory card (up to 16GB). The XDMA7800 offers the following playback features for MP3/WMA/AAC SD-card files - File/Folder Search, Fast Forward/Reverse, Repeat/Random, and Intro Scan.

    MP3/WMA/AAC Compatibility Chart: The MP3/WMA/AAC files stored on your USB mass storage device and SD/SDHC memory must meet the following requirements for proper playback on the XDMA7800.

    File System FAT/FAT32
    Compatible Files MP3, WMA, AAC
    Recording Format ISO9660 level 1/level 2, Yellow book Mode1/Mode 2, Multi-session
    Sampling Frequency MP3: 8-48khz, WMA: 32-48kHz, AAC: 8-48kHz
    Bit Rate MP3: 32-320kbps, WMA: 32-192kbps, AAC: 48-288kbps
    ID3 Tag Support MP3 Tags: version 1.0-2.4, WMA Tags
    Character Support Song/Artist/Album Names: 30 characters, File/Folder Names: 32 characters
    File Folder Limit Maximum Folder/Files: 65,535
    Maximum Folder Level: 7

    iPod/Auxiliary Connection

    iPod/iPhone Direct: The Dual XDMA7800 features a direct USB control system for your iPod or iPhone. To play music from your iPod/iPhone device, connect the USB/Dock cable (included with your iPod/iPhone) to the XDMA7800's front-panel or rear-panel USB port (or both). Playback will begin automatically. You can control your iPod/iPhone from the headunit, or your iPod/iPhone's clickwheel or touchscreen. You can search your iPod/iPhone's music from the XDMA7800 by Playlist, Artist, Album, Song, Genre, Audiobook, or Podcast. The headunit also supports Fast Forward/Reverse, Repeat/Random and Intro playback functions for your iPod/iPhone. The Dual XDMA7800 will display song, artist, and album information; as well as charged your connected iPod/iPhone.

    iPod/iPhone Compatibility Chart: The Dual Axxera XDMA7800 is "Made for iPod/iPhone" compatible and supports the following iPod/iPhone model features (as of 1/11/2012):

    iPod/iPhone Model Generation Tested Version Media Type Control Type Display Type Charge
    Audio Video Head Unit iPod/iPhone Song/Artist Text Track Info
    dock connector 3rd N/A N N N N N N N
    clickwheel
    color
    4th N/A N N N N N N N
    mini 1st N/A N N N N N N N
    2nd N/A N N N N N N N
    video 5th 1.3 Y N Y N Y Y Y
    classic 80GB 1.1.2 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    120GB 2.0.1 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    160GB 2.0.4 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    nano 1st 1.3.1 Y N Y N Y Y Y
    2nd 1.1.3 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    3rd 1.1.3 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    4th 1.0.4 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    5th 1.0.2 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    6th 1.1 PC Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    touch 1st 2.2.1 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    2nd 4.2.1 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    3rd 4.3.5 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    4th 5.0.1 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    iPhone 2G 3.1.3 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    3 4.2.1 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    3GS 4.3.5 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    4 5.0.1 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    4S 5.0.1 Y N Y Y Y Y Y
    iPad 1 5.0.1 N N N N N N N
    2 5.0.1 N N N N N N N

    Note: Apple iPod/iPhone software updates may change functionality results. If you download a newer software version, you may need to reset the head unit and your iPod/iPhone to regain functionality. If this doesn't work, you may need to wait until a newer software update is available.

    Auxiliary Input: The XDMA7800 features a front-panel 3.5mm auxiliary input for connecting an external portable audio device such as a portable MP3 player.

    Audio Section

    MOSFET Amplifier: The Dual Axxera XDMA7800 is equipped with a MOSFET amplifier. Compared to conventional power supplies, the MOSFET amplification circuit is smaller and more efficient, and it delivers increased power with less distortion and absolutely zero on/off switching noise. More power means louder and cleaner music at higher volumes because you're not pushing the limits of the amplification circuit.

    CEA2006 Compliant: The power specifications for the XDMA7800 are compliant with the CEA2006 Mobile Amplifier Power Testing and Measurement standards from the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA). These standards were developed as a way to equitably compare power specs from model to model and between manufacturers. The power output specs for the XDMA7800 are as follows:

    • CEA2006 Specs: 18 watts RMS x 4 channels (at 4 ohms, 20Hz-20kHz, 1% THD-N)
    • Maximum Power Output: 60 watts x 4 channels (240 watts total)

    Preset EQ Curves: The Dual CD Receiver features the following preset EQ curves to customize your music listening - Flat, Pop, Jazz, Classic, Beat, Rock, or User.

    3-Band EQ: The User Preset EQ setting allows you to adjust the unit's 3-Band EQ.

    Band Selectable Center Frequency Quality Factor Level
    Bass 50, 100, or 200Hz 0.7, 1.0, 1.4, or 2.0 -6 to +6 dB
    Midrange 0.5, 1.0, or 2.0 kHz 0.7, 1.0, 1.4, or 2.0 -6 to +6 dB
    Treble 5, 10, or 15 kHz 0.7, 1.0, 1.4, or 2.0 -6 to +6 dB

    Loudness: The Loudness function enhances the bass & treble frequencies at low volumes. The Loudness can be set to 1, 2, 3, or Off.

    2V/6Ch Preamp Outputs: The Dual Axxera XDMA7800 is equipped with three pair of 2-Volt preamp outputs (Front/Rear/Subwoofer). The front and rear speakers are fading with high-pass crossover filters, while the subwoofer output is non-fading with a low-pass crossover filter.

    • Front/Rear Preamp Outputs (with HPF): If you do not want low frequency sounds to play from the front or rear speaker preamp outputs (or speaker outputs), you can turn on the unit's High Pass Filter. The HPF has a selectable cutoff frequency of (62, 95, 135Hz, or Off). Only frequencies higher than those in the selected range are output through the speakers.
    • Subwoofer Output (with Sub Control): The unit has a pair of dedicated non-fading RCA subwoofer outputs with a low-pass filter (55, 85, 120Hz, or Through), phase adjustment (normal/reverse), and output level (0-12).

    Source Volume Level: The Source Volume Level control allows a gain adjustment for each audio source (Tuner, CD, Aux and USB). You can set the source volume level (+/-6dB) for each mode, depending on the relative volume of each audio source.

    Program Volume: You can se the XDMA7800 to power-on to the same volume level (1-46) every time.

    Key Beep: When this function is enabled, every button press will output a beep tone.

    Radio Functions

    AM/FM Tuner: The Dual XDMA7800 features a built-in AM/FM tuner with manual, seek, scan, and preset tuning.

    Preset Tuning: The built-in AM/FM tuner allows you to store up to 18 FM station presets and 12 AM station presets. You can tune your presets manually or have the headunit do it automatically.

    Scan Tuning: Press the Scan button on the included remote control to preview strong stations on the current band, pausing for five seconds at each. Press Scan again to select station or cancel the function.

    Local: The Local function allows only strong radio stations to be received, blocking stations with weaker signals.

    European Tuning: You can switch the tuner between USA or European tuning.

    HD Radio Ready (with iTunes Tagging): HD Radio operation requires connection of the Dual HDM90 HD Radio tuner (070HDM90, sold separately). With HD Radio you will be able to receive digital AM/FM broadcasts from local stations where available. This new technology will significantly improve audio quality and reception, as well as include information such as artist name and song titles or traffic news, viewable on the receiver's display. The Dual HDM90 HD Radio tuner is also capable of iTunes tagging. iTunes tagging gives you the ability to tag a song (up to 64) and stores it to a connected iPod. The next time your iPod is connected to iTunes, the tagged songs are displayed with the option to purchase them from the iTunes Store.

    Note: This function can be operated with the following iPod/iPhone models - iPod nano (3rd/4th/5th/6th gen), iPod classic (80/120/160GB), iPod touch (1st/2nd/3rd/4th gen), and iPhone (2G/3G/3GS/4).

    Bluetooth/Remote Control

    Built-in Bluetooth: Bluetooth hands-free communication is built into the Dual Axxera XDMA7800, making it easy to integrate a Bluetooth enabled cellular phone (up to 10). Bluetooth is a two-way wireless communication system allowing you to make and receive cell phone calls or stream digital audio from your Bluetooth enabled phone on the XDMA7800 CD receiver.

    • Hands-free Communications (HFP/PBAB): The built-in Bluetooth hands-free feature allows you to talk on your cell phone through the XDMA7800 without the need of holding it in your hand, which helps avoid any traffic violations by keeping your focused on the road. Incoming calls will be automatically appear on the display and a ring tone will heard through your car speakers. You can answer a call from the headunit or have the headunit automatically answer any incoming calls. You can dial a number from the headunit or the included remote control. You can also transfer your phonebook the headunit. In addition, you can view a list of the 10 most recent phone calls dialed, received, or missed. The XDMA7800 even supports call waiting. An external microphone is included for better audio performance (no integrated front-panel mic).
    • Audio Streaming: The built-in Bluetooth audio streaming feature allows you to stream digital audio from your Bluetooth enabled mobile phone to the XDMA7800 and control the playback of the audio through the headunit.

    Note: Due to the differences in Bluetooth technology, some mobile devices may be incompatible, function improperly, or may not support all features when used with the XDMA7800.

    Wireless Remote Control: The XDMA7800 comes supplied with a 21-button IR wireless remote control which provides complete control of the Dual CD Receiver.

    Steering Wheel Remote Compatibility: The head unit features an OEM steering wheel remote control input on the rear of the unit to allow you to keep your vehicle's radio steering wheel remote controls when used with the optional PAC SWI-RC Steering Wheel Control Interface Adapter (541SWIRC, sold separately); or the optional Metra ASWC Steering Wheel Control Interface Adapter (120ASWC, sold separately).

    Note: Please consult the Crutchfield Car Selector to see if your vehicle is compatible.

    Display Features

    Fold-Down/Detachable Face: The Dual Axxera XDMA7800 CD Receiver features a manual fold-down face-plate which keeps the CD mechanism hidden. Simply press a button on the face-plate to manually fold the face-plate down to insert or eject a disc. The face-plate is also detachable to deter theft and comes supplied with a hard-plastic carrying case to store the receiver's face when detached.

    Note: The headunit includes two face-fixing screws for use if you prefer that the unit's face-plate always stays attached.

    Variable Illumination: The XDMA7800 features variable color illumination for its LCD screen and buttons. You can adjust the button and LCD illumination between 31 preset colors, or customize your own color by adjusting Red, Green, and Blue levels (0-16). You can even have it scroll through all preset and customized colors. In addition, you can set a different color more for day and night driving.

    Display Settings: The headunit offers the following display settings.

    • Scrolling: You can change the scrolling style used for displayed information on the LCD screen. Choose from Off (no scrolling), Once (scrolls once), 15 Secs (scrolls once per 15 seconds), and On (constantly scrolls).
    • LCD Type: You can set the LCD illumination type to Positive (color background with black text), Negative (Black background with color text), or Automatic (switches to positive during daytime and negative during the night).
    • Display Dimmer: The headunit's display features three illumination dimmer settings (High/Medium/Low).

    12/24 Hour Clock: The unit's built-in clock will display 12-hour AM/PM time in USA frequency spacing mode. In European frequency spacing mode, the clock will display 24-hour time.

    Note: The clock can be set to stay on even when the headunit is turned off.

    Power-On Message: This feature allows a "Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening" text message to be shown on the unit's LCD screen when it is powered on.

    Demo Mode: You can enable or disable the  units demonstration mode.

     

     
    Review this product
    Great Gear Giveaway rewards card

    Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

    Axxera XDMA7800 Reviews

    Average Customer Review:

    18 people say:

    Review this product:

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

    Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
    (e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
    (e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

    Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
    Rate the following specific attributes
      Value
     Sound Quality
     Ease of Use
     "Coolness Factor"
     Build Quality
    1500 characters left
    Attach a YouTube Review
    Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
    • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
    • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
    • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
    500 characters left
    500 characters left
    Filter by rating:
    3 out of 5

    Disappointing

    Written By B_Z, Dallas, TX on Monday, February 24, 2014
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    This was a very disappointing purchase. The HD radio worked well and sounded great, but the Bluetooth sound quality was never good enough to use for hands-free calling. After a couple of years and electronics started going bad--the display periodically fails (goes blank or gets all broken up) and the controls sometimes do not work (I cannot adjust the volume, for instance). I should have read the reviews!
    Pros:
    decent radio sound for modest price
    Cons:
    useless for hands-free calling and poor dependability
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
    "Coolness Factor"
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Sound Quality
    Value
     
    2 out of 5

    It was the Best of Receivers; the Worst of Receivers.

    Written By John, Philadelphia, PA on Monday, June 25, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I've had the unit(s) for nearly a year. I purchased and installed the XDMA7800 in July 2011 into my 2004 VW Passat, along with the PAC C2R-VW2 interface and a Metra ASWC Steering Wheel Control Unit, replacing the factory Monsoon system. The inputs on the XDMA7800 are unrivaled. I was initially impressed with the unit, but I discovered its lack of polish and quality.

    For some reason a/v receivers don't support mp3 playlists, so all ordering has to be done by folders. Scrolling/searching in a car is a challenge; but with all the inputs, I setup two USB sticks and the SD card with different folder structures: playlist , or album/artist, or just root of files. Setting up playback settings for each source (random by folder, full random, or linear) let me quickly switch sources to get the org. style that I wanted. This was it's shining feature. I could match the VW blue/red dash fairly well with the adjustable colors, but the advertised dimming let me down . Good choice of buttons on the front face. I don't want to hit menu/select/scroll/menu to get to a Preset. Overall the I/O is well placed (even if a little tight on the single DIN). Bluetooth was a killer. Distortion which sounded like clipping (on all calls). Phonebook is really bad (downloads on each connect /doesn't save in receiver). LCD display flaked out on the first unit, Got a replacement unit and that completely died a few weeks ago.

    After two failed units, I gave up and went with a JVC.
    Pros:
    1) Two USBs, an SD card slot AND built in Bluetooth (not a usb nub). Show me another receiver with this lineup. 2) Individual settings memory for each input (and lots of them). 3) Good use of buttons and I/O layout on front panel 4) Adjustable Colors worked pretty well. Day/Night colors supported, but it is based on fixed time transitions (no illum. input).
    Cons:
    1) Overall quality: Had two of them, both exhibited failures, the second one completely died. I have seen other reports of LCD failures on this model. 2) Bluetooth implementation: probably a non-starter 3) FM reception poor on a strong local station. (the *only* FM station that I listen to, and the receiver couldn't tune it) 4) No illumination light input. The time based approach doesn't account for when your lights are on during the day: in a storm, tunnel, etc. It's a hassle .
    2 out of 2 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
    "Coolness Factor"
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Sound Quality
    Value
     
    4 out of 5

    Awesome stereo

    Written By Rob M, Belleville, IL on Sunday, January 29, 2012
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Good stereo. I wish I had bought it for my truck instead of my wife's Wrangler. I may upgrade her stereo and move this to my truck within the year. Does what she wanted it to do...link up with her iPod so she could listen to music. The iPod interface worked flawlessly. Only problem she seems to be having is with bluetooth reception. For some reason it is intermittent with her iPhone. I have not used it with my Droid, but plan to in the future. Otherwise, it is definitely better than the stock system. Rob
    Pros:
    Subwoofer output Built in crossovers and high pass filters
    Cons:
    Bluetooth reception.
    1 out of 1 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
    "Coolness Factor"
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Sound Quality
    Value
     
    3 out of 5

    This was a great player until...

    Written By Dan F, Murrieta, CA on Friday, December 23, 2011
     
    When I first got it, this unit looked pretty promising to me. Everything works as it shoud and I love the variety of inputs this thing has. What I found interestingly is that each USB/SD input seems to have its own EQ settings. This could be a good thing or a bad thing - if I insert my music, I would prefer my settings to be the same for all the inputs. However, I do like it when I am listening to books on tape or old time radio shows which the EQ varies.

    Now my gripes. The Bluetooth freezes up so often that I had to disable it. It streamed from my Android phone via Pandora without a hitch but the freezing made it unbareable. The only other issue is that the volume suddenly raises up or lowers down, depending on it's mood, quite randomly. It hasn't happened in about a month now, but like another user says, it could cause an accident. Good thing that you can power the unit down and turn it back on again. Overall, I'm giving this unit a 3 out of 5 stars. I would have given it a 5 out of 5 if the issues didn't persist.
    Pros:
    So many features - this unit bleeds features: CD, USBx2, SD Card, built-in Bluetooth, plenty of outputs, pretty good equalization - sounds great!
    Cons:
    Bluetooth sucks and volume raises or lowers randomly. Bad quality in my opinion.
    2 out of 3 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
    "Coolness Factor"
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Sound Quality
    Value
     
    2 out of 5

    Almost the best receiver I've ever owned. Almost.

    Written By Ryan J, Tallahassee, FL on Thursday, November 10, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I fell in love with this receiver the moment I opened the box. And that love lasted until it tried to kill me.

    I have an otherwise awesome sound system in my Scion xB, including two Rockford Fosgate 12s in the back. Imagine driving at 50mph in bumper-to-bumper traffic when, suddenly, your stereo ramps up to full volume, pounding your subwoofers so hard that your windows are bulging in and out.

    That's bad enough. What's worse is that there's absolutely no way to stop it without turning off the power to the unit, which means turning off the car. You can imagine how much fun that is.

    This appears to be afflicting others, as well, and Axxera needs to address this problem immediately. This will eventually cause someone to get into a car accident.
    Pros:
    Lots of inputs. Superb sound quality on all inputs. Intuitive controls. Elegant appearance. Easy to install.
    Cons:
    It randomly, without any provocation, ramps its volume up to maximum. Some Bluetooth glitches, but this could've been my phone. Folder navigation is a bit difficult at first.
    4 out of 4 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
    "Coolness Factor"
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Sound Quality
    Value
     
    2 out of 5

    Returned it

    Written By Dan, Philadelphia, PA on Tuesday, November 08, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    If all the features this unit has worked as advertised it would be a great deal but unfortunately it has two deal-breaking problems:

    1. The FM reception is absolutely terrible. On my 45-minute drive to work, I listen to the same radio station (which broadcasts a few miles from my house) the whole way. With my car's stock radio I never had a moment of static or interference. With the Axxera, the station was not coming in great sitting in front of my house (I can even get this station on my cellphone's built-in FM radio!) and was totally gone by the time my drive was half over.

    2. The bluetooth streaming playback suffers audio dropout, audio is just lost several times per minute for a second. It makes listening to music via BT basically impossible.

    I ended up exchanging it (thanks Crutchfield!) for the JVC KD-R820BT. I gave up a few things (the JVC has dual USB ports but you have to use one of them for the bluetooth adapter, no SD card slot, and the controls and display are not as intuitive), but the BT audio streaming is flawless and the FM reception, while not as good as the stock radio, is much better than the Axxera. So if you're thinking about the XDMA7800 but you want to have a decent FM radio and good bluetooth playback, just get the JVC instead.
    Pros:
    Great features for the price: built-in bluetooth, two USB ports, SD card slot, adjustable display color.
    Cons:
    FM reception is horrible and the bluetooth streaming suffers regular dropouts.
    3 out of 3 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
    "Coolness Factor"
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Sound Quality
    Value
     
    5 out of 5

    Follow up

    Written By Chris, California on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
     
    I have had it installed now for a few months. One thing I have noticed is twice now the volume or the FM frequency ramps up with no input from me. Another thing I have noticed as I have a pretty regular routine is that both seemed to happen in the same area. Therefore since both these things are controllable by IR Remote, I suspect there may be some random signals being received by the receiver and not necessarily the fault of the receiver. But that is the only problem I have had - Otherwise a great product!
    Pros:
    Still Great!
    Cons:
    Possible independent volume or FM frequency ramp
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
    "Coolness Factor"
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Sound Quality
    Value
     
    4 out of 5

    Satisfied

    Written By Kbrn, Central Florida on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I was really hesitating to buy this head unit because it is of a brand I never heard of, I just got done installing the unit and I'm pretty impressed with the features, the possibilities are almost endless when it comes to listen to your music collection, The SD Card it's the only feature I haven tried yet but I'm almost sure I won't use it as much. I tested the Cd Player--works good (not tested on bumpy roads yet) I tested the Back USB Port with my iPod and it just won't work, not even to charge it. (That's why I'm giving this unit a 4 Stars Rating) The back USB port works flawless with my phone though I mounted the Micro SD Card and it did recognized it right away) The front USB port work as it should with both iPod and Phone. The Bluetooth Also paired with no troubles with my HTC EVO Shift 4G, Streaming music with Pandora it's just AWESOME!.. The color change feature it's cool and nice but the font is a little rough for my taste. I only had a couple of hours installing/testing the unit but so far this is my review. We'll see in the next 3 or 4 days (which is usually the time it takes me to get to know new toys lol)
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Axxera XDMA7800

    Written By B.G., Portland, OR on Sunday, September 25, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I was reluctant to buy a brand I had never heard of, but the feature list seemed impressive. In the end, I bought and installed the XDMA7800. I am VERY happy with it. Unlike the last 2 radios I bought, it's navigation is pretty darn simple. The menus are simple and the features and plentiful. There are several EQ curves that sound good and the display is wonderful. Pay the extra money and get this bigger screen with more info. One feature that I really like is the ability to change the color of the screen - 1 color for day, another for night. Its bright in the day (yellow/green) and red at night (easy on the eyes). My only complaint is that the rear ipod connector didn't play nice with my ipod for whatever reason (reason for 4 stars), but plugging it in the front worked fine. I can live with that.
    1 out of 1 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Great Stereo

    Written By Chris, California on Sunday, August 28, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Was referred to a Pioneer but found this one had all that I wanted especially Bluetooth and an SD slot. I've tried all features and it works great. I listen to NPR via FM radio and am very happy with the reception- another important feature to me. My phone on bluetooth connects everytime I get back in and start up the car. I have tried the aux cable to play music with my phone and I have streamed Pandora over the internet via my phone on bluetooth. It plays CDs flawlessly! I too placed the microphone in the lower pocket and used double-sided tape to adhear it to the top corner. It works fine from what people have told me. If I bend over and talk right into it they say it works even better so of course wiring it all the way over and up to the visor would be optimum - I didn't want to put that much effort if I didn't need to. I placed the rear USB cord to hang down just below and on the console side of the map pocket/glove box - but it can be tucked up out of sight. USB devices work great! I just received a 16GB micro card that I plan to load up most of my MP3 music and simply just work with that. No wires or other devices hanging off or power hungry bluetooth. All and all a great system. Really why I bought this one? I could make it any color screen I wanted and had all the features I wanted for a great price. I really like the way the screen goes from negative display for day to positive display for night time based off the times you provide.
    3 out of 4 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Some bluetooth issues

    Written By JamesM, St. Charles, MO on Sunday, August 21, 2011
     
    Overall the unit is great. The SD card is a great feature, plus two usb ports front and rear. One thing to note is that you have to remove the front faceplate to insert the SD card.

    Bluetooth works fine with my HTC EVO. The EVO connects automatically (for phone calls) when I get in the car and turn on the radio. Streaming Pandora from the phone to the head unit also works fine.

    The only issues I have with the unit are that the controls are somewhat non-intuitive and the bluetooth phonebook has issues.

    The phone book uploaded from my EVO to the head unit fine, but as a previous reviewer indicated, the entries are not in alphabetical order (by first or last name). Additionally I had assumed that you could store one or two quick-dial numbers in the unit which unfortunately you cannot. Receiving calls works great, however.

    Great unit, some minor flaws.
    1 out of 1 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    1 out of 5

    Wasnt pleased

    Written By Seth, Indianapolis,in on Tuesday, August 16, 2011
     
    Got this as a gift PROS: Sounds great, bluetooth works well

    Cons: Has terrible reception compared to my old sony explode, volume will randomly turn up to full blast
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    3 out of 5

    Bluetooth Issues

    Written By Chris, Lexington, KY on Friday, August 12, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Overall, a nice unit with good sound and many user options in the settings. Unfortunately, I noticed several design issues, primarily with the bluetooth, that made me send it back, which Crutchfield's CS is top-notch. The first was the BT microphone, which is intended to go on the headliner by the windshield. The mount is designed so that there is no pivot point for the microphone, and there were no other mount options in the box, so when the mount is placed on the headliner, the mic faces up slightly above horizontal and you can't change it. Another problem was, after pairing my cell phone, the unit would not connect automatically. I did a manual connect and it worked. I tried an HTC and a Samsung, neither connected automatically. Also, upon making a test call, my wife said the volume was too low, but guess what, there is no mic volume setting like other brands have. One other strange thing is there is no option to delete a paired phone. There is a bluetooth reset, but that deletes ALL paired phones. Makes me wonder why manufacturers don't get consumers to "beta" test their units before releasing them.
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Axxera XDMA7800

    Written By Constantine, San Ramon,CA on Friday, August 12, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Overall very nice unit and does exactly what it suppose to do. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 are

    1) No handsfree dialing aka voice dialing
    2) Phonebook feature a absolutely useless. The phone book in not even alphabetized.
    3) Defaults settings are set very low and require tune-up.
    4) Prefetch for CD is very poor and it lose track when car hit a bump. Saying that CD technology is mostly obsolete so I was not worried much about that.

    Installation was a snap and after tweaking some default settings (mostly output profile should be set to Loud 1) got very decent sound. SD card, Bluetooth streaming, CD, MP3 , MWA everything worked flawlessly.

    Happy with purchase and would recommend.
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Axxera XDMA7800

    Written By Brock, Paducah, Kentucky on Wednesday, August 03, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    This stereo is amazing.... The features are sick. It sounds and looks great. I installed this with a kenwood amp and two 10'' Kicker comp's..... The whole system is great. the bluetooth audio streaming is the best idea ever. I just hook up my ipod and just lay it down, no wires to get in the way or anything.
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Versitle Reciever

    Written By ChuckS, Fort Collins, CO on Tuesday, August 02, 2011
     
    The first unit had a defective front face plate pivot point but Crutchfield immediately sent a replacement receiver. Great service.

    The FM receiver is very good. The bluetooth paired with my old Nokia phone easily and call quality is excellent. Overall sound quality seems good but I only have the basic factory speaker system so can't really judge.

    Love the SD card. Manual says it supports up to 32GB SD card but I'm only using a 16GB card. Put my mp3 library on the card and am using it instead of my iPod since you can play everything in the same manner that an iPod can without the cable to an iPod.

    The user selectable lighting scheme is a nice touch. Especially different user selectable colors for day and night so to not distract from my night vision yet clear contrast during the daytime.

    Negatives. The AM radio is really bad. Far worse that the factory radio. So bad it almost doesn't pick up clearly the local AM stations. Wonder if my radio is defective. My other complaint is the detachable faceplate isn't as solid as I'd like. A Pioneer radio I have in my other car is the same way so maybe it just comes with all detachable face plates.
    1 out of 1 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    First Impression

    Written By Scott R, Staten Island, NY on Tuesday, July 26, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Just received this head unit today and at first glance, I am very pleased with the features and sound quality. Bluetooth stereo audio streaming and phone call quality are both great using my Moto Droid 2, as well as stereo and USB quality. Haven't yet tried the SD card slot or CD player, but will try both soon and update, even though I expect both to work flawlessly as well. So far, no issues, and with a new brand no less! I had to review this one because I was desperately looking for any other reviews on this unit besides the one other person who reviewed on this site, but to no avail.
    2 out of 3 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    One month in...

    Written By rds, not here on Thursday, July 07, 2011
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I have had this head unit in my Supercrew f-150 for a month now. It sounds good and looks good just like the ad states. I added two Polk 6 1/2" speakers and am extremely pleased with the improvement in sound quality. The front and rear USB ports are nice, but I like the completely hidden SD card slot behind the face plate the best. Load up a 2G+ SD card with as many songs as you will ever listen to, latch it into place behind the face plate, attach the faceplate and tadah, no wires, no thumbdrives visible and you don't have to try and route the aft USB around to your glove box to have a clean way to enjoy your music library. The bluetooth is clear and loud, the remote mic makes voice clear and bright for the person on the other end of the line. BT actually connected to my phone more quickly with this head unit than in my brand Ford Edge with MyTouch. I do wish the phone book download capabilities were better and I also wish the head unit would retain "Recent Call" list after exiting the vehicle or otherwise disconnecting your phone from BT. I also played music via BT from my ipod touch. It was flawless, controls responded quickly and accurately. Overall great application and functionality for the price.
    8 out of 8 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     

    Add accessories for the Axxera XDMA7800

    Keep one of these in your car, so you can leave your other cable at home. See all categories & accessories

    PAC USB Extension Cable Connects to your car stereo's rear USB input — gives you a convenient spot to plug in your iPod® cable
    50 people say
    Your Price: $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Scosche flatOUT Mini Stereo Cable Flat cable with a male miniplug on each end (available in two lengths) (3 feet)
    18 people say
    Your Price: $14.99
    Add to Cart
    Scosche I335 Mini Stereo Cable 3-ft. cable with a male miniplug on each end
    32 people say
    Your Price: $9.99
    Add to Cart
    InstallCard: In-dash Stereo Prepaid professional in-dash receiver installation
    81 people say
    Your Price: $59.99
    Add to Cart
    InstallCard: Bluetooth Stereo Prepaid professional installation of an in-dash receiver with Bluetooth®
    26 people say
    Your Price: $99.99
    Add to Cart
    Axxess ASWC-1 Steering Wheel Control Adapter Connects your car's steering wheel audio controls to select aftermarket car stereos
    263 people say
    Your Price: $79.99
    Add to Cart
    PAC SWI-RC Steering Wheel Control Adapter Connects your car's steering wheel audio controls to select aftermarket car stereos
    108 people say
    Your Price: $69.99
    Add to Cart
    iDatalink Maestro ADS-MSW Steering Wheel Control Adapter Connects your car's steering wheel audio controls to select aftermarket car stereos
    74 people say
    Your Price: $79.99
    Add to Cart
    Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Control Adapter Add steering wheel audio controls to your vehicle — works with an aftermarket car stereo's steering wheel control input
    3 people say
    Your Price: $174.99
    Add to Cart
    PAC SWI-CP5 Steering Wheel Control Adapter Connects your car's steering wheel audio controls to select aftermarket car stereos
    Your Price: $89.99
    Add to Cart
    Axxera PDM10 Device Mount Adjustable smartphone and device mount for select Axxera receivers
    4 people say
    Your Price: $24.99
    Add to Cart
    Monster Digital USB 2.0 Flash Drive Convenient storage for photos, videos, and more (4GB)
    9 people say
    Your Price: $8.99
    Add to Cart
    Maxell USB 360° USB flash memory drive (32GB)
    4 people say
    Your Price: $26.99

    After $13.00 Price Break

    Add to Cart
    Monster Digital USB 3.0 High Speed 32GB flash memory drive (Red)
    1 person says
    Your Price: $24.99

    After $7.00 Price Break

    Add to Cart
    Monster Digital Advanced On-the-go Flash Drive SuperSpeed USB 3.0 flash drive (8GB)
    1 person says
    Your Price: $9.99

    After $7.00 Price Break

    Add to Cart
    Monster Digital USB 3.0 High Speed 16GB flash memory drive (Light Blue)
    Your Price: $13.99

    After $5.00 Price Break

    Add to Cart
    Monster Digital USB 3.0 High Speed 8GB flash memory drive (Orange)
    1 person says
    Your Price: $9.99

    After $3.00 Price Break

    Add to Cart
    Metra Crimp Tool and Connectors Package contains crimp tool and over 150 pieces
    15 people say
    Your Price: $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Metra Crimp Tool Set Package contains light-duty crimp tool and 20 crimp caps
    27 people say
    Your Price: $9.99
    Add to Cart
    S&G Wire Cutter/Stripper Tool Cuts and strips 12- to 22-gauge wire
    15 people say
    Your Price: $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Pro.Fit Hook Tool Set Installation tools — pair
    9 people say
    Your Price: $6.49
    Add to Cart
    Pro.Fit Trim Panel Tool Remove your vehicle's trim panels without damage
    87 people say
    Your Price: $5.99
    Add to Cart
    Pro.Fit Wire Worm Installation tool helps route wiring through tight spaces
    31 people say
    Your Price: $12.99
    Add to Cart
    Skewdriver Pro SPK4042 Ratcheting straight and offset screwdriver set with 40 bits (Skewdriver Pro with ratchet handle, pictured)
    8 people say
    Your Price: $49.99
    Add to Cart

    Why choose SquareTrade?

    The #1-Rated Protection Plan

    Thousands of people have reviewed SquareTrade Protection Plans — and made us #1.

    5-Day Service Guarantee & Free Shipping

    We'll repair or replace your item in five business days or less after we've received it, or your plan is free. And, as always, we pay for all shipping.

    Protection from Normal, Everyday Use

    Repairing your average mechanical or electrical failure can cost as much as buying a new device. With SquareTrade, you're covered — including parts and labor.

    3 Year Protection Plan
    3 Year Protection Plan
    Your Price: $26.99
    Add to Cart

    For a more in-depth review and enhanced detailed information on the Axxera XDMA7800, please visit the Crutchfield website product page (/ISEO-rccbcspd/p_070XDM7800/Axxera-XDMA7800.html ).