Simple but stylish, functional but frugal, the Pioneer DEH-2100IB CD receiver will upgrade your car's audio system without downgrading your credit score. The DEH-2100IB delivers the performance you expect from a Pioneer — its muscular built-in amp pumps out car-filling sound, while the capable 3-band equalizer puts you in control of of your vehicle's acoustics.

Play the music and media of your liking with the DEH-2100IB. Slip a CD into the convenient front slot, or connect and control your iPod® with the included control cable. Plug other audio sources into the convenient front-panel auxiliary input.

The 10-character LCD display scrolls to display your song titles in bold, easy-to-read black and white. Choose your songs and change system settings with the handy multi-control knob or included remote control.

Note: If you're going to use your iPod with this receiver, be sure to check "Details" for specific iPod model compatibility with this receiver or its optional iPod adapter.

Product Highlights:

    General features:
    • CD receiver with built-in MOSFET amplifier (14 watts RMS CEA-2006/50 peak x 4 channels)
    • plays CDs, CD-Rs, and CD-RWs, including discs loaded with MP3 and WMA files
    • remote control
    Audio features:
    • 3-band equalizer with six preset tone settings
    • loudness
    • source level adjustment
    Expandability:
    • iPod control built-in (cable included)
    • inputs: front panel auxiliary input
    • outputs: 2-channel preamp outputs (rear)
    Other info:

    Why replace your factory radio?

    Two good reasons - sound quality and cool features. A new car stereo offers power that's superior to most factory radios, along with more sophisticated tone controls. And most car stereos offer built-in or optional features that add safety and fun to life in your car, including inputs for your iPod or MP3 player, Bluetooth connectivity for hands-free cell phone calls, satellite radio or HD Radio reception, and connections for building an audio system in your car.

    Hands-on research

    What's in the box?

    Download owner's manual

    • AM/FM/CD receiver with 10-amp ATM mini fuse inserted into chassis
    • Face
    • Wireless remote control (CXC8885)
    • CR2025 Lithium battery
    • Sleeve
    • Trim ring
    • Wiring harness
    • 5' iPod interface cable with attached protective cap for iPod connector (Proprietary iPod connector on one end and a proprietary iPod adapter connector on other end)
    • 2 Extraction keys
    • Rear support screw
    • Rubber bushing
    • 4 Pan head ISO-mount screws (M5 x 8mm)
    • 4 Flat-head ISO-mount screws (M5 x 9mm)
    • Face fixing screw
    • Operation Manual (English/French)
    • Owners Manual (English/Spanish/French)
    • Warning sheet concerning installation safety
    • Limited Warranty Information

    Features and Specs

    General
    CEA-2006 Compliant Yes
    RMS Power Output 14 watts
    Peak Output 50 watts
    RMS Power Bandwidth 20-20kHz
    Preamp Outputs 2-channel
    Sub Preamp Outputs No
    Switchable Rear Preamp Outputs No
    Video Screen No
    Preamp Voltage 2.2 volts
    Display Color White
    Key Button Color Green
    EQ Bands 3
    Wireless Remote Yes
    Steering Wheel Control Compatible No
    Parts Warranty 1 Year
    Labor Warranty 1 Year
    Expandability
    AUX Input Front
    USB Input No
    Memory Card Slot No
    Bluetooth Compatible No
    Satellite Radio Ready No
    HD Radio No
    Navigation ---
    iPod Compatibility
    Full size 5Gen/4Gen
    Nano Nano4/Nano3/Nano2/Nano1
    Touch Touch2/Touch1
    Mini Mini2/Mini1
    iPhone No
    Tuner
    FM Sensitivity 11 dBf
    European Tuning No
    Seek/Scan Seek
    Radio Data System No

    Product Research

    Features
    External Device Controls

    Features

    Overview: The Pioneer DEH-2100IB is an AM/FM/CD receiver which supports MP3/WMA playback and will display ID3-Tag and CD Text information. The DEH-2100IB AM/FM/CD receiver also features a front-panel 3.5mm auxiliary input for connecting portable devices such as a portable MP3 player. In addition, the DEH-2100IB features a rear-panel proprietary port and comes supplied with a 5' iPod connector cable for connecting your iPod (with dock connector).

    CEA2006 Compliant: The power specifications for the DEH-2100IB are compliant with the CEA2006 Mobile Amplifier Power Testing and Measurement standards from the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA). These standards were developed as a way to equitably compare power specs from model to model and between manufacturers. The power output specs for the DEH-1100MP are as follows:

    • CEA2006 Specs: 14 watts RMS x 4 channels (at 4 ohms, 20Hz-20kHz, 1% THD-N)
    • Continuous Power Output: 22 watts RMS x 4 channels (at 4 ohms, 50Hz-15kHz, 5% THD)
    • Maximum Power Output: 50 watts x 4 channels

    MOSFET Amplifier: The DEH-2100IB is equipped with a MOSFET amplifier. Compared to conventional power supplies, the MOSFET amplification circuit is smaller and more efficient, and it delivers increased power with less distortion and absolutely zero on/off switching noise. More power means louder and cleaner music at higher volumes because you're not pushing the limits of the amplification circuit.

    Supertuner IIID AM/FM Tuner: The Supertuner IIID features Feed Forward Control, which avoids multi-path interference. This pre-detection of interference enables quick filter control and results in less distortion. In addition, the Supertuner IIID creates enhanced stereo during multi-path interference, unlike conventional tuners that collapse to mono. Digital processing reduces distortion, and improves Signal-to-Noise Ratio and stereo separation. Advanced analog technology improves signal processing sensitivity.

    BSM (Best Stations Memory): The BSM (Best Stations Memory) function lets you automatically store the six strongest stations under preset buttons 1-6 of the currently tuned band. The tuner has 3 FM banks and 1 AM bank. You can store 6 presets for each bank giving you a total of 18 FM presets and 6 AM presets.

    Local Tuning: Local seek tuning lets you tune in only those radio stations with sufficiently strong signals for good reception. There are 4 level of sensitivity for FM and two levels for AM. The higher settings allow reception of only the strongest stations, while lower settings let you receive progressively weaker stations.

    MP3/WMA/WAV Playback: This unit can play MP3, WMA and WAV files recorded on CD-ROM, CD-R, and CD-RW discs in ISO9660 Level 1/Level 2, Joliet, and Romeo formats. MP3 files with a bit rate from 8-320 kbps, WMA files with a constant bit rate from 48-320 kbps, and WMA files with a variable bit rate from 48-384 kbps are supported. The unit is compatible with ID3 Tags and will display artist, folder, file, and album name, plus comments. Up to 8 directories, 99 folders and 999 files per disc are recognized by this unit.

    List Button: The List button on the front panel lets you see the list of file names (or folder names) and select one of them to playback. Once the List button is pressed, you can turn the multi-control knob to view each item on the list. To select the highlighted item, you can press the multi-control.

    Compression/BMX: The Compression and BMX digital enhancement functions let you adjust the sound quality of compressed audio file playback. You can set up to two levels of COMP and BMX, or turn each function off.

    EEQ (Easy EQ): The DEH-2100IB is equipped with a 3-band EQ with 6 preset EQ settings: Powerful, Dynamic, Vocal, Natural, Custom, and EQ Flat. The bands can be adjusted as follows:

    • Bass: +/- 6dB at 100 Hz
    • Mid:+/- 6dB at 1 kHz
    • Treble:+/- 6dB at 10 kHz

    Loudness: The Loudness feature compensates for deficiencies in the low and high sound ranges at low volume. You can set the Loudness feature to High, Low, or Off.

    Source Level Adjustment (SLA): This function lets you adjust the volume level of each source to prevent radical changes in volume when switching between sources. Settings are based on the volume level of the FM tuner, which remains unchanged. Each source can be independently adjusted from -4dB to +4dB.

    Auxiliary Input: The DEH-2100IB is equipped with a front panel 3.5mm stereo minijack auxiliary input for connecting external components, such as a portable MP3 player, DVD, or VCR. AUX must be turned on in the setup menu in order to be selected as a source.

    2.2-Volt Preamp Output: The Pioneer DEH-2100IB features one pair of 2.2 volt preamp outputs (left/right) fixed to its rear chassis.

    LED Display: The DEH-1100MP features a black background with a one-line, 10-character white Dot-Matrix OEL display.

    Display Illumination/Clock Display: When the Clock Display has been turned on, pressing and holding the Source button turns off audio output, but the clock display remains on. When the Clock Display has been turned off, pressing and holding the source button turns the unit off completely. Even if you have turned the radio completely off you can view the clock display be pressing the clock button. The clock will then remain On until you turn it back Off. When the unit is On you can select between the clock display or the audio track/tuner display.

    Detachable Face Security: This unit features Detachable Face Security. A face-fixing screw is supplied for making the face non-detachable, if desired.

    Note: No face case is included with this unit. An optional soft face case (item # 142DFC1X) can be purchased for this unit.

    Remote Control: The DEH-2100IB comes with a wireless remote control (CXC8885). The remote allows you to control the volume, switch between sources, pause the CD, change the display, and adjust the audio. The attenuator button allows you to quickly lower the volume by about 90%, a function that cannot be performed from the front panel.

    External Device Controls

    iPod Direct: The DEH-2100IB can control and playback songs on an iPod. This unit supports only iPods with a standard Dock Connector. (Please see compatibility list below for your model and software version.) You can connect the iPod using the unit's rear-panel dedicated iPod input and the supplied 5' iPod connector cable. When connected via the dedicated iPod input, you can choose to control the iPod from the head unit or the iPod itself. You can perform multiple search functions, including playlist, genre, artist, and album searches. The headunit will also display your iPod's music file information, including Play Time, Song Title, Artist Name, and Album Title when you to choose to control your iPod from the headunit (if you choose to control your iPod from its click-wheel or touch-screen, the headunit will display "CTRL IPOD" only). While connected and the ignition switch is set to ACC or ON, the dedicated iPod input will power and charge your iPod. The DEH-2100IB is compatible with the following iPod models:

    • iPod color display 4th generation (Ver.3.1.1)
    • iPod photo 4th generation (Ver.1.2.1)
    • iPod video 5th generation (Ver.1.3.0)
    • iPod mini 1st/2nd generation (Ver.1.4.1)
    • iPod nano first generation (Ver.1.3.1)
    • iPod nano second generation--aluminum (Ver.1.1.3)
    • iPod nano 3rd/4th generation (Ver.1.1.2)
    • iPod classic 80/120/160GB (Ver.1.1.2)
    • iPod touch 1st/2nd generation (Ver.1.1.4)

    Our Product Research Team

    At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB Reviews

    Average Customer Review:

    44 reviews
    Review this product
    Great Gear Giveaway

    Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

    (0)
    (0)
    (0)
    (0)
    (0)

    Review this product:

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

    Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
    (e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
    (e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

    Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
    Rate the following specific attributes
      Value
     Sound Quality
     Ease of Use
     "Coolness Factor"
     Build Quality
    1500 characters left
      Attach a YouTube Review
    Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
    • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
    • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
    • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
    500 characters left
    500 characters left

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By jerksauce, Iowa City, IA on Monday, April 12, 2010

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    ***NOT COMPATIBLE WITH IPOD 3G***

    Overall this is a nice product. Crutchfield's manual and information about how to install
    was invaluable.

    The main reason I am writing this is to let people know that this is NOT COMPATIBLE
    WITH THIRD GENERATION IPODS. I was hoping to use it with my old 30gig iPod 3rd
    generation. It's an older model but it still works well. Plugged it into this receiver, though,
    and it read error 11, which is failure to communicate with ipod. Bummer.

    Just went out yesterday and bought a nano 5g (I wanted one anyway for the video).
    Loading music onto it now, expect to go out in a few minutes and enjoy it in the car. Still
    annoying this doesn't have backward compatibility. I suspect it's because the 3g doesn't
    charge with usb (charges with firewire). Anyway, just wanted to let people know.

    Just Right

    Written By Barry, Powder Springs, GA on Tuesday, March 02, 2010

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)


    Got this for my son's car as his OE radio died. It had the CD player, Aux and Ipod cable with built in control we were looking for. Install was easy for the most part. Hiding the oe radio to keep the keyless function was the most challenging part. Once that got figured out it was buttoned up and making music in minutes.Sound quality is great! Thanks Crutchfield!

    Great Product

    Written By Travis, Virginia Beach, VA on Tuesday, November 24, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I really like this product. Chad was from Twitter and helped me along the way. He selected this product and it fits me perfectly. It only took me a few minutes to figure out how to work it. At first I did not know I could use my iPod since there was no slot in the front. But come to find out that the cord is in the back and goes through my glove department! There are a few things that I don't like though. There is no automatic scrolling selection. Especially if I have a mp3 cd, and I am going throught the list, most of my filenames begin with the artist. Also when I have random selected, and I skip a track, instead of going to a random track, it actually goes to the next track. Even though these are small things, I wish I could do something about it. Other than that I am in love with it. Fits decent and Crutchfield shipped it so fast, you would have though they lived next door. Once again, thank you Chad and Crutchfield, and I will look forward when I get my amplifier and subwoofers.

    Tiny buttons... Don't make me happy

    Written By Anthony, Los Angeles, CA on Sunday, November 22, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I wanted to replace my 2003 Camry's perfectly working CD/Cassette/radio with something that could play MP3s and had an aux input. This was the best value I could find.

    DEH-2100 has all the features I was looking for plus it is black (almost) so it matched the car interior. I just wish it did not have the silly mirror trim on the sides. In hindsight, I should have ordered Pioneer DEH-1100MP which does not have pre-amp outputs that I do not need, but 2100 seemed like a better value at the time with the included iPod cable (although I do not own an iPod) and all of the installation gear for free.


    Pros:
    - The sound on CDs, MP3s and FM is great. The AM is just OK: it the same or maybe slightly weaker than the original stereo, but still is acceptable.

    - Green illumination matches Camry's console illumination.

    - Nice customization features such as preset and custom equalizer curves.

    - Front aux input, though I have not tried it yet.

    - Pretty intuitive interface - I was able to set it up completely without looking at the manual.

    - No cheesy dancing colors

    Cons:

    - The buttons on the stereo are TINY, but the included remote is larger than I'd like.

    - No dimmer, but the unit is not too bright at night thanks to tiny buttons.

    - No attenuation or mute button. If you get a call while driving, you'd have to either lower the volume or turn the receiver off by holding the SRC button.

    Overall, this seems like a very good receiver and I am glad I purchased it.

    Easy install.... great features

    Written By Pat and John, Annapolis, MD on Monday, November 16, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    This is the 4th Crutchfield install I've done over the years and was the most ambitious in terms of pieces of the car that needed to be taken off. The process was a breeze and the add-in parts make the unit look like factory install. I was looking for an inexpensive radio with features for iPod and satellite radio and this unit fits the bill. This whole thing--from the unit--to the install--is such a positive experience. Thanks!

    Awesome Headset

    Written By Noah, Hanover,Pa on Friday, October 30, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    My cousin got one of these and i installed it for him( that was my first time installing
    one). was really easy espesially with the supplied crutchfield manual. works great. puts
    out a nice size watage. deffinately improves sound quality even with stock speakers.
    hooked a sub up to it and had alot of ajustability on the headset. i liked it so much i just
    bought one for my truck. thanks Crutchfield!

    Very Nice Machine

    Written By Anonymous, Sacramento, CA on Thursday, October 29, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I like this unit a lot. The sound is great even through the stock speakers. The installation was easier than expected. I called the tech support on the wiring schematic and they helped a lot. I really like the remote control so that I don't have to look down at the deck while I'm driving. The price was less than half of what I would have paid locally. Thanks for the great purchase, I am telling my friends all about it. John

    piece of cake

    Written By Anonymous, california on Monday, October 26, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    this head unit looks great in my 99 ford ranger. Crutchfield made it so simple
    to install and it fit snug into my dash. i was even able to hook up my ipod mini
    to it, which alot of other stereos didn't accommodate. i would definitely
    recommend this one, especially for the price.

    Intuitive

    Written By ROBERT, Mpls, MN on Wednesday, October 14, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    Easier to use and understand than the Clarion CZ109 I put in my other car. Pretty easy to install with Crutchfield's installation kit. Sound is fine. At first I thought the rear ipod cord was a deal breaker. But, now that the stereo is installed it is pretty nice to have the cable out of sight so smash and grab criminals can't see it.

    Great Stereo

    Written By Anonymous, Muskegon, MI on Wednesday, October 07, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    Nice, great sounding unit. Works great with Ipod. Installation was very straight forward (once I figured out to take the white plastic piece off the back of the unit that says - remove before installing).

    DEH-2100IB in 1998 silverado

    Written By Anonymous, CT on Thursday, October 01, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    i am running on the this head unit ,JL Audio TR400-CXi 4",JL Audio TR600-CXi 6-1/2" in my 1998 Ext Cab Silverado-i was considering buying a amp for my speaker but they are great with this head. it is simple to use, nothing to flashy but a decent amount of features for the price this head can't be beat, and crutchfield does a great job with instructions and gives you everything you need to mount your head in your vehicle, they make it simple and easy

    great product!

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By Alex, texas on Wednesday, September 23, 2009

    I bought this about a month ago, and had friends dad install for me since I have never done one before. Honestly, I could rip it out now and put it back in myself it's that easy to install with the wire harness. It fit right in the slot, no problems at all. I switched this out with the stock 1997 honda accord unit, which was putting out about 4 watts of power to the stock speakers. Now moving up to about 20 watts, my car sounds amazing. I've had people dancing along side the road to music in my car with the windows rolled up it's that good. Also, if you have an ipod, this will hook up great with the cord it comes with that plugs into the bottom of your ipod. you don't need to purchase an aux cord. Once you plug in your ipod, hit the ipod button on the #4 key, and you have control of your ipod interface. Saves you about 15$

    Very great system. Love how it sounds. I would def reccommend this radio. 5 stars, i have yet to havy any problems at all.

    Crutchfield Nissan Versa In Dash Receiver Installation

    Written By Anonymous, Ruston,LA on Sunday, August 30, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    Love the Pioneer DEH-2100IB 5 stars

    I made this video to help And to show its easy as pie with Crutchfield.
    Thanks again

    Thanks for all the Help Crutchfield!!!

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By Michael, Marshall, NC on Wednesday, August 26, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    This is a wonderful unit. It sounds good with my factory speakers, wonder what it would sound like with new ones, maybe later. Was easy to install but the rear support is blind when sliding in the unit. Called and asked about it and unless I was off-roading I would not really need it, but I decided to use it, wanted the support for the rear of the unit. I am like others about the scrolling of the title text, wish it was there. The other thing that I did not care for is that I have to have power on to eject a CD. I have seen other units that all you have to do is just push the eject button, even without power.
    Over all I am extremely happy with this unit and would recommend it to anyone looking at replacing their current setup.

    2004 Jeep Wrangler

    Written By Anonymous, Raleigh, NC on Friday, August 21, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    the install was smooth. instructions were sufficient. the radio controls aren't intuitive. I've read the manual and still don't think the controls are where I think they are. Somehow I keep resetting the AM/FM presets by hitting the control dial. Still working with it though and maybe the logic will click. I've been happy with Pioneer in the past so I didn't look at other brands. The unit sounds good on factory Jeep speakers.

    Novice installs his first car stereo with success

    Written By Norm, Oxford, OH on Friday, August 14, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I'm very happy with this product. The iPod interface is exactly what I was looking for. I now keep an iPod tucked in the glove compartment. It starts and stops automatically when I turn on/off the stereo (if I select iPod as my source).

    Having never changed a car stereo before, I was nervous about it. I have a bad track record with any kind of hands-on work---one time, I tried to replace a doorknob in my garage, and it led to needing to repair a bathroom sink as well...long story. The point is, I am a novice. But Crutchfield's instructions for replacing the factory-installed stereo in my 2008 Subaru Forester were perfect. The only thing that was slightly different was that the directions were written for an automatic, and we have a manual. But it all went very very smoothly.

    ok for the price

    Written By Ken, Pittsburgh PA on Friday, August 14, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I bought this head unit to upgrade the stock radio in my 85 Toyota Supra. I didn't want to spend a lot, just something simple to play CD's and mostly my ipod. The dash kit fit good, but the unit's heat sink caused it to contact the heater mechanism behind it. I still had a quarter inch gap on top before the unit fit flush. The Crutchfield advisors said it should fit, but it clearly didn't. I've installed many car stereo systems, but I still double and triple checked myself. It just didn't fit. I had to shave off part of the heatsink in the back, which I didn't want to do. However, I won't be using the CD player much, and no external amps, so I should be fine. But what a hassle! My other complaint is the four buttons around the volume knob. They're too close to it, and too shallow, making them awkward to use. I thought that the volume knob would depress in or out, but it doesn't. That would have made a big difference if it did.

    Great stereo in this price range

    Written By Jeff, Wisconsin on Tuesday, August 04, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I installed this in my summer weekend car, an older Mustang convertible. It
    has a decent amount of clean power even when the top is down. I like the
    fact that I can choose to control my 5th Generation Ipod from the stereo or
    the Ipod itself. I notice that most stereos don't allow this with the 5G
    Ipod. The user interface is fairly easy but I still like selecting songs from
    the Ipod. This is one of the few stereos here that still has radio
    presets on the face. I change radio stations alot and didn't want to fumble
    around with menus, etc. just to change stations.
    I do wish it put out more bass, but that is probably more to do with the
    speakers than the stereo. Maybe I'll have to add a sub someday.
    My first install, and Crutchfield made it really easy. Everything was
    included. The instructions were very clear, even a caveman could do it.
    Buy with confidence.

    Good (not great) stereo for the price. Controls not very intuitive.

    Written By Rob, Western PA on Monday, August 03, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I exclusively use my iPod to play off this HU and, unfortunately, I'm a little underwhelmed by the sound. I know it's because of the stock speakers in my Honda Accord, but still. I thought that the speakers sounded fine with the stock HU, but that's because it has a built-in EQ to make it boomy. Now I have to upgrade speakers and possibly add an amp, which added all up (components + installation) is still cheaper than replacing the stock HU.

    The stereo itself is a little cumbersome to use, it's not very intuitive. Display is too short for longer titles.

    It's a good stereo for the price and I rated it as such. I'm just not blown away. Maybe it'll grow on me.

    Small issue with install kit

    Written By Mike, Northborough, MA on Thursday, July 16, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I bought the radio with the install kit and wiring harness for a 2002 Toyota
    Echo. The top holes, for the top two bolts, that hold the top two arms of
    the receiver mounting bracket are not formed properly. The arm part is too
    close to the hole. You won't be able to get the factory bolts (which have
    captive washers) to work. The washers hit the arm and push the bolt at
    too much of an angle. I found two bolts in my basement with smaller
    heads and used those instead. They still go in sort-of crooked, but they
    worked. Unit sounds good, no other problems.

    Great hardware; ok interface

    Written By Tim, Arizona on Sunday, July 12, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I replaced my factory radio with this, and the installation (with the Crutchfield install package) was pretty straightforward. I really like the features on this unit - they did a great job with the concept. The iPod feature is great, and I play MP3 CDs a lot as well. No problem with CDR or CDRW so far, or with my iPod.

    The interface, however, annoys me. The volume dial doesn't turn off the unit - you have to press and HOLD the small button in the upper left, which is bad while driving. While playing an MP3 CD the buttons on the front all do the same thing despite being labeled differently, so it's a pain to see the title and artist for the currently playing song (they missed a great opportunity to make the unit more usable there). Also a minor annoyance - the sleek finish on the face shows dust in my car, while the old unit was matte and didn't show dust.

    So, overall, I like the unit but think they could have done a much better job polishing it. The minor annoyances bother me enough to be frustrated with the unit.

    Great Receiver, Great Service

    Written By Jerry, Amarillo, TX on Tuesday, May 26, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I purchased this receiver as an inexpensive replacement for the original factory unit in my work truck. The unit is sleak, easy to install, easy to use and service from Crutchfield is unmatched. I had one question regarding the ground wires, reached a Crutchfield representative and received an instant response to my question. Total installation time took about 30 minutes...really. The wiring harness made the process very simple. The only negative with the unit is the size of the buttons and volume control knob. The buttons are very small and the volume control knob does not stand out from the unit far enough to reliably access. Tough for big fingers, but I will get used to it. Other than that I recommend fully this unit and Crutchfield.

    Great Stereo

    Written By Isaac, Greenville, SC on Tuesday, May 19, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    This stereo was great. The installation was very easy, thanks to Crutchfield. The radio, CD player, and the iPOD feature work and sound great. Overall a really great product.

    Good value

    Written By Mike, Downingtown, PA on Monday, May 18, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    Nice unit, good performance, intuitive user interface. Display cuts off longer songtitles and doesn't scroll automatically. I actually returned it for this reason, and because it isn't steering wheel adapted compatible. First rate service from Crutchfield, of course.

    very good

    Written By Jorge, Rio Rico, AZ on Friday, May 15, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    i recently bought this unit for a friend. installation was super easy thanks to the mastersheet Crutchfield sends with it. the iPod interface is great. its in the glove box and works like a charm. i highly recommend this unit for anyone looking for a great stereo with iPod interface. U cannot go wrong with Pioneer. great features, price, and quality

    Installed in my 2006 Kia Sorrento - Love it!

    Written By huntley, Austin, Tx on Tuesday, May 12, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I have to say, I don't write reviews. But this is my 3rd Pioneer head unit, and I've never been disappointed yet! Thanks to the supplied adapter, Cructchfield made this the cleanest install yet, and I'm extremely anal about installs. Solder wires, heatshrink and you'll never regret taking the time to do it right. The supplied diagram made it easy to match the factory harness to the new adapter, as long as you don't miss the part about matching functions, not colors! I did not connect the blue/white amp turn on wire to the factory harness, so initially I had no sound. One quick call to Crutchfield (On a SUNDAY, no less) and the analyst (Mark) knew right away what the issue was - my Kia has the Sport Package and therefore has a separate power amp. Easy fix as I tested it before closing up the dash! The sound is fantastic - even with stock speakers it's an incredible upgrade! The iPod interface is fantastic, I wired it to the glovebox to hide the iPod from sight.

    The controls are not THAT complicated - take 30 minutes and just read the manual when all else fails. Personally, I love the uncluttered look. The supplied adapter also gives me extra dash storage, and can hold my iPod shuffle, which will play through the external input on the front if the unit. Great deal on a beautiful unit - this looks SO much cleaner than the factory unit, which is terrible. Next up - Pioneer component speakers - from Crutchfield of course!!

    Just what I Needed

    Written By CSD4RUNNER, Indy on Wednesday, May 06, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    Bought this unit for a 2006 4Runner with a base stereo unit.
    The stock unit sounded like JUNK.Too bassy and with only Treble and bass to control it, I could not get any decent sound. The Pioneer arrived in two days. Took a hour to solder the wiring harness and about an hour to install
    the headunit. The biggest problem was the power antenna wire.
    You want to connect it to the OEM harness. Otherwise there are reception problems.
    Could not be Happier! With a 3 Band EQ the OEM speaker sound much,much better. The look is nice too. not flashy or boy racer looking.

    The instructions were very easy to follow. The supplied trim kit was not the best looking, so I bought a Metra it. Much better looking! But other than that it was a GREAT BUY. Works flawlessly. IPOD controlls are awsome, as well as sound. One of the best upgrades I've made. If you own a 4Runner and have the same lousy sound problems I had, Check this unit out.
    Thanks Crutchfield.

    Worth the low price

    Written By Nik, Chicago, IL on Sunday, May 03, 2009

    I got this unit to interface with my iPhone 3G. It works somewhat well with some pluses and minuses. When you first plug it in via the iPod interface cable, it says that this unit is "not designed to work with iPhone" and asks you to put it in airplane mode which prevents calls. Just say no and you can then use the phone as normal. It transfers audio not only from the iPod app but also from Youtube, Pandora, Shoutcast internet radio and the like. This is a huge plus for me. The minuses:the first would be that calls are not handled by the head unit so you have to use the speakerphone or hold it to your ear. Another minus is that it always defaults to the iPod app for audio on the iPhone. If you change from iPod to AM/FM/CD and then back to iPod, the head unit wants to take control of the interface. If you listen to music on other apps on your iPhone more often than the iPod app itself then this may get a bit frustrating. But then again the unit wasn't "designed for iPhone", only iPod, so some of these problems are probably easy to foretell.

    But other than those two quibbles the unit's installation was easy, it offered great sound, and at a fair price. It's not for audiophiles but if you're looking for a great bang for the buck, this is your unit.

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By Lisa, Memphis, TN on Tuesday, April 28, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I bought this because I needed something to interface with my iPhone and iPod. The Pioneer works very well, was easy to install, and the sound is clear. The only problem I have is with the interface and learning to switch between iPod, CD and radio. It took me a little longer than expected to learn it and it wasn't very intuitive to me. Otherwise, highly recommended!

    Great Sound

    Written By Darryl, Whitehall, PA on Sunday, April 26, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I always have used Pioneer products for car audio and never had complaints. I just installed this in lieu of the factory installed one in my 2005 Ford Escape...the easiest installation ever...Crutchfield makes it so easy by offering the trim kits and wiring harnesses.

    Excellent car receiver

    Written By Keith, Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, April 21, 2009

    This is a great radio at a great price. Everything works as advertised. The iPod connection and controls are nice. Installation went very smoothly especially with the Crutchfield instructions and all the needed installation parts.

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By George, Montgomeryville Pa. on Saturday, April 11, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    Very good radio for the money, well worth it. Some minor problems picking up some AM stations and I lost the ability to pick up 87.7 FM. but the reception on the other stations is great. Somewhat hard to read the buttons as to what they do but as you get used to it it works out.

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By Mike, Ct on Monday, April 06, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I bought this radio specifically for the ipod intergration and I am not dissapointed. I found it very easy to navigate the ipod thru the radio controls. To top it all off installation was a snap. This unit is excellent.

    Fantastic head unit

    Written By Andrew, Cincinnati, OH on Wednesday, April 01, 2009

    This headunit is very nice and priced very low. Radio reception and overall sound quality is amazing, much better than my old factory HU. Ipod interface is great too (works on my ancient black and white 4th gen ipod), charges and allows you the option to select music on the HU or by your ipod. I also like the cable that connects in the rear as opposed to the front, meaning you can run the cable wherever you'd like. Only flaw is the song title display is a joke because it only displays the first few characters. But whatever. Install on my 01 Toyota Solara was easy, the longest parts were soldering the wire harnesses together and mounting the din pocket. I couldnt be more happy with this product and I highly recommend it to anyone needing a good inexpensive HU with ipod control.

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By bulldogs111, Hillsborough, NJ on Monday, March 30, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I was looking for an economical head unit with IPOD control and this unit
    more than meets the bill. The sound is great and the look of this unit is
    mature lacking all of the glitzy lights found on the Vegas strip. Navigating
    through the IPOD menus took some getting used to but the learning curve
    was small. Crutchfield provided all of the wiring harnesses, faceplate and
    instructions which made installation a breeze.

    Excellent

    Written By Michael, Memphis, TN on Saturday, March 28, 2009

    I bought this unit for my wife's minivan, and she loves it. It sounds great, and the interface with her iPod works flawlessly. I've yet to be disappointed with a Pioneer head unit.

    Very Pleased

    Written By Darrell, Greenville NC on Thursday, March 12, 2009

    Installed this receiver in my wife's 2003 Nissan Xterra. Easiest install I've ever done. Routed the ipod cord to the glove box and just leave an older 30gig ipod connected all of the time. It's very nice to have access to your entire music library without having some cord protruding from the faceplate. I also like having the option to control the ipod from the unit or the ipod itself, especially since navigating your library is challenging via the unit. While skipping songs is easy enough, trying to find something specific using the unit controls is too time consuming and best left to a passenger using the actual ipod.

    Other sound controls are good and easy to use. The fact that the display doesn't auto scroll makes for some humorous moments.

    I have no complaints about the product as it has exceeded my expectations for the price point. Now I just need some new speakers.

    Excellent Replacement in Toyota

    Written By steverebe, Orange County, CA on Sunday, March 01, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I just finished putting this unit into our 2003 Toyota Highlander. This thing
    rocks, even though we left the stock speakers in. I was able to route the
    included iPod cable into a center console, everything is tucked away neat,
    so the appearance is great. Install was a breeze, I took my time in wiring
    everything (and a little cutting to route the iPod cable) and I had it done in
    about 3 hours.

    The sound setup on this unit is easy, although I have a couple more
    options to explore to see what is the best for everyday use - I like music
    loud, my wife not so much. In either case, I know this will work great for
    both of us.

    The only thing I wish this unit did was to auto-scroll on the screen when a
    song title, etc., is too long to display. It can be done manually, but why not
    make it easy on us and let it scroll by itself?

    One other thing, I was going to buy a little higher end unit to get the
    bluetooth capability, but the contoller on those units are fragile and come
    apart too easily. The control knob on this a a good, robust rotary dial.

    Despite that, I am thinking about getting the identical unit for my older
    Corvette.

    I would rate this as a buy for anyone.

    Perfect fit. Great features.

    Written By David, Tulsa, Ok on Friday, February 27, 2009

    Just installed in my 07 Ford Focus sedan. The included bracket , antenna and harness worked flawlessly!!! Installed in just a few minutes. The features are awesome, especially for an Ipod. Be sure to hook-up the included Ipod cable...you can control the Ipod through the deck, including selecting playlists, or by artist, song ect.... It all shows up on the display...really nice. Even charges the Ipod which is nice. Crutchfield may be a little higher on prices, but the service and "freebies" more than make up for the cost. The only place I buy from......

    Great choice

    Written By Pedro, Michigan on Saturday, February 21, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I am extremely happy with this stereo. I bought it about 3 weeks ago and installed it in my 99 GMC Jimmy. It was a replacement for a Pioneer I already had. Nothing wrong with the old stereo I just wanted to upgrade. Installation was easy thanks to Crutchfield sending me everything I needed free of charge and very quickly. Ipod controls were a little confusing at first but it didn't take long for me to get the hang of it and the title of the song, artist, album and playlist will scroll. You just have to hold the display button for a couple seconds. Even if you're used to controlling your ipod through your ipod, there is an option for it. All in all great stereo and i love the way it sounds. I'd also like to thank Lucy with the advisor group who was very helpful in answering any questions I had about the stereo before I bought it.

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By Gene, Rock Hill, SC on Saturday, February 21, 2009

    Works great, ealy installation. Has all the features I need and yet is a simple unit to set up and operate. I always go with Pioneer, and the DEH-210IB did not disapoint. It's a great low-end performer.

    Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Written By patacan, Boise, ID on Tuesday, February 03, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    Just received this receiver and installed it last week without a problem. Had an Alpine deck that died on me after three years and bought this one to replace it. I have a stock system in my Corolla that suits my needs and have found the overall sound and clarity from my system has improved significantly from my Alpine. It sounds distinctly better and clearer.

    The Ipod cable works amazingly good and the Ipod controls are very easy to use. The only thing I wish it did that it doesn't is scroll the album/song name etc. You only get as many characters as fit on the screen.

    Overall this is a sweet receiver if you are like me and want something simple yet very well made. Hopefully it lasts longer than my Alpine...

    PS-Crutchfield's support and help is some of the best I have encountered. Even three years after I purchased and installed my Alpine receiver they spent the time with me to try and fix the receiver but it turned out my amp had died. Don't hesitate to order with these guys, you won't regret it.

    Excellence!

    Written By Michael, Buffalo, NY on Thursday, January 29, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    I just installed this in my 1998 Ford Ranger. Instructions for the dash kit were a bit confusing. Wiring the factory harness adaptor to the reciever harness was simple. Looks great sounds even better. Cool green buttons and white display. No reason you can't play your favorite song with this reciever. Plug in your ipod, mp3 player, cd, or just listen to the radio. Plenty of tuning options makes every genre sound great. Excellent choice to upgrade your factory reciever. Can't find anything wrong with this buy. I decieded to get this reciever because I wasn't sure how much further I was going to upgrade my car audio. If I was going all out I would have bought the DEH-P3100UB. Adds a bunch more to improve performance and expandability.

    Essentially Perfect

    Written By Charles, Wichita, KS on Monday, January 19, 2009

    Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

    This receiver has
    all the features I
    was looking for:
    CD/MP3 player, front
    aux jack, and a
    built-in iPod
    control. Plus, it
    still has all the
    normal button
    controls, so no
    fumbling with a
    crazy-complicated
    menu-based joystick
    controller. Although
    it's not out yet, I
    still feel this will
    be the best choice.
    I can't wait to get
    mine!

    Get everything you’ll need to enjoy your new Pioneer DEH-2100IB

    Plug your favorite portable device directly to your receiver's aux input.
    Get more info about having your new receiver put in by a qualified professional in your area.
    Save money by doing the installation yourself. The right tools will help.
    Scosche I335 Mini Stereo Cable

    Scosche I335 Mini Stereo Cable

    3-ft. cable with a male miniplug on each end

    Item #: 142I335

    (33)

    InstallCard: In-dash Stereo

    InstallCard: In-dash Stereo

    Prepaid professional in-dash receiver installation

    Item #: 597421000

    (81)

    $59.99
    Add to Cart
    Metra Crimp Tool and Connectors

    Metra Crimp Tool and Connectors

    Package contains crimp tool and over 150 pieces

    Item #: 120CRIMPKT

    (15)

    $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Metra Crimp Tool Set

    Metra Crimp Tool Set

    Package contains light-duty crimp tool and 20 crimp caps

    Item #: 120RCVRKIT

    (28)

    S&G Wire Cutter/Stripper Tool

    S&G Wire Cutter/Stripper Tool

    Cuts and strips 12- to 22-gauge wire

    Item #: 18119100

    (15)

    $19.99
    Add to Cart
    Pro.Fit Trim Panel Tool

    Pro.Fit Trim Panel Tool

    Remove your vehicle's trim panels without damage

    Item #: 042DM4022

    (87)

    Pro.Fit Hook Tool Set

    Pro.Fit Hook Tool Set

    Installation tools — pair

    Item #: 042DM3022

    (9)

    Pro.Fit Wire Worm

    Pro.Fit Wire Worm

    Installation tool helps route wiring through tight spaces

    Item #: 042DM4533

    (33)

    $12.99
    Add to Cart
    S&G Tool Aid 87650

    S&G Tool Aid 87650

    Door Trim and Panel Removal Tool

    Item #: 18187650

    (69)

    Skewdriver Pro SPK4042

    Skewdriver Pro SPK4042

    Ratcheting straight and offset screwdriver set with 40 bits (Skewdriver Pro with ratchet handle, pictured)

    Item #: 180SPK4042

    (8)

    $49.99
    Add to Cart