Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha R-S202

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # R-S202BL

Yamaha R-S202

Yamaha R-S202

Stereo receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # R-S202BL

731 reviews
View this product

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Los Lunas, NM on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent - Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Rhinelander , WI on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this purchase. The smooth (I'd call it warm) sound the Yamaha brings is perfect for our listening setting in the basement. Styling is clean, fresh with minimal fanfare and the system includes a very complete remote. Particularly like the ability to control the treble, base and balance from the remote which, for us, proves very helpful given some of our sound sources. Bought this receiver to replace a Sony STR-DE305 (which is still a very good receiver purchased 24 years ago and moving to a different room in our home). The Yamaha is connected to our Realistic Mach One 4024As (which are now 40 years old, sound pretty amazing and going very strong); the receiver drives these speakers just fine. The Yamaha is an excellent fit for what we wanted to accomplish in this room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great ny daughter loves it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Yamaha R-S202 for our outdoor speakers. I'm really impressed with the range of bluetooth. We can sit outsite and control the music with our iPhone/iPad without static or going out of bluetooth range. All at a great price.

Pros: Bluetooth range, price

Cons: I do wish the volume was more powerful with bluetooth, even when the connected divice was at full volume.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say, it is a nice receiver in this price range. Clean front, easy to use remote... What's more interesting is the longevity of Yamaha. I bought my first one in 1977 for about $500 (over $2000 in today's dollars). It lasted 17 years. I bought number 2 in 1993 for about $350 (over $600 today). It still works! Only maintenance is to air spray it for dust every 5 years or so. This one I just bought may outlive me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Akron, NY on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meets all expectations for the price. Very basic unit but gets the job done. Runs 2 Yamaha speakers in my pole barn with no problems.

Pros: Price

Cons: Unit is a bit large for what it has to offer but that doesn't effect the quality.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Quality and Simplicity

Crutchfield customer from Cape May Ch, NJ on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, I am part of a dying, soon to be extinct breed, of music lovers. I purchase audio equipment to listen to music only...nothing else...no movies, no gaming, no "feel like you are there" sporting events...music only. That being said, the market for stereo recievers designed purely for recorded music is limited However, the Yamaha R-S202 is a solid, basic reciever developed primarily for music stereo systems Easy to install/ set up, it has enough power to overpower a large room should you decide that is imperative My music choices include: Grateful Dead, Rolling Stones, Uriah Heep, Pink Floyd, Woodstock era Folk & Rock artists, Blues, Jazz, Native American [ lots of drums & flute] New Age and Spa [ meditative] , Cajun, Bluegrass, Gospel, Progressive Rock /Jazz etc...all sound great and play clean with the Yamaha 9 R-S202. It also has Blue Tooth if that is your thing. Its basic simplicity is the most attrctive feature...it's designed to play music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great replacement for workshop

Crutchfield customer from Crestview, FL on 5/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a new stereo to run my 300 disk changer and this was an inexpensive way to get back up and running. The only thing I missed was the switchable outlet on the back of the unit as there is none. No big deal, works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Hermitage, TN on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using it to power my speakers on the deck. Works great, sounds great too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Can't be beat for the price

Crutchfield customer from Olympia, WA on 4/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I rated this 5/5 taking all things into consideration. Is it the best amp out there? No. Is it the best amp out there for this price? YES. I have two of these, one for myself running Polk speakers, and the other I bought for my son and it's running some old Mission speakers. It just doesn't let you down at all. Good power, super easy to use, just a simple no frills great sounding kick butt amp. I'll even buy a third at some point to put in the garage lol

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Natural sound

Benton from Jacksonville, FL on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it, now I can listen to my music on my iPhone

Pros: Easy setup for Bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from East Rochester, NY on 4/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does everything i wanted it to do and then some.

Pros:

Cons: There isnt any cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as promised. Very good receiver for the price point! Stylish front panel. Bluetooth worked flawlessly and was very simple to engage. FM station pre-sets are easy to set-up. I have no complaints. For the price point I would rate a 5 star, I lowered by 1 star so someone wouldn't think they are getting "much more" than price point reflects.

Pros: Price, simplicity, Bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a lower end receiver. Bluetooth worked easily with my Samsung phone and tablet.

Pros: Basic receiver with great sound. Easy install. Bluetooth.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Durand, IL on 4/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio reception in both AM and FM are very good,great unit for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Mountain View, AR on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My second Yamaha receiver and it sounds great as well. Bluetooth works flawlessly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Christopher from SILVER SPRING, MD on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The functionality of each of the buttons are bleeding into each other for some reason, if you scroll the preset, it increases the treble... Pretty frustrating

Pros:

Cons: Near useless at this point

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

I Like it

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, VA on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a 35 year old unit. Looks and sounds good. Don't loose the remote as you need that to do all of the programming

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Pottsville, PA on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hooked 2 proficient 650 to this receiver, and the unit provides more than enough power to blast my Neighbors 200ft away, right outta bed. Bluetooth works at about 30ft away with direct line of sight. I plan to add 2 more speakers to the other channel, as I'm using it to support my outdoor system. Overall, I'm very pleased with this product. And at the price point, no brained!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, MD on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit. Can't believe how many stations it receives in my metal garage. Definitely a home run!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Kutztown, pa on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great neutral warm sound can't beat the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Ottertail, MN on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was wanting to replace my 30 year old Yamaha receiver without spending a lot, I'm truly "old school" so when I saw the simplicity and read some reviews of this unit, I thought it would be a good fit for my style, and I was not disappointed. I was surprised at the clear sound and power the unit delivers at such a modest price. I have a pair of Klipsch 4.2's hooked up to it and and I can just sit back and listen to good old 2 channel stereo. The Bluetooth capability was so simple to set up with my phone and is a very sweet feature at such a modest price. The unit delivers more of an upper end experience at an entry level price.

Pros: Price, Quality, Power, Bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Oceana, WV on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I prefer old school receivers but this system surprised me. I am paired up with a set of old mach 3 speakers which I had to refoam. Yamaha sounds great, even at higher volumes and the Bluetooth is very nice. Great receivers for the price, I would recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just needed a 2nd amp to power two pair of additional speakers for my covered patio and garage in addition to my Denon home theater receiver. I chose a 2nd receiver instead of just an amp because of Bluetooth and the ability to stream music just to my outdoor speakers with option to play all zone stereo through the Denon. Yamaha sounds fine for my purpose. Negatives include no apple airplay and that this Yamaha is only rated to play one pair of 8 ohm speakers at a time (i.e. only speaker A or B, but not both). Playing both speakers A and B requires 16 ohms which isn't practical. Would have to spend 2.5 times more for a 4 ohm stable receiver, so I'm settling to keep this one and sacrifice playing only one pair of speakers at a time.

Pros:

Cons: No Apple Airplay Can only play one pair of 8 ohm speakers at a time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Pemberville, OH on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was not worth the money

Pros: Nice for a kids room

Cons: NOT RECOMMENDED

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as discribed. I use it just for the power and it has plenty.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good rec. Easy. Use. Easy hook up. Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Eli from Spring, TX on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a receiver that had issues after 25 years. The system consists of a turntable, CD player and four speakers. I have only had the Yamaha R-S202 for a couple of weeks, but the setup was easy and I liked that it has Bluetooth which didn't exist when I bought the previous receiver. I like the simple look and simple controls. Hoping it will last 25 years!

Pros: Price Size, it is smaller than my old receiver

Cons: No HD Radio tuner, I don't understand why every new receiver does have HD Radio tuners built in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from South Bend, IN on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money I think it's a good deal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Adjuntas, PR on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Necesito receiver at affordable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love my Yamaha

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and affordable. Just what I required for my hi-fi needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

rockfarmer

Crutchfield customer from Newburg, MO on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful tuner and works great so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean sounding little amp

Crutchfield customer from Robinson, IL on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my basement office...I have been instructed that I should not 'shake the house' and 'wake up the neighbors'...not that it can be proven either of those things have actually happened. So, a nice little stereo I could stream my Amazon Music to. This Yamaha R-S202 has a nice clean sound. It won't rattle the floorboards but, it turns up nicely when needed. I am using some old garage sale Kenwood floor speakers and I plug my old iPod into it when needed (using a dock that that has RCA outputs).

Pros: clean sound, A + B speaker inputs, Bluetooth, inexpensive

Cons: Not a huge amount of power

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setup was easy and, for me, intuitive. The power is more than adequate for my medium-sized living room, even with bookshelf speakers (Klipsch Reference R-41M). The sound quality is excellent and the FM range is exceptional, with clear reception from 50 to 100 miles away. The lack of a phono input was an advantage for me, as I already had an Orbit turntable with a built-in amp. This is a replacement for a first-generation Bose 3-2-1 system and is a better piece of equipment at a much better price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Folcroft, PA on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Entry Level. It works well - but you need some work arounds. There is no sub out and no phono in.

Pros: Price

Cons: no phono in no sub out

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Guest from Bealeton, VA on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Yamaha R-S202 two weeks ago the receiver is every thing I'd want in a receiver. In todays world where the winds of change both affect and afflict peoples buying habits, and also the fact you cant buy a stereo receiver in a big box or even an appliance electronic store. I'm grateful that Crutchfield exists. I also bought and pared the Bose 301 Speakers with the Yamaha R-S202 Receiver, This is my second set of 301's. I love the Direct/Reflect means of filling the room with music. No hot or dead spots just a balanced natural way of listening to music. Patrick O'Keefe

Pros: Love the open sounds

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Foley, MN on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I prefer the look of the tuners in 1970s and 1980s but new sound is better. I hope some one will duplicate the look of a Toshiba SA 725.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Los Banos, CA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice receiver

Crutchfield customer from Youngstown, OH on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this stereo receiver to be well made and it makes my vintage Infinity Qb speakers sound terrific and it has no problems driving these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Oak Lawn, IL on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was bought for garage use. It fits my needs. Sounds good. Easy to use, and most of all, affordable. Do wish it had more volume tho. Every now and then I like to crank it. Not even close to my previous unit, but it is loud enough without P.O. the neighbors. Hopefully it will last as long as my previous receiver.

Pros: Easy to set up and use

Cons: Lacks volume amperage

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Shop sounds!

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my shop where I work on cars. I wanted Bluetooth for playing music inside a metal building from my phone, but the supplied FM antenna also gets local stations with the door down. I'm powering two klipsch speakers mounted on pallet racking, the pair work awesome together.

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Conestoga, PA on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver and unbelievable price. Love Bluetooth connectivity and ability to play my Pandora radio

Pros: Quality and price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Stereo Receiver

Nigel from Bellmore, NY on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't want to spend a lot of money, so after a bit of research I decided to buy this receiver. I must say that the sound is clean and clear. I have it hooked up to two Polk Audio TSi100 bookshelf speakers, and I am really impressed with the quality and functionality of the receiver. I am using it to listen to CDs mostly, but later on I am going to hook up a phonograph to it (which will require a separate preamp). I especially like the Bluetooth feature. I stream music from my iPhone 6S Plus (Pandora, Amazon Music, YouTube, and music stored on the phone), and the receiver handles everything. The receiver is attractive and has a simple, refined look to it. It's perfect for a simple stereo setup.

Pros: Great sound Price Looks Functionality Bluetooth

Cons: No cons at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Zimmerman, MN on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Yamaha styling and of course Yamaha quality at a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Conway, AR on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for listening to the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Canterbury, CT on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent stereo amp by a quality trusted name. This was my first purchase from Crutchfield and it was an easy shopping and purchasing experience.

Pros: Excellent for use with my hi-fi system

Cons: None for me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha stereo receiver

Crutchfield customer from Pikeville, KY on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding stereo. I hooked it up to my toshiba shelf stereo. I ran cables just like Ethan at crutch field said. Now I can play music through speakers and headphones at same time. It is super loud through my toshiba stereo too. Make drumming even better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Malaga, WA on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, MI on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought one for the garage and it worked so well I bought another one for the cabin. Great value and great sound.

Pros: A,B speaker select, plenty of power.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha Receivers always deliver the quality of sound that I expect. Since I am a Concert Violinist I listen to my Students recordings through this receiver, and love the quality of clear sound it produces.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Stuart

Richard from Stuart on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Long term, 14 month review. Way less than expected from Yamaha. Weak sound quality, not horrible but, very weak. Suitable for garages, patios or otherwise noisey areas. Not suitable for a main system unless your just looking for some basic sound. Running one pair of quality 8 ohm speakers, at very modest platback levels, it recently crapped out. Efforts to use the Yamaha 2 year waranty were futile. In the trash it went. Not sure what I'll replace it with but, doubtful I'll go with this model again.

Pros: Good bluetooth

Cons: Weak sound quality Short life Hard to read front panel

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Boyertown, PA on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Very happy with all its functions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, NH on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a little trouble with station presets, but finally figured it out. I'm kind of a techtard so I can't blame the equipment. Amp/tuner drives my Bose 901s with no problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Newburgh, NY on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought each of my 2 sons one of these to start them off in the stereo world,I'm old school so I thought these units are perfect for their new condos.Great value for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from East Jordan, MI on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound and volume but could have in included banana style hookups for speakers.

Pros: Good sound.

Cons: No banana hookups for speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Delton, MI on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-S202 is a nice piece of equipment. Clear sound with enough power to rev up my Sansui XPS-9900's. My old Yamaha had a lot more power but this one will do nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from Grimes, IA on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for stereo speakers! I'm using this for my Bose 301 setup in the garage. Simple and sounds great to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New sound for my car garage

Crutchfield customer from La Grange, TX on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver did exactly what I wanted and sounds great!

Pros: Great product at a good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Franks whole house sound

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to intal, easy to use and the sound quality to my two polk RC85i speakers is great. Rich and full

Pros:

Cons: The AM cable could be a longer for placement.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Junk

Timothy from Lowry City, Mo on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am on my third unit (Yamaha R-S202) my personal opinion is they are junk. The first two units I had my Bose 301's hooked up, volume at 82 next thing I know spark's come out the top unit shuts off, unit burnt up, Yamaha warranty gives me another unit, it did the exact same thing, I contacted Yamaha told them that I was totally dissatisfied with the unit ,I was told that they would ship me out an upgraded model and asked me if that would be okay, of course I said yes. About two weeks later I received a package from Yamaha, and as I observed the outside of the box it was the same unit as the first two. So I listen to it with my Bose 301's with the volume set at 56 ,it's like sitting in a Doctors office. Not my cribe.

Pros: Warranty

Cons: Performance all around

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Nice unit!

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Use it to drive my monitor speakers in my Voice Over space (About 200 SF) PLENTY of power. Very clean and silent when not driving audio. Would rather that they hadn't moved so many controls to the remote, but that's a small dig.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver and a good value.

Pros: High quality at a modest price.

Cons: No optical input.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bargain Stereo Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a receiver for my porch and outdoor speakers, chose Yamaha for sound and reliability. This is a bargain at this price point and Cruchfield's customer service and competitive prices make this the place to buy.

Pros: Simplicity, power and price.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best receiver for audiophiles under $1000

Richard Evans from Beaverton, OR on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned a lot of receivers. Onkyo (3) Harman Kardon (2) Denon (3) Sony (1) Pioneer (1) Sherwood (1). This is by far the best sounding receiver I've owned. Only my old NAD 3020B could match it for sonic performance. I bought one of these receivers from Crutchfield because of the thunderous review by Steve Guttenberg. I wasn't disappointed. I use it with an Onkyo C-7030 and a pair of AKG K701 headphones and the sound is amazing. I also have a sub/sat system consisting of a pair of Mirage Nanosat's (speaker set a) and an ELAC Sub1010 (speaker set b). This receiver does an awesome job of creating a wonderful soundstage with this setup. This setup is strictly for music listening in a small space. The Bluetooth works well as does the FM tuner. Truly a bargain for this level of quality.

Pros: Fantastic soundstage. Very open 'natural' sound. Four inputs. Two speaker sets can be driven simultaneously. Excellent remote with tone controls. Bluetooth connectivity. Nice metal case.

Cons: Would be nice to have a subwoofer output but it works well using high level outputs. Spring loaded speaker connections. Would be much better with binding posts.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

David from New Haven, CT on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha R-S202 is a great value for the money, the build quality and sound quality is very good. I have this receiver hooked up with Jamo 805 Floor standing speakers and together they sound great but I did bump the bass down -2 for a overall better cleaner sound to my ears. Pros. Good sound quality overall but what really stood out to me is the vocals are excellent and the highs are nice hearing all the instruments clearly with out being harsh. So far I have fed this amp with metal, classic rock, R&B, Country all streamed from Tidal with hi quality recordings and this little receiver amp pumped out some really nice sound with one recording that I can't recall the artist female vocalist sounded like she was sitting in my living room singing, that is pretty impressive for a budge receiver. Cons. no phono input but not really a big deal. The Spring clip speakers connection are terrible any kind of cheap binding post would have been better. FM reception could be a lot better but considering the supplied antenna I was not expecting it to be great. Ok now for the really weird part and unexplainable mystery, I Have the receiver on a multi shelf TV stand and for some reason selecting any input from the Yamaha supplied remote turns my wireless top box on of my service provider which then turns my tv on but only the input selector and not from the power button or Bluetooth from the Yamaha supplied remote I find this really odd that it only happens from a input sourc

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Acceptabl purchase for the cost.

Crutchfield customer from Sturgis, MI on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a good purchase for the price. I bought it to replace a 47 year old receiver amp that developed distortion and noise in one channel. The old receiver had 150 watts RMS per channel and the new one has 100 watts RMS per channel. Its 100 watts is a far cry less than the old one's 150 watts. Also the quality of the output isn't as good. The base treble response isn't as good as the old one but it's acceptable. The old receiver cost $600 47 years ago as opposed to this new one costing 1/4 of that. There are some nice features on this unit like 40 memories, digital tuning as opposed to analog, remote control, and several inputs for outboard sources. Like I said for the price it is an acceptable purchase.

Pros: Economical. Worth the cost. Remote control. Digital tuner.

Cons: Output isn't quite what was expected for 100 watts RMS.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy set up

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy set up and works very well I use it in my garage

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Less Is More

Guest from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Here are all the things this receiver DOESN'T have: a phono preamp; a tape loop and monitor; courtesy outlets, either switched or unswitched; I could go on but it's really unnecessary to do so. Because what this receiver DOES have is loads of clean, fast, honest power for my musical enjoyment. As for the other stuff, that which is needed to utilize a larger component system, complete with recording and signal processing capabilities, been there done that. At this stage .in my life I have near 1000 albums; classical, jazz, rock, folk and world all contained in a Hiby r3 Pro DAP with a Line Out function. Coming through this Yamaha it just sounds so good. I have it paired with Polk 100 watt bookshelf speakers that sound as if they were made for each other. The Bluetooth is a nice convenience, one of my few concessions to modernity. To conclude, this is not an entry level receiver. This is a paring down your life to the bare essentials receiver. But as such, it's the best sounding receiver I've ever had (and I've had some good ones), an absolutely fantastic piece of machinery which I couldn't recommend more highly. PS: Sure, it's power curve doesn't kick in till after the 50 volume mark. It's a quirk. So what? Just deal with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not Your Old Yamaha

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit seems to work very well, with the correct quality speakers. It does play old CD's and DVD's. Only RCA/Component IN/OUT(not marked clearly) that means it will not work with most accessories, DVDs, TV's, Headsets, etc., without buying separate converters--a major limitation. Yamaha should have included Optical or HDMI in their board technology circuitry (difficult) OR just added "physical" converters to the box(easy--little more cost, but better quality) rather than having to buying 3rd party junk to do it. The FM Antenna is worthless--had to buy another one. Have had OLD Yamaha's about 30+ years ago--was current technology then, but not now. Yamaha has become cheap and greedy (like Sony, Panasonic, etc). and arrogant--not the same ole Yamaha, BUT probably the "pick of the litter" in the price range and not a bad receiver, given the competition.

Pros: Good power for speakers and pretty good range. FM good, with different Antenna

Cons: RCA component connection out of date for new TV's, BluRay, etc.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Good bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, easy to set up and operate and sounds great. I may upgrade to something with more bells and whistles someday but for my needs right now this does a great job at an awesome price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from New Kensington, PA on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits my needs well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Blasdell, NY on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent entry level stereo receiver. Paired this with a set of old Boston HD8's and it sounds great. Bluetooth is perfect. Only negative is the included FM antenna. It's pretty useless and only picked up the strongest stations. Added a simple wire dipole and the FM came to life. Also be aware this has no phono input so you're gonna need a preamp if you have a turntable. Thx to Crutchfield for free 3 day shipping.

Pros: Low price. Simple operation. Sounds great.

Cons: Except for the FM antenna, none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from North Andover, MA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good performance, easy to operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than expected

Madia from CLARKSBURG, WV on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not sure what I expected when I purchased this product. Sure, I assumed it would run two sets of speakers at a reasonable high volume while maintaining clarity. But, it really surprised me because it's performance exceeded my expectations. The Yamaha rs202 is a dedicated receiver. It's not listed as a AV receiver which I believe means it's designed to provide good sound for an audio system. This it does. I am using a very basic entry level turntable and one pair of very old (approximately 25 to 30 yrs old) floor standing speakers. I also use smaller bookshelf speakers. This was to be a secondary system. But, to my great surprise the system sounds great. The receiver provides very clear power. The separation and soundstage truly sound wonderful. I'm all areas I am pleased. I can raise the volume to ear splitting heights or drop it to a low soothing level. It sounds great. High end, mid range, bass frequencies all seem to be well presented. The amp never seems to run out of power. The tuner does a fine job of capturing stations especially in the FM. THE BLUETOOTH function easily paired with my phone. The music produced was fine. Remembering this receiver does not have a built in phono amp I am using the turntable's preamp. It provides a very pleasant sound. In every way this is a fine receiver. I would have preferred a built in phono preamp, but that not a deal breaker

Pros: Sound, ease of operation, powerful and easily drives speakers.

Cons: Could have used a phono preamp

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound pretty

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 11/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It meets what I need for sound and Bluetooth. What type of amp will you recommend for this receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Longview, WA on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the money! I used for my shop. Nice basic unit that is easy to hooh up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Miami , FL on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. I bought it to have speakers for my laptop. I had a sound system already set up, but the receiver died. The Bluetooth feature is what sold me.

Pros: Price.

Cons: None for the price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Glenwood Spgs, CO on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaced my 15 year old receiver. Less wattage equals more smiles with this Yamaha, I coupled it with a pair of Polk audio bookshelf speakers and the bass from the other side of the room is impressive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Athens, AL on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this receiver. All the features you want but not too complex. Works great! Always love purchasing from Crutchfield as well.

Pros: Inexpensive love the remote Solid build

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Crutchfield customer from Hamburg, NY on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple set up for simple sound. Easy to use, Great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Falling Waters, WV on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional quality for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Mcminnville, OR on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying. Solid performer for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Lamoine, ME on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to use, basic 2-channel receiver. Sounds great, looks good and priced right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Chad from PADUCAH, KY on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems like there is a lot of wasted space in the volume but overall seems to be a nice solid unit.

Pros: Simple to use, straight forward and to the point.

Cons: Kinda bland looking, wasted volume space

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easily enough power for 2 pair of speakers.... - caution : make sure your speakers have an impedance of at least 8 ohms... - if not, this unit may overheat - I'm running 2 pair rated @ 6 ohms and if it's not cranked, it's fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, IL on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver for the money, Bluetooth sound level lacks but a plugged in source is definitely 100 clean watts per channel!

Pros: Price

Cons: Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Give it time to burn in

Timothy from Bethel, Alaska on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first the R-S202 sounded like a high school choir--thin soprano and muddled bass. After I gave it a week to burn in the sound improved. I like the Yamaha's simplicity for it's not a computer that wants to be reset. When my beautiful Cambridge reacted to fluctuating power I needed something cheap to get me through the winter so I turned to Crutchfield because they know how to ship to Western Alaska.

Pros: Good for the price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great very happy

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garage Band Supplement

Crutchfield customer from Leeds, MA on 10/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a good quality budget amp and receiver to power a pair of old Klipsh monitor speakers that I installed in my garage/workshop. If I'm not listening to FM programming (NPR is the best!), I source from an old iPod. The bluetooth connectivity is a bonus as I can also now stream some of my favorite Podcasts through my phone. The audio quality is crisp and clear, it is a welcome addition to my work space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from N Branford, CT on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound And features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent price and good performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Monessen, PA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im very pleased with this Yamaha receiver!!! I've had several different receivers but this is the best so far!! Delivery was fast just a few days!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Poplar Bluff, MO on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has great sound and I love the remote with the four speaker system.

Pros: Perfect size, not expensive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Porterville, CA on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had 5 star until the 8th day of having this unit it stop working. I will be contacting customer service. Ive purchased other Crutchfield products before and your customer service always big help when needed. So I trust they will help me with current situation. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/19/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Skiatook, OK on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this model to run my tv through. For the money you can't beat it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Man!!!! this receiver is awesome. Had listen to my albums and cds and the sound was BOSS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Hillman, MN on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Michael from Cohasset, MA on 10/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A vast sonic improvement over my ancient Carver "audiophile" unit. Our modest Mirage speakers have new life and energy. Pretty good for the bargain price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic receiver for the price

Crutchfield customer from Rye, NH on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking receiver, sounds clean too. Glad it doesn't have video inputs and surround sound. Very happy and the tuner is the best I've ever had. It picks up stations which none of the others ever picked up.

Pros: Everything

Cons: No audio line out to use 2nd amplifier

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Simple and effective

Crutchfield customer from Kirkland, WA on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered to replace (and simplify from) old Denon amp/receiver. Very easy installation and great performance right out of the box. Easy Bluetooth connectivity; although switching between sources takes a bit of effort. Only minor drawback is FM antenna. System is on an interior wall, so reception is limited.

Pros: Easy installation Clean look Functional remote

Cons: FM antenna not optimal Bluetooth source switching is tricky

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha receiver

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I went to a local shop first, I would have had to order this product online. I looked at Crutchfield, the same exact product for $10 cheaper, and free shipping. It arrived quickly and without damage. It's exactly what I needed and I bought it mostly for the Bluetooth function. Took me a little bit to figure out how to pair the Bluetooth but then I'm old. It works great I've got a paired up with some really great speakers in my shop I am extraordinarily happy.

Pros: It's exactly what I ordered, it works perfectly, and arrived very quickly.

Cons: I don't have any cons yet. But I just got their system set up.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tuner

Crutchfield customer from East Quogue, NY on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup,great sound,fast delivery

Pros: Easy to do business with

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiophile sound, elegant operation, simple flexibility, fair price

Crutchfield customer from Cohasset, MA on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We're mostly into the music around here. We also tend to ignore the latest bells and whistles in favor of musicality of the audio. Our 30 year old Carver receiver has recently been failing in subtle ways; the final straw has been the lousy connection of the old analog A-B speaker switch. (Static anyone?) It was time to replace it with something to power our still-excellent Mirage speakers. We're remain music oriented -- but we are now almost entirely streaming it from the likes of Spotify. We also want a simple input for our basic but very nice Visio 40 inch TV. Bluetooth and an extra RCA patch for the TV...that's all we want and need. That's what we expected from this Yamaha receiver. We got it. What we also got was a sonic revelation from our Mirage speakers. We did not appreciate what we were missing in detail, accuracy, depth and yes...fidelity to the instruments and voices of the sources. The R-S202 does what a great basic receiver is supposed to do. You can spend more if you want the full home theatre experience. If you are a true audiophile, you can also go for separates or a more high-end receiver. But if what you want is exceptionally clear audio that's true to its source, you should really consider this humble but mighty unit from Yamaha. The price is a deal, of course. But the real value is sonic.

Pros: - Outstanding audio. Immediate improvement of older speakers. - Bluetooth works flawlessly. - Inputs are clear and simple. - Hand controller does it all. - Extraordinary value in this day and age.

Cons: - Clip-style speaker connections. Old-school but work perfectly. - Not much for "Home Theatre" bells and whistles. We didn't want or need them, but if that's your aim...you should look at the more expensive units. - If you want the highest of high-end audiophile sound, you can probably get it at much higher price levels. Probably. I'd like to hear a comparison.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Cliffside Park, NJ on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver on sale so as long it works and does a decent job I'm giving it 5 stars. Sure, I could probably list a bunch of stuff I don't like or wish it had, but for the price I paid that would be ridiculous. This receiver is as basic as it gets but it does the job at an impossibly low price. If you want a 2 channel receiver at a very low price It's a no brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit my needs perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Sound for a Bargain Price.

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had wired good outdoor speakers years ago that were no longer being used, as we switched are living room TV into a surround sound sound bar and I had moved my stereo outside to a wood shop. I bought this Yamaha strictly as a Bluetooth amp to use for the patio. The approximate 30' range of the Bluetooth is just enough for me to control music from streaming sources. The sound and separation are much better than a portable Bluetooth sound box. There are minor glitches that happen with Spotify that don't happen on any of my others devices, but nothing major. Overall, for the price, I am more than satisfied, and my service and delivery from Crutchfield was, as always, fantastic.

Pros: Price, sound.Serves my needs.

Cons: None worth getting into.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rochester

Mark from Rochester on 9/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have purchased 5 Yamaha stereos. over the last 35 yeas. Never had any trouble with any of them. bought the R-S202. Worked for 2 months. Had trouble right away. It kept tripping the security. Called Crutchfield they said call Yamaha. After waiting 45min was cut off. Caledl back next day 2.25 hours on hold. Then they cut me off. great way to stand behind a product. Have so many problems and so few techs that you don't have to deal it. During the 2.25 hr. I went from 1 of 55 on hold to 1 of 38. then they hung up.

Pros: sounded it great

Cons: only worked for 2 months

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Browns Mills, NJ on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for playing my cds and blue tooth music on Bose 901's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, MA on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good receiver for not a lot of money. The addition of the bluetooth setting for such an inexpensive model is a very nice feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

50 percent use

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tape deck sound mono. The turntable mute.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/14/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

0 of 3 found this helpful

Bluetooth Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my older Pioneer receiver because I wanted easy access to Bluetooth. It was a good choice! Very easy to set up and easily paired with my iPhone. The tech at Crutchfield helped my place the order and told me about this product. He was great! Thanks!!

Pros: Easy set up and works great with my Bose speakers! The sound is awesome!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Receiver

Crutchfield customer from White Plains, NY on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving it so far haven't learnt all its functions but studying the Manuel an my cousin who is a Dj is helping me. Ordered a antenna for the radio and going to test the Bluetooth tomorrow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Tustin, CA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the stereo channels did not work. I am returning it.

Pros: Crutchfield was efficient in delivery of stereo receiver, will see how thelr customer service responds.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/9/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Product at Right Price

Crutchfield customer from Fair Oaks Ranch, TX on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be a pretty good unit for the money. I am using it in our garage for FM radio at the moment but may decide to hook up CD player in the future.

Pros: Number of Presets Speaker A and B Capability Component Inputs

Cons: Not Banana Plug Capable Short FM Antenna

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Mohegan Lake, NY on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, simple to use, good power, good sound, great price! Just what I needed for my application, stereo sound for CD player. My old Pioneer (also from Crutchfield) crapped out after 35 years of valiant service but it had a great run. This is the replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice stereo sound

Crutchfield customer from Duson, LA on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was very easy to setup. I have it setup in a small bedroom using Elac 5.2 bookshelf speakers and the combo sounds amazing.

Pros: Easy setup Great sound for the price

Cons: None at this price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from N Little Rock, AR on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hey...this Receiver amp is excellent it gave my speakers the pioneer CSA 9000 a totally different sound....much much better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Power. Power. Power

Crutchfield customer from Greencastle, PA on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of power from this unit. I am using it on-a covered patio driving small Polk bookshelf speakers. It makes the speakers shine in a wide open area. Blue tooth seems to have a great range. I have it in a basement with wires running outside of the home. No issues with Bluetooth through wall. Great buy!

Pros: Price point. Power. Blue Tooth

Cons: No HDMI to hook up my google home but the Bluetooth is all I really needed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Sabana Grande, PR on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compre este equipo con unas bocinas Polk y quede encantada

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

No-brainer

Crutchfield customer from Huntington, NY on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a receiver that would play streaming services as well as other audio components. I have one set of speakers in the house and another pair on the outside deck. This is perfect for what I needed and for the price, it's a no-brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

As expected!

Crutchfield customer from Perry, GA on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great; no issues!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Ave Maria, FL on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's got what I want

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from West Memphis, AR on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great starter system, plenty of power for our use (patio/pool bar area). Have not pushed the system, use it to chill out in the pool and/or lounge at the bar or patio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Union City, TN on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very happy sounds great ,have it in my shop pushes my old speakers hard

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Whitehouse, OH on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice low cost receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

For the office.

Crutchfield customer from Vega Baja, PR on 8/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, price was right, I bought it for my office to replace an old Onkyo, the Bluetooth works perfectly, it's inside a cabinet and even with the door closed the Bluetooth works flawlessly with my iPhone. It moves two in-walls and for that it has more than enough power.

Pros: Bluetooth.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi music lovers?? , I had to replace my 27 year old Boss lifestyle 'll, and chose the Yamaha RS202, the system has very much the same sound quality,we love it. Barry & Cheryl, Thanks Crutchfielfd.,it's a 5 star all the way??.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Gets job done for entry level receiver

Crutchfield customer from Whippany, NJ on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a fine stereo receiver. No frills. Would prefer to have more controls available on the receiver face plate. Most controls are only on the remote control.

Pros: Affordability

Cons: Lack of controls on face plate

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Thanks crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from King, NC on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little receiver for the money. Clean sound Yamaha makes good stuff for the money and crutchfield got it to me a day early. These guys are on top of their game. I bought this to rock my vintage cerwin vega vs ,120s and it hasn't disappointed in that department.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Pahrump, NV on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very happy with the item ,replaced a very old Sony tuner . this arrived on time and was easy to set up . thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was easy to set up. Two minor improvements I would have like to seen. For presets I would have liked separation for AM and FM. A clock on the face would have been a plus as well. Both of these are minor and would not have stopped me from purchasing the unit. For it pricing worth every penny

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Providence, RI on 8/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to connect with existing system. User friendly, quick install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, CO on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Yamaha Sound!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, MN on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great has Bluetooth very basic but that's what I wanted for garage

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Arnold, MO on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice. It is exactly what they say it is. Nice value for the sound. Not a 5 because of the volume issues between tuner and bluetooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect inexpensive receiver. The bluetooth adds to its versatility. Yamaha always has great sounding recievers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best bang for your bucks

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value! Plenty of power and a great way to beef up my existing Sonos system.

Pros: Affordable, Bluetooth option

Cons: No sub input.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Sparta, WI on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the price.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great second system

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, PA on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Economical way to use all my older components and Bluetooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Lake City, SC on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I expected from Yamaha and Crutchfield. I've been using my older HT receivers to control my outside speakers, but wanted a great receiver without all the HT bells and whistles. Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Ephrata, PA on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service from Crutchfield! Fast shipping on in-stock items and the selection is great. Love the Yamaha R-s202 for my office.

Pros: Great for basic stereo unit . Bluetooth Great power @ 100w/channel

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from South Range, WI on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good patio receiver

Pros: Loud and clear

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Priced right good clean sound with plenty of power for what I needed back yard patio, neighbor's haven't complained yet

Pros: Price and power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good unit for the money

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, NJ on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clean sound. Good product for the money

Pros: Clean Sound Good controls Bluetooth enabled

Cons: Sound is not full (rounded) No loudness control (like the old Yamahas) No phono input (if that interests you)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great w/ ?

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Can I connect a Third pair of speakers for quad?

Pros: Easy!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 7/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha (Bluetooth) stereo receiver

Crutchfield customer from Fair Haven, MI on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good! My Yamaha R-S202 arrived as expected. Packaged well, and pairing with my device went quickly and without any problems. The only reason I didn't give it a five-star rating is because I have only had it for 10 days or so, so I want to see how it does over time. So far, very pleased. Crutchfield remains at the top of my list when it comes to all things audio

Pros: Nice looking "dashboard" and easy-to-understand displays Came in secure, sturdy packaging. Delivered on time

Cons: Can I plug my turntable into one of the auxiliary ports?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Marlboro, VT on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

no complaints whatsoever; so far this tuner is just fine, (wish there were knobs instead of remote, bu what the..}

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the money. After several years of listening to digital music, I've decided to breakout my albums and CD's. I thought this would be a good start. I've had Yamaha components in the past, so I knew I couldn't go wrong with this receiver. Ordering from Crutchfield was simple and the equipment arrived quickly....Thanks. I'll be ordering other components soon. PS: Ordered my car stereo system from Crutchfield many years (early 1980's) ago.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

I love it

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, very easy to use and very good sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bang for your buck!

Keri from SEATTLE, WA on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this to power a couple Sharp bookshelf speakers i had leftover from an old stereo that died. For the price point, it pushes out a lot of power, has plenty of inputs/sources, and the all important bass/treble adjustment.

Pros: Bluetooth, plenty of inputs, looks sleek, easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, MA on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

> Nice simple, easy to use receiver. It's perfect for what I needed. The unit is in the garage and hooked to inside/outside speakers. The A/B selection allows for inside/outside or both listening. > The FM tuner surprisingly has very good reception using the supplied antenna > The Bluetooth works great. We can control Spotify/Pandora from the patio, no problem. It will delay slightly when walking away with phone, but once seated it's fine. Not sure what the range is, but it works great where we sit approx 25-30 feet away. It synced instantly with everyone's phones.

Pros: The review says it all!

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Allen Park, MI on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very nice inexpensive receiver from a top notch name. I bought this for my garage stereo and it has bluetooth so I may use Spotify. Linked up quick and sounds great with enough wattage for my 2 car garage!

Pros: Bluetooth, Yamaha,remote, simple!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best ever amplifier for the price awesome sound

Pros: Excellent

Cons: Needs HDMI

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Ltl Egg Hbr, NJ on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is amazing, and for the price can't beat it, I wish I could give it more stars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Wausau, WI on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the receiver for my shed. Easy hook up, fast delivery. Awesome sound for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Carson City, NV on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't had a decent stereo receiver in years. Very happy I chose this one.

Pros: Bluetooth, auto presets

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck with easy Bluetooth connection to boot

Crutchfield customer from Smyrna, GA on 7/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product for price. What I needed was very good quality stereo (2 channel) amplification from a variety of sources, including Bluetooth. This product delivers! Was glad to see that the unit can link with and remember (up to 9 maybe) Bluetooth devices - a treat that exceeds what I had hoped for. Synced easily with three two devices initially, more may follow. As far as I can tell, that will be first come first served with no way to choose which Bluetooth otherwise - but I have not experimented yet.

Pros: Good quality. Solid and what you expect from Yamaha.

Cons: Maybe larger than it needs to be - but might be a "platform" decision to save cost. But as a sort of standard size it has a good look with other components.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Holualoa, HI on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far the unit is performing as touted. The bluetooth was easy to pair and connect and sounds very nice considering its price. We are using it to drive 2 pairs of "Polk Audio" in wall speakers. Time will tell as ti its reliability!?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super satisfied. Easy to hookup and the bluetooth connection works very well. Couldn't be happier with sound quality. I'm using Polk bookshelf speakers.

Pros: Easy hook up. Not overwhelmed with useless buttons.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Akron, NY on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic unit like it said but has good sound plenty of power would recommend it ! And you can't beat the price and free fast shipping

Pros: Great power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not 100 watts.

John from Orland Park on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although the unit has some nice features, it is in no way a 100 watt receiver. I have a 30 year old, 30 watt Pioneer receiver that blows the doors off this unit.

Pros: Nice features.

Cons: No way 100 watt output.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Cresson, PA on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver for the money. I have it paired with my Polk Audio Atrium 4's out at my pool and it sounds great. I read some reviews that stated you had to turn the volume up above 50 which is true. I have the max volume set at 80 and use my iPhone for my music source....plenty of volume and no distortion. Bluetooth works well....I'm at least 75 ft from the receiver when at the pool and it works without a hitch. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Egg Harbor City, NJ on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from De Soto, MO on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connects easily to my phone to stream hours of music. Very happy with product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Basic Yamaha Reciever

Crutchfield customer from Irons, MI on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect unit for a small covered gazebo. Hooked up with pair of Yamaha outdoor speakers; the Bluetooth input allows easy steaming from my playlists or Spotify.

Pros: Low Price, great product.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Park Ridge, NJ on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall pretty solid...volume controls are a con, since it must be turned up at least halfway to even hear anything. Aside from that, a good basic receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy again

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price you can't beat this stereo it has Bluetooth which is really nice it also has 100 watts of power no bells and whistles but that's why it's inexpensive I've only had it a month but so far I'm happy with it

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: It only weighs 14 pounds versus my Denon which feels like it's twice as heavy and heavy means a strong amp

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Ramsey, MN on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, good directions. Sounds pretty decent for the price.

Pros: Easy to setup. Good Bluetooth connectivity.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Johnstown, PA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, MI on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my garage, blue tooth works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice gear well packed sounds great with 2 Advent sparkers I have out side. Yamaha is a safe bet when it comes to audio. Great priced

Pros: Great price for a Blue tooth unit.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from West Fork, AR on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid and great value considering the price tag. Capable and performs as expected.

Pros: Old school simplicity, yet capable sound.

Cons: Would have been 5 stars with rear speaker connections that accepted speaker wire with banana plugs (e.g. as Crutchfield offers).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Parkesburg, PA on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent receiver for pool side

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from South Bend, IN on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't beat the option and quality for the price.

Pros: Price, quality, sound

Cons: Not as much power as a more expensive unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My first setup!

Crutchfield customer from Zionsville, IN on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup with Atrium4 speakers, Bluetooth has provided seemless audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Macomb, MI on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Great sound and the Bluetooth has worked well to this point. Only wish I didn't need to play with the volume between 60 and 95. It is plenty loud I just feel it could be cleaner if I wasn't always at the top of the output scale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Perkasie, PA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, pretty good...and let's face it, there aren't many affordable units to pick from.

Pros: Good price, does the job.

Cons: Quite large, check dimensions before buying. I had to put it in a different place than originally planned. Also, the standby light is very bright. I put a small black sticker over it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent receiver

Crutchfield customer from Ellijay, GA on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for my shop. Many reviewers said bass was lacking but I found it just fine much better bass than the pioneer it replaced. I paired it with 3 way Yamaha speakers and it sounds great! For $260 total receiver and speakers my shop sounds better than ever!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from S Glens Falls, NY on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to replace a very old receiver to my pool stereo speakers, and would allow Bluetooth connectivity to I-pod and I-phone music. It has worked as advertised and I am very pleased with how easy it is to connect.

Pros: Easy to set up and the Bluetooth works great,

Cons: Not an elite receiver, but functions perfectly for what I needed.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Uhrichsville, OH on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect power to push good sound at low price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bucksport

Chase from Bucksport on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean as a whistle sound, easy to use. Pushing a set of Cerwin-Vega xls 12s with it and very happy with the sound, been trying for a year to replace my ancient technics reciever. Finally found one I was happy with. Bluetooth easily pairs Bass and treble adjustment goes to 10 Volume goes to 100, 45 reasonably loud. Nice solid remote Received product in just a couple days, I would highly recommend this reciever

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Can't read the labels

Bob from Delano, MN on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Why do manufacturers inside on using low contrast print that is impossible to read? I need a flashlight to find any control on the device. Why even bother labeling the switches if they don't want people to read them?

Pros: Affordable

Cons: Can't read the labels. the font is too small and too low of contrast. Need a flashlight to change settings.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top notch equipment. very happy and satisfied with my Yamaha R-S202! Easy to install and very easy to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not enough buttons on the receiver. Good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, CA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went with the "scratch & dent" deal as well as the $10 shipping discount . Receiver arrived one day ahead of scheduled delivery. The FM reception is crisp and the bluetooth is an awesome feature for an entry level receiver. Since the receiver is my garage/shop music source, a scratch or a dent was not a big deal for me. When I unboxed the receiver I could not find a scratch or a dent. Well done!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Woodbury, CT on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, didn't realize there were no USB ports when I purchased it. Need to be on top of it for the remote to work. Bluetooth feature was the selling point and the fact it was a Yamaha as well. Have other Yamaha products and very happy with them. Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instantly made my vintage Yamaha speakers person as the should. Amazing sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great budget stereo receiver

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, CO on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a inexpensive stereo receiver and this Yamaha R-S202 is perfect. I wanted something to power my outside Polk speakers and this was the perfect match. Great sound, power and Bluetooth too. Shortly after I purchased it , it went on sale. Crutchfield refunded me the difference between what I paid and the sale price, no questions asked. So for $130 Yamaha stereo receiver, it was a total no brainer.

Pros: Cost and power are a plus for this unit. Easy Bluetooth setup...

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, TN on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver for the price. Easy set up and user friendly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, MO on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garage Sound

Crutchfield customer from Gering, NE on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little receiver!! Have it hooked up to two Klipsch CDT-5800-C-II in-ceiling speakers in my garage the sound is really awesome for the space. The room is 14x21 with 12 ft ceilings and I couldn't be happier!!

Pros: Price

Cons: No sub output

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Patio Companion

DAVID from Midland City on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this so I could sit on the patio and play music off my phone to the built-in speakers outside through the receiver inside the house. Works perfect! Very good Bluetooth range, even with a brick house. Simple operation and puts out great sound. The FM reception is good, too. Not a fancy unit, but excellent performance for the tasks it's equipped to handle.

Pros: Great sound and Bluetooth range, simple pairing.

Cons: None for my needs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Pauline, SC on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid receiver for the money. Bluetooth feature is very nice to have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from St James City, FL on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from an entry level receiver

Pros: Easy hookup and operation

Cons: FM antenna

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. The Bluetooth function was my main need and it works perfectly, better than expected and super easy to connect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Need to play music? Better start here.

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for what I needed! Super sleek and simple design, don't have a big system myself so this is perfect for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Benton, LA on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You get what you pay for. Cheap speaker connections and the volume doesn't begin until turning the knob halfway.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/19/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 7 found this helpful

ramanron

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds Great Nice receiver for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Could use larger speaker wire ports

Crutchfield customer from Jax Bch, FL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall decent receiver but speaker connection ports do not allow heavier gauge wire because the openings are too small. Other than that it performs well and is perfect for a garage system. Bluetooth pairing was effortless and plenty of power for the 600 square foot space.

Pros: Plenty of power and easy Bluetooth pairing

Cons: Speaker wire ports too small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Natick, MA on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for.Didnt want a full surround/ Av receiver with tons of fancy bells and whistles, just a good quality basic receiver to listen to music.Was a toss up between this and a Sony dh190.Dennis said the Yamaha was a better quality unit overall aside from not having the phono jack. Also got some polk s15s and they were so much better than my vintage bose 201s...and gotta say Crutchfield reps Dennis and Nemo were both awesome.Knew their stuff ,but also knew what I wanted and my budget and had great suggestions. I'd definitely go thru Crutchfield again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from SAUK RAPIDS, MN on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hooked up an old set of Klipsch RF-52's and they sound great paired with this receiver! Great stereo amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent choice for prize

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Bluetooth stereo receiver

Crutchfield customer from Acme, PA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My previous stereo receiver went belly-up and this model caught my eye with its price and features, as I wanted bluetooth and only required an A/B stereo setup. (I use a Yamaha to drive the home theater and it has been great, so decided on its little brother, the S202). I use the S202 for bluetooth only, connecting a Fire tablet and use it to stream music. I've connected 4 large floor standing speakers to the receiver as "A/B" and the sound is great out of all four speakers. It's a great performer, especially at this price point and would not hesitate to recommend for anyone who needs a decent bluetooth stereo receiver. One thing I should add, with the tablet always on (an Amazon Fire/Alexa tablet on a stand adjacent to the receiver), as soon as I power up the receiver it connects via bluetooth as the receiver remains in the state it was in ("Bluetooth") when turned off. That may be normal for all receivers, but it's nice that the connection is immediate.

Pros: Great sound. Bluetooth stays connected; I have not had any issues with distances up to 20 feet (it's rated at about 30 feet). Clean design. Fast Crutchfield delivery.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's really puts out quality sound! I have 4 speakers hooked up. And they'll sound good. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Fuquay Varina, NC on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Advisor Brandon gave an excellent recommendation. Working great. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Hyannis, MA on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product and perfect for my needs. Excellent price as well as great service ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Tony from Sapulpa, OK on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised .... great and easy to use product

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: Bluetooth app would be good

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha R-S202

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money great deal and good sounds

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful