Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha A-S801

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC, optional Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # A-S801SL

Yamaha A-S801

Yamaha A-S801

Stereo integrated amplifier with built-in DAC, optional Bluetooth® (Silver)

MFR # A-S801SL

84 reviews
View this product

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Great product, sound quality, design and features make it an amazing option at that price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

HUGE upgrade -

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was using a Pioneer receiver from the mid 90's rated at 100 watts / channel. I mainly stream AmazonHD from a desktop, had been using a Schiit Modi 3 DAC with USB input. I wasn't sure if going to a modern Integrated amp would really make much difference but decided to give it a shot. Grabbed one from the scratch & dent outlet, no scratches & no dents, just a bit of damaged styrofoam packing as far as I can tell. Got it set up & connected & BOOM!!! What a difference - much cleaner, more detailed sound & a lot more bass than with my old receiver. Cleaned up the high end also. A tip if you stream from Windows to the amp without an external DAC: even after successfully installing the Steinberg driver I wasn't getting higher resolutions from Amazon. It took a lot of digging to find a couple of settings that need to be tweaked in the control panel & driver settings, otherwise it was limited to 16 bit / 44.1 khz. As always I got very fast delivery from Crutchfield - can't say enuf about them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yahoo I Get To Listen

Crutchfield customer from Port Richey, FL on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been buyingYamaha Integrated amplifiers Since 1971. I bought my Klipsch La Scala's in 1988 and have used three different Yamaha Integrated Amplifiers on them. The 801 is by far the greatest sounding amplifier with the greatest power.The colors of tone quality sparkle with crisp clarity that give me an incredible sound stage. Mixed with an extreme dynamic range the increased passion of the same old music has became more engaging than ever before. Great bass. Which was lacking in some of the older Yamaha's. I bought my La Scala's new but they have never sounded this good ever, till now, with the 801. In fact they sound so good that I am now buying an SVS SB-2000 PRO sub to keep up with what the 801 has done with my La Scala's. Yahoo! I get to listen.

Pros: everything

Cons: nothing lacking

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Right on

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's what I was looking for and I am happy with it it brought those Polk speakers alive and I already have a hundred W Onkyo no comparison

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

rock solid amp

furtherwest from solana beach on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. I have a yamaha 5CD player running in thru "CD"; an NAD single CD player running in thru "optical," and my computer/phone running in thru USB. It is really easy to use. The USB/built-in DAC lets my computer sound great (playing Spotify or mp3s or internet). The build is very solid. It's heavy and looks tough. I play two large-ish bookshelf speakers and they sound fantastic. I have no doubt this would power larger speakers. I went thru a lot of system ideas (separates; DACs; streamers; all-that) before pulling the trigger and buying this. This is so versatile and nice that I've had zero regrets. One additional thing... it has a loudness knob and 'pure direct' and 'cd direct' and you don't need to use any of them, but they are fun to change up one in awhile to subtlety change the sound. If you're looking for a powerful, versatile, 2 channel amp to drive your system for a long-time, this is a great choice.

Pros: versatile; clean look and sound; solid power

Cons: none to note of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple two channel excellence

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Two channel heaven. For years I've been using surround sound receivers as the center of my music system. Because I'm mostly a two channel listener, it's always bothered me that I was using just a small percentage of the receiver. I though that if I bought an expensive receiver I would get both great two channel and multi channel sound. When you pay $2000.00 for a receiver you have high expectations. I had been using a Yamaha A-3020 I bought from Crutchfield years ago and have always been happy. This time around I decided to go back to two channel and forgo all the features I really haven't been using. The A-S801 is an excellent amplifier and sounds superior to my receiver. It only has what you need and meets my expectations and more. Very detailed and open soundstage from the internal ESS DAC. For computer audio you have to use the Yamaha Steinberg driver which uses ASIO. You also need a music player that supports ASIO for best results. I found MusicBee to work best so far. If you're looking for an integrated amplifier, and don't want to pay thousands more for Rotel or Parasound, which are excellent, I don't think you can beat this amp for the price.

Pros: Price/Performance Vintage Yamaha looks. Like an amp I had in the 80's. I have a silver one.

Cons: Some people have complained about the lack of an LED on the volume knob. I have to agree, it would be nice to see the volume level from a distance, but this is minor.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Replacement up to standard

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, MN on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is just what I needed after my old one was fried by a lightning strike which set fire to the house. It is exactly the same size, all the connections are in the same location, it is easy to use and the sound is even better than the the 17 year old one it replaced. I was ecstatic to fine a replacement to easily and quickly.

Pros: It is easy to connect, all connections are well marked. The fidelity is superb for its cost.

Cons: There are no tape decklocation marks, but there are sufficient clues to make connection understandable.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is by far the best stereo amp I've ever owned. I've always had Yamaha receivers in the past, so I'm familiar with the Yamaha sound. This replaces an ancient RX-497 which is still functioning fine, but I wanted something a bit better. I'm slowly putting together a new system since my old Boston Acoustics sub died after 20 years of service. In these times we spend a lot more time at home, and music has always been my first love. I loaded the drivers for the built-in DAC on my MacBook, not a complicated process, and music from iTunes has never sounded better -- the recent remaster of The Beatles White Album has some serious punch to it. CD's also sound great. I have not tried out the phono stage yet. I considered one of the lesser (cheaper) options, but in the end decided this one would be worth the additional expense. It does not disappoint. As always, buying from Crutchfield is a simple experience and the two day shipping is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

YAMAHA A-S801 ... Very Pleased

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a reputable Solid State Integrated Amplifier as an alternative to my TUBE Amps and TUBE Pre Amps. There were many top name choices. and, several that I really wanted. Since I had TUBE Gear already, I went for the "Natural Sound" that everybody say YAMAHA has. The YAMAHA A-S801 was the best choice for me. The A-S801 sounded "Bright", compared to my other TUBE Gear. > "Bright/Clean", not sure what to use to describe. Not the "warm sound" that are used to describe the "Marantz/Denon" Sound, that many prefer. I prefer the YAMAHA for listening/ watching YOU TUBE, or watching "TV/Cable"/Movies/DVD.. I guess it is that "Natural Sound " that makes the YAMAHA overall better than the TUBE gear for those. Was well worth the price, and, with Free Shipping from Crutchfield.. They made this a super deal.. Controls/knobs feel silky smooth to operate. The A & B Speaker selector is a cool feature, in that, you can have two pairs of speakers and try each, or, play both of them together. Very pleased with the YAMAHA A-S801.

Pros: "Natural Sound" is what I was "Looking for" > (Listening for) Control knobs feel smooth and precise. Built-in DAC for convenient Hook -Up. 100 Watts . A lot of Power.

Cons: Actually none.. Maybe.. Volume Control Knob is close to the Input Selector Knob. With both being easy to turn and being Silky Smooth, you can easily bump the INPUT Selector Knob when changing the volume. Actually, an Operator Problem. LOL NO METERS ... :(

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great integrated amp. The look reminds me of a Kenwood anodized silver amp I owned in the 70's. Minimalist controls and ez set-up. Great sound. The lack of bluetooth was initially off-putting, but Oliver hooked me up with and Audiengine B1 external BT (you give up one input, but there are plenty). Very happy overall

Pros: Great sound and look Easy to set up and operate Lots of inputs

Cons: No built-in bluetooth, but can add on

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was impressed with the integrated amp and it's ESS 32 bit Sabre DAC...Bluetooth through this system is pristine if the right equipment connected properly.... Spotify,tidal, iHeartRadio if premium member and running 320 kbits .... the optical cable toslink is great also

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

801 Yamaha integrated amp.

DLL from Scituate, MA on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a pair of the Klipsch Palladium 17 bookshelf speakers, now discontinued unfortunately. They were a high end design like the Klipsch Heritage line. I knew I had an exceptional set of these 3 way bookshelf speakers and they needed an exceptional amp to bring them out fully. The Yamaha amp is this amp,I have a large cd collection and I like to listen to my iPod Apple Music. The Yamaha 300 CD player I also bought for use with this amplifier. The combination of these components is exceptional. Yamaha is simply a phenomenal audio company. So is Klipsch. I have all the options I need for high quality listening in stereo. This is a system to build on. Paul Klipsch said we live mostly in the midrange in our listening experience but this amplifier reproduction is accurate in the bass response and treble. There is enough bass to satisfy me. I admit I am not a subwoofer fan. I don't feel I need one. Good bass needs very accurate reproductive. I hear it now with the 801.

Pros: Options and high end sound quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A most pleasant surprise....

Crutchfield customer from Larchmont, NY on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent value. Replaces some Adcom gear and is an upgrade in every way. As this is my first integrated amp after 40 years of separates I was a bit apprehensive (a lack of space was a factor) but Eddie T at Crutchfield made a great suggestion. It drives my old Apogee Centaur/subwoofer combo with ease. Tight, focused sound throughout the audio spectrum with superb dynamics. The Loudness function works well to adjust tonal balance for lower volume listening; for listening at higher volumes the Pure Direct and CD Direct functions eliminate various controls from the preamp circuit and deliver a little extra space and clarity through the Apogees. I've yet to "clip" the amplifier section at high levels. Plenty of inputs, the Phono stage sounds quite good with my JBE/Grace747/ShureV15 xMR. It is physically well made with good connectors. In all, I suspect one would need to spend many multiples of cost to gain appreciable improvements in sound quality.

Pros: Easy to set up and use, excellent sound quality at all volumes, versatility, remote control a nice addition.

Cons: Volume knob could be easier to read so you can see where it is "set". A clipping indicator would be nice, but then again it has enough power so that you'll be unlikely to need it unless the speakers are very inefficient and the room very large...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful Audio

Dustin from COLORADO SPGS, CO on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought to replace an 18 yr old high res JVC receiver. First, I love the way it looks - simple and functional. Next is the audio quality - wow! Crystal clear, crisp, warm, and bass is tight. I connect a desktop to it with optical cable and listen to Amazon Music HD and iTunes lossless files. Only regret is not buying earlier. As a remote worker this makes everyday brighter.

Pros: Sound, easy to hookup, looks great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Colfax, WI on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Amp!!! I did the reseach thing for couple of months. For me ... this amp has everything I was looking for. I have LP's, Cd's and 900gb of music so the built in DAC was one of the main selling points. I own a Yamaha home theater reciever and have been very happy with it. Give this amp at least 30 hours of burn in time ... I wanted to use the pure direct but was not getting much bass so I would turn that option off and the amp gave me the sound I was looking for. After a month of playing ... I just leave the pure direct on and love the sound I am getting out of my Polk Monitor 10b's that had the crossovers recapped last year. Yes, it would be nice to have a couple of peak meters and yes, the volume knob should of come with a LED on it but to me this amp is built to last. I have owned Kenwood and Onkyo amps before and loved both. I feel this 801 might be the last amp I will have to buy. The silver looks sharp. Ordering from here made it easy and it arrived at the house here in two days.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Incredible value for under $1000

Patrick from RUSHFORD, MN on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp does everything I need it to do. The built in DAC does a great job at making digital files on my computer sound incredible (connected by USB). That was the main option setting this apart from the competition. The amp has great power reserves and plays back music lively. The loudness control, once understood, does a great job of maintaining dynamics at any volume listening level. I primarily listen to vinyl and this has a MM phono preamp on-board, although I have yet to use it. Compared to the Yamaha AV receiver I had prior that was also rated 100w/ch (2 channels driven), this thing blows that out of the water for both clarity and power. It weighs nearly twice as much, which is largely attributed to the power supply that delivers that power. I fully recommend this amp to anyone that is looking for clean power to drive their speakers for music playback.

Pros: Onboard DAC with USB, Coaxial, and Optical Input. On-board preamp for turntables. Loudness control for dynamic listening at all levels of volume.

Cons: The volume knob has no lighted indicator to tell what volume level you are at. The notch is hard to see. Remedied with a small white piece of tape. That is my only gripe, and it is a small one.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great System for Classical Piano

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Nice. I'm a classical pianist, and listen primarily to classical piano and piano concertos. I was looking for a stereo system that could accurately reproduce these piano settings. I purchased this Yamaha A-S801 integrated amp, the Yamaha CD-S1000 cd player (very nice), a pair of Polk Audio LSiM703 speakers, and the Sennheiser HD 600 HiRes Headphones. I already own a Sony Subwoofer. I also subscribed to and connected Amazon's HD streaming audio via Yamaha's Steinberg USB Driver on a Windows 10 PC. This is an awesome setup for my purposes. Great realistic piano sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitely recommend

Crutchfield customer from New Boston, MI on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was shocked by all the details I could hear. Tone and loudness controls are a really good addition. Very powerful. Nice balanced sound. Very happy with purchase. Paired with Klipsch RP-280F.

Pros: Clarity, tons of power, looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Guest from Midddletown, NY on 10/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Idk if this will help a lot people, but you can directly connect the newer iPad pros with usb-c to the amp without downloading any software. Thought that was kinda cool. Other than that, the amp is great overall. Easy to switch between channels with the remote. Makes my speakers sound good. It's very large and wish it was slightly smaller to fit in my media stand, but not a big deal. I bought the Yamaha YBA-11 as well to play Bluetooth audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Integrated Amp!

Crutchfield customer from Beachwood, OH on 10/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great that I can play iTunes & audio from youtube music videos from my Apple laptop direct through my system with the Yamaha A-S801. The people I dealt with at Crutchfield were most knowledgeable & helpful. If you want good sound, don't try to save money by spending less on an amplifier.

Pros: Direct hook-up from laptop.

Cons: It would be nice to have some sort of a volume indicator level.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

na

bd from North Vernon, IN on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a really solid amp lots of power & headroom. I am really glad to be able to quickly adjust the sound. The direct button is what ya got is what ya got..good & bad ..i am running pc- ttable & yamaha bluray as source.. bp 10 s sounds like some of my old amps before surround sound ..So far so good

Pros: solid build --good clean power--jazz & open music are the best..This amp runs really cool as well..

Cons: volume control --fast -hard to see ---a bit congested with busy music

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Shoreline, WA on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cannot render any kind of expert opinion as far as performance parameters go. I will say it works for me. Running through Polk Rti a7s, I find you get a lot of bass at modest volumes.

Pros: Build quality; controls are smooth, generally good feel.

Cons: Remote quit being able to turn amp on and off although the remote volume control (more important) works well.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

This could be all the amp you ever need!

Crutchfield customer from North Andover, MA on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the A-S801 to replace my Harman/Kardon HK990 integrated amp, which died too soon. I needed power output close to the HK, phono, DAC, sub out and Rec In/Out. I was lucky enough to get a scratch/dent unit from Crutchfield (which in my case, incidentally, was neither scratched nor dented - everything was perfect) and saved about $175.00. But even at full price, this amp is a great performer. Phono section is clean and uncolored, the amp section drives my NHT Classic Three/CS-10 subwoofer with no problem at all, and the sound comes pretty close to the HK (which is something, since the HK has an outstanding power section). Source switching is clean, and the DAC is fantastic - it accepts the digital signal from my Sonos Connect, and the Sonos has never sounded better. Plus, the Rec In/Out terminals still allow me to digitally record my vinyl finds (though a tape monitor feature - while hard to find these days - would be welcome.) Last but not least, the classic Yamaha style looks great in my listening room. At this price, this amp is an absolute steal. Build quality is great, and the switches and dials all have a good, positive feel. It has lots of clean power for your 2.1 system, all the inputs you would likely need, and a great phono section.

Pros: Build quality is great; switches and buttons are robust and have great feel; amp section has plenty of power and a nice, warm sound; awesome DAC!

Cons: No tape monitor; LEDs and volume dial position can be difficult to see in bright ambient light;

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

David from Olympia, WA on 6/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the A-S801 after the failure of a Cambridge Audio CXA-60 integrated amp after eight days of use. Crutchfield was great about the exchange. The CXA-60 was probably faulty, but I did some research and learned that the nominal 4-ohm impedance of my Elac UF5 floor-standing speakers can dip as low as 3.2 ohms, lower than Cambridge recommends with any of their amps. I needed an integrated amp with a good DAC and 60-100 Watts of power that's comfortable with a low-impedance load. USB connectivity is a bonus since I don't currently stream music but it's there for future use. I read the many reviews at Crutchfield and Amazon, and decided to give the Yamaha a shot. I was a bit leery, since my last integrated amp purchase 20 years ago was also a Yamaha and it had an over-bright sound that didn't compare with the lower-powered Onkyo it replaced. I needn't have worried, the A-S801 is mellow and pretty refined. It's possibly not quite as revealing as the CXA-60 but it makes up for this in other arenas. It's got loads of power-I've got it set for 4-ohm speakers yet rarely turn the volume past 9 o'clock. Several reviewers say the 4-ohm setting is a power-robbing feature but I don't want to risk roasting another amp so I'm staying with it. The A-S801 is a good buy at $900. Are there more-refined, smoother-sounding amps out there? Sure, but not at this price with this set of features--you'd have to spend $1500 for something comparable. I'm happy with

Pros: Bullet-proof 27-pound construction, good power, good with difficult loads. Electric volume control--the knob moves when you use the remote. ESS Sabre DAC is good quality. Good sound quality, not overly-bright. Excellent features and sound for this price point.

Cons: Just two digital inputs (I added a $22 Amazon gizmo, the dSynic 3-port Toslink switch, which allows me to run three optical inputs into the single optical port). The Standby switch is funky, only controllable from the remote and it doesn't kick off when a signal is applied. CD Direct feature only works with the analog inputs, meaning you bypass the Yamaha DAC.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cardes

Crutchfield customer from Butler, PA on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for under 1k does all I need with my Polk lsim703. All though at high output it can get warm after extended time. Very good sound characteristics at high and low volume

Pros: Very versatile and powerful. Quality sound

Cons: Tuning and volume knobs hard to see position cause all black

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality!

Crutchfield customer from Gretna, LA on 6/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sounding powerful performer packaged in a classically elegant design with simple set-up and operation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent, but a minor caveat or two

Greg from Richlands, VA on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp for the performance, and I'll have to say it sounds fantastic--clear, clean, and powerful. To be fair, that's why I'm giving it five stars. Likewise, it delivers more than adequate power to my large Polk towers, so unless you're trying to power a stadium show, I doubt power will be an issue. However, after having lived with it for two months, I do wish it had two things--VU meters and more visible indicator lights. The on/off switch and source indicator are lighted, but only faintly. They're difficult to see, and if this is something you care about, it is a consideration. If you're looking for those glowy 70's-era aesthetics, this is not the amp for you. It's basically a black box with some knobs. Nonetheless, to my ears you won't find a better sounding, more powerful integrated 2-channel amp for under $1000. Although I use mine primarily for listening to vinyl and find the phono pre-amp to be more than adequate, I also think the DAC sounds very clean and detailed. You probably won't find the loudness feature particularly useful, but if you're looking at an amp that's this powerful, you probably don't listen at very low volumes anyway. I often listen to records using the "Pure Direct" bypass mode and find that even at low volumes the Yamaha sounds balanced and details without using the loudness knob.

Pros: Monster power, clean sound, very good DAC

Cons: Difficult to see on/off, volume settings

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great piece to build upon

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 5/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit for a few weeks now and I am very impressed with it. I'm running it with a pair of Polk Audio Monitor 10's. I intend to upgrade them at some point but I have an emotional attachment to them, plus I love the way they sound. I have a decent CD collection and that's always been the focus of my music listening. Along with CD's, I also have quite a few tracks saved on my PC and in recent times, I've found myself streaming quite a bit. So I wanted something that would maintain the sound of my speakers while also offering me some digital options to play music from different sources. This amp does everything that I want. It has the connections that I need but most importantly, the sound is beautiful. My speakers are full of life, even more so than they were before. What I love is that I don't have to use much gain to get volume. This amp gets very loud, very quick and my old Polks take it in stride. I also like that I don't have to adjust the tone controls much to tweak the sound to my liking. By comparison, I initially bought the Cambridge Audio CX080, a fine piece in it's own right. The sound signature though was a bit too warm for me. If all I listened to was classical or traditional jazz, the CA would have worked but my tastes are wide and varied so I needed something that could deliver a punch while also being clear and accurate at the same time. This amp does it. I believe this amp will serve me well even when i upgrade my speakers.

Pros: Powerful, Clear, Accurate. Offers modern connections.

Cons: No XLR connections.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

wonderful sounding amp

Crutchfield customer from Homer, AK on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. So happy with my new Yamaha. Pure, clean power with deep black silence in between, a pleasure to listen to. Seems to function effortlessly. Any reasonably efficient speakers will pair well, but it can definitely push the electrons. I will never be able to afford any of the big brothers in this line, but this amp provides a great value for your investment. You can easily spend many times the price of the 801, and be hard pressed to discern a equivalent increase in fidelity. If it had big VU meters, it would be close to ideal for me. Above average phono and headphone stages, but the cd direct setting is something very special. The soundstage in this mode is the best I've ever heard in person. Paired with new blue jeans cables and interconnects, 1990's Klipsch RF-3's, oppo 203 it can really sing.

Pros: Power Clarity Build quality Cd direct amp setting Looks fantastic Design appeals to my Luddite heart Outstanding value

Cons: No VU meters

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Hang on

Crutchfield customer from Oswego, NY on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My second one love them I can make things fall off the shelves and walls

Pros: Great CLEAN power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent AMP

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, I have a R-S500 Receiver which is great , but decided to upgrade to a separate amp. I did some research regarding the High - Low Impedance switch setting. I have Martin Logan Motion 16 speakers with a 5 OHM impedance. According to the owners manual the impedance switch should be set to low, without getting technical you don't need to do this with this amp. I hooked everything up and WOW what a difference! Crutchfield delivered promptly but I wish they had not used the original Yamaha packaging since I was interrogated by my wife as to what I bought. All in all a great purchase !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Teton Village, WY on 4/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clean sound , plenty of power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big quality intergrated amp.

Charles from Miami, FL on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Guess I'm old school not wanting a home theater system. This was the Best choice available. I Wanted a power amp with 120 watts x 2 after loosing a channel in one of mine. This was close and priced well. I actually fixed my power amp finding I opened a fuse inside when I lost a speaker. I'm running this amp off a NAD preamp and it's running 4 Martin Logan bookshelf speakers. Since it has a sub out I have it running a JL sub. It would make a wonderful stand alone system just like that. 4 bookshelf speakers and a sub. 100-120 watts per side could run many tower types. I ran a small pair of Polk towers with it for a bit. I hav Ran it all day not even warm. It's a nice simple two channel 4 speaker amp with a sub out. Built in DAC is probably nice but I'm running an external DAC/streamer for that. The Bluesound. Seems most amps with DACS have the same problem being up to date. Modern features like LPF and HPF and a preamp Out would have been nice and only a single phono input. But the pure direct modes makes it work like a pure power amp like I wanted but it would make a system by itself. My photos shows it with the ML speakers it's driving. The Bluesound DAC. Turntable. 240 watt power amp and older Klipsch. Would recommend to a friend.

Pros: Good power more is always better. Nice audiophile specs reputation and features. Good inputs outputs.

Cons: none noteworthy

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amp of a lifetime

Axel from Laurel, MD on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing puts out more power than I know what to do with, I wanted an amp that I can grow with, right now I have some Klipsch RP-600M bookshelf speakers but in the future I may want to upgrade to floor standing models. I do not think I will ever outgrow this amp. It has every type of connector I could want.

Pros: Power, clean sound, connection types

Cons: Bluetooth should be built in like on the receiver. VU meters would be nice. the Volume knob needs some sort of light so you can see that you are turning it up when you use the remote.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Donna from Rosemount, MN on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this product primarily for listening to CDs and vinyl. I have been using it for less than a week and could not be more pleased with the performance. Warm, rich, full bodied sound. And plenty of power. I am using the built in DAC to decode the CDs and turntable is connected to the built in phonoamp. Both are high quality and as I said previously the sound is great. I would recommend leaving the ohm selector switch on the back panel set on high regardless of the nominal impedance rating of the speakers you are using. This amp has plenty of power and you would be hard pressed to find a stereo speaker it couldn't drive. I am using Polk Audio Lsi9's rated at 4 ohms and the amp drives them without breaking a sweat. I highly recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Lake, WV on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pairing the 801 with my Yamaha R S700, I was able to configure playback of all of my devices through my Bose 901 active equalizer instead of just one device. Working with Deane and Casey in tech support was a great experience in resolving the configuration issues. So far, the 801 surpasses my sound quality goals. I would recommend this unit to anyone interested in upgrading.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Lori from Billings, MT on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just want I wanted, paired with Buchardt S300 MKII SE White speakers. I wanted hi end audio at a good price and this Yamaha delivered. I am still breaking in both the amp and speakers. Everyday the sound gets better and better. I recommend this amp if you are on a budget but want a that audiophile quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Superior product regardless of price

John from Spring, TX on 10/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best amp I have owned in 30 years! Superior connections, inputs/outputs. Made my speakers come alive. I am enjoying music like never before.

Pros: Plenty of power, excellent controls allow tuning to individual taste. Got rid of my graphic eq. Silver finish makes it easy to operate in dim lighting.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good Replaced a late 70s Denon And pleased with power and balance Will review later after break in One reason for not rating 5 is the loudness feature They are never good for fidelity but this one is really inadequate Best to use the tone controls and adjust as you see fit Despite the 100watts struggles a bit with low volume reproduction with my Polk 10 Overall for the money believe value is good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Haiku, HI on 8/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, clean and powerful. Drives my ADS 810 like my old Phase Linear 700.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Strong Integrated Amp

Mark from Houston, TX on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listen to hard rock. This is a fantastic integrated amplifier for that type of music. It delivers sound that is very crisp and clear and very loud without distortion. A lot of power for a very reasonable price. I am extremel with the A-S801.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a top notch pair of Klipsch Heresy 2s, but before I bought this amp, I was playing my turntable through another retailer's stereo I probably payed $100 or less for. Even with a Shure cartridge on my turntable and a Cambridge phono preamp, my setup still sounded like crap. It was very disappointing. Getting rid of the Storebrand stereo and upgrading to this Yamaha was the best thing I could have possibly done. My speakers sound like they should and my records sound amazing. Very clear defined tone. This integrated amp has very few bells and whistles, but the sound quality is fantastic! Definitely top notch. I highly recommend this Amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha the best

Carlos from San Juan, PR on 6/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow what can I said about this bad boy.After many search and many test i finally found one of the best if not the best integrated amp to run my Klipsch forte iii. With this Yamaha integrated amp my speakers sound clear with power. By far this is the best integrated amp i ever had, no doubt about it. It runs cool, i play for around 2 hours 4 times a week and it doesnt get that warm like others i had before. Thks Crutchfield for the excellent advise

Pros: Plenty of power clear sound. It sounds like it has 200 watts x 2 channels and 100 excellent. If i have to make up my mind again i will go with out any doubt with this integrated amp

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Lots of power and good sound

Jeff from Michigan on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Main thing -- I'm enjoying the sound of this a great deal. Simple. Powerful. Solid.

Pros: Plenty of power ... a big step up from my previous sony receiver. Very pleasing to my ear. Simple -- doesn't have a ton of things on it that I never use Nice A or B or A+B speaker selection Like the simple bass and treble and loudness controls Sub-out works great for my polk subwoofer -- like it much better than my previous setup with sub inline with speaker wires. Looks solid and well built Most importantly, makes my speakers sound much better than my previous receiver.

Cons: Windows 10 automatically installs driver for the usb connection to the yamaha DAC but then volume control in windows doesn't work (it's either mute or 100% and nothing between with this driver.) Yamaha driver on website is over a year older... would like additional documentation there. Would like led light on the volume knob so you know where it's set ... can only see the marking if I'm right in front of it. Would love remote to control other dial functions too such as bass/treble/loudness

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Real Nice

David Booker from Blacklick, OH on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice inter grated amp with a good phono connection. Very good at this price point!!!

Pros: Great intergrated amp!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Puts a smile on your face

Paul from Rochester, MN on 4/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, big sound, amazing clarity, running this 2 channel amp fills the room with more sound and presence than my avr hooked up as 5.2. I can push my speakers so much harder with zero distortion. This is a true 100 wpc amp, no BS like many models advertise. I love my music loud and and i don't need more than 50% volume with this. This is an accurately rated amp with awesome quality. Go to audioholics.com to see a review of it with true output numbers from a bench test.

Pros: Sound quality, feel, huge power, looks awesome

Cons: If it had vu meters it would be perfect.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well for me.. mix of digital sources from SONOS - coaxial and Compute - USB and for my TT for playing vinyl.. still awaiting Klipsch Forte III's to pair with the amp.... interim use with NHT SB2s will do until then... Nice piece -- takes me back to my first receiver in late 70's early 80's which was a nice silver fronted Yamaha

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reciever is amazing, didn't realize how much of my favorite music I've been missing, highly recommended, and crutchfield is awesome, very helpful and knowledgeable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Valencia, CA on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm more than impressed with the sound of this amp. The built in DAC makes my CD's (connected via toslink) and Hi Res audio files (connected via USB) sound incredible. I also play a lot of vinyl and have my Rega P3 connected to the phono input instead of using an external pre-amp, and I'm more than satisfied with the result. My one complaint about this amp is the lack of an amber light on the volume knob. It's impossible to see the indented notched in the volume knob from across the room, and amber light (which most amps have) would make it easier to see what your volume level is. All around a great unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound

Frank from Mendota Heights, MN on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is a really good sounding equipment for the price. It is clear, no back ground noise. Has good dynamics and stereo separation. The phono stage is also good. The DAC from ESS Tech is another addition that puts this amplifier above the price point from competition. With hi-res audio it sounds wonderfull. Power is good to drive my Infinity RS 6 Kappa with the selector set LOW. I know this lowers watage, current or voltage in rail, but I don´t want to fry output transistors in medium to long time, and still have good dynamics to enjoy music from low to decent loud volume. Reviews alone dont tell everything or anything at all. Given that it is possible to buy with possibility to return, I will suggest to give it a try. Take time to place speakers right, and do some hearing with quiet ambient, great chances you keep it. There are a lot of options out there which sure will be also very good, I have hear this Yamaha A-S801 and liked a lot.

Pros: Great sound, good price.

Cons: I have to say non to mention...

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Port Neches, TX on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

everything I was looking for in an amp to drive my new bookshelf speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

A wonderful buy

Rick from Chandler, AZ on 1/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the A-S801 to replace my A-S500 which is going to be used elsewhere in the house. I did not expect a big bump up in performance but I was wrong. My Paradigm Titan Monitors are loving the added power. On this system, I listen exclusively to 2-channel music and could not be happier with the upgrade. You can never go wrong with Yamaha!

Pros: Clean, clean power and well, it's a Yamaha!

Cons: No visual volume levels on the unit itself or the volume control and of course the remote is useless in a darkened room, but being a longtime Yamaha fan, I knew that.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Sound at Great Price Range!

Darryl from Cedar City, UT on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect amp with many features to bring me back into time. My old Yamaha CA-1000 needed repairs and could not do without sounds. I wanted to upgrade to a higher quality amp but was out of stock and a little more than budget aloud. I purchased with Pay Pal that gave me credit line for enough to buy upgraded amp, so can I trade in for higher unit. All and all you cant get a better value for price and better have good speakers that this baby can drive. My 40 years old Ess amt1b sound so good and i couldn't be happier.

Pros: Great value

Cons: Remote does not turn off Yamaha T-S500 tuner off. Only controls stations

Crutchfield response on

2 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Terry from Nashville, AR on 12/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hard to know where to begin this review, but first Crutchfield. Great company, great advisors and great advice, fast delivery. Quality of this integrated amp: Replaced an old Dynaco preamp, power amp package that I love and still do love: however, the Yamaha does outperform the Dynaco. Undistorted highs and midrange sound, and, okay, I will go ahead and say it, lows that I have never before experienced. With its fancy integrated DAC it makes using a computer, although it is not necessarily built for using a computer as a music server, but it definitely has all the features needed for that. Totally unnecessary to have a stand alone DAC. Also it's wonderful to have a remote to handle the varying volume of ripped music files. Could say more, but that would be redundant. Folks, you can't go wrong buying this.

Pros: Absolutely does what it is supposed to do.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Joe from Kansas City, KS on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp. Vintage Yamaha looks and warm sound. My only gripe is the volume knob.. it needs an amber or red led so you can see where the volumes at from across the room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Alhambra, CA on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best of everything. Clean power audio with a built in DAC that can play PCM and DSD. It has a retro look with and aluminum face. This thing is just great.

Pros: The audio is clean clear and powerful. Pure analog with a built in DAC. Lovr the silver look.

Cons: The silver CD player is not available in the USA. Would be nice to match my amp. No other cons with this amp.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

The best I've ever had

Paul from Midlothian, VA on 11/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am so glad I bought this amp instead of a cheaper model. This amp sounds fantastic. I am using the digital inputs since its DAC is better than anything else I have. I am also using the pure direct mode. It's the best piece of audio equipment I've ever owned. I can finally really enjoy music again. I did run a turntable in and it sounds ok but I love the digital inputs. The usb input is nice with hi res audio from a pc but I am happy with the 44/16 and 96/24 flacs run in through the digital inputs from my blu ray player. For my ears they are perfect. I love this amp.

Pros: Good DAC, pure direct mode for the best possible sound, plenty of power.

Cons: I wish they had an extra set of optical and coaxial digital inputs instead of so many analog but I don't need them right now anyway.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Stereo Bliss!

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 10/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is Amazing!!! super clean and powerful have it connected to a set Klipsch RF 28 II and a Denon music server, nothing but sonic purity. Thank You Yamaha!

Pros: Powerful, Clean and Beautiful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha Rocks

Carl from Gulf Breeze, FL on 10/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp, clean sound at an affordable price!

Pros: Excellent sound reproduction, especially at lower power levels.

Cons: None noted.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Douglas from Townsend, DE on 9/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp Yamaha never disappoints bought to replace my 30 year old Yamaha A1020 integrated amp Recommended to anyone who wants a great sounding system...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great amp

Alex from Alexandria, VA on 7/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this hooked up to some older, re-foamed Cerwin-Vega VS-120's. Good Lord this amp can crank these big old speakers! I haven't used all the digital inputs yet, but an old Sony CD player hooked up via RCA sounds really good so far. There are only a few things I don't like, and they're minor; the knobs are plastic and feel cheap (come on Yamaha, give us metal at this price,) and the volume knob doesn't have a way for you to visually see where the volume is. And I would have loved some VU meters on the front. Anyway, it's a very good sounding amp with a lot of analog and digital inputs. It sounds better the more it breaks in.

Pros: Sounds fantastic Lots of inputs; digital and analog Looks great Can drive some big speakers to loud levels

Cons: Knobs are plastic No visual on the volume setting Would love some VU meters

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

High Definition Sound and Power

Brian from Okemos, MI on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After twenty some years of home theater listening experience I wanted to recreate the great stereo system that I had in the 80's. The heart of that system had been a Yamaha A960 II integrated amplifier. I found this Yamaha A-S801 integrated amplifier to be comparable in watts of continuous power, power bandwidth and total harmonic distortion plus it had the new digital processing capabilities. I pulled out my home theater receiver and once the A-S801 was hooked up the very noticeable improvement in clarity and detail of sound confirmed I had made the right choice. Remote is great. Crutchfield service was super. Next - new speakers!

Pros: Great clarity, detail and plenty of power. Yamaha tradition of making great components is evident in this amplifier.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Crutchfield customer from Osceola, WI on 5/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product and great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha A/S-801

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered to replace an old 1993 vintage Yamaha RX-V1070. Hooked up to a set of vintage Klipsch Belle speakers. The sound quality is very good, it is a good step up from the 1070, which was a top end receiver costing 1350 in it's day. My only complaint is that when pushed to higher volume level (approx. 1/2 way), it is definitely at it's limit and the sound quality does suffer. Maximum volume level is about 11:00, and as others have noted it's very hard to see from any distance, but you can hear it. For most people, this would be a great amp. I just like some music very loud. The amp is dead quiet also, the DAC seems pretty good, I tried a PS audio DAC iii and I couldn't hear a difference and the DAC iii is about 1k in price. Overall this is a very good amp for the money, It also had pretty good bass, if I hadn't already heard a Parasound Halo Integrated I would probably love it, but that's not a fair comparison at all considering the Halo is 2500 bucks. If you are looking for a good amp on a budget and don't need concert level sound, this is a very good amp.

Pros: Good price. Good DAC. Good sound quality. Good dynamic punch.

Cons: Visibility of volume level. Needs more power.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Step into the freezer

Joe from Evanston, IL on 3/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shameful, really. I've called myself a music fan for years, and yet it took me 42 years to get a proper integrated amp. So glad I did. My A-S801 is connected to an Apple Airport Express through the optical connection to wirelessly stream ALAC files and Spotify. It is powering two B&W 683 S2 floor speakers. Simple setup, no more tinkering required. It has more than enough power to shake my living room windows with a raging Tweezer Reprise. I mainly use it for listening to rock, jazz, and funk, and would describe the sound as accurate, clean, and confident. It really shines with quieter acoustic recordings.

Pros: Great design, solid build quality, simple setup, powerful, versatile, clean sound

Cons: Big, heavy, and deep. Check dimensions first to make sure it fits in your space.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

George from Wichita Falls, TX on 3/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for two days and stopped. My Yamaha electronics of thirty years ago seem more quality made. However, this product gets great reviews, and this could be an exception to the normal success of this item.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 31 found this helpful

Great Amp !!!

Jim from Fresno, CA on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp !!! You will not go wrong with this item. It is very versatile. You can connect your phone or ipad via bluetooth. You can connect directly to your laptop via USB cable. I have PSB tower speakers and they sound great with this amp.. I would buy this item again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

Susan from Davis, CA on 12/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp with array of inputs including phonograph. I needed 100 watts per channel to run 8 Ohm speakers, but not an amp designed for a gazillion home theater audio/video components. This model is powerful yet streamlined, in a decent price range. Love the remote, which actually physically rotates the volume dial, so I put a slice of white plastic tape on the (black) dial so I can see the volume level from across the room before I switch inputs. The Bluetooth accessory works great to run audio from devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Worth every penny

jay from Madison Heights, VA on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought some new polk tsx550t's recently and i just wasnt that impressed with the sound through my old yamaha rxv 1500.Let me tell you this amp brought these to life.Clean sound throughout the range.This amp is well built and should last for years. Worth every penny and then some!

Pros: simple design,lots of power& great sound

Cons: optional bluetooth adapters sound not that great but as expected

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sounds great

Bruce from Houma, LA on 9/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this product as an open box scratch & dent. Arrived in excellent condition. Connected all my old school Tuner, CD player, phono and speaker components and flipped the switch - Fantastic! Sounds awesome, extremely pleased.

Pros: Excellent sound, plenty of power, can select between my indoor or outdoor speakers.

Cons: No outlets to plug other components into for switched/unswitched power. Have to turn on/off each individual component.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

I spent too much for what I wanted.

j from MN on 8/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For what I wanted and saved for this device is over priced. It's a good unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 61 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

454v8 from Victor, NY on 7/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a replacement for my Pioneer SX850 that I had enjoyed for 42 years !! I always loved the quality sound provided by the Pioneer. This Yamaha was a super choice as it is a high quality sounding amplifier. I don't miss the tuner since everything today is digital.

Pros: Superb sound through my Yamaha speakers and the Bluetooth adapter is excellent !! Stream from the iPhone, PC, ipad, ipod etc.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Best $ I've ever spent on audio gear

Jerry from Hillsborough, NJ on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I sold my antique McIntosh amp and preamp (C33, MC225) which I have owned since new in an effort modernize. I bought the 801 as part of my effort to go media-less. What I was unprepared for was the improvement in sonic quality. I'm hearing things playing my familiar reference material that I have never heard before.

Pros: Yamaha does a great job on the bang for buck with this piece

Cons: I would love them to combine the network connectivity functions of modern AV receivers with the no compromise sound of this two channel amp which sounds amazing.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

retro look in a 21st century audio hub

Paul from Doylestown, PA on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You're always taking a risk when trying to match up an amp with speakers, but I lucked out buying the Yamaha to drive my B&W 684s2 and B&W 608 sub. My last amp wasn't a great match, leaving much to be desired - especially in the midrange where reproduction of the human singing voice(s) is paramount. The Yamaha is a delight, bringing my speakers to life in my difficult 12'x16' listening room with a hip roof that's 14' high at the peak. At the same time, I replaced my aging CD player (with a decent Burr-Brown DAC) with the Cambridge CXC transport (from Crutchfield, of course). My reasoning was that I didn't need the DAC, since the DAC in the Yamaha is state of the art. I was right. It's been amazing listening to my CD library...it's like listening to them for the first time, always new wrinkles in the music. I should be quite happy with this setup for years to come, and I can't wait to try the high-res options that the USB DAC offers.

Pros: Great sounding and looking amp, lots of digital options for the future.

Cons: One VERY minor annoyance, my xfinity box will not control the Yamaha power on/off , but it does control volume up/down, which is more important to me. OK, so I do have to push the power on and off manually, but it's nowhere near a deal breaker.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Re-evaluate your gear in the new year.

RockSteady from detroit, MI on 1/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tech can produce anything the imagination can create. Time to conserve. Two channel stereo with A-S 801 and two Bowers&Wilkins speakers. Less is more.

Pros: Less wires, more power.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 19 found this helpful

yamaha a-s801

spoofer from marietta,ny on 1/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and build quality. Needs a light on the volume knob,(like others have stated).

Pros: Great sound

Cons: needs a lit volume knob

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Excellent Amp with a very nice Built in DAC.

Malibumike from Buffalo, NY on 1/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Yamaha amp is a really nice piece of audio equipment. I really love the "old school" look the A-Sxxx Series has. It's built very well, and is nearly 30 lbs which is telling of a quality amplifier. My main use for this amp is 2.0 channel, connected to a HTPC. The main reason I purchased this amp was for it's USB DAC capabilities. The ESS Sabre DAC sounds excellent, and it has more than enough power to drive my relatively efficient pair of Klipsch RP-280F's. Tone controls really allow for a custom sound. I'm certain no matter what speakers you connect to this unit, they will sound great and be able to be tuned exactly to your liking. In the future, I'd like to add the T-S500 Tuner, along with possibly the CD-S1000. It has all of the inputs needed for expansion in the future, which was important to me, they would also look very nice together which is a bonus. The one thing I'm not a huge fan of is the plastic dials. For 900, They should be metal in my opinion. However, they do appear to be well built with a nice feel.

Pros: - Plenty of power to drive most speakers easily - Well thought out AMP internals, with dual heat sinks (Does not get very warm either) - USB DAC Capable - Bi-Wire Capable - Infinite adjustments with Tone and Loudness controls - Very nice looking

Cons: - Plastic Knobs

Crutchfield response on

19 of 21 found this helpful

No frills 2 channel amp

Davey from Dayton, OH on 12/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little amp, powers my older than dirt Def Tech BP-10's pretty well. Really opened up these speakers. Amp does seem to run quiet and you really get a very clean signal to the speakers. If you prefer you can run in "pure direct" mode . I also enjoy hooking up my sub to this little guy and another reason I purchased it was the option to run a sub woofer for low end. I really got no complaints but will say I would like to see a small led on the volume knob just so I could see where it is at from across the room.

Pros: Runs quiet Pure Direct mode Good quality 2 channel sound

Cons: Not much really

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Outstanding Features

abphd from California on 12/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features on this amp. Keep up the good work Yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 14 found this helpful

Excellent Amp

Jazzman from Benicia California on 8/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha is a nice addition. I recently acquired some Magnapan 1.6 planar speakers and I needed a high end amp. I was torn between tube (Peachtree) and solid state but opted for SS in the form of the Yamaha mainly due to the flexibility of different media that you can hook up. I like the fact that it has a built in DAC and a phono preAmp (for my 500 or so LPs). The sound is great! I use the Puresound button for most music as the Maggie's have a beautiful natural sound. Acoustic instruments and voice sound like the performer is in the room with you. Power to drive the planar speakers is more than enough. I don't take it above 50% 12 o'clock position except in the case of a few LPs. Never past 1 o'clock position. For rock, I do turn the Puresound off and turn the bass control up just a bit as the Maggies' bass is not thundering deep. I bought the recommended Yamaha Bluetooth adapter for the unit and it works fine once I figured out that I needed to set the source to the coaxial input BEFORE I synch the Bluetooth. If you try to do so with source on say, phono, it won't read. The remote works ok and will control a CD player. But it is not a universal remote and so I have to believe it only controls Yamaha CD players which mine is not.

Pros: Flexibility of input media. Built in DAC and phono PreAmp. Power

Cons: No real issues

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Excellent Amplifier

HB861 from South New Jersey on 7/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a small room that i converted to a "library" (or man cave as wife would call it) and needed an amplifier with DAC to attach my PC (only music on it) and stream pandora to it. I also purchased the Martin Logan LX16 from Crutchfield and the 2 make a wonderful combination. Thus far i have not used the DAC as I was busy listenting to pandora and other internet radio stations. I did purchase the Bluetooth accessory from yamaha as the amp has no wifi or bluetooth. The sound is crisp and (I am no audio expert and have hearing problems) makes my music come alive. It's been a long time since I enjoyed listening to music again! I did also purchase mediabridge speaker wire with banana plugs and inserting them is easy. In the next few weeks I will add my desktop (alienware alpha upgraded with SSD and only used for music file storage) and try the DAC. Looking forward to it!

Pros: easy setup and great sound

Cons: no built in Bluetooth (but i knew that)

Crutchfield response on

18 of 20 found this helpful

Great amp for the price!!

Jerry from Massachusetts on 3/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a $1000 budget for an amp. I needed connectivity to my iTunes home share and wanted to do it via Ethernet. I have a pair of 4 ohm Thiel CS1.2 speakers which are power hungry and wasn't having any luck finding an amp that had both the power I wanted and an Ethernet connection in my price range. Phil from Crutchfield recommended instead of a networkable amp to connect optically this amp with an AppleTV (on sale for $69). This allows me to Airplay back to my iTunes database sitting on a AirPort Time Capsule. I couldn't be happier with the results. The sound is super clean at all volumes and power to spare!! I imported all my music from CD using ALAC and the Yamaha's DAC seems to handle that perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

Great integrated amp!

MartinK from Virginia on 2/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really wonderful integrated amplifier, particularly as all my music is digital. The built-in DAC is very good and allows for playback of high quality downloads. Just listened to The Kinks Muswell Hillbillies in 24 bit/96khz. Super! The Yamaha feeds Polk RTI7s, and the combo sounds really amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

Yamaha A-S801

John from Maryland on 1/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for. Very pleased with this amp. Purchased it to go with my ESS-AMT 1 towers. Getting a very clear, full sound out of the system. It has all the power I wanted and keeps a great sound at high and low volumes. I'm not very impressed with the 'cd-direct' option. I find a fuller sound when it's not in direct mode, and with my particular set-up I find the best sound is with just a little extra bass out of the amp (which is bypassed in direct mode). I should also note that I'm not using a subwoofer. Great amp and highly recommend it for anyone looking for these specs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

TOP