Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A4ABL

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A4ABL

29 reviews
View this product

Feature Rich Receiver

Steven from ANAHEIM, CA on 11/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Full featured and easy to use. Yamaha is my go to brand for AV receivers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RX-A4A

Randy from Boise, ID on 11/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really like the sound and the set up is much easier than the older Yamaha receivers. I did have a problem with IPAO recognizing both of my subs but customer service walked me through it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Thomas from Chesapeake, VA on 11/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not as customizable as I would like, but easy to set up and the YPAO works well. I'm just using it as a pre-amp in a 5.1 setup. Sound is much better than previous units from competing brands - they always over-emphasized bass. YPAO produced a very flat, natural sound with my Martin Logans. Also, the app works well. Easy to set up and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Louis from La Fayette, NY on 10/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to setup and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Glad I upgraded to the RX-A4A from the RX-A2A

Richard D from Lakeland, FL on 10/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield kindly accommodated an upgrade from the RX-A2A to the RZ-A4A where HDMI signaling system was failing in the RX-A2A and I'm so glad I did the upgrade! The RX-A2A / RX-A4A replaced a Yamaha RX-A750 purchased in 2015 whose HDMI signals were 'clobbered' by a FL lightning strike. The RX-A4A has similar audio quality to the A750 and similar menu functions that the RX-A2A lacked (& I missed dearly). I wholehearted recommend the RX-A4A over the the RX-A2A - it is definitely worth the extra dollars. One negative is neither new Yamaha unit supports direct USB connectivity to Apple IOS iPod and iPhone - Airplay just doesn't match the sound quality available in a hardwired connection. Yamaha (are you listening?) 'PLEASE restore this lost functionality in a firmware upgrade.' I will gladly go from 4 to 5 stars if you do!

Pros: Excellent audio quality

Cons: No Apple IOS USB connectivity to iPod / iPhone

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Quality Receiver

Gary from Vero Beach on 9/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We purchased a 4k TV and wanted a receiver capable of delivering the 4k to the TV. I went back and forth between Denon and Yamaha settling on the Yamaha for several reasons important to me. It is a quality unit, no disappointment with the looks or design, very satisfied, and am still learning all it has to offer. Even the remote is great-solid. The RX-A4A had everything we needed. It was missing component connections but there are inexpensive adaptors that allow you to connect component to HDMI. We have a couple of old devices (VHS, camcorder) that hardly get used so the adaptor worked fine for these when needed. First purchased this RX-A4A from Amazon but it came in an oversized box all banged up, they did not package it correctly. For a receiver at this price, I didn't even plug it in - I just returned it and bought it again from Crutchfield. My first time with Crutchfield - they are great to work with and the shipping was perfect. For any future expensive electronic gear I need - I will go straight to Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

James from Lonoke, AR on 8/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was hesitant at first since I'm a Sony man but after having this for a few weeks I really like it. Does everything I wanted an AV receiver to do. I would recommend this for anyone. Only one thing I don't like is the manual could be better. Anyone who buys this will have to play with it for awhile. Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A marked improvement to my older A/V receiver

Bradley from Brewton, AL on 8/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After a couple of Denon A/V receivers that started losing functionality after a couple of years (dropping inputs, losing the second zone, etc.), I decided to go back to Yamaha which products had provided good value in the past. So far, so good! This receiver sounds great, has intuitive controls via the MusicCast app, looks good, and has increased functionality over my previous receiver. Delivery from Crutchfield was quick and packaging was robust. I was ably assisted in my choice with expert advice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Richard from Queensbury, NY on 8/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced a 6 year old Yamaha RX-A850. I was not sure that this was a good idea until I hooked it up the new A4A. Very happy that I made the switch. The sound was awesome. The listening experience was noticeable. I am still learning how to use the Musicast APP. It is much different than the old Yamaha app. Overall, this is a great receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Michael from Russellville, AR on 8/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Many options and nice interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

David from Canonsburg, PA on 8/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The only issue I have is the it takes Yamaha a long time to release firmware updates.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Beniamin from Wood Ridge, NJ on 7/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely AMAZING product!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Joseph from Sugar Grove, VA on 6/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This replaced a 30+ year old Yamaha. This was easy to hook up and plays nice with the Sony a90 except changing the volume using the Sony remote is sluggish. Sounds awesome on my old speakers. Now I need to buy more speakers to see what this atmos is all about..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Lee from Winston Salem, NC on 6/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very open sounding phono preamp. Drives my SVS Prime Pinnacle Towers really well. Haven't even had time to run the calibration yet, but it's sounding great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

John from Shepherdsville, KY on 5/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was easy to hook up, and works perfectly. I would recommend this to anyone who needs one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Timely Purchase!

Crutchfield customer from American Canyon, CA on 5/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was initially wanting to buy the Onkyo TX-RZ50 but after waiting for weeks and looking all over without success, I stumbled into this Yamaha Aventage RX-A4A. Read plenty of feedback from owners and read the professional reviews from Crutchfield which mostly were positive. This receiver so far has met all my expectations. I set mine up more for music and home theater use. Listening to my favorite genre of Bar Jazz is satisfying, instrumental sounds came out so natural. I still have to use it for a taxing movie but I have no doubt it will give a stellar service. Glad I bought it when I did as I see that it is now on backorder.

Pros: Natural sound when YPAO is set up to factory standard. Ease of hooking up and figuring out the system.

Cons: Its a bit on the more expensive side when compared to the competition.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A great AV Receiver

Alan from Fayettevllle, PA on 4/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I honestly couldn't believe how much better my music sounded after hooking up my A4A. The vocals and instruments sounded clearer, more realistic, and tighter. The additional power provided more punch to my speakers. I am so glad I bought the A4A!

Pros: What I said above

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

A great AV receiver

Alan from Fayettevllle, PA on 4/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Improved clarity of vocals, better rendering of instruments, and ample wattage power make my new Yamaha RX-A4A a resounding success for me. Whenever I have made a noticeable improvement in my audio system, I'm a happy consumer, and that's how I feel now.

Pros: Clarity of vocals, instruments and amble power to deliver it to my speakers.

Cons: None that I've noticed

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Christian from Shawnee, KS on 3/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awsome receiver, is reacing my 20 plus year old yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Bought the A2A, returned for the A4A

Chris from Foothill Ranch, CA on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tried to make the RX-A2A work with my setup, but really wanted the preouts for more than just the Front/Mains on 7.1 setup. After doing more research on the A4A, I found that the A2A is not really on the same level as the 4,6 and 8. Not just power, but in construction and design. To my understanding, (which may be confused, as it took a bit to sort out the details) The physical construction is different, the Sabre DAC and Qualcomm FPGA for DSP, etc. is upgraded, better room correction YPAO, the 5th foot is under the transformer in the front, the remote has a backlight, more DSP modes? and despite only being 10w more in power, it weighs 13 # more. Combined with more HDMI input and outputs, seemed like it made sense to upgrade to the A4A for the significant 3 ~35% price increase. The extra cost was worth it to me, just for the preout, nicer DAC and mire future proofing with the Qualcom FPGA. The backlit remote is a nice touch, and seems necessary on the A2A; disappointed it was not on the A2A. The display on the receiver is unimpressive, but I guess value needs to.be implemented to keep cost down. eARC functions reasonably well on both the A2A and the A4A, but I had issues getting it configured on the A2A, and that required a call to Crutchfield. The solution was to reset the receiver, but was REALLY frustrating troubleshooting and getting it sorted out. It took SEVERAL HOURS to get the receiver configured initally. Went fa

Pros: Yamaha design and quality; construction is well thought put and executed 5 year warranty available Music Cast is a nice app for streaming e.g Spotify and Airplay work well Ability to customize setup and sound

Cons: Cost high, relative to competitors feature set. Setup was fairly unpleasant, and there are some clumsy navigation and setup functions. Be nice if you could eventually use an app on your phone to perform settings that currently need to be set with the your TV on.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 12 found this helpful

Almost perfect AV receiver for blind and low vision users

Chris from Evansville, WI on 1/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Aventage A2A and the A4A so far are the most accessible AV receivers for blind and low vision users. They feature Music Cast for iPhone based control. They also have a browser based installer setup interface that works well with screen reader software. For the first time with patience and an understanding of receiver features and functions it is possible for a blind user to configure this receiver. The 8 scenes once configured make it simple via the remote control to place the receiver in a mode with inputs and parameters set. From a known starting point it is much easier to use the remote or the IOS app to fine tune your listening. The audio is a matter of preference but I like the presets. The "all channel stereo" is a favorite and makes older recordings sound fresh and room filling. If Yamaha would consult with experts on Apple's VoiceOver and update their application this would be perfect. The only other improvement would be real buttons at least for the Music Cast connect button on the front panel of the unit. No other brand of AV receiver is even in the running when it comes to accessibility.

Pros: IOS application, good remote keypad layout, fantastic audio, good mix of inputs.

Cons: Plastic case, touch controls, usual 45 degree angled feed-points on speaker terminals, accessibility fixes badly needed on IOS Music Cast application.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Crutchfield customer from Arizona on 1/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had this receiver for about a week now after returning the Onkyo TX-NR6100 due to it lacking in sound quality. The Yamaha RX-A4A definitely matches the quality I was used to with another Yamaha receiver prior to trying the Onkyo model. This unit was easy to set up and the back-lit function of the remote is helpful when the lights are low. There are a couple video features that are still unavailable until a firmware update is released, but Yamaha has promised that will happen. Hopefully I will get many years of use out of this receiver. Make sure you register the unit with Yamaha as it extends the warranty a couple more years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

PHILADELPHIA

Dennis from PHILADELPHIA on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just connected my new RX-A4A and upgrade for my A1050. Everything seems to work great with the exception of my DVR. I have a Xfinity X1 Box that worked great with the 1050 but with the A4A the sound kept muting. It was very intermittent not regular intervals, it would mute (ie not sound) routinely without any reason. I was trying different settings and eventually found that by turning off the adaptive DRC this cured the constant muting and has not done so again? Secondly I have to say I was expecting the web interface to be better but is in fact worse. The settings screen could be more helpful there are several areas where a setting says something like mode 1 mode 2 and mode 3 without any indications what these modes mean? The desktop patterns are lame. The Video picture seems to have improved.

Pros: Better picture

Cons: Lame web interface. Desktop picture. Help could be better

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Impressive clarity and dynamism. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-A4A w Klipsch RP

Dan from Palm Harbor, FL on 12/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Powerful, state of the art AVR: makes my RP 280f's, RP-450C and R-112SW sound fantastic. I had zero issues with setup or updates. I do get an occasional flicker on screen but I imagine that will be cleaned up with the next update. I'm not into speakers surrounding the room, a simple 5.1 is fine. I bi-amped my LR speakers and they are finally breaking in after 2 weeks, wow. Yes 300 wpc would sound better but I don't want to be deaf and this really sounds great. Yamaha quality is the best... doesn't overheat, great remote, ypao is ok. No offense but I wouldn't trade for a Marantz, Denon or Onkyo.

Pros: High quality, clean digital sound. Simple to setup and this unit has the ability to update for the future

Cons: ONLY 7.1, couldn't at least be 9.1 and with XLR

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Crutchfield customer from Durham, NC on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The receiver is still quite buggy: 1. The TV goes black sometimes when playing Dolby Vision content from my Nvidia Shield. This doesn't happen if I hook the Shield directly to the TV. 2. Once I have gotten no sound out of the receiver. Restarting the receiver did not help. I had to unplug it and plug it back in to fix it. 3. Still lacking 4K 120Hz and VRR support. Web site says "coming soon" but not sure when that is.... If they fix all the bugs, then I'd give the receiver 5 stars. Need to decide if I'm gonna hold on it in hopes they fix it or if I should return it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/15/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 3-year Yamaha warranty on this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

8 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A4A

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock , TX on 11/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Complex but with great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works great when updated.

CHRISTOPHER from Holland, OH on 10/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a little rough. Receiver came with update 1.10. Doesn't seem to be compatible with my Nvidia Shield at the time of this review. Wouldn't playback content that had both Atmos and Dolby vision on my LG Cx or my Shield and sound would cut out every 5 minutes or so. Also Wouldn't update over the Internet so I had to use a USB thumb drive. After updating to version 1.14 and restarting the receiver I was prompted to update to 1.22 after hitting the settings button via the internet. Content now runs fine on my TV but I still have issues running contact on my Nvidia Shield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

All HDMI ins and outs 4k/120 and 8k/60 capable

Brian from Houston, TX on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I noticed the Crutchfield description says that only three of the seven HDMI inputs and one of the three HMDI outputs are 4k/120hz and 8k/60hz capable. After checking with Yamaha customer service, they confirmed via email today that there is a mis-print on the "New Product Bulletin" for the Aventage units which showed only three inputs and one output are 4k/120 and 8k/60 capable. The email states they have received confirmation from Yamaha's Marketing Team that the Yamaha website correctly states for all new Aventage receivers (RX-A4A, RX-A6A, and RX-A8A) that ALL (seven) inputs and ALL (three) outputs will support 4k/120 and 8k/60 (via future upgrade).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/19/2021
Thanks for the catch! We've updated our presentation for the Yamaha RX-A4A to account for this information. All of the HDMI connections should see a firmware update to support 8K/60Hz and 4K/120Hz sometime in the future.

41 of 63 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound