Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
738 691 032 4
Connect ID #
738 691 032 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

11.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A8ABL

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

11.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-A8ABL

21 reviews
View this product

Amazing power

Christos from Wilmington, DE on 12/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice build with a quality power. Setting up a 7.2.2 was never so easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

What I learned

Hank from Durham, NC on 11/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I own 2 Yamaha RX-A6A receivers, 1 Yamaha RX-A8A and 1 Rotel RB-1552 MkII, all from Crutchfield. Buying the RX-A8A was a waste of money compared to combining one RX-A6A ($2,449.95) with the Rotel RB-1552 MkII ($1,399.99) = $3,899.94 Yes, it is $349.99 more than the RX-A8A alone and you need two slots in your stereo cabinet. But WOW!! the difference in sound performance will literally have your ears dancing. The RX-A6A and the RX-A8A have the exactly the same software and the same inputs and outputs, with the exception of extra SP3. The magnificent stereo balanced XLR FRONT outputs will plug right into the Rotel XLR inputs, with a pair of high quality XLR cables. It even gets better - the Rotel has two left and two right speaker outputs letting you bi-wire your front speakers with ease. FYI: The four speaker outputs on the Rotel are not really for four speakers they are intended for bi-wiring the main front channel speakers. This is the most glorious combination. Your main front channels are getting 130 watts of power and your 9 surround channels are not diluted by the power draw of the front channels, marvelous. If you get a Christmas bonus and you still watch Blu-Rays get the Panasonic DP-UB9000P1K and another pair of XLR cables to go from the Panasonic to the Yamaha's "Audio 4" XLR inputs. Worth every penny

Pros: Better sound

Cons: an extra $349.99

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Who needed the knobs anyway?

Stephen from Acton, MA on 11/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Little things. Everything turns on and off and volume works with AppleTV remote. 7 stage overlapping Parametric EQ is priceless for shaking the house at low volume. I could +42db a single wide or narrow frequency range if I wanted. Great job with user experience engineering. Ease of connectivity for every class of user with every class of input makes this an everyday appliance while not ignoring the audiophile and knob twiddler in me. The point is a kid can watch TV and enjoy hifi without knowing anything, and I can shut it off from another room! That's real hifi, way more than a dumb amp. Will be fun getting the additional rooms going and finding an 8K tv.

Pros: The artful application of technology with real use cases well understood and built-in. Plenty of features I don't need but may want to play with someday. Kind of a Swiss Army knife of receivers.

Cons: I'd like to have menu control.bubble up things I use often, push down things I never use. Missing HD Radio, so still need ugly (in comparison) but functional Sangean. My girlfriend back in the day had an Aiwa with a more entertaining color digital display. Cheesy yes, but I'd go for dynamic color touchscreen in the future. If a microwave oven can do it, an AVR can too.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Slow Switching amd Unreliable

Kyle from Florida on 6/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Even though there have been multiple firmware updates, it is not a reliable AV receiver. It often fails to output sound and requires switching the inputs (or other steps to get sound working again across different devices. When it works, it works very well. So it seems like this possibly has potential to be a good AVR, but currently it only works maybe 85% of the time without having to do additional manual troubleshooting steps to get it working. But since maybe 15/10 percent of the time it fails in it's primary purpose of switching between audio and video signals and outputting them, it is really a beta device.

Pros: Impressive sound, zones work well. Firmware updates keep coming.

Cons: - Amazon Music Frequently requires sign in (multiple times a week or stops working). Also often 5 seconds or so between tracks when it does work - Audio often stops working. E.g. YouTube via Xbox will stop working when paused or starting another video. Need to switch inputs back and forth to get it working again. - Generally slow to switch audio and video signals. Serveral seconds vs my old Yamaha which is only milliseconds.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 19 found this helpful

So far so good

Peter from Milford, MA on 4/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is excellent, for surround movies and TV. Need more time evaluating with music. Second Yamaha Surround Receiver and glad I am back with Yamaha!

Pros: Great sound Ease of setup 95% of the features one could ask for

Cons: Would like to have 7 channel analog audio inputs

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Love Yamaha Sound

Henry from Durham, NC on 3/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super sound and all the features you need

Pros: Ease of Operation

Cons: They changed the remote buttons from previous models.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Thomas from League City, TX on 3/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just getting started, but so far has met all my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Brad from Lexington, KY on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my fourth Yamaha receiver over the last thirty years. All have been completely reliable and well engineered. I was looking for something to complete my 7.1.2 Atmos setup. This unit has more than enough power. Set up is considerably more than plug and play. Two notes: 1. Take the pdf manual Tia local shop and have all 400 plus pages printed and bound. There are plenty of internet places as well. You will be referring to the manual a lot. 2. Your receiver settings can be easily and directly accessed by going to the machines IP address "/setup". This is very cool and useful. This machine is so deep and powerful. Both these tips will help you get the most of it. Summary:powerful and deep. Worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Edward from Wilmington, DE on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking to upgrade to a receiver with ATMOS capability and that could handle an 11.2 system. Additionally I am putting in Klipsch reference floor standing speakers so wanted suitable power. The Yamaha has all these capabilities combined with excellent music streaming support an easy to use phone app and great relibility all at a better price to competitors. The system was easy to setup and worked right out of the box. Bonus to Crutchfield for allowing me to sign up for updates when it was out of stock and then sending me an email notification when it was in stock. Extra bonus that it arrived the next day packages very well for safe shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Working The Bugs Out

Brian from Bluffton, IN on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a beautiful unit but I have had some technical issues and have been working with technicians to figure it out. Even though they call this The Flag Ship. I could also be called a Boat Anchor if things don't work like they should. This unit has an extreme power delay in the startup/audio and then when watching cable tv or movies. The audio just shuts off.. I just did the February firmware update and still testing. The techs have been excellent with support. I just think that this Unit should be a better performer for the price. But like I said. I'm still testing the unit.

Pros: Has everything you want for your theatre room.

Cons: Power delay on Startup and Audio.

Crutchfield response on 2/8/2022
Brian contacted our Tech Support team for help. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should or help him return it for an exchange or refund. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

20 of 30 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Randy from Bartlett, TN on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good - I'm in over my head & a bit intimidated with this unit's capabilities. I have plenty to learn and am looking forward to spending time fine tuning the system to suit my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha rx-a8a

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does everything I want it to do. Music and movies have a new dimension over my old onkyo. Set up was very easy ypao did a great job had to tweak just a little bit for my taste. Bass management is great. On screen display is exceptional. I'm running a 7.1.2 polk rti12's mains with svs pb3000 plenty of power from tha yamaha to drive all of my speakers. So far very happy with product.

Pros: Very powerful great sounding well made design and easy set up

Cons: It's not cheap

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

One Awesome receiver

Crutchfield customer from Ball, LA on 12/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far has been a great receiver listening to movies and music. Yamaha has done a great job on this receiver.

Pros: Room filling sound great bass just love it.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

RX-A8A

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 12/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Previously had an RX-A3070 which sounded very good but lacked a bit when I used Pure Direct for Stereo and Tidal or Qobuz via Node2i. No such problem with the RX-A8A. No sense that something is missing listening in Pure Direct - sounds better than I hoped. Instruments are more distinct and better bass. My setup has a Node2i for music streaming digitally connected to my OPPO UDP205 to use the OPPO's DAC, Balanced Analog Out to Balanced Analog In to RX-A8A, RX-A8A in Pure Direct Mode, B&W 702S2 = Audio Nirvana

Pros: Vast improvement in listening to HD/UHD Music

Cons: Not compatible with the Yamaha Controller App. This app had easier control over DSP and Input Selection in addition to many other useful features

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really happy to finally get my hands on one. Still working through some of the setup, as it's slightly different from my previous Yamaha Amp, but so far I'm very satisfied with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

All the power and settings ill ever need

Crutchfield customer from Copiague, NY on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing receiver - i've been looking for it for 4 to 6 months now and once it was in stock I jumped to purchase it. It will run all 11 speakers in my home theater and I've yet to find the point it doesn't feel like it still has power to go. It's easy to use, easy to setup, and just works. Almost as good as my buddies MX-5200/CX-5200 separates but at a fraction of the cost

Pros: 11 speaker setup Multiple zones Independent Video out Atmos Support

Cons: Cost Weight

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Hardware, YPAO Still Doesn't Do Bass

SoundsGood from North Hills, CA on 12/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was interested in trying out Yamaha's latest and greatest. Lots of features, future proof given all of the 8K and 2.1 connections and such. I know there is still problems and firmware updates are forthcoming. So far so good. Sounds very good with both movies and music, although I must admit I'm not sure I can tell a significant difference between this and my much less expensive and older Denon. There are just so many variables to take into account with sound. The limitations of residential rooms being the major one. Every room will sound different no matter what equipment you have in it. The big let down is YPAO. It's just completely incompetent when it comes to dealing with subs. So you'll need to factor in additional expense to purchase a calibration mic and software, and maybe even hardware, to get your subs sounding even decent. I've run YPAO multiple times trying various things and it just can't handle the low end at all, despite Yamaha's claimed improvements in this area. Honestly, had the new Onkyos been available, with Dirac, I would have preferred one of those, but given supply and release dates I suppose my impatience got the better of me. Hardware = 5 stars YPAO = 3 stars, terrible bass management Overall = 4 stars, but probably closer to 3 because I'm going to have to invest in additional hardware and software to get decent bass management, which is not something you'd expect from a three thousand bone piece of equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 25 found this helpful

Feature Rich!

Todd from Naples, FL on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was lucky to secure the A8A from Crutchfield. Thanks! Pays to get notifications and email alerts. Not hooked-up yet as is so feature rich over my RX-1050 I have a lot to learn. Especially how to take advantage of the extra zones. Trying to eliminate current 12 zone NILES speaker connector and Denon and hope to use A8A.just ceiling speakers so fidelity secondary.ALSO, YAMAHA is offering additional two years of factory warranty for full five years. Must register in ten days from receipt of product on Yamaha site under PROMOS. Thanks folks at Crutchfield!

Pros: This is a huge advancement in the Aventage line. Far more than an annual "tweaked" model upgrade!

Cons: None yet other than new learning curve and not much detailed optimization advice yet but will evolve as units are sold.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

WOW!

Crutchfield customer from Brandon , MS on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Doesn't get any better than THIS. A little on the tough side to set up but worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, Tx on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome home theater receiver!! Does everything it's says. Waiting for the upgrade to see how that will work. But the power on this receiver amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A8A

Crutchfield customer from Granger, IN on 11/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 13 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound