Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha CD-S1000

SACD/CD player

MFR # CDS1000BL

Yamaha CD-S1000

Yamaha CD-S1000

SACD/CD player

MFR # CDS1000BL

31 reviews
View this product

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 9/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just hooked this puppy up. Had no idea how hefty it would me. Spent some time figuring out how many SACDs I had that I might be missing out on. Put in self-titled BS&T from Bloodlines set. A substantial sonic improvement especially thru my Audezes. I had no idea what I had been missing all these years. It's like listening to a lot of my collection for the first time. Still in the trial period but so far a vast improvement over my dying NAD 538.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 8/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound. Has it for about a month. Easy to hook up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not ready for prime time

Crutchfield customer from Sugarcrk Twp, OH on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

CD-S1000 would NOT play SACDs. Returned defective. Regular CDs sounded clean, maybe balanced and accurate, but not lush and musical. I was impressed with the 40 pound heft and beautiful craftsmanship, but sonically it left me empty. Technologically, a step in the right direction, but needs a lot more refinement to be a musical tour de force.

Pros: Beautiful finish

Cons: Sound, weight, packaging

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Exceeds expectations

Crutchfield customer from Deerfield, IL on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Very impressed. Super audio experience awesome. Feel like I was wearing earmuffs before super-audio. Excellent quality unit & Crutchfield experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Super audio cd player

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 3/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took several seconds after playing my Tom Petty CD to realize what a great investment this CD player was. I have an Integra 9.1 receiver and Klipsch RF 7 speakers so it was worth the investment to keep the quality of each component high. The sound quality I get is amazing I really don't think it could sound any better. I don't think this would make sense to add to a regular quality stereo, but if you have high quality components this is a great buy!

Pros: excellent sound quality, none of the issues in other reviews are present in my unit. The drawer opens and closes smoothly and the player is very quiet.

Cons: miss the convenience of a disk changer since I was replacing a Integra cd changer, its pricy but the quality makes up for it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from Oregon, WI on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this SACD player. It really does make a difference in sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from Yorba Linda, CA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All that it was cracked up to be. Wonderful, solid and simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Guest from chico california on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this unit in January of 2018. It saw limited use in second system. A few days ago it would not load the disc. Tried several solutions, but to no avail. It also shut down and wouldn't open so I could extract the cd. I finally got it to open after some trial and error. I suggest that anyone shopping for aSACD player to avoid this machine. You might try the Denon SACD player for the same price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Makes Music Not Noise

Simon from Bronx, NY on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was in the market for an SACD and CD player that could play both formats without compromise. When I first opened the box the build quality was superb, and a little retro with wood capped sides. It has functioned flawlessly the drive mechanism is whisper quiet and it has played every disc I've put in it flawlessly. Most importantly it sounds superb on both CDs and SACDs. Wide and deep soundstage with pinpoint imaging. The musical timbres are accurate with lots of inner detail. The bass is deep and tuneful and it gets my foot tapping. The highs are balanced and not fatiguing. The sound of cymbals has a metallic ring instead of sounding like white noise. Vocals float freely between the speakers sound natural not tubby and without exaggerated sibilance. I find myself listening to one disc after another without thinking about the sound quality. I'm rediscovering my music collection. I recommend this player.

Pros: Sound and build quality The beautiful Design

Cons: Display is a little small

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Exercise Your Right to Play Your SA/CDs Again

John from LORTON, VA on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just fired it up. Preliminary assessment: Excellent! This is a time-proven transport; introduced in 2008 in the heyday of SACDs, it continues to fill a niche that some of us need to itch. (My unit was built in 2019.) For me, it replaces a Sony of the same vintage that was designed for 5.1 surround sound but also output two-channel for my high-res stereo system. The Yamaha CD-S1000 has become part of my modest audiophile system mated with my Hegel H-190 integrated amp. First listened to Beethoven's 5th recorded on a SACD with an analog connection to the amplifier. Sounded superb and will definitely have me playing more SACDs, in addition to my library of ripped CDs and high-res downloads played on my Sony HAP-Z1ES. THe CD-S1000 also plays CDs and outputs to the amplifier in either analog or digital. Listened to a Joe Bonamassa CD (Live at Carnegie Hall), first via analog and then via digital coaxial. Both sounded great through my Martin Logan 60XTs, but the Hegel DAC may have an edge on the one in the Yamaha player - need more play time to tell. Bottom line: this Yamaha player has rekindled my desire to get off my butt and listen to SACDs and CDs again like in the old days before computers and the internet took over our listening routines. Will continue to rip, download and stream; but will also play my SACDs and CDs (all of which are ripped) - in these times one needs the added exercise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

SACD player died after 13 months

Brian from San Diego, CA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned this product for precisely 13 months, and it has already died on me. It has performed erratically since day one, failing to read certain discs and reading certain others only after a few attempts. The sound is very good, but this is clearly not a well-made product. I trusted Yamaha to provide me with years of listening pleasure, not 13 months. For this price, I don't think that's an unreasonable expectation. I've never felt so ripped off in all my life. Obviously, others have had better experiences with this player. Perhaps my luck is just lousy. Nevertheless, I'm stuck with and expensive piece of garbage and a need to purchase a new SACD player. Needless to say, I will go nowhere near another Yamaha product. What a disappointing, frustrating, disgusting ordeal.

Pros: Good sound when it functions properly

Cons: I had to send the first one back immediately because it was defective. The replacement was erratic in its performance until finally, after 13 months, it stopped reading discs altogether. I expected more for this price, which is no small amount of money for me.

Crutchfield response on

29 of 32 found this helpful

Champaign Taste on a Beer Budget BEAUTY

Curtis from Holbrook on 4/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this unit now for over two years. OK, so there may be some nit noid things some dont like., i get that; a true audiophile would have spent $10K for a SACD and not had a thing on this fine unit. Build quality is exceptional; when you go to move this unit around, it has heft. Remote is what it is. Ease of reading the front panel is what it is. No bells and whistles but what it does do, it does it very well. Some of us like having that extra $9K in our banks. I push this baby through all tube, Prima Luna 400 amp, preamp and the 100 DAC...now I am a vinyl guy and I love my music...this baby's dac was good to go out of the box....the sound is much better into the Tube DAC 100 from Prima Luna. None of that harshness associated with digital...could be mistaken as analog from the get go with out the processing, if that makes sense. It's easy to hook up; easy to listen to; i have zero problems...and while the rest of my system has over $25K in it, which is not that much I realize, this inexpensive SACD offering from Yamaha may be entry level, but it packs a punch well above it's weight class. I listen to music; i dont show off my stereo gear; but the Yamaha cosmetics are nice and simple...just like all my Prima Luna gear...and the tube DAC sits so nicely atop the SACD...it's really good folks; you wont be mad you spent this little bit of jingle on such a fine component. Light years ahead of the competition.. You can spend more money, but why would you ever want to

Pros: Build quality; sound quality; ease of operation; exceptional connections on back of unit; plug this baby in with a new power cord and conditioned electricity feed and it is as quiet as a church mouse...You will hear the audible track noise when the music starts...that is in the MASTER...sort of means the unit is pretty good.

Cons: Remote is chincy; power cord is cheap, get a better one from audio quest. Use the best interconnect cables you can afford and there will be no cons!!!!

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha CD Player

Crutchfield customer from Tipp City, OH on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice. Heavy. Solid. Pristine sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha upholds a long tradition

Sabrina R from Concordia, KS on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned several Yamaha products over the years and they've always performed very well, including this SACD player. I'm happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from Douglas, WY on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An outstanding SACD player and a huge upgrade on the player it replaced. Couldn't be happier with it.

Pros: Built like a tank, nice smooth sonics. Perfect.

Cons: Big and heavy,if that's a problem for some people.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Bright, Forward and Unreliable

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a high end audio system. An expensive all tube amplifier, an all tube preamp and expensive tube dac. Replaced a Cambridge audio CXC cd transport with the Yamaha. Big mistake- BIG. The CXC blows the Yamaha away in sound quality. The Yamaha is bright and thin sounding It's dac is now 7 years old. My unit stopped spinning discs after 2 days. I should have known to stay away from a mid-fi unit. This thing is junk.

Pros: Quiet, smooth tray operation

Cons: Stopped spinning discs after 2 days. Incredibly bright and thin sounding

Crutchfield response on 8/2/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

21 of 36 found this helpful

Excellent player for the cost.

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound on both sacds and regular cds, crystal clear. Very quiet operation. Very well built. Easily the best cd player I have ever owned. Well worth the cost.

Pros: sound quality, construction.

Cons: Heavy and expensive.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Superb Sound and Function

Alec from Alpine, TX on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is replacement for decade-old Sony SCD-XA777ES (one of the best SACD players ever). The new Yamaha CD-S1000 is up to the challenge, sound is spectacular at 1/3 the list price of the aging Sony. I play it through preamp with 6 vacuum tube signal processing and Bryston 300W/channel amp. Speakers are my own acoustic suspension design, 4-way with 15" woofers, 8" mids, 2 ribbon tweeters each, and custom built crossovers. Build and design of S1000 appear to be very strong. I could not be happier with the sound, including not only SACD, but also well-engineered CDs.

Pros: So far I am very pleased. Solid build, excellent sound and function.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Stephanie from Richmond, KY on 10/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Warm room filling sound. Takes me back to vinyl records. Money well spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from Seal Beach, CA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You won't be disappointed. I hadn't planned on making an additional purchase, but after upgrading my speakers I recognized that the musical quality was limited by the input signal from my current CD player. Everything that I read about the Yamaha CD-1000 was positive, so I stepped up and purchased this SACD player. As soon as I connected it I could discern a quantum improvement!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from Terre Haute, IN on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. Probably the best a CD (or especially an SACD) can sound. Put the music on, turn the player and receiver to pure direct, turn everything else in the room off, and enjoy the sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

Great sound for a reasonable price

tom from Stafford, TX on 3/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The player arrived in perfect condition. It is just as described with a silent transport and excellent treble clarity. I have had several friends over to listen to music since the Yamaha arrived and each has remarked on the clarity of the playback. I highly recommend this player; it is an excellent value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Best CD player I have ever had.

victor from Montebello, CA on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best CD player I have ever had and plan to keep it for the rest of my CD listening life. This player sounds the same as my Sony and Pioneer, but it goes beyond those players. It plays smoother than the other players I own. It's hard to describe but I just say it plays CD's at Hi Res level. I mated this player to a Yamaha A-S801 and a pair of Klipsch RF-82II speakers, all purchased from Crutchfield for their outstanding prices and service. This is what music enjoyment is all about. If anybody is thinking about purchasing this unit, you won't be disappointed. It is quiet when the door is operating, takes a little longer to read the disc because it also plays SACD format, but it sounds so sweet and looks classy as well. Just get this CD player before they are all gone. I waited when they had more , then bought mine.

Pros: Sound quality is true to CD and beyond. Plays all of my CD's. Beautiful unit goes with my Yamaha Amp. High quality components make this unit pricey but worth every penny. No tax and shipping when bought from Crutchfield.

Cons: I wish it was available in silver in the USA. Japan has the silver unit but voltage and hertz requirements are different and I don't want to have a separate transformer.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Solid Sounding CD Player

Ronnie from Asheboro, NC on 11/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been really impressed with this Yamaha CD-S1000 CD Player. I have had it about two weeks and the more I play it the better it sounds. It is super quiet while loading and ejecting the CD. I have a few SACD's and they also sound Really Good. The difference between this player and my old CD player is no comparison because the Yamaha CD-S1000 is far superior in sound and looks and weight. I would definitely recommend this CD player to anyone who is looking to upgrade their CD player.

Pros: Quiet, Easy Operation, Great Sound

Cons: None so Far

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made . It is different from the normal products. The quality of this one is excellent . I think I made the right decision.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Solid Component

Mark from Louisville, KY on 9/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A Truly awesome piece of equipment ,that brings out the best of my SACD-CD collection ! And it really is built ,like a Tank!

Pros: Great sound +smooooth operation+ competived price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Solid, well made player with great sound.

James C from staten island, NY on 2/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had this player for 2 weeks, but I am very happy so far. Nice imagery with a lot of punch. CD tray is quiet and smooth. Player is very well made. Paired with Bryston 3B power amp and Audible Illusions Modulus 3A preamp with Norh 7.0 speakers. Sounds great!

Pros: Well made unit with great sound.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

14 of 17 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

1992audis4 from the Washington, DC Area on 12/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have wanted this reference player for years. With the recent dramatic price drop (I'm assuming it's being discontinued), I bought one. This thing sounds fantastic. Much better than my Onkyo DX-7555, which is no slouch. I noticed a nice uptick in bass and just better overall response. I am waiting for my Audioquest cables to "break in" in anticipation it will sound even a little better.

Pros: Gorgeous. Really heavy like a reference component should be. Almost as heavy as my Yamaha RX-V3800 receiver. Build quality is superb. I love the "70s" style toggle on/off switch. The remote is simple like it should be like the player itself. I recommend getting one while they are still available.

Cons: None after a week.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Yamaha CD-S1000

TNelson from Macungie, PA on 7/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is without a doubt one of the better purchases I made for my system. I was considering a high end DAC and a lower end CD player. When I saw the Audiophile reviews on the DAC of this CD player I decided to give it a try. I have not been disappointed. Clearly a high end built -in DAC. The quality of play for both the standard CD and my SACD is outstanding. A clear and distinct difference from my Integra CD player and I would recommend this to any one with a discerning ear for the quality of audio equipment.

Pros: Easy to use and install. Quality construction with clean lines. Integrates seamlessly with Yamaha Amps and receivers.

Cons: Single Disc play. This is also a Pro.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 21 found this helpful

Sounds better given time.

Eric H from Cleveland, OH on 12/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

CD: 4 out of 5 stars because the unit did not meet the high expectations placed on it by other reviewers and by the product description. So, right out of the box this is a supremely gratifying purchase. Solid, heavy, superb build quality. Wow! Satisfaction sank to disappointment when I started playing discs: Loud disc drive can be heard during quiet passages; slow to initialize disc reading; sonics (spacial and dynamics) were really below par for a product so hyped! But read on, because after about a week of playing, this player came to life! I am listening via a Yamaha CA-1010 integrated and Apogee Stage ribbons - these dipoles really throw a huge sound stage. So while at first the CDS1000 failed to produce this stage, it did after about 50 hours of break-in. I've never been a believer in "break-in" for electronics, but now I am! This CD player is up to the job on classical and jazz albums, but it won't make something out of nothing - a bad recording still sounds bad. Music lovers are still at the mercy of recording engineers. Just give the player a little time to come alive, and you won't be disappointed. SACD comments: I have a very transparent system, and SACD adds almost nothing to the sound in this instance. I did hear greater dynamics (the 100db vs 115db dynamic range) but again, we are at the mercy of the recording engineer. The "Mercury Living Presence" are still the best records after 60 years. Feed the CDS1000 your best CDs for it to shine!

Pros: Great CD player with solid quality feel and nice simple remote. Lightening fast track selection. Fit and finish are superb. Excellent dynamics in CD and SACD. Not quite as satisfying to listen to or live with as the NAD C565BEE player (my only other reference), but a really beauty to look at!

Cons: Noisy disc drive and slow disc initialization. Finicky drive can play only perfect discs - drive is very noisy if disc is not perfectly flat or hole is not exactly centered. Hence, drive can at times sound like a cloths washer on spin cycle with imperfect discs. Care is required to place the CD in the drawer exactly, otherwise the slim drawer slot could cause a loading disaster. Break-in required to improve sound!. Nothing special about the SACD capability except for improved dynamics!

Crutchfield response on

45 of 58 found this helpful

simply the best

rschen from California on 5/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This player is pretty spendy. But if you love good sound from favorite cds, there is nothing finer. Buy it and you'll become a believer. My old cd player was hardly a cheap one--but this one blows it out of the water.

Pros: Works beautifully in every way. Old world craftsmanship to boot. Simply beautifully made.

Cons: Does not match yamaha components design wise.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

TOP