Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Bose® 151® SE environmental speakers

(Black)

MFR # 34103

Bose® 151® SE environmental speakers

Bose® 151® SE environmental speakers

(Black)

MFR # 34103

42 reviews
View this product

Excellent sounding speakers (w/ application limitations)

Crutchfield customer from Satsuma, FL on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound excellent when the recording quality is excellent, and at the moment I am only playing them through a 20w receiver with an internal equalizer. Highs are clear and the bass is surprisingly good for 2" speakers. Each speaker box has 3 sets of these 2" speakers. The boxes are rugged durable plastic, as is the mounting hardware. A downside is that the speakers may not be ideal in small areas. They are designed for a large outside deck where people are spread out. I liked the weather proof feature and installed them in the salon of a 30' sailboat, where they sit on a 7" deep shelf, about 6' apart between 2 bulkheads. The manual recommends a minimum of 7' between the speakers for surround sound. Also, due to the shape of the speaker some of the sound is directed along the bulkheads and gets lost. That said, a listener would not face all the speakers on a deck or patio either, and despite only having 5' distance between the speakers sound very good. There are additional mounting considerations as well. In addition to mounting the speakers 7' apart and not facing each other, the manual says the speakers should be mounted horizontally (as pictured). Positioned this way the speaker mounts pivot to adjust the up and down angle of the speakers - but not the side to side angle. Given the sound quality and durability of these speakers custom mounting may justify the extra work and expense of customized mounts.

Pros: Excellent sound quality and durability.

Cons: Not ideal for small areas and may requires extra work and $'s to mount properly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose151s

Crutchfield customer from N Barrington, IL on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased Bose151s to replace generic 15-year outdoor speakers for deck. I have them spaced about 9 ft apart and wired to a Denon AVR receiver. Mounting and set up was a breeze. Sound quality is clean and fills the open deck area nicely.

Pros: Easy mounting, style, sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Mc Lean, VA on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great and were relatively easy to mount. It would be nice if the mount or Bose label on the front of the speaker could be flipped to make mounting the left speaker in a corner easier. Overall very pleased.

Pros: Fully weather proof

Cons: Hard to mount left speaker in a corner

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had them for a week, but great Sound, easy to install ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

John from Hobe Sound, FL on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound quality speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

perfect outdoor speakers

maureen from Del Mar, CA on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love them.....amazing sound!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Meh...

JD from Waco, TX on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The vocals and the instruments and such sound good, however, NO BASS! Mounting system is pretty cheap and flimsy. Not worth the money if you ask me, and generally, I like most Bose products.

Pros: Good vocals and highs

Cons: No lows and crappy mounts

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, CT on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look good and easy to install. The sound fills nicely but is lean on low bass. Sound good at all volume levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Accokeek, MD on 6/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Anoka, MN on 5/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok for the price, was hoping for a bit more from the Bose name

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

jerry from Tucson, AZ on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great except for the cheap plastic mount

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Malvern, pa on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Sound quality excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Sonora, CA on 8/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for our out door patio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Nancy from Winona, MN on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love, love, love them! Wish I would have bought them a long time ago. Will definitely look at investing in more indoor Bose speakers.... and soon! Great quality! Great sound!

Pros: Awesome sound, easy install!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

outdoor speakers

lisa from White Plains, NY on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great set of speakers; easy to wire up and great sound.

Pros: great set of speakers; easy to wire up and great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect outdoor speakers

David from NV on 11/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers, I've owned a pair of Bose 4001 for over 20 years, they sat there and watched my buy and replace at least 10 pairs of speakers in my system over the years. I use them as rear surround, their protection circuit has kept me from accidentally blowing them. I knew the 151's would be great so I picked up a pair. Great speakers, i have them on my deck, perfect speakers for that space. Right inside the house I have a sub that provides all the bass I want by simply cracking the patio door. Love the stereo everywhere affect.

Pros: Sound quality, durability

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Freeland, WA on 8/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have another pair of these speakers on my deck for 10-15 years, and we are on a saltwater beachfront. The original speakers have worked grate with occasional cleaning. We are just adding another pair to the deck.

Pros: Great sound, very durable, easy maintanance, easy to install, and looks great! And SALTWATER resistant!

Cons: Don't try to call the company. I was on hold for 20 min, and the transfered to parts. After 25 min. on hold I gave up. I just needed 2 screws for reinstalling my old speakers. The old speakers had steel screws, new speakers have stainless steal screws.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Love the Bose

HotRod from Shelbyville, KY on 7/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have left these on the roof of my Houseboat for 9!/2 years and the still sound like new "Awesome" so I bought some for my new Deck at home. !!

Pros: It's All That

Cons: NONE !

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good speakers

MichaelS from Dawsonville, GA on 7/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bose® 151® SE environmental speakers

Tim H from McDonough, GA on 7/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to mount on my pool house. They sound awesome! I would definitely purchase these speakers again; they are well worth the money.

Pros: Crisp and clean sound

Cons: A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Rock Outdoors

Michael H from San Diego, CA on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put them on patio, sound almost as good as my indoor Bose system, could not ask for better outdoor speakers

Pros: easy mount, two ways to attach speaker wires

Cons: none that I know of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose 151

Crutchfield customer from Puerto Rico on 1/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent product and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds & Looks Great!

musicgirl from Florida on 9/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers were added to our outdoor pool, lanai and patio area. They sound fantastic in all the areas. The look is clean, not to big. Easy to install. Have been rained on & no troubles or issues.

Pros: Sounds fantastic, clean look & easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice!

BoaterFloater from Alaska on 9/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice marine quality speakers for my boat. Needed white speakers that could go horizontal or vertical. Weatherproofing was a must as these speakers rock out on my boat (inside the cabin). Easy to install and hook up - hooking up was very easy with the plastic nuts. Sound is great anywhere in the boat. Crutchfield, having never ordered from here before, was great! They sent the speakers 2-day shipping...but I live 4 days away so...had I lived closer it would have been 2-day shipping.

Pros: Easy to install and hook up. White speakers. Marine grade.

Cons: On the pricey side, but they are BOSE! Had to wait 4 days not 2 days for shipping.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from North Carolina on 8/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks good, not to big with incredible sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Little Speakers!

SkyeB from California on 6/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are easy to install and come with multi-angle locking brackets. Sound is great for just having 3ea 3" drivers. Wide dispersion covers the entire space I have with 2 speakers. Very good for the price.

Pros: Low Price, wide dispersion, full sound

Cons: Could use a little more low end, would prefer metal brackets rather than plastic

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 1/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers pretty good sound so far, wish there was a way to attach banana clips to wire that goes in back of speaker. Would make for cleaner finish and less chance of loose connection.

Pros:

Cons: can't use banana clips with speaker wire into back of speaker when wall mounted.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome speakers!!!!

Joe from New York, NY on 7/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A new addition to my Bose collection! Awesome speakers!!!! Outstanding quality, east to setup, easy install, hardware that's included is of excellent quality! The sound is amazing, no matter the volume there is zero distortion.

Pros: Everything!

Cons: Nothing at all!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing speakers

Sam from Heart of Ohio on 7/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced some older Bose with these. These sound amazing and easy to install. As always Crutchfield service was great.

Pros: Sound great! Well built. Easy install

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bose® 151® SE environmental speakers Reviews

Ronald from Coamo, PR on 4/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have high fidelity and frequency crystal size; It is amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 3/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, I have purchased a number of these and Bose never seems to disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Placement is important

Romarin from LA CA. on 12/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, yes they don't have a lot of bass but it is compensated for in the design so placement is very important. They need something behind them to magnify the low ends. Out in the middle of the yard and you won't hear an lows at all. In a corner they are best. Close in under the eaves of your house works very well to amplify the bass. Play around with them and you'll find a good spot fort them that will give you the sound you want.

Pros: Weather proof

Cons: Need to placed where they get good reflected sound.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

A little expensive but definately a high caliber speaker

Mike from Tampa, fl on 7/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound very good for all around sound. a little expensive

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lack Bass, But Still Sound Great!

94zj318 from md on 11/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these speakers for my patio. They sound pretty good connected to my 100-watt, 5-channel Sony receiver, but don't expect a whole lot of bass. I've heard the original 151's and they have a bit more bass. I mounted them horizontally, and that's the way I recommend mounting them for best sound, even though they can be mounted vertically. These speakers have withstood seven years of heat, extremely cold temperatures, and harsh weather, and still sound like they did the day I installed them. Plus, they blend in so they're barley visible, until you turn them on and turn up the volume. These are a bit expensive, but if you want top-quality sound, you'll be happy you purchased these speakers.

Pros: Great range, great treble response, great midrange response, they blend in, they sound pretty darn good

Cons: A bit lacking in bass response, compared to the original 151's

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

5 months of use, so good so far!

Seadog from OH on 9/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great. I've had them for 5 months in a covered, but outdoor space. I have high expectations that they'll last forever!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

bose 151 se

scott v from nj on 8/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a great sounding quality outdoor set of speakers!Bose is unsurpassed in sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The Old Captain

Dennis from West Islip, NY on 8/10/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product....Bose was always the best company to deal with for superior quality & durability. Worth the little bit extra. Truly stereo. My second round of speakers..First ones lasted over 25 years, outside year round. Cruchfield is a great company. Fast, efficient & price competative. Great pleasure dealing with them,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bose 151 SE environmental speakers

Tony from North Carolina on 6/22/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Bose 151 outdoor speakers are great. They really expand the area of crisp, clear music. Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Could Sound Better

Vince from Maryland on 5/7/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of these for my patio, and hooked them up to my stereo receiver. They sound great, but the bass response is not that great. The treble and mid-range response is great, however. Maybe my receiver is putting too much power to them, but they still sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Remember Your Old AM Radio?

boulderskies from Phoenix, AZ on 8/24/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not sure where the term "bass-reflex" comes from. Based on my brief experience with these speakers hanging over an outside patio, maybe the term should be "Non-bass reflex." Make no mistake, there is almost the complete absence of bass, which as anyone knows, is NOT a good thing for music played outdoors. The best analogy I can provide is if you think you would be happy with two transistor AM radios hanging over your outdoor patio, then go for it. Great looks, but no substance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

69 of 76 found this helpful

Great for Surround

Marvin from Raleigh on 7/20/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have spent a lot of money on my home theatre system, and i am just making the final buys. Two things are now missing, surround speakers, and center channel. I was lucky enough to get these babies as a GIFT. I only received a pair, so i went and ordered 2 more, because i have a 7.1 setup. These speakers are awesome for surround sound, extremely loud, clear, and i haven't heard a distortion yet. It looks nice and sleek in my home. I love the mounting brackets, it was so easy to install them onto my wall. As said in the other review, there is little if not no bass in these speakers, that is true, but a subwoofer will take care of that. 9 times out of ten all surround speakers need a sub, unless you have a standing speaker, which doesn't look elegant. These speakers are a bit pricy, for its performance, but then again its a Bose. --BOTTOM LINE--. Recommended, but not highly, i would look at other speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

30 of 35 found this helpful

Okay, but not the best

Paul from North Canton, OH on 3/31/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are sturdy and well put together, and the brackets are of good quality. However, do not expect to hear any bass. Considering that the speakers are advertised as having a "bass reflex" capability, I was very disappointed in the complete lack of low frequency response. I plan to add a sub-woofer to the system to correct this, but would have chosen different speakers if I had know of this shortcoming. It would be nice if Bose would join the rest of the industry by publishing their product's response ranges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

819 of 973 found this helpful

TOP