Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Fits select 2012-14 Toyota Camry vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Satin Black)

MFR # TOYK981

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Fits select 2012-14 Toyota Camry vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Satin Black)

MFR # TOYK981

37 reviews
View this product

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Twnshp, OH on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio did not fit. Had to use a dremel tool to trim the opening. Once trimmed it was fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Moody, AL on 12/13/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Piece of junk

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/22/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best of the best

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 12/11/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was the best money I spent it was quick and easy definitely will be coming back

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just Lost A Customer

Cedric from La Plata, MD on 11/26/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Product is Trash 2012 Camry I am returning everything Crutchfield to sell a product like this speaks volumes Why would you have to cut factory plastic to get it to fit You have just lost a customer for life How are you a top notch company and sell trash like this ? I would give it a 0 if I could Return Coming Soon

Pros:

Cons: Everything There is not customer Service that can fix this item

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Toy981 dash kit for 2013 Toyota Camry

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 10/22/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was extremely disappointed with this dash kit from the moment I pulled it out of the package. The dash kit that came out of my car has nice trim and looks sharp, but this replacement was way too plain so it didn't blend in with the rest of my car well at all. It's pretty much just a 3D printed piece of plastic to match the relative shape needed for the dash/ radio. That's partly on me, though, since that's pretty much how it was advertised. However, the REAL problem I have with it is that it doesn't fit properly. The area on the dash kit that is supposed to fit around the AC controls isn't cut right so there is a gap all the way around it and it makes it look like crap. I'm definitely sending this one back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bring Metra back

Mark from Guam on 10/22/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap quality, cut out at the corner of the AC controls needs to be sanded down to get the kit flush with the AC panel. The dash kit mounted into place but the look of the Matte Black plastic leaves alot to be desired and really is a strain on the eye soon after installation.

Pros: Fits oem clip points

Cons: Pioneer double din has some gaps at the face plate, dash kit needs to be trimmed at the AC panels to get flush, plastic doesn't match oem panel(not even close), I feel like it lowers my self esteem and drops the value of the car even more just from the way it looks.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works after some modification

Nick from Drexel Hill, PA on 10/17/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As others have said the HVAC controls are not flush with the kit. The issue is that there is too much plastic from the kit which interferes with the top part of the HVAC controls. If you sand this down a little (circled in the red area) it will look a lot better. My most difficult part of this install was trying to figure out how to unclip the HVAC...be careful with the 4 clips that hold it in place as it needs a lot of force but not enough that you end up breaking it.

Pros: It fits after modification

Cons: Needs sanding on edge of HVAC Plastic finish gets oil prints easily Not the same plastic as OEM

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does not work with Kenwood DNX997XR

Eddie from Redmond, WA on 9/9/2020

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work with Kenwood DNX997XR. The Kenwood deck requires more clearance to allow the face to motorize forward for inserting CD/DVD. The opening on this kit is too small so the Kenwood tries to open but then stops when its movement is impeded. This movement is also required to support all of the different viewing angles that the Kenwood supports. Right now I can only select -1 or 0 setting as anything higher than zero hits the kit. I also had to modify this kit to use in 2012 Toyota Camry SE with factory navigation and 6 speaker option (not JBL option). There are clips on the top of this kit that interfere with installing the center speaker/clock cover. These were easily cut off using side cutters so that wasn't a huge problem.

Pros: Fits stock dash location with simple modification.

Cons: Opening is too small for stereos that motorize their face to provide multiple viewing angles or insertion of CD/DVD/SD card. Scratches ridiculously easy compared to the other plastic panels in the car.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, OH on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks great , good price !

Pros: price and look

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Middleton

Joseph from Middleton on 6/7/2020

2012 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't believe the 1 star reviews. I was initially very concerned, but after installation it in my 2012 Camry Hybird, I determined this is a good product. - The instructions were somewhat cryptic. You need to remove the 2 brackets that hold you old stereo in place and use them for your new unit. You also need to remove several plastic clips from your old dash kit and transfer them to the new one. This was a bit tricky because there are 2 slightly different styles, so try to keep track of where they came off the old kit. - On installation the new kit fit very well. Make sure everything is lined up and carefully press each clip into place securely. - The overall appearance it good, not great. It fits very well. The overhang around the climate controls is not noticeable unless you really try to see it. The finish does show finger prints, but there no need to keep touching this surface after installation. - It would benefit greatly by chrome stripping along the 2 vertical edges to match the OEM dash kit.

Pros: Good fit

Cons: Lacks chrome stripping to match OEM

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Fit

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 5/17/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice fit and finish.

Pros: Easy install, good fit and finish

Cons: Slightly lower grade plastic from OEM.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks decent, but climate controls don't line up perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Huntingdon Vy, PA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The color perfectly matches the dash of my 2014 Toyota Camry; however, the aftermarket stereo I purchased with the mount does not fit well through the opening. Also, the bottom of the mount where the OEM climate controls line up is not flush, and it doesn't appear that there is any way to adjust it so that it would be.

Pros: Looks decent

Cons: Does not line up well with aftermarket stereo, OEM climate controls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chelsea, MA on 3/12/2020

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits, but doesn't work with all Stereos

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 2/23/2020

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit flush in my 2014.5 camry. If you have a motorized head unit, DO NOT purchase this dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Guest from Mosinee, WI on 2/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The complaints about the fit near the climate control are spot on. This fits very poorly. The hole for the radio also makes it difficult for a DDIN with a motorized face to open/close without binding. Skip the American kit in favor of the other brands.

Pros:

Cons: Poor climate control fit, better options available

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Camry Radio Replacement

Crutchfield customer from Hopkinsville, KY on 1/1/2020

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my 2014 Toyota Camry installation of a Pioneer AVH-1550NEX.

Pros: Fits really good, looks good too!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ithaca, NY on 11/2/2019

2016 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on my 2013 Camry. It's alright. It allows you to integrate an aftermarket stereo in your car and it does that ok. As others have mentioned- there's more to be desired. The union between this and the a/c controls is ugly. It could be a little more refined. It's just flat black and easily picks up fingerprints. Brushes black with a little texture would be better. If crutchfield offered any other kit, I would have rather bought it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 9/28/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great matte finish. Almost looks seamless but has a stands out a minimal amount above temperature controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Siler City, NC on 9/15/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit was good, color was a good match, pleased with how it turned out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arthur, IL on 9/11/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit except the metal mounting bracket from the vehicle had to be modified to allow 2 small plastic pins on the kit to fit into the holes. Easily figured out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, PA on 7/21/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit is not quite right

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cheap dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 5/31/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does not fit flush like the original part does in fact it had to be modified to fit period! It looks so cheap I have considered sending the radio and it back and keeping the broken factory radio in the car.

Pros:

Cons: does not fit flush and looks really cheap

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tomball, TX on 5/13/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is a slight overlap on the bottom where the cut out for the a/c controls are. not really a good fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Maple Shade, NJ on 4/20/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fitment around the climate controls is terrible, it sticks out 1/4 of an inch with a sharp edge. this also causes issues with my motorized headunit screen binding when it opens

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Looks great ??

Greg from Randleman, NC on 2/24/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks smooth like from the factory. Nice clean finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Berryville, VA on 1/27/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not very clean lines. Was disappointed in the fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worst dash kit ever

Andy from Decatur, GA on 1/14/2019

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the ugliest, worst fitting dash kit I have ever used. I ended up replacing it with one from a different brand (more expensive, but well worth it). My car is what Toyota calls a "2014.5" model, so things may fit a little differently than the previous Camry models. (The other brand had similar issues fitting around the climate control unit, but it fit much better everywhere else.) However, even if it fit perfectly, it would still look embarrassingly cheap. My original head unit had a strip of chrome running up each side, which this unit doesn't have. It sounds minor, but this unit just ends up looking like a huge expanse of cheap plastic in the middle of the dash. One I replaced it with matches the OEM look much better. Fortunately, Crutchfield gave me a refund.

Pros: Crutchfield's Customer service department

Cons: Everything else

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, LA on 11/16/2018

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice dash kit! Makes the install look like a factory done install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Works fine

Crutchfield customer from Ellenton, FL on 10/18/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Fit is a little weird around control head but acceptable.

Pros: Easy installation. Works okay.

Cons: A little plain in my SE but I kind of like how clean my car dash looks. Weird fit around control head but acceptable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Springs, MS on 9/17/2018

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very basic trim piece. To be honest, it looks like a base trim piece and made the dash look cheap. I ended up pulling it out and purchasing another brand that had a nicer plastic finish and chrome trim that matched the factory install. Look before you buy.

Pros: It makes the head unit fit.

Cons: Cheap. Makes the car look cheap. You get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 8/30/2018

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly. Didn't need the extra dash. Does take getting used to without all the old knobs. Much more of a "minimalist" look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not Ideal

Zach from West Jordan, UT on 7/14/2018

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works but doesn't fit flush around my a/c and heat controls. Also came with a bunch of scratches on both sides of the double din opening.

Pros: Easy Replacement

Cons: Scratches Doesn't Fit Flush

Crutchfield response on 7/17/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Zach to help him further. We'll either help him get the kit installed correctly or get a replacement on the way immediately.
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Disappointed.

Sarah from Yuma, AZ on 4/27/2017

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because Crutchfield recommended this dash kit for my 2013 Toyota Camry. It is useless because the Kenwood DDX9903s that I purchased from Crutchfield does not fit. The double din opening is too small. What a waste of money.

Pros: It fits my 2013 Camry dash.

Cons: Kenwood DDX9903s does not fit in pre-cut opening of kit.

Crutchfield response on 5/2/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Sarah to issue an apology and help her further. We'll either help her get the kit installed correctly, or help her return it for an exchange or refund.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Barely Works

Nick from Tucson, AZ on 4/23/2017

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit works to install a stereo....barely. The top part needed spacers to make the stereo sit flush and the cutout is just square and causes issues with small volume knobs. I would recommend a different kit. I purchased a more expensive one that works way better.

Pros: Cheap and works

Cons: Fit and Finish

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Dash Kit

Walter from Guntown, MS on 3/16/2017

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This fit my car perfect. Easy to install and looks great!

Pros: Very easy to use and install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK981 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 12/1/2016

2014 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent finish, fits fine, little bit off with alignment issue as in not in line with the ac control panel ( due to larger size of dash kit than AC control plate).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrible fit

Dante from Macon, GA on 11/15/2016

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible fit. I have a double din pioneer installed and the face keeps pressing up against the edge of the dash kit. I've tried adjusting the position of the cd player but no matter how I adjust it it still rubs. The bottom end doesn't fit over the ac controls. It's impossible to get it to fit without cutting into the dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/21/2016
Dante, whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the kit installed correctly. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP