1.888.955.6000
 
 
1-888-955-6000
crutchfield.com
Crutchfield

Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP

6"x9" 2-way car speakers

Zoom
  • Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP

    Front

  • Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP

Item #: 500SPR69LP
 

Review Summary

DISCONTINUED
 
This item is no longer available to purchase.
 
Contact us for other options
 
Call   Email  
 
 
 
 
 

Our take on the Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP

by Ken Nail
Alpine

Why replace your car's original speakers?

The speakers that originally came in your car were made from inexpensive materials, designed to create acceptable sound at the lowest possible cost to the manufacturer. If you love music, you deserve better. Name-brand aftermarket speakers deliver fuller, richer sound with considerably more detail and nuance, and they're capable of playing louder and cleaner than factory speakers. Connect new speakers to your factory radio and you'll get the best possible sound from your dealer-equipped system. Pair them up with a new car stereo for a level of enjoyment that can rival a high-fidelity home audio experience.

Alpine Authorized Online Dealer

Alpine's audio engineers have incorporated many of the high-end elements found in their acclaimed Type-R component systems to create the smooth-sounding, high-performance Type-R coaxial speakers.

The SPR-69LP 6"x9" 2-way speakers feature multi-layered pulp cones with rubber surrounds that hang tough when you turn up the volume. Alpine builds the woofers with high-strength steel baskets and heavy-duty speaker motors for the steady support they need when when the system is cranked. You'll enjoy full low-frequency response with low distortion.

Alpine's 1" silk dome Point Source tweeters radiate enveloping highs. A special tuned chamber behind each tweeter increases driver efficiency to ensure crisp, clear reproduction.

See more info on this item

Highlights:

  • 2-way 6"x9" speakers (pair)
  • multi-layer pulp woofer cone with rubber surround
  • 1" silk dome tweeter
  • power range: 2-55 watts RMS
  • frequency response: 30-30,000 Hz
  • sensitivity: 89 dB
  • peak power handling: 275 watts
  • top-mount depth: 3"
  • warranty: 1 year
  • Our 60-day money-back guarantee

Priced per pair
Note: Sorry, Crutchfield cannot ship Alpine products to Guam or Puerto Rico.

Hands-on research from the Crutchfield Labs (what are the Labs?)

Features and Specs
General
Design
Loading...
2-way
Tweeter Design
Loading...
1" Dome
Tweeter Composition
Loading...
Silk
Woofer Composition
Loading...
Multi-layer pulp
Woofer Surround
Loading...
Rubber
Parts Warranty
Loading...
1 Year
Labor Warranty
Loading...
1 Year
Specifications
Sensitivity
Loading...
89 dB at 1 watt
Frequency Response
Loading...
30 - 30k Hz
RMS Power Range (Watts)
Loading...
2-55
Peak Power Handling (Watts)
Loading...
275
Impedance (Ohms)
Loading...
4
Top-mount Depth (Inches)
Loading...
3
Bottom-mount Depth (Inches)
Loading...
3 3/8
Product Research
What's in the box?

Download owner's manual

  • Two 2-way speakers
  • 2 Grilles
  • 2 Plastic bottom-mount adapter rings
  • 8 Self-tapping screws
  • 8 Machine screws (each screw has a lock washer)
  • 8 Speed clips
  • 8 Flat washers
  • 8 Lock washers
  • 8 Hex nuts
  • Warranty sheet
  • "Important Notice!" sheet

Our Product Research Team

At Crutchfield, you'll get detailed, accurate information that's hard to find elsewhere. That's because we have our own in-house Product Research team — they open the box, verify contents, check the owner's manual, and record dimensions, features and specs. We stay on top of new products and technologies to help people make informed choices.

Features

Multi-layer Pulp Woofer Cones: Each speaker features a multi-layer pulp cone, for maximum strength, powerful bass and superior musical detail. For a smoother response and improved durability, the woofers use rubber surrounds.

1" Silk Dome Tweeters: Each speaker uses a 1" silk dome point source tweeter for better sound quality with less distortion. The unique design of the point source tweeter eliminates any cross cancellation between woofer and tweeter, and aligns the sound waves, for smooth sound performance.

 
Review this product
Great Gear Giveaway rewards card

Submit a review and then enter to win a $500 rewards card

Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP Reviews

Average Customer Review:

15 people say:

Review this product:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about this product. Please be sure to focus your comments on the product itself. Read our Review Guidelines for more information.

Your email won't be visible. Please use the email address that is associated with your order.
(e.g., JohnD) Your review will be signed using the display name and location
(e.g., Charlottesville, VA)

Click on a star to rate the overall product on a scale of 1-5
1500 characters left
Attach a YouTube Review
Crutchfield Video Review Guidelines
  • Only submit videos that you made or are authorized to use.
  • Do not submit videos that contain music, video or visuals that are copyrighted and belong to someone else.
  • Please see our Review Guidelines for more information.
500 characters left
500 characters left
Filter by rating:
3 out of 5

decent

Written By Erik, schererville, IN on Friday, December 15, 2006
 
i bought these speakers as a replacement for the factory speakers in my 94 caprice. i was running them directly from my alpine 9853 head unit but the sound started to deteriorate after about a year. i decided to purchase alpines mrp-f450 amp for them pushing 70 watts to each. without the gain on the amp not even in the normal position, these speakers came back to life and then some. i switched the head unit from the 9853 to the 9855 and that made a huge difference too with the higher voltage pre-outs...i was even issued a citation for noise ordinance violation with this setup (no subs, just 4x6 type s speakers up front and these in back all hooked up to the amp). after running this for about 2 months like this, i ended up blowing one of them. i have 3 way kappas now and the bass on those doesn't come close to the bass on these after i amped them. i would recommend these to anyone who doesn't want subs but is willing to install an amp. if i could do it all over again, i'd buy these and amp them right away. i'm sure they would have lasted longer. great speakers if you've got an amp and already have the treble taken care of.
1 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Someone who actually knows what their talking about

Written By dmccarth, Falls Church, VA on Wednesday, October 25, 2006
 
I really like these speakers. They sound really good in the system I have rite now. I currently have a kenwood KDC-MP828 head unit, a set of 2 rockford fosgate P1 subs powered by a rockford fosgate amp(P2002 i think) I have these speakers hooked up to an RF2002 amp, and i have a set of 6.5 in the front hooked up to a small MTX amp, puts out like 300W, not sure the model, RoadThunder 2 something. But back to these speakers. They have excellent sound. Mids, highs, lows, all excellent. I originally did not have an amp and it sounded great. Then i added an amp, MAN DID THAT CHANGE THINGS. with an amp to these speakers the sound is incredible. My friends all drive fancy cars and i drive an economy car. Now their sound systems can't touch mine and they know it and are embaressed. a lot of the problems ive heard in other reviews i have not experienced from these speakers.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
2 out of 5

Are you kidding me?

Written By Taylor, Ithaca, NY on Saturday, September 23, 2006
 
Let me start out by saying that when I started my project, I was die hard Alpine and was going with an all-Alpine setup. I have these in the rear deck of a 2001 Honda Civic EX. First off, these will drop right in and bolt up (3 out of the 4 bolts anyway). In the front I have the Infinity Reference Components (6.5"). It is all powered by a 4-channel amp giving off 60 watts rms/channel (gain all the way down for the Type Rs). If youre sitting in the front, youre blown away by the sound quality...but thats because its coming from the Infinities. As you get to the back of the car, sound quality fades. I really do pitty the people in the back seat as they are really missing out. Because of the limits of the car, only certain speakers will fit. Unfortunately, this is probably the best of those that do...or at least the best rated. Sure, these give off a little bass, but I wouldnt rave about it. They distort easily and are not crisp/clear. The difference is likely that it is a 2-way speaker rather than a 3-way, but still, these babies are lacking...mostly in the extremes. Fortunately, Im the driver, so I get to enjoy the bliss of hearing bass in the back but the mids and highs from the front. The setup works because what the Rs lack is made up for with the Infinities, but for such an expensive set of speakers, they are really wanting. If you are amping and going for great sound quality, go for Infinities if they can fit. Alpine is simply outclassed, and overrated.
2 out of 12 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

my first set of speakers

Written By Anonymous, charles town, wv on Wednesday, August 23, 2006
 
these were the first pair of speakers i bought and i love them they sound great and were easy to install nothing wrong with them
1 out of 3 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

A little skeptical

Written By DRobinson, Wells Maine on Friday, August 18, 2006
 
I bought a set of these 6x9 type Rs one year ago this month and i blew a coil and i wasnt even running them off an amp. Before this happened i bought the 6.5s for the doors and i just bought an amp and another set of 6x9s. Im thinking of you buy these you need an amp or you will ruin them like i did. Correct me if im wrong. Also they sound sick even without an amp, is it worth investing in the amp or...?

OVERALL these speakers are top of the line for sound quality.
2 out of 7 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

great buy

Written By roll4life27, ohio on Tuesday, June 27, 2006
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
First off I was skeptical of buying the speakers, but now that ive installed them Im glad I did. They sound really good and have great bass. You can defidently notice a difference in sound quality from the factory speakers. I have them powered with an alpine head unit, which allows the speakers to be as loud as i like for my taste. Overall highly recommened!
1 out of 2 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

awesome.

Written By Chase, Centennial, CO on Tuesday, June 20, 2006
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
These speakers are awesome. I replaced my old 6x9's in my 1990 Chevy Blazer, and couldnt be more satisfied. Not only do they sound so much better than my old stock speakers, but Crutchfield's guides and service were great additions to my purchase. Everything arrived right on time, and installtion was easy with the right tools.

If you're looking for some of the best replacement speaker values out there, look no further. These are worth every penny and then some. (I'm glad i went with Crutchfield, because these were priced at $176.00 locally, and they wouldn't have come with custom grillers or speaker wire adapters etc. for free)

Thanks Crutchfield, you have another satisfied customer.


2 out of 3 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Bad

Written By ruben, Sacramento, CA on Sunday, June 11, 2006
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
All I can say is these speakers rock, But you have to push them with A good AMP!!!
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP

Written By inphluence, North Hills, CA on Monday, March 27, 2006
 
excellent bass for a set of car speakers. worth every penny.
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

A great package

Written By Wayne, DC Metro Area on Monday, September 12, 2005
 
I just upgraded to these after having the Alpine Type-S 6x9's. I have to admit that while the highs aren't quite as clear as the three way S speakers, the overall sound quality is great. The low's are much more pronounced and it still picks up the highs pretty well. I have these coupled witha pair of Rockford Fosgate 6.5's in the doors and together I get all of the highs and low's I need for right now. A great speaker, and the price is much better than what you'd find in the store... even with the shipping and handling.
8 out of 9 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

6x9s that thump!

Written By Christian, South Bend, IN on Sunday, May 01, 2005
 
I'm powering these with a Profile 100watt RMS amp and these speakers perform extremely well. Like others have said running these with an amp is where you'll get great bass we are all talking about. I originally had these running of my Pioneer DEHP7700 and the amp made quite a difference. I compared these to Audiobahn's 2092N 6x9s that boast a higher sensitivity, lower frequency response and higher power rating. When I compared them side-by-side the Audiobahn's would break up from the bass way before the Alpines. The Alpines not only handled the low end better but punched out a clearer sound at high volume. The Audiobahn's became muddy. I'm extremely pleased with these speakers. Especailly for someone like me who doesn't want to invest in subs, these speakers deliver the full package: clear highs and enormous lows.
37 out of 39 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Very Nice

Written By Ultimate, Somewhere on Wednesday, April 20, 2005
 
I just recived these not too long ago and they hit hard. These have enough bass to shake my car without my subs on. Also if you have these, I recommend that you get an amp for these. Go with the Kicker KX650.4 amp and listen to them pound. Thats what these are connected to and they are nice. These speakers need an amp. If you don't have an amp, you aren't getting the real power of these speakers.
14 out of 16 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Nice

Written By Matthew, Little Rock, AR on Monday, April 11, 2005
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
These speakers have great low and mid range sound quality, but become a little muttled as you up the volume. Still they are a welcomed addition to anybody's rear soundstage, and are well worth the price.
6 out of 8 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
4 out of 5

Pretty good

Written By Bogdan, Burbank, IL on Saturday, April 02, 2005
Crutchfield Customer Review (What's this?)
 
These things are great have a pretty good amount of bass and hi's are very good, glad i bought these.
9 out of 21 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 
5 out of 5

Joe Liu

Written By Joe Liu, New York City on Saturday, March 05, 2005
 
Good price with excelent power handling.The sound quality Lound and Clear and the Size Fits Perfect.
51 out of 75 people found this helpful
Was this review helpful?    Yes | No
 

Add accessories for the Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP

Reduce ambient road noise and your vehicle's "rattles," for better sound inside your car. See all categories & accessories

Dynamat 10415 Xtreme Speaker Kit Two 10-in. x 10-in. Sheets
40 people say
Your Price: $26.99
Add to Cart
T-Spec 12-gauge Speaker Wire Black/white jacket — priced per foot
22 people say
Your Price: $1.99
Add to Cart
XTC 6"x9" Speaker Baffles Protect your speakers (Slim-line: 3-3/4" depth)
27 people say
Your Price: $8.99
Add to Cart
S&G Tool Aid 87650 Door Trim and Panel Removal Tool
65 people say
Your Price: $9.99
Add to Cart
Spec Tools Stubby Driver Ratcheting driver for tight installations
2 people say
Your Price: $19.99
Add to Cart
S&G Tool Aid 87615 Window and Door Clip Removal Tool
11 people say
Your Price: $7.99
Add to Cart
Skewdriver Pro SPK4042 Ratcheting straight and offset screwdriver set with 40 bits (Skewdriver Pro with ratchet handle, pictured)
7 people say
Your Price: $49.99
Add to Cart
Spec Tools SQR-200a Squeeze Wrench Narrow space ratchet kit with 18 sockets
1 person says
Your Price: $49.99
Add to Cart
Metra Crimp Tool and Connectors Package contains crimp tool and over 150 pieces
15 people say
Your Price: $19.99
Add to Cart

Why choose SquareTrade?

The #1-Rated Protection Plan

Thousands of people have reviewed SquareTrade Protection Plans — and made us #1.

5-Day Service Guarantee & Free Shipping

We'll repair or replace your item in five business days or less after we've received it, or your plan is free. And, as always, we pay for all shipping.

Protection from Normal, Everyday Use

Repairing your average mechanical or electrical failure can cost as much as buying a new device. With SquareTrade, you're covered — including parts and labor.

3 Year Protection Plan
3 Year Protection Plan
Your Price: $14.99
Add to Cart

For a more in-depth review and enhanced detailed information on the Alpine Type-R SPR-69LP, please visit the Crutchfield website product page (/ISEO-rccbcspd/p_500SPR69LP/Alpine-Type-R-SPR-69LP.html ).