Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
085 941 822 4
Connect ID #
085 941 822 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha A-S1200

Integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # A-S1200BL

Yamaha A-S1200

Yamaha A-S1200

Integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # A-S1200BL

12 reviews
View this product

Sterling

Jo from Cedar Park, TX on 1/26/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sensible unit provides an elegant and functional control layout with plenty of inputs and classic styling. Not overlooked by Yamaha, the remote control has a substantial heft and a matching brushed finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Modern-Retro Perfection

Ashe from Charlotte, NC on 1/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I read as many reviews as I could, notably Andrew Robinson on YouTube, and there's a lot of love for this amplifief. But I wasn't prepared to like it as much as I do. Paired with a set of Sonus Faber Lumina II speakers and a REL Tzero MKIII (using REL's high-level input straight off the speaker A output), it's surreal how good this sounds. The imaging, staging, separation, and tone are spot on. I have not needed to use bass and treble controls at all. It's a bit more amp than the speaker require, which is nice because I can get amazing sound w/o pushing the limits of the amp. Add in the good looks and VU meters, and there's nothing to complain about. I bought this as a scratch 'n' dent from Crutchfield, but I could not find a single cosmetic or functional problem. I only wish I could have gotten the Sonus Fabers and REL sub from Crutchfield, whose customer service and business practices is just superior to the local specialty audio \ video shops.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lyford

Adrian from Lyford Tx on 1/19/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've always wanted a 2 channel top of the line (ok topish for me) setup. I have a nice pair of Martin Logan speakers that sounded very clean with my older onkyo avr but I wanted something nicer. The A S1200 is a monster... it is solid great looking with power to spare. I don't even need a sub with this amp. It's true that you can actually hear a difference in your music going from a budget amp to this, the yamaha has made a night and day difference. The people that hear my setup can't believe how great it sounds. Not to mention the vintage meters are super cool.

Pros: Lots of power, great looking, vinyl sounds great, I know it will last 20 years easy, I could easily pass this to my son

Cons: No digital inputs could've used at least one maybe Bluetooth for streaming.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Found my amp! Give Yamaha a shot

Eric from STONY BROOK, NY on 11/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

About 2 years ago I started looking for a new Amp/Receiver. Since I stream a lot I went with the Naim Uniti Atom. Paired with B&W 706 bookshelf speakers. The Naim you could adjust the sound (Bass-Treble). They call it the Naim sound. Maybe with different speakers it would sound good. So I helped my friend buy a budget system. He got the Yamaha 301. With nice Tower speakers. For about 1,100 his system sounded great. Had Yamaha in the past. So went with this and I'm NOT disappointed! This amp rules IMO. It didn't have streaming ability so I added a Bluesound Node which is awesome. I now have an amp that will be with me. Maybe a speaker upgrade but I'm enjoying music from all sources. Thanks to Jenny my forever advisor !

Pros: Great sound and able to adjust.

Cons: No streaming for the price but happy with my Bluesound Node

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S1200

Alfred from Shrewsbury, MA on 9/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent and beautiful amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S1200

John from Greenville, SC on 8/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am blown away with the change in audio separation and bass! I was concerned I should add a woofer to my revel speakers. I don't even even have to go to the max bass on the amp! Crutchfield does it again giving me the advice I need!

Pros: Exceptional separation and treble and bass. The retro meters add to the fun.

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

It's a "Yes" from me.

T from Sonoma, CA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent build quality. Lovely vintage-inspired aesthetics. Excellent performance for the money. What's not to like? I replaced an older Jolida tube/mosfet hybrid integrated, looking for something to squeeze a little more performance out of my Wharfedale Diamond floorstanders, which are very nice, but somewhat warm and relaxed in their presentation. The A-S1200 brought better extension on top and in the bass, better and tighter driver control, less bass bloom, more details across the frequency spectrum, better imaging, and is essentially a substantial improvement across the board. I will say that there is a certain leanness in the midrange with these speakers, but not in a way that I find detracts from the music. It is more of a minor quibble, but might be a deal-breaker for those with mid-lean speakers. Also, if you have bright and aggressive speakers or listen to poorly recorded music, this might not be for you. As you may have read elsewhere, this is not a neutral sounding amp. It has a distinct sound - energetic and muscular, and with my rather polite speakers, large room, and sonic preferences, it's a winner.

Pros: excellent build. muscular presentation great driver control excellent detail Looks pretty nice

Cons: Nothing major. Slight Leanness in the midrange. Might be too much detail in wrong system.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S1200

Timothy from Granbury, TX on 1/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finally put together a system that performs like the elite system I had in the early 80's......absolutely perfect! Yes, you need an external DAC.....whatever......then you can customize exactly the performance you need for digital feeds. Blew two other outstanding units away. Thanks Crutchfield for all your help and advice.

Pros: Sound uncolored as it should be.....

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Well worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Dayville, CT on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a fantastic integrated amplifier especially if you like a vintage vibe , i paired this amp with the kef ls50 metas and the kef kc62 sub , the power is spot on for this setup, the sound is detailed and clean the only complaint i have is the bass is a bit lite but using a powered sub allows you to make up for this short coming . The build quality is top end and you have to love the vu meters , great unit well worth the money just buy it !

Pros: Build quality and sound quality

Cons: Lite on bass

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S1200

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm so pleased with my new yamaha a-s1200 . I connected my Series V 901 speakers to my new Yamaha a-s1200 amp and the music sounds so superior and distinctly clear. The clarity is unmatched. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking quality and clarity when it comes to the true sound of music. William F.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

26 of 26 found this helpful

awesome amp great value

Crutchfield customer from Proctorville, OH on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i just love this intergrated amp awesome controls loudspeakers with hearing more than i ever did before in my bower &wilkins 606 anniversary & 607 anniversary edition speakers great job yamaha and crutchfield your awesome too great service thanks

Pros: awesome all around product

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S1200

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have long been a Yamaha fanboy, and this is my first adventure into their higher line of products. The first thing you will notice is how heavy it is. Make sure to bend at the knees when you pick it up, haha, but in all seriousness it is around 50 pounds, so make sure you have a shelf to support it. The build quality is flawless, and you can see all the top-notch electronics through the vent holes in the top of the case. It is quite something to admire. From the milled aluminum controls on the front, to the high gloss piano black wood sides, to the solid brass speaker connections on the back, everything just screams perfection. Now getting into the sound, all I can say is wow. You can hear every little detail and pick out individual instruments and follow along with them. Everything sounds very realistic and open. Cymbal decay is perfect. The bass is powerful, clean, clear, and sustained. It really woke up my speakers to a level that I never realized they could achieve. I honestly like how this integrated amp is purely analog; no dac's, no wifi, no tuner. Its one and only job is to be an amplifier, and it does that one job extremely well. Components will come and go, but I am positive that this amp will be here for the long run.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

31 of 32 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound