Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

AudioSource AD1002

Stereo dual-source power amplifier

MFR # AD1002

AudioSource AD1002

AudioSource AD1002

Stereo dual-source power amplifier

MFR # AD1002

11 reviews
View this product

Second Zone amplifier with autoswitching inputs

Crutchfield customer from Woodland Park, CO on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this amp to drive a second zone for my kitchen speakers. I have a Bluesound Node 2i connected to the main inputs and the Zone 2 output from my NAD T758 receiver connected to the secondary "auto sensing" inputs. I use the Zone 2 output from the NAD to feed TV audio or podcast audio from an Apple TV. Using this amp I no longer need to power up the NAD receiver to play music from the Node 2i and if I want to listen to TV program audio the input automatically senses the audio and switches to the secondary input. I only use the TV audio option rarely, my primary emphasis was playing music via BluOS since the NAD receiver does not output BluOS music via the zone 2 analog audio output. And the NAD app doesn't provide any Zone 2 control at all so it's a pain just turning on the zone and selecting an input. This little problem solver does the trick. My only negative with this amp and one star deduction is the loop output only provides the audio from the main input (Node 2i) the TV program audio on the secondary input is not available via the loop output. Not a big deal in my particular application but it seems this would be an easy option to provide via a rear panel switch. One added positive to this amp for my application was the included rack ears. The rubber feet on the bottom need to be removed but the amplifier fits into a single rack space (1.75") and since it's Class D it runs nice and cool in my AV rack. Given the price point it's an effective solution.

Pros: rack ears included runs cool and quiet auto switching inputs feature works well volume and balance control easier to use than dual channel gain controls inexpensive

Cons: loop output only follows main input source

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioSource AD1002

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed product that did just what I needed.

Pros: Slim case.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not suitable for HT use

Crutchfield customer from Edison, NJ on 2/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not suitable for home theater use. I tried this amp in bridged mode for my center channel Klipsch RP450C. The sound quality was so colored and muddied. Using the rear trims for trebble/bass I was able to tweak it a little but still not what you would expect for home theater. This might be suitable a simple use case like powering a second zone with low end speakers. Build quality looks OK. Wont recommend for HT use. I returned this in favor of another brand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Recommended 2-Channel Amp

Joseph Grant from Columbia, SC on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has really grown on me since I first bought it. I'm using it as a dedicated amplifier and not as a 2nd zone. My set up is this: Sony DVP-NS575P (CD/DVD Player) > Audiosource AD1002 (Amp) > Cerwin Vega SL-8 (Speakers). Cd Player and Amp plugged directly into wall and left on 24/7. Crutchfield Reference 3-ft RCA cables connecting the CD player and Amp. Music: Anything from Grateful Dead to Tchaikovsky to Willie Nelson and 80's Pop. The Audiosource AD1002 does not have a preamp stage and the volume knob is just a passive potentiometer. So, the AD1002 is just amplifying the signal from the CD player with no processing or gain etc. Long story short, it sounds great & I love it. Frequency response is absolutely dead flat, and the sound is neither forward or veiled. Sound is open and big. Lastly, it's by far the least-fatiguing piece of audio gear I've ever owned, and I can listen to it for hours without annoyance. I'll be buying another soon for another room, and possibly a 3rd as a backup because eventually Audiosource will either quit making it or change it just like all companies do. Disclaimer - this amp does not have grunt or pizazz or sparkle etc. and it probably won't make your friends go crazy over it, but it produces music faithfully, and IMO can put out the full 50 watts per channel that it claims to. Anyways - recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

AudioSource AD1002

Crutchfield customer from Bellflower, CA on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound love the rack mount option only con bass treble in back

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works like a charm

Joe from Germantown, MD on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did exactly what it was supposed to! Dallas suggested this to add a 3rd zone option and it worked perfectly. Thanks!

Pros: Does what its intended for. Added a third zone without having to spend $1000+ for a new receiver.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

AudioSource AD1002

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

driving two sets of speakers in the basement. Simple and nothing more or less than I needed. Great tech advice to help me pick it out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioSource AD1002

Crutchfield customer from Algonquin, IL on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp fits the bill perfectly for my outside speakers. It has plenty of power too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

AudioSource AD1002

Kev from Salt Lake City, UT on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Now I bought four of these amplifiers and are running one speaker on each amplifier bridged mode so far I've been pretty happy it sounds awesome but on the small end . all 4 amplifiers start to warm up you will get a small hump at high volume on mute. But not noticeable when you are listening to music or watching movies in theater mode .now I've only had them for a short time . so far pretty happy will return to do another review in the future. I'll let you know if I still continue to be happy

Pros: If you've got two large front speakers and two large rear speakers and still have your full surround sound and you hook your surround sound to your stereo and run amps off the stereo into your 4 main speakers this made it so I did not need to run a sub all four large speakers go low enough in hertz that you do not need to run the sub this is on the basis that you have 4 large speakers and definitely a lot of power for little money

Cons: Once again I was mentioning the small hung that you get when the amps warm up at a higher volume on mute. that's when you will hear this hump otherwise listening to music or theater mode you will not notice it. Especially at low volume two medium volume you will not hear it three quarter volume you will start to hear the hum but now I preset the amps volume at one setting and the main volume on my stereo receiver interface controls the main volume. Remember you will only hear this on mute

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioSource AD1002

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was the perfect choice for me. I was using a very "warm" amp in a cabinet to drive music from Alexa and wanted the amp to shut down when Alexa was quiet. I used a smart plug but my old amp powered up in "standby", not "on". The AD1002 is a perfect solution (almost). It shuts down when Alexa is silent and automatically comes on when Alexa wants to talk or play music. Why "almost" perfect? When the AD1002 powers up from standby, there is a slight delay and Alexa loses a couple of her words while waking up the AD1002, but hardly noticeable. Another huge plus is how cool The AD1002 runs, even when working. This unit has plenty of power and a great sound for driving my ceiling speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Bang for the Bucks

John from New Port Richey, FL on 10/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap power, pretty clean for digital, Bass n Treble adjust on back nice feature since I can't use my Yamaha R-S700 tone adjustments in a Zone 2 setup. Two amps Bridged Mono 160 WattsGood Bang for the driving an inexpensive pair of BIC RtR Eviction 15 speakers in living room and Bose enviromental at pool side. Would've gave a 5 if Bass n Treble was on front panel. Great setup with power for parties, but I favor my Jolida tube, PAS 3 and Klipsh referance in Den when not having parties.

Pros: inexpensive, Great power, Bass n Treble feature very useful.

Cons: Really none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

TOP