Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Old school 2 channel rocks.

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit. Does everything I need and drives my Heresy IV's just fine. Hard to beat good old 2 channel stereo for music listening pleasure.

Pros: Easy to hook up and use. MusicCast works great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Westlake, OH on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What's not to like it's a great piece of equipment. I like that I can tap into SiriusXM mostly the 60s on six I grew up with these songs and I love playing them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm digging it

David from Manlius, NY on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite happy with this. Set up was totally easy. And CDs sounds great. I was almost scared off this as several people report issues with the Bluetooth, but it worked simply and well for me. In pure direct mode I could definitely hear aspects of the music I was previously missing. Been a pleasant day re-connecting and re-appreciating my favorite music. Looking forward to exploring more this thing has to offer.

Pros: My hunch was and is that beyond what this offers, I would not hear a difference worth paying a lot more for. But I'm glad I paid for this upgrade.

Cons: Nothing yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Cheshire, CT on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the receiver sounds great and has good features. Initially had issues with connecting with the Yamaha speaker and figuring out MusicCast. Installed a much better router and the system works much better.

Pros: Great quality

Cons: Connectivity and MusicCast

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy customer

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my Genesis 1 speakers. The sound quality is amazing. I am very happy with my purchase. We do, however, need some help to get wifi connection operable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Morgantown, WV on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!!! Very pleased with Yamaha !!! Spend the effort to buy this receiver. Love the features!!! Easy to understand and rock!!! So far I've Thrashed two old sets of speakers jbl l100's and genesis 210 's and cranking the cerwin Vegas E715's Time for an upgrade to klipshes Do spend your money if you want concert hall vibes!!!

Pros: Exceptional sounds... easy to set up ... really a wise choice for reasonable money

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield Saved the Day

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield saved the day for me. I had purchased another receiver from Crutchfield that didn't work out for me. When I phoned them, not only did they readily accept its return, but they steered me to the Yahama R-N803 and also suggested a subwoofer to bring out the lower ranges I love. When I explained that running wires to a subwoofer would be difficult they suggest a wireless adapter for the subwoofer. I took their suggestions and could not be happier with my new setup. In particular the receiver has all the features I had hoped for, but wrapped in a more traditional box with manual controls on front, like the first system I owned back in the 1960s. It's enabled me to move gradually into the 21st Century. The sound quality, using my large Advent speakers from the 1970s [rebuilt in 2014] blows me away. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Distortion free beauty

Crutchfield customer from Tecumseh, MI on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal sound. Even without engaging "Pure Direct", this unit is nearly distortion free. With it engaged, this is the cleanest sounding amp I've had the pleasure of hearing. Some have not liked the YPAO feature, but I think it's great at lower volumes. To be honest, I haven't tried everything this unit has to offer, but thus far, it has been nothing short of amazing.

Pros: Clean sound. Will play any source. Distortion free.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a R-N602, which I liked. This is an upgrade, but one thing I miss is that the USB on the front no longer reads from an iTouch or iPad. That feature worked so well with the R-N602, and worked with the app.

Pros: Great sound, does much more than I need or use.

Cons: USB doesn't support iTouch or iPad

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, OH on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp did as delivered. Exeptional sound well balanced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the amp/receiver generally has good sound, with the exception that the bass/treble controls don't work at all. Crutchfield has promised to switch the unit out with another new one. I'm looking forward to receiving the new R-N803.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Mount Joy, PA on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds better than the 9 year old Marantz that it replaced. Had to spend some time poking around the internet radio menus to find what I wanted, but wasn't that hard.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Scratch and Dent - Like new

Crutchfield customer from Rockton, IL on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit as a scratch and dent and cannot find any scratches or dents on the units. The box was a little torn and ripped but that's about it. I had some problems getting my phone to find the unit and Crutchfield walked me thru the problem in about 10 minutes. Great service. I recommend Crutchfield.

Pros: Scratch and dent prices brought the unit's price down to the model below this one. Customer service from Crutchfield.

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Willow Springs

Robert from Willow Springs on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver has far exceeded my expectations. I purchased it because it seemed like a bargain for a high-quality amplifier and having the network capability was a bonus. It turns out what really sets this unit apart is the YPAO function. I am powering some Klipsch Fortes from the late 80s and they have never sounded better. I expected to be using the pure direct mode but with the equalizer activated everything seems to sound tonally perfect. The MusicCast system on this does not support Amazon music HD which is my primary source for streaming, but an easy workaround was to use an Amazon fire TV stick and send the optical file from the TV to the receiver. The Amazon interface is so good I think I would use this even if the MusicCast worked. This combination produces outstanding audio quality. It makes me wish my vintage amp died earlier.

Pros: Outstanding value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A Keeper

Denny from Lima, OH on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Consumers are using streaming services for 80% or more of their listening nowadays and Yamaha was wise to take a deep plunge into the market. The R-N 803 is a powerful force in the streaming realm yet retains conventional analog and CD capability which was a smart move. It is difficult at this price point to find a unit better suited to the level of flexibility than the R-N 803. A few years ago I purchased the R-S 700 due to wanting a solid two-channel receiver. At the time I noticed the R-N 602 but wasn't ready to commit to a streaming device yet. Time passes and the setup in my main listening area started to show signs of issues that were beyond my expertise to fix. To be fair, it was older separates that had served me well for over thirty years so the time had come. I found setting up the receiver to be fairly easy. There have been concerned raised in other reviews that express frustration with not being able to use Amazon Music and the main issue is on Amazon's end, they make subtle changes to their service which has led to finding a dedicated app next to impossible. After researching a bit I settled on connecting Amazon music via AirPlay. Here is a video that shows how to do so albeit with a different receiver: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJh4c2EV9lY I have the MusicCast app on both my iPad and phone and have had no issues to date. The sound quality has been tremendous through every input although it can be very revealing on subpar sources

Pros: Versatile, good power, great sound quality.

Cons: Little peeves like a socket or two in the back. I would like to have the ability to run an equalizer but it's not a big deal.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha quality

Frank from Athens, GA on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver for it's WiFi capabilities. I really enjoy streaming music and this does the job admirably. I wish it had support for Amazon Music, but hopefully that will come in a future firmware update. It produces beautiful sound while playing CDs and has plenty of power to drive your speakers. I would, however, recommend a separate phono preamp if you have a turntable. The built in preamp is just ok, not great.

Pros: Built in DAC produces a warm, clear sound. Solid build quality and an attractive front panel.

Cons: Yamaha provides support for several major streaming services but not for Amazon Music.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

would order another one for a different room, if it was available

Pros: i like the 100 watts per channel

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes me happy and not difficult to configure.

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, MD on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An upgrade from the 1996 Yamaha RX-550 I had been using which was still working. But, it was time for a change. I inherited my Dad's system when he passed last March. Got some really nice Klipsch Chorus II speakers but his receiver did not BlueTooth and would not take a USB stick. None of which was around in 1996. The R-N803 syncs to my iPhone easily enough utilizing Pandora and Spotify. Checked for updates with an ethernet cable. Plenty of power to drive the big speakers and gives me what I need in a system. I am looking forward to running a DVD player and TV with optical output's through the two optical inputs and using the Klipsch as a two channel system.

Pros: Two optical inputs Bluetooth nice instruction manual USB port

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Cambria Heights, NY on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound, as expected, is top notch.

Pros:

Cons: Much more difficult to setup than the CX- A5100, for example, because one only has the front panel window. The unit should, at least, feature a composite video output for feeding a larger screen for feedback.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

a great receiver

Crutchfield customer from Aptos, CA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great receiver with a ton of options for music sources. Very old school, but that is what we wanted! Was originally out of stock, but delivered as promised in great shape. thanks again!

Pros: many many options for music sources

Cons: big and heavy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Lake Stevens, WA on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the best receivers I've ever purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The 2.1 Receiver I Have Been Looking For

scott from Prior Lake, MN on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to replace a 30 year old Denon Receiver that was one of the best things I have ever owned, so needles to say I was being VERY choosy when looking for its replacement. It needed to have a good phono stage as my love for vinyl has grown exponentially, it need to have several different inputs including Analog an Digital, it needed to have the ability to add a Subwoofer, but most of all it had to have great sound. This receiver checked every box and then some. This is the receiver to get if you want a vintage look and sound with more than a few modern conveniences thrown in. Just some of the modern features are, Wi-fi networking capability, Bluetooth connection, and MusicCast to allow you to wirelessly connect several different items. Lets talk about the sound. I was blown away right out of the box. I had tried a few different receivers before this over the last couple years and all were returned. The last being an Onkyo. All were returned because the sound was just not true, just not full, just not pure....this receiver has that sound and more. That coupled with it's Pure Direct mode make this the right receiver for me. If you are searching for that vintage look and sound with some modern conveniences, this is the receiver for you.

Pros: - Sound is amazing - Phono stage is very good - Modern conveniences such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and MusicCast - Built like a tank - 100 watts - Easy Setup

Cons: - The input and line in names are not assignable - Remote control could be improved upon

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great Yamaha!

Crutchfield customer from Yuma, AZ on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb sound, fantastic switching between audio components. Great price. Centerpiece of my audio entertainment wall.

Pros: Plug and play at it's best.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the amp. Easy to set up (with the manual). Excellent sound. Not a fan of MusicCast in order to set up connecting Bluetooth speakers (and not all Bluetooth speakers are compatible), but since this unit has no video output display, setup has to be done somehow. I use the Internet radio frequently.

Pros: Clean design and output

Cons: Very thick manual and I find for specific questions it is difficult to find specific answers.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Ho Hum

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is as much as you can get in a stereo receiver from Yamaha. I wish I would have ordered extra one 20 years ago. 2.1 why not 2.2? 100 watts that's it. I have a Pioneer model 1980 from 1978, would spank this thing and send it to bed. Expect more from Yamaha

Pros: It was available......

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 21 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, MA on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Play power connect to the network and has a great DAC

Pros: WIFI for online streaming. No need for bluetooth.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well Thought Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver replaced my Technics SA-EX100; that I had since 1997. This receiver sounds good. It's on the bass side (that's a good thing - I'm a bass-head). It's a good receiver for a 2-channel listener. It would be better if it had Pre-Outs (and a second subwoofer-out)

Pros: AB Out-Puts Trigger Out-Put Many Heat sinks

Cons: No Pre-Outs One Subwoofer Out-Put gets warm (basically hot) while enjoying music (Loud) after 3-hours in a 70-75°F room

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Anoka, MN on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice component,very easy to setup, Bluetooth took me 15 seconds to setup,sound quality is great. Compatible with everything I used with it, haven't had it kind but totally happy with this purchase. Also the staff was amazing to deal with online.

Pros: Super easy to setup. Compatible with everything.

Cons: Can't find any yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from South Park, PA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service and recommendation by Dante!! Beautiful addition to my stereo

Pros: Ease of installation, venues for music such as internet and streaming channels as well as sirius

Cons: does not work with amazon music

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha Knows Music

Douglas from Clyde on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is replacing an Aventege 1020 AVR biamped to a set of JBL 530s, with a SVS PB1000 used only for music. The watts per channel are within 10 watts of each other, with the N803 with 10 less. The 803 cannot biamp, but can biwire. I initially biwired, cuz the wire was there. The result sounded confused and with an echo. So I replaced the jumpers and used just the A speakers out from the 803. Much better. Then I noticed the 803 seemed very bright, that tinny sound. So I ran the YPAO mic program. Really no big difference. The JBLs dont need YPAO, even with the 1020 no YPAO. Just toe in or out, and distance from back and side wall. Really not much moving. I noticed the 803s brightness would go away after running a bit, but would be there on start up. 40 hrs in it seems to be gone, and warming up quite nicely. The sound is so clear and precise, like drop a pin nice. The clarity is so equal from low listening to driven hard. The 1020 is awesome but the 803 gives such detail and separation in the instruments and voices. No problem with the 6ohm JBLs, it can drive them fine. I did set the 803 to 4ohm and above, rather than 8ohm and above. No bass management , yet the SVS rolls off better and more subtle without it. At low volumes there is a presence we all want from piano strikes to bass strums. No HDMI so the network functions are managed from your device through Musicast, this was my biggest worry. Musicast works flawlessly. The 803 will play last station on a app w/o phone.

Pros: Musicast is what puts this as a must have. Going to handheld control over a TV screen is so convenient . There is a learning curve. Now the shining star of the 803, Yamaha has been building amps and receivers forever. They don't change what works. The Sabre DAC takes Yamahas years of music reproduction knowledge and puts it clearly , into the digital world. Pandora Premium and Siruis XM are always running at 44.1 kHz sampling. Yes always. The app shows you, and you hear it.

Cons: Final thoughts the n603 is cheaper but the DAC is a Burr Brown. The 1020 has a BB DAC, and it is amazing. The Sabre is superior. The only way to do better than the 803 is with the integrated 801 with a separate network player. So get the 803 and you won't be sorry. The 803 is running in pure direct mode all the time and is warming up very nicely. The SVS just disappeared rolls in and out like a dream. Nicely done Yamaha! Thanks Crutchfield. I hooked up my ELAC 6.2s briefly they needed YPA

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it sound awesome with the klipsch speakers i bought

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Should have purchased sooner!!

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, CA on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a fairly new non network yamaha receiver with the RN803 and this one makes me regret not buying this model sooner. Simply cannot deny the convenience of the sheer volume of music available in the "network library" even if you have a massive vinyl, cd, or even tape library (anyone remember Nakamichi or Tandberg decks?)! Convinced myself that Bose cones would be fine for "causual" listening! Would have been 5 stars because I was assuming the YPAO tuning would really be fantastic. Actually prefer to defeat YPAO mode. Looked at Denon at a brick and mortar, but the yamaha metal pots just "felt" higher quality. To be fair the Denon could be great, too.

Pros: Many features,great sound,looks and feels like a quality product!

Cons: YPAO not what was expected.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Center Valley, PA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality and plenty of power to drive my Wharfedale EVO 4.4 speakers. I wanted a primary audio system (2.0 or 2.1) and this receiver is perfect.

Pros: Very good product. Setup was easy. It can handle multiple input sources to deliver great performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

When you want the music to be the fireworks.

Crutchfield customer from Castro Valley, CA on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A straight-up receiver with plenty of clean power and a no-nonsense user interface. Great for a music-only environment. In the future, I plan to add a MusicCast speaker for the back patio. I know MusicCast is not the most expansive ecosystem, but it should be enough for what I need.

Pros: Don't need a video interface to see all the control functions. Tuner provides options in the radio-rich Bay Area.

Cons: Front display a bit spartan.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Pleased ??

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my Harmon/Kardon 3770 with the Yamaha R-N803 and I'm very impressed. The sound quality is significantly superior and the solid construction reinforces my purchase. Very easy to use and would recommend this to anyone wanting the best for their money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, NY on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs flawlessly. A little daunting to set up the internet connections, but once done this rapidly disappears in the rear view mirror.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Dale from Enterprise, UT on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In a word - JUNK! This is no way a reflection on Crutchfield, which, in my opinion is the absolute best company I have ever purchased from! This receiver is nothing but total brain damage. The MusicCast software is the worst thing ever. It has to be constantly re-set in order to work all. Also, take note, this receiver only works on 2.4g. A major, stingy oversight by Yamaha. I have to use two different networks in my house. I had to set my iPhone to 2.4 and my iPad to 5g (for the downstairs systems). This junk is for ever losing it's connection to what ever you are streaming from. Useless. If you stream Deezer, be extra aware, this receiver will cut out constantly. Never happens with my Denon or my Onkyo. Every time I turn on my Onkyo or my Denon, they work. 4 out of 10 times I try to use this Yamaha, it has forgotten who it is, and I have to set it up all over again. Do yourself a favor, get an Onkyo or a Denon, maybe a Sony, whatever you like - but don't waste your hard earned money on this junk. I am going to gift this paper weight to someone and buy a Denon from Crutchfield. What ever you buy, be sure to buy it from Crutchfield, they are an amazing company!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 26 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Thomaston, ME on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver, it puts life back into my old klipsch forte'll speakers and of course the new klipsch reference speakers . It does so many things through technology over my old pioneer sx-950 receiver. It may take me a while to figure it out but I know who to call for help, "Crutchfield", thanks again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Famous "Natural Sound" that Yamaha is known for.

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a Yamaha CR-440 receiver (1979) 30 watts/ch where the phono input left channel failed everything else works on it. Using the receiver with a Yamaha YP-B2 turntable (1979) with high end Audio Technica cartridge & Genesis II speakers (1979), Frequency response: 28 Hz to 20 kHz, Power 15-100 watts/ch into 8 ohms, sensitivity 89 dbl. My vinyl collection never sounded better paired with an efficient pair of speakers you don't need a lot of volume to fill a room. Like the fact that you don't have to use your iphone to listen to internet radio & SiriusXM after you download MusicCast unlike the Marantz N1200. Just wish Yamaha would add an update for Amazon Music like their MusicCast turntable so I wouldn't have to steam using my Iphone.No problems with bluetooth stable connection with my phone. Only have used for 2 weeks, In my opinion it needs a several hours of break-in. The room EQ setup is worth it (YAPO) during the configuration you can hear if there are any differences between the LT & RT speakers plus you don't have fiddle with speaker placement.Pure Direct is a plus. The MusicCast app works well on my Iphone XS just be sure to download the US version. Like I said after initial setup you don't need it if you are not using a multi room wireless setup. To sum things up if you just want HIFI stereo at a reasonable price and not into surround sound from your TV that will rattle the fillings in your teeth the R-N803 fits the bill well.

Pros: Easy setup using my Iphone, took about 5 min. Product was shipped with current firmware so no update necessary! Delivery from Crutchfield was as promised with no issues. Appreciate the time that River spent with me since I'm no IT expert. Definitely will consult with Crutchfield when time to update the speakers, but, the IRS comes first.

Cons: Wish it was available in silver color, black is hard to read labels on the face plate. Just wish Yamaha would add and update to Amazon Music like your MusicCast turntable so I wouldn't have to steam using my Iphone.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Canton, NY on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice,full sound even at low volume. Although not that important to me,this is a beautiful receiver to look at as well as user friendly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Thanks Dante!

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely clean and powerful unit. More than pleased with it's abilitiy to run my Magnapan speakers. Vunyl does sound a bit better as well. Good pick Dante!

Pros: Simple to connect, nice tuner , no issues. Thank you.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, flexibility and robustnes!

Pros:

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

quite good

james from north canton, oh on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit for the integrated network streaming capabilities, from hi-res sites. I owned a Yamaha in the past and it was a solid performer. The 803 is even better. It is clear, neutral and strong. Not bright, not dark. Nice on vocals. I went with the 803 instead of the 602 just for the extra horsepower. 4 ohm or 8 ohm, no problem. Class AB. The power is not shy. The room is 24 x 14, and is acoustically friendly. This unit does not overheat at all, even after 2 hours of loud to very loud music. (there is 3 inches of air on top, and no back to the cabinet at the receiver shelf. I use 12 gauge speaker wire.) I stream from the PC thru ethernet. The fidelity is great, with the proper digital format. FLAC or WAV at 24 bit/96KH is as good if not slightly better than CD, imo. PC, streaming sites, USB, phone - all great. Internet radio is integrated into the receiver. The quality is very good to excellent. You can set initial volume levels on turn-on, and max volume levels. This relieves accidental-crazy-loudness anxiety, at least for me. Useful. Initial volume especially. (The unit is off, on next turn-on you will NOT be blasted out of the room with volume from last night). Good idea. Max volume prevents speaker abuse. The wifi musicast controller, downloaded to your phone, is user-friendly. Also, bluetooth works fine - 30 foot range. I stream thru QOBUZ, which at this time is not integrated into the unit. You can buy hi-res from QOBUZ, however, then play from your PC. Happy with this so far. Old school meets new tech. Delivered in timely fashion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Go Crutchfield!

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, IL on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Garrett & Stone and others have been terrific. This unit is the best! They guided this old coot with kindness and understanding! I'm grateful for their help and understanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Defective Unit

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicville, NY on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit dead on arrival. No response other than "Power On" and "Pure Direct" indicators illuminated. Also, the A/B speaker switching relays could be heard clicking on and off. No display of any kind. The main processor board et al apparently defective. Requested immediate replacement, with pre-test before shipment. Technical support was prompt and helpful, recommending the obvious: Replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 13 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Petersburg, IL on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very versatile, with network cable installed, seamless hookup. Way to many choices with net radio & other internet options. More than likely the last receiver I'll need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A Tremendous Value

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with my new Yamaha R-N803. I have listened to it daily for two weeks and really appreciate the full, clear, musical sound quality. It is a powerful unit. Driving power hungry tower speakers it has never broken a sweat. It's wide array of features and ease of use are appreciated, but it's the Yamaha YPAO option that is really the icing on the cake. This stereo receiver will sound great in your listening room. Crutchfield's low price, free shipping, and strong customer support made my purchase decision an easy one. Steve M.

Pros: In it's price range, it has no competition. Yamaha gets to take a bow on this product.

Cons: Nothing worth mentioning.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome tuner plenty of power. Great sound.

Pros: Great service packaged well unit protected.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great component! Everything I hoped for!

James from Alamosa, CO on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile, but I really enjoy clean, crisp sound with good base response. And this receiver delivers. I was most concerned about the internet radio feature as I had enjoyed a Denon separate component that produced beautiful sound from internet radio stations. I wasn't sure how good the sound would be from this all-in-one type of unit from Yamaha. I needn't have worried. The sound is terrific, whether a CD is playing or when I am listening to KUSC from Los Angeles. Of course, the Cambridge Audio Minx 22 satellites and the X301 subwoofer have a lot to do with that. I bought those at the same time. But really I couldn't be happier. It's well worth the money. No worries, it will do the job. jimg

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

GOODSTUFF

Crutchfield customer from Apple Valley, CA on 11/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A REALLY NICE PIECE OF GEAR. PLENTY OF POWER AND GOOD ERGONOMICS. AMP IS DRIVING A PAIR OF VINTAGE ACOUSTIC RESEARCH AR3-A SPEAKERS. THEY STILL SOUND GREAT!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Signal Mountain, TN on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exchanged a Marantz 1509. Much better sound quality out of the Yamaha. Setup was easy. Remote, while cluttered, is easy to use. Effortless power. Very happy with the upgrade. Sound is more neutral than the Marantz.

Pros: Wonderful sound, at both low and high volume. Easy to transition between modes. Setup with software produces excellent, balanced sound.

Cons: Would have loved a model in silver.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Phenomenal network receiver

MB from South Weymouth, MA on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thrilled with the output and clarity of this receiver. Right now I'm mostly streaming through TIDAL ( not sure why anyone would use a less powerful streamer), and it is more than enough to project Carnegie Hall -like sound out of my newly acquired Ohm Walsh Super2.2s. Just looking for a quality turntable now. And anyone complaining about losing the signal should purchase A Wi-Fi extender plug-in. You can get a Netgear one for $30 and you will not lose anymore signal. That's a modem issue, not a receiver issue. Also, anyone complaining about this being a black unattractive box, it's under $1000. If you want a McIntosh head-turner, And who doesn't , open up that wallet! Happy listening .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Shana from New York, NY on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not ready for prime time, inconsistent performance. When it works it works well, the other 10% of the time it just doesn't work. It's like the old Windows 3.1. Often the streaming looses it's links, certain rooms cut in and out, also often needs entire system reboot. Would not buy gain.

Pros: All in one unit, sounds good. When it works, it's a great system

Cons: DAC often loses connection to controller. Streaming the speakers off for cuts in and out. System needs additional testing and industrialization

Crutchfield response on

3 of 14 found this helpful

Another Great Yamaha Product

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 7/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another great Yamaha product. Easy and intuitive user interface when using with Musicast. Sound quality belies it's mid-range price. Mine is hooked up with a pair of Klipsch RP-600m's and 10" Klipsch SW -

Pros: Easy to setup and use - Great sound for the price

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sweet

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Old made New again!!

Crutchfield customer from Wooster, OH on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted something that is reminiscent of older amp.'s with new technology and plenty of POWER. I am not that tech. savvy and this is very easy to set up. I haven't listened to this much music ever. Well worth it!

Pros: Easy set up. PLENTY of power. Fantastic features new and old.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent choice

Guest from Cape Coral, FL on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned the Yamaha R-N803 for 6 months now and am very happy with its performance. One thing that drove me crazy until recently is that the optical input did not work when connected to my brand new Samsung TV. I tested the output from the TV, using an older, and much cheaper amplifier, and it worked fine. I finally tracked down the problem. My new Yamaha RN 803 does not accept the Dolby optical output from my TV. In my TV menu I went into the advance sound setting and changed it from Dolby to PCM, and it now works just fine. It's not Dolby sound, and not being an expert, but the sound is very acceptable, especially compared to the TV internal speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Twp, OH on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice receiver. Sounds great. Had one problem - one of the reasons I bought this receiver was to play music from my iMac with AirTunes via my router. The router is about 30-40 feet from the receiver with no solid walls in between. The receiver could not get a good enough signal from the router to play music consistently. So, I drilled holes in my floor and ran an ethernet cable through the basement to connect the router and receiver. Since I did this, the airplay has been working perfect. Not sure why it couldn't get a solid signal since I previously had an airport express in the same location as the receiver and it was able to receive a signal...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Land O Lakes, FL on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried the 602 first and wasn't sure if I would want more power at some point so went for the 803. Did not regret it. Staff made it easy for me and just wanted for me to be satisfied. Will definitely be the place I go for my electronics.

Pros: Not much need to adjust the base and treble.

Cons: ? No base or treble controls on remote.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very Good

Crutchfield customer from Amissville, VA on 6/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound, plenty of power. In my set-up, two different size and brand of speakers in the same room (front and side), I am running A+B. There is a choice of A+B in the YPAO setting so it works. But for a fifth star I would want to have separate volume levels adjustable by me, not just YPAO, for the two channels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Burkburnett, TX on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Yamaha CR-2020 receiver back when I was in college and that receiver was deserving of a 5 star rating. It was a beautiful piece of engineered equipment with a brushed aluminum front panel, walnut wood case, lighted power meters, lighted tuner meter, multiple filters, crossover controls and tonal controls, plus plenty of power to play hard all night long. The Yamaha R-N803 receiver is nice, but I hate black (that alone is enough to degrade my score one grade level) and the controls are minimal for a flagship stereo receiver. Nice to have the USB port, and I like the online music feature even though in my opinion the music quality is subpar. This is especially noticeable when using Klipschorn speakers. This will probably be my last stereo receiver. Have always been partial to Yamaha stereo gear (good quality and value), but I'm old school when it comes to stereo equipment. Basic black with a couple small LED indicators and a small digital readout is a turnoff for me. I want to see dancing power meters when the music is playing.

Pros: Yamaha quality, decent price and value, plenty of power, USB input, online music, remote control and MusicCast.

Cons: It's black and unattractive. No power meters. No switched 120V outlets. Instructions need improvement on setup.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 19 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the unit in place for about 2 weeks and love it. The only negative is the wireless connectivity is spotty at times. The 100 w x 2 drives my PSB bookshelf speakers with plenty of juice. Unit is easy to set up via the MusicCast app and makes it very easy to stream from Sirius, Net radio, Airplay with my itunes acct etc. The unit is quite large and pretty heavy giving it an old school feel. Very pleased so far.

Pros: Great functionality for streaming music, plenty of power and great sound

Cons: Wireless connectivity is spotty at times, better with a wired connection if you have that option.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Nice Receiver, But....

Patrick from Glen Allen, VA on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, I'm not going to bash this product because it didn't work out for me. I returned it through Crutchfield's superior customer service and still looking for a 2-channel stereo receiver that's suited for me.I will start off by saying, GREAT sound, rock solid build quality, clear & strong FM reception. Plenty of connections, dual heatsinks & 8 FET output devices for a strong 100WPC. My only issues were with the Apple AirPlay & Bluetooth connectivity. AirPlay worked for about a minute or so, then quit. Same thing with the BT, and I don't believe it was my iPhone XS Max. It connects flawlessly to both of my Audioengine BT streaming devices, just not with this Yamaha receiver. Only other things I didn't care for was the "busy" front panel, plastic tone control knobs, & a poorly designed remote. Other than that, still a nice receiver, just didn't work out for me.

Pros: SQ, FM reception, Build quality, 100WPC output

Cons: Poor connectivity for wireless devices, cheap plastic knobs, "busy" front panel, hard to use remote

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Wytheville, VA on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with the the R-N803 Receiver. The sound is so pure and distortion free. I like being able to use Pandora and SiriusXM radio. I can also access my extensive mp3 collection from my home server. This receiver is complicated so I would encourage you to carefully read the instructions. I give it 5 stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Bryan from Searcy, AR on 3/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, great sound!

Pros: crystal clear

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

David Gene from Winston Salem, NC on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. Replaces a 30 year old Mitsubishi amp, pre amp and tuner. Have one foot of working space to make the speaker connections and that was a load of fun. I like the 'YPAO' function as it gives the novice confidence the connections are correct. Still working on speaker placement. I don't know about the pounding bass but from Albinoni to Santana the sound has been very good. Still some tweaking to do, probably a center channel. Thank you Stone and Jason.

Pros: Great value.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Ken from Mentor, OH on 3/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sound - clean and clear. Very pleased with the power as using this receiver to drive Definitive Technology BP-8080ST speakers. Connectivity is easy - WIFI and Bluetooth are seamless so streaming music is simple while sound production is far better with this receiver than with my previous receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Still Best for the money

Crutchfield customer from Christiansburg, VA on 2/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only reason this has 4 stars instead of 5 is the cheapness of the plastic knobs on it. Otherwise, this is 5 stars. The sound is pure quality at this price point, and has minimal distortion that one would have to pay double before seeing reduced. I have not even begun to use all the features, and don't need to list them all here. They are on the web page. I will say the YPAO (Yamaha Parametric Room Acoustic Optimizer) really does work. Noticed a clear difference before and after. Power is clean and consistent. I'm running some Polk S60s and things can rock. Very pleased. My last Yamaha receiver, and old 585 lasted decades. Don't see why this one can't either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

David from Perkasie, PA on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I have been very happy. This is replacing a 25 year old NAD pre-amp tuner with Celestion C5 speakers. I am still using the C5's and they sound great. I mostly use it to listen to Vinyl and streaming through Spotify. Network wise, I am connecting through ethernet and usual stream through a computer or phone. In my old setup, I had to run a cable from tablet to receiver to stream music. With the Yamaha, I typically leave it the receiver in standby and can stream from any device. Very easy. I am looking to add a subwoofer to it to bring out more bass. One of the reasons I went with the N803.

Pros:

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it.. Great sound. I replaced a 27 year old Denon receiver and I'm really enjoying the network features (ability to stream, etc)..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of features. Yamaha quality. Sounds great. Amp could use a little more punch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my third Yamaha receiver and the best yet. Easy WiFi and streaming services setup. Great App for control from a phone or tablet and it just sounds great with lots of clear output.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great stereo with Snell C speakers

Jon from Prince George's County, Maryland on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Yamaha R-N803 to replace a Yamaha RX-770 that had gone on the fritz. I also purchased a Yamaha CD-C600 to replace a Yamaha CDC-845 that had quit working. I have a pair of Snell C speakers and the new more powerful receiver makes them sound much better. I first noticed the difference when listening to music on WETA after first setting up the receiver. It seemed the radio sounded almost as good as the old stereo with CDs did. After the new CD player was set up I started playing some of my CDs and the sound was much more clear and the dynamic range was much better. Connecting to the wireless is a real pain. I have been unsuccessful so far. I plan to hook it up temporarily via an Ethernet cable an upgrade the software. Hopefully that will make the wireless connection workable. The labels on the remotes have really small print. I have to hold them just right to read them. I have really heavy duty speaker wire and getting the wires stuffed into the connections was a real pain in the butt.

Pros: Great sound with the right speakers.

Cons: Wireless setup is a super pain, small hard to read print on remotes, heavy duty speaker wire a challenge to connect.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Jeff from Tampa, FL on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb sound which ultimately any receiver should do best. Versatile and suitable for many uses but lacking connection options that many video/audio receivers today have. Only knocks are it requires a MusicCast app to access some of its tune features (Pandora, etc.) and accessible Internet radio stations appear preset or limited. The unit's rich sound makes the lack of additional connection options and features seem insignificant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Upgrade to our workshop / man cave stereo sound system

Jeff from Bowling Green, KY on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was purchased to replace my 2004 Denon DRA-395 80 watts per channel (also bought from Crutchfield in 2004). My 2.1 stereo system requirements were sub-woofer output, network capable and at least 100 watts per channel. This receiver met the requirements and I'm very pleased with the receiver. The system is in my workshop / man cave and I like to crank the volume up and this receiver is more than adequate for the purpose. It gets loud and is crystal clear. I really only listen to CD's and Spotify premium through the network feature and the sound is as good as anything I've heard. The styling is smart and I'm very happy with the unit.

Pros: Sturdy construction, sharp appearance, amazing sound and simple to set up.

Cons: Not having built-in 120 volt switched outlets is a minor inconvenience but I'm sure the omission was to save interior space for more important components.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Scott Timothy from North Mankato, MN on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing stereo for someone not wanting theater and surround sound. I purchased as a replacement for my garage stereo. Great power and sound!

Pros: Simple, easy to use, and powerful! Love the blue tooth!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 12/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound reproduction is quite good. The over-all quality of material and assembly is excellent. As with the CD-S770 disc player the remote control and the display on the unit are inferior. The unit does not provide power outlets for other component in the system [CD-player and turntable]. The remote control has a set of playback keys but do not function with the connected Yamaha disc-player CD-S770. In regards to functionality and integration of other components the Technics SA_R277 stereo receiver and quartz synthesizer [also now 30 years old] was in many aspects ahead of its time. Yamaha has not spent too many thought on integration of various stereo components.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 24 found this helpful

Time To Upgrade!

Java Master from Northern Virginia Suburbs on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade from my old (20 years plus) Yamaha receiver with a newer, powerful modern model with sufficient power to drive all my vintage Snell speakers. I like the clean, compact functional appearance of the unit which fits neatly onto my bookcase shelf. And I am looking forward to finally bringing my Sirius xm subscription indoors instead of listening solely from my car radio. A new CD player unit comes next!

Pros: full bandwidth power clean functional design hope it will be as reliable as my old Yamaha unit

Cons: Any color you want as long as its black....

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Grosse Pointe, MI on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great introduction to the world of the audiophile Bought this for my son. Great matching with Shinola turntable and double impact speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Adam from Yorkville, IL on 10/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple easy to use great power to drive my speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

If you need a stereo receiver, get this one.

Rick from San Diego on 10/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been looking for a while for a replacement to my early 1990 Rotel integrate amp and tuner. The Yamaha seemed to fit the bill with the classic Yamaha appearance and had all the bells and whistles; DAC, streaming, and phono section. Delivered in three days, a long three days to wait. Easy set up, streaming works very well, firmware updates were automatic via MusicCast. MusicCast app is easy to use.

Pros: The Yamaha R-N803 does nothing wrong and everything right. It makes my music collection fun again.

Cons: Minor complaint. Plastic switch gear compared to the metal of my Yamaha CR receiver of old.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Carefree, AZ on 10/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound. Simple design. Very easy to set up. Wonderful wireless capabilities. Vastly superior to the Denon model I had before.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Very good system

Larry from Evansville, IN on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In general I really like the unit. It does not have 2 features that I had on my Yamaha RX-830 which I loved. It sounds great. It does not have the output control that I want. I want to output optical 1 to my mixer and back into line 1. I have not figured out how to easily control outputs to different inputs like I could on the RX-830. Also I expected digital radio to show the song. That feature is only available on the D model. Big let down.

Pros: Many in puts for my devices. I used almost all of them.

Cons: Not 5.1 or 7.1 capable. Radio does not display song playing. Lack of ability to control outputs to other devices.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 22 found this helpful

Nice looking unit - easy setup

Eric from Rochester, MN on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with my purchase which replaced a very dated JVC model I've had for 30+ years. Shipping was prompt. Setup was straightforward for my home environment. I don't have a complex setup at all. CD player, wired speakers and that is all. I did set up my wireless network connection and enabled my NAS connection. Works quite nicely. The black face compliments my other Yamaha and other TV and DVD products. Programming radio was straightfoward. I didn't do the scan because where I live, there simply aren't many radio stations I'm wanting to program in. So, I simply manually added them. YPAO setup was straightforward as well.

Pros: attractive, simple, straightforward setup. Sound is good.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Stereo Receiver

Michael from Gloucester, MA on 6/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo receiver. I had a slight hiccup connecting to Bose Acoustimass 5 speakers of which the satellite wires run through the subwoofer first. So the YPAO is of no use to this setup. Other than that, it sounds great. The software and wi-fi set up easily enough. My phono sounded great through this system. And the Airplay sounds great as well.

Pros: Simple stereo receiver with wi-fi, AirPlay, and phono connection and easily read display.

Cons: A built in equalizer would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 5/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The R-N803 was exactly what I was looking for, a two channel stereo that I could connect my turn table and CD player to and It was important that it did not have many of the newer functions like sound surround. I wanted a top quality old school stereo with external knobs for balance, treble and bass. The R-N803 has all that and more, it's everything I could ask for, clear crisp tone and plenty of volume. Even with my old speakers it sounds awesome. My unit runs cool and I have four 8 ohm three-way speakers wired into it with 10 gage speaker wire. If you like playing vinyl records this receiver is for you. It reminds me why music was so important in the 60's 70's and 80's, because it will give you goose bumps listening to vinyl records through this receiver. From jazz to rock it sounds fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 28 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Travis from Guymon, OK on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this unit. It is really easy to set up and the power of this unit is awesome. I am using this in my living room and use the Musiccast app to connect to my media room in the basement. It just amazes me how well the airplay and spotify work and sound. Also with the musiccast app and the use of YPAO gives very good control of your subwoofer. I do wish the main speakers crossover could have more adjustment as far as letting me choose the points. Over all tho I would buy this unit again.

Pros: Lots of power and nice looking

Cons: None at this point

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent product.

Barry from Overton, TX on 5/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great equipment. Pleased in all regards and recommend the R-N 803 to the serious audio user. 5 Star

Pros: Easy set up, manual is user friendly, sounds great, looks sleek and attractive. Only unit on the market with these features at this price. Enough power to push my Klipsch CornwallsII's to levels beyond and very clear and deep.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Effortless, clean and reliable

Jeff from Portland, OR on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be happier with this machine. Great, transparent sound, effortless power and it was easy to set up streaming audio and the MusicCast app. The YPAO microphone for setting up EQ was also very easy. Consider me an NAD convert - this Yamaha sounds better, is more user-friendly and will be much more reliable than NAD.

Pros: Sounds amazing, easy to use, the built-in streaming is user-friendly.

Cons: I had to turn up the bass just a little to suit myself, and the Tidal app on MusicCast is a tad slow, but it's otherwise excellent.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the quality and clarity of sound, and discovered the quality of my B&W speakers. I am having a time understanding the Network features. In time it will work out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Les from Longmont, CO on 4/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is impressive. The variable loudness control takes some getting used to, but is really a great idea. In other receivers the loudness is on/off without regard to the speaker in use. With some set ups I have had, the bass was muddied when the loudness was on. The variable loudness allows you to tune it to the speakers or headphones. Even though the USB port will play very high or low bit rates, the port will NOT play WMA lossless (400 something bps to 900 something bps). The tuners are good. The knob to the left of the volume knob can be used to change the frequency or the preset in use. Plus and minus buttons can also be used. I was surprised when two FM stations that were next to each other came in clearly with no bleedover. The optical input sounds better than the audio input for the CD player. I will not even consider using the YPAO. I do not use the network stuff at this time. The bluetooth (who thinks of these names??) works well with my phone. The remote controls the phone. There is no provision for an equaliser. There is no tape/cd burner monitor. I have to admit that this receiver sounds better than most I have heard/had over the years.

Pros: Works well. Very clean sound.

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

A Superb Sounding Network Receiver

Bob from Bradenton, FL on 3/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned many Yamaha products over the years and this one ranks with the best of them. The sound is very smooth and appropriately with good weight at the bottom end with clear and detailed mids and highs. My only issue is with not the receiver but with the availability of Internet radio stations. I cannot seem to find a list of internet radio stations anywhere to choose from so it is a matter of searching blindly on the receiver to get a station I like. I very highly recommend the R-N803 network receiver!

Pros: Well balanced and smooth sound across the audio spectrum Great networking features A very high degree of construction quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Fantastically clean highs and well defined lows

Ron from Gilbert, AZ on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only reason I gave it a 4 star is some of the added digital features are marginal in their usefulness. I usually operate it in the straight-through (no tone control operation) into my 30 year old KLH towers. The entire audio range comes through very clear, without the need for Bass or Treble boosting at normal room levels. Having lived through the early years of solid-state hi-fi and the heavy use of feedback to deliver great 1KHz distortion specs and horrible high frequency results, none of the gain-bandwidth and slew rate problems of the early amps could be detected. The early amps would smear the highs such as a snare drum and cymbals into a high-frequency hiss. I can clearly discern the two instruments using this amp even when one is well below the level of the other and the output is very high. One thing lacking in this receiver and in most others of its caliber is the greatest improvement in FM and AM since their invention. There is no HD Radio. I did connect it through the network to my PC to pull music from it. The connection takes up to a minute to complete every time and it takes minutes for it to gather the album titles and only gets 6 each time. It is alphabetical and would take an hour to reach ZZ Top, even if it didn't keep crashing, causing the need to start over at Abba. Marginally functional, but not really useable. The XM worked OK, but it would have been better to allow direct channel selections with the remote. I could say more, but hit the char

Pros: Fantastic audio amp.

Cons: No HD Radio. Slow network operation. No direct XM channel selection via remote.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from New York on 3/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been listening to my new Yamaha R-N803 receiver for a couple of weeks now. It is a superb receiver for a small family room. I do not hear as well as I used to, but I have four Bose 301 Series V speakers hooked up and the sound is quite commendable. The vocals are clear, and the base and tone controls on the front of the receiver remind me of gear from the 1980's. If you like the lower frequencies, you might want to pair the receiver with a subwoofer. I paired the receiver with a subwoofer based on Dino's suggestion. I chose the Yamaha YST-FSW150 subwoofer. What a difference! The subwoofer provides enough base without scaring our dogs. Thanks again, Dino, for the suggestion. Finally, you may want to use a TERK antenna to improve reception. I hope this review is helpful to anyone that is thinking about a new stereo receiver that is is easy to set up and has many streaming features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Clarence from Washington , DC on 2/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, exactly what I need. Thank you. Great customer service. MAC was great. Very knowledgeable and pleasant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Tons of Features, disappointing sound quality

Scott from Louisville, CO on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had high expectations of the R-N803, which unfortunately weren't met. I found a different Yamaha unit that ended up surprising me by sounding much better... and it was cheaper. First, what's to like about this unit: (1) Fully printed manual. It's GREAT to have the manual right there to thumb through as you set it up or try to figure out a feature. (2) Connectivity options. Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, AM/FM, Internet radio, MusicCast and the MusicCast app on one's phone or tablet for remote control, and the many other streaming platforms (Tidal, Pandora, Spotify, etc.)... these are all fantastic and the ones I tried worked great. (3) Build quality. Solid. The plastic knobs don't look or feel cheap to me. Looks sharp, too. (4) Ease of set-up. I wanted only a stereo receiver to drive two speakers. Set-up was a breeze (connecting to my home network, firmware update, YPAO). Now, what wasn't so good in my experience: (1) Sound quality. Despite running YPAO twice and adjusting/tweaking settings all day long, the sound was too sterile and lifeless. It was like the life was sucked out of my music. I had read an online review stating this was the case, but I thought "no, couldn't be!" It is. (2) Remote. Asthetically poorly designed; would often pick it up and find I was holding the front of it backwards. I ended up picking up a (cheaper!) Yamaha Adventage RX-A770 7.2 AVR (receiver) to drive just my 2 speak

Pros: Myriad of Connectivity Options MusicCast App Full Printed Manual Included Ease of Set-up Build Quality

Cons: Sound Quality Remote Control Quite Pricey Compared Even to Other Yamaha Offerings

Crutchfield response on

15 of 25 found this helpful

Crank up the tunes

Gary from Ventura, CA on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently purchased the R-N803, and it seems to fill the bill for what I needed. I love Spotify, and with the ability to stream it with MusicCast makes it easy to play the tunes. Also I have a turntable hooked up, which sounds good, and I also love the internet radio capability. It has enough power to drive my Klipsch Rp-260F speakers, so all in all a great way to bridge the new and old. Great product.

Pros: Ability to stream music and has internet radio. Plenty of power for my needs,

Cons: None I've found yet.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Guest from Livonia, MI on 1/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't really used anything but the radio and the USB drive playing FLAC files. That is all I need, I don't care about the other features for now, although I might in the future connect it to my laptop. The round knobs are horrible. You cannot scan/fast forward through a song. The FM antenna is pretty much useless, I had to use the antenna from my old receiver. The R-N803 is not perfect, the manufacturer could have put another two dollars into it for better knobs and a better antenna and programmed it to fast scan through a song. It does have a nice clean and clear sound, that is undeniable, and it is easy to use for the purposes I need. One thing I like, compared to all the AV receivers I bought and returned, this is a stereo receiver, made to play music and not videos with music as an afterthought so there is no long lag time when you switch from folder to folder. It does not have to reconnect to the source every time you change folders, there is a pause for a second or two and that is it, you are ready to scan through the next folder. That long lag time on AV receivers is the sole reason I returned all the AV receivers I bought, they really chapped my hide and made listening to music an irritable pain. I am a short term owner so I cannot say anything about the longevity, but with the few exception I mentioned the 803 is off to a good start.

Pros: 1. Good clean clear sound. I have very nice speakers that sound good regardless, but they have never sounded better. 2. Low lag time when switching from folder to folder, no reconnect to the source is required.

Cons: 1. No progressive scan so you cannot fast forward/reverse through a song, you can only go the start of a song or skip to the next one. 2. Incredibly low quality knobs that feel like crap in your fingers. My first thought was I hope this thing is not as low quality on the inside as these knobs are on the outside.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 31 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Lahaina, HI on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this new Yamaha receiver and paired it with some Klipsch RP-260F speakers and the sound is very crisp and clean. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

What an upgrade

Gary from Meadville, PA on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, what an upgrade from 30+ year old Scott, love using it with my Kindle Fire to steam any music I can think of. The clarity of sound is amazing . I set it up with Polk Rti7s, Polk powered Sub, and Rti3s on top of my kitchen cabinets. I can't wait for summer to set up my outdoor Polk's with another amp to run them. The only issue I have found is that if I don't power it off at night, it can kick on from the blue tooth unexpectedly, might just be a set up issue, but I am good with powering it down for the night anyway.

Pros: No issues with set-p and learning to operate. Manual was easy to follow.

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from New Canaan, CT on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding! and the user manual is actually understandable and user friendly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from San Mateo, CA on 11/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am blown away. R-N803 provides such an exquisite sound. This is outstanding piece of equipment! Extremely easy to setup. Perfect match for my Klipsch RP-280F. I could not be happier. I highly recommend it.

Pros: This is essentially A-S701 plus all networking bells and whistles Powerful - 2x 100W at 8ohm Crystal clear sound - 0.019% THD Plenty of inputs Tuner, Ethernet, WiFi, Bluetooth, DLNA, USB, Spotify, Internet Radio etc. Outstanding craftsmanship and attention to details The internals are beautiful and meticulously designed and manufactured

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha R-N803

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really didn't know what a difference the extra money would make in my system until I heard this thing. What a wonderful piece of equipment. The additional features and quality place this receiver a step above the rest at this price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP