Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
016 710 721 4
Connect ID #
016 710 721 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Fits select 2012-14 Toyota Camry vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Satin Black)

MFR # TOYK981

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Fits select 2012-14 Toyota Camry vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Satin Black)

MFR # TOYK981

59 reviews
View this product

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Satish from Dublin, CA on 10/19/2022

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

not a snug fit. fit is average. instructions are not clear. you need to use factory brackets and clips to fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Ramin from Elkton, MD on 9/19/2022

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I could live with the fact that the matte black finish really doesn't match the interior of my 2012 Camry SE , but the mating between this dash kit and the factory control was horrendously bad. The environmental control was a full quarter inch too narrow from left to right for the factory control panel, and to make it even worse it was a quarter inch too big from top to bottom. I didn't have any other options so I filed the edges down, but was still left with a very ugly noticeable gap along the entire perimeter. Would not purchase this again.

Pros: Good fit around Sony head unit

Cons: Awful fit around Toyota factory control panel.

Crutchfield response on 9/21/2022
Ramin contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Ryan from SOUTH BEND, IN on 9/7/2022

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This dash kit DOES NOT fit my 2012 Camry as advertised. I had to modify it in order for it to fit the AC / Heat controls decently. Even after modification, this is much less than a desired fit and looks kind of crappy. I plan to message Crutchfield and see if I can order a Metra brand Dash Kit instead. The reviews seem much better than this one...which I never even thought to look at. I have never had this issue with a Crutchfield supplied device, very disappointing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/12/2022
Ryan contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Colin from Union, MO on 7/12/2022

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The color of the plastic does not match the plastic trim of the Camry making for a weird two tone effect. The opening for the HVAC controls had to be widened. The gaps between the other panels are wider than stock and uneven. Instructions are sparse and difficult to follow. But it holds the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash kit NOT ACCURATE. You will need to be crafty.

Laura from Mesa on 6/24/2022

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

BE AWARE: This TOYK981 does NOT fit around your Toyota oem a/c and heat control unit. I had to waste a LOT of time using a dremel on it and a hand file to get the fittings to accept the a/c control unit. Whenever you have to do stuff like that? The fit never looks great. ALSO the COLOR of this unit is WAY OFF from the black oem dash kit that is in every Camry I have ever seen. I finally got it to fit but LOUSY and FRUSTRATING experience. Crutchfield told me...it's the only one they have for my 2012 Toyota Camry (LE). Combine this fact with the fact that Toyota does not have oem stereos any more....you...are...stuck. So wish I knew this kit needed EXTRA WORK prior to my install. Would have had better patience and time management allotted for the install. Hope this review helps someone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not fancy

Elizabeth from Woodstock, GA on 6/22/2022

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's not as pretty as the factory dash and it is about a 1/4 of an inch not quite right w the fit in the Camry 2014. But seems to do its job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Justin from Frankfort, KY on 5/26/2022

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not good it didn't fit my Toyota car

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't fit

Crutchfield response on 5/30/2022
Justin contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Robert from Windsor Mill, MD on 4/21/2022

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit my 14 camry perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Ahmmoi from Morrow, GA on 4/17/2022

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good but not perfect

David from Woodstock, GA on 2/3/2022

2014 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty good fit overall and while color isn't perfect, it doesn't stand out to me. Instructions were a little hard to follow but I managed to get through it. My only real complaint is that I was installing a 10.1" floating panel head unit (Pioneer 8600NEX) at the lowest mounting points (even one further then it should go which prevents me from securing the back plate, it was blocking a significant amount of the A\C vents. I could move the unit down to the bottom DIN and probably resolve the issue, but the top DIN slot doesn't have the retention tabs to put the filler for the empty DIN in. Would have been nice to have that option.

Pros:

Cons: Instructions could be expanded on; needs mounting points for empty DIN cover on top slot

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Its just ok

Crutchfield customer from Littlestown, PA on 12/9/2021

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wasn't an exact fit. But it got the job done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, NJ on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks nice with minor issues

Ryan from ALBUQUERQUE, NM on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My first order arrived cracked in the two weakest places, but Crutchfield overnighted a replacement. The color is really close, and you'd have to try really hard to notice it wasn't factory. There are some fit and finish issues around the climate control module, but overall it fits, looks nice, and feels sturdy.

Pros: Easy to Install, Color Accuracy, Durability

Cons: Fit around Climate Control, Plain Looking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits really nice except the top corners of the hvac control head. Still looks pretty good though. This mounts to a face plate that comes off the car with the original dash kit, so everything is super easy to install.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Doesn't fit perfectly around ac knobs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camry 2012

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 8/23/2021

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Needs some trimming down around the AC controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 8/6/2021

2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

There definitely isn't a perfect fit on the bottom. I mean, it clears the climate knobs but it sits 1/4 higher than the factory panels. It is a matte finish when the factory is satin. I don't love it, but it is the only option available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Loves Park, IL on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

color is off and terrible fit (2014 camry)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 5/29/2021

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good quality product for OEM replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lackluster part

Austin Colby from COLUMBIA, MO on 5/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall I have to say that this product left a-lot to be desired. The fit around the air control module is very poor, alittle cutting and it fit no issue. I am unsure as to if it is the build quality of the dash kit or if it is the factory radio mounts that go onto the ac module and radio that are making it such a poor fit into the dash kit however all ai can say is this if you find a better one let me know and I will happily spend the extra cash to get one.

Pros: Its a matte finish black

Cons: Fit and finish

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fairview, TN on 5/28/2021

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit is perfect. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/2/2021

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

sleek and professional look.

Pros: easy fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Had To Modify

Crutchfield customer from Brandon, MS on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is not an exact fit for a 2014 Toyota Camry LE..You have to trim around the ac knobs to get it to fit flush.Not hard to do tho.

Pros: Good fit after modification.

Cons: Has to be modified and it would be nice if it came with the chrome piece on it to match the factory look.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Twnshp, OH on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio did not fit. Had to use a dremel tool to trim the opening. Once trimmed it was fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Moody, AL on 12/13/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Piece of junk

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/22/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best of the best

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 12/11/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was the best money I spent it was quick and easy definitely will be coming back

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just Lost A Customer

Cedric from La Plata, MD on 11/26/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Product is Trash 2012 Camry I am returning everything Crutchfield to sell a product like this speaks volumes Why would you have to cut factory plastic to get it to fit You have just lost a customer for life How are you a top notch company and sell trash like this ? I would give it a 0 if I could Return Coming Soon

Pros:

Cons: Everything There is not customer Service that can fix this item

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Toy981 dash kit for 2013 Toyota Camry

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 10/22/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was extremely disappointed with this dash kit from the moment I pulled it out of the package. The dash kit that came out of my car has nice trim and looks sharp, but this replacement was way too plain so it didn't blend in with the rest of my car well at all. It's pretty much just a 3D printed piece of plastic to match the relative shape needed for the dash/ radio. That's partly on me, though, since that's pretty much how it was advertised. However, the REAL problem I have with it is that it doesn't fit properly. The area on the dash kit that is supposed to fit around the AC controls isn't cut right so there is a gap all the way around it and it makes it look like crap. I'm definitely sending this one back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Bring Metra back

Mark from Guam on 10/22/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Cheap quality, cut out at the corner of the AC controls needs to be sanded down to get the kit flush with the AC panel. The dash kit mounted into place but the look of the Matte Black plastic leaves alot to be desired and really is a strain on the eye soon after installation.

Pros: Fits oem clip points

Cons: Pioneer double din has some gaps at the face plate, dash kit needs to be trimmed at the AC panels to get flush, plastic doesn't match oem panel(not even close), I feel like it lowers my self esteem and drops the value of the car even more just from the way it looks.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works after some modification

Nick from Drexel Hill, PA on 10/17/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As others have said the HVAC controls are not flush with the kit. The issue is that there is too much plastic from the kit which interferes with the top part of the HVAC controls. If you sand this down a little (circled in the red area) it will look a lot better. My most difficult part of this install was trying to figure out how to unclip the HVAC...be careful with the 4 clips that hold it in place as it needs a lot of force but not enough that you end up breaking it.

Pros: It fits after modification

Cons: Needs sanding on edge of HVAC Plastic finish gets oil prints easily Not the same plastic as OEM

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Does not work with Kenwood DNX997XR

Eddie from Redmond, WA on 9/9/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does not work with Kenwood DNX997XR. The Kenwood deck requires more clearance to allow the face to motorize forward for inserting CD/DVD. The opening on this kit is too small so the Kenwood tries to open but then stops when its movement is impeded. This movement is also required to support all of the different viewing angles that the Kenwood supports. Right now I can only select -1 or 0 setting as anything higher than zero hits the kit. I also had to modify this kit to use in 2012 Toyota Camry SE with factory navigation and 6 speaker option (not JBL option). There are clips on the top of this kit that interfere with installing the center speaker/clock cover. These were easily cut off using side cutters so that wasn't a huge problem.

Pros: Fits stock dash location with simple modification.

Cons: Opening is too small for stereos that motorize their face to provide multiple viewing angles or insertion of CD/DVD/SD card. Scratches ridiculously easy compared to the other plastic panels in the car.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, OH on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

looks great , good price !

Pros: price and look

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Middleton

Joseph from Middleton on 6/7/2020

2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Don't believe the 1 star reviews. I was initially very concerned, but after installation it in my 2012 Camry Hybird, I determined this is a good product. - The instructions were somewhat cryptic. You need to remove the 2 brackets that hold you old stereo in place and use them for your new unit. You also need to remove several plastic clips from your old dash kit and transfer them to the new one. This was a bit tricky because there are 2 slightly different styles, so try to keep track of where they came off the old kit. - On installation the new kit fit very well. Make sure everything is lined up and carefully press each clip into place securely. - The overall appearance it good, not great. It fits very well. The overhang around the climate controls is not noticeable unless you really try to see it. The finish does show finger prints, but there no need to keep touching this surface after installation. - It would benefit greatly by chrome stripping along the 2 vertical edges to match the OEM dash kit.

Pros: Good fit

Cons: Lacks chrome stripping to match OEM

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Fit

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 5/17/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice fit and finish.

Pros: Easy install, good fit and finish

Cons: Slightly lower grade plastic from OEM.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks decent, but climate controls don't line up perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Huntingdon Vy, PA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The color perfectly matches the dash of my 2014 Toyota Camry; however, the aftermarket stereo I purchased with the mount does not fit well through the opening. Also, the bottom of the mount where the OEM climate controls line up is not flush, and it doesn't appear that there is any way to adjust it so that it would be.

Pros: Looks decent

Cons: Does not line up well with aftermarket stereo, OEM climate controls

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, MA on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits, but doesn't work with all Stereos

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not fit flush in my 2014.5 camry. If you have a motorized head unit, DO NOT purchase this dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Guest from Mosinee, WI on 2/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The complaints about the fit near the climate control are spot on. This fits very poorly. The hole for the radio also makes it difficult for a DDIN with a motorized face to open/close without binding. Skip the American kit in favor of the other brands.

Pros:

Cons: Poor climate control fit, better options available

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Camry Radio Replacement

Crutchfield customer from Hopkinsville, KY on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great for my 2014 Toyota Camry installation of a Pioneer AVH-1550NEX.

Pros: Fits really good, looks good too!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ithaca, NY on 11/2/2019

2016 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed on my 2013 Camry. It's alright. It allows you to integrate an aftermarket stereo in your car and it does that ok. As others have mentioned- there's more to be desired. The union between this and the a/c controls is ugly. It could be a little more refined. It's just flat black and easily picks up fingerprints. Brushes black with a little texture would be better. If crutchfield offered any other kit, I would have rather bought it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 9/28/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great matte finish. Almost looks seamless but has a stands out a minimal amount above temperature controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Siler City, NC on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit was good, color was a good match, pleased with how it turned out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arthur, IL on 9/11/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit except the metal mounting bracket from the vehicle had to be modified to allow 2 small plastic pins on the kit to fit into the holes. Easily figured out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, PA on 7/21/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fit is not quite right

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cheap dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

does not fit flush like the original part does in fact it had to be modified to fit period! It looks so cheap I have considered sending the radio and it back and keeping the broken factory radio in the car.

Pros:

Cons: does not fit flush and looks really cheap

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tomball, TX on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

There is a slight overlap on the bottom where the cut out for the a/c controls are. not really a good fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Maple Shade, NJ on 4/20/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fitment around the climate controls is terrible, it sticks out 1/4 of an inch with a sharp edge. this also causes issues with my motorized headunit screen binding when it opens

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Looks great ??

Greg from Randleman, NC on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks smooth like from the factory. Nice clean finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Berryville, VA on 1/27/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not very clean lines. Was disappointed in the fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worst dash kit ever

Andy from Decatur, GA on 1/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the ugliest, worst fitting dash kit I have ever used. I ended up replacing it with one from a different brand (more expensive, but well worth it). My car is what Toyota calls a "2014.5" model, so things may fit a little differently than the previous Camry models. (The other brand had similar issues fitting around the climate control unit, but it fit much better everywhere else.) However, even if it fit perfectly, it would still look embarrassingly cheap. My original head unit had a strip of chrome running up each side, which this unit doesn't have. It sounds minor, but this unit just ends up looking like a huge expanse of cheap plastic in the middle of the dash. One I replaced it with matches the OEM look much better. Fortunately, Crutchfield gave me a refund.

Pros: Crutchfield's Customer service department

Cons: Everything else

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, LA on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice dash kit! Makes the install look like a factory done install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works fine

Crutchfield customer from Ellenton, FL on 10/18/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation. Fit is a little weird around control head but acceptable.

Pros: Easy installation. Works okay.

Cons: A little plain in my SE but I kind of like how clean my car dash looks. Weird fit around control head but acceptable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Springs, MS on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a very basic trim piece. To be honest, it looks like a base trim piece and made the dash look cheap. I ended up pulling it out and purchasing another brand that had a nicer plastic finish and chrome trim that matched the factory install. Look before you buy.

Pros: It makes the head unit fit.

Cons: Cheap. Makes the car look cheap. You get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 8/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfectly. Didn't need the extra dash. Does take getting used to without all the old knobs. Much more of a "minimalist" look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not Ideal

Zach from West Jordan, UT on 7/14/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works but doesn't fit flush around my a/c and heat controls. Also came with a bunch of scratches on both sides of the double din opening.

Pros: Easy Replacement

Cons: Scratches Doesn't Fit Flush

Crutchfield response on 7/17/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Zach to help him further. We'll either help him get the kit installed correctly or get a replacement on the way immediately.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Disappointed.

Sarah from Yuma, AZ on 4/27/2017

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this because Crutchfield recommended this dash kit for my 2013 Toyota Camry. It is useless because the Kenwood DDX9903s that I purchased from Crutchfield does not fit. The double din opening is too small. What a waste of money.

Pros: It fits my 2013 Camry dash.

Cons: Kenwood DDX9903s does not fit in pre-cut opening of kit.

Crutchfield response on 5/2/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Sarah to issue an apology and help her further. We'll either help her get the kit installed correctly, or help her return it for an exchange or refund.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Barely Works

Nick from Tucson, AZ on 4/23/2017

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit works to install a stereo....barely. The top part needed spacers to make the stereo sit flush and the cutout is just square and causes issues with small volume knobs. I would recommend a different kit. I purchased a more expensive one that works way better.

Pros: Cheap and works

Cons: Fit and Finish

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Dash Kit

Walter from Guntown, MS on 3/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This fit my car perfect. Easy to install and looks great!

Pros: Very easy to use and install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 12/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent finish, fits fine, little bit off with alignment issue as in not in line with the ac control panel ( due to larger size of dash kit than AC control plate).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrible fit

Dante from Macon, GA on 11/15/2016

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Terrible fit. I have a double din pioneer installed and the face keeps pressing up against the edge of the dash kit. I've tried adjusting the position of the cd player but no matter how I adjust it it still rubs. The bottom end doesn't fit over the ac controls. It's impossible to get it to fit without cutting into the dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/21/2016
Dante, whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the kit installed correctly. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound