Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Yamaha R-N602

Network stereo receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and MusicCast

MFR # R-N602BL

Yamaha R-N602

Yamaha R-N602

Network stereo receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and MusicCast

MFR # R-N602BL

74 reviews
View this product

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much improved sound and reception over my 20+ year old receiver. Almost 0 noise from the turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Choice for Internet Radio

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, OR on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a stereo receiver primarily for internet radio and TV audio. For the internet radio, I previously owned an Onkyo receiver using Tune in for Internet radio, and I found it very inadequate. Ultimately, the software on that receiver completely failed, freezing the entire unit so I couldn't use it for anything. The Yamaha uses a different platform for internet radio. Once I figured out how to find stations on it, and how to use MusicCast to select favorites, its working great and the sound quality is very nice. I gave it four stars only because it took me a little time to figure everything out. By the way, Aaron from Crutchfield recommended this unit after hearing what I wanted and my previous challenges with Tune in. He was right, and I am impressed by the quality of his advice and the effort he made to help me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver

Pros: Well designed and performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Chappy from Point Richmond, CA on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality sound with discrete performance from this mid-range but exceptional receiver. Being an OG audiophile, I don't need (nor will I ever find use for) all the network and music-casting gadgets but gratefully they pose no interference to its overall performance. I found the N-602's power performance (with ~23% more power @ 8 ohms) far superior to my tired and aging Kenwood KR-7400 driving my ageless but vintage JBL L-100's (with rewound coils).

Pros:

Cons: Only one. A "Mid" adjustment selector to accompany the Bass and Treble sound level selectors is needed.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Denton, TX on 3/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is great! I really enjoy internet radio and The MusicCast app works well .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

TERRY from East Falmouth, MA on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT RECEIVER. TERRIFIC SOUND WITH WAY MORE CAPABILITIES THAN I NEEDED. I WAS REPLACING AN OLD 70S VINTAGE RECEIVER WITH TOO MUCH WRONG TO FIX. THIS YAMAHA HAD ALL THE SPEC I WAS LOOKING FOR AND I LOVE IT.

Pros: ADAPTABILITY,FRONT PANEL CONTROLS

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I Bought Two

Crutchfield customer from Pottstown, PA on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the R-N602 about 2 years ago and liked it so much I bought a second one a month ago to have upstairs. Great sound and easy to use. I once saw a comment in a blog that noted how much one needs to turn the dial to lower or increase the volume. True but not really a big issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thanks for the recommendation

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, MI on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was recommended this unit for our dental office after consulting with one of your online "chat" specialists. It has been excellent and meets all of the requirements for us as well as a few we may only frequently use. The sound quality transmitted is remarkable. Additionally, it arrived as promised in a timely manner.

Pros: Many options for sourcing your music are available

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Still Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Christiansburg, VA on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Yamaha RX-595 was finally having some issues after many years of faithful play, so decided to purchase a similar Yamaha. I'm not disappointed with the 602. Essentially the same system, better electronics, but upgraded for Spotify, iphones, etc. I don't use that for music, and thus this is really for light radio listening (tuner works better than my older model) and CDs. I use a Yamaha Cd player, 5 disc changer. Fiber optic or coax does not sound different to me. The star ding is for the cheap feel of the controls. Plastic and you can tell. Some aluminum would be better and keep the weight down. Other than that, please with clarity and smooth power delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

GOOD SOUND, BUT NO WAY TO ADJUST TREBLE/BASS ON REMOTE

Bill from IN on 1/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I honestly cannot say that I gave these speakers a good listen. As usual with me, because I hear high frequencies extremely well, I immediately wanted to turn down the treble a little, but when I tried to do so on the remote, I found that it was not possible. In disbelief, I consulted the manual and then called a Crutchfield technical specialist. He confirmed that it was impossible to change the treble or bass settings via the remote. The only way to do this is by actually going up to the front of the unit and turning a knob, which doesn't even have any markings to define what you have just done. It's like something out of the 1950's! What was Yamaha thinking? Most of my listening choices are classical or opera. These recordings span eight decades and have been made by dozens of different recording studios and labels. There is a constant need to adjust the treble, bass or both. My receiver sits at the very bottom of a tall entertainment center. I would literally have to be spending all my listening time in front of the receiver on the floor! Since I am disabled, this would not only be extremely inconvenient, but also very difficult. As soon as I realized that the tone could not be adjusted by the remote, I returned the unit and have already received a full refund. I just wish that ONE of the three advisors I spoke with at Crutchfield would have warned me about this issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 20 found this helpful

Power, options, and connections

JimmyDimmick from Oak Park, IL on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful sound. Distributed to 2 very different sets of speakers, and quality of reproduction is fantastic in each. The dedicated subwoofer jack is a great feature, but the multiple options for sources and inputs are what make it really shine. I have it hooked to my local network via wire, but wireless is an easy setup.

Pros: Wired or wireless network connection Multiple sources (AirPlay, Spotify, Internet Radio, etc.) can be programmed Dedicated subwoofer jack

Cons: ?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Bullet from Chesterfield, VA on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been wanting this receiver for quite a while to replace my old Yamaha AV receiver, and I love it. Typical Yamaha quality. It operates a lot cooler than my old receiver and has numerous features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Kit from North Yarmouth, ME on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great full sound receiver for the money!

Pros: Great sound for the price. No fuss features. Network compatible if you need it.

Cons: Volume dial is a wee skimpy feeling but not a big deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for Old School Connections plus Bluetooth

James from Larkspur, CO on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this receiver for my den/office to replace an older Yamaha unit, which I moved the bedroom. Several reasons - one, I wanted more power. Second, I wanted to start steaming music from my iPhone and my Samsung tablet to the receiver (no Bluetooth in the older model). Third, I wanted to try Musiccast to see how well it pushed music wirelessly to my living area on the main floor. Den/office is on a lower floor, so I bought a WX-010 Musiccast speaker to go with the new N602. Lastly, it needed to support all of old school devices. It has the inputs/outputs I needed to connect my Pioneer Reel-to-Reel, my Denon cassette deck, my Pioneer CD carousel, and my Sony turntable. I must say that on the whole, I really like this unit. It's not perfect, but it is very good. It took a bit of fussing to get it to connect to my wireless network, but once connected it has been rock solid (online for several weeks now). Also getting the Musiccast app set up on my iPhone and connected to my network, the N602 receiver and the WA-010 speaker was not intuitive AT ALL. That app could really use some improvement. But several hours of tinkering got it all working. Everything sounds great. It is hooked to a pair of Infinity speakers (A) and a pair of Floor standing Jensens (B) plus a powered Polk Audio subwoofer. Bluetooth connection to my iPhone and Tablet is limited to about 30 feet or so, but that is to be expected. Musiccast connection to WA-010 on main floor is solid.

Pros: -Plenty of connections for old school analog devices -USB flash drive support -Bluetooth Out to Speakers and Headphones

Cons: -Bluetooth streaming of music IN and Bluetooth OUT to wireless speakers at same time not supported -Musiccast app not intuitive and little documentation on the app is provided

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

The right product for our needs

John from Franklin, TN on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly with the existing in-ceiling speaker system in our new home and provides the flexibility down to 4ohms to properly output through the speaker selector for the six connected rooms. The Crutchfield expert steered us right!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Brian from Haddon Hgts, NJ on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First receiver in many years. Sounds great. Five star sound, but only four stars because musiccast app can be challenging with iTunes library. At least for me. Crutchfield is great as usual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

CWM from Santa Barbara, CA on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power button on my perfectly good 1991 Sony receiver finally broke, giving me a reason to upgrade. To me there are basically three criteria for evaluating technology in the home: 1. Does it do what I want it to do 2. Is it intuitive to configure and use without having to look at the owners manual 3. is the equipment pleasing to look at every day in my living room. For my the answer is yes to all three. I love all the new features that this unit has. MusicCast is by far the best thing, along with internet radio and apple airplay. With bluetooth headphones I can work outside in my yard and select the music I want to hear from any sources (live radio, CD, my iTunes library, etc.), this is what technology should do for you. The sound is great, plenty of power, with refined bass and low distortion. The Pure Direct feature is great and I leave that set on most of the time. I live in an open plan space with a sleeping loft and it's nice to turn the radio on in the morning from my iPhone. I'm very happy with this product.

Pros: Packed with features, very intuitive to use right out of the box

Cons: I'm stuck with a 17" x 6" x12" component footprint for another decade

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Very Musical

Jay from Parker, CO on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Sounds very nice with the speakers I chose (Q Acoustics 3020). Setup seemed easy enough with the Yamaha music app, streaming through Spotify has not experienced any problems, and controlling the receiver through my phone has been convenient. The Yamaha has been set up as a bedroom system strictly for music playback. No turntable or any other components at this time have been tested but I have not reason to believe there will be any issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Tom from Largo, FL on 4/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit lived up to my expectations. Great unit.

Pros: Does everything you need

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Travelers Rst, SC on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up, WiFi works flawlessly. Very happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Bob from KS on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great with my Polk RtiA7 speakers. I really like the classic knobs. Using it for turntable only at this time.

Pros: Sound Classic look

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Wenham, MA on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield folks super helpful as I sorted through the options to go wireless and to find ways to connect my existing components. Over a course of months, they guided me to the Yamaha, and I'm very happy with the choice. It's exactly why it is worth purchasing from Crutchfield vs. big box or other online retailers!

Pros: General ease of set up & interface with iPhone. Sound quality. Pairing with Yamaha speaker soon.

Cons: Some difficulty getting bluetooth to activate and connect. Will hopefully sort it out.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RN602

Bryan from Tavares, FL on 2/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted more power than my Pioneer SX535 at 20 watts, so after many reviews and research I picked the Yamaha RN602. Glad I purchased it, it's nice to have less clutter with wiring since it has so many different options with WiFi, and Bluetooth and musiccast. The wattage increase was nice, the only thing I noticed was a drop in bass compared to my Pioneer. So that meant another call and purchase for a Polk PSW10 to go with my RTIA3's which I didn't mind, it's nice the Yamaha had a connection port for it. Thanks to Crutchfield for a great staff and knowing there products, my sound system is awesome. Not getting rid of my Pioneer love it too much, just put it in another and get another pair of Polk speakers for it. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Quality built product, nice to have a remote now for all of the features.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Joshua Tree, CA on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally gave up on my Pioneer 960 and bought this. I love it. Does everything I need and more. Sounds fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from York, ME on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A true audiophile receiver

Nick from Canton, OH on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!!!! What an amazing receiver. I'm not easily impressed but this time I truly am. It has everything I was looking for, traditional rotary bass/treble knobs, loudness feature, very high-quality phono input, a beefy heavy power supply and simple elegant looks. Everything feels solid and well constructed. including the silky smooth knobs. The sound quality is what makes this receiver worth every penny. It's very powerful but yet super clean with amazing detail, imaging and ridiculous dynamics. The sound is also very warm with pure deep bass output. Pink Floyd's (Divison Bell) album sounds incredible on this receiver. At 80 "true" rms watts per channel, It drives my tower speakers with ease. If you are wondering why I'm not mentioning anything whatsoever about it's wi-fi/network/streaming capabilities is because they will NEVER get used. That stuff is worthless to me and sounds like trash. Unfortunately, it comes standard with these new receivers so you really have no choice. If you're old school like me, this is the receiver for you hands down. This receiver puts the Onkyo tx8270 to shame. (I returned it and upgraded to the Yamaha). Hats off to Crutchfield for awesome customer service.

Pros: Stunning sound quality. Smooth controls. Traditional tone controls. High quality phono section. Clean looks. S/N Ratio 100db. Heavy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

24 of 24 found this helpful

The best choice for its price

Guest from Lima, PE on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great receiver: Sounds great, looks really good, the led panel is realy good too. Connect with everything: CD, turntable, deck, net radios, USB, spotify, tidal, deezer, wi-fi, bluetooth, etc. Wi-Fi works really good. I match the R-N602 with Triangle Titus EZ, and sounds really good.

Pros: Sounds great Looks really good (vintage style) Ultra versatile

Cons: Spotify, Deezer and others need premium version Phono input could be better (need a phono pre-amp)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Hendersonville, NC on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great machine and recommendation by Crutchfield tech. Just what I needed to replace my broken ancient accuphase e 202. Have yet to explore digital connection options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Las Cruces NM on 1/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had mine a bit of a while. The wireless interface for a while but it stopped working. Cannot get it back. Plays good otherwise, but cannot get internet radio back

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/8/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great stereo receiver with excellent bluetooth

Dave from Rogers City, MI on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha Rn602 works well picking up bluetooth and provides a quality sound in a difficult situation for reception. Very satisfied!

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: A little expensive, but quality unit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great stereo receiver.

David from Michigan on 12/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha receiver performs outstanding in every way. The Bluetooth hookup is easy and has excellent sound quality. Dan, at Crutchfield, was very helpful in recommending the system that would suit my needs and meet the sound quality I was looking for. Thanks to Crutchfield!

Pros: Sound quality. Yamaha reputation and Crutchfield assistance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Brian D. from Pflugerville, TX on 11/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent integrated amp. Love the Spotify Bluetooth feature. Clear and powerful Great deal for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Easy to set up. Would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Right Unit For Me!

Paul from Marquette, MI on 9/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace my 27 year old Denon receiver. It has plenty of old school charm with just enough modern features to keep me happy yet not intimidated. It has plenty of inputs and room to expand. The Bluetooth works well both ways and is easy and intuitive to set up. I've yet to try the Music cast system, but I plan on adding the Yamaha speakers in the near future. The Music cast app is also a breeze. Great sound, plenty of power and easy to use. That's quite a compliment from a guy who shies away from modern technology as much as possible. This was my first ever purchase from Crutchfield. Kevin was superb, and I must say it was the most pleasant shopping experience I've ever had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Joe from Glenside, PA on 8/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is a 22 pound black brick right from the pages of a Damon Knight science fiction novel. I purchased it to replace my 12 year old Yamaha RX-797 stereo receive. It has exceeded my expectations. I found it relatively simply to setup and its features are impressive. With the use of the MusicCast app yon can seamlessly switch from SiriusXM radio to Internet radio to playing CDs, and so on. Bluetooth and iTunes Airplay work well. I haven't yet figured out all that it's capable of doing. The streaming and wireless features make it very versatile and with 80 watts per side it has plenty of punch. The R-N602 may look like an old school stereo receiver but inside is a world of modern technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 8/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I needed it to perfectly, no more, no less

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

2 thumbs up.

Will from Norfolk, VA on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally got around to replacing my old Yamaha w/the 602. To say I was more than pleasantly surprised would be a gross understatement! This piece is a gorgeous beast. Could not believe how crisp & clean it pushed my music through. AND! When I turned it up a bit it blew my socks off. I would recommend this piece in a heartbeat. P.s. Very easy setup for all things WIFI.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Empire, MI on 7/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha's R-N602 is a outstanding unit with more options than I really need but I'm very happy to have bought it. I have paired it with my old Athena speakers for truly great sound. It replaces my old Yamaha RX-V659. My only complaint ( or wish) is that Yamaha would have a better system than the MusicCast contorller. Between the remote control and MusicCast there are to many options to choose from.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound, simplicity of design, flexibility of operation

Barry from Louisville, KY on 6/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit. It's currently matched with a pair of Klipsch R-24f speakers. The sound is clear and crisp. I primarily listen to cd's and streaming audio. The flexibility of the network capability, multiple device connections, and simplicity of use makes this unit top notch for my use. I highly recommend.

Pros: Wireless and wired connection. Quality of sound. Great remote

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Louis M. from Covington, LA on 6/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver has more options than I need but I'm glad I have everything it offers. AirPlay is very convenient and makes playing my music a breeze. The sound is awesome,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Features for the Price out there

Paul from Orinda CA on 6/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, let me state that I have owned the unit for around 3 months, and have been diligently reading instructions and patiently experimenting with connections. 1. This is a massive improvement in sound and functionality over our 12 year old Yamaha receiver. Getting used to the new interface has been a bit daunting. The availability of a Loudness function is useful as we move from background music to event listening (LOUD)! 2. If listening to say Pandora or SiriusXM etc, there is no way to see individual track information, and unless I am wrong, nor can you tune your channel choices without using MusicCast application. Just be aware, because MusicCast is a tough nut to crack. 3. MusicCast is very frustrating to keep synched with the receiver. I am struck by how many people state how wonderfully simple it is. In our case, our iPhone6s' consistently forget the rooms, the receiver, and the Yamaha WX-010 remote speakers we move outdoors on weekends also become disconnected often. I have searched and searched for some help on this, to no avail...So the constant need to re-setup ruins the WiFi and Bluetooth functionality. Otherwise, the unit is truly a great stereo receiver for music playback. No doubt about it. We just wish we could better enjoy using the wireless capabilities and MusicCast.

Pros: Solid sound - clean faceplate - good visible display

Cons: WiFi connectivity is unreliable - MusicCast is Tough to master - Unit sometimes "forgets" settings

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

I could not be happier!!

Bob from Saratoga Springs, NY on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to supply music to a couple rooms in my house from multiple sources including streaming services. So I shopped around and decided that the Yamaha R-N602 was the best choice for me. I am so glad I did. I had a decent receiver to begin with (a Denon 1603/683) , but I wanted to move that receiver to a different location. The Yamaha provides much better sound quality. I can hardly believe how much crisper and purer the sound is. I am not a very technical person and I would have struggled to get all the features set up and working if I had to rely on the very poor instructions that Yamaha provides for setting the system up using the remote. I am happy to say that set up was very easy using the MusicCast app on my phone. It was mostly intuitive and I had several features working in minutes. My receiver is located in a cabinet, but streaming works perfectly. A great choice all around.

Pros: Fabulous sound quality, easy to set up using MusicCast, streaming works perfectly from multiple sources

Cons: The display turns off within a few seconds making it harder to make adjustments.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602 = Excellent Sound Quality and Versatility

Kevin from Pewaukee, WI on 5/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver to finally rid myself of CDs via the USB port, and it's simply fabulous! The vast sound range and clarity vs. a much older Yamaha model (1990's) is truly worth the upgrade. I noticed the sound quality right away, and I'm actually having a different perception of some music, due to being better able to hear so much more depth, and new layers of the recordings. Also, the sound is very consistent at ALL levels. Low levels in the late evening provide a truly worthwhile experience. (Leave the TV off!). I simply power a set of Bose 301's with this unit - NO subwoofer. No need for one. Unit power is ample. I've not sampled the Bluetooth capabilities, as I'm a believer in wired vs. non-wired. I am anxious to try out the Net capabilities, as I know there are vast amounts of awesome stations out there that will broaden my music taste horizons. This unit is well worth my money, and I plan on keeping it until it is no longer is operable. I'm very pleased!

Pros: Sound quality!. USB port. Mono setting. Ability to buffer levels between sources.

Cons: No Cons, but small font size on remote and face.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha's finest stereo receiver

Matt from Alexandria VA on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver replaced a 15 yr old Yamaha integrated amp. It still works, but we moved and the new place has a dedicated listening room. The old integrated amp with all its required components was taking up too much space in this smaller room. Plus, I really wanted to stream audio easier without the use of a computer. This unit fits my requirements perfectly. It has many features, and once you get the app, its easy to set-up. You really can only use the basic functions with the front panel controls. I especially like the bluetooth TRANSMISSION feature. I am sending the audio to a built-in intercom system, and it works well. A small note about this feature- you cannot use bluetooth source at the same time as transmitting. The harmonic distortion is very low on this unit, especially compared the the 402 model, which is another reason I chose this unit. I have it connected to a vintage pair of Infinity floor speakers that I have owned for 20 years. They have NEVER sounded this good before. The looks of this unit are "vintage" too. Big knobs (all plastic though) has a really good look and feel. You wouldn't expect it to be so packed with technology and features just by the way it looks. PLENTY of inputs, including digital optical and coaxial. The CD player is connected optically and sounds fantastic. The Net Radio is a whole new world, I never knew such things existed. But I have found some channels from Europe that are incredible

Pros: Features Sound quality ease of use

Cons: cannot send and receive bluetooth at the same time works best with network cable connected, not as well wireless

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Mehrdad from Irvine, CA on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver in this price range. I love its digital feature as well as sound quality. MusicCast, DLNA, Wi-Fi Direct, BT, what else you would need to connect to a receiver! I have it connected them to a pair of HEF Q100 monitors, they sound great together.

Pros: plenty of connectivity options great sound quality

Cons: a little bit bulky, especially height (cannot complain, it's good old Yamaha!)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean Yamaha Sound

Marty from Skaneateles, NY on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing a 17-year old H-K receiver, wary of mindlessly buying into "new-is-better" mindthink. However, super clean sound, inputs for everything, and the big deal - connectivity. Great sound and up-to-date features. Crutchfield info and rep makes it an easy buy. Setup not bad, befitting a computer more than a piece of audio kit, but that's what comes with the deal if you want new technology. Like the remote. Bottom line: sounds great.

Pros: Current technology connectivity, with old school audio quality.

Cons: Nada.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Michael from Concord, MA on 3/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Full featured and great sounding receiver. Good value. Setup was more tedious and less intuitive than the setup for the more expensive Aventage line. Connecting to the wireless network took several attempts, but everything worked well in the end. I am very happy with this purchase. I bought because of the A/B speaker control effectively makes this a 2-zone setup for whole-house audio.

Pros: Sound quality, ease of operation (once setup), quality.

Cons: Long names for network SSID's and passphrases take time to specify, and it is too easy to choose options that forget your input and require re-input. This is a minor one-time frustration. I still recommend this receiver!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Bloomsburg, PA on 2/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality product. Crutchfield support second to none. Nice features to allow variety of sources. Some difficulty in setup revealed that there are errors in the booklet. Remote VERY touchy/sensitive.

Pros: Yamaha quality

Cons: remote

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-602 is a great value

TC from Springfield, VA on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-N602 was a good choice for me. My Crutchfield consultant walked me through the puts and takes in a logical way and we ended up with the Yamaha R-N602 to be the best value (price and attributes). A couple of negatives about the product is the design of the remote. The indicated functions on the remote are very small--too small in my humble opinion. And, at least it seems that the wireless antenna is not good enough to pick up the signal in my house, which doesn't seem to be a problem for many other wireless devices in the same location.

Pros: Overall good design

Cons: remote design and wireless antenna

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

James from Hickory Valley, TN on 2/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good receiver. Used with the app Multicast, this receiver is very functional. Plenty of source options including home media server.

Pros: Plenty of power with clarity. Many configuration options.

Cons: None noted.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Product

Andrew from Rocky Hill, CT on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha always exceeds in quality, versatility.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Stephen from Chapel Hill, NC on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is a now-rare combination of classically robust, 'old school' amplifier tech plus a hyper-modern front-end that addresses all the diverse media options we have today. It's like a 'Swiss army knife' with blades for satellite, analog over-the-air FM, to WiFi/hardwired streaming data, and everything in between. Add to that a real hardware-relay-operated speaker matrix option control, built in web server, Alexa integration and BT links, and this unit becomes the most flexible and sound-worthy part of any serious home audio system. I can't believe it costs just this much.

Pros:  Outstanding flexibility, performance, and ease of use  Truly superior PA deck, heads and shoulders above anything in this price class

Cons:  The remote control provided tells you they expect you to use the app on your phone!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Firmware Update For R-N602

Clark from Robertsdale, AL on 1/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not received my R-N602 yet, however while waiting for it to be delivered, I was reading the reviews and saw where this Firmware Update Version 1.18 might be helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Hixson, TN on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds are clear. Easy initial setup. Still working on internet setup so I cannot comment at this time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Brilliant Sound and Great Features

Gary from Unity, ME on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with my purchase. This receiver has great features and has improved the sound quality of my stereo meaningfully. My stereo and speakers have never sounded better. This purchase was a difficult choice for me. I was looking for a stereo receiver with more power. More like 150watts per channel. I have ESS Monitor speakers. ESS assured me that I would be happy with this Yamaha Receiver's power yet when pushed for the optimal wattage they stated 150 watts per channel, then followed that by saying at their office they were using a 40 watts per channel amp and at shows they use a 250 watt per channel amp. You can see my dilemma. The ESS people were fans of Yamaha products, and I have a musician friend who strongly recommended Yamaha. All in all, price, performance, quality, I love my new receiver and highly recommend this product. You will not be disappointed.

Pros: The receiver has the best combination of features available period! Relatively easy to setup to me. (note: I'm an IT guy) Seems to has more power than the stated specs. Everything it does, it does really well.

Cons: Would have liked a higher resolution display. A remote that would also control my CD player.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Great value for the money!

Crutchfield customer from Southern California, CA on 11/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always owed Yamaha receivers. Have big Aventage for the house, this one was to replace a 30+ year old R-1000 for the garage and backyard. Internet connections, MusicCast, Internet Radio, radio reception, etc work great. Also works well with my NAS. Great value for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

So intuitive

Brendon from St Paul, MN on 11/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought this unit to rediscover our old vinyl & CD collections, give our iTunes and MP3 libraries a hearing on a "real" amp/speaker combo, and access Pandora and Spotify, again with some solid audio equipment. This unit replaced a 25-year old Rotel amp I'd had since my college days. It has brought me into the 21st Century. My kids are thrilled that they can connect their music libraries and sources easily. The set-up was a breeze. The amp is warm and robust. Yamaha's take on "loudness" makes sense but is a big departure from what I think of as conventional.

Pros: Ease of set up Intuitive connections to music sources--Bluetooth, WiFi, USB Yamaha's wifi system--control from a smartphone

Cons: Can't power-on from iPhone app

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

detuned from Salem, MA on 10/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a basic amplifier to power a stereo system, yet somehow I ended up with this. But you know what? I'm glad I decided on the Yamaha R-N602. Although the setup is a bit tricky at times (connecting to my network took a couple of tries, and Airplay still doesn't work quite right), the sound is great and I can pick from a rich array of sound sources. Overall, very pleased with this purchase, and Crutchfield fulfilled my order seamlessly and quickly.

Pros: Great sound, versatile.

Cons: Apple Airplay tricky to set up properly (not Yamaha's fault).

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very good receiver

Lion from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver! Easy to hook up. Sounds Great!

Pros: Easy hookup. Works perfectly.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great, but.....

Dags from Roscoe, IL on 7/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a receiver that worked well with Spotify for my patio speakers. I did not want to leave it outside and already had outside wiring. From past experience, Blue Tooth works well except over longer distances and can have some interference. I liked this receiver because Spotify could run on the receiver computer and your I-phone or Android phone could control the MusicCast app via Wifi not Blue tooth. For that feature alone, I would give this a 5 star. The reason for the downgrade is that I wanted to use the transmit Blue Tooth feature to send a signal to my other outside speakers that are not hard wired. It did not say that there is a 5 second delay (processing I guess) between the wired speakers and the transmitted Bluetooth signal. Maybe another firmware will fix this.

Pros: Power OK, would have paid more for 120 watts, but with additional sub, it will be fine at 80 watts RMS. Wifi integration with computer server on my network and Spotify works well. Set up not too hard, but you will have to read the manual some.

Cons: The 5 second signal delay on the transmitted Blue Tooth.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

A coherent product with great sound

Markus from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 6/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had not upgraded my pre-amp and power amp equipment since the 1990s and decided to go for Yamaha's integrated solution offered through R-N602. It brings together music stored on my PC, flash/external drives/Creative Zen/mobile phone, Yamaha CD C600 player, global digital radio and from streaming services I use into one easy to access product. It achieves a sound considerably better than my old Adcom pre and power amp combo (which had become old friends, but were no longer practical solutions). The A and B speaker option is very useful to provide additional sound by the pool and I can always add Yamaha's wireless speakers, should the need arise. I am still using my Mission 774 speakers, which sound great with the Yamaha, but I guess they are over 20 years old now, so any thoughts on what best to replace them with would be appreciated. I am not an audiophile, but I enjoy hearing the full depth of the sound stage and prefer a rich detailed musical experience; the R-N602 does this and is a product I would highly recommend at this price point.

Pros: All current musical sources come together in one place, wired or wirelessly. It is relatively easy to set up and get underway. It produces a high quality sound and has expandability of speaker options with A and B speakers and Yamaha's own wireless options.

Cons: No cons. (It would great if there was a larger remote control with bigger font - as an option. Until I have learned the new buttons and controls, I have to frequently search for reading glasses and/or a flashlight before making any change to my auditory experience - I realize this my own aging problem rather than Yamaha's!!)

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

the yamaha r-n602

w mill from highland on 6/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantaSTIC

Pros: THIS HAS GOT THE LOT

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

A great option for old and new devices

CSpen from New York City on 6/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent a LONG time researching dedicated stereo receivers, considering everything from 'does it have a phono stage' to 'how easily will it connect to my Spotify'. For me, what sold me on this unit was the multitude of options - it could connect my turntable and my tablet - and all this over WiFi (i didn't want to have to run another Ethernet cable to my receiver). The unit looks great, setup was pretty straightforward, and does everything it promised. The built-in phono stage was significantly better than that in my turntable. And very importantly...the iPhone App is actually quite good. Every once in awhile its slow to connect, but is great for playback through many platforms, allows for easy adjustment of volume, can turn on/off A/B speakers and do quite a bit more.

Pros: Phono stage NO connection needed to router - WiFi works great! App works well Looks good!

Cons: More than I wanted to spend - but willing to do so to get exactly what I wanted, and dont regret it.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Michael from Pampa, TX on 3/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As an old-school separate-components-only kind of guy replacing a 20-year-old stereo, I was keenly interested in current technology but also a bit skeptical about usability and reliability. This receiver put those fears to rest (so far) and opened a whole new world of versatility. First and foremost, it sounds great, has lots of input options and plenty of power to drive my new Klipsch towers. It looks sharp and is well made. Love the bluetooth streaming from my smartphone, which sounds amazing, and internet radio is a godsend for someone living where there aren't many radio stations. (Tip: manual connection to my wireless internet router wasn't working as per the instructions, but the WPS button method (also in the manual) made it easy, and now it connects automatically.) My jury is still out on Yamaha's approach to loudness control, which is much different than the old-school approach to boost EQ at lower volumes. Took awhile to figure: set Loudness = 0 + volume + EQ at your loudest listening volume, then use the Loudness knob rather than the Volume knob to adjust the volume up and down. Retains EQ boosts at lower volumes. This is a quality piece of gear that produces beautiful sound from multiple sources. Yamaha has nailed the hardware side of things. Their MusicCast, on the other hand, seems like first beta version and needs quite a bit of development. While I love the internet radio, it doesn't seem like vTuner is trying very hard.

Pros: Great sound, ample power, good EQ, robust feature set, stylish good looks, nice controls, quality back panel hardware, good documentation, fairly easy installation and setup. Other people have criticized the remote but I like it. More $$ than I originally intended but worth it. Tip: I play guitar and like to practice with backing tracks, and the bluetooth streaming + ample volume so I can turn up my guitar amp is just the solution I've been looking for. Love it.

Cons: The vTuner app and web site have A LOT of room for improvement -- quite primitive, actually. Time consuming trial and error process to find and save stations you like, requiring lots of back and forth between computer and receiver, and very limited functionality. There's gotta be a better way. Also, manual cites need for receiver MAC address for vTuner account setup, but it actually requires a vTuner ID. MusicCast app is kinda buggy, frequent Access Errors, limited customization.

Crutchfield response on

34 of 34 found this helpful

Excellent product!

Richard M from albany, NY on 2/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent receiver with great sound output! It switches effortlessly from one device to another using the Harmony One remote that I purchased from Crutchfield!

Pros: Great Product

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602 Network Stereo Receiver

Scott Mc from Wadsworth, OH on 2/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect receiver. I was not interested in a Home Theater system, just a stereo receiver with wi-fi, bluetooth, and MusiCast (which was new to me). I am hooking it up to my new 55" 4K Samsung Smart TV, Blue Ray, DVD, and CD, all in one player, and Polk book shelf speakers, in my custom built entertainment center. Great system. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Everything about this receiver is great. It even looks great!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great amp - app can improve

Adam from VT on 1/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp is excellent - really solidly built Yamaha with excellent sound quality. I don't really ever watch movies through it, so it was a prefect system to play a wide range of music in two different rooms (one with Polk Audio floor speakers, one through Advent monitors). The sound is clear and well balanced and a big step up from our previous amp. We bought this amp also specifically to play digital music and we have it hooked up by ethernet cable to a small, home server, which works great, as well - never had a problem with lag or play gaps. My only complaint is that the control app (MusicCast run on an android tablet) could use a few improvements that they may well get to - there is no word search function for either the music on the server or the internet radio stations, both of which would be really useful. Also, you can't set the home folder, so every time I want a new disk I have to click a coupe extra times to get to the base "music" folder before I can browse by genre or artist, etc. Lastly, some of the info on the amp suggests that you can have different volume through the two channels, which is not true - this only works with bluetooth or internet speakers with their own power supply. The app stuff, I hope will be fixed in updates. Even with these caveats, the amp is first rate and I love the sound.

Pros: Great sound Great for digital music Works well with a server Solidly built

Cons: Control app has a few shortcomings Ditto on wanting an AC outlet!

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Pretty much everything I was looking for

TomB from California on 1/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For some time now, I've been looking for a traditional stereo receiver that would connect via wifi to my computer, phone, etc. and also play well with my analog devices, including my turntable. There are several good units that are designed more for video, but they generally don't accommodate the older components. So far, this unit has met or exceeded my expectations. Set up was fairly quick and easy, and all the features seem to be working as advertised. First time I've had a Yamaha component, after years of Onkyo, and I'm impressed with the sound quality. Wifi set up was a little baffling -- until I realize I could just connect my iPhone and it would pluck all the settings out of it. Boom, I was online. If the reliability is as good as everything else, I think Yamaha has a winner here.

Pros: Excellent sound quality, relatively easy set-up, compatibility with traditional analog devices, including turntable.

Cons: Wish it has an AC outlet or two like my older devices.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Fine reciever

Al from US on 1/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered it after considering the entire Yamaha receiver and A/V line up. Works as advertised. Running my old tube TV thru audio and better than expected results. Love the access to internet radio from my home WiFi. At first did not realize my Time Capsule would support it but VERY Clear written directions with the product documentation made it easy to set up. My family talked me into this model with the built in streaming apps, I net / Airplay and front USB port.

Pros: For a receiver, nice sound thru my 27 year old Infinity RS 2000 speakers (rebuilt with new foam). The family loves the features. LOVED the service from the Crutchfield reps that helped MANY times before I finally decided on this model.

Cons: I don't have a Touch/ Iphone that supports the IOS 7.0 so can't down load the MusicCast app. Rest of my family has one so no great loss. Would have rather not required a third party device to run the app that controls Multicast but I can live with it for now.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N602

Crutchfield customer from Alabama on 1/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Another great product from Yamaha !!

AlanW from California on 1/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver has adequate power for most home setups, with very clear sound. Very easy to hook up...and built like a rock. Another home run for Yamaha !!

Pros: Great sound...great build quality. Easy to setup, and links to Wi-Fi very quickly.

Cons: Inability to name custom setups (ex...change Aux 1 to TV).

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Nice network stereo

AndyG from Missouri on 1/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality unit from Yamaha. It seems to do everthing well. Plays from my Ipod, Android phone, Iphone, and network. I have it hooked up to my indoor and outdoor speakers and both sound great.

Pros: Easy to set up and sounds great.

Cons: Remote

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Stereo receiver for the digital age

Marty from Maryland on 12/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We moved into a large apartment where the logical place to put the sound system was in a room that was physically and acoustically distant from the other rooms in which we want to hear it. It was time to replace the aging but still good Yamaha RX-550 with something that was more up to date, and specifically could send to (wireless) speakers in other rooms. I bought this receiver based on Crutchfield's recommendation for its Musiccast feature, which transmits sound to wireless Yamaha Musiccast speakers over the home wi-fi network. I bought it with a Yamaha WX-030 speaker to evaluate. The control of the interplay between receiver and other Musiccast components is by a mobile telephone app. We installed the app on our respective telephones, and it seems to work as advertised. The system keeps the apps synchronized when changes are made on either telephone. I installed the receiver this weekend, and after a few false starts, was able to get the remote speaker linked and playing in the kitchen. It hiccups occasionally from interruptions in the home wi-fi network, but overall it works well. I'm satisfied enough with the performance that I'm planning to order two more speakers for other rooms. I've not yet had a chance to evaluate the other internet features. We intend to experiment with internet radio and Pandora when we have time to explore those options. Overall, at this point I'm happy with the new receiver, especially its clean, clear sound and Musiccast feature.

Pros: Musiccast system for remote wireless speakers. Bluetooth linking, internet connectivity. Set up for multiple streaming services including Pandora and Sirius. Phono input, two optical inputs, one RCA CD input, three RCA line inputs (of which two have outputs), two coaxial inputs, USB port on front. Ability to adjust volume levels for each input to equalize them. FM receiver seems sensitive enough with the provided wire antenna, given my urban location near the bottom of a small valley.

Cons: Mediocre but functional remote control with tiny print and buttons. Unclear setup instructions for Musiccast. Skimpy print documentation for everything. Mobile phone app required for Musiccast. Optical inputs cannot handle or convert Dolby surround sound input to two-channel stereo, requires that the source of the sound be changed to PCM (on the television), or use analogue RCA cables instead; I installed both. Annoying counterintuitive dB volume display in negative numbers.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

Excellent AirPlay Receiver

danb from California on 12/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have just started using the Yamaha and haven't yet tried out all of its features. I mainly bought this for its ability to stream music from iTunes via Airplay. This replaces a 20 year-old Yamaha receiver that has given many years of wonderful listening, and is still working perfectly, however, when I checked options to adapt the older version to Airplay (and have the streaming in digital form to avoid loss of quality) they were almost as expensive as just buying a new receiver. Set-up was quite easy (using an Asus router), although it did take a few tries before the Yamaha and router were linked. I am driving a pair of 4 ohm Ohm H speakers, and the power appears to be very adequate for these. There is a sub-woofer output, which I don't use. Also, an RCA phono jack for a turntable which I do use occasionally, and which is not offered on most of the newer Home Theater-type receivers. Overall sound quality is excellent for a receiver in this price range, and probably would not be noticeably different unless I spent several thousand dollars, so a good compromise between quality and value. The instruction manual is relatively easy to use. I have not yet tried it with any of the streaming radio services, so cannot comment on the ease of set-up for those. I like the Loudness setting which I also had on the older receiver, which keeps the bass/treble adjustments appropriate at lower volumes.

Pros: Nice quality sound for the price, drives my speakers with plenty of power to spare, easy AirPlay setup, which was the main reason I purchased this unit. My old Yamaha receiver is still going after 20 years, so build quality of the brand seems excellent. Phono input is another plus.

Cons: One complaint: there is a switch which allows direct feed of input into the D-A converter, bypassing bass/treble controls. This produces enhanced quality directly from a digital source. Unfortunately, using that switch also bypasses the Balance control, so if you need to adjust the L-R balance for your room, you cannot take advantage of this feature. Also, there doesn't appear to be a way to bypass the unused channels, so that switching between inputs requires that you go through all options.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 20 found this helpful

TOP