Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A2ABL

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A2ABL

26 reviews
View this product

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Broadway, VA on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an outstanding addition to my home theater setup. Terrific sound, 5.2.2 capability, and hdmi 2.1. The only reason I've docked a star is that many of the hdmi 2.1 features aren't available yet- they will be implemented in future firmware updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

The best HT receiver option at this pricepoint!

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 4/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, love the YPAO feature, clean looks and the onscreen menu's are easy enough to use once you figure them out. The remote could be better but at this price point - it does the job. Be sure to use 60-Hz cables (luckily my 15-year old Samsung 65" could handle the signal). Crutchfield support is second to none. Been shaking our walls for almost four months now...

Pros: Sound (clean all the way through)... YPAO calibration - easy... Looks (happy wife)... Bluetooth easy to use... HDMI pass through actually improves my picture quality versus the straight connection to my Sony Bluray player (?)

Cons: More of a heads up - if you have to put this in tight quarters where you can't stand the antennae up - you'll most likely need a hard wire connection for the updates. Just haven't terminated my inwall CAT 5/6 cable yet so I periodically plug in...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Quinton, VA on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a little buggy

Pros: Great power

Cons: HDMI is a little buggy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 10 found this helpful

A2A Rocks

Michael from West Salem, WI on 4/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a 10 year old Sony die on my other TV and decided to swap my A780 to the other TV and get a new A2A for my main home theater. I got the A2A because I really like the A780, and thankfully they are very similar. It may just be in my head, but the extra 5 watts of power seems significant. Don't use wireless Yamaha speakers and not a gamer, but wanted to be ready for when I get an 8k TV. I've always thought very highly of the A2A and the A780's video processing. It's top quality and often goes unnoticed as you focus on the sound (sound is also top notch as well), but video processing is as good as it gets. I am usually good with setup, but this was a beast. I had problems with the receiver turning on an off at wrong times no matter what combination of HDMI control. Eventually I stumbled on a combination that worked, but there were 4 days where I was fuming while I was fiddling with it. I've seen a lot of hate for the app, and it's not great but if you use it in combination with AirPlay it's pretty good. I use it to control on/off, changing inputs, some setting features, and net radio. I have both the A780 and the A2A connected and can control both easily from the app. Go in with low expectations for the app. I like the finish on the front which is reflective, but isn't an issue for me. I have had 2 firmware updates so far, not sure what they did. Overall and in spite of any setup challenges, I absolutely love this receiver. It's top quality without the price tag!

Pros: Video processing, AirPlay, Combination of power and smooth sound, 2.1 HDMI, 4K/120 or 8K/60

Cons: Setup was a four day headache (for me), for this amount of money they should have put at least one component video input

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Superb Theater Surround

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, PA on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-A2A is great at movie surround separation, packing plenty of punch & bringing my Polks to new levels. While perhaps not as detailed or warm at music as Marantz AVRs in the 100 wpc range, it's pretty close & 100's less from your wallet. Use the savings to finally get a quality subwoofer. .

Pros: Arrived in 48 hours. Gage from tech was helpful & patient.

Cons: MusicCast. You might skip this step initially & connect via WPS to your router - you'll have more hair & lower blood pressure in the end.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good receiver, plenty of power, tons of HDMI inputs, looks good.

Crutchfield customer from Woodbury, MN on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been waiting for a company to make a receiver like this that gets rid of all the old legacy connectors that nobody uses anymore. Do we really need Component and Composite Video connections in 2021? Every device I own uses HDMI and my old receiver only had 4 inputs, so the 7 inputs on this one were just what I needed. It is nice to have the phono and a couple audio RCA's if I ever needed to connect something like that, though. If I have one criticism it's that on the remote there isn't a dedicated button for each HDMI input, you have to cycle through them with arrow buttons. There's a lot of useless buttons on the remote (which is HUGE) that I'd prefer weren't there (put those options in the on-screen menu) and put dedicated input buttons in their place instead. I just made sure to put my two most used devices (Tivo and Apple TV) were inputs 1 and 2. There is a mobile app that does show a button for each connection, so there is that.

Pros: Good on-screen menu, tons of options to configure

Cons: No dedicated buttons on the remote for each HDMI Input

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was great dealing with CRUTCHFIELD, and knew that I had bought a GREAT receiver. After I bought the correct HDMI 2.1 cables put it all together, and I tried to get the tech at CRUTCFIELD to walk me trough the setup and programing of all the components, the tech was very capable and extremely patient, but I knew that I was in way over my head, so my good wife Carol was kind enough to bail me out, and hire AVN ELECTRONICS LLC owned by MIKE LOEFFEL. Mike and his right hand man AUSTIN, were great , they supplied and installed two additional ceiling speakers, which sure livened things up in our great room, (much to my relief) they also managed to incorporate our outside lanai speakers, which used to be connected to my old BOSE LIVESTYLE HOME ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEM. The AVN guys sure know their stuff, they did their magic effortlessly, installed an APP on my IPHONE so I can control the receiver remotely. All for a price which is FAR less then I expected

Pros: It is a great unit, and I'm sure that in time Carol and I will figure out how to work all the functions

Cons: Not anything serious, and I may have missed it in the instructions. But it would have been helpful if they had supplied the HDMI 2.1 cables with the unit, I would have been very happy to pay for the cables.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Cannon Falls, MN on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be happier the best I've ever owned! Powerful and incredible sounding.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Natural Sounding Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit replaces an old Sony unit. This receiver is easy to setup. It recognizes the audio source such as Blu Ray player and the cable box. The scenes act as an equalizer for movie, music and radio listening. The unit connects easily via Blue Tooth from phone or my tablet. My Polk speakers enjoy the higher wattage. The sound is natural. The speaker calibration with the supplied microphone gives me a very balanced sound to the key listening area. The Blu Ray and cable box are using HDMI inputs. I am using the optical input for my CD player. Sadly, I have failed to successfully link my two music cast speakers for surround sound.

Pros: HDMI connection is easy. Natural sound in music, movie and tuner inputs

Cons: The Music Cast application is not user friendly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellyn, IL on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Ease of use could be better however and the manual is lacking as others have stated. Once you get a grip on the learning curve it's great and I buy it again.

Pros: Sound quality Features and versatility YPAO works well

Cons: Ease of use Lack of detail in manual although the online version accessed. through the app is more user friendly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

David from Perkasie, PA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I recently upgraded a projector that supported 4K video. This is replacing a Yamaha RX-v675 that did not fully support 4K. Setup was easy. Sound and video are great too. Very easy to update firmware to the latest. I also connected to Spotify through cell and was as easy as expected. The only issue so far is switching between different HDMI ports, the video is lagging and takes some time to the picture to show up. I did not have that issue with my last receiver. This is a minor issue.

Pros: Setup Sound and video Easy to update firmware Connect to Spotify through cell

Cons: Lag in video when switching between HDMI inputs

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first Yamaha Receiver. My past experiences with Receivers have been with the Denon, Sony, and Onkyo brands. Being honest at first it was a bit frustrating until I was able to familiarize myself with the Receiver, especially adjusting the bass sounds for the subwoofer. Once the sound is calibrated, read I can say that the Receiver is excellent in terms of quality. The sounds are loud and clear, this Receiver has many adjustments to regulate and optimize the sound. Highly recommended!

Pros: Very clear and strong audio!

Cons: Some clicking noise just only when using TV apps through eARC.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Keaau, HI on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit just can't figure out how to power it on manually.. it goes on automatic when turning the tv on.. still a mystery ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/17/2021
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha. Says it all.

Crutchfield customer from Mount Clemens, MI on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid build. Great sound. Some people cry, but on screen setup is easy to navigate. May not look super amazing, but I'm fine with better build quality and sound than cute fancy look for on screen settings. Hope feet don't drag on getting update out for 4k/120, 8k/60 as others already have issue resolved.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Power plant

Orange from Delray Beach, FL on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought this an upgrade to the Yamaha RX-481. I'd like to give you a comparison between the two, but there is none. This A2A is in a different class. It's very powerful , sound is crystal clear and it delivers silky smooth bass. The set up was pretty easy too. This is one sweet receiver at the price point and highly recommended. Thank you both Crutchfield and Yamaha for outstanding work!

Pros: Great sound, easy to set up, Blue Ray DVD performance is next level.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Aventage RX-A2A

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm just now diving in to all that this AVR has to offer. So far I love it!! I purchased this to replace an Onkyo TX-SR505 that I purchased from Crutchfield in 2008. Wow, things have changed a lot since then... Sound quality is fantastic. Features, adjustability, and flexibility are fantastic. I'm really enjoying the ability to play music from my network and via Air Play 2, as well as all of the features and control offered via the Musiccast App. This receiver is truly everything I was hoping for and more! I've owned AVR's from Denon, Onkyo, and Marantz throughout the years. Until now, the Onkyo was my favorite, with my first Denon from the early 2000's being a close second. This is my first Yamaha, and I am really impressed. I'm so glad I purchased this unit; would highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha Agent age RX-A2A is a bang for your buck AV receiver at this price point. The picture, and sound quality are top notch, but setup was a change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 2/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product and the sound quality is perfect and clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Cloverly, MD on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is the best!!! Full features. Easy to configure. I am in love!!!!!

Pros: Easy to configure. Great sound!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Not what I needed

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived on time and set up was easy. Called Crutchfield with one connection issue that they solved quickly. After a week I decided the unit really wasn't what I needed and called Crutchfield to help me narrow down the right piece of gear. Ended up sending this back which was very easy to do. Ordered a 2 channel receiver instead of Home Theater receiver. Originally I was thinking of running the A2A as 2 channel and adding a TV later to move into Home Theater. But you really need a TV hooked up to this to dial in the specifics for good 2 channel stereo sound. The front display doesn't show enough to do that, and I don't have a TV, so this wasn't a good fit. The features I did use worked flawlessly, tuner, streaming, CD etc, but I think good old 2 channel is the way to go for me. Crutchfield did a great job identifying my real needs and matching me up with a piece of gear to match. Customer service is top notch and I'm happy I used Crutchfield. Now I just have to wait till it is in stock.

Pros: Easy to set up. Everything I tried worked. Customer support is great if you have issues getting it set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 12 found this helpful

What an incredible clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Cheshire, CT on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible clear sound. So happy for your suggestion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Mount Laurel, NJ on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this receiver seems great now. Setup was maddening; I could not get this synced with my cable box. Pass through would not work correctly, sometimes I would get sound but no video, sometimes no signal. Literally took a week of turning the tv on each day and trying to figure out how to get sound and video. I would always get it working but once powered off had to start over the next day. Finally unplugging power to the STB and letting it reboot while plugged in to the receiver seemed to do the trick and it's been good for 3 days now. Also not really happy with the manual. Seems to just list everything I'm already seeing on the onscreen menu without actually explaining any of the options or features. But now that it's all working and I'm learning the receiver I will say it's great. There are tons of great features and this does everything I need for music and home theater. I'm sure as I am able to use more of the features I will appreciate it more.

Pros: Great sound, tons of useful features

Cons: Difficult setup. Manual not very helpful

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only gave it 4 stars bc I am waiting for the updates but I love it so far!! This was my first order from Crutchfield n they are definitely in my future for my next purchase ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing Receiver! (Waiting for Updates)

Landpet from Los Angeles, CA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Build quality is amazing. Sound quality is amazing. Has plenty of features. The only negatives are that it needs firmware updates for a few features like the 4K120, the Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization. I'm currently running a 5.1 setup, so I haven't tested Atmos with it. Looking forward to get two more speakers to make that possible or waiting for the Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization which allows a 5.1 system to simulate Atmos. I will do another review once I get more familiar with it on YouTube.

Pros: Build Quality Sound Quality Features

Cons: Need those updates soon for 4K120/8K60 and Dolby Atmos with Height Virtualization.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Subwoofer signal very weak

Ted from Duxbury, MA on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is out of stock on this item so I bought one that was available from a big box retailer. I wired up all the speakers and the sound was good. However, the signal to the subwoofer was very weak. I used a known-good sub and known-good cables but still the volume was low. I went into the setup and kicked the sub up to the max +10dB and it became almost adequate but still too attenuated for my liking. I tried to do a firmware upgrade just for giggles but that can only be done with a USB drive. I went to Yamaha for support but it is email-only and they still have not responded! No 800 number. If you get this receiver, please be aware of this issue. The store's customer support? "You can return it". I did. I ordered a Marantz SR5015 from Crutchfield and hoping it will not be delayed. My take away is: buy this stuff from Crutchfield. Even if you get a bad unit (or need any sort of help) you will at least have Crutchfield support and they will answer the phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2A (2020 model)

Cliff from Indianapolis, IN on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since I upgraded my TV to a 50" 4K set, and have had a Sony UBP-X800, it was time to upgrade my previous RX-A700. Initially I ordered the 780 as a replacement, which is now discontinued. After a phone call from Wes, I was able to get this 780. The looks can be bit polarizing for some, but when I saw this in person, it quickly grew on me. The screen, while small, isn't too distracting or bright. A feature I like is when switching the HDMI inputs, the names of the device in use appear on screen automatically. Just make sure it is able to fit your cabinet or shelf as it is fairly bigger than the models it replaced. The remote has a nice heft, not overly heavy and a textured back. The buttons are easy to read and use, my only suggestion would be to have some backlit, but it's to be expected at this price. Set up is easy and intuitive with a nice on screen menu and a number of settings, to tweak it to your liking(I wrote down my previous settings from the 700 and used them). Sound quality and output is nice, and the settings allow for multiple amp configurations, including a 5.1.2 Atmos set up. To address the HDMI 2.1 issue some have, I use a PS4 for gaming, and noticed using one of the first three inputs, the screen would sometimes go black with the audio playing, then appear seconds later. A fix I found was using HDMI input four and had no issues. Could be a temporary solution for some. Overall, I really like the this new unit from Yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

TOP