Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
788 598 841 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
788 598 841 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha A-S1100

Stereo integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # A-S1100BL

Yamaha A-S1100

Yamaha A-S1100

Stereo integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # A-S1100BL

10 reviews
View this product

Amazing integrated receiver

Isaac from Ontario, Canada on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My lovely wife bought me this amazing unit recently in black. By far the best I have ever owned or have the pleasure playing with. I have used Hitachi, AKAI, Rotel, Sony, JVC, Marantz, Harmon Kardon older Yamaha receivers but this integrated receiver takes music to a whole new level. The build is solid, classy yet simple and sounds amazing using Klipsch RF82 II Bi-wired (for now). If you are in the market for a high end receiver and love listening to music from most genres on a higher quality level, dollar to quality is probably best with this Yamaha A-S1100. I personally am very pleased with this unit and with my wife.

Pros: Sounds amazing, clean and clear like front row live. Classy look with analog meters At 2K Cdn price was fair for quality build and sound.

Cons: No volume indicator. No loudness option (just my opinion).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S1100

Crutchfield customer from Milford, OH on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my purchase. First of all, this integrated amplifier is very well built. The amplifier section produces a very natural full analog sound, which I love. The aesthetics of the unit are great, showing a very high quality look. In addition to the typical component inputs, the Yamaha A-S1100 offers the ability to hook up an outboard preamplifier, as well as another amplifier. I like the fact that Yamaha gives the audio enthusiast plenty of flexibility to build around this integrated amplifier. The pricing is won't break the bank!

Pros: Input and output flexibility to build a large system around this unit.

Cons: Very heavy. Could be a problem for a small person to move this unit around. Make sure you have a solid piece of furniture for the baby to sit on!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome unit

Wes from Wexford, PA on 2/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't hesitate and buy. I had been searching for a while and I am not sure you can get a better unit in this price range. I upgraded from my vintage Sansui AU-717 and this A-S1100 is fantastic. When I took it out of the box I was amazed at the design of the front of the unit, but when I turned it around I was even more amazed at the build quality. Very solid unit that is powering Monitor Audio Silver 300 speakers. Super crisp sound - tight highs and lows, but I am more impressed with the mid-range this combination produces. (Sources- bluesound Node 2i (Tidal HiFi), Marantz 5004 CD, Technics 1200)

Pros: Build Quality Looks SOUND (Crisp, direct, sharp) Meters

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S1100

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 2/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. Excellent sound. It replaced a 40 year old Yamaha CA2010. I had to stick with Yamaha quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing amp

John from Las Vegas, NV on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good amplifier; a very big step up from the s501, etc. Much fuller and more room filling sound. Fine details in the music are easily heard. Money well spent.

Pros: Sound improvement.

Cons: Weight

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

A superb integrated amp!

John from Brookline, MA on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the best integrated amps I've ever heard, and I've heard and owned many. Clean, transparent, distortion-free and highly detailed sound is what this unit delivers across the whole audible frequency range. Lots of headroom - 90 watts into 8 ohms may not seem like much these days, but those are 90 CLEAN watts, especially when delivered to efficient speakers. ( I use Klipsch Heresy III's.) I haven't even needed to turn the volume past about 1/3 to fill my listening room with powerful sound. I listen to all types of music, but especially classical, which is the most challenging type of music for an audio system. The built-in phono preamp - often a weak spot in an amp - is excellent, with switchable MM/MC response. Not much more I can say - it's a great amp, built like a tank (57 pounds!) and well... you get what you pay for.

Pros: Clean, transparent, distortion-free and highly detailed sound across the whole audible frequency range. Lots of headroom, lots of power.

Cons: It damned expensive, I must say. But I'm glad I spent some extra bucks on this component.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Live, Rich, Energetic, and Detailed

Craig from North Bend, OR on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent integrated amp. I've only had it a week+ and have just gotten it broken in (100+ hours). Sonic signature is neutral with plenty of detail, but I quickly found that it needs to be connected to other good components to bring out its best-- and that includes interconnects as well as CD player w/DAC or transport and DAC. My system is a hodge-podge of "good stuff" and this amp fits right in and my stereo system now produces some of the finest music I have heard in my listening room. And as others have noted,it's "drop dead gorgeous" to look at. This will likely be my last amp and I plan to enjoy it to the end. I also really like the direct manual controls and "only the necessary inputs/outputs "on back as I'm not into anything but CDs for source material. Its sound is excellent on a broad variety of music from original rock if the recording is decent(1950's) to recent and ethereal New Age-y stuff-- also country, and it excels with my blues collection:-) I don't like complicated remotes either, but really would like a Balance control on this remote. This integrated is as good as my old Stereophile Class A and B components ever were. All above In My Humble Opinion!

Pros: Live, rich, energetic and detailed. Really useful manual controls as well as inputs and outputs. Beautiful appearance. 60 Day return Policy by Crutchfield was an important decision factor.

Cons: Very few, and none very serious. Heavy and big I'd like balance control on the remote too.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Ended my Amp Quest

Guest from Kansas on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This integrated amp ended my search following auditions with Parasound, Rogue Audio, Sony, and others. Where this amp really shines is in its silent noise floor, channel separation, and bass extension. It made me realize that some other amps literally cut off the lowest bass octaves. In addition, it produces the most accurate piano tones I've heard from stereo playback. If I close my eyes, I can almost convince myself that a piano is in the room. Other amps make piano recordings sound as though there's a curtain between you and the instrument. There's no detectable transistor distortion either. Don't worry about its class AB topology. These are every bit as smooth as any class A amp.

Pros: Bass extension Clarity No detectable distortion Great channel separation Realistic piano tone

Cons: No LED on the volume knob It's Pre-In and Main-out design does not allow insertion of a high pass filter. In other words, it doesn't allow use of the high-pass filters that subwoofers often have for relieving the main speakers of low octave duties. Phono preamp is decent but not great

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Outstanding integrated amplifier!

Kirk from Jenkins Township,PA on 4/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in love with this amplifier. I have a quadraphonic set-up and this is powering a pair of Klipsch Heresy speakers in the rear and a pair of KG 5.2 towers in the front. I upgraded to this amplifier as my old one was beginning to fail after being hammered by me at what my wife terms ridiculously LOUD levels. This amp drives all 4 speakers with plenty of power to spare. The most impressive part to me is how clean the sound is at every volume setting I've used. I generally never go over an estimated 80% of what the amplifier is capable of producing. I have zero audible distortion from the lowest level through the point that pictures are falling off of the walls throughout my house. This amplifier is the perfect unit for the few of us audiophiles remaining in a world of surround sound. There is no unnecessary, wasted space to drag the sound quality down. The icing on the cake is that watt for watt, the quality and price of the A-S1100 is unmatched. Installation is essentially exactly as one would remember setting a stereo up before surround sound units became the rage. I also love the appearance of this unit as it "LOOKS" like a real amplifier...in other words, the appearance is akin to the high end audio systems I remember from when I was a kid. I spent 14 months researching and listening to every amplifier & integrated amplifier I could locate within 150-200 miles of where I live and in the end I could have bought this unit at the very beginning of my sea

Pros: Clean sound, loads of usable power, appearance is excellent, Yamaha quality, best bang for the buck I found by far.

Cons: None for those who want a real clean, powerful stereo amplifier.

Crutchfield response on

28 of 29 found this helpful

Great Amp!!!

Michael from Chicago, IL on 1/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect amp for 2 channel music listening. Lots of clean power and it is also really cool looking with VU meters. I have large, audiophile-category floor standing speakers and records/vinyl sounds amazing. CD's as well. Great for movies. Note that if you have a modern TV with only the optical output or computer media, you'll need a DAC.

Pros: Lots of clean power High quality Phono and headphone inputs built in Great looking VU meters and classic styling

Cons: No digital inputs Big and heavy (if that's an issue for you)

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP