Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Bose® Companion® 20 multimedia speaker system

MFR # 329509-1300

Bose® Companion® 20 multimedia speaker system

Bose® Companion® 20 multimedia speaker system

MFR # 329509-1300

44 reviews
View this product

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Upperco, MD on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the computer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers

Douglas from Port Haywood, VA on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best computer speakers I have ever heard. The full range of the sound spectrum is well presented including very good bass. They are very easy to listen to and come with the best control mechanism I have seen. Don't waste you money on cheaper speakers, these will last a long time.

Pros: Sound Controls Ease of setup Volume range Reasonably compact

Cons: Nothing much

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfld Hls, MI on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to install right out of the box. The volume Control/Mute device is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with sound quality and physical looks! Replaced my older two speaker and woofer system that was connected to my laptop with Bose Companion 20. These speakers work great without a woofer. Setup was straight forward.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth It.

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a set of Bose companion speakers that I bought about 15 years ago that are still going strong and are hooked up at my office. I was looking for a computer speaker set for a new home office. I was somewhat hesitant to spend this much on a pair of computer speakers, but do not have any regrets. True to other reviews, I cannot believe how rich and full the sound is at all levels with such a small speaker. The volume puck is great - but is somewhat touchy so small movements make a big difference.

Pros: Relatively small footprint Volume Puck No hassle of a separate subwoofer

Cons: Expensive Depending on your set-up, AC cord could be longer

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ken's New Bose Speakers

Crutchfield customer from CHICAGO, IL on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are very nice and delivers a sound much nicer than my Logitech Surround sound speakers. I'll be sticking to Bose from now on. I was out cooking on my grill and had my computer out on my deck and all my neighbors thought I had a party with a DJ and they were like Wow all that sound from those small speakers those are incredible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Pawtucket, RI on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Your agent recommended these to me. They are everything he said they would be:easy setup. the right size, and great sound for classical music-opera. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Sound

Eric from CARLISLE, PA on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The clarity of these speakers is amazing. Earlier in the year, I upgraded my PC with Dragonfly Black 1.5 DAC and there was a massive difference in sound. Now, adding the Bose speakers has leveled it up even more. They bring out the detail in music - stuff I couldn't pick up on with my old speakers. Even songs I've been listening to for years seem to have come alive again. Another side benefit is that you don't have to pump up the volume to get that detail. Lower volumes are still crystal clear.

Pros: Sound quality, easy to install

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use the speakers when I install the PianoDisc Prodigy Player piano system in my customers pianos. I've tried others but found these Bose speakers affordable and good quality. Kurt Weissman Grand Purpose Piano

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Stevenson, AL on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality soun

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Giacinto from Brooklyn, NY on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Bose Companion 20s replaced a pair of Mackie CR4s which died after 4 years. After having such big monitors its nice to switch to speakers with a much smaller footprint, and the superior sound doesn't hurt! They do well with a variety of sources, including streaming internet radio/music services, iTunes, FLAC files, videos, etc. They have a very nice soundstage offer nice detail (listen carefully to Robert Plant's cover of "Morning Dew"). Bass is OK and they have good midrange and don't strain with highs (at least at my preferred volume). Overall, clean sounding and comfortable to listen to for long periods. Set up took no more than 10 minutes. The right speaker has all the vital connections, and everything is well labeled despite Bose cramming all four jacks on a line across the back. I was a little concerned about the control pod (no power switch or volume control on the speaker itself), since it adds yet another cable and accessory to the desktop. But it has nice weight to it so it's not sliding all over your work space or otherwise getting in the way. I was also a little surprised that the Companion 20s are as hefty as they are. Build quality is impressive. The silver finish seems like an odd choice but they blend into my set up nicely. I'm satisfied with them overall but they do lose a star for price. I prefer them over the Companion 2's and they do sound better than other computer speakers I've heard, but....

Pros: Sound, small footprint, build quality compared to other computer speakers I've seen. Silver/gray finish blends well with other gear. Crutchfield shipping was fast and the speakers were well packaged. Set up is fast and fairly intuitive.

Cons: Price. Not crazy about back panel design of right speaker. Control pod is easy to use but unnecessary. The speakers could easily have been designed with a single power/volume control knob on the front, cutting rear connections from 4 to 3. I also didn't think the cable from the left speaker connected quite as smoothly as the other three during set up and I checked the connection 2-3 times to make sure it was OK. Speakers are performing well but I think I'll need to monitor this for

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Claremont, CA on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, as usual!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Great Neck, NY on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy setup.

Pros: Accessible sound control.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speaker system for your PC!

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this system to complement my new HP Omen gaming pc that runs a flight simulator. Now, not only do I hear my Cessna 172 as it revs to full throttle on takeoff, but I have a new outlet for Pandora as I'm now able to hear soft but vibrant music throughout my den and kitchen. And the pod that adjusts volume and accepts headphones is weighted, articulate and stays where you place it. The system sounds great and exudes quality. A perfect example of "you get what you pay for." Thank you Bose, and thank you Crutchfield!

Pros: Vibrant sound and great quality

Cons: $$$

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Brockport, NY on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Bose speakers are nice setup for a computer.

Pros: Great little speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Guest from Titusville, FL on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'd be shocked to find out that there's better speakers in this price range. BTW thanks cody.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value for price !!!

Pros: ????

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Bose computer speakers

Mike from Cincinnati, OH on 1/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Why is Bose always the best? Answer: Because they are!

Pros: I paid a good price for a premium Bose product, and that is what I got.

Cons: There are none. I said Bose, right?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding sound, clear and well dispersed.

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 3/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I expected something from Bose to be in the top tier and was pleasantly reassured the minute I fired them up. Definitely worth the price. Equate the extra cost of these over a couple years of listening and it's a logical choice. Exceptional, clear, quality of sound. Reflective bass port on the rear so place them effectively so they can be all the Bose that they can be.

Pros: Yes they are!

Cons: None found by me

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

super sound

Chloe from Reno, NV on 3/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is truly awesome! I have to say I am thrilled. I purchased it mainly for my iPad so that it might enhance the tiny original sound and volume of the Amazing Slow Downer Mozart concerto orchestra part I am working with for my masters performance degree. Together we do fantastic things . . . Again I am thrilled and couldn't have wished for better, thank you! My slight regret is that I did not buy the more pricey smaller version which would have been easier to travel with . . . But the result I was seeking is all I could wish for.

Pros: Ease of installation, superb sound enhancement

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 8/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once again I'm impressed by the quality of a Bose product. Excellent sound reproduction that can fill a room or just be in the background.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Better than Good

Clay from Huntington, WV on 10/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, easy to setup and use. The quality of sound gives a complexity and depth to music off my computer that fills the room. I have never heard better computer speakers and they are rugged and easily portable. Well worth the price. Bose is the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Bose® Companion® 20 multimedia speaker system

T Paul from Wisconsin Rapids, WI on 10/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service, prompt delivery. The Bose system was very easy to install, 10 minutes. Great sound and love the rotary sound control. Great product for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very Nice

Chris R from Reisterstown, MD on 5/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally was looking for some speakers closer to the $100 range, but after reading a bunch of good reviews on various sites I decided to try them out. I was replacing some old JBL speakers that I thought were pretty good, but after hearing the Bose speakers, boy was I surprised by how much better these were.

Pros: great sound compact size deep bass

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great experience

Ken from Paso Robles, CA on 2/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first purchase of some truly decent computer speakers. I've been quite happy with my decision. These produce what seems to be a good range of sound--lots of detail at all frequencies, although they seem to be a bit bass heavy. Recordings with deep bass don't play very well. A fair amount of distortion with these. Utilizing a Mac requires the installation of an EQ to knock down the bass a bit to achieve good results. Plays well at high volumes and really does fill the room quite well.

Pros: Nice size, good looks, remote adjustment

Cons: Price, bass heavy and distorted

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Powerful small speaker

PhyllisB from Danbury, Ct on 1/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are fairly small in size and they sound great. I use them for my 29" flat screen tv and it works perfect for me. I don't havea lot of space so these are perfect! They not as powerful as the ones that have a subwoofer or sound bar. But if you are looking for a much better sound for your smaller tv or computer these are great!! I recommend them!

Pros: Small & Sounds very good

Cons: Not for a really large room

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Another great Bose product

jpotts from Mitchellville on 1/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can you say that has not been said, it's a Bose product. I'm on my computer looking at images and the sound is great, highs and lows are not what you expect from these small units. Play an old cd and listen to instruments you been missing, but not anymore, you will here them now.

Pros: Computer sounds are outstanding but also enhances TV sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exceptional Soung

LouG from Harrisburg, PA on 12/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional sound and easy set-up. Did it with an AirPlay express in my teenager's room. Now she has great sound from her iPad, iPhone and Mac, instantly.

Pros: Sound is great, set-up easy. Love the one-touch power and volume control.

Cons: Wonder if they could make the left to right cable a little longer?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Crutchfield customer from Tok Alaska on 7/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

loved them so much I ordered some for my ex-girlfriend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

amazing speakers

Rob W from Spokane Washington on 5/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic sound out of a seemingly small package but with some nice punch

Pros: amazing sound

Cons: short cord but liveable

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Cat's Meow

SirPur from Charlotte, NC on 2/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers. Set up was a breeze. In spite of their size, they provide very good sound for any room.

Pros: Easy set up, mute/volume control knob is very handy, good bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Room Sound / Super

Slow Hand from WINCHESTER, CT on 2/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Companion 20 Speakers were easy to connect and although intended for PC, provide excellent sound for the entire room. Very pleased with overall performance and would recommend to others.

Pros: Easy installation, distance the cables allow the speakers to be separated and volume control disc.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great desktop speakers

VickiGR from California on 1/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding desktop speakers. Set-up was easy and the sound is fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 Multimedia Speaker System

ALC from Elk City, OK on 1/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although my budget was shot to purchase the Bose Companion 20 speakers, they are well worth the price. The sound is superb, much better than previous speakers I've used. There is one complaint, pertaining to the length of the cable connecting the right speaker to the computer. It is too short and couldn't be used in my configuration. Having to purchase a new cable for a system this expensive is irritating. However, the sound alone warrants five stars and overall, I'm very pleased with the speakers.

Pros: Great sound and ideal size for desk top use.

Cons: Connecting cable too short.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

John O from Davis, CA on 11/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have excellent sound. They are well balanced with no particular frequency range over-emphasized or lacking. I listen mostly to classical music, and they provide a very natural sound. They'll play quite loudly, too. Metal fans might want a bit more bass slam, though!

Pros: Clarity, natural timbre of instruments, don't take up a lot of space.

Cons: A little expensive.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Bose Companion 20 multimedia speaker system

Gil from Garden Grove,CA on 9/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I owned 2 pairs of Companion 2 and my 18 year old still uses the original black Companion.Sounds at least twice as good but then again they cost more too.Overall it is very satisfying.I connected it to my LG blu ray player and watch Netflix movies and shows.they play loud and clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Defective out of box

Mo from Ca on 7/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Defective out of the box - the input at the rear of the speaker does not have the same definition/quality as the input at the volume knob which is much better. Bose tells me they are supposed to be better. I realize there is always defect but for a new product, Bose: a. Refused to cross ship a replacement even though I offered to prepay with a credit card as security. Other electronic companies are willing to do this so no reason why Bose would refuse. b. Require I drive to a UPS drop off which is not close to me for a new unit. I've had better service from companies that are not positioning themselves as 'premium' such as Bose. Two stars due to this.

Pros:

Cons: Defective out of box.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Fabulous addition to my Linux dual computer workstation!

Carl Helmers from Rochester New York area on 6/7/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally I have functionally replaced my long unused ancient FM equipment with a convenient way to hear the excellent WWW streaming broadcasts that are now available by just plugging the Bose Companion 20 into my computer's audio port and navigating Firefox to an appropriate bookmark! .

Pros: Wonderrful audio ambience again while writing at my workstation!!!

Cons: Only complaint: The cord that came with the Companion 20 is 12-15" short. Fix: I put the Right Speaker on top of my primary Linux computer at the left of my two computer stacked displays workstation in order to reach the left computer's output audio jack :-)> .

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sound!!!

Dave from Ogdensburg, NY on 3/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was concerned that the Bose Companion 20 Speakers may not match the sound I got from my previous system that had a powered sub-woofer. All concerns have been set aside, The sound is wonderfull !! The bass may not be as room shaking as it was from the sub but it is more than adequate. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Pros: Great sound, Looks great, Easy set-up.

Cons: The audio in cable was a little to short for my application.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful sound

Shropkat from High Point, NC on 3/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to replace my Boston Acoustics soundbar that has been giving me trouble. These speakers, connected to the headphone aux jack on my Samsung 42" LCD TV have an amazing sound, and even better than the soundbar. I love the sound! Greats lows and base. Full sound. And the TV remote automatically controls the speakers. I would recommend! You can't go wrong with these!

Pros: great sound, easy setup. Control pod makes it easy to attach you IPOD or aux device.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Super Perfect, No Really

cuznsteve from Oakland Gardens NY on 2/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really really really great sounds are coming from these . I was looking for a speaker set up without a subwoofer and this is a great example of quality sounds.I highly recomend to anyone with or without a computer , they RE ON MY mOMS LAPTOP, LIKE I SAID , QUALITY SOUNDS , PAV, ETC.Everything

Pros: everything

Cons: wired

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

bose 20 companion

sue from west jefferson, nc on 1/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

speakers appear to have a short in them, static comes out of the left speaker every so often. I payed a lot of money for them and I feel they should be perfect. Please let me know if this is common or are they deffected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/31/2012
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

Big Sound From Some Little Guys

Bob from Wheat Ridge on 12/29/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are made similar to the wave radio and if you have ever heard the wave radio, then you know how great the sound is that the wave radio can produce. The campanion 20s product sound in almost the same exact way, from crisp highs to outstanding lows...The Campanion 20s give you all the sound you need and can do it without having the need of a sub-woofer. For what you pay for them I don't think you could find any other brand that can even come close to the sound quality in the same size compact speaker system.

Pros: How small they are, and being placed behind my monitor you don't see them but you certainly can hear them. I really like having the pod that turns them on or off as well as being able to adjust the sound level. The pod also allows you to attach your headphones for private listening.

Cons: I don't think on Bose products that you can ever find anything that you wouldn't like.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Speakers

NW from Maine on 10/31/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is incredible--a new world of music. Why did I wait so long to buy them? The look is sleek and contemporary. The touch-on button and circle volume control are a great design. I highly recommend these speakers.

Pros: Great sound. Beautiful design.

Cons: No negatives to report.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

TOP