Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha A-S701

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC (Black)

MFR # A-S701BL

Yamaha A-S701

Yamaha A-S701

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC (Black)

MFR # A-S701BL

71 reviews
View this product

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adding this to my Atmos system is the same feeling I got when I put turbos on my vette. I'm pretty sure the neighbors don't like me anymore.

Pros: Everything

Cons: I didn't buy this sooner

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

cool

Crutchfield customer from Nottingham, MD on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great and doesn't get too hot. i have 4 polk audio speakers. my old receiver would get too hot to touch.

Pros: sounds great, stays cool.

Cons: none yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Winchester, VA on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp! I wanted a true amplifier without all the bells and whistles. The build is bulletproof and designed to last a lifetime with the highest quality components. Glad I chose this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Choices

Crutchfield customer from Battle Ground, WA on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems like a quality product worth the money.

Pros: Lots of power.

Cons: Larger than most receivers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Mantua, OH on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to operate and connect related equipment to. Sure pleasure for everyday use. Provides the everyday Joe with a high end quality product for a very resonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, AR on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with this amp. Sound is very clean and has plenty of power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Guest from Mount Solon, VA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bad !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Valley Stream, NY on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid, solid, and simply solid for listening to tunes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound at a great price

Terry from Yorktown, VA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this as an early Christmas present for my husband to replace another Yamaha amplifier that was showing its age. It does exactly what it's designed to do, the set up was simple and it sounds great. We're both professional musicians and care deeply about hearing the entire frequency range, and this fits the bill. He plays bass, so the subwoofer output was a must. We already had some good speakers, including a Bose subwoofer, but ended up buying a new pair of Klipsch bookshelf speakers to take full advantage of the power of this amplifier. We're both in our 60s, so it will probably be the last amp we ever need to buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amp-ed up

Crutchfield customer from Ridgefield, CT on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Team was very helpful in selecting the right amp for the room and not breaking the bank.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product Hands Down For The Money.

Paul from Lehigh Acres on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is outstanding. I purchased this to power a pair of loud speakers that required 100 watts per channel to power them. I am real happy at how it worked out. I use this in a system to play vinyl albums. This A-S701 replaced a Marantz pm5005, which is a great amp with more efficient speakers. One other worthy note, I was using a Vincent PHO 700 outboard phono stage in my system, I thought let me see what the inboard phono stage can do on the A-701? Tested it out last night with several albums. My wife who is a good critic said the system sounds better. More detail and openness. Go figure.

Pros: Has all the features you will need in a powerful integrated amplifier. Very well made, and great sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

701 Yamaha with Klipsch Heresy 3 speakers

David from Scituate, MA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The 701 is the 801 without a USB. I bought an 801 for my computer and because of my Klipsch Palladium book shelf speakers. I was so happy with this arrangement I bought the 701 to use in my basic stereo with Klipsch Heresy 3 speakers my favorite all time speaker. The Heresy speakers were an acoustic speaker design to compete with the Acoustic Research 3A but was advertised as a center channel speaker for flanking Klipschorns. Until the ported version Heresy 4 the acoustic suspension version became the longest lasting design of this kind of speaker design. The Yamaha 701 is the perfect amplifier to drive them. If you own the version of Heresy 3 or earlier I highly recommend this 701 integrated amplifier.It is worth the investment for a basic stereo setup. My speakers never sounded better be it the 801 or the 701. I can't see that for me it is worth buying a $2000 amplifier when two of these can do the amplification as well or better in my setups.

Pros: Exceptional product for a basic stereo setup.very lifelike reproduction.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Very Happy

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deep power. Very clean. Drives my 1980 vintage speakers effortlessly

Pros: Good clean power Pure direct is awesome

Cons: No switched power on back Volume dial is hard to read

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect integrates amp for my needs. I use it just to play records,(no tv or games). For this it is a workhorse.

Pros: Great sound, ease of use, no bells or whistles just classic!

Cons: No light on the volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean power for the price point.

Pros: Great overall sound. Clean power.

Cons: No frills like Bluetooth but not a dealbreaker.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Escanaba, MI on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my home rack system,nice clean sound on cd's and vinyl,drives my old Jamo speakers like they were new! Highly recommended

Pros: Old style control switches, simple design,lots of power

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Performance

Patrick from Ashland, VA on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this unit as a Christmas gift from my fiancé as a 2.0 stand alone amplifier to replace a 12 year old Onkyo receiver. I can say that just from playing for a few hours, I can now hear tones form my small Klipsch reference bookshelf speakers that I never heard before. Very simple and straightforward amp with nicely laid out controls & remote. Bought the add on Yamaha tuner to listen to local radio stations & a nice compliment to the amp. Not all the busyness of a complicated receiver. Sometimes less can be way more. No complaints here-ok just one tiny small one......where in the world are the accessory AC outlets? Not one to control a tuner, CD player, etc. I've noticed that on just about every receiver/amp made today. I don't care for getting up to turn off/on the tuner, so I just leave it on and cut the amp off. Also use this with an Audioengine BT-1 streamer to listen to 256 kbps music through the iPhone & connected via optical cable, sounds truly amazing and what I call "hi res." Everything connected with Kimber Kable Ascent series cables, really nice stuff. Thank you Cruthfield & Yamaha.!!

Pros: Plenty of power, easy to use, solid build, excellent sound quality, simple remote.

Cons: Needs at least one switched AC outlet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Adjustable based on tone preference!

Tony from GUAM, USA on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So recently I have owned a few integrated amps, to characterize each----- Marantz WARM (a little too smooth) NADFLAT (no punch) CambridgeWARM and FORWARD (powerful) For the price range that I can afford, these are all good amps but just missed the mark for my ears. Cambridge CXA-80 was a close match to my listening preference but I still returned it. So I tried the AS701. When I first plug in and turned on, I was very disappointed. It was too forward and the tone was harsh! Then I adjusted the LOUDNESS button.I turned it first to (9PM) -10DB. The amp Tone totally changed..then I kept adjusting till I hit (6PM) -15DB. This was absolutely perfect to my ears... It sounded like a hybrid...as if Cambridge and NAD had baby.this amp is adjustable, and the LOUDNESS button is an excellent compromise. I am running JRiver media from my PC to a Cambridge DAC Magic Plus into the AS701 via Audioquest RCA cables. Speakers are Wharfedale Diamond 225 bookshelfs. The sound is very smooth, clean tight low end, and slightly laid back vocals..its AWESOME! Thanks as always to Crutchfield for making returns, and trial an error an option. Which helped me find the perfect match for my listening preference.

Pros: Very powerful and, adjustable (tone control) to meet individual preference

Cons: Must set LOUDNESS button to find tonal match for room acoustics

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Guest from Maurertown, VA on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 18 years we needed to retire an amplifier that has served us well. When we asked for a replacement that would serve us at least as good as the previous product, your sales person recommended the Yamaha A-S701. We actually paid less for this amp than the one which we had for 18 years and the Yamaha is doing a great job. We have a couple of big sound speakers that need to be appropriately driven to cover about 800 square feet of room. Very happy with the performance and the features and good pricing.

Pros: meets our expected needs per the review

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Clean Power

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, VA on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned a pair of Klipsch Heresy II loud speakers for over 30 years. I love the way the sound. They are paired with a pair of Klipsch RB-25 bookshelf speaker that I've owned for 15+ years. These 4 speakers are matched in efficiency and sound awesome together. 30 years ago, I Started with an Onkyo integrated amp. When it pooped out, I bought a Denon 100W that made the speakers sound even better. After 30+ years, needless to say I know what these speakers sound like. When my trusty Denon lost a channel, I looked for its replacement. I've said all this to paint a picture: This Yahama integrated amp has made these same speakers sound better than I've ever heard. In a word, this thing is clean. It is capable of deep warm lows, crisp mids, and bright highs cleaner than I've ever heard in my house. A word about the loudness knob; there have been mixed reviews about this amp and it's loudness knob. Every amp/receiver I've ever owned for home or car has had a loudness switch. On or off. All or nothing. I never knew there could be anything better. There is! Embrace the control you now have with variable loudness. It is counter intuitive so read the instructions, learn to use it, and this amp comes alive!! Final words; if you need 100 watts and this fits in your budget, buy it!!

Pros: Clean power, simple controls, awesome sound!

Cons: Haven't found one

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 11 found this helpful

Super Sound- Audiophile quality on a regular person's budget

Crutchfield customer from Saratoga Spgs, NY on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a NAD C-370 which developed an intermittent cutting out of the right B channel speaker. Two trips to the repair shop could not pin down the problem. The NAD had replaced a Yamaha integrated amp and based on the value for the money and the favorable reviews I was excited to give this amp a shot. It is powering Polk Signature 60s on the A channel and Polk LS 70s on the B. I am very pleased with the sound this amp/speaker combination is providing. I listen to anything from classic/southern rock to jazz and classical. The soundstage is detailed and the music is nuanced. I've heard kick drums and backing vocals on recordings that I have been listening to for decades. I don't blast the volume, but the detail remains even as I push the levels up to my upper limits and just beyond. The missing star does not speak to the amp's performance. I prefer the NAD means of switching A/B speakers on separately. To do so on this amp you have a small knob you turn. It seems like something that will eventually break. Going from A+B to a requires turning through B which means the A speakers turn off briefly before coming back on. Also, in one instance I made this adjustment to find that I was holding this little knob in my hand. It slid back on but coming off as it did was a disappointment. The knobs also appear to be plastic. This is such a classy looking unit. Aluminum/metal knobs would have been a great way to complete the "package." Recommended!!

Pros: Sound quality. Presence, detail, stereo separation are all excellent. Quality of sound remains even at moderately high levels of volume.

Cons: A/B switching mechanism and plastic knobs.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great Amp, Loads of Power

Wayne Fields from St Augustine, FL on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There so many things I like about this amp. It generates ample power for my speakers. Separation is amazing. I have a simple 2.2 system, so the simplicity of the amp fits perfectly. CD Direct is a great feature. I've owned it for almost two years and feel as thought I've bought my last amp.

Pros: Style, simplicity, power, separation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Like seeing the face of God

Daniel from Norristown, PA on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha A-S701 is a stunning piece of hardware with flawless sound and nearly indefatigable power. I plan to couple this with bi-wired Klipsch RP-600M bookshelf speakers, but for right now I'm using it only with Beyerdynamic DT-990 PRO (250 ohm) open-back studio headphones (Sony MDR-7506 listening was uninspired, which I'm attributing slightly to lower impedance--seriously, there's no comparison between the two). Literally any discernible distortion or hiss is an indication of flaws in either my connectivity or turntable--problems I'm attempting to fix with higher quality RCA cables and a new ground cable. (My turntable is a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon with an upgraded Ortofon 2M Blue cartridge.) The "loudness" feature is incredibly helpful if you can't listen at high volumes regularly. I live in an apartment, so low-volume listening is a necessity; being able to compress the sound at low volumes improves the enjoyment of playback so I won't struggle to hear softer music without bothering the neighbors. The Pure Direct feature will probably be of greater use when I finally add speakers: the goal of that feature is to keep sound "flat" so it's produced as accurately as possible (it disables the equalizer). With headphones, disabling Pure Direct, adjusting the loudness to around -15db or less, and adding the equalizer to fine-tune playback produces turntable sound at almost CD-quality.

Pros: Flawless sound, powerful, stylish, sturdy, indefatigable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Swanville, ME on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amplifier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Clean crisp sound.

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, FL on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built, good features, excellent soundstatge. Yamaha continues to make fine products.

Pros: Just a fine intergraded amp.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, GA on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one superb piece of audio equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Ypsilanti, MI on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as described. Thanks for the help Crutchfield for determining the right piece of equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Jeanne from Pahrump on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The variable loudness control that Yamaha uses on their amplifiers is the only kind that makes sense. The reviewer that made this a con in his/ her review doesn't know how to use it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from West Richland, WA on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice.

Pros: Very clear sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very nice sounding amp.

Anthony from Oberlin, OH on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying the build quality of this amp is excellent. It is well constructed with no cheap plastic parts. The controls are very responsive. I've only had this unit for about a week but I can see definite improvement in the sound each day as it continues to break in. The sound stage is excellent, it produces a rich warm sound and stereo separation is right on. I particularly like the cd direct feature and the like having the choice of that or the pure direct mode. The subwoofer output at 100Hz is just right and definitely adds to overall sound quality when the sub is engaged. My only criticism so far is the loudness control (the reason for only 4 stars). I think this is a big waste and it does not produce the same effect as a traditional loudness control. The variable setting seems to muffle the sound rather than enhance it and it cuts off the midrange unnecessarily. I think Yamaha needs to rethink this one. Fortunately my sub fills in the low end even at low volume levels so I don't think I'll ever use the loudness control. That said, this is a fine amp overall, and I am very pleased so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Luthvle Timon, MD on 3/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Researched Integrated Amps for the better part of a year. Kept coming back to the A-S701 based on all of the positive reviews and being a fan of my previous Yamaha products. This Amplifier is Extremely well built and the sound reproduction is amazing! Most of my listening is through my computer via a external DAC. I also listen to a lot of CD's and the pure direct function makes me feel like I am in the studio as the music is being recorded! I am powering a pair of Klispch Rp-280f's and they sound even better vs. the previous AV receiver I was using. Would highly recommend this amplifier.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Akron, CO on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. I've had a pair of Martin Logan speakers for years and now I finally have an amp that can drive them to their potential.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

C. Wilson, Frisco, Tx. : This amp is just what the Doctor ordered...

Steven from Frisco, TX on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding amplifier. I am upgrading my system from an A/V setup back to a true stereo for all my CD's and records. I am powering a pair of Polk Audio TSi500 speakers, bi-wired with 12 AWG speaker cable with banana clips. I have been very happy with the Polks, but I felt there was more in the speaker. This Yamaha amp does exactly what it is supposed to do and delivers clean, uncluttered power to the speaker. Now the speakers sing like they are supposed to. My wife came home from work and all she had to say was WOW! My cd's have never sounded better, and the Pure Direct feature on this amp delivers what is on the recording, good or bad. The amplifier does not produce a lot of heat and has the power to rattle your windows if that is your thing. I have put the A-S701 through it's paces with Dark Side of the Moon, Green Grass and High Times Forever, B.W. Stevenson, Joni Mitchell, and Little Feat. The vocals coming through my speakers now are pristine and the stereo separation is excellent. If you are looking for an integrated amplifier, do not rule out this puppy. It works for me.

Pros: Pure Direct and CD Direct

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product - very clear sounds and lots of volume. Sounds great at low as well as at high volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome amplifier

Ron from Mesa, AZ on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I throughly Pleased with this product/purchase. This is a replacement of my old Sansui integrated amp for 37 years. The music/sounds that this Yamaha is absolutely incredible !!

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

No regrets

Crutchfield customer from Midway, GA on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had either Onkyo or Denon AV receivers over the past 25+ years so i was reluctant to get a Yamaha plus I never had an integrated amp. Since i rarely utilized a surround system setup but instead played music through my floor speakers and subwoofer i opted for the much simpler IA setup. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least. I still use it for TV but my music sounds incredible. No regrets at all!!! I love the Yamaha and how simple it is to set up. I know there are far superior units but for the money i cant see anyone being disappointed. I also added a bluetooth receiver and ipod dock to it making it perfect for my needs

Pros: Simplicty Great sound Nice bang for buck

Cons: Could use a light on volume knob The loudness feature seems irrelevant since the FLAT position is at max. You should be able to go beyond flat to get better sound at lower volume but dont let this scare you off

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from Trappe, MD on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised by the actual size and weight of the unit. It is solid and serves my music listening needs quite well.

Pros: Solid solution

Cons: None - yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

crutchfield and yamaha are where it`s at

bill from Syracuse, NY on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i`ve had fine equipment for many years and my system has always sounded great! being a musician i want great sound! i`ve had it before and now, with this yamaha A-S701 amp it sounds even better. i love the pure direct, cd direct and loudness controls. great, clean sound with plenty of power. as a bonus, the amp is a great looking unit(i got the silver version). marshall is great and helped me through every step along the way. very professional and friendly service(we had quite a few laughs during our encounter)! all in all, a pleasant and enjoyable not to mention rewarding experience. bill g.

Pros: great sound, looks and service

Cons: none yet!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Simple sexy amp

Vincent from Sardis, MS on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, very clear, very loud, well worth the money!!!

Pros: Very simple.

Cons: Why do they not have tape loops for EQ anymore???

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fidelity and Power

Nicholas from Ransomville, NY on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This integrated amp is amplifier first, integration second. Yamaha brings the perfect balance of controls paired with excellent audio quality. I use this amp to power my Polk RtiA9 towers (biamped) which are quite power hungry, the 701 never waivers, never runs out of oomph, and maintains clarity even at high volumes. I am absolutely pleased with this amplifier. For those who are curious as I was, the 701's DAC is a Texas Instruments PCM9211 (24-Bit, 216-kHz capable of 24-Bit, 96-kHz output).

Pros: Excellent sound quality, plenty of power, very well engineered audio controls, good DAC (not advertised by Yamaha, but present)

Cons: The volume dial indicator is back (on black), so it becomes impossible to see from where I sit. A future iteration should have an LED light indicator.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

13 of 13 found this helpful

Sound Investment

Thomas from Hilo, HI on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was upgrading a twenty year old system (Denon receiver, Technics carousel CD player, Technics speakers) and decided to go with an integrated amp instead of a receiver, since I hardly ever used the tuner function. I wanted something where power would never be an issue, and which would support a CD player, turntable and digital broadcasts. The Yamaha A-S701looks like it will serve me well for the next twenty years.

Pros: More power than I'll ever need, classic looks, quality build.

Cons: Prices have gone up this century.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent even with demanding speakers

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For driving AR-9's, which are 4 ohm tower speakers, the Yamaha A-S701 is even better than the Yamaha M-80/ C-80 it replaces; which when the 80 series were new cost many times as much.

Pros: Clean and dynamic

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Sounds as good and clean as it looks!

Crutchfield customer from Forest Park, IL on 9/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a solid quality amp. It is considered entry level, but it's all I'll ever need. 100watts, any amp delivers 100w, but this one is very clean compared to my AV receiver. I ordered the Silver model and looks amazing. Love the vintage look and simplicity. Using a Pair of Monitor Audio Bronze 2 speakers and a SVS PB-1000 Sub. Weird Combo, but it's what I like.

Pros: 100 watts of Clean power No useless features Digital inputs Sub Preamp Out

Cons: Plastic EQ knobs. I would have paid a little more for stainless steel knobs.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Thrilled with my purchase

Jeff from USA on 9/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is just what I was looking for. Plenty of power and great detail and dynamics. I gave up on a 35 watt integrated because I found myself wanting to turn up the volume and there was nothing left from the amp. From Clapton to Steely Dan and Diana Krall, everything I play performs nicely. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent amp

Leigh from Highland, CA on 8/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I searched for amps for months. I finally decided on this one and Im very pleased with my choice. I didn't buy it here and Im sorry Crutchfield. If you buy this amp, You wont be disappointed. It sounds excellent and enough power for my speakers. It needs broken in but out of the box it sounds fine. I do hope it lasts.

Pros: Has all the inputs I need Plenty of power for my Klipsch RF-82 speakers Love the silver face

Cons: The only con is the volume control. The volume doesn't start coming in till about 1/4 turn of the control There is no light on the volume control and its hard to see the position its in

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701 Integrated Amplifier

Steve from Eureka, CA on 5/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Yamaha A-S701 to replace a Denon AVR-1613 home theater receiver for the simple reason that I missed RCA and phono inputs, and hated having to jump through multiple menus just to adjust the tone controls! I am absolutely blown away by how great this amplifer sounds!! My first test was Carol King's "Tapestry" through my Onkyo C-7030 cd player. This is not a particularly good-sounding recording, or at least it didn't sound all that good until I played it through the Yamaha. The piano and vocals come across so well through this amplifer; in other words, Carol King sounds like...Carol King!! The turntable preamp also sounds excellent, breathing new life into my ADS turntable. I am running this amplifer with two Infinity Reference R162 bookshelf speakers and a Sunfire 10-inch powered sub. It has so much power that I have never had to turn it past 11 o'clock to fill a large great room with sound. For those sitting on the fence about going from a noisy home theater receiver back to cleaner two channel stereo....don't put it off any longer!! You will not be disappointed with this super clean sounding amplifier. I use this amp mainly for CD and vinyl. I am also amazed at how good the built-in DAC sounds with my Sony Blu-Ray player using the coxial input. The Sony DAC sounds terrible next to the Yamaha's. All in all a truly audiophile-grade amplifer at a very reasonable price!!

Pros: Very powerful amplifer that makes music sound like music. Very simple design with no menus to jump through!! It sounds excellent with or without the direct mode.

Cons: None. Contrary to what other's have said, the plastic knobs do not feel cheap.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After all the glowing reviews I frankly expected more from the Yamaha A-S701. It does everything competently but is under powered. It replaced a Denon integrated amplifier near the same price range I'd had for thirteen years. Compared to the room filling crystal clear sound with so much power I never had to turn the knob past one quarter for CD's, the Yamaha offers less brilliant, non-room filling sound, and needs to be turned almost to one half to achieve that.

Pros: Decent sound, plenty of jacks for all your components

Cons: Under powered, CD Pure and Direct settings do not improve the sound, poor power cord that doesn't snap in solidly, no additional outlets for other components, cheap feeling knobs

Crutchfield response on 4/11/2017
We're sorry you're disappointed with your amp. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

7 of 15 found this helpful

Left AND Right

Christian from Brooklyn, NY on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ever since I bought a Sound Bar from Crutchfield for my Home Theatre needs (can't recommend this switch enough), my A/V receiver has been an over complicated annoyance. Sure it was beautifu, had a million inputs and did everything and the world (come pick it up, it's yours), but it was like the circus came to town and what I really wanted was pure stereo left and right for my turntable, reel-to-reel and, yeah, CD player. This one is perfect. Super perfect. Going strictly stereo? Look into this series. The minimalist design is lovely. Great tactical knob feel. Sounds amazing. Extremely happy. The unit is deep and wide enough to put a turntable on. I do wish the matching Yamaha CD player came in silver faced. Apparently there is one but it is a Japanese only model. It would be nice to have them match.

Pros: Uncluttered, minimalist design (in terms of knobs and buttons and lights) Powerful stereo sound Sufficient inputs (including optical) Outputs for tape recording

Cons: No silver faced matching CD player available in USA Yamaha Bluetooth module seems to be EOL'd.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

DOUGLAS from Campobello, SC on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great amp. compact but heavyweight quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Terry s from Tallahassee, FL on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the money

Pros: Very clean sound easy to hook up and use

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Welcome Replacement for My Old Receiver!

DC from Salem, OR on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Great replacement for my 32 year old receiver. Sound is crisp and flawless, with power to spare. Superb clarity and separation. And the tuning options are enjoyable to experiment with, producing welcome varieties through my music-dedicated setup.

Pros: Design. Appearance. Sound is crisp and flawless, with superb clarity, separation, and power to spare. Tuning options accurate and highly functional.

Cons: None yet discovered.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

robert from Providence, RI on 1/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very happy with this, enough power, crystal clear and beautiful. makes my music come alive, paired with my Klipsh reference speakers and my new Pro-ject turn table, I am loving vinyl all over again

Pros: more than enough power

Cons: wish I could hook up an equalizer to it, but alas, no line in/out

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Paul from Bothell, WA on 10/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A replacement for my 33 year old Tandberg 3012 Amp. All good so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701

Frank from Largo, FL on 6/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An absolutely outstanding sounding amplifier. Much better sounding than the Marantz I had. Electric guitar, cymbals & piano sound much more realstic. Much lower distortion up & down the line. Perhaps this shouldn't be surprising since Yamaha also makes musical instruments.

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Speaker terminals could be more rugged.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Powerful Amp

Tony from Miami, FL on 5/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful and clean. When playing a CD no noise in between songs just silent. I've pair the amp with a pair of Klipsch RP280F and a Sub R-110SW for a 2.1 system and its being very satisfiying how clean and clear the music sound. I've also added my old Technics SL-D1 turntable and no complains there also.

Pros: Powerful, Low distortion, simple

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE

Chuck67 from Dallas, TX on 4/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At the recomendation of a Crutchfield advisor, I purchased a Yamaha A-S701 integrated amp. After connecting my Polk Audio RTiA7 speakers, also from Crutchfield, and putting an Alan Jackson CD on, my first impression was WOW! This is first class sound all the way. The Yamaha has the punch to drive the power hungry Polks to perform like they were meant to. The high quality is evident when you get an amazing pure sound without even using the Pure Direct or CD direct functions. I recomend this product highly and it is definitely a good value.

Pros: Clean, pure sound. Plenty of quality power, Very well built

Cons: None that I have found

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Transparent

John M from Davenport, IA on 4/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to stay with 2.x stereo for music and TV, so I selected the A-S701 hoping it would have the ability to properly drive the 15" woofers in my Heathkit AS-1348 floorstanders. It does so without any strain or color that I can hear . I haven't noticed any extra heat from the heatsinks when played a bit loud. I agree that the volume control taper is a bit different, but it works fine. The mute button actually just lowers the volume, so switching to an unused input is my way to mute it. The round knobs are metal, the others are plastic, but the overall package seems solid. The DAC works well. There is the A-S801 for those who want USB audio and don't already have a good DAC for that. The non adjustable subwoofer output seems to roll off sharply at 100HZ. I also would like to have had switched ac receptacles on the back, and preamp to amp jumpers as well. If a universal remote is to be used it will need to be one of the "learning" types to pick up the power on/off and some other functions. Haven't yet tried the phono input. The 8/4 ohm speaker output selector does not use a series resistor, it is connected to the power supply. Overall, a worthwhile amp to own!

Pros: Conservatively rated clean power.

Cons: Nothing significant.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Very nice sounding.

Stereo 2 Channel from arlington heights, IL on 3/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very nice amp

Pros: I Like the separate treble and bass controls they adds nice rounded sound compared to pure direct. You can add Bluetooth capabilities and it works great.

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing Sound for Phono and CDs

ChrisJS from scituate, MA on 2/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the Yamaha A-S701 to replace a vintage integrated receiver/amplifier. Decided on the A-S701 after reading reviews of this and other products with the over-riding need being to select a amplifier with an integrated quality phono input for our audiophile turntable and enough power for our large stereo speakers. The 100 watt output certainly does the job with ease and there is undetectable distortion even at very high volume. My wife listens to a wide variety of music including classical and opera. Our LPs have a new lease of life with this new amplifier. The "Pure Direct" and "CD Direct" options both enhance the listening experience, especially with CDs played on our Onkyo C7070, also from Crutchfield. I did consider the Yamaha A-S801before purchasing the A-S701 but since the specifications were almost identical I went with the 701, and lucked out by buying a "Dent & Scratch" that was as new except for damaged Styrofoam packaging. I must admit to having put off the upgrade of our vintage receiver in the mistaken belief that older stereo equipment had a better tone with the turntable. But I stand corrected since, as when we upgraded the to the Onkyo CD player, there definitely is a major improvement in sound quality compared to the older equipment. Overall I am very pleased with the new Yamaha amp. The only things Yamaha might consider would be to make the USB 12V power take-off a universal outlet, and also adding at least one switched 110V out

Pros: Excellent sound quality for both LPs and CDs. Connects to TV for enhanced stereo sound. Good-looking minimalist design. Planty of power (100watts) for large floor speakers.

Cons: USB 12V power take-off is dedicated to 2 specific functions. This meant i was not able to connect my Blink directly to the USB power and needed yet another 110V outlet. At least one switched 110V outlet would also be appreciated.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Smart Investment

john from chicago, IL on 1/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is everything promised, and then some.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S701 Paired with Bowers and Wilkins 683 Floor Speakers

Ken from Connecticut from Milford, CT on 1/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased my Yamaha A-S01 at a nice discount from Crutchfield as a 'scratch and dent'. Well there was no scratches or dents. But the remote did look a little 'used' but not too bad and certainly worth the discount. As for the amp... I considered it an audiophile integrated amp, but I don't think this amp gets the love and respect from the audiophile community that it deserves. This is a very powerful amp that delivers clean sound with little to distortion***(see my comments at end). It also has a built in DAC so it excepts optical and coaxial digital cables which, to me, is a huge plus since all my music is digitally streamed. I paired this Yami up with a Chromecast Audio optical dongle and it works great! Very high-fi and way better than bluetooth. This amp also has a RCA-Line sub level output which I think is also a big plus. The A+B speaker select allows you to run your speakers bi-amped--- but I choose not to. If you are looking for a high power amp that can move big speakers to shake the house... this is a good choice. But don't get me wrong, this Yami performs awesome at low volumes also. ***my only complaint is that at very high volume there is noticeable distortion to the mids in piano solo songs.

Pros: Power Retro Look Digital Inputs

Cons: No meters Piano Mids distortion at high volume

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

!!! Yamaha A-S701 Integrated Amplifier

Norm from Colorado on 12/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well engineered product, clear powerful sound. Another excellent Yamaha product and I own several.

Pros: Clear detailed sound, excellent control layout, sufficient power to drive my speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Very pleased with my purchase

Angel D. from North Carolina on 12/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to build a solid entry level audio system to play music on. I am a newbie at this but after reading a lot into the different types of audio systems, much of which was on the crutchfield website, I decided on this integrated amplifier. I have nothing to compare it to, but i am very happy with the purchase. I would also recommend getting the Yamaha YCB-11 so you can connect your Bluetooth device (e.g. iPhone) wirelessly and play music.

Pros: Bluetooth connectivity (with Yamaha adapter).

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Very Happy

EdgeTrigger from Charlotte, NC on 6/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not had the Amp long, but so far I love it. 100 watts per channel @ 8 ohms 20-20,000 hertz, real power, not a bogus 4 ohm 1k rating. I have it connected to a pair Polk Monitor Series 75T's 275 watts, 90 db sensitivity and a power sub. It is hooked to my computer through a Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium board using the optical connection, so all digital for music to speakers. Sounds crystal clear with great low, mids and highs. Cranks up insanely loud, shaking my the whole room, but no distortion at all. Love the old school look with modern tech inside. Exactly what I have been looking for.

Pros: Great sound quality, very powerful, old school look and fell, optical links

Cons: high price, plastic knobs (wish I could have paid a extra $50 and had a metal knobs installed)

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

clean, but

Mike G from Hamilton,Virginia on 5/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was extremely excited about the purchase of the is new Yamaha amp. My Denon DR 685 gave up and I was thrilled that Yamaha was making a two channel amp. Let me say that the Yamaha is a quality piece. It is impressive visually. The features of this amplifier was exactly what I was looking for. My Denon had the same power rating the THD on the Yamaha is better so whats not to like? Well I can say that this Yamaha is very crisp and accurate in my opinion. Where I am struggling with the Yamaha is on the bottom end. The bass is there but it does not carry. I know this sounds odd but if you sit close to my speakers ( NHT ST 4 towers) the bass sounds accurate and defined. The problem is when you get about 6-8 ft. in front of the speakers the bass almost seems to disappear. Being a bass player I am probably a little sensitive to this but even my friends noticed the same issue. This was definitely NOT the case with the Denon. I like the Yamaha, I feel a little disappointed in its bass response. I am not sure if the Yamaha is accurately representing the bass or if the Denon was exaggerating it. I know what I like and I prefer the Denon as it sounds a little warmer to me. Another issue is the volume control. Nothing really happens until the volume is a minimum of a quarter engaged. I enjoy my music at high volume levels and I listen to most of my music at the halfway point of the volume control dial. I find this calibration odd. The power is there, you have to crank it to hear it.

Pros: High quality looks and features. Crisp highs. CD direct and Pure direct are interesting Silver finish looks great!

Cons: Volume control calibration is odd. Would also benefit from an indicator light on the volume control. Bass response is disappointing with a flat setting. I guess that why they have bass and treble settings? Only had for a few weeks but at this point in time I prefer the warmth of my Denon Dr 685 receiver. The Yamaha does sound great just different. It is growing on me.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Respect

Desert Dawg from Phoenix, AZ on 3/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had for a few weeks and very pleased. Good to see manufacturers focusing once again on two-channel amps. Drives two indoor Bowers & Wilkins 685's and two outdoor Definitive Technology AW-6500's simultaneously. I also consider a similar unit from Rotel (RA-12) that has a 5 year warranty, but went with Yamaha because of a slightly better DAC, sub out and more juice. Also considered a higher priced Onkyo (A-9070) with more juice and dual DACs, but they refuse to sell the silver version in the U.S. market (and Crutchfield strangely discontinued the model...)

Pros: Silver finish; Texas Instruments 32bit/192kHz DAC (according to Yamaha customer service 2/15); beefy capacitors, sub-out

Cons: Knobs don't have a quality feel; only two digital inputs; only a 2 year warranty

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Awesome Amp

Franklin from Pennsylvania on 1/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this amp lots of power driving polk tsi200s i did a lot of research before this purchase. i own a NAD 326 after listening to both i prefer the yamaha 701 better highs and i also own a yamaha as 500 this 701 is a huge stepup like the detachable power cord 100 watts power someof the buttons are metal such as the volume knob and input selector overall nice amp very happy i tried all types of music all sounds very good

Pros: Power at 100 watts, metal knobs ,optical input ,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

yamaha a-s701

mark from fairfield,ca 94533 on 1/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have two pairs of speakers hooked up to unit and it sounds great! Music from the unit seems to have more clarity.

Pros: Handsome unit that produces great sound.

Cons: None the I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

TOP