Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
246 469 441 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
246 469 441 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha A-S301

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC

MFR # A-S301BL

Yamaha A-S301

Yamaha A-S301

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC

MFR # A-S301BL

102 reviews
View this product

Great Amp

Crutchfield customer from Albany, NY on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp and service from Crutchfield. I've so far only used it for my turntable and appreciate its militant like simplicity and function. If there's any con, I would've bought the silver face version had it been available, but the black looks good and isn't too dull looking. I'm upgrading from Sansui and Realistic receivers from the 70s and the sound is a huge upgrade from the tired electronics and caps in the old ones. When there is no music playing the amp is quiet as a tomb - no fuzziness or noisy transistors. Build quality is excellent and is quite hefty which I take as a good sign.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Ellisville, MS on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as a gift. Nice amp for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A winner

Crutchfield customer from Holt, FL on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent Receiver. I sold my Yamaha RV 485 which enjoyed for a year. It was lacking the clean ,clear power I needed. I only use I in 2.0 mode , So a Crutchfield representative recommended the301 bl and she was right. IT HAS Clean, clear and precise power.. Delivers nice hi,s and bass, with easy ability to adjust them on the front of the receiver. I definitely recommend this Yamaha 301bl .

Pros: Clean and clear power. It Delivers nice hi,s and low,s.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I receied good advice on the phone from Hunter, my sales person. Im very happy with this purchase.

Pros: This amp has a clean sound, lots of seperation and power to spare.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rock Solid Integrated Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Vicksburg, MS on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a wonderful integrated amplifier. It is very clear and musical, and unlike "home theater" receivers, optimized for 2-channel stereo sound. While it is only rated at 60 watts per channel, it has tremendous dynamic power to achieve deep, powerful bass hits. I have been into audio for decades now, and this amp is probably the best combination of sound, features, and value, I have ever seen.

Pros: Extremely musical, outstanding (1970s style) build quality, high quality internals. Not to mention, a good warranty and extremely musical sound.

Cons: At this price point, for a new integrated amp, are you kidding?

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like everything about this amplifier but I 'm not particularly objective since this is the one I chose and bought. I would only know to repeat what it says in the specs or what others say in reviews. A long time ago I bought a Yamaha R-S300 from Crutchfield so I know they're a good company and Yamaha makes good stuff (including pianos and motorcycles). If you're looking to buy an amplifier, get this one.

Pros: I t sounds good, looks good, is reliable and durable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good alternative to more expensive options

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, MI on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Nice options for tone control. Exactly what I was looking for. Excellent bass on bookshelf speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Madison, MS on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, easy to set up and use. Sounds very, very good

Pros: Well built, ease of use, great sound, price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp for my workshop, I could not happier with its performance and ease of installation and use,as always crutchfield was great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Audio Bling!

Scott from Aurora, CO on 7/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Before my purchase I was somewhat disappointed with a "nice" Onkyo receiver. It was just "OK" as far as sound quality goes. hard to explain until I got my new AS301 up and going. Within minutes I was relieved to hear the difference with better separation, clarity and solid bass. Great value!

Pros: Great build and sound quality, value and simplicity. One of my favorite features is the mute control drives the servo motor for the volume lower rather than brutal electronic clicks.

Cons: Not much negative to speak of. These are nit picky: An LED to see the volume position would be nice as well as a way to separate pre-out and main-in. But at this price point, so what.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 6/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I do not think you can beat this for the price. I have been very satisfied with the ease of setting it up and the sound quality. Only time will tell how durable it proves to be. I think it would be hard to beat for the price.

Pros: Setting it up was easy. Sound quality is very good. Good for the price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amplifier for 2 speakers good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Reasonably Priced Integrated Amp

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 5/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a $350 integrated amp, this is a really good performer. The sound is clean and accurate. Flat frequency response and no background noise. 60 watts/channel of clean power. 210 damping factor at 1kHz. This amp has many good features including an optical and coaxial digital input, subwoofer output for a powered sub, connections and switching for 2 sets of stereo speakers, 5 line level inputs, 2 line level outputs, and 1 phono input. I have only actually tried the coaxial digital input, subwoofer output, 1 line level input and 1 set of stereo speakers. All of these work great. Also, the headphone output is very good quality. The amp that I received was made in Malaysia.

Pros: Great performance and features for the money.

Cons: None that I have found.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 5/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this simple, powerful (enough) amp. Running Elac Debut 2.0 B6.2 speakers. Bought Bluetooth adapter. Very pleased to find something that didn't have added bells and whistles. I'd rather spend another $40 on a BT adapter that will break after 5-10 years than an amp with BT integrated and have that fail before the amp itself, but is less replaceable.

Pros: Simple, gets the job done. Got great deal on "open box" amp.

Cons: Really can't see volume knob position, unless your face is 12" away from the unit. Will attach something bright and tacky looking. Loudness function is odd. I understand what it does, but it lowers volume at same time as boosting lows, so you then need to turn the volume back up to get back to the same level you were at prior to engaging the loudness function. However, it does improve sound when listening at low volumes.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

The little truth teller!

William from Carpentersville, IL on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a music lover, I want components that give me the music in its purest form. As an audiophile, I value sound quality over bling. As a disabled widower on a fixed income, I needed a bargain price. The A-S301 meets these requirements and then some. After my Yamaha A-1000 integrated amp blew a channel after 35 years of service I needed a replacement. Having also used Yamaha receivers with great results Yamaha was my first choice. I also considered the NAD 316 BEE but went with the Yamaha from experience and a cheaper price. I'm not disappointed. I have the A-S301 hooked up in my iTunes system, driving a pair of Polk Monitor 30 small bookshelf speakers. It sounds fabulous and has more than enough power for my living room. I needed to knock the treble down a tad but that's on the speakers: the Polks are voiced with a slightly "hot" tweeter. My head- banging days are mostly behind me but I still rock out on occasion, as well as listen to blues, folk, country and pop. This amp does justice to whatever I play through it. My next move will be to upgrade the speakers. Ordering from Crutchfield was as advertised: prompt and painless. I will definitely use them again.

Pros: Pure, unhyped sound

Cons: No USB input but can add that externally

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dont look any further

Steve from Mesa, AZ on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha A-S301 seems to be a far superior amplifier to the Pioneer Elite A201 in Every way. The Yamaha has a warmth to it that Ive never heard in a solid state amp. It is Very Clean and Clear which is a problem for most amplifiers trying to power Klipsch LaScallas. They are so efficient they can magnify any sonic flaws in the system. This baby is flawless. It lets the La Scallas sing the way they were intended to. The remote control which always seems to be overlooked by engineers was not in this case. It is laid out in a common sense manner with volume buttons set away from all the selection buttons, so volume Up and Down and Mute are effortless with no need to look at it every time you need to adjust for changing conditions. Crutchfield was perfect as usual. The Yamaha arrived in 2 days in perfect condition. I would'nt hesitate to purchase anything from Crutchfield. Ive been a customer and Fan from the very beginning. Thanks everyone at Crutchfield. Stay warm. Spring is coming soon. ~peace~

Pros: Easy to use, simple, powerful and extremely clean.

Cons: I should have bought this First. Not the Pioneer A201

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

My system is finally complete!

Dan from Arlington, VA on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. and wow. After unboxing and setting up this amp this morning, I have spent the entire afternoon randomly sampling different folk, jazz and classical music from my CD collection. Piano, percussion and string reveal more depth and separation than my previous 20 year old receiver/amp combo. The sound is not harsh, however, and not warmer perse, but cleaner than I have ever heard. One can feel the guitar and bass strings vibrating, presenting a soundstage about 4' away from each speaker. There is no background noise during musical pauses, and no echo when a track is complete - absolute silence between notes allows the instruments to sing. I can't imagine needing a break in period that other amp owners write about - after only 5 hours of use, this amp is already the best money I've spent on music listening. This amp is paired with 2 Wharfedale towers on Speaker A and 2 Wharfedale shelf speakers on B. Plug in the wires and RCA cables, and turn it on - that's all I did. No complicated room acoustic analysis or set-up needed for smooth, distortion free music. There are many more expensive amps that one can buy - for my listening ears, however, there is no need to spend a dime more.

Pros: In addition to my notes above, the subwoofer OUT is a great feature at this price point. Simple set up and use.

Cons: None so far. Would have liked an AC outlet on back, but have read this may cause interference.

Crutchfield response on

24 of 26 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, IL on 11/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good design and quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Wimberley, TX on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 5.1 with this. Trouble with home theater receivers is that by the time you have them adjusted just the way you want you'll have carpal tunnel syndrome. Well, I may be exaggerating slightly, but there is truth here. Mostly, I listen to music, so a decent stereo Integrated amp is just fine. With this one you have your bass, treble, loudness and the unadulterated "Direct" adjustment, along with speaker selection and that is it. My listening room (cave) is only 10 by 11 foot, so the amp's power is plenty. I can only characterize the sound as crisp and warm, of course some of this subjective interpretation is also a product of the speakers. That said, the A-S301 is a fine instrument that can be bought with confidence.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Hank from Fall River, MA on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had my previous receiver for 32 years.it was an Onkyo Tx 65.was a great amp in it's day.Never had trouble with it to this day.I also had an ADC 12 band EQ,same age.Both served me very well.However as years go by many improvements come along and I wanted to try something new.My customer rep. Was Calvin.He was very helpful with my choice.Never tried to upsell me on anything.The A-S301 is just what I wanted.Have only had it hooked up for 2 weeks now with approximately 22hrs in. What a nice sounding amp.Love everything about it.Looking for a nice integrated amp? Get this and you will be happy.I really like dealing with the Crutchfield co.Everybody is very knowledgeable about products and won't give you an off the cuff answer on an item you are looking for.Thank you Calvin and thank you Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

This cheap box rocks

JH from Issaquah, WA on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

True winner, especially considering the minimal cost. Turn on the Pure Direct and just leave it alone. I'm running Klipsch RP-260F and Klipsch R-110SW with input from Sonos Connect via optical in a living room. I wasn't concerned about the tone or quality and it exceeded my expectations but I was concerned about nominal power. With the high sensitivity of the Klipsch RP speakers, forget about it. If I were to play anything at just half volume for more than 10 minutes I would certainly lose hearing and the cops would get called on me. Haven't tried more than half volume because I'd worry about speaker damage and personal health. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros: Warm, clean and powerful sound

Cons: None for my uses

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

16 of 17 found this helpful

A good performer

Tim from Roanoke, VA on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Detailed and dynamic sound. For the price a good piece. Needs about 100 hours to settle in sonically.

Pros: Good sound. Yamaha people put some good quality into a low price component.

Cons: Long burn in. About 100 hours. Must use the low olm setting on the back.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

The A-S301 is a winner

Paul from Huntington Beach, CA on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleasantly surprised with the Yamaha A-S301 integrated amp. It arrived in 3 days as advertised in a very sturdy carton. It sounds great. I am replacing vintage Adcom gear (30+ years old with a problematic tuner/preamp). In hindsight I should have retired the Adcom set rather then having it repaired only for another problem to develop. Alas it served us well, RIP. I purchased the A-S301 for two reasons. It was the right amount of power for our Vintage (1950's) JBL speakers and the price seemed almost too good to be true. Once again, the sound is great. Stereo separation seems better than the previous components. There is plenty of clean power. I am impressed. Does it sound better than my old components? It seems to, but I was not able to perform a blind A/B comparison. I am not one who thinks different amplifiers have different sound. I think well designed amps with flat frequency response sound about the same, until over driven. The A-S301 is a winner.

Pros: Great, clean, open sound. A real bargain for the price. 60 watts RMS per channel is plenty of power. Crutchfield service was excellent. Thanks for the card Mildred!

Cons: No pre out and main in RCA connections (probably not feasible at this price point). The sub out filter is too close to the fixed crossover of our subwoofer. We had to use speaker level connections and it works fine.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful component, classic all-business design. I was a little worried that it didn't have the power to drive my Klipsch r-28m speakers at 65 watts rms, but like my advisor KP said, those speakers are really efficient and the amp power is really clean. My music sounds amazing. Totally satisfied.

Pros: Clean design, clean power, no frills or extra crap

Cons: Ugly remote, but so what?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Kenneth from Charlotte, NC on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am seriously impressed with this amp. I was concerned at this price point that this amp wouldn't drive my old Boston Acoustics VR3's as well as I would like... I have no more concerns. I wanted a simple, classic, no frills, inexpensive amp to be the center piece for a 2 channel system. Well, I was comparing this amp with NAD C316 BEE V2 and Cambridge Audio Topaz AM 10 and decided on the Yamaha based on the ability to Bi-wire my speakers (I have also had good success with other products from Yamaha over the years). I am VERY happy with this purchase. I tested my setup with Pat Metheny, Arctic Monkeys, and Nirvana (I find these three to be a good judge of a systems ability to clearly reproduce the highs and lows found in various styles of music) and was blown away with how good my system sounded. I am currently running the amp with the loudness decreased (-15dB), the bass control with a slight increase, and the treble with a slight decrease. VERY pleased with this amp.

Pros: ability to bi-wire speakers.

Cons: none that I have found at the moment

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

sound is good

john from Worcester, MA on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sound is good.good starter amp. to early to tell has to burn in

Pros: neat and compact

Cons: miss my ca-810

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Perfect balance

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An integrated amp is still the only way to go. Yamaha does it best. My old vinyl sounds new again.

Pros: It's all good.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great amp, love the variable loudness

John G. from Greenville, SC on 7/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp to replace a 27 year old 60 watt Kenwood receiver. Can't say the Yamaha puts the Kenwood completely to shame, but it does sound MUCH better and cleaner. Part of it is the variable loudness control, which is just a great feature. I used to find myself punching the bass up to about 4 and the treble up to around 8 to get the sound I wanted out of my Polk Audio S4 bookshelf speakers (25 years old) at normal to low volumes. With this amp, the Polks sound great with the tone controls flat, volume set at 50 percent, and the loudness set to whatever level you want. Loudness buttons were always useless, but with variable control you have no loss of richness in the lows and highs when you turn the "volume" down (by adjusting the loudness). I've wanted a Yamaha with variable loudness control for over 30 years, can't believe I waited this long to buy one. This is a great amp, hope it's still kicking in 27 years like the Kenwood was. I bought the Kenwood for $200 because the comparable Yamaha was $350 (which is what I paid today ;-) The amp seems really well built, quite heavy. Phono preamp sounds great, big reason I bought this amp. No tape monitor, but unless you're still using a 3 head cassette there's no need to have one. The optical input is great for connecting all of your video via your TV. Another improvement over cheaper receivers: no drop in fidelity or volume when you switch from A speakers to A+B.

Pros: Top notch sound, variable loudness, quality construction.

Cons: An LED on the volume knob would be nice so you can tell what the setting is when using the remote. If I were designing this amp I would probably motorize the loudness control instead of the volume control. Or drop the "pure direct" switch and motorize them both.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Very good amplifier

Cal from San Bernardino, CA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surpasses my expectations. Great headroom. Reaches the level of my Emotiva amplifier. I passed on Marantz 5005 and don't regret it.

Pros: Price and quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Robert from Rego Park, NY on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the Crutchfield team. The A-S301 works very well.

Pros: Easy to use, enough wattage for complete musical enjoyment

Cons: Best used with very efficient speakers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just Right

Allen from Staatsburg, NY on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what is required, delivers clean power and disappears. Run the "Pure Direct". Everything clear and balanced.

Pros: Pure Direct

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Solid, Beginner's Amp

JG from Frisco, TX on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised. Uncomplicated. Solid beginner's amp. Very sleek design with user-friendly, intuitive functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Dan from Orlando, FL on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp sounds great, no background noise or hiss, and provides good clean power. Loudness control is very useful as well. Phono preamp sounds great too.

Pros: Easy to use and great sound

Cons: No DAC converter

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

Nice integrated amplifier

Alex from Manassas, VA on 4/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp with clean sound and plenty of power for most people. 60W per channel may not sound like much, but I never had to turn the volume knob past the half way point for my KIipsch RF52 towers to start hurting my ears. It has more than enough power to play loud and clean with pretty much any speakers. The DAC they chose reproduces sound very clean and accurately. Tone control knobs have no effect on the REC outs. The phono preamp is ok, but I wish they gave us a way to bypass it for those who use their own preamps so we can still use the Phono position on the input selector instead of another source.

Pros: No unnecessary features and reasonably priced. Plenty of clean power, excellent DAC, simple and clean look

Cons: Phono preamp cant be bypassed for use with other preamps on the same input. No USB input.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Integrated Amp!

Larry from Carlsbad, CA on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After research, reading reviews and speaking with Brit, I purchased this integrated amplifier. It matches well with all my other components and drives my new Polk Audio RTi A7 speakers nicely. Very good, clean sound as I would expect from Yamaha. It replaces a Yamaha R-S300 since I have no need for a tuner and don't use surround sound in my townhouse. This unit has an abundance of connections; RCA, optical and coaxial. Both vinyl and CD (Onkyo C-7030 via optical cable) sound great. I am more than satisfied with my purchase and highly recommend Yamaha products. They have never failed to deliver as expected.

Pros: Sleek, simple look yet serious in appearance and performance. Crutchfield is my go-to source for future purchases.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Steven from Fort Collins, CO on 3/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp with plenty of power. I'm driving a pair of Polk Monitor 60 II tower speakers with a Polk PSW 10 sub. Volume set at noon is plenty for a dance party. DAC performs well for input from at TV. Running a turn table as well through the phono input without issue. Remote control works great for volume and input selection, would buy again.

Pros:

Cons: Could have more digital inputs

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Simple, sensible and sound

Randy from Sacramento, CA on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha A-S301 is a more-than capable engine to orchestrate a dusty and oddball trio orphaned by a Denon receiver: elderly but robust Polk floor speakers, dutiful Marantz CD player and Rega turntable. It is a model of simplicity in an era that screams of gizmo -- balm to technological limitations. All connections were made in about half an hour. Music to my ears.

Pros: No unneeded bells or whistles and easy to adapt, with an impressive sound and range. Reasonably priced.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Extremely versatile

Vince from Rock Hill, SC on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great integrated amp for the price. I had some reservations in purchasing consumer equipment rather than audiophile equipment, but a long tine ago Yamaha Natural Sound equipment was highly rated, so I gave it a try. Very nice! This is an extremely versatile integrated. If you want accuracy while listening to jazz or classical, hit the "Pure Direct" button to bypass all of the tone circuitry and get the shortest signal path to avoid possible signal degradation. If you want to listen to rock with crashing cymbals, turn of pure direct and tweak the continual variable loudness. The continual variable loudness makes the amp "think" it's turned up and working harder, this the extreme highs and extreme lows are more pronounced, but the volume can be kept low to avoid confrontations with the spouse or neighbors. The amp has a sub out which is handy. The built in phono pre-amp is more than adequate for moving magnet cartridges in the sub $500 range. An external pre-amp is required for moving magnet coil cartridges. In keeping with versatility, the CD input can take RCA connections, optical Toslink connections and coaxial connections. All in all a nice and extremely versatile integrated amp with a VERY low price.

Pros: Versatile continually variable loudness Pure Direct Phono pre-amp sub out

Cons: Power cord is permanently attached. No pre-amp out

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great quality sound

Henry from Novato, CA on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does everything I expected in a very fine manner. The sound I am getting out of this piece far exceeds the sound I was getting out of my Bose V35 surround sound system. I especially like the pure sound I get from the pure direct option.

Pros: This piece is a terrific bargain considering the quality of sound produced.

Cons: I can't find any.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Real Bargain

James from Camp Hill, PA on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amplifier is a real bargain at its price. I was surprised at how much better my LPs, HD tuner, and CDs now sound. It is definitely a step up from my high-end 1990s vintage 120 watt/channel integrated amplifier. I was looking for a phono input amp, and also ended up with TWO sets of input/output jacks, one of which is great for my CD player/recorder but I don't really plan to do much recording with my cassette deck. You can probably guess that somebody who still uses a cassette deck is going to have to work up to using the DAC features. And you would be correct. The only negative is that the subwoofer jack has a 100HZ low-pass filter. With my speakers, a 50 HZ low-pass filter would have been preferable.

Pros: Does everything I need it to do

Cons: 100HZ low-pass filter

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Nice stereo but Yamaha has better for the money

Daniel from Dayton, OH on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product but you can get the Yamaha R-N303 for less, which can play Bluetooth from your phone, is 100 Watts and a few other nifty features. Much better buy in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 29 found this helpful

Great amp for the price

Howard from Los Angeles, CA on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a Bluesound Vault 2 and my old AR amp was no longer up to the job. So the advisor suggested the Yamaha. For the price, it is fantastic. I put it that way only because imagine if one spent thousands for an amp, one would hear the difference. But it's all I hoped for and more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Integrated AMP

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, FL on 1/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have paired this with an older Marantz CD5001 CD player. Out of the box, the craftsmanship is top notch for such a cheap price. Its built solid(I know its not as solid as the older classic integrated amps). I like the simplicity of this integrated amp, I don't need a lot of bells and whistles. The pure direct mode is convenient, and if you have a complete stereo system(two speakers and a subwoofer) this mode makes things easy to get hi quality sound. Then you have the option to turn it off and adjust to your taste of music. Over all this is a great line up of integrated amps.

Pros: Very simple to use and set up, built solid for a cheap priced amp

Cons: Cant think of any right now

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Best amplifier you can buy today

Dave from Harvard, MA on 12/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is the one of your dreams! It has Bass boost, Treble boost, Speaker left/right control, Loudness control, and of course Volume control. On top of that you can get a version with enough power to reach Mars or one to take the place of a sound bar (You will have to provide it with speakers.) Who could possible ask more of an amplifier (unless you're hung up on tubes)?

Pros: It has it all.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very musical sound, very powerful

Brandon from Ogden, UT on 10/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got a chance to listen to this amazing amp this-morning, and all I can say is YAMAHA! This unit sounds every bit as good as my 65lb Pioneer Elite. Very spacious and detailed sound with plenty of punch and drive. I had low expectations because of the low power specs and budget friendly price but don't worry this amp really delivers like a Yamaha should. Very musical sounding overall.

Pros: Sleek, no Fm tuner, no extra circuits or any crap to inject noise into the signal. Remote is very nice and built well. Metal front panel, and lots of clean power that can drive low efficiency speakers very well.

Cons: Plastic knobs are a sign of the times, but man do I hate em'

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301 Review

Peter from Westby, WI on 10/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Far exceeds my expectations in sound quality and build for this price point. Nice detail and separation, very quiet not a peep of amp noise. I have never used Loudness on my past amps as they just messed up the sound. With this unit's dial in loudness, it is usable. I primarily needed a simple amp with a decent phono stage. This amp fits the need perfectly. I no long miss my blown NAD amps as this unit has cleaner, more detailed sound. Cabinet is large, to get it to fit into my vintage Scandinavian entertainment center I had to remove the feet and install shorter ones so it had adequate air space around it. Measure your available space before you buy this. Probably runs nice and cool due to the large interior air space. Plenty of power to drive my vintage Wharfedale-E30-speakers. The lack of easy readability of the volume level is not an issue for me, I use my ears not eyes to set the volume. Due to good luck on being a good match for my speakers and room I did not have to dial in any adjustments so I use the Pure Direct switch unless I am listening at low volume and engage the loudness, this is a very nice feature. The lack of extra switched power supplies on this unit first annoyed me but the more circuitry and junk one adds to an amp the more potential for noise.

Pros: Clean sound, dial in loudness feature, clean exterior no nonsense design, Pure Direct bypass switch.

Cons: Large cabinet

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Dave from Colorado Spr, CO on 8/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works perfect for my ceiling speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sounding Amp

Dennis from La Crosse, WI on 8/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp to replace my 1970's vintage Sherwood that was dying. Hooked it up to my New Large Advent speakers that I had re-foamed the woofers. At first the sound was a bit too bright (but that may be due to me being used to the death spiral from the old amp), very quickly I dialed things in and was amazed at how good the '70's era speakers sounded. Nice tight electric base. This system is in a small listening area and it has plenty of power for this space and speakers.

Pros: Nice tight base lines Bright sound Lots of inputs including phono and tape

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Amp

Derek from South Korea on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sleek, straight to the point. Produces natural clean sound, love the classic look and feel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Ken from Newbury Park, CA on 6/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service from Crutchfield. Nice clean design. Connected to Polk bookshelf speakers and Onkyo CD changer via optical digital cable. Sounds great. Satisfied customer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp, very clean, audiophile class

Bob from Ladera Ranch, CA on 5/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, very clean, audiophile class. Power, clarity and openness without distortation. You can hear the nuances of all the instruments.

Pros: Power, clarity and openness without distortation. You can hear the nuances of all the instruments.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Califon, NJ on 5/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great simple to use, excellent price.

Pros: Affordable, good power, easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Bart from Hazleton, PA on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance at a very affordable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

john from Lockport, IL on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very satistied, 69 years old, around music for 60 years. With the internet, who needs a receiver. The digital inputs a necessity, optical for TV and coaxial for Bluray. Quality sound, but loudness dial takes some getting used to. I am used to loudness button that "boosts : sound when you're listening when you push it. It's like adding sound. Yamaha gets to same place but does it by "subtracting" sound. They tell you to turn up volume, then turn down loudness dial to reduce midrange hence increasing highs & lows. Psychologically that bothers me. The sound may be the same by my mind thinks less not more. Need to experiment with settings more . Other picky items: bigger holes for lights on dials to see where settings are, dials have loose feel when turning them. But sound quality is what counts, it does it's job nicely. For price excellent value. John K.

Pros: sound, inputs, price to value

Cons: dial lights too small, dial feel, loundness control needs to experiment to find your preference.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 3/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Time will tell how well it holds up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surprisingly good integrated amp

Edwin from Reseda, CA on 3/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product matches perfectly with my Polk Rti A1's. The combination produces a clean and detailed sound The presence of a variable loudness adjustment is perfect for bringing out the low and high frequencies. It's allowing me to hold off on adding a subwoofer. I'm very pleased with the purchase.

Pros: ample power, ideal match for bookshelf speakers

Cons: none at this price point

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nothing wrong with this bottom of the line amp!

Jack from Reno, NV on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decades since last owned decent stereo system. Wanted kit for wife/me to listen to vinyl which has sat in storage for years--WE KEPT OURS! Was tempted to spend more on NAD or better Yamaha components, but opted for Yamaha's bottom of the line amp, CD player, tuner, Marantz turntable, and Elac Debut B6 speakers. We are DELIGHTED with what we are hearing! I am not knowledgeable enough to say to what extent the A-S301 is repsonsible for the great sound, and can only say that records, CDs, and the radio all sound great with this system. It is set up in our open living/dining/kitchen space that measures about 30 x 24 and fills this whole space with great sound, the volume knob set at the 12 o'clock position or even lower. At 2 o'clock position, which is where I have enjoyed albums meant for high volume, Led Zeppelin II, for example, I worry about annoying the neighbors, who aren't all that close. I haven't turned the volume any higher than that. No distortion that I can hear at the loudest volume levels that my ears can take. Music sounds great at low volume, too, which is where we do most of our listening. Rock, classical, jazz, blues, vocals--everything has sounded clear, instruments distinct, base taut, voices life-like. The one factor that I can definitely point to as determining the sound quality is the quality of the recording that is being played. Any well-produced record or CD sounds lovely, and the occasional poorly recorded/mastered album stands out by comparison.

Pros: Phono pre-amp. Plenty of analog inputs. Very handsome. Great performance at the very lowest price point. If you are reading this review, you presumably are not an Audiophile with a fat wallet. If you are a typical music enthusiast without specialized needs/expectations, you should consider this amp and rest assured that you do not need to spend more money in order to get a perfectly satisfactory piece of equipment.

Cons: Plastic knobs and buttons: these plastic fellers provide a sad tactile contrast to the beautiful, substantial slab of aluminum that fronts the amp. Indicator notch on volume knob needs a visual accent, e.g., white paint.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Mundelein, IL on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this integrated amp to replace a 30 year old Harmon-Kardon unit. I like the fact that it has phono inputs as well as coaxial audio inputs for a blue-ray player. I use it to drive a pair of Infinity Primus P362 speakers and it does a great job. Remote control of volume and input controls means that I don't have to get up to make adjustments or switch inputs. Also appreciate the analog inputs since I still have both cassette and open reel tape decks. (Ask your grandma to explain those)

Pros: Nice product at a nice price. All the basic features I need. Clean, simple design.

Cons: No AC outlets for CD player, turntable, etc.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

The one I was looking for...

Steve from Waukesha, WI on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp! Exactly what I was looking for with the inclusion of an optical input and phono stage. Hooked up an Apple Express and old turntable. Enough power for my medium sized room and they sound great. Happy with the purchase and customer service.

Pros: Sounds great, looks great and has a phono stage!

Cons: None thus far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I love this amp

ross from Bridgewater, MA on 1/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the a-s301 sounds great it has a very crisp and clear sound to it. also a heavy bass beat I love this amp! its all I need to play my cds tv and dvds with lots of power to spare.

Pros: it is a great sounding amp

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from East Syracuse, NY on 12/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using to play music recorded (in several formats) on my pc. Sounds great. Using both A & B speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha got it right

David S. from Pensacola, FL on 12/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Integrated amp that works just as advertised. Powerful, clear, runs cool. Loudness control really works well.

Pros: Great power output, clear sound, enough sound shaping control to make equalizer unnecessary.

Cons: Generic manual, remote control with lots of useless buttons.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, OH on 11/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this amp to be a very well built unit .. controls feel solid .. produces a good and very clean sound .. and it looks good! Met all of my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Trevose, PA on 10/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. I wish auto standby mode was like 3 hours instead of 8 hours and it is not configurable. but other than that excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Price-worthy piece.

Dave from Silver Spring, MD on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound for the money. As others have said, it could use an AC out receptacle(I'd like to plug my radio tuner into the amp so I don't have to manually turn it on & off). I bought some Polk Audio speakers last February with discounted sub-bass and bi-wired them to the Yamaha. Seems to give better separation and definition in re treble and bass. Service is very good. The amp arrived just 22 hours after online purchase. Of course Maryland is adjacent to Virginia, but the speakers arrived quickly in Febrary shortly after a snow storm. Well done!

Pros: Sound for price is very good.

Cons: No AC outlet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Chris from San Mateo, CA on 8/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean sound.

Pros: Simple to use. TV sounds good.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Bob from St Johnsbury, VT on 8/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Years ago I had a Yamaha A-460 amp. Loved the 'Loudness' dial, and managed to keep it running for many years. Since moving to CD and now iTunes the old A-460 went away, and having spent the last 5 years stuck listening to a Tivoli Model 1 play from a laptop this A-S301 is simply stunning. Magnificent build, doesn't run at all hot, and looks great doing it. The bluetooth is fantastic, will get this direct wired to the laptop once the cabinet is ready, but super simple connection via bluetooth to laptop or phone. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: build, loudness control, bluetooth

Cons: hard to read front indicators in low light.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Dennis from Las Vegas, NV on 8/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to see if it sounds better than my Sony STR-DE 197 .I bought the Sony because it has bass boost . The Yamaha has much better bass whether through speakers or headphones. Yamaha has much better sound overall especially with the variable loudness control.

Pros: variable loudness, phonograph input. digital to analog converter.

Cons: no tone control on remote, no HDMI input, no volume loudness Indicator.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome

BeerCan from Ft Myers on 8/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a Denon reciever, this yamaha is amazing... Sound is clear, have old Technique speaks they sound Awesome !!!!! This thing Cranks, for Music Lovers !!!!! Worth every Penny....

Pros: All

Cons: Not found any yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Robet from GEORGIA on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was easy to install and sound great. Price was competitive for amp that support 4 speakers, and has input to multiple devices.

Pros: supports 4 speakers. has ability for blue tooth connectivity with additional device, speaker selection.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great receiver

Ted from Golden, CO on 5/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the simplicity and sound quality of this unit. It looks, feels and sounds like a much more expensive amp. It makes jazz vinyl sound rich, full, warm, and clear.

Pros: Sound, feel, simplicity, price.

Cons: None at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha amplifier As301

Allfred b from Tuscaloosa, AL on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amplifier great sound great price

Pros: Nice bass love loudness control coaxial input

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Solid

Carlos M from Laguna Niguel Ca on 5/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great amplifier for a number of reasons, considering the value! I bought it because I'm getting back into vinyl, so it's great that it has a phono input. But, it also has other analog inputs, as well as two digital inputs (one optical and one coaxial). Having all of these options is pretty priceless, since most of us also have digital music sources. I have a CD player and an Apple TV connected to the digital inputs, and my turntable connected to the phono input. My listening room is small, so power is not an issue. This amp puts out a really clean signal! Maybe not as "warm" as my old Onkyo, but super clean and true. The variable loudness knob is great, as well as the "direct" setting. Oh, and the design is very elegant and timeless. It could sit among brand new equipment just as it could among vintage gear.

Pros: Input variety and clean sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

yamaha a-s 301 intergrated amp

paul k from Lancaster, OH on 4/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this amp sounds grate has plenty of volum and lots of bass.

Pros:

Cons: no conns

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great Integrated Amp for the Price

busterdog from carol stream, IL on 3/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced multi channel receiver with this amp to power legacy Thiel 3 way floor standing speakers. Use primarily for music streaming services plus movies sometimes. Main difference in upgrading is the Yamaha variable loudness control which really helps the bass response at lower listening levels without making the base sound muddy. Finding 60 watts per channel is plenty of power for all reasonable listening levels.

Pros: Variable loudness control.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Old School Style

John from Kennesaw, GA on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this as the sound on my flat screen TV, It powers 2 restored Boston Acoustics BA 60 Series II speakers. Was using an older Onkyo receiver to do this. Did not think the sound would be dramatically different. I was so wrong!!! I only use the TV for watching DVD's and Blu-Ray movies. THE SOUND IS INCREDIBLE!!!! Looks like it is out of stock now, perhaps I was the lucky one to get the last in stock unit. One quibble: I originally hooked the speakers up to the "A" channel and the left side did not work, wired the speakers up to "B" and everything was fine. Might be I wired it wrong at first, might be the unit. But "B" works flawlessly and I only need the two speakers. 5 Stars regardless.

Pros: Sound!

Cons: Possible problem with "A" channel outputs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301 Integrated Amp

MKB from Neptune, NJ on 3/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I was looking for in an integrated amp (well, except for the one con below). Ample power, clean sound across the entire spectrum - bass to treble, digital coax input for CD player, phono connection for turntable, adjustable loudness for playing at low volume. I listen through two Polk 8-ohm speakers and the sound is excellent. For the money, you cannot get a better stereo receiver. I bought a "scratch and dent" and unable to find any imperfections whatsoever in the unit - and saved $50! I typically wouldn't go the open box route but I trust Crutchfield and they came through, as always.

Pros: As outlined in the Review.

Cons: No switched (or unswitched) electrical outlet on back of the unit. I do most of my listening through an XM player and it's a minor inconvenience to have to turn both units on and off all the time - admittedly a very minor issue.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301 amplifier

Rex A from Corsicana,TX on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sound I've ever heard out of a home stereo amp. As good as amps costing 4 0r 5 times as much. .

Pros: Excellent value , nice looking. good sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Review Yamaha A-S301 --Excellent

DaleT from Wilmington, DE on 2/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this integrated amp after seeing a full-page promo in the Jan/Feb Crutchfield mail catalog. Couldn't be happier. I returned a Yamaha receiver that had a lot of bells and whistles to Crutchfield and got this unit for about the same price. I'm running an Onkyo CD player, an old Nakamichi tape deck, and an Ortofon red cartridge thru the phono stage. Speakers are Vienna Acoustics Bach Grand. CD audio sounds fantastic, especially thru the optical cable connect and Pure Direct setting on the amp. Interesting too, is that the Pure Direct improves the sound of the analog phono section. Not sure why but an A/B comparison shows the proof. If you're looking to revitalize your stereo setup at a VERY reasonable price, you need to check out this integrated amp.

Pros: Excellent quality stereo sound. Great phono stage--plenty of output power (better than some unnamed competitors). Ability to connect digital optical and/or coaxial cables. Multiple connects and nice, simple remote.

Cons: None that I see, unless you're trying to fill an auditorium. This amp is rated at 60 watts per channel which is way more than I need in my home office.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

yamaha a-s 301 review

ekm from bakersfield, CA on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Plenty of power and great sound. It's hooked up to a pair of old Pioneer 2 way speakers and sounds great. It has a very good phono preamp...it brings alive my old vinyl collection...which is the main reason I bought it. I reviewed LOTS of other integrated amps and chose the Yamaha over the NAD and Marantz. It has a very sweet sound. I highly recommend it.

Pros: Ease of use. Great sound.

Cons: No gold plated terminals.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works and sound great

Happy Camper from Brighton, MI on 1/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice piece of equipment. Suits my needs just fine. Replaced a 28 year old Denon amp that kept blowing the right channel. Doesn't take many repairs to make a new unit cheaper.

Pros: Plenty of input options. Controls straightforward.

Cons: Remote pretty much useless as it doesn't control anything else I have. Would be more useful if the unit had at least one switched 120v outlet on the back, which is the real issue. That's the primary reason I give it less than five stars. The other, less important quibble is how tiny and dim the indicator lights are on the front panel. Too hard to see.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Yamah A-S301

BuzzMan from Missouri on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good basic solid amp. Will be used in workout room (15' x 20' x 9') with a couple of Def Tech SM-45's and the combo sounds excellent. As noted by another .... difficult to see volume level location ...added a small dab of white paint in the groove on volume knob and problem fixed (thus 4/5 stars). This is my third Yamaha amp ... reliability of past units have been outstanding.

Pros: Good sound with clean power Simple remote Its a Yamaha

Cons: Volume level indicator

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

Crutchfield customer from Washington on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price it's a nice looking amplifier and it gives you a clean powerful sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value and Build

Chris from Memphis on 1/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just received the amp yesterday and immediately upon unpacking I realized what a nice build quality it is. I have always been a Yamaha fan and this unit does not disappoint. The sound created is clean and crisp and I like the simplicity of the connections. I needed an amp with a optical input (for TV) which are tough to find at this price range. I am having to use Line 1 for my phono since you can't bypass the built in phono amp (as stated by another reviewer) since I use a stand alone Pro-Ject Phono Box. I knew this going in though so it is not a big deal. The power output is fine as our living room is not gigantic. Keep in mind that this unit has no tuner which was fine by me as I don't use the radio and I also felt that this would mean more thought was put into the parts I need from the unit. My only complaint is the knobs Yamaha chose for the bass and treble settings. When you adjust them they look a bit silly due to their design, I would have preferred rounded knobs such as the volume control. Keeps the aesthetic looking better with rounded knobs but finding the perfect amp in this price range is a mission in itself so I can live with it. That's the loss for one star since it isn't the perfect design. Overall I am happy with my purchase and as always Cructhfield is great to purchase from.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Very pleased

MusicL from New York on 12/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connecting to my old turntable and speakers was easy. The sound is very good. It is so great to hear my old LP's again.

Pros: Easy of connection. Wonderful sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

so far so good

rsg from Massachusetts on 12/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent after a few weeks. Driving monitor gold 50 speakers: loud, clear, full, rich tone. Simple to operate, lots of inputs. I'm delighted with it

Pros: sound, reasonable price, fine remote

Cons: so far, so good

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds great, fits my needs

Tim from Richmond, VA on 12/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think for the price, this unit is really great. When my 90's receiver stopped working, I started researching what's available these days and quickly settled on this model. I got my old receiver working again after replacing a few capacitors, but I'm going to keep my new one because I like it better. The 1st thing I decided was to get an Integrated Amp, and not a Receiver. I don't listen to the radio, nor do I have an interest in surround sound, 4k passthrough, etc. etc. I just want something to take audio signals and pump them through my speakers, and this fits the bill perfectly. There are cheaper models that include AM/FM, etc., which makes me question the quality on the inside. With this unit, all of the price goes towards audio amplification, and I think you get what you pay for. One feature that I did want was a subwoofer output. This model has that feature which is great, although I wish there were some controls for it. The crossover isn't adjustable and is set at 100 Hz. Although it would be nice to have a control for the cutoff, it does function just fine as is. I also learned what Bi-Wiring is when researching these things, and since I have compatible speakers I went ahead and set it up that way. I don't know if there's a difference, but it can't hurt. Currently I have "A" powering the woofers, and "B" powering the tweeters. One thing that's missing is a small light on the volume knob, so you can glance at it and easily see where the volume is set to.

Pros: Sounds great, Optical Audio input, Sub output, Bi-wire capable, speaker terminals accept banana plugs

Cons: Difficult to see where the volume knob is set, no adjustment for sub output crossover, phono pre-amp cannot be switched off, so you can't use those inputs with your own pre-amp (effectively losing 1 set of inputs).

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

delighted

DennisC from New York on 12/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited a long time to replace my early 70's Dynaco amp and pre-amp, this time hoping to find an integrated unit that would give me accurate sound reproduction with a hint of warmth. The Yamaha does this better than I expected. In addition, the loudness contour control is a welcome and useful feature that is missing from so many amps. Big plus in my mind. Set up was very easy and operation is even easier. I am delighted. By the way, I am driving my old Dynaco A-25 speakers with his Yamaha.

Pros: great looking unit that is easy to set up and sounds fantastic. The loudness contour is a great feature that works incredibly well.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Combo For The Yamaha CD C-600

Don W. from New York on 12/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was so Impressed by my purchase of the Yamaha CD 600 player that I said to myself could it sound any better to buy the Yamaha A-S301 Integrated Amp. I contacted Crutchfield to talk to a professional.....he asked what I would be using it for and told him for the CD's, My Turntable and Ipod....He said it would be a perfect match....He was Right! It took the sound to another height.....especially my IPOD which brings the sound equal or better than the CD's Quality...Made my Micro-Seki Turntable bring out it's best also.

Pros: Nice Quality For $$ Plenty of Power Treble, Bass and Balance work nicely....Great Marriage For the Yamaha CD C600..Remote control for this unit works and operates my CD Player Also

Cons: Printing is Small For Controls...just wish that Yamaha would have thought of people that wear glasses

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Amp for the money!

Dana from Massachusetts on 10/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, crisp sound! I just purchased this to replace a problematic NAD and I'm blown away for the price. I'm using it to run Paradigm speakers on A and Cambridge Soundworks on B. I couldn't be happier with the sound! Accurate, rich, detailed, and extremely clean. I love that there's no extraneous bells and whistles - all I needed and wanted was a quality amp to run a CD player and 2 sets of speakers and this fits the bill perfectly. Another reviewer stated he returned this to get an NAD - good luck! While not quite as 'warm' as the NAD, this Yamaha is more accurate and cleaner. Hopefully it will be more reliable than my NAD. My NAD has been in for repair 3 times in 3 years for failing solder joints and bad pots, and the problems just keep coming. Every time one gets fixed, a new problem pops up. I was sick of going three weeks at a time without a stereo while repairing the NAD. This Yamaha costs less than I've spent in repairs on my NAD.

Pros: Great clean sound. Really nice simple interface. Love the variable loudness control.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good but not great

Jim H from Virginia on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha certainly puts out a clean, flat sound and drives my Klipsch reference bookshelf speakers adequately, it's lacking that certain something -- warmth, for lack of a better term. I have a Cambridge amp of similar specs which to my ear is much brighter and punchier.

Pros: Everything works as expected. Very straightforward.

Cons: Just kind of blah somehow.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 17 found this helpful

Great product

Joe from Arizona on 9/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned Yamaha audio equipment in the past and already had a Dennon surround receiver for the theater room and was looking for a 2.5 system just for music and better TV sound in the family room. The sound is crisp and clean. Very happy.

Pros: Good solid construction, good sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sounding simple integrated amp

Fretboarder from Seattle, WA on 8/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a good sounding integrated amp to drive some high quality bookshelf speakers with a sub-woofer out. I've had several Yamaha components in the past so chose the AS-301. I couldn't be happier. Simple controls, great sound, and a great price. For under $500 this integrated amp is a great buy.

Pros: Easy to use, sounds great, sub out, no need for phono pre-amp, great price.

Cons: Could be smaller, takes up lots of cabinet space.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great unit

MusicGirl from Sterling, Virginia on 6/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good model with all the features i need. Great sound given the price & easy to set up. Nice metal finish.

Pros: Basic features on a clean interface. Lots of ports of different types for setting up the system. Rich tone.

Cons: Typical black-on-black buttons, with tiny labels on a black background are hard to read. Larger, heavier footprint than unit I replaced. Buttons & labels on the remote are also tiny, & all the same shape, so you can't discriminate "by feel"

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Decent amp, but not warm enough

MikeF from San Clemente, CA on 6/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp has nice controls, good power/punch, but is lacking the richness and warmth of my old Luxman amp I am sadly having to replace. I sent it back and ordered the NAD 326bee. Crutchfield customer service has been amazing as always in both discussing/analyzing the shortcomings of the amp, recommending the NAD and handing the return. I'm waiting on the NAD to be delivered in the next few days.

Pros: controls / looks

Cons: warmth / richness

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

great value

joepa2 from Arizona on 4/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound for a reasonable price. Hooked up to my Linn bookshelf speakers-not quite audiophile quality but pretty damn good.

Pros: value,clean sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Sound Quality!

Rick from Illinois on 4/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying the Yamaha A-S301's sound quality for zone 2 purposes. It replaced a rather "long in the tooth" but always reliable Onkyo M-282 that was begining to sound a little "flat." The Yamaha's overall clarity, definition, channel separation and soundstaging for the price makes it a winner in my book.

Pros: Great sound quality with plenty of clean power for my purposes. Functional "old school" look.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Clean quality

Carl from Florida on 4/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was in the market for a nice amp .. Tried 2 in the same price range and took them back ,, Got this Yamaha and I am Very happy & pleased with it .. First off - being a musician & knowing a thing or 2 about sound ,, all the other amps I looked at & tried had only bass & treble controls .. For this kind of $ it better have sound controls.. This amp has the "Loudness Control" however - it's high tech control that controls mid-range with swooping dynamics controlling mid lows , mids & high mids with just a slight turning of the knob .. This amp was built to produce clean quality sound with no frills and they nailed it !! If I didnt have it bi-amp'd I would have gone for the 90 watt model .. It looks stealthy & bad. Love this amp !

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S301

David F. from Tennessee on 3/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was not disappointed. Clean sound. Plenty of power. Perfect replacement for my 1980 vintage 100 watt per channel Pioneer amp.

Pros: Looks good. Fits my space requirements.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great amplifier

Adi from Pennsylvania on 12/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just fine. Clear signals, and it has a bi-wiring option, so high and low frequencies can be separated for better sound quality.

Pros: High quality. Bi-wiring.

Cons: A little big and heavy.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Solid product

Sabian V from California on 12/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo amplifier! I trust yamahas products so I pulled the trigger on this one. I hooked it up to a pair of floor standing speakers and wired them bi-amplified. It produces plenty of power and has a simple layout and design. I don't listen to the radio and not into 5.1 surround with dsp so this unit was great for my needs without paying for a bunch of features I won't use. It also has a nice " pure direct " button that allows for an unfiltered signal to be played thru it. I'm an electronic music engineer so having a clean signal for stereo listening is very important.

Pros: Good power, simple functions, reliable manufacturing

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

TOP