1-888-955-6000
crutchfield.com
Crutchfield

Infinity Primus P152

Single bookshelf speaker

Zoom
  • Infinity Primus P152

    Front

  • Infinity Primus P152

    Back

Item #: 108P152BG
 

Review Summary

DISCONTINUED
 
This item is no longer available to purchase.
 
Contact us for other options
 
Call   Email  
 
Original price $74.99
We recommend this similar item, or shop all Bookshelf Speakers
 
 
 
 
 

Our take on the Infinity Primus P152

by Loren Barstow
Infinity

Why choose bookshelf speakers?

Bookshelf speakers may be small in size, but they can deliver surprisingly big sound. Some ultra-compact models even fit on a desktop. Most are right at home in tight spaces like shelves, so they're usually good choices for your home theater's rear channels. For the best performance, try placing bookshelf speakers on solid speaker stands to help the sound really "open up." If you want full bass impact, add a powered subwoofer and enjoy punchy sound that's as deeply satisfying as that of floor-standing speakers.

The Primus P152 offers great performance at a great price. Music fans will appreciate the P152's broad soundstage and precise imaging. Simply team a pair with a subwoofer for full-bodied sound. Movie buffs can use the P152 as part of a home theater system for exciting wraparound effects. All of the speakers in the Primus line are voice-matched, making it easy to build a system for almost any room and budget.

A 3/4" tweeter produces crisp highs while a 5-1/4" woofer takes care of the midrange and bass. Both drivers are made from Infinity's exclusive Metal Matrix Diaphragm™ material. A stiff aluminum core gives the drivers extra rigidity for clean, accurate sound, even at higher volume levels.

Recommended center channel: Infinity Primus PC250.

Got wire?
Most speakers don't include any. Learn about choosing and installing speaker wire at the Crutchfield Learning Center.
Shop our selection of speaker wire.

See more info on this item

Highlights:

  • sold individually
  • video-shielded
  • bass-reflex
  • frequency response 58-20,000 Hz (±3dB)
  • 8-ohm impedance
  • sensitivity 88 dB
  • handles up to 100 watts
  • 3/4" MMD™ tweeter
  • 5-1/4" MMD woofer
  • black woodgrain vinyl finish
  • 5-way binding posts
  • keyhole slots for easy wall-mounting
  • 7-3/8"W x 12-15/16"H x 10-1/2"D
  • warranty: 5 years
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

Hands-on research from the Crutchfield Labs (what are the Labs?)

Features and Specs
Enclosure
Loading...
Bass Reflex
Video Shielded
Loading...
Yes
Tweeter Type
Loading...
Dome
Tweeter Size (inches)
Loading...
0.75
Midrange Size (inches)
Loading...
---
Woofer Size (inches)
Loading...
5.25
Woofer Composition
Loading...
M.M.D.
Woofer Surround
Loading...
Rubber
Power Range
Loading...
10-100
Sensitivity
Loading...
88 dB
Impedance (Ohms)
Loading...
8
Frequency Response
Loading...
58-20k Hz
Connector Type
Loading...
5-way post
Bi-amp Inputs
Loading...
No
Height (inches)
Loading...
12-15/16
Width (inches)
Loading...
7-3/8
Depth (inches)
Loading...
10-1/2
Weight (pounds)
Loading...
13.5
Mounting Bracket Included
Loading...
Keyhole
Recommended Stand Height (inches)
Loading...
26
Parts Warranty
Loading...
5 Years
Labor Warranty
Loading...
5 Years
Product Research
What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • One 2-way bookshelf speaker
  • Black cloth grille (removable)
  • 4 Self-adhesive rubber feet
  • Owner's Guide
  • Warranty sheet

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Driver Technology
Enclosure Design
Connections
Mounting Options

Driver Technology

Metal Matrix Diaphragm (M.M.D.): Derived from the C.M.M.D. material used in Infinity's flagship Cascade series, M.M.D. features a stiff aluminum core, anodized on both sides for increased strength and rigidity. M.M.D. transducers conduct sound faster than paper, polypropylene, and Kevlar, pushing unwanted resonances beyond the operating range of the transducer. M.M.D. drivers deliver crystal-clear, distortion-free sound from dynamic digital sources, even at high listening levels.

Woofers: The 5-1/4" M.M.D. cone woofer offers extremely accurate midrange response for cleaner, more realistic sound. For a smoother response and improved durability, the woofer uses rubber surrounds.

Tweeter: The speaker has a 3/4" M.M.D. dome tweeter that offers superior stiffness and damping compared to traditional metal domes.

Waveguide: The P152's tweeter utilizes an acoustical waveguide to deliver, more even high frequency response, no matter what part of the room you're in.

Crossover: The speaker features a 2-way crossover system with crossover frequency at 3300Hz. The crossover has a 24dB/octave slope.

Voice-Matched: The P152 is voice-matched to all the speakers in the Primus line, so a complete matching system can be built.

Enclosure Design

Grille: The speaker comes with a removable cloth grille with a rigid plastic frame.

Connections

5-Way Binding Posts: The 5-way binding posts will accept bare wire, pin connectors, spade connectors, banana plugs, and dual banana plugs.

Mounting Options

Rubber Feet: The speakers come with 4 rubber self-adhesive feet for each speaker to help secure them in place to prevent slippage and vibration.

Wall Mounting: The speaker has two keyhole slots in the upper left and right corners of the back panel. In addition, two non-skid rubber bumpers are attached in the lower corners so the speaker won't mar wall surfaces when the speaker is mounted. You can also use the optional B-Tech heavy duty side-grip wall-mounting bracket (121AM40B, sold separately) to wall mount the speakers.

 
Review this product
Great Gear Giveaway rewards card

Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

Infinity Primus P152 Reviews

Average Customer Review:

23 people say:

Review this product:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
(e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
1500 characters left
Attach a YouTube Review
Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
  • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
  • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
  • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
500 characters left
500 characters left
Filter by rating:
5 out of 5

Awesome speaker

Written By JoshJoshua, Gilbert, AZ on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
Bought two of these speakers for a great price and havent looked back. Currently using them for my rear channels on my 5.2 System which included a Infinity PC350 Center, and Acoustic Research 310 HO Towers for the left and right. These are a little large for rear channels, but the sounds is great with 14 gauge wire no lose of clarity. Being a rear channel it doesn't get much Bass in a DTS Decoder but in Stereo Surround they help fill the room with tunes. For surround use they do exactly what I want, create bold effects. Mega Mind is so far my favorite 5.1 movie with these speakers being how much action and fly-bys there are. I would imagine if you were getting these for front channel speakers they would blow your mind away like they have for being my rears.
Pros:
Great sound.
Cons:
Large, Ugly Grille, Heavy. But worth every penny.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Nice Surrounds

Written By DesertCat, Corvallis, OR on Wednesday, March 28, 2012
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I picked up two P152s to finally complete my Infinity 5.1 home system. I had picked up my center channel and two front mains around 2000 and used a previous set of ca. 1985 Bose 201s as my surrounds. The wrap-around effect was never ideal but I was trying to save a buck. When my wife wanted some speakers in a different room, I saw my chance to finally fix the error of my ways. The Bose speakers went to that room and the P152s earned a place in the living room.
Pros:
Even though they are from a different series than my ~2000 era speakers, I find the tonal quality to match up nicely. Panning across the various channels is much more seamless than with my previous mis-matched surrounds. True to Infinity design, they are accurate instead of going for boomy but muddy bass.
Cons:
Like most quality speakers, they are a bit tight when you get them out of the box but will relax after some use. Just note that these are limited to 100W peak output. That's just fine for most home music systems but for those that want a system that shows up on USGS seismographs, you will want something more powerful.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

They sound great

Written By Joel F, Brighton, CO on Monday, March 26, 2012
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
We had a set of old Infinity that didn't handle the power of our new receiver. I have always enjoyed the sound of Infinity so knew I'd like these, especially after reading the reviews.

They didn't disappoint.
Pros:
Great sound. Handle the additional power put out by the receiver
Cons:
A bigger footprint than the old RS-255s
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Nice speaker for the price

Written By DaveB, Middleport, NY on Monday, March 26, 2012
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I needed a set of speakers for my system and am on a very tight budget. Some of the internet reviews say the bass gets a little muddy at high volumes. As I am one of the "If it's too loud..." crowd, I was concered a bit. With all the levels zero'd out the bass was a bit muddy but I just lowered the level and everything sounded just fine. I am happy with these speakers and the service at Crutchfield.
Pros:
Price, Good sound.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Diamond in the rough

Written By Bubba, Michigan on Tuesday, February 21, 2012
 
I bought a pair of these to use as the surround speakers with P362s and a PC350 for the fronts. Out of curiosity I hooked up these speakers as mains with a powerd sub and I was very impressed! Even though I just sat them on top of my mains they sound great. While there midrange isnt as good as the P362s they hold up there own for only 150 a pair. I will be ordering another pair of these for another room where they will be hooked up to an older 8" powered sub.
Pros:
Best 150 bucks you could ever spend for a pair of speakers. Could easily be used as main speakers with a sub for a cheap system.
Cons:
At over 10" deep they do stick out from the wall more then my older Infinity SM65s did but thats the only bad thing about them.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

great little speakers

Written By Larry R., Arlington, TX on Sunday, January 29, 2012
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
Purchased these for my son's home stereo for Christmas. They are amazing speakers, especially for the the size. They sound very close to my expensive B&W stereo speakers which I paid twice as much for. Shipping was fast and they arrived very well packaged.
Pros:
Small size, great sound, and very reasonably priced; plus free shipping!
Cons:
Not really a con; but I wish there were some additional cabinet choices besides black
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Infinity Primus P152

Written By Anonymous, Beaver PA on Sunday, September 04, 2011
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
Great sound great price. I use them with a Panasonic plasma television, Blu- Ray player, and Netflix streaming video. Very happy with purchase.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Nice Sound for this price

Written By Dave, Covington on Sunday, April 03, 2011
 
Really good Sound, Better than Bose 321 I bought a few years ago ( I know Bose
doesnt even publish freq response) Infinity says 5 years on guarantee.

Pretty heavy, and Quite large for a "book shelf" speaker, but for the price..
Made in China, so hopefully quality control has improved time will tell...
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Do you need more in this class ?

Written By Gianfranco, Fort Lauderdale, FL on Wednesday, February 16, 2011
 
Really a bargain ! A pair of cost effective loudspeakers with great sound. You have to add
a subwoofer just to touch up the lower bass range (set the low frequency pass band at
80Hz) and leave them burning in for some hour to take out the initial harshness and dry
sound common on any new loudpeaker, then you will find a clear midrange and crisp
treble, good punch and bass articulation.
In nearand mid field listening very good tridimensional instrument placement.
Astonishing good with Jazz and small ensemble they work well also with high dynamic
simphonic music.
Being not a boom boom box do not expect to be spectacular on other genres ... another
great Infinity product.
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Great Speakers Great Price

Written By WildBill, NJ on Friday, December 03, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I bought these for my surround speakers with Infinity P 162's for the front and PC350 for
the center.

The P152's blended in perfectly with the other Infiinity speakers, and created the best
surround sound environment I have owned to date. For smallish speakers they really
deliver a solid mid-range and the high's are crystal clear, bass is pretty good for the size
of the boxes.

I have to give these a solid 5, I had no idea how much I was missing with my old
speakers, I slapped in Top Gun Blu-Ray for a test and when the jets take off it makes
you want to duck also, and they gave new life to the dog fighting with sounds coming in
from the surrounds playing perfectly with the rest of the speakers.

My Infinity mix is P162's for the front L/R, PC350 Center, P152's surrounds, and the
PS210 Sub, this combination has proved to yeild a well balanced sound for my home
theater room.

The speakers quickly fade from your awareness and you are left feeling like you are in a
natural setting with the sounds.
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

great for the rate

Written By Steve G, Roanoke, Va on Friday, November 19, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
for the bigger speaker sound, well these cant be beat. using them for my rear channel and
well it the next best thing to being live. what else can i say but you cant go wrong with these
puppies
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

InFinity Quality!!

Written By InFaMoUs, North bend, OR on Thursday, October 21, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
ordered these and being used as surrounds in a 5.1 infinity primus set up..Infinity252
towers/pc350 center/152's for surrounds/ps212 sub/monster cabled out with monster
bannana plug on both ends and a harman/kardon receiver,samsung lcd/blu ray and i
am Very Happy I LOVE INFINITY for the money you cannot get ANY better and what a
Classy name!? right?,my system would easily beat out diff brand speakers costing
much more..
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

A Great Deal

Written By David, Tennessee on Wednesday, October 13, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I am using 2 of these for L & R fronts with an Onkyo TX-SR608 receiver, Infinity PC250 center and 2 Emotiva Ultra 10 subs, surrounds are Sony cubes. These are more than adequate if in a system with a good subwoofer. Overall a great deal. Of course there are better speakers in this size available but I doubt they would be at this price.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Great for the price

Written By Richard, Panama City Fl on Friday, September 17, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I bought a pair as back up for my t.v. system. Great little speaker for the price.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

powerful

Written By alpine03, Nevada on Monday, August 16, 2010
 
I have two of these speakers along with a Yamaha 5 Ch receiver and they pound exceptionally. I was amazed at the level of bump with the bass level set to -6 on a, -10 thru 10 level; you can feel it in the floor many feet away. When I leave this apt. I plan to complete the pulsating set of five & really let losse on these puppies in a home.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Still can't beleive it!!!

Written By terrell, New Orleans on Thursday, June 10, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
i ordered these speakers for surrounds. haven't bought my receiver yet but i decided to hook them up to a theater in a box receiver just to test them out ..........And i still can't believe how good these things sound. thanks to my big homie Mackie and Infinity i'm gonna build the perfect system. GO SAINTS! 2DAT
8 out of 10 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Primus 152 / Infinity

Written By Brent, Hurley, Ms on Saturday, March 20, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
Purchased the 152"s to use in my shop until I was able to equip the upstairs of my new home. They sounded great hooked up to my 15 yr old receiver. Next stop is to utilize these 152"s as front surrounds and my newly ordered 162"s for rear surrounds upstairs. Purchased another 152 to use as a center and will ultimately hook up to a new Yamaha receiver and Samsung B-Ray that I ordered from the good folks at Crutchfield.
Will be interesting to see how the balance will fall out with the 152 as a center.
Overall, very pleased with the product and expect the same from the 162s. Consistent and top notch support from the Crutchfield crew.
1 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Serious Upgrade

Written By AJ5, Houston, TX on Saturday, February 06, 2010
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I hadn't considered a satellite upgrade to be a big deal until I replaced my old ones with two of these (with 2 Primus P162 fronts and a Primus PC350 center). I was very wrong - these are quite amazing even with my old component setup. I can only imagine how these will sound once I go full-tilt Blu-Ray/HD. Very happy customer!
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

More punch than a 70's floor speaker

Written By Craig, Greensboro, NC on Thursday, September 17, 2009
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I purchased these to replace some floor speakers I've owned since 1978. They were great speakers but these Primus 152 pack a punch. I am using them as front surrounds mounted on stands and could not be more pleased. Great speakers for the price. As usual Crutchfield's service is top notch.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Great Bookshelf Keeps Ya On Budget!

Written By Dave, New Britain, CT on Wednesday, June 17, 2009
 
Hey, nothing you can say bad about these 152's. They're smooth top to bottom and very accurate with a pleasing, open sound. People won't gasp in envy over the cosmetics, but when you fire 'em up they certainly will. These were my first set of Infinitys and these are gonna stick around the house for some time, I think. I have much more expensive bookshelfs and though they are not their equal in terms of detail and imaging, I always go back to listen to them time and again.
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Infinity Primus P152 speakers

Written By Robert, Prince George, Va. on Thursday, May 14, 2009
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
Got these with the 162's, P350 and PS28 sub and am very pleased. They are great surrounds, just a little large, but are necessary in carrying the full 7.1 surround. But....Crutchfield had them on sale and dealing with the staff made the deal even better! So...now I am a customer of Crutchfield and will continue to support them.

Great job guys!!!

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Good Value Speaker

Written By Tom, Denver, CO on Sunday, November 30, 2008
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
I bought a pair of 152s to serve as rear speakers in my surround sound setup. For the money, it is hard to beat them. They blend in perfectly with my other Infinity Primus speakers and handle the info sent to the rear channels very well.

The mid-range and upper range performance is very good, but it lacks any real low range performance. But I never expected them to really have great bass at this price point.

I wouldn't use them as my L/R main speakers due to their limitations, but they make for great surround/rear speakers in a hometheater setup.
9 out of 11 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Infinity Primus P152

Written By ndotym, Los Angeles on Thursday, October 30, 2008
 
I purchased these for a Den as fronts and added a Infinity PS210, these are almost to much for this size room, 18x16 - great sound lots of bass great for a small home theater setup, for anyone thinking
larger give these a try.
59 out of 63 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 

Add accessories for the Infinity Primus P152

Add connectors to your bulk speaker wire for a neater, easier, and more reliable installation. See all categories & accessories

3 people say
Your Price: $14.95
Add to Cart
63 people say
Your Price: $19.95
Add to Cart
4 people say
Your Price: $15.95
Add to Cart
10 people say
Your Price: $11.95
Add to Cart
Monster XP Mini Twist-on Pin Connectors 4 pair, 16-gauge (4 pair)
14 people say
Your Price: $11.95
Add to Cart
9 people say
Your Price: $13.95
Add to Cart
Original Monster Cable With gold pin connectors (15-foot pair)
34 people say
Your Price: $39.99
Add to Cart
Monster Cable SuperFlat™ Mini Decor-friendly speaker cable with gold pin connectors (50-foot spool)
24 people say
Your Price: $34.95
Add to Cart
Sanus BF24B Speaker Stands Basic Foundations® — 24"
34 people say
Your Price: $44.99
Add to Cart
Sanus NF24 Speaker Stands Natural Foundations Series IV — 24" (Black lacquer)
46 people say
Your Price: $79.99
Add to Cart
Bell'O SP-224 24" speaker stands
5 people say
Your Price: $129.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest X2 Speaker Cable 14-gauge cable, connectors optional (50 feet, White)
21 people say
Your Price: $94.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest G2 Speaker Cable 16-gauge cable, connectors optional (50 feet, Gray)
19 people say
Your Price: $64.99
Add to Cart
Monster XPHP™ MKII Speaker cable with clear jacket (50 feet)
8 people say
Your Price: $49.95
Add to Cart
Monster XP® Navajo White MkII Speaker cable (50 feet)
2 people say
Your Price: $39.95
Add to Cart
Monster XP® Speaker cable with clear jacket, connectors optional (50 feet)
44 people say
Your Price: $34.95
Add to Cart
11 people say
Your Price: $14.99
Add to Cart
Your Price: $14.99
Add to Cart
Pinpoint AM40 Side-clamping speaker wall mounts
33 people say
Your Price: $79.99
Add to Cart
Pinpoint AM-41 Side-clamping speaker wall mounts
1 person says
Your Price: $89.99
Add to Cart

Why choose SquareTrade?

The #1-Rated Protection Plan

Thousands of people have reviewed SquareTrade Protection Plans — and made us #1.

5-Day Service Guarantee & Free Shipping

We'll repair or replace your item in five business days or less after we've received it, or your plan is free. And, as always, we pay for all shipping.

Protection from Normal, Everyday Use

Repairing your average mechanical or electrical failure can cost as much as buying a new device. With SquareTrade, you're covered — including parts and labor.

For a more in-depth review and enhanced detailed information on the Infinity Primus P152, please visit the Crutchfield website product page (/ISEO-rccbcspd/p_108P152BG/Infinity-Primus-P152.html ).