Watch a video review from one of our experts

Sennheiser RS 220

Wireless headphones with docking station

Item #: 143RS220

46 Reviews | 5 questions - 36 answers

This item is no longer available to purchase.

Original Price: $299.99

Shop all Headphones

Ask an expert advisor

No pressure, no commission — just lots of good advice from our highly trained staff.

RS220_headphones_and_transmitter

Enjoy audiophile-quality headphone listening without the hassle of wires.

Wireless has never sounded so good

Wireless used to mean compromised sound. Not anymore. Thanks to powerful advancements in wireless technology, the experts at Sennheiser have created audiophile-quality headphones certain to please even the most demanding listener — without the hassle of wires. Based on the legendary sound of Sennheiser's own HD 600 and HD 650 designs, the RS 220 wireless headphones will deliver your tunes with the kind of clarity that used to be available only with wired models. Their advanced drivers and open-air design help eliminate distortion, allowing these 'phones to fully reproduce the dynamics and details of your music. And plush velour earcups gently surround your ears, letting you enjoy extended listening sessions in total comfort — even if you wear glasses.

Interference-free DSSS wireless technology

The RS 220 uses Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum (DSSS) technology to deliver uncompressed, interference-free stereo sound. DSSS works by sequentially spreading and transmitting the digital audio signal over a wide frequency band. If interference occurs at one point within this range, data is automatically shifted to a different frequency, maintaining full CD-quality sound. Multi-receiver mode allows two people using Sennheiser DSSS headphones to listen to the same audio source, so you can easily share music, movies, or TV shows with a friend or family member.


RS220_with_multiple_inputs

Analog and digital audio inputs and outputs let you connect multiple sources. A button on the headphones makes it easy to select the source you want.

You'll never misplace these headphones

The transmitter base keeps the RS 220 headphones charged up and ready to go. It also doubles as a docking station, so you'll never forget where you put them. Optical and coaxial digital audio inputs, plus a pair of analog RCA jacks, provide versatile connections for your audio/video gear. Each input also includes a duplicate output, allowing you to daisy chain the RS 220's base station with other components in your system. Tactile buttons on the headphones make it easy to adjust volume and balance for perfect sound levels. Plus, you can select your playback sources right from the headphones. That means when it's time to switch music sources or watch TV, you don't even have to get up.


Product Highlights:

  • open-back, over-the-ear design with velour padded earcups and a padded, adjustable headband
  • Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum (DSSS) technology for uncompressed, interference-free digital audio transmission over 2.4 GHz frequency
  • range: up to 300 feet (line of sight) from docking station transmitter and up to 100 feet indoors
  • 3 audio input connections: analog stereo RCA, coaxial digital, and optical digital
  • 3 audio output connections (for use as pass-through): analog stereo RCA, coaxial digital, and optical digital
  • multi-purpose transmitter also functions as a charger and docking station for the headphones
  • headphones feature volume control,balance, source input selector, and power on/off button
  • frequency response: 16-22,000 Hz
  • total harmonic distortion: less than 0.1% at 1 kHz
  • includes multi-country AC power cable for docking station
  • headphones use 2 NiMH rechargeable batteries (included) for 6 to 8 hours of operation per charge
  • RCA audio cable and coaxial digital cable included
  • weight: 11.1 oz. for headphones/receiver (with batteries); 16.4 oz. for transmitter/docking station
  • warranty: 2 years
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

Hands-on research

What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • Wireless headphones (HDR 220)
  • Transmitter (TR 220)
  • 2 Rechargeable NiMH batteries (installed in headset)
  • AC power adapter (with attached 6' DC cord)
  • 4 AC plug adapters (US/EU/UK/AU)
  • 7' Digital audio coaxial cable
  • 7' Stereo audio RCA cable
  • Male 3.5mm-to-Stereo RCA adapter
  • Instruction Manual CD-ROM
  • Quick Guide
  • Safety Guide

Features and Specs

General
Fit Style Over-the-ear
Earcup Type Open
Noise-canceling No
Bluetooth No
Frequency Response 16-22k Hz
Sensitivity 106 dB
Impedance N/A
Weight 11.1 ounces
Cord Length N/A
Airline Adapter Included No
iPod Control No
Volume Control Yes
Built-in Microphone No
Parts Warranty 2 Years
Labor Warranty 2 Years

Product Research

Features
Controls
Connections

Features

Overview: The Sennheiser RS 220 digital wireless headphone system transmits uncompressed CD-quality audio over a robust 2.4GHz digital link, enabling you to enjoy your music or movie soundtracks without the hassle of cables. The Sennheiser RS 220 digital wireless headphone system is made up of a pair of wireless headphones (HDR 220) and a multi-purpose transmitter (TX 220) which also functions as an charging cradle and docking station. The RS 220 digital wireless headphone system offers both analog and digital audio connections.

DSSS Wireless Transmission: The Sennheiser RS 220 digital wireless headphone system utilizes DSSS (direct-sequence spread spectrum) to deliver clear, clean, uncompressed audio without the need for tuning. The RS 220 is able to work in crowded RF environments amongst Bluetooth, Kleer, and Wi-Fi signals. The digital wireless headphones have a wireless range up to 300' (line of sight) from multi-purpose transmitter and up to 100' indoors.

Wireless Headphones: The Sennheiser digital wireless headphones employ a dynamic transducer system with powerful neodymium magnets that deliver clear and detailed audio reproduction. The digital wireless headphones utilize an Open-Air speaker system that mimics the acoustic properties of hi-fi speakers for a truly immersing, high-quality sound. The Open-Air speaker system delivers the most natural sounding private wireless audio experience possible. The over-the-ear design also prevents sound leakage. Velour earpads and an adjustable cushioned headband provide a comfortable fit. The headphones receive their 2.4GHz wireless stereo audio signal from the included transmitter. The wireless headphones are powered by two supplied rechargeable NiMH AAA batteries (for up to 8 hrs). You can place the headphones on the multi-purpose transmitter to recharge the batteries (approx. 16 hrs).

Note: The headphones can operate off of AAA alkaline (1.5V) batteries or NiMH (1.2V/800mAh) rechargeable batteries.

Multi-Purpose Transmitter: The multi-purpose transmitter connects to your television's and audio system's digital or analog audio outputs and then transmits the audio signal wirelessly to the RS 220's digital wireless headphones. You can connect up to three audio sources to the transmitter. The transmitter is fitted with two digital inputs/outputs (optical & coaxial) and one analog input/output (RCA). The analog/digital outputs allow signal to be looped through the wireless headphone system, so that the transmitter can be integrated in between two connected components. The multi-purpose transmitter also functions as a charging cradle and docking station. The transmitter operates off of standard household AC current, via the included AC power adapter.

Multi-Receiver Mode: Up to two Sennheiser digital wireless headphones can be connected to one transmitter so two people can listen to the same sound source.

Auto Power Off: If there is no signal from the transmitter for more than three minutes, the headphones automatically switch to standby mode. If the headphones are outside the transmission range or switched to off for more than ten minutes, the transmitter automatically switches to standby mode.

Controls

Headset:

  • On/Off: The On/Off button turns the digital wireless headphones On or Off.
  • Input: The Input button lets you select between analog and digital audio sources.
  • Balance: The Balance control allows for right/left volume adjustment.
  • Volume: The Volume control lets you increase/decrease the volume of the headphones.

Transmitter:

  • On/Off: The On/Off button turns the digital wireless headphone system On or Off.
  • Input: The Input button lets you select between analog and digital audio sources.
  • Level: The Level control dial allows you to individually adjust the transmitter to your audio source in order to achieve optimum sound quality.
  • Pair: The Pair button connects one or two digital wireless headphones to the transmitter.

Connections

Headset:

  • Charging Contacts: Charging contacts are integrated into the adjustable headband that interface with charging contacts on the transmitter to charge the included AAA NiMH batteries.

Transmitter:

  • Digital Audio Inputs/Outputs: The multi-purpose transmitter is fitted with digital audio inputs and outputs (PCM only, will not accept Dolby Digital or DTS signals). There are optical (toslink) and coaxial (RCA) input and output connectors. The digital inputs provide connection to your HDTV and satellite/cable box. The digital outputs allow digital audio signals to be looped through wireless headphone system, so that the transmitter can be integrated between two existing connected components, such as your TV and home theater receiver.
  • Analog Audio Input/Output: The multi-purpose transmitter is fitted with Stereo RCA analog audio inputs and outputs. The stereo RCA input provides connection to your HDTV or other analog source component. The stereo RCA output allows analog audio signals to be looped through wireless headphone system, so that the transmitter can be integrated into an existing connection between 2 devices, such as your TV and home stereo receiver.
  • Charging Contacts: Charging contacts are integrated into the transmitter and interface with charging contacts on headset to charge the AAA NiMH batteries.
  • DC Input: The DC input connects to the supplied AC adapter (Input: 100-240V~0.3A, 50-60Hz; Output: 9V-1.12A). There are 4 AC adapter plugs (US/UK/EU/AU) included.

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Sennheiser RS 220 Reviews

Average Customer Review:

46 reviews
Review this product
Great Gear Giveaway

Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Review this product:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
(e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
Rate the following specific attributes
  Sound Quality
 "Coolness Factor"
 Build Quality
 Comfort
 Noise Reduction
1500 characters left
  Attach a YouTube Review
Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
  • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
  • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
  • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
500 characters left
500 characters left

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By DrMM, California on Thursday, December 25, 2014

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I purchased these as a wireless replacement for the HD650's. The main features I was looking for was an equivalent sound quality to the HD650s, an optical input and a robust uncompressed RF link.

Pros: The headphones are comfortable around the head. The sound quality is very good. The wireless range is as specified. I keep the headphones on the charging stand when no in use, so the life of the battery is not an issue.

Cons: 1. The headphones do not sound as good as the HD650s (which I also own). The sound quality is good but flat and requires use of a software equalizer to get even close to the HD650s. (Sennheiser makes the claim on their website that the RS220 acoustic are based on the HD650 implying that the sound quality should be comparable). 2. The input selection buttons on the headphone are unnecessary and get in the way. 3. The headphones are a bit heavier than they should be for extended use.

Sennheiser RS 220 Headphones

Written By RDavis, Huntsville, Al on Sunday, December 21, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Just purchased these Wireless Headphones, was very pleased with quality and sound. Would definitely recommend these to others, they are a little pricey but as the old saying goes you get what you pay for.

Pros: great for personal use in or around home.

Cons: minor sound drop out when walking about home.

Great Buy

Written By zup, Murrieta on Thursday, December 11, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Amazing head phones. Incredible Surround sound. highly recommend

Pros: Great Product

Cons: None

Amazing

Written By d3r3kzvtt0n, South Carolina on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Absolutely amazing headphones! I've been through several headphones in the last few years looking for 'the' pair. I am no longer searching! The sound quality is incredible. I listen to everything from The Crystal Method to Ludacris and I couldn't be happier. They are easy to setup and the charge lasts quite a while. They drown out a lot of the ambient noise but let enough in for me to hear a crying baby or my wife calling my name from the other room!

Pros: Sound quality and structural quality

Cons: Not really a con because it is not really what they are designed for but...walking around the house they'll lose the signal at a shorter range than I expected but when you stop moving they will regain the signal and continue playing

Very good cordless headphone

Written By Sam T., Washington,pa on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Best sounding headphone that I've owned. Much better than Sony and Bose. It also cost 3-4 times more. The range is not very good but I use it only in the bedroom so there is no problem for me.

Pros: Sound great!

Cons: Loosing sleep because now I can watch movie late at night without disturbing others in the house.

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By David T, Georgia on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I was hesitant to spend this much money for something like this, after observing the 60 day return policy I figured why not, I've nothing to loose. I'm so glad I did. I can finally hear the tv without having it turned wide open. I also hear sounds that I never knew were in the audio portion of the program.

Pros: Stylish, comfortable and a pleasure to wear, also with 200.00 off it's very affordable.

Cons: None so far

Awesome headphone

Written By wikki1977, New Jersey on Sunday, December 07, 2014

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

best wireless head phone,

Pros: crystal clear quality

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By Robert T, El Paso, Tx. on Monday, November 10, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Very good sound quality and comfort.

Pros: Sound quality, comfort and reliability

Cons: None so far

Sennheiser RS 220 Review

Written By Alan M., Arizona on Monday, November 10, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

First set had to be returned because the headset would not turn on. Customer service and tech support were fantastic and sent a second set right away with return shipping label for the bad set. Second set worked great following the charging cycle. I use these for TV when wife is sleeping. They replaced an older set of cheaper Sennheiser phones that for some reason started picking up a lot of static. Maybe bcause of age of batteries. Anyway no static or intererence with the RS220s. I probably would not have bought these if they were not on sale for a great price, I see now that the price has gone back up and would have been out of my budget. The earpads are a little to firm for my taste but still can wear them for hours with no discomfort.

Pros: Great price at the time. Great customer service. Fast and free shipping. Great sounding headphones with no interference.

Cons: Firm earpads. First set DOA

Not very easy for elder Dad to use

Written By ShopGurLVA, Virginia on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I'm not really sure about this very expensive headphones. I purchased them so that my 88 yr old Dad could listen to the TV without having it blasting on 40. He has hearing aids and cannot hear the voices well on TV shows. The background music is plenty loud, commercials even louder. It would be nice to have a mute button.

Pros: good price on sale.

Cons: Difficult for my elder father to use. It would have been nice to include an optical cable. The sound doesn't really adjust up high enough, it beeps. The buttons on the right headphone +/- do not adjust easily. I probably need hands on instructions and demonstration. My father will have questions and problems daily since he is 88 and forgets.

Crutchfield response on Monday, November 17, 2014 We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

superior sound

Written By Craig R., Bonham, Tx on Friday, October 24, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • rating
    "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • rating
    Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I already own Sennheiser RS 130 and HD598. The sound is virtually the same as the 598. I am able to compare them using my Royce headphone four output amp with a Yamaha receiver. I tried them with rock, country, pop and classical music. Also with with two different movies Captain America and Midnight in Paris. I could not detect a difference in sound which I find remarkable for a wireless headphone. I had already compared the 598 to my old RS130 , Hd558, Bose (two types), and Grado. In all respects I had already found the Hd 598 superior. Which in my mind makes the RS220 even better, being wireless. I have no problem turning on the headset and base, easy. I do not like where the level control is on the back. I have found that I leave it at max and adjust level on the amp, depending on the recording. Sound controls on the headset are fine, with use . Better than the wheel on my RS130, which would change if I put my head back. I use them about 2 to 3 hours a day, no breakup, no interference. Once you take them off the charger, and put them back immediately ,even if full charged, the trickle charge will charge for 12 hours. I called Sennhesier they said this was normal as it is a low trickle charge. I live in a house with wireless routers, smart tvs, and wireless connected dvd player. Absolutely no problems. I do not grade coolness with audio gear, or noise reduction with open headphones. Excellent headphones.

Pros: Superior sound Quality construction Sennheiser Sennheiser

Cons: Placement of level control Comfort due to weight of unit (better speakers and magnets), not bad though. That is why I gave it a four.

RS 220

Written By TX55Buck, Austin Tx on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

My previous unit is Sony. This unit is superior quality.

Pros: Best comfort, sound and charging station

Cons: It should have come with optic cable included.

Just What I Needed

Written By Big Lou, La Nouvelle Orleans on Monday, October 20, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I work out on a treadmill with a TV in front of me. Treadmill noise necessitated too high a TV volume. This completely solves the problem.

Pros: Just what I needed.

Cons: Volume and source buttons are on the rim of the earpads. It is difficult to adjust the headphone position without unintentionally hitting one or both buttons.

Great sound but there's room for improvement

Written By Rishi, Seattle, WA on Monday, October 20, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Sound: The sound is fantastic, but I was expecting a lot more. I am currently using a Sony Pulse Elite wireless headphone. I set up my TV through the Turtle Beach DSS2 DAC to receive optical sound from TV and output it through the 3.5mm to the USB transmitter for the Sony Pulse. It gives me a really good sound but it doesn't run very long after charging so I decided to buy the Sennheiser RS 220 as a second option to use when the Sony Pulse is being charged. Naturally I read the reviews of Sennheiser RS 220 before buying and it was supposed to be this great audiophile grade headphones. I was a little disappointed when I noticed it's only a slight improvement to the Sony Pulse. The RS 220 is open can and Sony Pulse is closed can, this makes for a slightly better sound with the RS 220. I connected various other sound sources too - from my laptop, mobile and my Project Debut record player, and noticed the Sony Pulse still comes very close in terms of sound quality with the RS 220. With all that said, the RS 220 sounds amazing. I even purchased the cheaper RS 160 but returned it because the sound in that was pretty bad compared to the Sony Pulse or the RS 220. The only issue I have with the RS 220 is the audio getting dropped in between but it's probably because of a lot of interference in my apartment. I didn't get this when I used the RS 220 in office.

Thanks to Crutchfield for the big saving and awesome quick delivery. I received a Thank You note too, nice gesture :)

Pros: 1) Very good sound 2) Fantastic build: really easy to set up and even easy to re-package. All materials feel like really well made. 3) Very very comfortable: no problem using for hours on end.

Cons: 1) Sound quality could be improved considering this is coming from Sennheiser 2) Audio drops if there are interference, probably bad if you are living in apartments 3) Cannot use it while traveling, would have been nice to be able to use it with normal 3.5mm wires.

Very good sound quality and convenience

Written By CAVM, Boulder, CO on Sunday, October 19, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

A good product; convenient and flexible, with a good range and great sound quality. The wearer is able to hear conversations in the same room even though wearing the headset.

Pros: Comfort, sound quality, and convenience. Can we worn in rooms adjacent to the room in which the antenna is located without compromising sound reception.

Cons: Did not include a 1/4" adapter plug for the amplifier; had to purchase same at a local electronics store.

Sennheiser 220

Written By Jim, Central Florida on Thursday, October 16, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • rating
    Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Excellent ear phones. They do everything i wanted.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Very Nice Service

Written By Assil, Camp Hill on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • rating
    "Coolness Factor"
  • rating
    Build Quality
  • rating
    Comfort
  • rating
    Noise Reduction
  • rating
    Sound Quality

I would like to right a review about the company rather than this product.. I did not have much experience of this product yet in order to be able to fairly say about it, but so far so good.. The quality of the service provided by the company is outstanding, I love to always deal with such companies who care about the safety and the convenience of their customers. I am very satisfied with this company and planning to be a loyal customer to them in return.. I will have some time before I can write another review about the product.

SENNHEISER RS 220

Written By DH, ALAMO, CA on Saturday, October 11, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I was hoping this would be an upgrade from my previous Sennheiser wireless headphones. it was not.

Pros: Sennheiser is a great brand - Prefer to my Bose. - Prefer the 170 I already have. Does have L/R balance, which s a nice option.

Cons: Too heavy to workout, does not have headphone jack, or surround sound options

Wonderful wireless headphone

Written By GoodSound, Florida on Saturday, October 04, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

The sound is very close to HD650 and it's very comfortable to wear for 2 hours in a row. Not it's coming to the wireless part. If I am in the same room as the transmitter sits in there is no lose or drop of signals. If I am blocked by two walls I experience lose or drop of signal and I may also hear distorted sound. Many of the low ratings on this headphone on other sites are related drop of signals. I guess there is in fact rooms for Sennheiser to improve the DSSS or the making of this headphone. The controls on headphone are awkward. It's hard to know if the right control is on volume or on balance.

Pros: sound quality and comfortable to wear.

Cons: Signal transmission need improvement and awkward on-phone controls.

Sennheiser RS 220 w/ Creative SB Titanium HD

Written By Nathan, Long Island, NY on Thursday, October 02, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Not an audiophile, but last night I put on some .flac files from my old Vangelis Blade Runner soundtrack and heard instruments and interplay I never heard before, even when I listened to it obsessively 15 years ago.

Comparison: These outperform my small, old THX-certified Klipsch speakers I have wired to a receiver and my computer, are much more detailed than my Denon AH-D1001s, and more comfortable and deeper than my Klipsch Image X10s. No replacement for a full room of solid speakers for watching a movie, but not so much less that I'm tempted to risk waking the house.

Wireless Performance: We run our company out of the house, and we have six wireless handsets on the 5.8 GHz spectrum, along with two wireless AC routers, and a variety of smartphones, tablets, and a smart TV all occupying these frequencies, but I can reliably get 20' from the transmitter even with all of that signal noise, and up to 30' before the noise, wood and steel studs start interfering.

Gaming: My Creative Titanium HD sound card synthesizes surround sound for gaming. The effect is convincing enough for a for-fun player like myself who doesn't try to climb the leaderboards but wants an immersive experience when I get around to playing.

Connectivity: I have my computer (optical) and my Xbox 360 (R/L analog) connected, with the signals relayed to a receiver. There is still room for another connection via a digital coaxial set of in/out ports.

It's discontinued, get it cheap while you can!

Pros: - Great detailed sound without overly weak bass. - Stand relays audio to additional equipment. - Wireless works much better than Bluetooth solutions. - Price break makes them an excellent value compared to wired options in this price bracket.

Cons: - A bit more bass would be fun. - Stand needs to be powered to relay to additional equipment. - Wireless could become an issue as Internet of Things develops. - Original price put these up against far superior wired options.

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By Ken, Delaware on Thursday, October 02, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

good sonic quality...extremely limited range

rs 220

Written By rob, Littleton, co on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Good headphones. I wish they were louder and that a second set to pair was cheaper.

Pros: Lightweight. Outstanding sound quality

Cons: Not loud enough

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By Rick, Memphis, TN on Monday, September 22, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • rating
    Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • rating
    Noise Reduction
  • rating
    Sound Quality

I own a pair of RS 180. Work great. Thought I'd purchase the RS 220 for the media room. Good reviews plus they were on sale. When I opened the box, I noticed it didn't come with a phono plug for the base. Provided directions were useless. Called Crutchfield for a solution. I was told to use the analog cables and connect to the back of my receiver (Onkyo NR 929) via the pre-out "front" plugs. After spending 15 minutes fishing the wires behind my media center, nothing. Noticed it also didn't cancel out my speakers. Called Crutchfield the next day for a plan B. I was told that if I use any plugs behind my receiver, it would not cancel the sound coming out of my speakers. Isn't that the point? To be able to listen to your music/tv without disturbing others? His response (no joke) "these headphones are designed for individuals with hearing difficulties". What?? Then put on hold for 10 minutes while he searched for a phono plug adapter. In the end, I sent the headphones back and purchased another pair of RS180. Work as advertised. Per the previous reviews, these headphones can be connected to a music source and probably sound great. The unit does come with a connection that fits iPad/iPads/etc., so that maybe that's the intended use. But I was unable to make it work with my receiver with the provided cables. If Sennheiser had included a standard stereo headphone plug, this would have been a simple/easy install.

Pros: Look great, comfortable.

Cons: See review.

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By Np, 07302 on Saturday, September 20, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • rating
    "Coolness Factor"
  • rating
    Build Quality
  • rating
    Comfort
  • rating
    Noise Reduction
  • rating
    Sound Quality

Great!

Practically unusable in the office

Written By TubeSound, Los Angeles,C on Friday, September 19, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Bought them to replace 10 year old RS 130... wow what a waste.. even with the discount of 300$ from original 500$ price they are worthless. Headphones operate in the same band range as all wireless devices, your phone wifi, wireless routers, wireless mouses you name it. In RS headphones you will hear some radio hiss once in a while but in these headphones you just loose connection to the base. Meaning you wont' hear music for a second or two every other minute till headphones will reconnect to the base. Annoying as it can be. Unusable in the office where you have no control over wireless channels.

I would strongly advise anyone from buying them.

Pros: .... Brand name ?

Cons: Unusable if you have any other wireless devices nearby

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By Cliff D., Harrisonburg, VA on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

These Headphones are Awesome! Only wish they could be surround sound for listening to movies. Other wise they are Awesome.

Pros: Did I mention these headphones are Awesome! Clarity of sound is astounding, can't hardly hear my dogs barking at the neighbor anymore.

Cons: none

Sennheiser RS220

Written By DaveH, AMherst, MA on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Great headphones, quality for sure. It was a bit hard to figure out how to connect, I couldn't find instructions at all- so that could be a lot better.

Pros: Great TOTL (Top Of The Line) phones, sound

Cons: Better instructions

worth the money

Written By Jman, San Diego, CA. on Thursday, September 11, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • rating
    "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

The music is very clear, they are very comfortable to wear for long periods and have large ear cups. This was my first open back headphones, they sound just a little larger than my other pair of closed back headphones, but it's not a huge difference. they still block outside noise just not quite as much as my closed back (but close), other people can hear what you're listening to but just barely if they're sitting next to you. I have been using these for several hours a day and battery last fine as long as I put them back on the charger before bed. I saw another review that said they could have been built better but I don't foresee any issues, but like anything, dont step on them or leave them laying on a chair where they will be sat on. most of the headphone breakage I have had has been the wires which I wont have to worry about with these. I have a cheep pair of sennheiser 202's, they sound good too, but I would give these a 30 to 50% improvement in sound quality and think for me, was worth the extra money. The wireless is trouble free except when the batteries are dead, the range is further than I can go on this little 1/8 acre lot. My purchase criteria, I was looking for sound quality and reliability. comfort and noise reduction are secondary, I out grew any coolness factor 30 years ago.

Pros: they work great as expected. I already have a high end speaker system with 1000w mono blocks so I kind of missed out on any wow factor, but they do sound nice. not as good as my speakers but still the best headphones I have ever heard. Got a great price from Crutchfield.

Cons: no cons

Anniversary Gift

Written By M, Memphis Tennessee on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Excellent quality! Purchased as a gift for my husband who enjoys watching TV at night however, I like to sleep "no noise". This is great, he has been able to enjoy and I can sleep with peace and quietness. Makes for a happy home! Thanks

Pros: Quality sound, good price

Cons: None

same excellent sound as the hd600

Written By M. allie, Monterey park, ca on Saturday, September 06, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • rating
    Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Excellent sennheiser sound without the wires. Comfortable and a pleasure to listen to.

Pros: Excellent sound and comfort.

Cons: Occasional sound dropoff.

Excellent Sound Quality But......

Written By Steven, Nashville, TN on Saturday, April 26, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I suppose you could get a much better experience with a wired headphone, but for a wireless set, these cans have the best sound you will find. The headphone is very comfortable. The only time they felt too warm on my head was when I was vacuuming the house. Setup is not my bag, so I called the Crutchfield tech number and a really nice and very patient guy walked me through it. I have couple of big issues with these head phones listed under the Cons below.

Pros: I use my headphones mostly for watching movies in the evening when my wife has gone to bed. The sound quality on a Blu-ray movie is pretty amazing. Super comfortable and easy to use. One thing to keep in mind as I have found, the sound you hear is only going to be as good as the sound quality of what you are listening to. Blu-ray and high quality cds will sound incredible. Old analog recordings are going to sound like... well, old analog recordings.

Cons: Drops and clipping.... Very frustrating. My wifi is near the headphone base and it does affect the headphones. It clips, and clips, and clips during a movie. I turn off my wifi and no more clipping. I'll have to see if it will help by moving my wifi router. The drops will always be there, but I can live with them. They only happen when I go to the other end of the house and have a couple of walls between me and the headphone base. Usually, I'm right in front of the tv, so not a big deal.

Great Product

Written By dlinde, Ft. Wright, KY on Monday, April 14, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I was able to hook the earphones to the Zone 2 on my receiver. This allowed me to listen to one source while my wife listened to another. She could watch TV while I listened to the CD player. Or I could use the earphones while watching the same TV as she was watching. The earphones allowed me to listen anywhere in our 1950 Cape Cod style home.

Cons: The charging time is somewhat slow. If you use the phones for an hour it will take two hours to recharge. I wish the recharge time was much faster.

RS-220

Written By John A, Pensacola, FL on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

I have been purchasing equipment from Crutchfield for about 30 years now and would rate each piece of equipment as I have the RS-220. Sadly, I returned the product because I could not hear over the system due to a severe hearing loss. My wife who has normal hearing, tested the unit and praised the sound quality of the RS-220 in all respects. I expected nothing less from a product sold by Crutchfield.

Sennheiser RS 220 head phones

Written By RichE, Tarpon Springs, FL on Thursday, January 02, 2014

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Very pleased with these head phones. Excellent sound and comfortable to wear for hours at a time. They work great plugged into my cable TV box and my stereo system.

Pros: Surprised at the sound quality.

Cons: None!

sennheiser rs 220

Written By rhondale, anchorage, ak on Sunday, December 29, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

top notch headphones, very accurate sound with good range.

Pros: As a musician I am very impressed with the quality, probably the best I've owned.

Cons: Will have to buy my wife her own pair.

So far so good

Written By Robpar, Roswell, ga on Saturday, December 28, 2013

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Just got these as Xmas present. Sound very good but experiences a little interference or signal loss when in room next door to transmitter . Will check with tech support. On/off switch has to be pushed with fingernail or so,etching sharper, finger tip takes a few tries. Wish it had adapter fro standard size headphone jack. MUST charge for the 16hrs before use

Pros: Very good sound, easy to set up

Cons: No headphone adapter for standard size jack On/off switch hard to use Some connection loss when in another room (hope it's me and not the headphones)

Sennheiser Scores

Written By JoeS, Canton, GA on Monday, November 04, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

My old Sennheiser hd600 phones sounded wonderful but were chronically in need of new cables. I upgraded to a Cardas high end cable, but same result. I was dubious about wireless, especially due to compression. I was surprised to find out after rearching that Sennheiser made a pair that did not include this annoying feature. After discussing at length with a Crutchfield representative, I decided to give them a try. In a word, wow! I can hardly tell the difference in sound quality between these and my hd 600 pair. My only issue was that the phones were not paired prperly at the factory. Again, one quick call to crutchfieldtech support and I was efficently walked through the pairing procedure. I am extremely pleased to be finished at last with headphone cables!

Pros: Sound quality is extraordinary. Have to hear it to beleive it! Controls are simple and straigtforward.

Cons: They were not paired at the factory. Fit is a just a bit snug, but that will self adjust with some use.

Musician's appraisal of Sennheiser RS 220

Written By BG, Auburn, AL on Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Once in a great while a product purchase meets or exceeds expectations. Such is the case with my recent acquisition of the Sennheiser headphones from Crutchfield. While the price seems obscenely high, the performance of the RS 220's is spectacular! Anyone who can appreciate and discern accurate and balanced sound reproduction and can afford the ticket should seriously consider owning a set.

Pros: Extremely accurate sound reproduction - no eq hot or dead spots. Comfortable. Open-air, so you can hear not only your chosen sound source, but background room conversation, etc. Provides a digital in/out for home theater connection. Good range - in my house reception reaches through at least one wall & one floor. Battery charge is very adequate for common usage.

Cons: None for me.

Best Headphones I ever owned.

Written By Jim, Hastings, MI on Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

It really is true what they say about these headphones being like real quality speakers so much as the sound seeming to come from everywhere instead of just directly to your ears. Once in a while there is a slight glitch in the sound even in the same room as the transmitter, but I am surrounded by monitors as this happens. They get plenty loud with a full range of sound from the highest highs to the lowest lows in a full bodied way, but not so loud as to overdrive your eardrums so that it hurts. Turn up the source if you want it to actually hurt.

Pros: Marvelous sound. Freedom from worrying about a chord. It is great to hang up the phones and have them automatically charge. The passthrough feature is wonderful so you can turn off the phones and have the sound go to your regular speaker system. Very comfortable to wear and you can forget they are on.

Cons: Old poorly recorded music still sounds like old poorly recorded music! A slight rare occasional glitch in the sound that cannot be blamed on anything but the transmitter/headphones. Nothing is perfect, it seems. The range will not go entirely from one end of my house to the other on the same floor, let alone outside.

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By MBR, Miami, FL on Friday, June 07, 2013

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

Provides a sharp, clear sound. Complements new TV with equivalent sound. Very much enjoying it!

Pros: Sharp, clear, and full sound.

Cons: Still adjusting to headphone controls.

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By RichardV, Asheville, NC on Saturday, December 08, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

These headphones are a wonderful product. They are highly resolving, though, not as resolving as Sennheiser's premium wired models. I've owned a pair of Sennheiser wired phones for about ten years and have found them to be incredebly detailed but a bit shy in the bass (maybe why they're so detailed). This wireless model is almost as detailed but has a full, sweet listenability. They are super comfortable and are the go to choice because of they're hassle-free convenience. The range in my home is about fifty feet but walls, especially more than one, will cut that down by half. Put the base station as high as practicle with the controls in line of sight and you shouldn't have any problems. I recommend the RS 220, because they don't distract from the music.

Pros: Very musical phones with outstanding comfort and convenience. A really well designed and built product.

Cons: None

Excellent

Written By Mark G, Cincinnati OH on Monday, November 19, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

These headphones were a "god send" in that they solved an ongoing problem at our house where the TV's volume, even moderate, often interfered with calls on our house phone 2 rooms away (which has an electret condenser microphone)

Pros: Excellent fidelity...much better than the LED LCD'S

Cons: The maximum volume should, in my opinion, be louder

Sennheiser RS 220

Written By Anonymous, Shawnee Kansas on Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

  • "Coolness Factor"
  • Build Quality
  • Comfort
  • Noise Reduction
  • Sound Quality

These can are the best of the best. Sound is great, build quality is a five star. Price is a little on the high side but well worth it. I had the Sony Ds 165 build was not great. These cans fill soft and fit great.

Pros: Great sound and works with a lot of sounds sources. I had the Sony DS 165, these are a lot better

Cons: Breaks up, I had the 180 I could walk around the back yard and had very little break up. The 220 start to break up just going up the stairs. Pricing a little on the high side.

Very Difficult Client Please by Excellent Product

Written By No Ego Grand Master of the Universe Supreme, Leesburg VA on Monday, April 02, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

According to wife these headphones saved marriage. The Excellent sound quality pleased the Husband who is a supremely critical audiophile. From my testing they were extremely comfortable and could range throughout 4,000 sq ft house. They have requested that I purchase 2 more for them.

Pros: Excellent headphones Best on the Market

Cons: Had to back order the next two of these

Too complicated for casual user.

Written By JimP, Cortez, CO on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

I recently returned the second unit I received. The first unit had been previously opened and would not produce sound. The replacement unit was brand new but also would not produce sound. A call to support did not produce sound. I returned the second unit for refund. I did purchase the Sony MDR-6500 and it produced beautiful sound RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. No special settings and no audio source configuration and for 1/2 the price of the Sennheiser.

Pros: Attractive design, ability to change volume on BOTH earphones - very helpful for me.

Cons: Too complicated to get sound from digital optical input.

True audiophile performance - wirelessly!

Written By Brian H., Chicago, IL on Friday, February 24, 2012

Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)

These are absolutely fabulous headphones. I decided to upgrade from my Sennheiser RS170 wireless headphones when I learned about these, and am glad I did. First off, they offer the cleanest, most detailed sound "picture" of any headphones I've owned, wired or wireless. When I first put them on I was a bit taken aback. I was used to my RS170s which have a bass boost feature. Upon listening to the RS220s my first thought was that the sound is a bit thin compared to the RS170s. However, after about 10 minutes I realized I was hearing details I'd NEVER heard before, even on recordings I've owned for years. I listen primarily to classical music, including a lot of pipe organ music, which has traditionally been a challenge for most headphones due to the huge sonic range. The next feature of these headphones which is a real plus in my mind is the way you hook them up. The base transmitter can be hooked up DIRECTLY to your audio source (i.e. MP3 player, CD player, or music server) using coaxial, optical or standard RCA plugs. I am using an optical connection for my set up, and the sound is truly amazing. Another nice feature is that you can "daisy chain" or "loop" the connection so you can also run your audio source through your amp or receiver without having a separate connection for the headphones. These are also the most comfortable headphones I've owned. Sennheiser have done a great job of ensuring a comfortable fit. I would recommend these headphones without hesitation.

Pros: True audiophile sound; extremely comfortable; easy to connect; stylish base transmitter, "open-air" design; ability to "loop" your connection

Cons: Somewhat limited range compared to other Sennheiser models; extremely sensitive to other sources of electronic interference (i.e. 2.4 GHz wireless telephones, "dirty" power, etc.), a touch "light" on bass reproduction; no way to equalize or adjust the sound rather than balance control

Get everything you’ll need to enjoy your new Sennheiser RS 220

Connect your wireless headphone's base station to compatible digital sources with a high-quality optical digital cable.
Protect your investment from power surges.
Monster Cable 400dfo

Monster Cable 400dfo

Optical digital audio cable (1 meter/3.3 ft.)

Item #: 119DF4001M

(22)

$39.95
Add to Cart
CableTruth 303T

CableTruth 303T

Optical digital audio cable (6 feet)

Item #: 865OPT6FT

(4)

$19.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest Forest OptiLink

AudioQuest Forest OptiLink

Optical digital audio cable (1.5 meters/5 feet)

Item #: 703FOP15M

(23)

$34.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest Cinnamon OptiLink

AudioQuest Cinnamon OptiLink

Optical digital audio cable (1.5 meters/5 feet)

Item #: 703COP15M

(3)

$78.99
Add to Cart
AudioQuest Vodka OptiLink

AudioQuest Vodka OptiLink

Optical digital audio cable (1.5 meters/5 feet)

Item #: 703VOP15M

(1)

$228.99
Add to Cart
Panamax MD2

Panamax MD2

Space-saving surge protector with two outlets

Item #: 299MD2

(8)

$39.99
Add to Cart
Monster PowerCenter™ AV 625

Monster PowerCenter™ AV 625

Surge suppressor

Item #: 119MPAV625

(2)

$29.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 350 USB

Monster Core Power® 350 USB

Space-saving surge protector with built-in USB charging (Black)

Item #: 119121822

$24.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 650 USB

Monster Core Power® 650 USB

Space-saving surge protector with built-in USB charging (Black)

Item #: 119121824

$29.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 600 USB

Monster Core Power® 600 USB

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121888

$34.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 800 USB

Monster Core Power® 800 USB

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121889

$49.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 1200 USB

Monster Core Power® 1200 USB

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121890

(1)

$59.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 600 AVU

Monster Core Power® 600 AVU

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121826

$39.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 800 AVU

Monster Core Power® 800 AVU

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121828

(1)

$49.99
Add to Cart
Monster Core Power® 1200 AVU

Monster Core Power® 1200 AVU

Surge protector with built-in USB charging

Item #: 119121830

(1)

$59.99
Add to Cart

Questions & Answers Ask the community. Share your knowledge.

5 questions already asked

I don't really know because I have never gotten them working properly. I have been too busy but they were really nice at Customer Service - sent me how to reset them and repair them so I will try that. If you are still needing information, I will try and answer when I get them working. [ SANDY A  Dec 09, 2014 ]
The specs quote some distance, I forget what it is, but mine work well through most of my house. It works 100% while I can see the sender. Seems like the signal will make it through one wall but not two. I haven't had any issues with hissing or interference and I have wifi. The operational frequency is close to standard wifi, I suppose there's potential for problems so you might google your exact wifi model with "RS 220" and see if there's anything. [ KERIN  Dec 07, 2014 ]
The sound will drop if you go out of range but not in the normal listening area. I have not experienced any hissing or interference. [ MAX M  Dec 05, 2014 ]
Conroy, these headphones are top shelf all the way around. No sound loss whatsoever. The ability to choose optical or coaxial hookup very nice with an extra optical out plug for more options. Battery charge lasts more than you will need for any one sitting. Also, can have up to 4 of the headsets paired with the charging base to share the sound. [ STEVEN M  Dec 04, 2014 ]
If you get out of range it will drop off but since it's a digital signal there's no static or interference, it just drops off. [ Jason  Dec 04, 2014 ]
No I don't. For me there work fantastic, i can move around from my basement to the 2th Floor with no problems. There are great Headphones with a very high Price, like they say "you are getting what you Pay for" [ DETLEV  Dec 04, 2014 ]
Not at all. At the extreme limit on range the sound cuts out, but within a reasonable distance of the base, there are no issues. I'm generally within 20-30 feet of the base. I've never heard any hissing or interference. [ Richard  Dec 04, 2014 ]
The base must be hard - wired (optical or RCA/coax) to the audio source. The headset receives a wireless signal from the base. Base/headset is portable insofar that it can be connected to any audio source without having to be programmed. [ Mark  Nov 11, 2014 ]
No they are not. They are cable free. You can however use them to listen to your IPOD etc [ WILLIAM A  Nov 05, 2014 ]
There is not a cable included, so - no. [ TJ  Nov 05, 2014 ]
John, you will need the base connected to a audio source via cable. There is no audio input port on the headphones. Hope this answers your question. [ Azam  Nov 05, 2014 ]
No. They need the base to work. Range is about 50 feet. [ PETER R  Nov 05, 2014 ]
No. They can only be used with the base within range. No port or cable to connect them directly without base. [ Brian  Nov 05, 2014 ]
no you cant plug a cable into the head set [ Jeff  Nov 05, 2014 ]
No, they are only operable in range of the charging base. [ Richard  Nov 04, 2014 ]
No, the only way they are meant to be used is wireless. The stand is the transmitter. There is no plug in the phones for a cable. [ DAVID  Nov 04, 2014 ]
Thanks for the help. Both Crutchfield and Sennheiser tech support concluded that the headset was defective. Replacement on the way. [ Alan M  Nov 05, 2014 ]
Short answer - no, never happened to me. First thing, there's a very nice manual in pdf form on the manufacturer website (Crutchfield weeds out actual links in these messages) which makes searching for things easy. Make sure the battery protection strip is removed (p14). The red LED on the headset should flash if the battery's low, I suppose if it's VERY low it could flash once and go out - but I've never seen that. The manual specifies replacement type and procedure. I think Crutchfield will provide help online, this venue is more aimed at pre-purchase q&a. Also, they've got a good reputation when it comes to replacing defective merchandise. [ KERIN  Nov 03, 2014 ]
Red means charging. Battery issue??? [ Tom  Nov 03, 2014 ]
On mine the batteries last about 7 hrs. The light is blue for 6.5 of them then the headset beeps in your ear and the light alternates red and blue. For the last 10 min its solid red and finally the batteries are dead. Sounds like either its not charging or the batteries are bad. The dock has a charge light that should be on if its charging. [ Jason  Nov 03, 2014 ]
The blue/red/off on the headset sounds like the battery is dead. I would rule out the batteries first, by trying a couple of non-rechargeable ones. If that works, try another set of rechargeable batteries. [ Richard  Nov 03, 2014 ]
If you purchased the product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can walk you through the settings on the product and see if there may be a fix. Our toll-free Tech Support number is printed on your invoice, and is also available under the "My Orders" tab in the "My Account" section of our website. If you did not purchase the unit from Crutchfield, then you may want to contact the manufacturer. You can also post your question in our forums: http://community.crutchfield.com. Or try our online support center: http://crutchfield.custhelp.com/app/answers/list/kw/. [ Krissy  Nov 03, 2014 ]  Staff
It does work with TV and volume is independent of TV so others can listen to TV at any volume they want [ alan  Aug 30, 2014 ]
YES [ DANIEL R  Aug 27, 2014 ]
Hi Max thanks for the info Terry [ terry  Aug 25, 2014 ]
I also found that it looses it's charge fast. So I shortened the headphones so the head portion was flush with the headset. Then it seemed to work better. The charging station is not the best idea because it depends on the headset being precisely placed. [ SANDY A  Aug 24, 2014 ]
I have had to get with Sennheiser to get this unit working. It will not pair so I have to work out a few problems. What I learned is that if you plug it into the headphone jack on the TV it mutes the sound except to the headphones. But, I plugged it into the receiver output and we could still hear the TV. That's with the caveat that we also didn't hear any sound from the headphones because they would not pair. I have a complete "to do" list from Sennheiser to fix the problems and plan on working on it as soon as I get time. [ SANDY A  Aug 24, 2014 ]
Yes, it works on a TV. If you have the volume of TV: ON (not muted or turned way down, using TV controls) and then turn on the head set: both the person wearing the head set (which has separate volume controls) and others in the room can hear the TV. [ Catherine  Aug 23, 2014 ]
Depends how you have it hooked up - as long as plugging something in the TV headphone jack (to the RS220 base) doesn't mute the TV speaker then no problem. But that has nothing to do with the headphones. And BTW, the current price is fabulous. The list price from Sennheiser is outrageous. [ Richard  Aug 23, 2014 ]
Yes, we use it for our TV exclusively. My hearing is not as good as my husband's, so sometimes I use the headphones while he watches with the regular TV speakers. [ LORI  Aug 23, 2014 ]
Yes, it does work on a TV, and you can leave the sound on the TV for others while using the headset. The quality is excellent. The only issue I have is that at times it loses it's charge after a short time. I'm not sure if this is a problem with the equipment or how it is placed on the base. [ MAX M  Aug 23, 2014 ]
Yes. I have mine hooked to TV. And my wife can run her vilume up and down separately from me. She can turn her volume to zero but I can listen and watch TV without bothering her. [ Tom  Aug 23, 2014 ]
Not as far as I know. [ PETER R  Jun 22, 2014 ]
No. They will not work with other devices. But for tv, it's great! [ KEN  Jun 22, 2014 ]
yes it is. In my opinion you will not be sorry to make this purchase, unbelievable sound, blu ray movies will blow you away as long as your playing them from a quality source such as a play station 3 or 4... Sony gives you the best world blu ray movies, games as well as music. Most people think that a PS 3 or 4 is just for gamers, you can even watch Netflix as well as others. I my self also hooked up a Bose speaker system... you can not believe the sound coming through the 220's. Their price is high but relax purchase though Cructfields and you get a 60 day try out... don't like them, send them back no questions asked for a full refund. You can't go wrong! [ WILLIAM A  Jun 22, 2014 ]
Sorry, I do not know. [ Catherine  Jun 22, 2014 ]