Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
033 592 942 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
033 592 942 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha RX-V385

5.1-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # RX-V385BL

Yamaha RX-V385

Yamaha RX-V385

5.1-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # RX-V385BL

76 reviews
View this product

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 7/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this about two weeks, and it's proving to be a very capable receiver. I'm still in the learning process, as this is a very versatile unit packed with loads of features, for a great price. I mainly purchased this to replace an old unit in my work space, that lacked Bluetooth. I'm currently using it as a two channel, but I have the capability now to expand its use. It apparently is well built, as the UPS driver dropped it over my fence, and it was up and running out of the box. Thanks to Crutchfield for another happy transaction.

Pros: Feature packed at a great price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Toa Baja, PR on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Audio Equipment. I did not want something very fancy or very expensive, at the price I bought scratch & dent. like New and Excellent Price. It has everything I needed

Pros: Everything is Excellent

Cons: Maybe The 70 Watts, Could Have Been a bit Higher. but still good Enough.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything we need.

Crutchfield customer from Kuna, ID on 6/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Our old theater receiver lost the radio portion. I bought this not realizing it was not a direct replacement but with the features, this has we are able to use our smart TV to see all we want to see. This has great sound, is easy to use and understand, I would buy this again.

Pros: Lots of features, easy to use.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. Has all the inputs needed for an average home hifi setup and is very easy to setup. Plenty of power and excellent sound. A perfect receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value! Includes lots of features for this price point.

Crutchfield customer from Cherryville, NC on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The set up was easy, and it sounds amazing! I like that it has 4 HDMI inputs because it allows me to run my Fire TV, a BluRay, a game console, and there's still one to spare!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Guest from Gresham, OR on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far better than expected for the $ great for kitchen dining room and outside porch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hardware seems excellent, but the owners manual is a joke. I finally found the complete manual on line and it's 112 pages long. Thankfully the Crutchfield tech support was excellent. Kudos to Nolan.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice entry level modern multichannel AV receiver on a budget

Roger from CAMBRIDGE, OH on 5/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was using an old Pioneer VSX-D411 receiver manufactured in 2002, when I decided it was time for a badly needed update in my setup. I knew I was getting additional features such as HDMI switching, Bluetooth and automatic speaker level setting but I had no idea how much this unit would improve Dolby Prologic II decoding. Two channel sources from my over the air tv channels now sound like Dolby Digital 5.1. The difference is astonishing to me. I hoped there would be some improvement, but its so obvious that it is breathtaking. Since most of my stations are stereo, this is really taking my television viewing up a notch. DVDs and Blurays sound so much better also. This receiver is great value for the money, especially if you are on a budget as I am. I had some difficulty with my Sony Bluray player working with the unit, but discovered the solution on my own. Its reassuring to know I could've called Crutchfield if necessary. I'm subtracting 1 star since the HDMI sockets are alarmingly loose but functional.

Pros: Great Dolby Prologic II decoding, good overall sound, optional bi-amp capability for front speakers

Cons: Weak/wobbly HDMI sockets, few analog inputs, no A/B speaker switch, confusing status indicators for Dolby/DTS decoding

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than expected for the money.

Crutchfield customer from Arlington Hts, IL on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

See Below for comments.

Pros: Much better sound and presence than my Onkyo. Great buy for the money. Love the different "sound stages" you can set to. From a symphony hall to a disco type venue.

Cons: -Binding posts for the speakers are very close together after a few line are connected very difficult to get the rest in and tightened. best to use bananna plugs. -Should be some comment and instructions for syncing tv remote to control receiver and other inputs. Operators manual does not come with receiver. Just a quick set up guide. You can download it, however, its a lot easier to have it in print rather than having an I Pad and have to scroll to different sections.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Fairlawn, OH on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and user friendly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Reedsburg, WI on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery, easy setup and no problems!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

YAMAHA RX-V385 - A Good Upgrade For Me

Crutchfield customer from Page, AZ on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

UpGraded my 20 year old Yamaha Home Theater Receiver (By the way I purchased it from Crutchfield) - there was nothing wrong with it - just needed to have more features - like HDMI - Bluetooth devices - Set up was easy - with the on screen (when connected to an HDMI monitor) - In the old Days - Receivers had knobs to adjust all the output levels to the speakers - now you plug in a supplied mic and set in a place where you most listen to the cool sounds - and it does it for you - So Ok it's technology and New - for lazy ass people . . To me the old ways were good - new is ok. Simple is Better without having to navigate onscreen menus to adjust the speaker levels. If you have kids that's what their lazy asses are for - to adjust the knobs on the receiver while you sit in your easy chair - no batteries required - ya just have to feed them. . . ( you'll finally get them to do some real work ). Been doing business with Crutchfield for over 25 years now - Good People - Good Service - Oh . . by the way thanks for fast 2-3 day shipping. . Been enjoying most excellent sound quality during the lockdown. Thanks Bill and Thanks to all your Staff - Ya'll take care - we will all make it through this difficult time.

Pros: The Sound Quality is most excellent with new the speakers purchased 6 months earlier from Crutchfield, for the 20 + year old Yamaha Receiver i currently have - Only upgraded to get new features - HDMI and Bluetooth.

Cons: It's not really a Con - But to access new features - you really have to review the operating manual to find out where to make the adjustments - In the old days - there was only Bass - Treble - Midrange and Volume . . and sort out a few - 5.1 features - in this case change is Good . . ?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While this receiver does not have all of the "bells & whistles"of higher priced units, it performs well, producing clear, pleasant sound as a replacement for the standard TV fare. The Bluetooth and USB feeds provide nice alternatives for the usual broadcast radio programming.

Pros: Decent sound quality, ease of use and aforementioned input options.

Cons: Only drawback is lack of input posts for alternate (pair B) speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the money. I was a little concerned about the 70 watts per channel. I just purchased my first 4K TV and my older Nakamichi receiver did not have HDMI ports which I needed for the TV my old receiver was 100 watch per channel. I am in shock how great this receiver sounds for the price I am just using two floor standing Wharfdale speakers that are quite large and heavy, And this Yamaha will rock the walls in my house with crystal clear sound wether it's on TV , CD or the tuner. And a special shout out to Dale in tech-support I had a couple issues he solved them quickly and was quite impressed by him. I have been buying stereo equipment for over 35 years and for the money you cannot beat this Yamaha hands down. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy to set up. Crystal clear audio More than enough power to power large speakers It sounds like a $700 receiver

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am blown away with this receiver, it performs better than I expected at its price point. I paired with my Klipsch bookshelf speakers and a sub , and i am enjoying the clarity of the sound, as well as hearing nuances in songs I haven't heard before. even at higher volumes there is zero ear fatigue. The buying process from Crutchfield was such a pleasure. The helpfulness and knowledge their staff in on another level, I wish all my product buying experience could be this good.

Pros: great sound, loads of features, fantastic price point

Cons: slight learning curve on initial set up

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

e

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An entry level unit to be sure, but "future proof" enough to be good for many years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Very pleased

Evan from State Center, IA on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I took delivery of the receiver about 2 weeks ago. It came from Crutchfield on time and in perfect condition. I am very pleased with the ease of getting my input & output sources hooked up & working. The biggest challenge that I had was figuring out how to make it work with my Logitech Harmony remote since there are not dedicated buttons to select inputs to the receiver. But, the receiver remote allows the colored buttons to be used for selecting inputs. So, that allowed me to program the Harmony remote to make it work perfectly. I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Fun to learn

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, MI on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

New to digital. But with many calls to techs, I learned a lot. Still pushing lots of buttons and having fun.

Pros: The techs teaching me.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MS on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working as expected, this is the third unit I've purchased from this company and I've always been satified with the products and the service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent hardware for the price

Crutchfield customer from Richland, WA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this in combination with a pair of Klipsch speakers and an Audio Technica record player to enjoy some 90's records I have. I'm really enjoying the step up in audio quality this provides.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha receiver sounds fantastic and the setup was very easy

Pros: Called in to Crutchfeild for one question and they always have the answer.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from South Jordan, UT on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good home theater receiver. Easy to set up. Ypao microphone really balances the sound output. The installation stickers from Crutchfield proved to be essential for a successful setup - out of the blocks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

old receiver could not connect to new oled tv, so had to buy a new one. very happy with the yamaha so far.

Pros: price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Surround sound for the electronics challenged

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased a new home and it had 5 speakers in the ceiling. My system wasn't able to take advantage of these speakers. The Yamaha RX-V385 was a perfect fit. It was easy to hook-up and the sound is great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Another reason I use and recomend Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Medford, OR on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the late 70's at my job in a stereo shop with a focus on car audio called the Tahoe Sound Wave, I first learned of Crutchfield Elecronics. At that time, as a mail order source, Crutchfield sent catalogs and I updated my address to make sure I would get the latest on new car audio head units , speakers etc. As I moved on repairing audio gear, a Crutchfield catalog was first read for any new system choices to recommend as people wanted better sounding systems with "boosters", speakers and equalizers. Whenever asked where to get car or home equipment after my time in audio, I always sent friends and family to Crutchfield as the best source for a good price, good product and full confidence customer service for the purchase through ownership of what they needed. I never hedge saying "they worked for me" hoping that was true. It's always been true and this receiver is another example.

Pros: Easy setup, great sound, no surprises.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Nashua, NH on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, easy to use. Good sound options and video pass-through.

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

DEL

Crutchfield customer from Daphne, AL on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-V385 was a Christmas gift to myself. My main interest was to get a receiver that was easy to attach by Bluetooth. I found my older Onkyo would rarely connect so I had to drape a wire from my pad across the room to listen to my music. Now I turn the receiver on, set the pad across the room and immediately it is connected. It powers a 20 year old set of Bose Accoustimass speakers nicely. I listen mostly to good country, pipe organ and classical music. Crutchfield is the place to purchase your equipment. They are truly knowledgeable and far more helpful in the selection process as well as the installation. Their pricing is also either lower or in line with the major suppliers. 5 stars!!!

Pros: Outstanding service at Crutchfield Good pricing Excellent technical help High quality equipment Excellent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Greenwel Spgs, LA on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed and really more. It's my 2nd one. My last one got damaged in a flood

Pros: Great sound quality and plenty power. I never turn it off. It stays on 24/7 just like my last one.

Cons: No cons bad enough to matter. It is an all around good product.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great receiver for the money

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, WI on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a Sony Receiver that I really loved but had had it for a very long time. It was worn out. Was looking for something inexpensive for a basement TV to pair with some Polk Speakers. For the price, this thing is brilliant. In an age when sound bars have become the norm, it's amazing how much technology is crammed in this Yamaha receiver for the price.

Pros: Full featured with everything most anyone would need.

Cons: 5.1 only. 70 Watts only which really should be fine for most.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Emmaus, PA on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this thing is a pain..... no bypass..... it supports non essential bells and whistles.... it wants to be fancy , it`s not..... mistake on my part

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

7 of 21 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Topping, VA on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Customer support representative was very knowledgeable about the products and very helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used this receiver for six weeks. I am very satisfied with the performance. It meets my needs. It did take some effort to connect my headphones via Bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Slam Dunk

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the older model of this receiver. I really liked it, but I wanted one with a Bluetooth feature. I had my speakers already set up (5:1). I was looking for a good, but inexpensive choice. This model and decision was a slam dunk. Also, Crutchfield's website is chocked full of insightful info and makes researching really easy.

Pros: Cost, reliability, Bluetooth, fast delivery

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of customization options and profiles to store per input; plenty of power for budget implementation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Elwood, NE on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not hooked anything up yet. I was putting up sheet rock and needed a way to mount the speakers in the ceiling. So it will be a while before I get to try the speakers out. The mounting brackets worked fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 16 found this helpful

For me, the go to place for electronics.

Crutchfield customer from Miami Springs, FL on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great component and a more than great price. Even greater was the tech support I needed and received from Crutchfield.

Pros: They simply can't be topped.

Cons: Absolutely none!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Good sound, great price

Crutchfield customer from Cuyahoga Falls, OH on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver provides good sound at a great price. Set up was straightforward and I used banana plugs to connect my NHT speakers. I'm using optical digital sound input from my smart TV as the 385 does not have a network Jack. But I'm very happy with the sound reproduction in my 5.1 setup. My only complaint is the YPAO did not work for me, probably due to my room configuration. But setting the sound field manually was straightforward and fun.

Pros: Good sound, straightforward setup.

Cons: No network jack

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver was delivered from on date promised. The receiver is a quality product and we are extremely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Hilliard, OH on 7/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup and use. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Mcallen, TX on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace our beloved HK receiver, which was struggling to keep up with limited inputs, transitioning from analog to digital via unreliable adapters, and pairing with Bluetooth adapters. Everyone in customer service was helpful with our need to match our Klipsch speakers electronically to this receiver as an alternative. Great sound, but took some effort to tweak the sub woofer. Also a bit disappointed in the tendency for the receiver to prioritize Bluetooth as a source. If our paired PC's Bluetooth is on, the moment we log on, the receiver will switch from whatever source is currently in use. Only solution seems to be what was recommended by customer service, which is to turn off Bluetooth on the PC when not playing music from there. Not a big deal, but takes some getting used to. Experienced some speaker cutout during setup when using the physical volume control on the front of the unit, but this isn't an issue since we used it only during initial setup, and remote control is now used exclusively.

Pros: Sound.

Cons: Challenging setup, Bluetooth priority interrupting other source selections, equalizing commercial sound levels to program levels.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just great. Quick and easy set up. We are very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Temple, TX on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellence is often overused but in the case of this receiver is appropriate. Good power for small to medium sized rooms with the ability to adjust each aspect of the system to personal wants. This is especially true if using a center speaker for dialogue. By looking at the manual available for download, you can set the dialogue exactly to your own needs. Overall a great receiver for the cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Kearney, NE on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, nice receiver. Plenty of power for our needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Warner Robins, GA on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked right out of the box. No problems. Crutchfield was a real pleasure to buy from. I also called their tech support on a TV issue I was having and they were a great help and also pleasant to deal with. I would definitely recommend the Yamaha. I would also choose Crutchfield over all other retailers.

Pros: Does everything I wanted it to do

Cons: Non.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Arnold, MD on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit delivered exactly what the gentlemen at Crutchfield said it would and it took very little time to set up. I am totally satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Just What I wanted

Crutchfield customer from Paola, KS on 3/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good! Works great, easy to set up and I love the auto-balance sound configuration.

Pros: Easy to set up and full of features for a great price.

Cons: So far, can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice product!

Michael USAF Vet from Philadelphia, PA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the V385 back in November 2018 and I've been pleased since set-up! Easy to do, just had issues with the space to be located, but that was an easy fix. I first compared the RX-385 against the RX-V485 to make a final decision. The V485 comes with Apple AirPlay & is Alexa-compatible. So what! Not big on that anyway. I've listened to it for 4 months now and it does what I want and need in an A/V receiver. I previously had a Yamaha A/V Home Theater Receiver, so that's why I came back to purchase another. Also, in the comparison between the V385 and the V485, just about the same but the V385 is almost $100 cheaper. Compare, shop and save! Thanks, Crutchfield!

Pros: Easy to set-up and operate. Price and quality. I have it set up in my master bedroom and mainly use the 5.1 mode and it sounds great! My FM comes in clear, I really don't listen to AM to much but that's clear as well. May purchase something similar in the near future to fill another room.

Cons: Came with a Quick Start Guide but no Owners Manuel. I downloaded it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, VA on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. We needed a component with AM/FM radio so this was perfect. Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Lucasville, OH on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is awesome. It is easy to set up and has plenty of power for my 15 x 20 foot room. The folks in customer service were knowledgable and easy to work with me on my setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Anamosa, IA on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup using the on line manual. Attractive and functional front panel. Excellent performance for a low-end receiver. Shipping and delivery were extremely fast and packaging of the product was excellent.

Pros: Easy straight forward setup.

Cons: No hard copy manual. Not able to directly select HDMI inputs from remote. Need to walk through the list manually.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean power.Lacks some bass control will have to purchase dedicated sub. Good features for price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Rebecca from Fitzwilliam, NH on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing. I can't wait to have my techie SO give me in home tutorial !

Pros: Love the mike equalizer!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great entry level receiver, especially for parents/grandparents tv room setup, with the added benefit of being near term future proof when the tv gets upgraded to 4k. Manual is 100+ pages (pdf from Yamaha's website) so be prepared for some 'light' reading if you haven't used or setup an a/v receiver in some time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Valencia, PA on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set-up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Mark from Tuttle, OK on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always used Yamaha for my sound reinfocfement. None of the units I own have ever failed and they perform well with ease of use and setup. This product does an excellent job powering a Bose 5.1 Acoustimass 10 Series speaker array. Other Yamaha receivers I own do a nice job of powering my independent systems of Klipsch theater 7.2 and stereo Bose 301s.

Pros: Reliability and ease of use. Clear and clean power. Lots of customizable settings to suit your personal tastes.

Cons: None discovered as yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Wayne from Hendersonville, NC on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, good delivery time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good sound for the price

Fed Man from Fowlerville, MI on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I normally buy Denon, but Denon has left people that still need AV jacks behind. I bought this to power (4) CP-6 Klipsch speakers for an outdoor kitchen and hook my XM docking station to it. I love the sound for what it is for but the one thing I don't like is this is not a standalone, you will need a TV or monitor with a HDMI jack to set up the speakers and EQ. You must have it when using the microphone to set up the receiver or the sound is not that good and you do not have balance control or in depth sound control without it. After set up was complete I was happy with it.

Pros: It has AV input jacks

Cons: You will need a TV or monitor with a HDMI jack to set up the speakers, EQ and balance control

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Clear sound reproduction

Vic from Rimrock, AZ on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the bluetooth and the ease of finding the right connection for my needs. it produces a very clear sound to the point that i am hearing new notes from my old LPs. I wish I had chosen a model with more power as I can see myself upgrading in the near future. This unit would be perfect in smaller apartments/dorm rooms.

Pros: EAse of use, great sound

Cons: A little weak in the power department.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Strong and powerful!

Tony from Guam, USA on 10/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent piece. I am used to high current receivers and amps. So I was quite suprised at the performance of this amp. It is a solid performer and even at loud volumes has no detectable distortion!

Pros: Performs as good as my high current amps!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland Hts, OH on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only been using this amp/receiver for a couple of weeks but so far I'm pretty happy with it. It sounds great and is a solid piece of equipment. I wish it had a little more variety in the input/output department but I guess that's not to be expected from an amp in this price range, especially these days. I could have used a couple more analog options for some old video game consoles. I made it work, though, and for the price I don't think I could have done much better than this Yamaha.

Pros: Great sound, sturdy, plenty of audio configuration options, great price.

Cons: Limited ins/outs, especially for analog signals. No mid-range adjustment in the general tone control.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

It's a Yamaha, what else do you need to know?

Dave from Galesburg, IL on 10/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently upgraded to 4K and I wanted a receiver that would pass 4K signals through to my television. I have owned Yamaha products for years and have been extremely happy with the brand. Considering the fact that this unit was on the lower range of their price scale, I thought it would be relatively uncomplicated for a 73-year-old dinosaur like me to use. Boy, was I mistaken! The unit comes with a simple start-up guide, only one-third of which is in English. If you want the full owner's manual (all 112 pages of it), you have to go online to get it. I guess Yamaha is doing its part to save our forests. Anyway, there are so many menus and settings for this unit that I'll bet not even a Yamaha engineer can tell you what each one does. Using the "by guess and by golly" method, I managed to get it to a place where it works well enough and I decided not to press my luck any farther. A call to Crutchfield support helped with some of the settings, the rest were just happy accidents. Sometimes I think I should have just invested in a good sound bar, plugged my devices directly into the TV, and been satisfied with that. However, I already had the speakers and wanted to continue to use them. So, if you fancy yourself a tech junkie who likes to experiment with various settings and tweaking to get just the right sound, this is the unit for you!

Pros: Good brand, great price.

Cons: Overly complicated, too many setting choices for someone who just wants a basic receiver.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Gene from Winston Salem, NC on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver! Plenty of power on hand and I can crank the volume with no distortion. Paired with a pair of Klipsch R-15M book shelf speakers and a Franklin Audio 12" Powered sub(same as the Dayton Audio, just rebadged). The manual that comes with this receiver is only about a 10 page booklet. You really need to download the manual form this site. The manual is like 130+ pages. Reason being, there are soo many hidden features that you can only access with the remote. Thought my speakers didn't live up to the branded hype until I found the eq, crossover, volume adjustment, etc thru the remote. To sum it up, I am very satisfied with this receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Dallas from Marysville, KS on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product as long as you do not have another Yamaha receiver, if so, the remotes on both will work on both. I have a stereo receiver and the AV receiver and cannot keep the remotes from activating both on start up or shut down. I will be returning the AV for another brand so I do not have to walk across the room every time I want to turn a unit on/off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 32 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, NH on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than satisfied. Very easy to hook-up.Works great with the Focal surround system i bought to go with it.Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great bargain

Thomas from Bradenton, FL on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since the introduction of home theater receivers (I'm old), I have used Yamaha receivers exclusively, previously choosing middle to upper middle levels depending on specific setup needs. For a new 5.1, 4k secondary system, I decided to go with the new "budget" RX-V385, and I couldn't be happier. The YPAO setup is a joy (and checking it against test tones with a decibel meter showed only minute variations). If it is missing anything truly useful other than power and more inputs than most people need, I can't find it. I've always used very efficient speakers (klipsch, etc.) and don't turn up to excessive volumes, so the power, even in a large family room is not a concern. It even accepts banana plugs for speakers (highly advisable in any setup). hdmi arc works flawlessly, input switching is smooth and fast and operating with a harmony hub remote (I always use yamaha remotes only for setup purposes and special programming, keeping the system locked after changes). All in all, a great performance bargain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Jim from N Cambria, PA on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy To Setup Bluetooth built in

Pros: Easy setup BlueTooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Browns Summit, NC on 8/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great A/V receiver. I bought it to replace an older one that didn't have hdmi inputs for my new 4K Samsung TV. Clearer sound and perfect for my setup. Customer service is second to none. Will continue to shop with Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Jim from Colorado Spgs, CO on 8/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX V385 is my second Yamaha receiver and works very well with the Master Bedroom TV. This is a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Hutchinson, KS on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 3rd Yamaha receiver used for surround sound (past 20 years), good sound, good price, perfect for the garage/shop/hideout.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Aaron from Lubbock, TX on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. One of the best 5.1 recievers on the market.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Mark from Cumming, GA on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Yamaha receiver. Both have been excellent buys and totally met and exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Flexible, Great Unit

Don from Nampa, ID on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has an amazing amount of flexibility for any receiver, much less an entry level. It has plenty of power and is easy to operate once you get used to it. I purchased it for 2 primary reasons. 1) It has a setting for a surround system with all the speakers on the front wall. Even though I did't like the idea, my new home has a great room concept with the kitchen and I am 70 years old and was even going to attempt getting in the ceiling. This feature does work and adds depth to the sound. 2) I am deaf in one ear and have gone to using a pair of Bose Comfort 35 Headphones for everything. These are Bluetooth wireless and the new Dish Hopper 3 unit has a Bluetooth transmitter in it. Great for TV but does nothing for movies on disc.. Yamaha is one of the few that has a Bluetooth transmitter in their receiver. Many make you think the do by stating "Bluetooth", but it is a Bluetooth "receiver only". One minor "con" was that the Bluetooth coming from the TV did not always get as loud as I wanted and the headphones would "beep" telling me I had turned them to maximum volume. The excellent and polite tech person at Crutchfield informed me the maximum volume output is set by the receiver manufacturer. I set it where I still get the Bluetooth for TV from the Dish which does not have this problem, but get the Bluetooth for movies from the receiver. For some reason the movies seem to have a naturally higher volume, as does HBO. Interesting!

Pros: Flexibility, Bluetooth Receiver and Transmitter. Setting for surround sound speakers all on front wall

Cons: Slight issue with Bluetooth volume on TV shows

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent sound!

Robert from Carlisle, MA on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value! I purchased this receiver strictly for the audio capability, I do not use the video functions and it is not connected to a monitor. I use this receiver for background music in my shop either using the USB port or bluetooth connection to my iPhone. I did test the FM reception and it does work well, unfortunately it can't correct the program material or endless commercials on FM radio :) Setup is straight forward, the audio self calibration works exceptionally well. It identifies the speaker configuration, in my case 4 speakers, sets equalization, time delay, and level corrections at the point where the microphone is placed. Keep in mind that in very large spaces, 2000sq ft in my case, if the microphone is not placed close to the center the balance (left-right) and front-back) will be far off, and you may get an error message that the microphone is too far away, most users would never see this error, I was very favorably impressed with the built in calibration routine, the degree of correction it could make, and how it identified my far from optimal initial location of the microphone. The only down side for me is the lack of a tape IN-OUT jack, not for the recording function, but to add an equalizer for Bose 901's or delay for example, or to easily drive additional power amps. To add additional PA's a high level to low level transformer could be added. It does have a low level line out for a subwoofer. In summary would purchase another!

Pros: Built in audio equalization system is very impressive and capable. Many listening modes can be selected to match audio program material.

Cons: No low level line out or tape loop, will not be an issue for most users as this receiver is intended for A/V applications

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good! Not used enough to give a great review.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 28 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V385

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, TN on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love Yamaha - great experience w JC my sales associate - having a bit of trouble setting it up - it could be my HDMI cables

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Product as Expected from Yamaha!!

Alton from Crestview, FL on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Fast shipping. Product arrived unscathed and on time. Receiver has all connections required for today's audio/visual demands and my ho.e theater system has never sounded so good!!!

Pros: Plenty of modern audio/visual connections. Clean, powerful sound.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP