1.888.955.6000
crutchfield.com
Crutchfield

Eclipse AVN4430

Navigation receiver

Watch video
Zoom
  • Eclipse AVN4430

    Front

  • Eclipse AVN4430

    Back

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

  • Eclipse AVN4430

Item #: 099AVN4430
 

Review Summary

DISCONTINUED
 
This item is no longer available to purchase.
 
Contact us for other options
 
Call   Email  
 
 
 
 
 

Our take on the Eclipse AVN4430

by Zak Billmeier

Why install a car stereo with built-in GPS?

Imagine taking a trip as your car's receiver gives you directions, finds the best restaurant for dinner, and plays movies for your back seat denizens. Navigation receivers cover all the bases, with GPS guidance, DVD playback, and a host of other useful features. You can search through millions of points of interest to locate gas stations, restaurants, museums, and other interesting spots, wherever you are. Most receivers offer Bluetooth capability for hands-free calling, along with the ability to search through your iPod playlists with touchscreen controls.

Detachable TomTom navigator

Eclipse and TomTom together

Eclipse combines great-sounding music playback, crisp DVD playback, and the convenience of TomTom portable navigation in the AVN4430 navigation receiver.


GPS navigation: in-dash and portable

A TomTom portable navigator snaps into place to serve as the AVN4430's display. Responsive touchscreen controls let you make system adjustments and choose sources with ease. Enjoy DVD movies while you're parked on the sharp 4.3" screen, or connect a video screen in back so your backseat passengers can enjoy a movie while you're driving.

Read more

Pop the TomTom out, and you can use it like any other portable navigator. Take it inside, connect it to your computer and download the latest map updates, plan a trip online, or update your TomTom software. Take it with you in a rental car. When you get back home, just click it back into place on the AVN4430 receiver. You can even download fun stuff from TomTom's site, so you can access traffic and weather information, edit your points of interest, or change the voice that calls out your next turn.


Built-in Bluetooth® and other safety features

Enjoy the convenience and added safety of hands-free calling that built-in Bluetooth provides, no adapter needed. When a call comes in, the receiver mutes your music and you'll hear your caller over your speakers.


Play all your music

Add an optional adapter, and you'll get fingertip control over your iPod® right on the touchscreen. Load up a CD with music files for hours of driving music, or hook up a flash drive full of MP3 files to your USB input. You can add a satellite radio tuner for nearly endless entertainment on the road. A strong amplifier teams up with a premium digital-to-analog converter and 3-band parametric equalizer to deliver clean, powerful sound in your car.

Eclipse makes it easy for you to connect the AVN4430 to your vehicle's steering wheel controls, too. In most cases, you won't need an adapter harness, just a free download from Eclipse's website.


Rear-view camera

Play it safe with a rear view camera

Add an optional rear-view camera if you own a larger vehicle, if you tow a trailer, or if your vehicle has a blind spot. Put your vehicle in reverse, and you'll see what's behind you on the screen in front of you.


Information provided by Eclipse

Bluetooth


Bluetooth


Bluetooth


Bluetooth

Highlights:

    General features:
    • in-dash receiver with detachable navigator
    • built-in amp (15 watts RMS CEA 2006/50 peak x 4 channels)
    • TomTom portable navigator with 4.3" touchscreen
    • built-in Bluetooth for hands-free calling
    • fits double-sized (4" tall) dash openings
    Audio/Video features:
    • 3-band parametric EQ
    • 24-bit digital-to-analog converter for full, detailed sound
    • plays MP3/WMA files on CD, MP3 files on USB
    • low-pass filter
    Navigation features:
    • detachable TomTom GPS navigation featuring map and voice turn-by-turn guidance
    • City Map mode — maps that render accurate representations of specific buildings and landmarks in many cities
    • 2.98 million points of interest (hotels, restaurants, gas stations, etc.)
    • easy update — just detach it and connect to your home computer
    Expandability:
    • compatible with iPod adapter, satellite radio, rear-view camera
    • inputs: rear USB input, rear A/V input, rear-view camera input
    • outputs: 6-channel preamp outputs (front, rear, subwoofer), audio/video output
    Other information:

    Hands-on research from the Crutchfield Labs (what are the Labs?)

    Features and Specs
    General
    CEA-2006 Compliant No
    RMS Power Output 15 watts
    Peak Output 50 watts
    RMS Power Bandwidth 20-20kHz
    Preamp Outputs 6-channel
    Sub Preamp Outputs Yes
    Switchable Rear Preamp Outputs No
    Video Screen Yes
    Preamp Voltage 3 volts
    Display Color
    Key Button Color Blue or red
    EQ Bands 3
    Wireless Remote No
    Steering Wheel Control Compatible Yes
    Parts Warranty 1 Year
    Labor Warranty 1 Year
    Expandability
    AUX Input Optional
    USB Input Yes
    Memory Card Slot USB Memory
    Bluetooth Compatible Yes
    Satellite Radio Ready Both
    HD Radio No
    Navigation Optional
    iPod Compatibility
    Full size ---
    Nano ---
    Touch ---
    Mini ---
    iPhone ---
    Tuner
    FM Sensitivity 15 dBf
    European Tuning Yes
    Seek/Scan Seek
    Radio Data System No
    Product Research
    What's in the box?

    Download owner's manual

    • Double-DIN DVD/Navigation receiver with built-in dock for portable navigation device
    • TomTom portable navigation device (PND) with 4.3" screen
    • Black vinyl case for TomTom PND
    • Wiring harness (16-pin plug for power / speaker wires)
    • Wiring harness (16-pin plug for reverse / backup camera)
    • Wiring harness (14-pin plug for speed pulse / parking / USB / iPod)
    • 30" USB cable (with Type A USB on one end and Mini USB Ver.2.0 on the other end)
    • Four 8" wire ties
    • Magnetic base GPS antenna with attached 19.5' cable
    • Ground plate (2-1/2" x 2-1/2")
    • 3 Wire splicing clamps
    • TomTom PND contact cover
    • 8 Flat-head ISO-DIN mounting screws (M5 x 8mm)
    • 8 Hex-head/Phillips-head ISO-DIN mounting bolts (M5 x 8mm / 4 bolts installed)
    • TomTom Home User Manual on CD-ROM
    • TomTom User Guide
    • TomTom Services & Accessories booklet
    • TomTom License Agreement
    • Eclipse Owner's Manual
    • Installation Manual
    • List of Contents
    • Consumer Limited Warranty sheet
    • Addendum sheet

    Our Product Research Team

    At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

    Features
    Video Display Adjustments
    DVD Video Features
    Navigation Features
    External Device Controls

    Features

    Overview: The Eclipse AVN4430 is a Double-DIN (4" chassis height) Audio/Video/Navigation unit that combines performance with portability. The AVN4430 includes a removable TomTom portable GPS navigation, docked into the front panel. The 4.3" LCD touch screen is used to display the GPS navigation maps and routing information, video from a DVD movie, or the audio and system information. The portable navigation section can be removed and used in another vehicle if desired.

    4.3" Widescreen TFT Display: The Eclipse AVN4430 is equipped with a 4.3" WQVGA low-reflection display with touch screen control. The LCD panel has 391,680 pixels (480 x 272 x 3). The motorized screen slides down and out to allow you access to the disc slot. You can also set the display panel to one of 6 angles between up to approximately 30° for best viewing.

    Sub-Display: In addition to the 4.3" display on the TomTom portable navigation device (PND), the AVN4430 has a small (7/8"W x 7/16"H) sub-display in the upper left corner of the front panel. The dot matrix sub-display shows the source name as you cycle through the available sources.

    Radio Band Switching: If you wish to take the receiver out of the country, the tuner frequencies and interval can be switched on any of four possible regions:

    • USA/North America:
      • FM: 87.75-107.9 MHz (0.2 MHz step)
      • AM: 530-1710 kHz (10 kHz step)
    • Asia (includes Europe):
      • FM: 87.5-108.0 MHz (0.05 MHz step)
      • AM: 522-1629 kHz (9 kHz step)
    • Australia:
      • FM: 87.5-108.0 MHz (0.1 MHz step)
      • AM: 522-1710 kHz (9 kHz step)
    • Latin America:
      • FM: 87.75-107.9 MHz (0.1 MHz step)
      • AM: 530-1710 kHz (10 kHz step)

    MP3/WMA Playback: The Eclipse AVN4430 supports playback of MP3 and WMA audio files recorded on CD-R and CD-RW discs.

    USB Interface: The AVN4430 has a female Type A USB jack on a 57" pigtail for playing MP3 files loaded onto a USB Flash Drive (WMA or AAC files on a USB flash drive will not play). You can select music by song title, playlist, artist, album, or genre. The Find feature allows you to use an on-screen keyboard to enter the title of the song you're looking for. Playback preferences include Song Repeat and Shuffle Songs. Note: The PND must be docked for USB playback.

    3-Band EQ: You can adjust the 3-band EQ +/-11dB (-6 to +6): Bass (80 Hz), Mid (700 Hz), Treble (10 kHz).

    Loudness: The Loudness feature is used to correct for insufficient low and high sounds when listening at low volume. When activated, the Loudness feature provides a +9dB boost at 100 Hz and a +6dB boost at 10kHz.

    3-Volt, Low-Impedance Preamp Outputs: To assure a clean, strong signal to connected amplifiers, the AVN4430 has 3 pairs of 3-volt preamp outputs with an impedance of 1000Ω.

    Subwoofer Output: In addition to the front and rear preamp outputs, there is a dedicated subwoofer preamp out. The sub output has an adjustable output (-6 to +6) and switchable phase (Normal or Reverse). The Crossover point and slope information is not provided for the built-in low pass filter.

    A/V Inputs/Outputs: The AVN4430 is equipped with one audio/video input with composite video and stereo RCA audio jacks for connecting a VCR or game console. Video from the A/V input can only be viewed when the vehicle is stopped and the parking brake engaged. The unit also has a composite video output for connecting an external monitor.

    Rear View Camera Ready: The AVN4430 has a dedicated rear port for plugging in the optional BEC106 or BEC108 (item number 099BEC106 / 099BEC108) Rear View Camera. The camera is designed to assist you with rear parking or eliminate the dangerous blind spot immediately behind your vehicle. In the setup menu, you can select Auto or Manual operation of the rear view camera. When Auto is selected, and the reverse gear detection wire is properly connected, the image from the rear camera will appear on the LCD panel whenever you put the vehicle in reverse. When Manual is selected, you can view the rear view camera image by simply switching to the Rear View Camera source.

    Steering Wheel Controls: The steering wheel remote connections are compatible with voltage detection-type OEM steering wheel remote controls, such as the PAC SWI-ECL2 (item number 127SWIECL2).

    Video Display Adjustments

    Screen Mode: There are three screen aspect modes:

    • Normal: displays 4:3 material with black bars on the sides
    • Wide: 4:3 material is uniformly expanded horizontally to fill the screen
    • Zoom: 4:3 picture is enlarged vertically and horizontally

    Picture Adjustments: The display's Tint, Color, Contrast, and Brightness are adjustable.

    Display Modes: You can independently enable the AVN4430's sub-display and PND display to switch between Day View and Night View modes when the vehicle lights (parking lights, taillights, license plate lights) are turned on and off. In addition, the orange/white illumination wire in the main power harness must be connected to the vehicle's headlight circuit.

    PND Display : You can easily switch between the Navigation screen and the A/V screen on the TomTom PND by pressing the volume knob.

    DVD Video Features

    DVD Compatibility: The AVN4430 is compatible with DVD-Video, DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, and DVD+RW discs. DVD-R/RW and DVD+R/RW playback is possible only when the discs are recorded in the Video mode. Discs recorded in the VR (Video Recording) mode, and discs not finalized will not play in this unit.

    Safety Video Lockout: For safety reasons, DVD video cannot be viewed on the built-in screen unless the vehicle is stopped and the parking brake is engaged.

    Operation Screen: When you want to search for a specific chapter or scene, you can touch the screen to display the Operation Screen. The top of the Operation Screen indicates the title and chapter number, the title elapsed time, the current playback mode, and icons for multiple angles, Dolby Digital, etc. The bottom of the screen provides you with function keys for fast forward/reverse, play/pause, stop, search, menu, and subtitles.

    Rear Monitor Output: The AVN4430 has a composite video output to allow you to connect a rear video monitor.

    Navigation Features

    TomTom Portable Navigation: The AVN4430 features a removable GPS navigation unit from TomTom, which can be taken out of the head unit dock and used in a secondary vehicle. The portable navigation device (PND) is equipped with maps of North America (US, Canada, Puerto Rico) on a built-in 2 GB flash memory. Additional maps can be downloaded from the TomTom website and stored on an optional SD memory card. The navigation system uses maps and voice instructions to guide you as you are driving. You can use the unit's touch controls to make menu selections.

    GPS: The unit uses the Global Positioning System (GPS) to pinpoint your present location by using latitudinal and longitudinal data received from three or more satellites. The PND has a built-in GPS antenna, and an external GPS antenna is included with the head unit. It should be mounted in a position (inside or outside) with a clear view of the sky.

    City Maps: The TomTom navigation system provides detailed street-level maps that make it easier to recognize streets, buildings and various identification points.

    Navigation: The 'Navigate to...' menu is the simplest and most useful starting point in most situations. Given your current GPS position, you can use this to navigate to any given address, intersection, favorite location, POI (Point Of Interest), and so on. You can choose from the following options:

    • Home: Once your home location is stored in memory, it can be quickly be chosen as a destination.
    • Favorite: The locations that you visit frequently can be stored in the Favorite menu. A Favorite can be chosen as a destination without having to enter its address each time.
    • Address: This option lets you enter a specific address as a destination. When you end an address, you can choose from five options.
      • City Center: sets your destination as the center of a city or town
      • Street And House Number: sets an exact address as your destination
      • Zip Code: enters a Zip Code as your destination
      • Cross Street Or Intersection: sets your destination as the point where two streets meet
      • Spoken Address: you can verbally enter the address by speaking the state, city, street name, and house number. You can choose to be prompted on screen only, or both on screen and spoken commands.
    • Recent Destination: You can display a list of addresses, Points Of Interest and other destinations that you've used recently.
    • Points Of Interest: This option lets you choose from a database of approximately 2,988,000 railway stations, restaurants, gas stations, ATMs, and so on.
    • Point On Map: You can use the map browser to select a destination, scroll around the map, zooming in or out as needed.
    • My Location: You can select your current GPS location as your destination.
    • Latitude/Longitude: This is a calculated route based on Latitude and Longitude parameters.
    • Last Docked: This is a calculated route based on the last time the unit was docked in the head unit.
    • TomTom Buddy: You can welcome friends and colleagues into your network of "TomTom Buddies". Then if you both wish you can be alerted when a friend is nearby, or you can navigate to where they are.

    Text-To-Speech With Speech Recognition: The PND understands the pronunciation of city and street names allowing you to speak an address into the unit. You can also answer questions asked by the unit while driving, so you can keep your eyes on the road with the combination of text-to-speech and speech recognition technology. The GPS unit also announces directions and street names giving you easier guidance and allowing you to focus better on the road ahead.

    Rerouting: If you leave the recommended route accidentally (or on purpose), a new alternate route will instantly be recalculated and displayed.

    Find Alternative: Once a route has been planned, you can change it using the 'Find alternative...' menu. You can choose from the following options:

    • Calculate Alternative: You can find an alternative route if you don't like the original route.
    • Avoid Roadblock: If you spot signs of trouble (such as backed-up traffic or 'Delays ahead' warning signs), you can choose this menu option. You need to estimate whether the blockage extends 100 yards, 1/4 mile, 1 mile or 3 miles ahead from your current position and then select the appropriate icon.
    • Travel via...: Choose 'Travel via...' if you want to make sure the planned route goes past one particular location, perhaps to pick up or drop someone off. The new location is picked in exactly the same way as you would pick a departure point or destination.
    • Avoid Part of Route: This menu option allows you to avoid intersections that are known for heavy traffic.
    • Recalculate Original: You can return to the original best route.
    • Minimize Traffic Delays: Avoid traffic delays using TomTom Traffic information, a TomTom Plus service

    View Route: If you already have a route planned, you can explore it in various ways by choosing 'View route'. You can choose from the following options:

    • Browse as Text: This option provides a simple list of the junctions involved and the distances (or times, use the 'Options' button to change the numbers shown) between them.
    • Browse as Images: Using this option presents each junction in 3D, with your turn instruction clearly marked.
    • Browse Map of Route: This option allows to overlay the route onto a map that you can zoom and scroll around.
    • Show Route Demo: This feature shows an animation of your route.
    • Show Route Summary: This option allows you to display the graphical overview of your route that was shown when it was first calculated.

    TomTom Home: When you connect your PND to your home computer via USB, you can use TomTom Home to download information about GPS satellite positions during the next 7 days. This helps your TomTom PND to find your position faster.

    Help Me!: The Help Me! button (found in the main menu) provides an easy way for you to find and contact emergency service centers and other special services. Directions are given if you want to phone for help, drive to help, or walk to help. You can also get the exact address and coordinates of your current location (Where am I?), as well as a First Aid Guide.

    TomTom Traffic: TomTom Traffic is available as a subscription for receiving up-to-date traffic information from the best local sources. To use TomTom Traffic, you will need to establish a wireless data communication (GPRS, EDGE, UMTS, CDMA) between your TomTom PND and a Bluetooth enabled phone, and you must have a wireless data subscription with your mobile network provider. When TomTom Traffic is activated, you will be provided the latest traffic information in real-time so that travel becomes smoother and traffic problems are avoided as they occur.

    Bluetooth Technology: The PND is equipped with built-in Bluetooth technology, allowing you to make and answer phone calls hands free, promoting safer driving. The microphone and speaker are built into the unit. When the device is removed for use in another car, it still provides Bluetooth hands-free operation.

    External Device Controls

    iPod Interface Ready: The optional iPC-409 iPod adapter (sold separately) allows an iPod portable digital music player, including the iPod touch (1st/2nd generation), classic (80/120/160GB), and iPod nano (3rd/4th generation), to be connected to and controlled by the Eclipse AVN4430. All the iPod's buttons will be disabled when connected to this adapter and the iPod will be controlled from the head unit (the TomTom PND must be docked). Music and videos stored on the connected iPod can be played when connected to the unit. While connected, the AVN4430 will power the iPod, and charge the iPod's battery. You can perform playlist, album, artist, genre, or song searches. Playback functions include track up/down, fast forward/rewind, track repeat, track random play, and album random play. Display selections include song, album, or artist.

    Note: This adapter will not charge the iPod touch 2nd generation, or iPod nano 4th generation without the optional Scosche passPORT (142IFWA). The adapter is not compatible with iPhone.

    Sirius Satellite Ready: With the optional Eclipse ECLSC1 Sirius Satellite Radio interface (099ECLSC1) combined with the SiriusConnect Universal Vehicle Tuner (607SCC1), you can receive Sirius Satellite Radio programming on the AVN4430 (both items sold separately, also offered as 700SiRECLi package). A subscription to Sirius Satellite Radio is required in order to receive Sirius programming.

    XM Satellite Ready: The Audiovox XMDirect2 Eclipse Connection Cable allows you to connect the Audiovox XMDirect2 Universal XM Satellite Radio tuner (package item number 220CNP20UC, sold separately) to the Eclipse AVN726E. The Eclipse Connection Cable and XMDirect2 XM Tuner allow you to receive XM Satellite Radio programming through the multimedia head unit and control XM programming using the touch-screen controls. XM Satellite Radio programming offers over 170 digital radio channels including news, sports, talk, comedy, commercial free music, and other entertainment programming from coast to coast. XM also offers instant traffic and weather alerts for 21 major US cities, as well as live sports broadcasts from Major League Baseball, NHL, the PGA tour, Indy car racing and several major college conferences.

     
    Review this product
    Great Gear Giveaway rewards card

    Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

    Eclipse AVN4430 Reviews

    Average Customer Review:

    11 people say:

    Review this product:

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

    Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
    (e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
    (e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

    Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
    1500 characters left
    Attach a YouTube Review
    Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
    • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
    • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
    • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
    500 characters left
    500 characters left
    Filter by rating:
    1 out of 5

    Worst GPS and Head Unit Ever

    Written By dave H, Parker CO on Thursday, August 02, 2012
     
    This model is the worst GPS and head unit I have ever owned. It came with the 2012 Subaru Forester I just purchased. Bluetooth volume can not be adjusted its very low. Can not select playlists on iPod unless car is stopped and hand brake is activated. Garmin provides far better support for their GPS and workflow is far more logical. Sound quality overall is poor but this could be the stock speakers. Its really the features of the Tom Tom that puts this system at the bottom of the list. Extreme glare on screen at all angles.
    Pros:
    Great concept on the surface. When used it falls off the cliff.
    Cons:
    No support from TOM TOM on GPS system. lousy Bluetooth features, Poor Sound, bad glare on screen
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Awesome Deck.

    Written By Diego, Lexington Kentucky on Saturday, May 12, 2012
     
    There has been a lot of stupid bias reviews on this deck so i will write one that defines the product. Eclipse has been making top end car stereo for years and has recently stop selling to the US. First, their customer service could not get any better; they respond everytime within 12 hours. As for the AVN4430 this is a great all around navigation system. Yes it has to load your ipod everytime you connect but if you have less than 32gb it takes less than a minute. People crying about its so called bad ipod settings are so stupid. My friends have had clarions and I have seen them all. The user interface from iPod to nav is amazing. You can't beat it; its crisp, straight forward and what you would expect from a unit like this. Last but not least the Bluetooth. This feature is amazing and works great, crisp and loud feedback as if you were on your phone. Better than my stock BMW Bluetooth. The nav on this unit of course Tom Tom, you cant get better GPS than this. Overall this is a great deck and get them while you can because Eclipse wont be shipping here to the USA anymore (sadly)
    Pros:
    Everything, Bluetooth compatibility extends to 2.3 android gingerbread OS. Crisp clean and nav controls you cant beat.
    Cons:
    None
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    1 out of 5

    There's something you should know...

    Written By Ben, Birmingham, MI on Thursday, March 11, 2010
     
    If you're thinking about buying the AVN4430, there is something very important
    you should know...

    The AVN4430 WILL NOT play an iPod on start-up. I learned this the hard way by
    fruitlessly reading the instructions, playing with the options and multiple
    e-mails back and forth from Eclipse tech support, only to find out that this is
    the way it's designed. Once everything is installed and you turn on your car, it
    will play your AM/FM radio. It takes 30-60 seconds for the AVN4430 to detect and
    scan your iPod. Then you have to manually change the input from radio to iPod,
    and by this point you're probably already driving. I feel this setup is
    incredibly frustrating because I only listen to my iPod. I hardly ever listen to
    the radio. I have an Alpine iDA-X100 in my other car and it always plays my iPod
    (or whatever input I was listening to) right away, within 5 seconds of starting
    my car. I don't understand why Eclipse didn't design their stereos the same way.

    I wish I would have know the AVN4430 was setup like this before I bought it,
    because I definitely would have gone with another company. This will be the last
    Eclipse product I buy.
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Great NAV

    Written By martin, NW Florida on Tuesday, October 13, 2009
     
    I installed the 4430 myself, took my time, readjusted things. This went into a
    2008 Fit, I used the dash's steel support beam to mount the gps ant, t's nice
    and hidden. I also don't have an IPOD, but I did install this system for a DRIVE
    I TOOK THIS SUMMER. almost 9000 miles round trip from FL, to WA and back, with
    local routes and detours along the way.

    -The USB connect is a good thing, I loaded up a 4gb thumb drive, was able to
    search by artist, album, genre. etc.
    -There is a source level function, lets you adjust each input source vol, so you
    don't have "surprises" when changing from radio to cd.
    -The nav unit is great, i've used it in other cars as you would a regular tom tom.

    -it could use better sound shaping abilities, there is a simple on/off
    crossover, i'd like to have more than on/off and bass/treble controls.

    3 out of 4 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Excellent, best unit for price

    Written By William, Oak Harbor, WA on Friday, September 04, 2009
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    First off, I've owned this product for 3 months now, and I absolutely love it. It installed seamlessly in my 2003 Honda CR-V EX and the red color scheme is a relatively close match to the car's interior back lights.

    The navigation unit is accurate and always acquires the satellite signal before I finish leaving my short driveway. All features work very well as advertised, and I love the Bluetooth phone connectivity! The unit detaches easily from the head unit and gets at a minimum 7+ hours of battery life, so recommend the optional charger for extended uses out of the car, or an overnight computer recharge is required, but the fact that the unit acquires the GPS so quickly means that you can turn it on and off easily. It made my stock speakers sound WAY better than the stock unit, and when I upgraded the car speakers it was like being in a concert hall!

    Two cons-iPod interface is a little clunky (though I still highly recommend the iPod cable) and slow for large libraries, and there are no music genre presets, it just remembers an audio preset for each input (i.e. FM or iPod)

    GPS antenna is low profile and does not distract when dash mounted and the navigation seems to be much better than low-priced standalone gps units.
    2 out of 2 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    3 out of 5

    Good unit overall

    Written By Morgan, Macon, GA on Friday, July 31, 2009
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    So far, i'm pretty pleased with this unit. It's packed with features and it's really
    easy to use. The only problem i'm having is with the ipod interface. I'm having
    problems when searching for an artist and stuff like that. It plays the music great
    though. GPS start up is quick and easy to use. Hopefully a software release will
    clear up the ipod bugs.
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Good Unit

    Written By Brad, California on Sunday, May 24, 2009
     
    Very nice unit. Clear and nicely designed screen. I like both the quality and look of the system (and that Toyota installs a similar unit in some 4-runner models today!). The only reasons I didn't rate it at 5 stars is because the mounting bracket can angle the unit down enough for my Tacoma. The other issue is that adjusting the clock isn't automatic as a standard feature.

    I liked the price and the ease of install. I also really like my I-Pod controls that are on screen. My XM radio was also easy to instlall and connect.
    2 out of 2 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    1 out of 5

    AVN4430

    Written By Eamonn, NJ on Thursday, May 14, 2009
     
    I already have the AVN2210P and I have had the same issues that others have reported i.e. rebooting etc. To be fair most of these are now sorted with the latest software.

    I saw the new 4430 advertised and liked the sleeker look with the widescreen etc. So I decided to give Eclipse another chance and I bought it.
    Unfortunately there is some problem with the Ipod interface i.e it doesn't restart from the last song like its supposed to. So its exactly like the 2210P in that respect. While it plays all the songs OK, it doesn't hold the Ipod preferences i.e. "Shuffle" and "repeat". At each restart, both of these boxes are unticked when they would have been selected at switch off.
    My own Ipod is a 4th gen model so I borrowed a friends 5th gen Ipod just to try it in case mine was faulty - although mine worked fine on the 2210P. The 5th gen didn't work at all!! It just said "connecting to...Ipod" and that was it.

    I emailed Eclipse numerous times about the problem and they eventually responded to my queries. Apparently the AVN4430 has software problems just like the 2210P. Eclipse are working on a "solution" but I have returned the unit to the Seller. It took 18 months to get the 2210P working properly and I had no intention of having a similar wait to get this new product working correctly. I really can't believe that Eclipse have once again released a unit that does not perform as it should. Do they not have a quality control department?
    6 out of 10 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    Great Unit

    Written By Gowithit, NC on Thursday, April 02, 2009
     
    Toyota had to replaced my TOM TOM unit that came with my 09 Urban 4runner and they installed this unit on March 25th, 09.

    The nav is much more accurate and the screen is wider than my last TOM TOM. I'm still playing with this unit but soo far it's working great. I also love the fact it plays DVD's. They had to install an adaptor so the steering wheel controls would work besides that the install went great. I'm still waiting for the software for the XM radio to come in and when thats installed I'll be completely happy.

    I have an MP3 player (not an Ipod) and have yet to use it with the usb. They did install the Ipod cable eventhough for now it will not be used. (this might just give me a reason to replace my mp3 with an ipod now)

    So far this is a great unit.
    2 out of 2 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    5 out of 5

    A new toy

    Written By Diane, North Carolina on Tuesday, March 31, 2009
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    I just had this installed in my FJ Cruiser. The only snafu there is the "In
    Dash Receiver Kit" that came with this especially for the FJ Cruiser doesn't
    exactly fit. When you press the "Tilt" button to load a CD/DVD, the unit
    doesn't close completely. My installer had to file a bit off the top and
    bottom of the faceplate of the receiver kit to make it fit correctly. Just a
    minor issue.

    I am very happy with the unit itself. I'm still getting used to the navigation
    system, but it seems to be spot on. I had no problem using the supplied
    TOMTOM software as the previous poster did. I installed it on my computer
    and downloaded updates just fine.

    I have not found the IPOD adapter as of yet either, I think it may still
    be "coming soon".

    I also purchased the Sirius adapter kit that goes with this unit and it works
    great as well.

    Other than the issue with the dash kit not fitting, I think this was well
    worth the price tag.
    4 out of 4 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     
    4 out of 5

    Not ready for release quite yet

    Written By mcucka, Hartford, CT on Tuesday, March 24, 2009
    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
     
    Purchased this unit from Crutchfield last week. Installation was a breeze in a Ford Focus - included installation gear worked well.

    2 caveats (which will hopefully be temporary):

    1. The necessary iPod adapter cable does not seem to be available as of yet (iPC-409), either from Crutchfield or any other retailer I know of. Eclipse says it has been released, but it seems to be MIA. You cannot use the separate USB input for the iPod - it does not work.



    2. The current version of the TomTom Home software (v. 2.6.1.238) does not work with this unit. The TomTom works fine out of the box, but if you update anything thru Home it bricks your unit - Home is unable to connect and restore ("unknown exemption" error). After several calls with their support, the unit was brought back to life using an older version of Home (v. 2.3) that they had to email me - not listed as a download from their site. Also, it is PC-only - I was told the only version for Mac available was the latest 2.6.1.

    So, until they update their software for the TomTom Eclipse II, either avoid doing any updates to the unit, or have a PC with the older software version available.
    36 out of 38 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
     

    Add accessories for the Eclipse AVN4430

    Save money by doing the installation yourself. The right tools will help. See all categories & accessories

    Metra Crimp Tool and Connectors Package contains crimp tool and over 150 pieces
    15 people say
    Your Price: $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Metra Crimp Tool Set Package contains light-duty crimp tool and 20 crimp caps
    27 people say
    Your Price: $9.99
    Add to Cart
    S&G Wire Cutter/Stripper Tool Cuts and strips 12- to 22-gauge wire
    15 people say
    Your Price: $19.99
    Add to Cart
    S&G Tool Aid 87650 Door Trim and Panel Removal Tool
    66 people say
    Your Price: $9.99
    Add to Cart
    Skewdriver Pro SPK4042 Ratcheting straight and offset screwdriver set with 40 bits (Skewdriver Pro with ratchet handle, pictured)
    8 people say
    Your Price: $49.99
    Add to Cart
    InstallCard: In-dash Navigation Prepaid professional installation of an in-dash navigation system
    19 people say
    Your Price: $199.99
    Add to Cart
    Maxell DVD-LC DVD Lens Cleaner with Dolby Digital system sound check
    1 person says
    Your Price: $11.99
    Add to Cart

    Why choose SquareTrade?

    The #1-Rated Protection Plan

    Thousands of people have reviewed SquareTrade Protection Plans — and made us #1.

    5-Day Service Guarantee & Free Shipping

    We'll repair or replace your item in five business days or less after we've received it, or your plan is free. And, as always, we pay for all shipping.

    Protection from Normal, Everyday Use

    Repairing your average mechanical or electrical failure can cost as much as buying a new device. With SquareTrade, you're covered — including parts and labor.

    3 Year Protection Plan
    3 Year Protection Plan
    Your Price: $63.99
    Add to Cart

    For a more in-depth review and enhanced detailed information on the Eclipse AVN4430, please visit the Crutchfield website product page (/ISEO-rccbcspd/p_099AVN4430/Eclipse-AVN4430.html ).