Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Fits 2008-up Toyota Highlander models — single-DIN or double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # TOYK989

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Fits 2008-up Toyota Highlander models — single-DIN or double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # TOYK989

52 reviews
View this product

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 2/13/2021

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went through two kits and the faceplate was deformed on both. I am not sure why Crutchfield sticks with these. As noted in other reviews, there are serious quality control issues. I am just going to buy a Scosche.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 2/10/2021

2011 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only used the face plate. Brackets kept falling off and were not sized correctly for the Alpine CD player I purchased. Frustrating to work with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NC on 1/24/2021

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was concerned that the dash kit would be flimsy based on other reviews. The only issue I had was attaching the front panel to the side supports. Once I figured how they snapped together the install went smooth. The kit is well made and looks like a factory install. Overall happy with the results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good fit and finish, but very questionable quality

Crutchfield customer from Malabar, FL on 1/7/2021

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit was good, but like numerous others have mentioned this is VERY brittle plastic, and the support for the upper screen is very flimsy. Just can't compare to the metal OEM bracket. I may attempt to brace the upper bracket a little better but haven't come up with a solution quite yet. Once installed it looks good, but I can't give this top marks as it is just way too flimsy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Imperial, PA on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice product but not as easy to install as other products bought

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Acceptable

Crutchfield customer from Odenton, MD on 12/31/2020

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent kit. A bit flimsy; I broke off two tabs trying to assemble if for a 2009 Toyota Highlander. It fits the dash adequately, a little light shines through the seems from the back up camera/vehicle info display.

Pros: Inexpensive.

Cons: Good be more robust

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit and Easy to Install

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a product review was saved by the amazing customer service that Crutchfield provides. The look is clean and the product is very easy to work with. I would give it 5 stars had the manufacturer defects not been an issue. At the end of the day, I am very happy with my choice.

Pros: Once installed the item fits perfectly and is a great match for my vehicle. It's also very easy to install.

Cons: Due to manufacturing defects (screw holds for clips were deformed) I had to wait for 3 separate kits to get mailed. Luckily I'm not in a rush and luckily Crutchfield was amazing at sending replacements. However, if you are in a time crunch this could be an issue.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounting post was deformed, requested replacement part which had a mounting post which was even worse.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Poor quality control

Crutchfield customer from Hartville, OH on 11/26/2020

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1 of 4 mounts where the clip goes to mount to the dash was not formed. This should have been caught in the quality control phase of the blow mold inspection. The third picture shows how the mount should look. I should have checked this prior to already having the old radio out and new wiring completed.

Pros: None

Cons: One corner does not fit flush

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Caused unstable info display.

Brian from PANTEGO, TX on 11/17/2020

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everthing fit ok, but after installing, the rear camera display above the radio was unstable. It bounced around with the bumps in the road. I know I installed everything correctly. The bracket that holds that display just isn't stable enough to hold it. I had to supplement the support, which caused some other difficulties.

Pros: Pretty easy to install.

Cons: Cause information display to bounce with bumps in the road.

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2020
Brian, we're sorry you're having issues with your kit. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Gardner, KS on 10/3/2020

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't fit exactly had to cut off extra parts of the plastic more than stated I had to. Otherwise very good and looks clean and flush with the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not a bad alternative

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, NJ on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly in my Highlander, but it's a bit cumbersome to put together as the instructions are not well displayed. Plus since it's plastic you are afraid to bend it or break it. Once you get all the pieces to snap together it feels more solid. Overall very satisfied with the product.

Pros:

Cons: Not easy to put together. But once it's put together it feels more robust.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Ben from Melbourne, FL on 9/1/2020

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits in my 2010 Highlander with JBL and Navigation. Required the alternate replacement hazard switch, as other reviewers have mentioned (p/n 84010-0E050-C0). There are parts that I wish were metal or sturdier plastic, but overall, it's a good fit and works. In order for the brackets to fit properly over my double DIN receiver, I had to use the "ISO Spacers". However, this had the effect of making the bracket thicker there, and the mounting screws that came with my receiver were not long enough - I had to buy slightly longer ones. This kit also requires the re-use of the "support studs" from the factory radio. However, this kit is designed for studs that mount with two screws, and my studs instead had a screw on one side, and a peg to insert into a slot on the other. So I used a Dremel to modify the mounting bracket, removing some of the "screw hole" to make room for the peg, and cutting a slot in the side for it. Perfect now. See attached pictures.

Pros: Looks good, fits good.

Cons: Required modification to use with my factory support studs. Required additional hardware. Somewhat flimsy.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 8/21/2020

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, it works for the purposes it was purchased for, but it just looks cheap. No fault of the design of the product, it just does.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Looks cheap

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Conway, AR on 3/10/2020

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash Kit for double DIN head unit

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 3/7/2020

2011 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with product

Pros: Worked well with installation in 2011 Toyota Highlander. Good fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 2/21/2020

2011 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit went in well and looks great. 2011 Toyota Highlander.

Pros: Easy to install and looks better than the original.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Avoid if possible

Crutchfield customer from Alpine, TX on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Required extensive hogging using an X-Acto knife and files to actually fit together much less hold its own pocket and the radio. Poorly made. And I'm not just referring to excess flashing (excess plastic left over after molding); I'm referring to parts that cannot mate without shaving off plastic or enlarging a hole. I'd rather pay more to get a quality product, preferably with some metal like the factory original. To cap things off, near the end of assembly I realized a small plastic piece in the bag was actually part of one of the uprights. I was able to glue it back on and it stayed put.

Pros: none, unless you'll do anything to save a buck

Cons: see my review

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 2/16/2020

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product a that fit perfectly into my dash and the after market system as well!

Pros: Perfectly fit dash console.

Cons: Cheap plastic look.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Gregory from Hoagland, IN on 12/2/2019

2012 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as needed. Close match to current dash board

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tips

Scott from Lexington, SC on 11/9/2019

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was initially quite frustrated with this product, in fact, I broke the first one but had better luck with the second (armed with lessons from the first - thank you Crutchfield for helping with the second). The instructions are light. "Attach" means, hinge the side brackets in. If they don't fit easily, be prepared to use an x-acto or sand paper. They will snap together cleanly, but it may take some work. Don't force it or you will break the tabs. If using the box to replace the second din, the side tabs will almost certainly not catch, even with trimming. However, there is a stud that should catch at the *back* - if it doesn't, trim the opening until it does - this plus the supplied screw will make things fit together securely. While it's not metal, when you are done the result is fairly sturdy and looks pretty good. Not perfect, but blame Toyota for the funky factory stereo with the volume knob that is prone to fail.

Pros: The result

Cons: The assembly

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 8/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the interface and harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flexible in use, but too flimsy in support

Crutchfield customer from Lees Summit, MO on 7/31/2019

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to replace my factory unit in my 2009 Toyota Highlander. In comparison it is a much cheaper and more flexible in build quality. It is 100% plastic and you may be required to cut parts out of it like I had to in order to install a double DIN stereo. The factory brackets were made of metal and provided the structural rigidity of the system. However, being all plastic, it is more like the dash kit relies on the stereo itself for structural rigidity. The plastic parts didn't clip together very well like they should have and I ended up having to cut some of the plastic tabs in order to get them to fit together. That was after one of the tabs broke of course. With the number of stereos coming with USB connectivity, I would have liked to have had the USB plug connections as an option in order to tie the back of the stereo into the front of the dash. I was able to install a 3rd party USB interface after boring out a hole in the face where the volume knobs would have been on my factory unit and this "fix" works well. Lastly, the plastic definitely has a cheaper and different feel than that of the plastic dash pieces that surrounds it. In summary, this kit should be provided in two options, single or double din, and with a metal bracket. The plastic could be a better quality. A USB port to interface with the back of the stereo would be a great add.

Pros: Easy to add 3rd party USB port

Cons: Cheap plastic, easy to break, doesn't fit together well, too flimsy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Even WITH factory Nav!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, NJ on 6/11/2019

2012 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did the install in a 2012 highlander WITH factory navigation based on another review here. I also purchased a hazard switch from a local toyota dealership with the alarm light ( part number 84010-0E050-C0 ) install was really smooth and everything works fine except it didnt retain factory fader. I want to a special thanks to my advisor Brooke for all her help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 5/16/2019

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A bit flimsy but the faceplate fit well/flush in the dash. (2008 Toyota Highlander)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 4/22/2019

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just as expected!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toyota Highlander Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from North Scituate, RI on 4/5/2019

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The dash kit fit snuggly in the opening of my 2010 Toyota Highlander. It is stylish and blended well with the rest of the dashboard. The only concern was the plastic arms that held the backup camera should be reinforced as the camera shakes when going over a rough road. I highly recommend these kits.

Pros: Great fit, stylish.

Cons: Need to reinforce plastic arms holding backup camera.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice after tricky alignment

Crutchfield customer from Galesburg, IL on 3/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The finished product looks pretty good. Had a very difficult time getting the slots to line up with the screws in my head unit body to make the screen flush.

Pros: Finish appearance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 12/30/2018

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fits 2008 Highlander Limited with Navigation, but...

Crutchfield customer from Long Valley, NJ on 12/24/2018

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good fit. Both areas where the volume and tuning controls were extend about a 16th of inch beyond the dashboard. THIS DOES FIT a 2008 Highlander Limited WITH NAVIGATION. However, you need to purchase a hazard switch that will fit. My part number is 84010-0E050-C0. It has the anti-theft light. The dealer wanted $164. I found a site and got the OEM part for $114. The plastic is suitable for easy drilling which I did to custom fit the mic for the stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Jason from Jacksonville, FL on 11/29/2018

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit is awesome. It will make the install easy and make the overall appearance look amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, DE on 10/22/2018

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Completely incompatible. The factory face covering contains built-in electronic components for the hazard lights. This replacement face covering is rendered useless because it cannot accept the hazard light components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/24/2018
One of our Tech Support gurus, Daniel, reached out to this customer to let them know that the factory hazard light assembly must be removed from the factory location and inserted into the slot on the new kit. Daniel also offered to make sure that the customer provided us the correct vehicle information to confirm the compatibility of the installation gear.

0 of 1 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Anacortes, WA on 3/30/2018

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

James from Cherry Hill, NJ on 3/18/2018

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap cheap cheap light weight plastic .the unit vibrates when you hit even the smallest bump

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/20/2018
James contacted our Customer Support team and was sent another kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Potomac Falls, VA on 1/1/2018

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice, fits well, priced right. Nicely done Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes the job so much easier

Russ from Lawrence, KS on 7/10/2017

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits like a glove and looks better than the original faceplate.

Pros: Fits perfect, looks great.

Cons: None. I can only say good tings about the quality.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, NC on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Changed radios in my, new to me 2009 Toyota Highlander. Crutchfield supplied all components. The radio looks great because of the Dash Kit. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bangor, ME on 4/9/2017

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions horrible. Flimsy material.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 1/5/2017

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit for easy installation. Fit is really good too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Victor ny on 12/23/2016

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once installed it looks fine, but the way it clips together and anchors to dash is pretty cheesy -

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

Adam from Cedar Rapids, IA on 12/5/2016

2011 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great and looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit install kit!

Korey from Ellijay, GA on 12/4/2016

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The dash kit fits perfect. I was worried about how plain the kit would look without the factory knobs , and if the ears on the sides where the knobs used to be would look out of place. But it looks great . I was extremely impressed. The kit comes with the mounting brackets for the factory clock. There are guide pins when you bolt everything together so the clock fits like factory when then final cover is in place. No adjustment needed perfect fit. The only draw back is the mounting clips for back of the kit do not come with it , they have to be swapped from the back of the radio. Not a big deal just eight tiny Phillips head screws. The kit come set up for single din radio. My application was for a double din which requires cutting a center bar from the radio opening, easy modification I used my wire cutters. This kit made for a easy, perfect fit installation. Thank you Crutchfield!!!!

Pros: Great look , fits perfect,mounting brackets make for precise alignment with no guess work!!!

Cons: Clips from radio have to be swapped from factory radio. Not included with kit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

American International TOYK989 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 12/3/2016

2012 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to admit I wasn't expecting this kit to match or fit well due to the OEM Toyota design however this is a Nice kit!! Looks OEM and made for a clean install! This was my first install ever and it looks perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Scott from Pennsylvania on 6/20/2016

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent kit. It always amazed me how perfect it all looks in the end.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks good

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 12/28/2015

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good. Good fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks Great!

Jalexmohr2 from Houston, TX on 11/30/2015

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This after market dash kit looks great in my 2010 Highlander.

Pros: Great fit in the dash.

Cons: The brackets fit ok in the back but allow the right side to stick out a little. Might be my fault though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It fits...

RickH from West Virginia on 10/6/2015

2012 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit fit in my Highlander, but it's not great. Because the unit is softer plastic, there is a lot of play. The upper section that holds the display / backup camera is slightly off-center. I think I need to open the dash up and figure out some way to reinforce that part. The half-circle that covers where the knobs used to be sticks out a bit too much on one side. The frame around the stereo droops a bit in the middle. The exterior finish doesn't match the original, but looks OK overall. The installation / setup itself took a while but was pretty straight-forward. I would have gone for a slightly more expensive but better-made option if it was available.

Pros: Overall fit is good Exterior finish is good Installation was relatively simple

Cons: Softer plastic, so things don't line up perfectly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The worst dash kit I've used

DickJ from Jaffrey NH on 8/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bezel ring in the original kit did not fit in the opening at all. Crutchfield sent another kit. The slots for the mounting screws did not align with the holes in the radio and required modificaiton. After some modificaiton the bezel ring fit in the opening, but does not look like the quality of the car. In addition, the entire kit was plastic. The kit supports both the radio and the car's video display. The original supports were metal. This kit should have metal supports and the parts should bit together properly without modification.

Pros: The color matches the dash.

Cons: Required modification. The bezel in the first kit did not fit at all. The one in the second kit required modification to fit. Quality is definitely lacking.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Vehicle Specific Install Kit

J&C from Succasunna, NJ on 10/20/2014

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally satisfied with this unit. Sound, features, easy to use. The unit fit perfectly and was relatively easy to install. Using the "Vehicle Specific" kit, supplied install manual, and wire harness, I had the unit on and working in a few hours. If it sounds this good with factory speakers I cant wait until I can upgrade to better speakers. The navigation and satellite radio... GREAT. The Crutchfield team was awesome. From helping me choose the system to fit my budget and what I wanted.Their tech support is second to none if not better. They knew the product and were familure with my vehicle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Highlander non/JBL nor navi nor backup cam orginal radio

Shirley from Roswell, NM on 6/9/2013

2010 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install kit came just as pictured and for a double din unit install had to modify the kit. First, is obvious had to remove the center plastic from not one but two pieces so the double din unit will slide in. Then for whatever reason there is two tabs on the back of this unit that required their removal before the radio would fit between them. You have to reuse your hazards button which btw was very hard to push thru the opening they had left to do it in and you have to reuse the plastic tabs from your original radio and some bolts. The whole bracket is very wobbly and once in the radio is held in proper like which I was so worried about but the clock at the top of the bracket is weak. The bracket will flex when setting the time on the Toyota clock which is scary but, I guess I don't do that very often. Lastly, is the fit and finish of the install the bracket has a different texture compared to the rest of the dash and as one other reviewer noted the part of the bracket that covers the huge knob holes left from the factory one is slightly higher then the dash and no part in the kit to fix this problem. But in the end you have huge hole that the factory radio leaves behind and you'll need to fill it some how. I only wish this company would have found a way to attach this kit to the original Toyota metal bracket.

Pros: Fills the void left by the factory radio, fit and finish is decent considering how big the factory radio is, and (Black) color is nearly dead on

Cons: Wobbly, alot of extra cutting and trimming to install a double din (at least an hours worth), texture is wrong, and I wish I could have chosen a Metra install kit for this install.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER DASH KIT

MARKT from HERMITAGE, PA on 5/5/2012

2011 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice kit which looks beautiful in the dash. Color matches perfectly and texture of surface gives it a factory look. The tolerances are tight on the parts making for a somewhat difficult assembly for fear of breaking the plastic but fits together nicely once assembled. Fit in the dash is perfect with even spacing all around the edges. Very pleased with the results.

Pros: Good fit and finish.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to assemble due to tight tolerances of individual parts.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Almost ready for prime time player

JeffB from Flagstaff, AZ on 4/2/2012

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upon first review the product looks solid and well made. Cut well and ready to go right from the box. This however was the mos difficult part of the install and after 2 hours of fiddling and even then taking to a pro installer cannot get it fit flush on the right side. The bracket just sticks out from the dash by 1/5". Enough to be noticeable and without gluing it permanently in there, it will be noticeable. I would buy again to see if mine is just a fluke, but don't want to spend the money on buying it and then having to RMA it.

Pros: Well made from quality components. Color matched great with Ash Interior on base model. Great instructions, would be easy to install if it only fit correctly

Cons: Fit is mediocre to poor, making for a lot of frustration. This shouldn't be something that you should have to call tech support to install, nor take to a professional installer.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP