1.888.955.6000
 
 
1-888-955-6000
crutchfield.com
Crutchfield

Sony XM-D9001GTR

Mono subwoofer amplifier
900 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

Zoom
  • Sony XM-D9001GTR

    Front

Crutchfield OMC logo
We don't check this item for fit or compatibility.
Item #: 158XM9001
 

Review Summary

DISCONTINUED
 
This item is no longer available to purchase.
 
Contact us for other options
 
Call   Email  
 
 
 
 
 

Our take on the Sony XM-D9001GTR

by Ken Nail
Sony

My system has plenty of power. Who needs an amp?

You might think you don't need an amp because you have a 400-watt system in your car, or because your new stereo puts out 50 watts a channel. But those are peak wattage ratings, which may boil down to 15 or 20 watts per channel, using the more realistic RMS rating. An amp sends your speakers the power they need to deliver your music with clarity and impact, whether you're using factory speakers or high-performance components. And low-frequency reproduction requires lots of power, so an amp is an absolute must if you're adding a sub to your system.

Sony's Xplod amps combine form and function in a mix that'll make your system look and sound great. On the outside, the sleek inverted heat sink keeps vital internal components running cooler and lasting longer. Removable terminal covers keep all the wire connections protected and out of sight for a clean-looking installation.

Underneath the hood, the XM-D9001GTR mono amplifier delivers 550 watts to a single 4-ohm sub, or 900 watts to a pair of subs — plenty of power for even the most demanding subwoofers. Signal-sensing speaker-level inputs activate the amp automatically when it's connected to a factory radio, so there's no remote turn-on lead for you to install.

You can adjust the frequency filter to tailor the signal going to your subs, while a bass boost adds extra punch to the lows. Preamp outputs simplify setup when it's time add another amp to your system.

See more info on this item

Highlights:

  • mono subwoofer amplifier
  • 550 watts RMS x 1 at 4 ohms (900 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms)
  • 2-ohm stable
  • low-pass crossover (50-300 Hz, 12/24 dB/octave)
  • variable bass boost (0-10 dB at 40 Hz)
  • MOSFET outputs and power supply
  • CEA-2006 compliant
  • speaker-level inputs with high-level sensing
  • preamp inputs and outputs
  • 4-gauge power and ground leads recommended — wiring and hardware not included with amplifier
  • 15-13/16"W x 2-3/16"H x 10-13/16"D
  • warranty: 1 year
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

Hands-on research from the Crutchfield Labs (what are the Labs?)

Features and Specs
Performance
RMS Power Output (Watts x Channels)
Loading...
550 x 1
Peak Power Output (Watts x Channels)
Loading...
950 x 1
Power at 2 Ohms (Watts x Channels)
Loading...
900 x 1
Bridged Power (Watts x Channels)
Loading...
N/A
Minimum Impedance Bridged
Loading...
N/A
Minimum Impedance Unbridged
Loading...
2
Best Frequency Response
Loading...
5-300Hz Hz
THD at Rated RMS Power
Loading...
1%
Signal to Noise Ratio
Loading...
65 dB
Input Voltage
Loading...
14.4v
Features
Amplifier Class
Loading...
D
Low-Pass Crossover Frequency
Loading...
50-300 Hz
Low-Pass Slope (dB/octave)
Loading...
12/24 dB
High-Pass Crossover Frequency
Loading...
N/A
High-Pass Slope (dB/octave)
Loading...
N/A
Bass Boost
Loading...
0-10 dB
Bass Boost Frequency
Loading...
40 Hz
Fan Cooled
Loading...
No
Fuse Rating
Loading...
30 x 3
Speaker Level Inputs
Loading...
Harness
Preamp Outputs
Loading...
1 pair
Width (inches)
Loading...
15-7/8
Height (inches)
Loading...
2-1/4
Depth (inches)
Loading...
10-7/8
Parts Warranty
Loading...
1 Year
Labor Warranty
Loading...
1 Year
Product Research
What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • Mono amplifier with three 30A fuses inserted into the chassis
  • 7.5" Speaker-level input harness (with 4-pin Molex plug on one end)
  • 4 Hex-head self-tapping screws
  • Operating instructions (English/French)
  • Warranty sheet

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Features
Inputs and Outputs Notes
Wiring Recommendation

Features

Protection Circuitry: The Sony XM-D9001GTR amplifier has 3-way protection circuitry, which protects the amplifier in the following cases:

  • Thermal: shuts off the amp when the operating temperature is too high
  • Short circuit: shuts off the amp when the speaker outputs are short-circuited
  • DC Offset: shuts off the amp when the speaker wires or ground lead is not securely connected, generating direct current

Low-pass Filter: The internal low-pass filter can be adjusted from 50 to 300 Hz. The slope of the filter can be set to 12 dB or 24 dB per octave.

Bass Boost: For added low frequency performance, this amplifier has a 0 to +10 dB variable bass boost centered at 40 Hz.

Subsonic Filter: The subsonic filter allows the amplifier to block ultra-low frequencies that your subs can't reproduce, improving the efficiency of your speaker system. The filter can be set to 6 Hz or 70 Hz. The slope of the filter can be set to 12 dB or 24 dB per octave.

Preamp Outputs: The preamp output jacks provide a convenient source for daisy-chaining an additional amplifier without running an extra set of RCA cables from the front of the vehicle to the amplifier location. These outputs provide a full-range signal.

Inputs and Outputs Notes

Power Connections: The power and ground connections are 0.547" wide screw terminals that will accommodate up to 4-gauge wire. The remote turn-on terminal is 0.349" wide and will accept up to 8-gauge wire. A Phillips-head (not supplied) is required to tighten/loosen the terminals.

Speaker Connections: The speaker terminals are also 0.349" wide and will accommodate up to 8-gauge wire. A Phillips-head (not supplied) is required to tighten/loosen the terminals.

High Level Input: The amp comes with a 2-channel speaker-level input harness with a 4-pin Molex plug on one end. This allows you to more easily connect this amplifier to a factory deck or a receiver without preamp outputs.

Wiring Recommendation

Amplifier Wiring: This amplifier uses three 30-amp fuses, so its total fuse rating is 90 amps. Since pre-packaged 4-gauge amplifier wiring kits normally have 60-amp or 80-amp fuses, you will need to replace the fuse and fuse holder in the kit with a 100-amp ANL fuse (item # 211FANL100) and ANL fuse holder (item # 211FHXL4).

 
Review this product
Great Gear Giveaway rewards card

Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

Sony XM-D9001GTR Reviews

Average Customer Review:

6 people say:

Review this product:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
(e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
1500 characters left
Attach a YouTube Review
Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
  • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
  • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
  • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
500 characters left
500 characters left
Filter by rating:
5 out of 5

awsome

Written By wesley, Stroudsburg, PA on Friday, January 25, 2008
 
i use this amp to push a 15" KICKER SOLO BARIC and let me tell you i have used about three amps to push this sub and 1 out of 4 has survived, the last one i bought....THIS ONE..........all the others blew or melted while trying to keep up with the sub's power.....man when i say i have had this amp from my wifes car to my truck and now....lol in my house with a converter box .....what a thump....if you looking for an amp that will push get this one...nothing except extrem power can keep up with my kicker and this sony has handled it every day.....good luck shopping but i know youll be back to this one.....
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Good Job Sony!!!

Written By tipking, Fort Valley, GA on Sunday, July 22, 2007
 
I was never skeptical about this purchase. I've seen Sony's older mono blocks put out decent power but this cookie really does the job. Pushing (2) Infinity Kappa Perfect 10.1; I must say that I'm getting close to 900 watts rms @ 2ohms in a sealed enclosure. I gave it 4 stars because all of the connections are in the front and I'm unable to hide the wires like I want to. I would purchase sony amps again.
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Sony System is Banging

Written By Adam, Campbellsville, KY on Thursday, July 19, 2007
 
All right I have put a CDX-GT710 (reciever), GT6935A (Rear Deck Speakers), and a pair of XS-L124P5B (Subwoofers). In a 1986 Cadillac DeVille. This thing is great, the response is awsome and I can't turn it up past 26 (out of 34) because my hairs on my head start to stand. I have had the Amp for about one week and Waiting for the subs to break in and then my Bass Boost is going to be full blown, and then on the deck I will turn the Subwoofer output up from -5 to, +2 or +3. So there are a few thing that would need to be changed but I'm very Satisfied.
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

great

Written By Varri, columbia, sc on Friday, February 02, 2007
 
i've had a few amps before but this is a great amp. i was running this amp on 2 sony xplod 12" woofers and it was great, i heard no distortion at all. i recently upgrated to a jbl 15" gti sub and i didnt think the amp would handle it at all but it really suprised me. i've also used my friends two mtx 5500 12's on this amp and it could really push them to their max. i still think i might have to upgrade but this is a great amp for the price and for just running 2 decent 12" subs at high volumes with alot of power!
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

POWER!

Written By 408rider, Sharks City, CA on Monday, June 26, 2006
 
I just bought this amp and all I can say is WOW! I hooked this bad boy up to my two Kicker CompVR subs in a ported box, and they are slappin'. At first I was a little skeptical about buying a Sony amp, because people hate on their product. But I got a Sony deck a while back from Crutchfield and really liked it. This is a really good deal,it has 1300 max watts,and you can wire this so you're getting 900 RMS x1 with a 2 ohm load. Sounds really clear and accurate with no distortion. You can't find another amp for this price that is a mono Class D MOSFET. I can't even turn the thing all the way up without it beating up my car. Ran this thing for hours straight, knockin' hard and it barely heats up. If you need a lot of power buy this amp.
32 out of 34 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Awesome Sound...

Written By Dustin, Utica, NY on Tuesday, May 09, 2006
 
I recently purchased this amp to match it with the mtx sledgehammer enclosure with 2 5500 12's and it is very very loud....i havent liked sony amps for a while but they really out did themselves this time...it is a great mono amp...would recommend it for anyone....
32 out of 33 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 

Add accessories for the Sony XM-D9001GTR

You'll need an amp wiring kit to install your new amplifier, as wiring is not included. See all categories & accessories

EFX PA4BX Wiring Kit 4-gauge amplifier wiring kit — includes 2-channel patch cable
Your Price: $79.99
Add to Cart
T-Spec 12-gauge Speaker Wire Black/white jacket — priced per foot
23 people say
Your Price: $1.99
Add to Cart
T-Spec 2-Channel RCA Patch Cables Available in 7 different lengths (17-foot)
20 people say
Your Price: $19.99
Add to Cart
50 people say
Your Price: $9.99
Add to Cart
T-SPEC V6-MANL Fuse Holder 4- to 8-gauge mini-ANL fuse holder
1 person says
Your Price: $9.99
Add to Cart
T-Spec Capacitor 1.5-farad capacitor with red LCD meter
8 people say
Your Price: $79.99
Add to Cart
S&G Tool Aid 87650 Door Trim and Panel Removal Tool
65 people say
Your Price: $9.99
Add to Cart
Skewdriver Pro SPK4042 Ratcheting straight and offset screwdriver set with 40 bits (Skewdriver Pro with ratchet handle, pictured)
7 people say
Your Price: $49.99
Add to Cart
Metra Crimp Tool and Connectors Package contains crimp tool and over 150 pieces
15 people say
Your Price: $19.99
Add to Cart
S&G Wire Cutter/Stripper Tool Cuts and strips 12- to 22-gauge wire
13 people say
Your Price: $19.99
Add to Cart
InstallCard: Amp or Equalizer Prepaid professional amplifier or EQ installation
17 people say
Your Price: $79.99
Add to Cart

Why choose SquareTrade?

The #1-Rated Protection Plan

Thousands of people have reviewed SquareTrade Protection Plans — and made us #1.

5-Day Service Guarantee & Free Shipping

We'll repair or replace your item in five business days or less after we've received it, or your plan is free. And, as always, we pay for all shipping.

Protection from Normal, Everyday Use

Repairing your average mechanical or electrical failure can cost as much as buying a new device. With SquareTrade, you're covered — including parts and labor.

3 Year Protection Plan
3 Year Protection Plan
Your Price: $41.99
Add to Cart

For a more in-depth review and enhanced detailed information on the Sony XM-D9001GTR, please visit the Crutchfield website product page (/ISEO-rccbcspd/p_158XM9001/Sony-XM-D9001GTR.html ).