Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Yamaha A-S2100

Stereo integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # A-S2100BL

Yamaha A-S2100

Yamaha A-S2100

Stereo integrated amplifier (Black)

MFR # A-S2100BL

16 reviews
View this product

Yamaha A-S2100

Crutchfield customer from Monterey Park, CA on 3/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this particular amplifier because it had great reviews on performance when playing vinyl records and listening with headphones. It surpassed my expectations. No need for a separate headphone amp. The one built into this Yamaha is fantastic. This silver version is very nice looking. Crutchfield and UPS got this amplifier to me in California in perfect condition. I highly recommend the Yamaha A- S2100.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Brilliant amplifier

Boris from Dubrovnik-Neretva county on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One small update.Something you should know about this amp.It uses relays when switching from loudspeakers to headphones .The same is with input selector.Now this might be a problem - if relay stays in same position many days or weeks,the contacts might oxidate losing tight contact and sound become poor - sharp highs and poor bas.My suggestion is - every time you want to listen music plug in firstly headphones for a second and move the input selector in any position and then turn it back in position you want to listen - doing so you are cleaning the relay surface from ultrathin oxide coat...you will be amazed what a difference it makes.

Pros: Clear highs,tight bass...all in all sweet sounding machine

Cons: relays...it seems they are not of first quality ...here should Yamaha take good old school

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Awsome sound!!

Brad from Santa Cruz, CA on 9/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a beast that will take you to class on how to learn to listen all over again. Your music will come to life with so much more depth than you cam imagine. The way the amp pumps bass is so powerful with great mid range and treble. This amp creates sound imagery. A class all by itself.

Pros: clarity, big base, mid range , treble

Cons: overheats if there isn't enough air

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S2100

Boris from Dubrovnik-Neretva county on 7/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound ,brilliant amplifier with huge dynamic bass .Clean,warm,,crystal clear highs and smooth mids but mind the fact to separate power cord of the amplifier from all other power cords you might have around near as it influence the sound very much - the highs are less clear and smooth while mids get unpleasant - so put power cord as far as possible from all other power cord....I almost sold the 2100 thinking it was bad sounding amp but discovered- thanks God - it was all about power cord

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Perfect Combination of Power and Gentle Beauty

Damon from Iowa City, IA on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the 2100 now for a few weeks, and I couldn't be happier. This is an amp for grown ups. The richness of the sound is fabulous, bringing depth and contour to all of my favorite Be-Bop and Hard Bop, alongside early Baroque and classical guitar instrumentals. As you'll see from others, the unit is built like a tank, but its smoothness belies the hardened construction. It's worth noting that I've so far run it entirely "flat." There's just no need to engage the bass or treble - the sound is so pure that one doesn't need to edge it up or down, either high or low. I listen to CDs and HD Radio, which both sound beautifully clean. Can't wait for my new Salk Song Towers to arrive to see what it does with them. Absolutely recommend. Would be well worth twice the price. Oh, and Crutchfield is great. Packaging was careful and delivery spot on time.

Pros: Pure sound reproduction. Which is what we're all after. Powerful, yet gently smooth.

Cons: Somewhat large increments in volume adjustment with the remote. But it's a very minor point.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S2100

John from ILLINOIS on 5/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality of the A-S2100 is fantastic. This thing has some balls. I have an amp that is rated at 140 watts, and the Yamaha blows it away. The sound is dynamic and very realistic. High end sound at mid-fi price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S2100BL

Crutchfield customer from Patterson, CA on 5/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this integrated amplifier upon staff advice. I told staff that I wanted to run two pairs of Bose 901 speakers and that I would require equipment with power, tape monitor circuit or main pre amp in and out for the equalizer. When the amp arrived and I hooked it up I was disappointed that it would not function with the Bose equalizer. The amp in and out were not true in and out and while there was plenty of power the sound was horrible. I reordered a separate pre amp and amp and am awaiting its arrival--hoping that it will work. My twenty year Onkyo is on its last days but does run the equalizer to make the speakers sound terrific

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 39 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S2100

Guest from Yamaha A-S2100BL on 2/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best bargain in the Yamaha S line is the 2100 no doubts. However, the next model up, the flagship A S-3000 is in a league of it's own. Describing it and reducing it to a few parts, copper and features difference here and there cannot have been made by someone who actually listened to both carefully as I did. Best sound for the money stays with the 2100, a terrific buy. But if you can afford it, the A S-3000 is the truly magical one. I've sold my more expensive amplifier to get the 3000....it is that good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Audiophile quality sounwith refined appearance and solid construction

Michael from East Lansing, MI on 2/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As one who pursues my hobbies with vigor, I tend toward the pursuit of perfection. That said, I enjoyed my Yamaha A-S2000 thoroughly over the past couple years. Despite the satisfaction, I could not help but wonder if the new A-S2100 might represent an upgrade. I made the purchase and I am very happy I did. Admittedly, the cost is much higher and we have one of those diminishing return factors here but it is closer to perfection. As others have reported, I also find more resolved deeper warmer richer base, sweet mid-range and more defined high frequency sparkle with better realism. The remote control is better built and offers a few more features and there are numerous other small benefits around the whole system. I heartily endorse the Yamaha A-S series of high-end amplifiers as worthy of investment and this model is the best I have tried in my pursuit of excellence. Crutchfield is also a great company that backs their products with a satisfaction guarantee--buy this amplifier from them without fear.

Pros: quality, full-scale music reproduction, built to last a lifetime. Pairs well with my Benchmark Media DAC2 and Goldenear Triton 1 speakers.

Cons: Very heavy at over 51 pounds, requires a good deal of cabinet depth

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Godzilla Amp!

Ken from Ormond Beach, FL on 12/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the A-S2100 for a few months and this thing is amazing! Never thought i'd get so much pleasure out of a "generic brand" IA, but this unit schooled everything else I checked out. I love the retro metered look, and its sturdy design. I considered going with a Macintosh, but glad I went this route (purchased a Sony HAP-Z1ES with the coin I saved). Great soundstage,headphone amp,and vinyl sounds exceptional as well. I initially thought it sounded a little "stiff", but the more broken in it gets,the better it sounds. Hats off to Yamaha for building a great amp for the $$. This 1000lb gorilla's a keeper!

Pros: sound,brand quality.

Cons: Wish the power cord was hardwired, but it seems everything is plugged these days. 2nd RCA output would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

HI FI is BACK

Chuck from Whitefish, MT on 10/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier personifies the return to our senses.No more multi channel confusion.Pure sonic bliss out of two speakers.The heart beating life into my sole is now the wonderful Yamaha s2100.So clean ,natural and smooth,yet powerful. This will serve my Sony Hap Z1ES and Yamaha cd s2100 player to my ultimate [well almost] pleasure. Oh ,and dang it is so handsome.

Pros: Very much a high end market product. If this were 10,000.00 product it would still be a great value

Cons: NO cons

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S2100 Superb 2 Channel Integrated Amp

Robert from Covina, CA on 4/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just replaced my Sony STDR 5800ES receiver and replaced it with the A-S2100. Right out of the box it put the Sony to shame. Bass was noticeably improved, richer, tighter and much more inner detail. Imaging was 3 dimensional and nearly holographic. The treble was smooth and detailed, much better than I have ever had at home before. While playing c beautiful cello piece from my CD player, I enjoyed stunning and realistic reproduction of the instruments, right down to nearly feeling the presence of instruments in my room. I also tried the headphone output, and again I expirenced the same audio qualities I heard from my speakers. In fact, the Yamaha easily bested my SPL Phonitor 2 headphone amp. (I'm using the AKG K812). Haven't tried vinyl yet, but will this weekend. All in all, I couldn't be happier with not only the sound quality, but also the heavy duty build quality and beauty of the unit itself. VU meter is also a classic touch to this modern day integrated amp. Highly recommended.

Pros: Superb Stereo sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S2100

Crutchfield customer from Rogers City, MI on 12/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad, but overpriced especially in terms of power. Shop around and compare, there are many excellent ones with fair price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 47 found this helpful

The Rising Sun Cometh

S.lim from California on 8/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is built like a tank with style. it weighs in at 50+ lbs but it looks delicate to the touch with finesse on its retro good looks. Its very old school with none of the modern goodies that todays amp has, every penny was given to its sound quality which this amp has in spades. This is an amp year for me and i bought a few amps to mess with and this is the winner for me in overall sound with my speakers. better than my Hegel 160 ! better than my Teac 3000 and better than my Parasound Halo. I Bought the CD2100 to go with it and it sounds fantastic! Better than my Oppo , Teac and Ayon combo. VFM at this high price is still a good buy and just for comparison sake its on par with my Devialet 120 and Ayon sprit 3. After reading the other review I'm heading off to get a AS 2000 to use it for bi amping.

Pros: good bass, silky mids and highs, very airy sounding and looks to cool for school. Excellent with Kef LS 50

Cons: gets fingerprints easy

Crutchfield response on

19 of 66 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S2100

Bondio from Valencia, CA on 6/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha A-S2100 (purchased in May 2015) is for lack of better words, Totally Awesome!! The Bass is tight, clean and powerful. Mids and Highs are smooth as silk. The Soundstage is Deep and Wide. No need for separates with this BEAST! I also own the Yamaha A-S2000 (it has conventional Transistors not MOSFETS) which I purchased in May of 2014. This unit is also exceptional. Bass is comparable to the A-S2100. However, when it comes to the Mids, Highs and Soundstage, this is where the A-S2100 really excels over the A-S2000, and significantly! I would attribute this to the fact that the A-S2100 is using MOSFETS (same as the flagship A-S3000) and has also carried over other attributes from the A-S3000. I have the Polk LSIM-707 Speakers (Awesome!) and I'm now bi-amping my system: using the new A-S2100 for Mids & Highs and the A-S2000 to drive the bass. The perfomance is unbelievable! Additionally, the VU meters and high gloss real wood sides of the A-S2100 are "icing on the cake" You'd have to spend $10k+ from the "boutique" manufacturers to get comparable performance and build quality that you get from Yamaha for the A-S2100. Keep your eye out for "open box" or "scratch & dent" and you really WIN! :-) UPDATED 7/6/16: After owning the Yamaha A-S2100 for a year now, I'm still amazed at the perfermance of this integrated Amplifier. It is an absolute Gem! Furthermore, after reviewing the schematics of the A-S2100 V.S the Flagship A-S3000, there is virtually little difference in the two units. The differences are: the A-S3000 has larger meters, toroidal transformer, additional copper shielding and 2 sets of additional balanced line inputs. Unless you have money to burn, my recommendation is the A-S2100 as there will be little or no sound perfermance improvement between the Flagship A-S3000 and A-S2100.

Pros: Flawless Sound. Exceptional Build Quality. I ordered "Scratch & Dent", all I could find was (1) one small, 1mm (0.040") slight scuff on the right side panel. UPDATED 7/6/16: Excellent Sound quality! Top notch build quality! Ultra Smooth and detailed Highs, precise mids, deep tight bass and spectacular wide and deep soundfield!

Cons: No tape loop for EQ. UPDATED 7/6/16: None. I've solved the lack of a tape loop for EQ.

Crutchfield response on

24 of 25 found this helpful

The best I ever had!

Jos from Netherlands on 9/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best I ever had (after a Sony, Denon and Marantz PM8000. It's even better than a more expensive new Marantz, see also a test in Audio, a German magazine. I am using it with an Arcam iRcan DAC and Pure Music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

TOP