Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Clarion M508

Marine digital media receiver with Bluetooth® (does not play CDs)

MFR # 92701

Clarion M508

Clarion M508

Marine digital media receiver with Bluetooth® (does not play CDs)

MFR # 92701

34 reviews
View this product

Decent Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the receiver. Decent price. Replaced my 18 YO Clarion in my boat with this and was happy that the cutout and main power/audio plug didn't change which made installation a breeze. Took a star off because the wired remote control was not compatible and required a new complete cable rerun and a remote control that was almost the cost of the radio. I was able to find an simple adapter online I took a chance on that worked fine. Would have been nice if Crutchfield offered this. I was able to connect it to the new Amazon Echo Auto through bluetooth. No more fumbling with the phone to stream music. Mounted below decks, the FM reception was better than my old one but not great. I ran an longer antenna above and it works a lot better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Apple Valley, MN on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The M508 is awesome! easy to work and sounds amazing!

Pros: bluetooth

Cons: can't control volume from your phone when using bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 9/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install. Looks great, adds a ton of features to my old boat. Cant wait to turn on the XM subscription and jam on the lake!

Pros: Simple intuitive layout. No face-plate to fall off or lose

Cons: No remote is included, no wiring diagrams included.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Cle Elum, WA on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head that is easy to program and adjust

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Fleming Isle, FL on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio and easy to install. Comes with many options. The display is excellent.

Pros: Simple appearance not flashy. Clear sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 8/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using Clarion marine radios for the pass 20 years, I like the flexibility of the features, like multiple pre amp outputs and and front mounted USB on some models like the M508.

Pros: Multiple preamp outputs Front mounted USB and Aux ports

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded my unit in my Searay. Installed it myself. Great product. Love the new technology. Highly recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy a Sony

Crutchfield customer from Kasson, MN on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound was awesome but it did not stand up to the rain at all. Even with a rain cover on it, it failed

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Doesn't stand up to the weather

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Easy to install and use. Replaced a 10 year old clarion radio, quite an upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit. Nice power and clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Arden, NC on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Easy to install and operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good buy for the money. The sound is good Bluetooth connection is very clear. Mine is mounted inside the cabin of my cruiser. When I'm topside, I only get about 10' of range on the Bluetooth. The signal has to travel through a cabinet and the exterior wall of the cabin. If the unit was mounted topside with no instructions, I'm guessing the range would be better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Lilburn, GA on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Good to see Clarion back with a product line that hold the quality the name held for so many years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Burnsville, MN on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Feature packed radio installed and performed exactly as stated when I purchased this unit from you. I've had a great experience with everyone I've talked to at Crutchfield, very well done

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Lenexa, KS on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, easy operation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

boat

Crutchfield customer from Waukegan, IL on 7/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great great support

Pros: all

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No zone control

Robert from Craig, CO on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Says it has zone control does not have zone control requires other knobs to make it zone control misleading by clarion!!Not an issue with Crutchfield they worked with me on it and we figured out that it requires additional parts to operate as zone control.

Pros:

Cons: Will not even operate the volume from your preouts only the solid speaker wore coming out the back

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Ridgeway, SC on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the head unit on my boat. This unit works well and plugged directly into the harness on the boat. I did have to use an adapter cable for the remotes to work

Pros: Has Bluetooth and usb for the iPod along with three sets of rca outs so I can ad an amp easily

Cons: New connections for the remotes and Sirius require different cable ends that are very hard to find

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Grey Eagle, MN on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The services from Crutchield were awesome. I was not as impressed with the product which is not their fault. No manuals or instruction in the box. Yes I can look them all up online- but that is just more of my time to mess around to find the info.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is the head unit you are looking for.

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and well designed head unit. We like it so much we ordered two of them. This one was exchanged for another highly rated head. It sounds so nice we might not even need to install the sub we ordered. The RF remote is the icing on the cake. The range is wonderful.

Pros: Easy to use RF or wired remote Sounds great with plenty of power.

Cons: C

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read up on the 2 zone control!!!!!

Peter from Raleigh on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clarion and Fusion are currently the ONLY 2 brands that truly make a MARINE rated head unit that will not internally corrode out with normal use and care even in fresh water. I went with this unit due to the # of outputs and a direct USB plug in on the faceplate. The audio output from this unit is fantastic, bluetooth works like a champ and it is a very good radio. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars and what you need to be aware of if you fall into the same situation is that this is clearly labeled/advertised and spec'd as a "2 zone operation" radio...... yes it has a designated zone 2 output with ONE rca preout but there is NO details in the specification/owners manual or menu's of the radio for this feature. You HAVE to get a SEPERATE volume control knob such as the roswell dual zone volume control knob to control zone 2 volume, the preout is at full volume and CANNOT be controlled by the head unit, I am running wake tower speakers so I needed this and was why I bought this head unit, if I had known this I would have gone with a Fusion radio with this built in. Otherwise it's a great radio and has all features that you need on a boat. Clarion and JL audio are merging in marine audio is where this lapse in technical specification and clarity is coming from.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Clarkston, MI on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit... worked perfectly for my boat. Used wired remote to drivers dashboard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

M508

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clarion M508 has to be one of the most bomb proof head units available. Easily the quickest Bluetooth connection. Clarion / JL should bring back the MW2 into production. That small remote is well needed.

Pros: works like it should

Cons: not exactly splash proof but, does do well on exposed freshwater boats that are covered or dry kept while not in use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MidMO Boater

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson City, MO on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio sounds good, has a clean layout, buttons are easily accessible, and has a rotary volume knob instead of push-buttons. There is also an optional wired and wireless remote available.

Pros: Great sound Easy install Lots of pre-amp outputs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Derrick from Washington, DC on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver! It is a very elegant product. I like how it blends in. It does everything that a modern stereo should (Bluetooth, SiriusXM, FM, Pandora, Aux in, USB) but it is not flashy. It will even connect to the NMEA 2000 network and has an option for iOS app based remote. The installation instructions were easy enough to follow and it has been performing very well for the last month. I use the built in amp for the cabin speakers (JL Audio6.5 in) and the pre-amp outputs for the fly bridge speakers and a sub.

Pros: Simple and elegant looks, pre-amp and amp speaker output, supports pretty much every music source available

Cons: The screen is simple and small so it might be difficult to read text (but why do I need to read the screen when I'm streaming from my phone?)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Satellite Beach, FL on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Easy to use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Nice and simple

Crutchfield customer from Alpine, UT on 8/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was a BREEZE!! (although previous deck was also an older Clarion). Connected to speakers, remotes, amp with little trouble. Easy to use, clear display. Not the least expensive one out there but after a month, no complaints, probs or difficulties.

Pros: Simple to operate, connectivity was great.

Cons: A little expensive.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Scott from Skaneateles, ny on 7/17/2018

2011 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was a breeze and the unit sounds great. Bluetooth range is awesome...I walked 40 ft away in my driveway and it didn't drop. Very happy so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, MA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad. The settings and controls are confusing. Cannot use my andriod phone via USB, but Apple works. Inuse Bluetooth. Does not come with an xmradio antenna. Overall good purchase.

Pros: Easy swap from my old Clarion. They still use the same harness plug.

Cons: No usb with andriod. Menu clunky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Simple to use

Pete from Wichita, KS on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, just spliced the wires to the matching colors since I didn't have an adapter. This device is simply to use and easy controls to follow. It connects directly to Pandora so I can rate the song from the device. The menu is very clear and easy to navigate through. The mute is the volume button, which is awesome! The Bluetooth is the easiest I have seen for a head unit and it displays what is connected so you are not trying to figure out who's device it is.

Pros: Mute button is the volume knob, easy to connect Bluetooth and displays what is connected

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great stereo for boating

Laura from Bay Village, OH on 6/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for a reasonable price. I had the m303 on my other boat. I purchased this one as an upgrade to my new boat. Easy to use and comparable with my iPod.

Pros: Easy to use. Bluetooth.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect for everyday

Brandon from Burlington, NC on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Money well spent

Pros: Don't have to use aux cord for music but you can if need be

Cons: You must buy a microphone for you to be able to talk on the phone and hear it from speakers so it kinda forces you to talk on speakerphone

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M508

Crutchfield customer from Sw Ranches, FL on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

TOP