Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-A2080BL

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-A2080BL

35 reviews
View this product

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver, easy to use.great sound quality. I would highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Noticeably better sound

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't finished setting up my receiver but listening to a couple of cd's reveals noticeably improved performance over my older Onkyo, which I was previously pretty happy with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Making simple awesome

Crutchfield customer from West Dennis, MA on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a Yamaha RXV 785 and was happy with that until the red light came on and the power would not. The 2080 was actually my only option available at the time as everything was sold out. I am happy it was as when I plugged it into my home surround 5.1 system it was great. I will be adding more rear surround speakers so looking forward to that capability. The tv picture seemed better and the sound was great. the set up was and continues to be somewhat baffling but I will eventually either read the manual or you tube a video on setting up the extras. The easy stuff like the tv , blue ray and stereo was easy and works great but the extras that it comes with like built in music cast does not seem to link up wit my wireless system. cannot figure out how to make Alexa work on it either. I am not certain if better hdmi cables are necessary but will start there. The setup of the speakers with the Yamaha YMAO sound optimizer was easy and works great to maximize the surround sound .Looking to purchase a new 4k TV so this system will hook up to that and hope will work well. we'll see. Overall happy so far and hopefully this one lasts longer than the 5 years I got out of the last on. All in all a greet receiver but overkill for a simple surround system like I have . The good part is now I will make it awesome and leave the simple behind. Thanks Yamaha

Pros: great sound and picture

Cons: music cast not working, set up not easily understood for a non techy person. if techy is a word:)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Louisville

David from Louisville on 10/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver sounds great and has plenty of features. I have an open concept living room open to the rest of the first floor and this receiver has enough power to drive everyone in the house nuts. Unfortunately Crutchfield as long out of stock of the unit. No fault of Crutchfield with the pandemic everything is in short supply. A great unit highly recommend.

Pros: Great remote, on screen display, sound quality, build quality.

Cons: Won't play MP3's off my USB hard drive only seems to be compatible with memory sticks. Ended up buying the Cambridge Audio CXN (V2) from Crutchfield which I love. So it actually turned out to be a positive for me.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Fostoria, OH on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, Yamaha does it again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Customer Service TERRIBLE

Crutchfield customer from Blythe, CA on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mediocre sound quality at very the extreme high volume. Difficult to adjust the system or use the large remote or tune up with YPAO system. Marantz-Denon seems to have more quality and practicality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 23 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lot of power. Easy to setup and use. This my 2nd yamaha receiver and I'm happy so far. Loving the 3 zones. Exactly what i need to keep 3 groups of people happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Super receiver

Crutchfield customer from Canovanas, PR on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Muy complacido con el receiver, poderoso,actualizado,mueve muy bien mi sistema de bocinas Klipsch Reference Premiere, tiene una función "AI"que ayuda a que el sonido en las películas sea aún mejor.Sinceramente enamorado del YAMAHA RX A2080 . Producto de calidad.

Pros: All

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Monrovia, IN on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressive sound. Good build quality.

Pros:

Cons: Very large, but that is a known

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Silly Awesome

Clinton from THOMASTON, GA on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver! I had an early year model of Aventage , RX-A 1020, great receiver! Wanted to update for several reasons. This new one is AWESOME! Everything I expected plus. The AI blew me away!!! Great sound on even the oldest DVD's!!! This makes my third Yamaha receiver in 25 years. Technological advancements are the only reason I have had to replace one. Yamaha is THE receiver in my book!!!!

Pros: Everything plus the AI for surround!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

RXA 2080 Yamaha A/V

Crutchfield customer from Quilcene, WA on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had very good luck with customer support but when it comes to Tech support What happened Crutchfield I have been hung up on left messages no return call First and only time I was able to talk to tech the problem was not solved by tech I figured it out myself but since then I have had couple other problems and nothing back ? A little worried about there 3 year protection as they to sell you another protection plan with stereo

Pros: Once you get the thing figured out it is a cool device YAPO Setup is the best way I have found so far to set up

Cons: Crutchgfield selling Expensive and unneeded add on like google speaker that only will answer questions and play music, than want you to buy a protection agreement when stereo has a 3 yr warranty that comes with it wish I had gone with 11,2 RXA 3080 I think it pushes little over 1,350 watts where the 2080 pushes 140 per speaker X 7 about 980 watts with the Def Techs SR 9080 ,Center 9060, front floor 9060 with A90 height they are very nice sounding when tuned right be better with more power

Crutchfield response on 6/3/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Quality and built like a tank!!!

Crutchfield customer from Ellijay, GA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would have given this receiver a 5 star rating but for some reason Yamaha changed the way they operate the 2nd zone. Well at least as compared to my Yamaha RX-A 1040 that I replaced with the RX-A 2080. On the older receiver you could use zone 2 and still have a 5.2 system playing in the main zone. Once zone 2 is not being used it would automatically give you back a 7.2 system in the main zone. But with the new receiver you can only have a zone 2 if you permanently assign 2 of the Atmos channels to zone 2. Which leaves you with only a 5.2.2 system in the main zone. Yamaha really screwed up when they did that. I wish I had known this ahead of time. I probably would not of bought the receiver if I had known this in advance. However, that being said I have to say this receiver is awesome in every other way. If not for that one annoyance it would be perfect! Yamaha receivers are high quality units that last and last. I have 3 other Yamaha receivers that go back as far as the RXV2400 (2003) and they all play as well as when I first bought them. You really cannot go wrong with Yamaha receivers. They are built to give you great sound and they will continue to for years to come. Yes I am a Yamaha fanboy! I've tried both Onkyo and Denon receivers but they both had hdmi issues so I went back to Yamaha and will continue to use their receivers from now on. Yamaha is QUALITY beyond reproach. No others need to apply!

Pros: Lots of power, beautiful sound, the app is great looking, easy to use and setup, doesn't run hot at all (mines not enclosed in a cabinet) and really built to last and last.

Cons: Don't like what they did to the second zone.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

First Yamaha Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Ennis, TX on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned several different brands of A/V receiver, including Denon and most recently Onkyo. I have a great 5.1 system in my den (with a second zone outside) and have always felt that either my receiver or the Paradigm Monitor 7s up front have been lacking. Until now. The RX-A2080 is amazing. I bi-amped the Monitor 7s and that made a world of difference. But it's more than that. Folks say to buy Yamaha for music playback, and now I see why. Don't think I'll ever go back to another brand. And that's on top of the easy setup and remote app that makes it simple to play Spotify via Bluetooth in either zone. Very satisfied - and thanks to Zak at Crutchfield for the advice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Hebron, KY on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing. Just perfect design and function.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A giant leap forward

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound in my great room has come alive. Today, it has configured itself brilliantly and using the same 5.1 speakers, it has unlocked delightful secrets long hidden by my old receiver. I am exploring with great delight its new world of AI surround, built in sound fields, and phantom rear and overhead speakers which are making my video and music come to life. I can only immagine what awaits when I add four more more real speakers to my great room and teach it to drive my master and den. Whew!

Pros: It's automatic speaker configuration, 9.1 channels, AI surround, synthesized music sound fields, phantom speaker synthesis, ability to drive multiple rooms, and billiant clear reproduction of even the finest subtlety in every source are proving a huge delight . It is the perfect foundation to take me that giant leap forward and carry me for the next decade. I have always loved my 4ohm front main speakers and this receiver has brought them to life without fear of damage.

Cons: It's a bit like opening an encyclopedia and starting to read. It cost a good bit to buy and there is a whole new world in there to get a hold of. It will inspire considerable investment of time and additional funds to master all it's benefits, add ambiance speakers to my great room, and equip my den and patio so it can talk to them as well.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, SC on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far, with a few exceptions. Using an older Samsung (Still HDCP2.2 capable) the Receiver will not recognize the TV as being HDCP 2.2 capable meaning that you can't send 4K content through the Receiver to TV, old Marantz I replaced due to power issues had no problems sending 4k to TV . Can't seem to find a fix through any research. This required me to plug in Fire Cube into TV and count on ARC to send audio to Receiver, instead of plugging the device into the Receiver. YPAO leaves a lot to be desired. Had some really weird distances and settings for the speakers after multiple iterations of running it. so wound up just doing Manual setup. The overall sound is great, and options for Spotify, and speaker setup is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Outstanding

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Yamaha Aventage RX-A2080 is really a simple unit to set up. It has one off the easiest music interfaces to navigate on screen I have ever used. So far I have watched movies ,listen to Sirius XM using my app on my phone, used the USB input to listen to my HI Res collection on my flash drive. Everything has worked perfectly and the sound is excellent. I only have a 5.1 set up but its all I need right now. I plan on adding a turntable later to complete my system.If you are looking for a Surround Receiver I highly recommend the Yamaha Aventage RX-A2080.

Pros: Easy setup, excellent sound, a lighted remote control, solid build,

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Another great Yamaha receiver

JD from Troy, OH on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My third Yamaha receiver and it doesn't disappoint. I got it for the extra driven channels for the Dolby Atmos/Elevation Speakers... Sounds great as expected

Pros: 9 powered channels

Cons: HDMI-ECC issues with Samsung TV audio switching to AUDIO01

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, OH on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am thrilled with the Yamaha. Setup was very easy and straightforward. The sound quality and performance has been beyond my expectations. I bought this upgrade to a 7.2.4 atmos setup and it works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 2/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new RX-A2080 is only a few months old, but it is working well. This unit is an upgrade to my old A1000 which did not have 4K capability since that technology did not exist back then and can now serve as music for the garage. The new A2080 also has Apple AirPlay 2 and Spotify Connect so I can once again stream music. The A2080 also has more power than the A1080 as well as two ESS Sabre Premier digital-to-analog converters. The last item I was looking for was Dolby Atmos and I now have this too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Built to last, heavy.

Crutchfield customer from Clawson, MI on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver ... a quality unit with plenty of power to drive my Klipsch speakers, which it does no problem. Set up was fairly easy. I bought this so I good also power speakers in additional rooms. It is a sizable receiver and has some weight to it just to let you know.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic receiver

Crutchfield customer from Willis, TX on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver! Slight learning curve for best performance but well worth the time. Movie and music sound great with excellent accuracy and detail.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Conifer, CO on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver and setup was a breeze. Had a Bose Lifestyle system but integration was seamless due to very knowledgeable tech. Nice job folks!!

Pros: Easy to set up Tech support was great Does everything we need it to.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Guest from Jacksonville, FL on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned this Yamaha RX-A2080 for three months now and really don't like it . It won't stream video though my local network from my home PC, only audio. The display does not show you what surround mode you are in. Now the receiver is giving some random popping sounds through the speakers after being on for about 30-45 minutes. Sound quality is good though when its playing audio or video.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 20 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Brockport, NY on 11/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got a 55 inch Sony ultra hd an all new audio quest cables. Roku ultra. Polk signature S 60-S 35-S20. The last was this Rxa 2080 all I can say is that this receiver is a great setup. I want to thank Cructhfield an there great staff for all there help getting my system setup like this it's amazing. Tom.

Pros: Top of the line

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Customer service makes this receiver great!!

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First point of my review has to do with the customer service. Stone, Tina, Marshall and Cosmo were all very helpful with my purchase, especially Stone. I spent almost an hour on the phone with him discussing the pro's and con's of the A2080 versus the A3080. I received the receiver and the packing could of the made the receiver make it though a stampede of buffalo's. Receiver is doing exactly what I need the receiver to do and the app is making it user friendly for my wife and me. Still tweaking in the setting but thats the fun of owning a receiver like this. Again, without the customer service like Stone at Crutchfield I would of been lost in what receiver to purchase!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Thanks Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am so very pleased with my new receiver . It's gonna take me weeks to figure out all it can do. I bought B&W tower speakers, sub, center and rear speakers for it. It's so nice to have the sound and the power I grew up with again in my house. I bought from Crutchfield for a few reasons. 1. You just cannot find home stereo stores in town like we used to be able to do back in the day and so having someone you can trust while purchasing online is paramount. 2. Because of the name recognition I felt pretty much garanteed that I could rest well in my order knowing that I am purchasing from a company that will stand behind my purchase and protect me during the purchase and shipping stage. The box showed up to my house so well packaged that I think it could have survived a nuke strike! Lol. Seriously, it showed up totally protected from the vigors of shipping companies. I knew it would because I was buying from a company with a proven track record for care and flollow through on what they sell. The only regret that I have is that I didn't spend the money for even more power!!! Thanks Crutchfield for a seamless transaction and for all of the support that your site provided in helping me make the right decision. In my book, you're the only game in town. If you want to not worry about your purchase of high dollar stereo gear online then buy from Crutchfield. Sean

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great receiver and support from Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 6/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal sound and easy to set up and use . The Yamaha app makes this receiver far superior to the Onkyo receiver it replaced . The customer support I received was also great - I used the chat to ask sales questions and order and then called with a question when setting up . All was better than the big box store

Pros: Ease of use and set up Power Cell phone app

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Osceola, AR on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only owned the unit for about a month now but it has performed wonderfully. The set up was easy. This is the first receiver I have owned that had a microphone for automating the speaker sound level set up and it was nice to not have to dig out my sound pressure level meter and futz about with that. The feature that settled me on buying this particular receiver as the Surround:AI function. With the caveat that I have not owned the unit for long and so do not have a breadth of experience testing it - it does seem to work as advertised. I would definitely recommend this receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Guest from Pawtucket, RI on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great AVR. I replaced my old Yamaha a1020 with this a2080. And I'm more than happy . This has 4k compatibility and atmos which are 2 main reasons I had to replace my a1020. Very happy with the a2080 so far.

Pros: Great sound and plenty if power.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Over priced

Crutchfield customer from Orange, TX on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over priced, 1st one we were sent worked about 15 minutes and shut down and never came back on

Pros: It's pretty

Cons: Not very reliable

Crutchfield response on

5 of 35 found this helpful

Fantastic sound, AI features impressive, very solid sound

Bob from Dallas, TX on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received my AVR, unboxed and hooked up the power, speakers, DirectTV, Blu-ray with output to my Sony XBR-55X900E TV. I was replacing a Denon XVR 2100W which worked well but was not HDCP 2.2 compatible and underpowered driving my Definitive 9020's. Following the powerup and reading the setup, I plugged in the YPAO Mic and followed the directions to set up the system. I will say this is much less intuitive that the Audessy setup from the Denon which involves several repeat steps, the Yamaha is much easlier. Following that I selected the input and streamed TV, then Music from my Direct TV feed. I was "BLOWN AWAY" by the clarity, power, separation and detail of the RXA 2080. I played with several of the DSP settings to shape the streaming Direct TV Pandora feed and then enabling the PURE DIRECT and driving the 9020's to their full potential, it was extremely impressive. I did encounter an issue when engaging PURE DIRECT that was not clearly pointed out in the guide anywhere. When you engage PURE DIRECT it disables the Menu functionally stating "NOT AVAILABLE" prompting me to panic and do a master reset several times when flipping back forth to PURE DIRECT. It makes sense that external functionality would be disabled but gave me bit of panic rushing off to Yamaha tech support, (no reply btw) and finally figuring this out on my own. Once I got past that, I was able to finish setup through the menu functions and load Music-cast which allowed me to access Pandora from the

Pros: Easy Setup, wonderful sound, powerful and impressive

Cons: PURE DIRECT Feature disables menu functions that may cause panic to newer users with first use

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

Crutchfield customer from Sheridan, WY on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound quality. Excellent build quality. I've had little time to explore all of the options available on this receiver, but the features I have used so far have been great. I replaced a Denon AVR2113 with this receiver, and so far I've been more than happy. Purchased from Crutchfield for the excellent service and support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2080

John from Hamilton, NJ on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new Yamaha Aventage receivers are great musically, but the operating software has a few quirks. They are mostly related to HDMI hand-shaking. The Marantz receivers don't sound as good but are far more intuitive to operate and don't have the quirks of the Yamaha. Te bottom line is...There is no perfect AV Receiver.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: HDMI hand-shaking

Crutchfield response on

13 of 21 found this helpful

Awesome Qualtiy And Sound

Richard from College Grove, TN on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. This thing is a beast and sounds amazing. I was going to go with a system like Control 4 but am so glad I saved the money and went with this receiver :D.

Pros: Great App Great Sound Advanced Features Saved me money on needing more equipment

Cons: None Yet

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP