Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-A780BL

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-A780BL

109 reviews
View this product

Great receiver

Scott from Tampa, FL on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best receiver I have owned. Upgraded from a 12yr old Onkyo and couldn't be happier. Don't forget to upgrade your HDMI cables to get the best picture out of your TV.

Pros: Quality receiver with easy to use functions.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great receiver! We were looking to upgrade our home theater receiver after moving up to a Sony OLED TV. Our current Denon would not pass through 4k. Went back and forth between another Denon or this Yamaha (on our third Denon). Both at this price point and power have very similar features. We are about 50-50 between music and movie/tv which made the decision even harder but leaning towards the Yamaha after listening to my daughters recently purchased Yamaha. When the yamaha aventage came available we jumped on it. Love the many different sound stages available. Setup was a breeze and I like the on screen menu much better than the Denon. Running a 7.1 Atmos setup dailing in the speakers took a little bit but what great sound! This receiver has the sound we were looking for whether we listening to vinyl,cds, or internet radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An excellent experience all around

Jonathan from WASHINGTON, DC on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver when I was ready to build my first home hifi rig. I wanted something equally capable of home theater and high fidelity music. I wanted something beyond entry level, but still something that left plenty of headroom for adding future speakers (for atmos, for example). I wanted something with plenty of internet connectivity and streaming services and, if possible, HomeKit support. So far, the Yamaha has lived up to every expectation I had. I have a 5.1 set up with klipsch speakers. It sounded great from the start, and incrementally better once I bi-amped the left and right channels with the advanced settings. I'm perhaps most pleased with the MusicCast app. Navigating streaming services like Tidal is surprisingly snappy. The built in settings in the app interface allow you to adjust dialogue volume and bass on the fly, and switch seamlessly between surround and stereo. The internal DAC sounds good and Tidal sounds great coming out. HDMI input and ARC work well. I've used analogue input for an outboard DAC and optical input for a TV, and the receiver handled it just fine. I used the YPAO mic calibration setting for the first time yesterday and I was impressed to find that the calibrated settings do in fact sound better than the simple set up. Based on my experience so far i can recommend this product without reservation.

Pros: Simple but also contains more advanced settings for further calibration. Very functional music-cast app.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Quality HT Receiver

Jose from Toa Baja, PR on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using this unit every day for hours, since I installed it about two weeks ago. For the features, price and reviews, the Yamaha RX-A780 seemed like a good choice and it turned out it is. This receiver is sturdy, has appealing looks, easy to connect peripherals and has the right amount of power for my mid-size living room. Setting it up was a bit time consuming, for the included and electronic owners manuals aren't very specific but by utilizing both, I was able to set it up right. Sound is full, clear and no distortion. However, it took me three attempts to connect it to WiFi and I'm still trying to figure out how the Musicast app works. Overall, This is a very good unit for it's price and features. Plenty sound effects from which to choose for both music listening and video and it works great with my TV using the ARC HDMI connection. I recommend the Yamaha RX-A780 with confidence. I feel this is a good purchase and it will last for a long time. Four stars only, for the owners manual and fussiness to connect to WiFi.

Pros: Easy to connect to peripherals, clear and distortion less sound. Numerous sound effects.

Cons: Owners manual not very specific. Fussiness to connect to WiFi.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Performance. Confusing Features.

Crutchfield customer from Southern Pines, NC on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Features are difficult to understand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phenomonal

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, CO on 8/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's clean, powerful, versatile & worth every penny. When your friend who is an expert on sound engineering says it's phenomonal, it is. I haven't gotten to the wifi part yet, but it was easy to set up & sounds great with movies and equally as good as just a regular old stereo. The Klipsch sub and center speaker work extremely well with this receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great, easy to use

William C from Dunedin, FL on 8/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds fantastic after a bit of time invested to tweak the setup and learn the apps. My goal was a solution where nobody needed to touch the receiver, and that was accomplished once the scenes were set up. Now the surround sound is automatic off of the tv (with volume seamless through HDMI), and music through Alexa. All working and sounding great. Highly recommend Crutchfield and this receiver. Sonny was a huge help in selecting all of the components.

Pros: Scenes, blue tooth, Alexa, MusicCast and AV Controller apps

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got rid of my Pioneer and went back to Yamaha. Great choice. The sound is awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver

Randy from Londonderry, NH on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this Yamaha receiver! Very easy to set up, sound check and get the app running. I had always purchased Yamaha receivers, but was talked into a Denon receiver 8 years ago. While Denon is a good company, the sound didn't compare to Yamaha. So I pulled the trigger and purchased the RX A780 and WOW! It sounds like I upgraded my speakers as well! You won't be disappointed if you purchase this.

Pros: Great sound Easy setup Great app Connects to my music accounts!

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overly Complicated

Crutchfield customer from Carthage, TN on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overly complicated to setup. A Crutchfield tech helped me to get the HDMI cable configured to the receiver and working, but as soon as I shut off the power, it failed to play sound via the HDMI cable when the TV & receiver was subsequently used again. I went back to the optical cable. I don't think that there are enough sound adjustments, such as forcing stereo when the TV thinks it is center channel only, synthesizing a 5.1 surround sound, and adjusting bass & treble. I am sure that something is not set up correctly, but seriously, I have wired units since Nixon was President, owned other Yamahas, Technics, Kenwoods, a Pioneer, a JVC, a Sony, and even added a new turntable and tape deck to an early 60s, Magnavox console stereo. This RX-A780 is the most overly complicated, sound adjustment deprived, receiver that I have ever encountered.

Pros:

Cons: Setup is unnecessarily complicated. Lacks sufficient tone controls.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great receiver

Crutchfield customer from Irwin, PA on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like this receiver...easy to use, phone app works great... definitely recommend this product.

Pros: Ease of use, Zone 2 works effortlessly.

Cons: Nobe

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great 2 Zone system

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy to set up. Had to figure out a bit about Zone 2. The Yamaha Music Cast App is great to control both Zones from my phone.

Pros: 2 Zones Very flexible Great app

Cons: On screen setup has many steps, but I guess that mesns it has lots of options

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Clover, SC on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it .... great sound for a reasonable price

Pros: Love the app that can help customize with ease

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, TX on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The quick start guide had this unit up and running in no time. Sounds great. Adapted to my logitech remote the first time out.

Pros: straightforward instructions all was clearly labelled on the rear.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Bch, FL on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver works very well. The remote and user manual is not intuitive and therefore confusing.

Pros: good sound

Cons: confusing remote and setup

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Spokane Valley, WA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding receiver. Menus are a little clunky, so what should be quick adjustments are long and tedious.

Pros: great sound

Cons: poor menu design

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Valrico, FL on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver was easy to set up, had a bit of a problem with audio but it was my fault not the receiver, a call to Crutchfield and the problem was solved, they are great at helping electronically chalenged people like me.

Pros: Easy setup. Control remote is great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Receiver, great value

Crutchfield customer from Humble, TX on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, well built. Arrived in perfect condition, great for home theater!

Pros: Plenty of HDMI inputs, 2 outputs, and two sub outputs making 2 sub hook up a breeze. No daisy chains here.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Orlinda, TN on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't fully tested this out, yet, but it produces great sound from the radio tuner or Alexa echo dot (via Aux input) in conjunction with the Polk in-wall speakers I installed in the new movie room. Looking forward to hooking up the 4k player and projector later next week to fully test the 4k functions and utilize this to it's fullest. So far, this has not disappointed and has been a great purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great purchase

James from Waterbury on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had this receiver up and running about a week now. The connections were all straight forward. A little tweaking with the settings and everything sounds fantastic coming through my Klipsch Synergy 5.1.2 system. A little disappointed that we can't pair any of our smartphones wth the receiver. Maybe that aren't compatible?? It paired up fine with some Bluetooth headphones though. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons: Bluetooth doesn't pair with our smartphones

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great AVR with some tweaking required

Jim from San Rafael, CA on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just picked up the RX-A780 and - after a week of tweaking and re-tweaking - it is an impressive AVR. My 11 year old beloved Pioneer receiver died and I needed a replacement quickly. Have always been impressed by the sound of Yamaha and this unit delivers. I'm hearing more details than from my old unit and the music especially really comes alive. Now it took a lot more work to get the sound right as I haven't found Yamaha's YPAO very good compared to the multi-point MCACC from Pioneer but with some adjustments and patience the sound is better than ever. Pros: stellar, precise and richer sound than I have heard before. Great bells and whistles with support for latest video and audio formats plus ARC, Spotify, Alexa, plenty of HDMI inputs. Pretty good apps from Yamaha (with a few niggles). Cons: YPAO is not good for much other than measuring the distance from sitting position to speakers. It got size wrong, crossovers wrong and didn't do a great job with the parametric EQ either. But the good news is you can adjust all of these things manually so if you take your time you can unleash a fantastic AVR. Also, the manual is terrible so more need for patience. Some of the cool features are a little gimmicky for me, especially Alexa. I found that to be a poor implementation in particular as anyone speaking to Alexa for anything automatically pauses the AVR. Had to disable that feature but doubt I would have used it much anyway. Very happy!

Pros: Great, amazing sound. Latest tech and standards supported

Cons: YPAO needs a lot of help and patience to get right. Manual is terrible.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Couldn't be happier!

Crutchfield customer from Ethel, WA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this reciever to start my upgrade, from a 'boxed set'. I am blown away by the quality of this Yamaha product. It synced effortlessly to my Xbox and Samsung TV. The Bluetooth connection is great also. Having the ability to have multiple zones is awesome! I ran my second zone outside. I deffinatly recommend this product.

Pros: Easy setup, connections, and syncing. Excellent overall sound quality. Plenty of power.

Cons: The 'HDMI OUT' button on the controller is extremely close to the power button. Pushing this, can cause the receivers video output to not function correctly (or atleast in the way I set it up). It took a few minutes of researching to find many others experiencing the same problem. This is NOT a deal breaker. Just something to keep in mind.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Cheyenne, WY on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my fourth Yamaha amp. It was time for an update/upgrade after my previous lasted 11 unfaulted years. The news features are great, the sound is Yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My New 7.2 Yamaha Audio-Video-Dual Zone Receiver

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

About a week and a half with it, so far so good; took some time to set up properly - Easy to Connect - Great Sound - Awesome Features; Happy with it through this short time - Recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Highly Recommend

Crutchfield customer from Waldwick, NJ on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver and highly versatile!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Louisa, VA on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over all great! It really brought my home theater to the here and now!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, NY on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this receiver for an outdoor stereo so I cannot comment on the video features. As for 7 channel stereo sound, it's sounds incredible. I replaced a brand new Denon stereo receiver with this as the Denon sounded horrible when turned up and it wasn't very loud. This Yamaha is both incredibly loud and maintains great sound when turned up. I'm considering purchasing one for my home theater setup as well.

Pros: Sound Power Features

Cons: Couldn't figure out how to adjust settings without a tv hooked up. Not a big deal for home theater applications but was challenging for stereo use outdoors

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Solid AVR for the price if you're willing to give up a few perks

Crutchfield customer from Ithaca, NY on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace a Yamaha Aventage RX-A1080 in my family room because I wanted the better model in the new basement theater. So far, this one seems very similar although less attractive (no panel covering all the buttons in front). The main complaint I have with the models lower than the 1080 is that they cannot send an HDMI signal through to Zone 2. I understood why my old Onkyo couldn't do this, but it's 2020. I decided the loss of a couple HDMI inputs, a little power, the Surround AI, and the HDMI to Zone 2 were worth saving a few hundred bucks. For the money, I'd give it 4.5 stars if that was an option.

Pros: Solid build, 4K capability, reasonable power, 7.2 and Atmos, 2nd zone

Cons: Only 5 HDMI inputs (these days, you may actually use them all), no HDMI to Zone 2

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from Hilo, HI on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amplifier/receiver for the price. It has all the options and features that I want.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Schertz, TX on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good receiver. Controls my living room and outside speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Aventage a780

Mike from Newmanstown, PA on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seamless and simple Apple integration at its finest. Stellar sound, appropriate presets,& a house full of sound for all to enjoy.

Pros: Price Capability Simplicity Output

Cons: Does throw some heat and needs well ventilated

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Hatfield , PA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780. Quite a lot of value packaged at a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit for the $$$

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit but really vague directions on how to best optimize for performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, some headaches with configuration

Crutchfield customer from Candler, NC on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So, it was hard to decide between a 4 and a 5 because the sound is so great, I'm hearing things from my speakers I never heard with the previous lower end unit. But, it took quite a bit of troubleshooting to work out the issues. This isn't unique to Yamaha, if you google sound or video cutting out you will see a long history of HDMI handshake and compatibility issues with all brands. First, my 4k Roku streaming stick would have the sound cut out. Then my 4k Blue-Ray player would have the video cut out. Both would be very briefly, for only a second, but it was annoying. A hidden 4k setting took care of the video and moving the Roku to the end HDMI port fixed the sound. Yamaha support wasn't a great help. But, finally it is all working now.

Pros: Great sound, options and features

Cons: Took a lot of research to work out the kinks. I think the previous generations remotes were better but it's usable.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Well Received

Crutchfield customer from Mooresville, NC on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver primarily because I trust Yamaha to make a fantastic product. They make exceptional products, and this receiver is par for their course. It is bristling with the newest technologies governing everything from subwoofer roll off to casting music wirelessly throughout your abode. People often call something obsolete because a newer product does more, or better. I say "nothing" is obsolete until it doesn't do what you want it to. And I see this receiver delivering far into the future. The features are plethoric and integrate seamlessly. I'm quite pleased with my decision to go with Yamaha...and of course...Crutchfield! Some things never change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for 2 zone entertainment.

Pros: Works good from phone. Sounds great.

Cons: Some online services are hard to get set up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a solid receiver. I picked this one becuse I had an application requiring pre-outs for the front speakers, and this one met that requirement and did so at a good price point. Setup was smooth, sound quality is good, and the onboard Zone 2 will work nicely with a future pair of outdoor deck speakers. Another nice feature is HDMI signal passthrough when the unit is in standby, so I can watch TV with or without running everything through the receiver. This is nice if I just want to watch the news and don't necessarily need to hear pundits in full surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Receiver

Crutchfield customer from New Hope, MN on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic receiver, I've owned Yamaha audio gear for decades and the sound keeps getting better. This unit was easy to setup and program, use the online manual it's very comprehensive compared to the printed one. Shipping was very fast and Crutchfield customer service the best!

Pros: Sound Quality and custom room setup with the included mic.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver itself is great, great sound, great power output. I bought it mainly for compatibility with Airplay 2, which doesn't disappoint at all!! The Yamaha apps are a bit confusing and take some time to get used to, but once you do, it works well! You need to use the apps for Input, volume and turning zones on and off if you're not next to the receiver.

Pros: Apple Airplay 2 compatibility. Power output.

Cons: The Yamaha iOS apps are confusing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a great receiver. The controls are intuitive, the design is good. Lots of great options. The user menus are a little confusing and it'd be great if it were a little more idiot proof, as it were. But overall really like it and would buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, MD on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent power and ability to have surround sound plus all the capabilities show engineers really thought about customers needs

Pros:

Cons: Really tall unit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Kula, HI on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should have bought more wattage that is just me but for now it's working good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Devin from Schererville, IN on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Have a 5.2 in my living room and zone2 on my patio. Easy set-up with the YPAOC feature. Dual zone is great! Can't wait for my next party!

Pros: YPAOC Yamaha App Dual zone Option to add Musicast wireless. Speakers in the future

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good product.

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver does everything that I require. It performs just as it was advertised and looks good too. The only feature that I would like to have is a switched ac outlet for a fan inside the cabinet that does not need to be on all of the time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A big upgrade from my Onkyo TX-NR626. Sounds great and the interface is easy to use.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Mio, MI on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the unit so far but i am having trouble getting an owners manual, which is only available to be downloaded online. you cant use any of the awsome features with out it , might as well be a clock radio without the clock, for this price they should have sent a manual for us seniors that arn"t internet savy!

Pros: nice to look at!

Cons: no manual cant adjust anything, have to buy 16 ft. hdmi cable to hook to new flat screen tv in order to set any controlls

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Randy Paul from Fairbanks, AK on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the upgrade from my old receiver. The one thing I would say is that the manual that comes with it is pretty lacking in explaining all of the features and how to set everything up. There is a better manual online at the Yamaha website. I have not taken full advantage of all of the features yet (still need to purchase Atmos speakers, a subwoofer, and set up second zone), but I like how I can make a great system out of what speakers I have now and add more later. The receiver will optimize what you have very well if you don't want to purchase all of your new equipment at one time. This receiver has enough power for my needs. Couldn't justify an upgrade. This one hit the sweet spot.

Pros: Good sound. Adequate power handling. Versatile.

Cons: Manual provided is lacking. A lot of features. Can be a bit confusing to understand everything.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Saginaw, MI on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780 does an excellent job performing the functions I was looking for: I purchased it to be used as a preamp/dac and av center. Both audio and video quality are very good, and the controls and setup are not difficult to understand. Wifi, network and bluetooth also perform well. The bluetooth transmitter and MusicCast were, in particular, a primary reason for choosing this unit. Once the untit is setup and configured, sound imaging is good, as well as clarity, depth and definition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound! Connected this to preexisting system when my old receiver started faltering. This receiver was much better and has many excellent features. Need to download complete manual as the quick start instructions included with the unit are very inadequate when tapping the extensive capability.

Pros: Extensive, excellent sound programs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solid Mid-Range A/V Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After nearly 20 years having owned a Yamaha RX-V800, it was time to upgrade to the modern conveniences of pass-through HDMI, Bluetooth, Dolby Atmos. My home theater set up: Samsung 65" 4k tv, Sony Blu-Ray player, FIOS cable box, Amazon Firestick 4k with all audio/video flowing through the RX-A780. One big difference I've noticed is the sound quality from movies is more natural sounding. Overall, I love it and would highly recommend for anyone looking for a solid mid-range A/V receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been a Yamaha fan for three decades. Their performance is top notch. I can hear shuttle details that other brands seem to not produce. This unit does a really good job as it is replacing a set of separates. It is powering a set of Paradigm Studio 10 v.5, B&W LM-1 and a Canton center channel. The Bluetooth is impressive. And most importantly, It sounds awesome!!!!

Pros: Great product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Waco, TX on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It seems to have all the features and inputs one would need. Top quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing, clean and MusicCast !!!

Crutchfield customer from Mc Adenville, NC on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing sounds amazing. Very clean and the MusicCast is awesome.

Pros: It's all good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Stephenville, TX on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good-sounding amplifier/tuner with MANY useful characteristics. Having two different listening zones is our favorite feature. The remote is well-laid out as is the front panel. The unit is complex with so many useful features that it will take some learning and getting-used-to, but it's worth it. The owners manual is our least favorite part. Excellent technical writers are hard-to-find, I suppose, even for Yamaha. It seems that the writer makes too many assumptions and leaves steps out of a process. Also the manual should have an index. I am very glad I bought from Crutchfield because of their astoundingly excellent Tech Support Department. All my problems so far have been dealt with quickly and efficiently by the team members. When I complained about the manual the tech said "That's why you have us". So true. I definitely recommend this unit as long as you buy from Crutchfield.

Pros: Good sound. Many fine features including two listening zones.There are many other cool features that will take time to learn. Remote is easy to use (if I would just quit losing it). Looks good in the entertainment center. It is worth the price

Cons: Owners manual is not perfect.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Rio Verde, AZ on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver but complex menus that take some study (or a call to Crutchfields tech support :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Clear dialogue at last!

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, MA on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the new musical clarity I get from bi-amp connection. There's plenty of power here and more than sufficient bells and whistles and connection options. The unity runs much cooler than my previous HK or Denon units. The unit seems to mis-identify some of the incoming surround formats occasionally leading to dialogue coming from rear surrounds, not center speaker. I'm not happy that when turned on again, the unity does not default to the last used source and setting, so it takes a bit to get to the program I intend to use. The YPAO setup is easy, but lacks the nuance and fine tuning of my previous receivers. Denon is much better in that feature. The remote is confusing and doesn't learn the codes for my other devices.

Pros: Power, bi-amp, cool temperature operation,

Cons: YPAO is rudimentary, surround decoding sometimes inaccurate, remote is complex and confusing.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoying this receiver. We're still trying to figure out how all the options work, but it sounds great and we're very happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Nixa, MO on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect power for my room and speakers. After connecting all components ins and outs I was suprised to have it working on first power up. And sounded perfect without even adjusting anything. Ran the auto setup with the sensing mic and it sensed all my speakers and configured accordingly. Couldn't be more happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Twp, OH on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha makes some of the best sounding receivers with a ton of features. You don't have to use all of the features .. Easy set up, easy menu's, great remote control to navigate. You can't go wrong with this receiver. I have owned, Denon, Onkyo, Integra, Pioneer, and Yamaha products. I'm sticking with Yamaha

Pros: Sound Features Set up Remote Build Quality

Cons: If any I would say the speaker nuts on the back of the receiver

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Rangeley, ME on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the RX-A780 through Crutchfield for my son and couldn't be happier. The price was competative and Crutchfield's customer service put it at the top of my list I ordered through Colt, he was super knowlegeable, friendly, and answered all my questions reference the receiver. The receiver was as advertized though it did take some time to set up. The stress level was reduced noticably knowing that I could call Crutchfield at any time and be walked through whatever I was attempting to setup, It is also worth noting that with Crutchfield you have your own advisor who also has his/her own dedicated phone line, which you can call, and they are in Virginia, not a foreign country. Overall a pleasant purchasing experience. I will be purchasing from Crutchfield again in the near future as there is no downside, all pluses.

Pros: Super company, prices are good and their customer Service and support are awesome.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Amazing sound

Crutchfield customer from Ranchester, WY on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing power and very intuitive interface. Highly recommend this receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fully Loaded

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using Yamaha electronics since the 80s without any problems. This AVR replaces my 2006 Yamaha receiver that still works flawlessly. I love the way you can dial this unit in exactly as you want it. individual crossover points for every speaker not to mention levels. The new Dolby decoder features really made my surround sound system come to life. Sound coming from every direction, left right front rear top bottom. I've never been in a theater that sounds as good. if you enjoy your music the musiccast allows you to stream your favorite service with lossless quality. The DAC in this unit is second to none. I'll give it a 10 especially at this price point.

Pros: Flexibility, power, preamp outs, dual sub preamp outs, user friendly remote, cool running, surround sound decoding.

Cons: Pretty tough learning curve but worth the time it requires.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

Aventage RX-A780 Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an Aventage RX-A730 and upgraded to this newer model to take advantage of the new Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and interface. More customizable than the old model. Great sound and connectivity with apps. I absolutely love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Lewisburg, PA on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver but should have went with the 9.2 with my klipchs set ,good for now just move it later to the basement needed another anyway that's 7.2

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Solid Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 11/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid receiver, easy to set up and very good sound. I wish I could assign custom names to the inputs and set the mute function to a very reduced volume rather than zero. Still very happy with it, though.

Pros: Easy to set up, very flexible

Cons: none I can think of

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Sterling Hts, MI on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

no hearing aids are required

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Another Great Reciever

John from Lockport, NY on 10/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really enjoying my new receiver. It sounds great and quite versatile. I have buying Yamaha Receivers since the seventies and they are my choice in amplification

Pros: Flexible applications that can be tailored to ones interest

Cons: Programming other remotes for power on and off features may not work

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good mid-range receiver, does everything you will need.

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 10/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. I'd say four and a half stars. I've noticed a pronounced increase in bass response since replacing a (much) older Denon. It also handles the video switching rather well, and it's good for streaming over a network, which I do quite a bit. From what I can tell so far, the internal DACs are excellent. Built-in phono preamp sounds very good, too. On-screen interface is intuitive, easy to use for setup. The only thing keeping this from five stars is the front panel and controls, which are more plastic than a five year older model that I have in the RX series -- that shouldn't be so. It's not that they are bad, but how difficult would it be to use a bit more metal, especially for the knobs?

Pros: Sound, flexibility of operation, easy setup.

Cons: Front panel could be more solid, in the manner of earlier Yamahas.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crutchfield tech team made the Yamaha set up a snap. The RX 780 is as advertised. Roy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Success and savings

Crutchfield customer from Penngrove, CA on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my new receiver, replaced a high end older model, at a quarter of the cost and has all of the latest features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

David from BROADVIEW HTS, OH on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately I'm extremely disappointed with this receiver. I wanted something that I didn't have to run wires to the surround speakers and the Yamaha was the only one to work with music and movies. The Yamaha app you have to use is absolutely horrible. You need to connect to the receiver and the musiccast surround speakers with the app and at least 3-4 times a week when you open the app it doesn't recognize either the receiver or the surrounds. When you try to reconnect it through the app it doesn't reconnect at least 50% of the time. I don't know if it's the equipment or the app but something needs to be fixed.

Pros:

Cons: Musiccast app is a huge disappointment.

Crutchfield response on 9/23/2019
David, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver and surround speakers. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Christopher from NC on 8/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked this Aventage model over a receiver from Yamaha's lower range for the sturdier build and higher power. Setup and calibration is pretty simple using the phone app and included quick-start guide. This has plenty of power for the DefTech D7s and CS-9040 in a 3.0 layout.

Pros: Sturdy build and speaker wire connections.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

worked well...until it didn't!

Eugene from Greensboro, NC on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver about a year ago. Worked fine but nothing special until it would not turn on after lightly using it for about a week before the year mark of having it. I called customer service and had to take the receiver an hour away to be fixed. After checking on the status of the repair, I was informed the parts from Yamaha are on backorder and the receiver will not be fixed for 2+ months. Buyer beware! Go with another company!

Pros:

Cons: broke after a year

Crutchfield response on

13 of 19 found this helpful

Fantastic Receiver!

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, VA on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic receiver, with an amazing amount of control over how you want your system setup. I'm currently using it in 7.1 mode for Zone 1 powering my home theatre, then I'm using Zone 2 to power outdoor speakers on my deck. I love the fact that I can go in and tinker with settings like internal power amp assignment or speaker placement to get the best sound. Throw in that it has built in support for Spotify, Pandora, Air Play and other streaming inputs plus as well as the ability to control both zones from my phone makes this the coolest piece of A/V equipment I've ever owned!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Enhanced audio, video and processor

Michael Joseph from West Salem, WI on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and picture quality. I matched this with Polk Blackstone TL250 and Polk sub PSW111 and it has brought my speakers to life! I replaced a 10 year old Sony and was surprised at the difference in quality and responsiveness of the rear speakers. I'm also very happy with the quality of the video routing through the receiver. On my old receiver I found that intense action scenes with dynamic video and loud audio would be slightly suppressed, but this receiver can handle it all with no lag whatsoever. I was told by a Crutchfield agent that Yamaha was very proud of their processing chips used in their Aventage line. I have not used all the functions of this but it has been a great fit so far its been great. I would recommend this high quality and well built receiver.

Pros: Sounds, video and computer processor

Cons: Slight lag time with Bluetooth and App is just ok.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 7/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Does all I wished, and more.

Crutchfield customer from Merrick, NY on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a solid replacement for an older receiver, and in addition to multi-channel functionality was looking for wireless and/or bluetooth capabilities. This receiver is already rewarding me with great sound and flexible usage of several sound sources. Also, I want this receiver to last for many many years, and I trust Yamaha audio from previous experience for long lasting, enduring operation.

Pros: Very good sound; ease of set-up; phone input; quality all around.

Cons: Though the owner's manual (which is available online, not packaged with the unit) is chock full of information, I believe it could be somewhat better designed/written/organized.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha aventage

Crutchfield customer from Newport Beach, CA on 6/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this receiver, I replaced a older Harmon Kardon receiver with this new Yamaha. The power and sound quality is outstanding. The ARC integration worked right away and set up was pretty smooth. II still have figured out to configure with Amazon Alexa but I am working on that....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Rossville, GA on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound with all the inputs and outputs for a great system.

Pros: Many ways to connect to music, dual zone, has bi-amp capabilities. Has pre-outs for two sub woofers and pre-amp for external amps as well.

Cons: Owners manual must be printed off line 200 pages.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield, TX on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver rocks, great sound through. Out the house and awesome for movies!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit poor instructions..

Crutchfield customer from Bennett, NC on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works great but the directions on hooking it up and then setting it up are really poor... I had to look it up online...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mid price range receiver. Easy to use and set up. Easy to add components.

Pros: Excellent sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Seems like a perfect match!

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much research, I chose the Yamaha RX-A780. Glad I did. The unit has more usable sound features and a really good audio calibrator. I thought it would crossover my front speakers lower, but due to the sound reflections in our mobile home this R.S.C. feature made the sound wonderful. No peaks or dips in the bands! It is really nice for music too, Satellite and Blu-Ray sound are much improved. I upgraded from a Harman/Kardon, and while it has beautiful sound, this Yamaha is an improvement, I cannot really locate where the speakers are individualy, with the Harman I could tell when sound panned. One can custom label all inputs if one chooses, but due to CEC they are labeled automatically first. Nice. I use Klipsch Gallery speakers and the sound is not overly crisp. I was surprised. The Crutchfield advisor I spoke with was correct in telling me that the Denon I was considering might be too soft sounding, Above all, this Yamaha does not sound abundantly digital. The GUI has a very small learning curve, and I picked it up quickly. The build is nice and sturdy, metal or aluminum dials might be nice, but not needed. they feel accurate. It arrived fast and in perfect condition! A big thank you to Archer@Crutchfield for all the correspondence and comments! It's a win. Now I will let the break-in reveal it's attitude!

Pros: Quality feel, Sound, R.S.C., Soounds great with music, broadcast and movies.

Cons: Uh....I don't know.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great receiver for the price!

Crutchfield customer from West Haven, CT on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is truly a great receiver at this price point. I've owned many Yamaha receivers and upgraded a RXV-1800 that was 10 years old with this one. It is packed with useful features and new technology. The sound is excellent as well and it was easy to install and make all the connections.

Pros: Great sound and features. Easy to connect.

Cons: Remote is a little cluncky and has rather small buttons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, NH on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Difficult set up. Zone 2 function was not ideal for open concept homes; noticeable delay in adjacent rooms even when using "party mode" and manually adjusting delay settings. Also not ideal for Apple users as does not support AirPlay 2 devices. This limits your flexibility to set up wireless whole house system unless you utilize Yamaha's MusicCast line of products. Ultimately traded it in for Denon AVR - S90H which is a much better fit for my set up. Crutchfield support was amazing though.....

Pros:

Cons: Difficult to set up; no AirPlay 2 support

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Love this A/V receiver

Michael from Georgetown on 3/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great A/V receiver. It's a "smart" device. It's connected to the internet wireless like mine is or you can use an ethernet cable. With the Yamaha Musiccast app, (free download, 23.5 mb, on your tablet or smart phone), you can connect the receiver and Musiccast surrounds to the internet and the surrounds to the amp. On the Musiccast app you can stream music direct from the internet to the Musiccast surrounds without the receiver being on. I connected my TiVo to the receiver and the display showed it is a TiVo without any input from me. The same for the DVD. It has about as much control as almost anyone would like. It took a little getting use to because of all the control possibilities. But once I did it's easy to adjust anything. The settings are shown on the TV screen in great detail including images of the speakers while the sound of the program stays on. I have 8 speakers connected to it. 2-front, 1-center, 1-subwoofer, 2 wireless Yamaha Musiccast rear-surrounds and 2- front-presence speakers. It's easy to adjust the level of each or you can use the YPAO microphone, (included), to set the levels automatically. I trust Yamaha. I already had an R-S700 receiver using it as a preamp to my Crown power amp for my stereo. Years of great service so far. I expect no less from this Aventage. Noise is nowhere to be found on either receiver. Ultra-clear highs and plenty of bass with good speakers.

Pros: Excellent sound with many preset sound possibilities. Great control of all aspects of sound. No "noise."

Cons: It may take some getting use to to easily use all the controls for some. But once that's done it's very easy.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Douglas from Greenwood, AR on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Yamaha receiver but it's old and outdated so I bought a new one and stayed with Yamaha because I'm very happy with their product. Thank you Crutchfield for helping me with all my audio purchases . ??

Pros: Sounds great, love Wi Fi and Bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Ron from Manassas, VA on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My music tastes range from listening to music from the 40's on up including movie scores, easy listening, smooth jazz, country western, Italian and classic rock and my new Yamaha handles all of them to perfection especially with its ability to set your listening pleasure with its preset audio scenarios. The Receiver is easy to use and I am constantly switching from vinyl, disc, FM and Sirius. Set up was a breeze. This was a Crutchfield recommendation and it appears it was a perfect fit with my existing audio system setup. Could not be more pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Akron, CO on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazed at how much Yamaha has advanced their AV tuner receivers. This unit replaced an existing RX-V663 so I could pass 4K ultra HD signals to my new 6" flatscreen. Setup was a breeze with the on-screen display. Glad I spent a little extra and went with the Aventage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

joseph from Anchor Point, AK on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Control and power to spare, excellent unit .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great for music and movies

Ron from Brush, CO on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha A780 is the third Yamaha receiver I've had. They just keep making them better and better. The two system option is great. Bluetooth is also a very nice option, especially when you have a party and someone wants to hear a particular song. I'm still learning different things the Yamaha will do, but for right now, I am extremely happy with my purchase. River made this suggestion, she had been great to work with, we seem to have similar ideas when it comes to equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Hollister, CA on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Runs the surround sound and connects to net radio easily. Links rapidly with the other Yamaha WXA and WXC units installed. Great for individual area control. Easy to install. Crutchfield has great support as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Joplin, MO on 1/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far! Set up was easy and it didn't take long to connect all the devices to it. We haven't explored all the different aspects yet, but love the airplay and having the phono input for the record player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A New Yamaha Fan

Jeff from Apollo Beach, FL on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is tremendous. The setup was easy and I now have Pandora playing in surround sound and in a second room.

Pros: Easy speaker setup. Surround sound Pandora. Great sound in the second room.

Cons: No HDMI support for room 2 but my old Denon did not have it either.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Richard from Ho,Ho,kus NJ on 12/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is dynamic and the video performance is superb.

Pros:

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Superior features and performance for the $'s

Crutchfield customer from State Road, NC on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product came when promised in a blue package wrap so you could not see what it was. Good packaging. I was replacing a 9 year old 11 speaker set up with an Onkyo receiver. I had issues with HDMI syncing and the main amps went out. Awesome sound for that time frame. Due to cost trade offs I dropped back to 9 speakers. The sound and features of this system for the money is great. There are so many features-set up and configuration is not simple. Used the setup app on an iPad Pro and it really helped. The speaker configuration settings via the app worked well. Really liked being able to over ride voice settings on some of the sound fields. Also like controlling the receiver from an iPad or iphone. There are 8 quick menu keys which make it easy for family to select the right source configured with the sound field and your personal settings by knowing your button number for a source. As usual documentation could be clearer and more detailed-had to do trial and error with source and sound customization. Have not set up remote and music cast; however that is a key feature that influenced my purchase. Did I say sound from sources of satellite, tuner, blue ray an vinyl phono are awesome.

Pros: Great features and product for the price

Cons: Complex setup and configuration due to the many devices, speakers and features-probably needs some imbedded AI

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Feature-rich

Mark from Edmond, OK on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome audio device. The sound quality is incredible. Integrated apps make filling my home with rich music easy. MusicCast allows me to wirelessly sync both of my Aventage receivers with each other, as well as the MusicCast 20 speaker. The sound has ZERO sync/delay issues, making the rich sound seem like it all is a single unit. I could not be more pleased.

Pros: Amazing sound. Multi-zone. MusicCast wireless synchronization. Android app is great.

Cons: The remote is very cumbersome to work through. It is not intuitive and I found most of the hidden juicy features buried in menus.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Real Cinema Surround Sound!

Guest from CA on 10/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a long time Yamaha owner I can say with confidence, "Real Cinema surround sound in the home is ONLY delivered by Yamaha!" That's my quote based upon years of owning many other surround sound AVR's and decoders as well. Moreover, Yamaha is the only Brand to use pro electronics even in their entry level equipment. Example: Back in the day, Burr-Brown DAC's (Digital to Analog Converters) were "the" must have. Well, Yamaha uses them even in their entry level aka cheapest surround sound AVR's. This means you'll have "Audiophile" quality sound no matter the Yamaha AV you choose. Also, Yamaha AV receivers can drive even the heftiest ohm loads as they're ohm switchable. This plays out as you being able to drive the stingiest speakers without your Yamaha AVR even getting hot. Heat build up is #1 enemy to any amp or AVR. Other brands like Onkyo, Denon etc. are known to run HOT when driving 6 0hm loads are greater. If your speakers are 6 or 4 ohm load then Yamaha is the only receiver you should consider. All the facts I've laid out for you is proof positive why Yamaha is superior in longevity. While Burr-Brown DAC's are the "real deal" Yamaha also offers Sabre Pro DACs in their top shelf AVR's. Knowing that, throw in their commercial strength surround sound decoder chips. Yup, commercial strength as in Cinema grade Dolby Digital decoding. No BS! The Yamaha line delivers surround sound in the home that's as convincing as any

Pros: Unrivaled surround sound and channel separation. Hard locked left to right, ceiling to floor, front to back, sound separation that provides dizzying surround sound! True audio ventriloquism from speakers to the ears. Cinema grade Dolby surround sound!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Pottsboro, TX on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 10/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2 stars because my technician says I need an indoor antenna and for that money it should have been able to perform efficiently and smoothly! In all my life my life never had to have indoor antennas for previous receivers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 52 found this helpful

Great sound

Kevin from Morrill, NE on 9/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. Returned to Yamaha after several years with a Poineer and am happy I did.

Pros: Great sound, dual zones

Cons: No HDMI to zone 2 unless in "party" mode.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Buy it!

Dom from Pacific Grove, CA on 9/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver. It has all the features I wanted and plenty of power for my speakers. I'm using it as a 5.1 system in my master bedroom and 2.0 system in my master bathroom. It was very easy to install, connect, and use. The only thing I'm having trouble with is using the Zone B speakers only but I'm sure I can figure that out with a little more research.

Pros: Easy to use, does it all.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Replacement Receiver

Blake from Raleigh, NC on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the Aventage RX-A780 to replace a Denon AVR-1913. Much improved menu and GUI on the Yamaha vs the Denon!!! Setup was also easier on the Yamaha. Pleased with the sound and customization, and the remote app is straight forward. Spotify functionality w/ remote app is responsive and a breeze. Expected it to run hotter than the Denon, but to my surprise, there is little to no difference.

Pros: Sound, Setup, Remote App, User Menu/GUI

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Lot of power, good programs, standby hdmi passthrough

Vijay from Mount Morris, MI on 8/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working great so far. My setup so far is Martin Logan 35xt speakers (2.0 system) with this receiver. I have setup in my small office but eventually want to move it to my basement. The main reason I was drawn towards this receiver is the ability to use wireless surround speakers. Eventually I plan to setup a 5.1 system with 2 ML 35xt, Martin logan center 50xt(or Martin logan 30), Martin logan 1000W sub (or ML 700W or SVS 2000SB) and 2 Yamaha MusicCast 20 rears. I connected the speakers using banana plugs on the receiver end, while using a spade plug at ML 35xt end. It has lot of juice to power the ML 35xts. I love the different programs such as Chambers, Movies etc. I mainly listen to music and it sounds awesome. In certain Queen songs I hear certain drums and bass that I never heard in any previous systems. Make sure you run the YPAO as I noticed the sound changed considerably after I ran it. One feature I really love is that even when the system is turned off (but plugged in - in standby mode), you can still get display output in your TV / monitor. It works really well because I have my computer connected to the receiver. So when I am working on computer and do not need the music system on, I can turn off the receiver but still get the output on the monitor. It prevents me from switching the hdmi input on my computer. I still need to setup the FM and AM radio. This receiver does not have multipoint YPAO which is disappointing for a receiver at this price point.

Pros: - Standby passthrough when receiver is off - Lot of power - Very good YPAO RSC - Lot of programs for different music and movie setting - Music and Movies sound great

Cons: Does not have multipoint YPAO. This means that you can only configure the settings based on one point in the room.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great receiver!

David from Salina, KS on 8/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent receiver that allowed me to expand my system to include presence speakers and support for my new 4K HD television. Sound quality is very good, and overall features are great for a receiver in this price range.

Pros: Very good sound quality. Phono input, which is missing from many other modern receivers. High level of customization via the on-screen display.

Cons: User interface for scene setup is confusing. Some remote control functions are not very intuitive - especially for family members who are only occasional users. It would benefit from an LCD display - like my old Sony had!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great picture and sound!

Alan from FL on 8/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice. As mentioned before; great picture quality. Great sound. YPAO worked well. Tech Casey helped set up Zone 2. One must set the A780 volume for Zone 2 quite high (I'm at +5.0), but it defaults to -40, so this must also be addressed in Multizone setup menu. I'm feeding Zone 2 out to a 45 year old HarmonKardon 75+ that feeds two other areas/rooms. Total system includes Dish, DVD, VHS, 2 Sony Jukeboxes, another CD player, a Cassette player, and phono. It rocks! The only thing I miss is that this unit does not have a remote that will control the off/on of the various sources, like my old one did. Must use a universal remote. (Replaced a 12 year old Yamaha RX-V559 ) Been a Crutchfield customer for many decades!

Pros: Great video and sound! Plenty of capability.

Cons: Needs a universal remote to control auxiliaries.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A780

Jeffery from Shorewood, IL on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with the HDMI pass thru for TV it provides a much cleaner picture than Onkyo, also the sound clarity was improved. Very happy so far with my new receiver.

Pros: Great video pass-thru

Cons: the HDMI connections are close together

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP