Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
033 592 942 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
033 592 942 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha RX-V485

5.1-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-V485BL

Yamaha RX-V485

Yamaha RX-V485

5.1-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, MusicCast, and Apple® AirPlay® 2

MFR # RX-V485BL

98 reviews
View this product

Good entry level system

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good sound, easy connection setup some difficulty with wifi and app setup.

Pros: easy physical setup and plenty HDMI

Cons: App and wifi setup

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice receiver, powerful, considerable setup is required

Norman from Deming New Mexico, on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a 10 year old Yamaha 7.1 channel receiver that had lost a couple of features and finally stopped switching on. The RX V485 is a 5.1 channel and does very well in my entertainment room. It has plenty of power for an array of Polk Audio speakers. This being my second Yamaha amp, I have to say these are not really plug and play nor are they simple to set up. Part of that is the peculiar structure of the User manual (150+ pages.) Having tinkered with the various settings for a month or so, I am getting good sound especially on the straight setting and the 5 channel stereo setting. Truthfully, the various surround presets for sports, movies, music and dolby effects don't do much for me but since each has the ability to be tweaked individually, maybe some day I'll get into that. This amp loves volume, and really comes alive at the higher third of the volume range. I also like the on screen display of setup menus including equalizer. Very happy with the set overall, just wish Yamaha would create a more reader friendly manual that includes a real appendix for finding specific items, and fuller explanations of what all the terms and options really do, hence the 4 stars. As always, Crutchfield folks were great to work with, and that keeps me a return customer.

Pros: Great power, loves to be played loud over quality speaker system, on-screen setup menus are a nice feature.

Cons: Out of the box, it requires a good deal of trial and error tweaking in the settings, Owners manual is a bit vague and rambling. Preset sound functions for music, dolby, movies, sports, etc. not as well set up as on my previous Yamaha 7.1

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Enid, OK on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to connect to my ceiling speakers in 6 rooms of my house. Used a Niles SSVC-6 to control the speakers. Receiver has great features and good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another great Yamaha A/V Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Commerce, MI on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered from Crutchfield when my 20 year old Sony finally blew the center channel. Was on sale at $50 off, timing is everything. Crutchfield ordering process is a breeze. The new Yamaha is fantastic. Could not believe the improvement in sound, from the same speakers. Set up was easy with the YAPO sound process. Great features and quality for the price, with many of the same features as my higher end Yamaha Advantage receiver.

Pros: - Great features - Usual Yamaha quality - Great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha 485 receiver

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with receiver. It has made a difference over our old receiver, we upgraded due to buying a 4k TV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Mountain City, TN on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy so far although I am not utilizing it to anywhere near its max.

Pros: Easy hook-up Bluetooth picked up instantly

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to setup. I needed a little help with tieing in my Sonos, Crutchfield was there to help

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiver, exceptional customer service!

Crutchfield customer from Glen, NH on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup, has plenty of power to drive the speakers and great sound. I owned another Yamaha receiver in the past and love this one just as much. Crutchfield, as always, provides great products and exceptional customer service.

Pros: Easy to set up, power, sound. Perfect for what I was looking for.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic feature set for price

Crutchfield customer from Beaver Dam, WI on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic receiver, great price, and a tremendous feature set for the price.

Pros: Price, feature set, technological integration

Cons: Size, I wish it was a slim line model

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GOOD Purchase

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CA on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Unit, enjoy the features.

Pros: Great component for audio system

Cons: No at this time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surround Sound is great

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Garden, NC on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. I should have put a surround sound system in my living room years ago. I wanted the internet radio stations and the MusicCast wireless system, just like the Yamaha R-N303 stereo in my work shop. The HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel) is the only connection between my HDTV and the receiver (how I hooked it up) and it communicates great. It even adjusts the sound volume when I use my TV remote to change volume (the TV speakers are OFF, but it communicates over ARC). My BlueRay/DVD player HDMI is run to the RX-V485 (my choice). When I play a music CD in the DVD player, I can choose to have the receiver play normal stereo using the main speakers, or also use the center channel (and I like this mode better). My cable TV box HDMI is run to my TV (my choice). Pre-amp output for subwoofer (no other way). I am using a Klipsch wireless subwoofer with the transceiver plugged into the RX-V485 and it turns the subwoofer on/off automatically. I used the included microphone and Yamaha's automatic speaker adjustment setup. I liked all the settings except the subwoofer, so I changed only that setting manually. Easy was to get started.

Pros: 4 HDMI inputs plus the HDMI (ARC) connection lets you connect inputs to the RX-V485 and only run one HDMI to the TV (ARC). You can also run inputs to your TV if you want.

Cons: The volume control has such small adjustments, that to make big sound changes requires a big move (dial or on the remote).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Thomas from Fleming Island, FL on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Yamaha RX-V485 receiver to replace my older Yamaha to enhance both my audio and video experience after buying a new 65 inch Samsung 4k television and I'm so glad I did! After speaking with Mike in sales, who by the way was super helpful in making my decision, I went with his advice on this model. Great sound with a 4k video passthrough. You can't beat a Yamaha AV receiver and I really enjoy both watching and listening to my home theater system.

Pros: Fits my needs perfectly! Fantastic sound. I highly recommend the Yamaha RX-V485.

Cons: A few of the settings are a bit over my head, however, within a week I plan on calling Crutchfield tech support as they will gladly help me out. Honestly though I cannot think of any cons with this unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Thetford , VT on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works better than I expected. For one thing, the sound quality is excellent and the FM Tuner works much better than my old unit. I chose this unit for AirPlay 2 support - which works well - but an unexpected bonus is the ability to receive many Internet Radio stations directly. Also, I was able to set it up using the Apps and the on-unit display even though my ancient TV/monitor is apparently not compatible. Two complaints: The black on black panel is very difficult to read. I find myself using a flashlight. I have now memorized the most frequently used buttons by feel. Also, it would be nice if I could enter the URL for an Internet radio station, e.g., a foreign station, instead of depending entirely on the airable.Radio service.

Pros: Good sound. Very flexible. Supports Airplay 2 and Internet Radio.

Cons: black on black panel is very difficult to read. Depends on airable.Radio service and cannot tune foreign internet radio stations.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality and features for the price!

Crutchfield customer from East Hampton, CT on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Construction and audio quality are solid. Zone A/B is useful for having audio in multiple spaces - I don't think this option is available on other receivers in this price range. On-screen interface for set-up is a little clunky, but once set-up there is no need to revisit this. Interfaces well with our existing equipment. Only weird quirk is that sometimes I have to turn it off/on when switching between inputs (usually the Apple TV box) for it to recognize and appropriately send the new source. Possible that this is our old/junky TV monitor... Overall very pleased and would recommend to anyone looking for a quality receiver with good features without breaking the bank!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Blown away!

Crutchfield customer from South Berwick, ME on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We were totally surprised by this receiver. After a a great 20 minute chat with the Crutchfield rep, we were pointed to this Yamaha as a replacement for our 15yo Onkyo receiver. The integration into our system was simple, the firmware update was seamless, and the auto adjustment was a breeze. If that wasn't enough, we immediately noticed a change in our sound quality. Holy cow did it make such a difference. Our old Onkyo speakers sing now! We now have depth to our highs and lows that we didn't realize we were missing before. Conversations are crisp as if they were happening right next to us. This was an awesome buy!

Pros: Easy setup and calibration

Cons: Doesn't work with all universal remotes.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Harrington, DE on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice features ,very good looks And easy set up

Pros: Ease of controls and very sturdy With good sound

Cons: Speaker connections in the back could be arranged for easy access

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Freehold, NJ on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

solid unit for music listeners - no regrets!

Crutchfield customer from Grayslake, IL on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it! I am writing this review after two weeks of using the Yamaha V485. I will start off by saying this replace a unit I bought as a senior in high school, 27 years ago! No more RCA jacks, although it has some. All digital. Although most of what I play comes through bluetooth or WiFi. It is so cool. HDMIs from the cable TV, Blu-ray, and gaming systems go into the TV and serve as an expanded operating screen for the RX-V485's features. It is easy to navigate and get the sound you want. I hooked up my old school 120 watt large speakers with new surround and center speakers. I am looking forward to adding some of the wireless speakers. The remote is nice but I use the app more. I can select my satellite radio or music library and we are ready for lift off. I could sit and listen all day. Movies and visual media is right on too. The sound is great. I would rather listen to music than watch something. It is a solid unit for music listeners. Visual media fans will also be quite happy. Best money I have spent in a while. No regrets!

Pros: full digital option, plus bluetooth and wifi, many sound fields, the app is great, menu navigation on your tv screen, excellent sound

Cons: no rear power plug for other electronics

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Kewadin, MI on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and interface with other components Plus great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice pice of equipment Works great in my garage

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rocks

Crutchfield customer from Milliken, CO on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit. Be running a sound bar for last few years and forgot what i was missing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY TO INSTALL AND GREAT SOUND!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from N Plainfield, NJ on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice compact receiver that does everything. The musiccast app helps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Value

Crutchfield customer from Bellefontaine, OH on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a Yamaha like this twenty years ago and it just now stop working. Will this up-dated model last for twenty years, I wouldn't bet on it! But that being said this seems to be a well made receiver and is super easy to hook up, not over complicated. My best advice, use banana plugs to hook up the wiring. At first I twisted the wires and tightened the plastic nuts down on them. What a mess, must have had a stray whisker that cause the receive to shut down repeatedly. I redid it using banana plugs and that fixed it 100%! For the money I think you would be hard pressed to find a better receiver. You also have to remember that the human ear can only hear so much, so don't become too caught up with a receiver with endless channels. I also found the speaker microphone a nice touch as far as setting up the speakers for the first time so as to get the most out of them. And even more so if your room is somewhat discombobulated and lopsided as to speaker location. This self diagnose speaker microphone will help overcome some of that out of kilter speaker placement. This receiver will make your entire room shake and rumble just like you want as you are viewing an action movie. Do yourself a favor, for the money and quality you have found your receiver. Go for it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Greeneville, TN on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great, fast delivery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm really happy with this. The bluetooth works beautifully and has great range. Easy to set up and use. The auto tuning (whatever that's called) was easy to accomplish. Enough power for my needs in my living room for music and TV. And Crutchfield service was outstanding, as it always is. I think it shipped minutes or hours after ordered and arrived promptly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound recomended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Finleyville, PA on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

my 2nd. yamaha receiver. great performance and easy to connect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Palo Alto, CA on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work with Apple TV. Will not pass through video to my Sony projector. This flaw is documented on the web. I returned it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Accokeek, MD on 2/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this is a great receiver. Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Receiver - Easy to Use

Crutchfield customer from Huntersville, NC on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, works very well. Great recommendation from staff at Crutchfield. Does everything I need it to do without paying for a bunch of features I don't need/want. If you have a simple surround system you can't go wrong with this receiver.

Pros: No bloated features

Cons: None that I have discovered yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha..

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, IA on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound great wireless. great receiver..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha fits the bill.

Crutchfield customer from Brigantine, NJ on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up, documentation was excellent. The quality of this along with a great price was perfect for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Check SP Wires

Crutchfield customer from Conway, SC on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver after talking with a Crutchfield advisor and reading all the reviews, which mostly good, but after two days trying to get this receiver to work, I gave up. Set it up like shown...got video and audio, but only one speaker worked and when I turned it up, the unit shut down with the message, "Check SP wires"...did that 10 times...could not get it to work, plus I use jacks...had relatives come and visit for the first couple of weeks in January, so no time right now to contact customer support. I'll try a Crutchfield Tech after my relatives leave. Hope to resolve this problem.

Pros: none yet

Cons: see review

Crutchfield response on 1/8/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Middleton, ID on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was considering upgrade from a sound bar and after calling and talking to a representative about my room size and watching habits, Netflix and Amazon Prime. I decided on this basic unit and could not be more surprised it is a solid basic unit that does as it should!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Shelby Twp, MI on 12/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HDMI1 & HDMI2 will not show up with the input button on the remote or the app on my i-phone. Does not seem to coordinate with the surround speakers. A new receiver is being sent to me, but I doubt that will fix it. Everything is hooked up properly. I have been on the phone with Crutchfield three times on this. Last weekend ti was determined that the cable signal must have been too weak. The next day (Sunday) I disproved that. I had even used the support.com app so my connections could be viewed. All in all I am really unhappy with this purcahase. I was very optimistic that this was tailored exactly for the size of my living room, but this setup has been nothing but frustrating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Glreat receiver for 5.1 system.

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, GA on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power for a 5.1 system. Works well with Definitive Technology Pro 1000 sub, front and center. Musiccast rear sulrround speakers are driven well. Set up is straightforward and online owners manual is well written.

Pros: Good receiver at this pricepoint. Musiccast is a bonus with wirless option for rear surroound speakers.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Bottom line: Great Features and Performance for the Price

Crutchfield customer from Mine Hill, NJ on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this receiver. My only criticisms are that Yamaha could have made it easier and more intuitive to set up; they could have spaced the rear access terminals better, and easier to set up and switch between zones. All relatively minor or short term challenges. In terms of the quality of sound, inputs offered and state of the art capabilities, this receiver is competitive with much higher priced units. I am happy with my purchase.

Pros: quality of sound, number and type of inputs offered and state of the art capabilities

Cons: Yamaha could have made it easier and more intuitive to set up; they could have spaced the rear access terminals better, and easier to set up and switch between zones.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha Rules

Crutchfield customer from Sahuarita, AZ on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's my 4th Yamaha amp and I'm very happy with the added ARC & 4K support. It's sad these things can't be in firmware upgrades but I imagine there are add'l hardware requirements.

Pros: All the standards are there...and they install banana plug sockets for speaker wires too.

Cons: A bit more fidelity would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Watertown, SD on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and looks great! Set up was easy. I am pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Costa Mesa, CA on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was able to hook everything up just the way it was supposed to be . When I got done, everything worked!

Pros: Fit right in where our old receiver came out.

Cons: A nice accessory would be a little plastic extension to use when turning the nuts to connect the speakers. There is not much room for fingers . This seems like something Crutchfield would jump on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Kenmore, WA on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I haven't figured out all the settings yet. Having to adjust volume levels between inputs is annoying but that may not item specific.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for my Denon AV Unit. Special sound effects made my old speakers sound new!

Pros: Easy setup and mobile app avility.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just OK

Gregory P from MUSKEGON, MI on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had purchased this solely on the large quantity of positive 5-star reviews here at Crutchfield, Amazon and Best Buy. First one came in damaged, thank God I purchased it here at Crutchfield! Easy fix, got the second one okay. I have had Sony and Onkyo receivers for the past 20 years and can say that this Yamaha sound is way off compared to those. To get good sound it needs to be LOUD! I'd say 95% of the time we do not crank the volume. This was bothersome as I spent days trying to get a great sound during low volume levels. This simply did not happen. When I cranked the volume, there it was, glorious sound! Turn it down and it simply fell on its face. There are also several settings missing that for a few hundred more made me change my mind. Also felt like the settings were cumbersome and could be easier to access. I so wanted to love this Yamaha, however, one star deducted for the low volume issue, another for not having every setting known to man available. In the end, all I really liked was the price.

Pros: Good price Great sound when the volume is way up

Cons: Need to have the volume LOUD for great sound not good for practical everyday use. Only one measure point with included mic setup.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Steve from Castle Rock, CO on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

RX-V485 is a great a/v amp for a relatively small room. Mine is 14x22. You really should understand what you're going to do with the system before you buy it. The connection manual PDF download, is very good but didn't quite explain where to put the cable connection. Anyway, Crutchfield helped, and the receiver with Klipsch RP-600's is room-filling. Can't wait for my Sub to arrive! Highly recommend the Yamaha but read the book!

Pros: Easy to set up if you read the book

Cons: None if you know what you want

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Never again!!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited 8 months before rating my Yamaha RX-V485 receiver because I initially hated it but wanted to give it every opportunity to win me over. It never did. I dislike it as much today as when I purchased it. I bought the Yamaha on the recommendation of a Crutchfield salesman. I wanted a receiver/amplifier to handle my Comcast cable signal on it's way to my TV and external Klipsch speakers since my TV speakers suck. My Yamaha handles video superbly. I love the sharp picture and great color it sends to my TV, but overall I find it a poor substitute for my previous Onkyo which had died after many years of service. The Yamaha has a large selection of sound programs but maybe half sound identical to me. Those all sound like a reverberator. They add an echo to the sound which I do not like. Since adding the Yamaha to my system my sound output often varies between loud and soft. (In all fairness I cannot say if this variation is the fault of the Yamaha or my Comcast signal, but it did begin after installing the Yamaha) The remote has 160 volume divisions (low numbers are loud while high numbers are soft) so it often takes many clicks to find my desired volume. Then if the volume changes I have to go through the whole procedure again searching for my volume. Thus I spend lots of time clicking my remote buttons. The setup and operation of the receiver was neither intuitive nor instinctive for me. Apparently many people like this receiver but I now know I never will.

Pros: Great video. Sharp picture, superb color. No complaints here.

Cons: The sound output from this receiver was a great disappointment, and the design and operation of the whole system was non intuitive even alien, to me. As an example of the alien design of this Yamaha, why should a receiver need 160 volume divisions? A click of the buttons causes no perceivable (to my ears) change in the sound output. And why would low numbers produce loud sound and high numbers low sound? The manual left a lot to be desired.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 15 found this helpful

Average to Super system!

Crutchfield customer from Santee, CA on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm extremely happy with this receiver and especially with the new found brilliance my system seems to have.

Pros: Couple of problems with previous Onkayo receiver cured with new reciver. (TV screen often started with half-green screen & had to turn on & off several times to obtain correct audio). New receiver corrected these problems. Especially enjoyed this system room speaker balancing function. Easy and effective.

Cons: This receiver has Wi-Fi function that seemed to confuse programming my LogiTec Harmony remote. Note that I'm not efficient in these matters and appreciate Crutchfield staff that is always available to help.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Rutherford, NJ on 7/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seamless ordering process. My sales advisor Clarence is always so helpful and attentive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Glen Mills, PA on 7/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with my purchase. It was well within my budget, the sound quality has been very good, and it was easy to set up and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Features and price

Crutchfield customer from Elma, NY on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price for the features that it has the set up instructions Could be better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great home theater upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just set up the Yamaha receivers in my home theater room. This replaces my much loved Sony 945, which still works perfect after more than a decade but has zero video switching capability. I am using this receiver to push ELAC 6.2s front and rear, as well as the matching ELAC 6.2 center channel, combined with a SVS SB1000 sub. My projector is an Optoma UHD50 4K on a 92" DaLite HD grey fixed screen. The ELACs and the Yamaha are new and will take some time to break in, but I would put this "budget" set up up against much more expensive components. The Yamaha has ample power, my test was Justin Timberlake's concert on Netflix. Full band, orchestra, choir, and lit sounds fantastic. I haven't had a receiver with 4K switching and it's so nice to get the Yamaha's menu displayed on the screen. I need to use the mic to fine tune, but so far I am very happy with this receiver. Very well made for the money and powerful enough to blow me out of my 14x18 room.

Pros: Power, easy set up, features for the money

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Chula Vista, CA on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

RX-V485 a replacment for my RX-V481, HDMI out failed and may have been caused by my TV HDMI which also is dead. Unit is almost the twin to the RX-V481, the new unit having minor changes/upgrades. Still easy to set up with the AV Setup Guide. Haven't tried MusicCast, don't have any Yamaha WiFi speakers, that may change at later date. Like the new internet radio app, easier than the older app. Yamaha has always been kown for great sound and this unit does not dissapoint, could use a few more watts but, ok for my mid sized room. Not fond of the MusicCast app, could be more intuitive, the older Yamaha AV Controller app works fine and easier to use.

Pros: Great sound, easy setup, good value for the money.

Cons: MusicCast app.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Eden, TX on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far a great sounding receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade for us

Eric from Cottage Grove, WI on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this receiver to upgrade an older Yamaha purchased in the early 90s. All I can say is wow. Plenty of HDMI inputs and pretty intuitive functionality. Plays nice with our dish box and switches seamlessly to BlueRay too. Sound quality is spot on for Yamaha. Price from Crutchfield is fair and shipping quick. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice receiver, Many great features

Crutchfield customer from Writsvlle Bch, NC on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First disappointing purchase from Crutchfield. The receiver works well, and is exactly what I needed. It was a bit more money than I wanted to spend, but I needed this for a rental property, and the bluetooth streaming feature works perfectly. The front panel jack for auxiliary connection, plus the streaming means people can play their own music easily. I like also the feature that lets you blank out each input that you are not using, so the users dont have to cycle through 12 inputs to get the 5 that I used. The disappointing part is that the receiver appeared to me to have been an open-box item, or not well inspected at the factory. The volume control knob had scratches on it, as did a part of the plastic that covers the display, but the scratch did not impact visibility of the display. I am sure Crutchfield would replaced it, but I was only at the house for one week doing repairs, and I would not have had time to ship this unit back and wait for the replacement. Its not a huge deal, but when you pay this much for something, you'd like it to look nice. After a year of use by weekly renters, it will probably have more scratches, so maybe no one will notice.

Pros: Bluetooth streaming works really well. Nice front panel control layout Customization features (speaker levels, removing unused inputs from being displayed, input-renaming) are great and easy to use

Cons: Does not have a Yamaha System Connector jack, which would automatically turn on/off the power to my Yamaha Subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on 4/9/2019
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Tylaher, reached out to this customer to help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team right away.

7 of 12 found this helpful

I'll stick with my Yamaha's

Crutchfield customer from Humacao, PR on 3/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had Yamaha receivers for quite some time. Always getting another one past time. Always upgrading in the same range but the RX V-485 is just right. More than you would expect for thee money. Love my Yamaha!

Pros: It's all good!

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome sound and functions

Wy from Oak Ridge, NC on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as easy to set up as the instructions lead you to believe. Once it's hooked up the sound is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon upgraded to Yamaha

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a Denon that was overheating more and more as time passed and finally croaked. The Yamaha RX-V485, being used under the same conditions and with the same speakers as the Denon, has performed flawlessly so far. Nothing against Denon, as I may have gotten a lemon, but the Yamaha is proving far superior thus far.

Pros: Works perfectly.

Cons: Denon downgraded to boat anchor.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cannot beat it for the price!

Crutchfield customer from Osteen, FL on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best bang for your money! Bluetooth! Wireless surround through Yamaha Speakers! Great Sound quality!

Pros: Easy to use! On screen programming! Grest sound! Great Price!

Cons: None Yet!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Robert from San Leandro, CA on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight foreword setup, great value and performance for my son's medium size home theater!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Value

Frank from St Cloud, FL on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful, full featured receiver. Remote is easy to use. Sound is great. Good value for the money if you want a 5.1 receiver. Like most receivers there is no full owner's manual. The online pdf versions are hard to use.

Pros: Good Value

Cons: No full owner's manual

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Guest from Georgetown, KY on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Great for small rooms.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A good, basic home theater receiver

Steve from Kirkland, WA on 1/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I selected this receiver for a friend, who has a typical home theater speaker setup, and separately, ceiling speakers in other rooms. My plan was to do what I've done in my own, similar house - use this receiver for the home theater, then connect an output from it to an input on another, separate amp, to drive the multi-room speakers. I didn't notice that this receiver has absolutely no line level outputs, so it's impossible to connect it this way, without buying the overpriced MusicCast accessory amplifier. If you're planning a similar use case, then don't buy this. Aside from that, setup was easy, and as a basic home theater receiver, it sounds just fine. The ability to play test tones and balance/equalize the speakers, either automatically or manually, is really great at this price point.

Pros: Relatively easy setup, simple connections, and room audio equalizer

Cons: No line-level outputs, making it impossible to use this to feed another amplifier for a multi-room system, AND use it as a home theater amp.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Great receiver for the price

Crutchfield customer from Longmont, CO on 1/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let's hit the negatives first which relate to the documentation. The get started book sent in the package is marginal at best and the user manual you can download is only slightly better. I had an older Yamaha RX receiver which was simple and intuitive to connect all my components and speakers but this one not so much. That said, the reason I bought this from Crutchfield is their claim to support the product for its life, and they delivered big time. I can't imagine ever buying another electronic component from anyone else in the future. Their people are knowledgeable and articulate and sound like they're from Kentucky or Virginia with that Southern manner. Fantastic! Oh yeah, the receiver. Ultimately works great with my small set of 5 speakers and woofer. TV, CD player, phonograph, DVD and Bluetooth hookup for iPad or iPhone all sound great to my ears. Hope this product lasts a while since I expect the next generation Yamaha will have even worse documentation. But, maybe they'll read this review and have an actual user create the next user manual. Sigh, one can only dream.

Pros: Sound Crutchfield support

Cons: Documentation

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very good unit

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. I like the features and the apps that are available to control the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Floral Park, NY on 1/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just set this up the day before Christmas along with my new speakers. This is my 1st receiver I have ever owned. (I had one of those old all in one components that was at least 35 years old). I know I have several wireless and Bluetooth options, but all I was interested in at this time was pushing the on button and listening to music (which sounds great). Both of my kids have used the Bluetooth options already.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very Satisfied

Hayden from Meridian, ID on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this receiver as a Christmas gift to replace an older one that I had and I love it. I love the DSP customization and I love the ease of use granted by the Yamaha app. The app controls, airplay function, and built in Bluetooth capability make it easier for my wife to use when she wants to watch something or play music.

Pros: Easy set up, Sounds great, Customization, Airplay, Bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp

Bob from Green River, WY on 12/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, it is performing as I would expect it to and it sounds great.

Pros: easy set up, great sound, great features

Cons: I haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice receiver, great sound and power. The phone interface works very well. Controls are easy to figure out Crutchfield also stands behind their stuff.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, DE on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works perfectly. Only complaint is the Sirius app embedded is finicky for sign ins.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Prnc Frederck, MD on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pleasure to deal with and very knowledgeable , good product, enjoying it , thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dependable Quality and Performance ?? Everything you need for a 5.1 system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Gurley, AL on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been buying Yamaha equipment for many years now and this unit is nothing short of awesome. Setup is easy and the sound is great as usual. I needed a new unit to pass 4K UHD and the picture is awesome. Nice features for the price of this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Brookings, OR on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EXCELLENT PIECE OF MID RANGE PRICED RECEIVER

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Receiver. Easy to set up and use. Perfect for small entertainment room. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy to set up. Not sure how the sound quality compares to other models though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Indialantic, FL on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good unit, poor documentation

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit works well but but the documentation is poor. Many things,such as the on-screen display, require trial and error to figure out. I should not have to locate and download a User's Manual. Even that manual is poor and unclear. Connecting a CD player is only addreesed by implication.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Banning, CA on 11/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The power isn't huge, but my room is small. I can't crank it up too loud without hurting my ears. The sound is clear and full at the levels I like. The lack of a turn table jack is a negative. Some turn tables come with built in pre amps, so it's not a deal killer.

Pros: Good sound and useful aps

Cons: No turn table jack

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love It!!

Lincoln from Jackson, WY on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit! we are able to stream all our music from the MusicCast app on our phones, all our favorites, etc. Able to switch inputs with the app. We use this product in an office environment with a computer, an Apple TV and an Aux HDMI input for users to plug laptops into. It works seamlessly. Affordable.

Pros: Ease of use Setup iPhone app

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Full featured and competitive specs and price.

Pros: Features Specs Footprint

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Value

Chuck from Cypress TX on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. I own older Yamaha and Denon receivers and I replaced the Denon with this Yamaha. The set up is so much more straight forward with the Yamaha and the sound quality is excellent. The controller app is a nice feature if you hook the unit up to your network. Yamaha remains the best bang for the buck and Crutchfield is the most customer centric company in this market.

Pros: Great performance for the price. Set up is much easier than some units.

Cons: None that I have found.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Wheatley Hts, NY on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Been a fan of Yamaha receivers for years. I purchased this RX-V485 to replace an older RX-V671 because while the older unit worked great, it didn't support the new HDCP 2.2 standard for 4K. This unit is is used to drive my living room setup and is paired with a Polk Audio PSW110 subwoofer and my old Cambridge Soundworks MC300 L/R , Center Channel Plus and Surround 5.1 Speakers (Dipolar/ Bipolar) speakers and a new Samsung UN43NU7100 4K TV. Happy to say the setup sounds beautiful and the receiver drives the old Cambridge Soundworks speakers without any issues. Also supports streaming Amazon Fire TV stick via direct plug into HDMI 3 on the receiver so I can take advantage of the surround sound setup. Overall recommend the receiver for those looking for a basic 5.1 Dolby Digital surround setup. This unit doesn't support Dolby Atmos.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

reborn hun from Shelby, IN on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

beyond my expectations, better service than other online retailers! would recommend this company over tiger director best buy, hope to see your market share value go up.i will be investing in your company.rumor has it best buy has wronged a lot of people I've talked too and word travels fast.

Pros: quality built

Cons: could use more balance controls for 5.1 but you cant have it all for the amazing price i received,could add a mixer i suppose.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound from my Bluetooth

D M from Phoenix, AZ on 9/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Tim from Thornville, OH on 9/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its great I love it

Pros: price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Roxboro, NC on 9/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this surround sound receiver to replace a much older - and heavier - Yamaha receiver. I wanted the newer options provided on the RX-V485, especially the Wi-Fi capabilities. Very satisfied!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A lot of receiver for the price

Tim from Springfield, PA on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver exceeded my expectations for such a low price. Bluetooth capability is a nice feature. Setup is pretty easy IF you download the full owner's manual. The sound is great. I really like the sound field effects.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not disappointed at all!

Dave from Jonestown, PA on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We love the tuner! It was exactly what we needed and the team at Crutchfield was so helpful in helping us decide on this particular item. So far, it has performed above and beyond our expectations. Thanks for all the help!

Pros: - Easy to use - Installation was a snap - Great sound quality - Plenty of audio options and outlets

Cons: Haven't found any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent receiver

Michael from Oak Island, NC on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. The wi-fi and Bluetooth capabilities are awesome.

Pros: Good power and capabilities

Cons: Sometimes difficult wireless setup!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value

Warren from Henderson, NV on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it says. Haven't completed set up though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Dennis from Brevard, NC on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice. I replaced an older Yamaha receiver with this one. Got more capability (wi-fi and bluetooth) than the old one for $200 less than I paid 10 years ago.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

David from Usk, WA on 8/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy to setup and use, nice features/pre-sets, great remote. Overall, a great value for the price. I love having bluetooth capability. The other feature I like is when you change the inout, the receiver remembers the last setting you used for that input.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Crutchfield customer from Provo, UT on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave it only 4 stars because the system of wire connectors are difficult to install wiring.. There are better options out there ... come on "engineers".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality from Yamaha

Steven from Cypress, CA on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this receiver does everything I wanted. Easy setup and sounds great with my Klipsch floor standing speakers. As usual, Crutchfield was service was great and thanks to Marshal for his recommendation.

Pros: Easy setup and tons of features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

Elliot from Long Beach, NY on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really pleased with this receiver and the service from Crutchfield. The sound quality is really fantastic for the price. Connection to WiFi, the application, and to my dot were super easy. The Yamaha microphone room adjustment was also a snap. It's funny because I grew up believing pure HiFi was where it's at. The reality is that the enhanced mode on this unit for compressed/streamed files really improves the output. I also opted for enhanced bass. The 3 mild disapointments; 1) you cannot synchronize a product with a music cast. I thought I could get multiroom with the Yamaha in one room and my dot on an old tube amp in the other room. You cannot. You can synchronize multiple dots or multiple Musiccast devices, just not mix and match. 2) In one review I read that the Musiccast app will Bluetooth out to one non-Musicast device. I was hoping to synch my JBL Flip 3 with the living room. For some reason Yamaha disabled that... Too bad. 3) Alexa will turn on and off the Musiccast consistantly. Adjusting the volume up or down is a little sticky. Supposedly Alexa can change the input but I haven't had luck with that. I'm running 2, 20 year old Polk towers off of it and I plan to add the subwoofer soon. Maybe slowly grow to the 5.1. My last amp was a Luxman lv-105u. I can't afford anything like that now but I have to say, this you could not get a unit that was as good as this Yamaha anywhere near this price point when I bought the

Pros: Connectivity Application Easy setup Quality of sound Crutchfield tech and service

Cons: No mix and match music synch with Alexa Limited Alexa functionality and synchronization

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V485

William from Austin, TX on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy with the sound. I am interested in a "home stereo" application, so I can't say much about the surround sound aspect. It was fairly painless to setup, except to connect to my wireless network I had to use my tv and the supplied remote to view the setup menu. I prefer systems that don't require a remote, and especially not a tv for setup. As an auxiliary intput method the tv and remote would be fine. What do you do when you lose the remote? The parametric Yamaha feature gave an instant boost to the sound quality. I highly recommend that aspect. I did not try any other amp/receivers but I am quite satisfied with this one.

Pros: Sound optimization feature.

Cons: Required a tv to complete setup.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP