Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
803 935 222 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
803 935 222 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-A3080BL

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

9.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-A3080BL

30 reviews
View this product

My new toy!!! Recommended

Ruben from TOA BAJA, PR on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. A lot if connections and surround options, including MusicCast. Easy to configure. Using like 60% for stereo listening (Roon+Pure Direct) with my PS Audio Directstream DAC (with XLR inputs) and Nucleus, feeding a pair of Legacy Audio Focus XD (this Yamaha model has XLR balance pre-outs). The other 40% for movies and TV series.

Pros: A lot of different port connections (including XLR inputs and pre-outs), MusicCast and the AI Surround. Easy to configure.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, TX on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has all the bells and whistles great sound and plenty of power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

william from Plainfield, NJ on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very many features with lots of power

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Ballston Lake, NY on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RX-A3080 is a capable addition to any rack. The sound is traditional Yamaha - accurate and exciting. The newly revamped on screen menu and remote finally bring the Yamaha line of receivers into the modern era. The menu system is extensive, and perhaps daunting to those used to simpler receivers - but Yamaha gives the user a tremendous lever of control. YPAO did a fairly good job at compensating for the room and speaker layout. However, as with anything, can be improved upon with a more attentive calibration. I can only speak to my layout, a 5.2.4, but I do wish for more outputs, in this case dedicated pre-outs for the zone 2/3 and for F/R presence. There is a 4th zone, however this is solely based on an hdmi connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Twn And Cntry, MO on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is great Received in great shape with all the accessories in the package. Very satisfied as a multi AV unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Silky smooth

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Tons of pier. Silky smooth. Definitely with the money. Music to my ears!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Where's the Bass?

Crutchfield customer from Canton, OH on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Still learnig how to use all the features. Surrond sound is awsome with the tv. I just can't seem to get the amount of bass as I did from my old Pioneer. I use Cerwin Vega VE-15's and have a massive Who collection. Hope I find the right mix before I get old. Still a work in progress. Will update after some more YPAO attempts.

Pros: Great surrond sound fairly easy set up great remote

Cons: no physical owners manual-on line only sound lacks overall depth for rated power and price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Encino, CA on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Versatile receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Like this amp so much, I bought another!

Crutchfield customer from Mendham, NJ on 3/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros: - 3 Zones of powerful and crisp sound - no clipping to as loud as I dare - and I like2dare. - Yamaha's WiFi MusicCast App is flawless and intuitive. Works easily with your Smartphone, Amazon, Spotify, etc. music sources. - 7.2 SurroundSound - home theatre directional realism from big effects like a plane streaking overhead and small effects like an off-camera knock will blow you away. Cons: - Renders "Sonos" as redundant, unneeded devices. Oh, well...gave to friends with old amps. - Price, but so very worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Weymouth, MA on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is awesome, the sound is unbelievable with my new Klipsch speakers. Always have had Yamaha units, this one is replacing one that I had for twenty two years. So glad that I purchased this unit and heads up to the team at Crutchfield for the great info and assistance with the setup

Pros: Sound, not difficult to set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Novato, CA on 2/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080 - totally worth the cost

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System is great. It simplified cabling. It enhance both the audio and video quality - especially the video. It is mch simpler to operate compare to our home theater setup with out old Yamaha amp. The music streaming is much better comparing Pandora through the new system compared to Amazon through our Alexa setup.

Pros: It simplified cabling. It enhance both the audio and video quality - especially the video. It is mch simpler to operate compare to our home theater setup with out old Yamaha amp. The music streaming is much better comparing Pandora through the new system compared to Amazon through our Alexa setup. Has many advanced capabilities

Cons: Cost is not cheap but well worth it if you can afford it

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Beautiful inside and out!

Crutchfield customer from Washington, WV on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 4th Yamaha AV Receiver. I bought the 3080 to upgrade my home theater to 4K. Elegant looking and great sounding with all the features I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Can't Go Wrong with Yamaha RX-A3080

Stephen from Flower Mound, TX on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed 9.1 for all my speakers that includes presence speakers. The setup was easy and you can spend hours fine tuning how you want it to sound. What I thought was especially fantastic is that instead of letting the system determine my levels, I can manually adjust the volume and sound projection of each speaker for my space. Am sure that this Yamaha will continue to be great for many, many years to come.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Returned Item

Crutchfield customer from Lacey, WA on 8/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Returned the unit because is was too large for our TV console. The older Marantz SR7008 was fine as were previous Onkyo products. I stupidly purchased a 4K TV which precipitated me to have to purchase a 4K blu-ray, which caused me to cut Dish and go to Roku/PlayStation Vue, which caused me to upgrade to a 4K a/v unit, which caused me to upgrade our WiFi access point to 802.11ac. It is nowhere as inexpensive as advertised and having to purchase a new piece of furniture was the last straw! :-)

Pros:

Cons: Unit was too large

Crutchfield response on

8 of 169 found this helpful

Aventage RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, NY on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Yamaha receiver for years loved it my friend has an Aventage its being my dream to get one. This product superseded my expectations all the features that it has and the sound quality is 10 times better surprisingly the picture quality on my television is also better. Thanks to Quin at crutchfield for all your help she provided awesome group

Pros: Powerful, up scales picture quality save money by not going back to movie theaters my system at home now sounds better than the theaters. Easy install and setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It performs up to specifications. I have it set up for three zones (rooms). Each zone can manage different sources and volumes. MusicCast allows me to control the receiver from my iphone. Bluetooth, Airplay, and Apple TV work perfectly. It was very easy to set up. Crutchfield was very helpful in answering technical questions when making the decision to buy the receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clients were blown away and we all know that's what's most important ?? ????????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Danville, VA on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound. YPAO easy to use and sets up surround sound very easily. Great tech support at Crutchfield to help with some of the more detailed set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Union City, CA on 3/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

IMPRESSIVE SOUND AND SEPARATION!

Crutchfield customer from Dubois, WY on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade from a Marantz SR6009 and the Yamaha Aventage RX-A3080 is in a league by itself. No buyers regret here and the sound field is incredible with sharp clean sound. I can hear instrumentals like never before with previous recievers. Lots of power and sound quality even at low volume is superb. My polk RTi towers are bi-amped and have NEVER sounded better. Setup was a little overwelming at first but after some adjustments it went very smoothly.

Pros: Superb sound and power for either music or surround sound TV. Best bang for the buck!

Cons: No printed manual and setup was at first overwelming but once I studied the manual and played with different options it went very smoothly. My only real beef is that with all the technology things should be simple when setting up any surround sound system and that includes all models these days.

Crutchfield response on

26 of 28 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Santa Ana, CA on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good no complaints.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

Great features and superb sound

gary from Reinholds, PA on 1/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome power and great features, also very nice design.

Pros: plenty of power, nice selection of features, and very good sound quality.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3080

Crutchfield customer from Akron, OH on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is wonderful. It was easy to set-up (if connecting 9 speaker wires is ever easy). I had to make several adjustments to other components, but that was not too hard because I have a relative to help. This is far and away the best main unit I have ever heard. Also, my friends are amazed at the sound. I have owned many Yamaha receivers in that past and this as good as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 14 found this helpful

Great Upgrade from 5yo Denon

Cy from Morrison, CO on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the RX-A3080 to upgrade from a Denon AVR-x4000, and what an upgrade it is. I use the receiver for 2 channel digital music 50%, 5.1 channel TV 25%, and 5.1 channel movies 25%. One of the main reason I selected the 3080 are the ESS SABRET DACs (one ES9007S and one ES9026PRO). The Yamaha's Sabres are used in many high end external dacs and the improvement from the Denon's burr brown 24Bit DAC 1690 is clear. The audio imaging is spectacular. I was also interested in the balanced output for L&R main speakers. There is plenty of info to suggest that there is no difference between balanced and RCA plugs, but I swear the balanced plugs provide a deeper, quieter sounder stage. (I drive my Revel F52 front speakers with a Meridian G55 amplifier) The Denon had the top of the line Audyssey MultEQ XT32. The Yamaha 3080's YPAO gave very similar results, seemed to be faster. I'm still learning some of the unique Yamaha features. After 3 weeks, I am very happy with my Yamaha RX-A3080

Pros: Superb sound quality due to amazing built-in DACs Excellent back panel input/output design.

Cons: Front panel design is functional but aesthetically unremarkable

Crutchfield response on

28 of 31 found this helpful

My Really Great Rx-A3080

Carl from Lake City, Florida on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Yamaha rxa3080 is a really going machine. I'm in Florida. Ordered it on Friday and it was here all set up on Tuesday. Well boxed.with a lot of packing material. I previously had the rax3050 so my behind the walls wiring was already in. Out of the box, speaker cables, dish network box, Sony blu Ray player ubpx800, Panasonic plasma tv all set up with hdmi cables. Fired up the satellite cable box and got great pictures and sound on the 1080i tv. Lots of audio formats to settle on. Music was really great sounding on my klipsch 8000 speakers . Then the time had come for my Dolby atmos blu Ray player. Settled on the Dsur mode and here came in my atmos format. Wow. I have the 5.1.4 speakers. Lots of power on the speakers. Can even rattle the dog's kennel in the back room. Really a great receiver/amp. Thank you crutchfield.

Pros: Everything, power, formats, Dolby atmos.. thanks c

Cons: Nothing I've found so far - no arcs or sparks or smoke

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Best Receiver for 2018 hands down

kelly from Brooklyn, NY on 11/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best Receiver hands down

Pros: Name,quality,features;you name it,this receiver has it. Best remote for a receiver......backlit,build quality,doesn't feel cheap.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 15 found this helpful

Great Amp with a few minor issues

Robert from Sykesville, MD on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What's not to like. Unit will drive 11 speakers with an additional power Amp. Atoms sounds great. iPhone app is a joy to use. The unit has more then enough power do drive all speakers with no distortion. My only complaints with the amp the very poor performance when playing back music from Tidal. The song updates are very slow. Forget about gap less music from Tidal. Pandora sound good but not as good as Tidal CD quality. The Yamaha MusicCast app is a total joke. Hardware wise it's a great amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 21 found this helpful

Great receiver

Claudio from Bloomingdale, GA on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice and powerful with plenty of connections and features

Pros: Plenty of connections and features. Powerful . A very good receiver once the set up is complete

Cons: Crowded back panel with small printed indicators for the connections both in front and back of the receiver requiring lighting to see where to connect... the screen for info and set up is limited in more comprehensive guide for the average consumer. The remote is improved but still crowded and still not so intuitive

Crutchfield response on

9 of 21 found this helpful

Powerful Sound with Excellent Channel Separation

Matthew from San Francisco, CA on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third "audiophile-tier" receiver that I have owned, and my second Yamaha. It is simply the best receiver that I have ever had. The RX-A3080 is powerful, solidly-built, and produces amazing sound. My last receiver was a Marantz SR7011. (I had no real experience with Marantz brand before I bought my 7011, but I know it enjoys quite a fanbase). The Marantz sound I found to be "warm" and "round". Different from Yamaha, which tends to sound "bright" and has more distinct channel separation (when both are calibrated in a similar way). The reason I sent back my Marantz was build quality. It failed repeatedly. Despite being sent back from repair three times, the Marantz never worked right. I experienced dead channels, a bad HDMI board, and flakey audio decoding. Conversely, the Yamaha touts its quality components; high-grade circuitry, professional/discreet codecs, and solidly built chassis (it's heavy). While functionally similar to its predecessor (the RX-A30370), I like that this comes Dolby Vision installed. I also like the addition of "Sound AI", which is a decoding option which analyzes and adjusts sound on the fly. For example, in a movie scene which has both loud background music and spoken dialog, Sound AI pumps up the dialog to be more focal. It's not perfect, but works pretty well in games and movies. It should be turned off for music. I have this setup with a Motiva external amp, so I can run a true 7.1.4 system. This thing shakes the house!

Pros: Premier build quality. Signature sound which is bright, with excellent channel separation. It has the latest codecs and software; Sound AI.

Cons: Just one complaint. While the RX-A3080 can process 11 simultaneous channels (when you add an external amp). Getting all channels for a 7.2.4 configuration take some work. The menus aren't straight forward for this.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

46 of 46 found this helpful

TOP