Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Clarion M608

Multi-zone marine digital media receiver with Bluetooth® (does not play CDs)

MFR # 92700

Clarion M608

Clarion M608

Multi-zone marine digital media receiver with Bluetooth® (does not play CDs)

MFR # 92700

50 reviews
View this product

Clarion - Don't do it.

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchases this Model Clarion to upgrade my boat with Blue Tooth. I was warned by several friends to not purchase the Clarion as they had experienced many issues with the software. Purchased anyway do to the fact I did not want to cut new holes to accomidate another brand. Anyway it is in. Blue tooth connectivity happens on the stereos terms. Volume is problematic. Wish inwoukd have listened.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Grat sound and value

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an older model CMD4A Clarion unit with the M608. The unit fit perfectily and the wiring harness matched as well. It sounds great and has bluetooth capability which my old unit did not.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Christiansted, VI on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good solid built deck for a boatload

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replaced original CMD4

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded the original stereo in my Sea Ray to this unit. The M608 has built in bluetooth, Pandora, and individual zone controls. I really like that I have a remote on the helm and programmed it to only control the volume in the cockpit. In the cabin, the volume is controlled by a seperate volume control. I can turn up the volume out in the cockpit and not blast anyone inside the cabin. The M608 fit the original hole perfectly. I didn't have to cut or drill any additional mounting holes. The wiring harness for power from the CMD4 plugged into the M608. I plugged the preamp wires into the amps, put the mounting screws in, installed the trim piece and I was listening to music. Set up was easy, but I did have to use the manual. It took me about 30 min to program my favorites, set up the EQ, and get the zone control set up.

Pros: Bluetooth operation, Pandora, Weather bands, fits perfectly in stereo location

Cons: Operation not very intuitive- use the manual for set up

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, NH on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clarion M608 combined with new speakers sounds great and we love the Bluetooth feature. I am very glad and pleased I did the upgrade. I bought the Clarion unit to replace an old Clarion model in my 2004 Four Winns boat. I specifically bought it to make the change easier based on reading reviews. The M608 is pricey, but I figured it was worth it for an easy install. The actual remove and install was very easy and quick. However I did encounter two issues. The faceplate of the M608 unit was smaller than the old Clarion model. The 4 original screw holes were visible and the cut out hole was not completely covered. In addition the wired remote controls for the existing is a 6-pin connector and the new model is 8-pin. I was able to fix the faceplate issue by buying an adapter plate for $10. So far I have not fixed the 6-pin to 8-pin issue. If I do find an adapter, I am not convinced on the functionality. I can replace the wired remote with a new model, but the cost is over $200. I did consult with Crutchfield on these 2 issues, but did not get a good response. I tried following up but didn't get any response so I did my own research. It was a surprise given what's on their website and the reviews.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio from Clarion!

michael from stillwater on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my boat. The sound is great. Easy to setup and use....very easy. Two things I am still figuring out: 1) How to fade front to back and left to right 2) how to turn off beeps when changing the volume level.

Pros: Sound quality, ease of use.

Cons: Can't find fade/balance menu, need to turn off volume beeps.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Replacement for older Clarion

Andrew from CONWAY, AR on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2014 Chaparral that came with a Clarion CMD7 head unit and 2 Clarion MW3 remotes. The wiring harness was the same so unplugged the old and plugged the new M608 right in.Worked great. This unit uses fewer mounting holes, but the holes needed for this unit matched holes for existing and overall face is the same size so it will fit into a recessed position if needed. Remotes work better on this unit than CMD7. You can control boat and tower speaker levels separately and also control sub volume independently no matter which configuration you run the head unit in- single, tower, or multi zone- with a dedicated button on the front of unit. In tower mode, you can keep speaker levels the same, or set them to be independent. You turn volume knob then use left or right button to select tower or zone 1 and then turn volume knob again to increase or decrease volume. I have all zones wired into an 8 channel amp in tower configuration. You can adjust zones the same as the head unit on the remotes as well to make things even easier. The SXV300 works great with this unit also. Audiovox Terk Sirmarine works as a marine antenna with the SXV300 better for me than the magnetic mount included in the SXV300.

Pros: Fit same space as older Clarion unit Uses same wiring harness as older Clarion units Works with older Clarion remotes Configurable

Cons: Manual doesn't do a great job explaining how to use the tower/multi zone features

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Portland, CT on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Stereo, super easy install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose this unit mainly because it installs exactly the same way as our old Clarion unit. It is more powerful than the old unit and the Bluetooth works wonderfully all around our vessel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Condensation in display- no good

paul from EAST HAMPTON, CT on 8/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works well but less than 6 weeks and condensation in display. Boat stays covered when not in use. Very disappointed

Pros: Works well- clear in Bluetooth

Cons: Condensation in display after 6 weeks

Crutchfield response on 8/10/2020
Paul, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Centerville, UT on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Clarion M608 was a slick replacement for a D-5 mode. The wire harness was compatible therefore it tool approximately 30 min for the install. I bought an adapter for my wired remote to go from the 6 pin to the new 8 pin wire and it worked great. I enjoy having Bluetooth which was the main reason for the upgrade.

Pros: Easy install, great sound, looks good.

Cons: a little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great marine radio option

Crutchfield customer from Lago Vista, TX on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio was a replacement for an older Clarion CMD-7 which was not working well. The installation was very easy because the dashboard cut out was exactly the same, and the wiring was all the same. The switch out of radios took about 15 minutes. The performance is very good; seems to be much more powerful than the CMD-7

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Replacement for CMD4A

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old CMD4A was still working fine but didn't have Bluetooth and wouldn't charge my iPhone. This unit fits the opening exactly and most connections unplugged from old CMD4A to M608. Had to buy adapter online to make remotes work because Crutchfield doesn't sell but works perfectly. Old Clarion CeNet that allowed Sirius to work won't connect so you have to buy an optional Sirius module but since I have Sirius in my Jeep I can Bluetooth it from my Phone & save the module & subscription cost. Since it's plug & play, you don't need extensive skills to install!

Pros: Easy install, nearly exact replacement, very close to plug & play

Cons: Clarion CeNet module won't connect, you have to buy a separate Sirius module, & you have to find/buy a 6 pin/8 pin adapter for wired remotes to work (but they work perfect with the adapter)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always, quick response to any issues, including technical. First class retailer! look no further.

Pros: excellent Retailer!

Cons: 0

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Basking Ridge, NJ on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expensive, but convenient swap out of older Clarion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2 thumbs up!

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Park, TX on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with product. Easy installation and use. Works well with Bluetooth technology and with other features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy

Crutchfield customer from Fort Rucker, AL on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from my previous Clarion. Easy to install. Fit perfect in the single Din cutout and required no further cutting. Intuitive layout and easy to work through the features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from De Pere, WI on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for the CMD6 Perfect dash fit and the power harness was identical for plug and play. The speaker wiring was slightly different but well labeled. Way more modern functions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good head unit that is built on years of experience but it may be time for Clarion to moe the model into the 21st century. The controls are limited and a bit awkward. There is no button for connecting a Bluetooth device, it is just supposed to happen. Maybe that works for some devices, but not all. Setting levels between fade and tower takes a while, so no on-the-fly lowering the tower speaker volume when driving through am channel or something like that. It probably deserves 4 stars, I'd just hoped for more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit...just one issue

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, RI on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Only complaint is that I can't seem to be able to adjust the screen brightness. On the boat at night it's a bit much.

Pros: Sound, connections, large screen

Cons: No screen brightness adjustment

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like the Bluetooth feature. Hooks up to our families phones very easy. Setup was easy. Plug and play. Not a cheap but worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced Clarion MXD3marine cd changer with M608. Plug for power and amp were exact fit replacements. Out puts were clearly marked. Antenna didnt work, still troubleshooting. Easy first timer install.

Pros: Clean look and easy functionality, lots of power

Cons: Price of marine spec.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5 stars

Crutchfield customer from Germantown, TN on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it Connected the same as my old clarion radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Luthvle Timon, MD on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great with lots of features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install and operate. We had an 17 year old Clarion marine radio. All of the hook ups connected perfectly with the exception of the wired remote. We opted for the wireless remote that works great.

Pros: easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Broken Arrow, OK on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, (replacement for a pioneer). The pioneer couldn't Blue Tooth. Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion marine upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit used it to replace an older CLARION model with all the updated features. Very nice deal on the buttons very nice deal on the button

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from La Quinta, CA on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for manufacturer original Clarion unit. Wish the remote cable was the same as the old one so wouldn't have to rerun...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Erie, MI on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got rid of the Clarion CMD4 and this fit perfect. Bluetooth works great from a pretty good distance. Very happy with this purchase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Ankeny, IA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product with easy install. Easily replaced 2004 Clarion stereo!

Pros: Great sound, easy install, and many sound settings.

Cons: Current model does not support the older Clarion cenet connection for Sirius XM.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Cockeysville, MD on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good System

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Newtown, PA on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great replacement radio

Crutchfield customer from Riverhead, NY on 7/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. This was a direct plug and play for my 2012 clarion cmd6. The old harness plugged right in as dis the wired remote. This unit saved me hours of running wires

Pros: Direct plug and play for older clarion models

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a Clarion CMD7 with this unit and was very easy. So far, I like the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2004 Mastercraft

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked this stereo to replace my the original Clarion stereo in my 2004 Mastercraft. It fit perfectly and I didn't even have to change out the wiring harness. You do have to get a wired remote adaptor cord that translations from 6 pin to 8 pin. Sold at discountcarstereo.com. You have to drill new holes for mounting.

Pros: Looks and sounds great! Could use original wiring harness.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Lake Lure, NC on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from St John, VI on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It the best set I have ever heard on a boat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, CT on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replace an older 2006 Clarion with this M608. Easily replaces and hook up. Great unit.

Pros: Fit in old space perfectly. Hook up was easy.

Cons: Wired remote (2006) was not compatible. Used the MF 1 Wireless and works great

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy to install. Fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, NJ on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Tega Cay, SC on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent deck! I was able to install into my 2006 Mastercraft X2 boat. Previous deck was a Clarion CMD 4 and old harness had same exact pin configuration...plug and play. I was even able to find a harness from Discount Car Stereo to plug my older Clarion CMCR1 wired remotes into. Didn't have to remove them..they still worked great.

Pros: Great sound, Bluetooth works amazing.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Works great with 280/4 jl amp and jl speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bring on the Ports

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing product upgrade to older clarion marine unit. The number external ports for zone speakers is very much appreciated. Look forward to adjusting each zone. I have the unit hooked to tower speakers, internal boat speakers and a subwoofer all through the provided RCA ports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Allen from Blackshear, GA on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great marine radio and fast shipping ...

Pros: Easy install , has all the latest features ...

Cons: Wish Clarion had a unit with all these features and also cd...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Does not support playlists for new iOS devices ...

Rick from Liberty Lake, WA on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No playlist support for my Iphone 7 through USB connection. Clarion confirmed that this was the case and has no plans to support playlists. Makes controlling music via hardwired remote from the drivers seat pretty much impossible. Plug and play installation if you're replacing an older Clarion unit. Scrolling song information on the hardwired remotes is a nice upgrade. I'm still scratching my head at Clarion's response to not supporting playlists for newer iOS devices ...

Pros: Multi Zone Scrolling text on hard wired remotes

Cons: No playlist support for newer iOS devices with no plans to update according to the manufacturer

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Welaka, FL on 8/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was to replace an older CMD6 that had stopped working. So far it seems to be a good comparable replacement as far as being able to maintain ability to fade front to rear as the CMD6 did and sound quality, although the M608 does take more effort to set up and adjust the audio settings, more steps. I tried the CMD8 but it does not have fading capability and only has one AUX input vs 2 on the 608 if that is a concern. Hopefully it will last as long as the CMD6 it replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarion M608

chris from Mount Ida, AR on 7/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on customer's party barge along with 4, 6 1/2" speakers, 10" woofer and 5 channel amp. All Clairon!! We"ve put in quite a few systems in over 20 years from 100' houseboats, wakeboard boats and everyone who heard this system, has been impressed,with the way it JAMS!! Sure we"ll be putting in another soon!!

Pros: Ease of install

Cons: Directions need to have more on how to navigate around in the menus

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install, great Sounds

Ron from La Verne, CA on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, replaced my older CMD5 unit. The Bluetooth is amazing and the I pod connection is flawless with the MW3 remotes.

Pros: Easy install, Selection of wired remotes to fit your aplication

Cons: Haven't found any Cons as of yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clarion M608

Crutchfield customer from Waterbury, CT on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install , well made, the sound is clean. It has built in equalizer settings instead of separate adjustments. Kind of a down side but not a deal breaker for me. The iPod and pandora controls seem to work well. Only had it in my boat for a couple days so time will tell

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP