Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha RX-V4A

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V4ABL

Yamaha RX-V4A

Yamaha RX-V4A

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V4ABL

69 reviews
View this product

Great budget receiver so far

Scott from Grand Blanc, MI on 5/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this for a couple weeks, so far, it's great. Has quite a bit of adjustments to get the sound right. Love that it has internet connection capabilities as I like to listen to Sirius XM. Really like the extea subwoofer hook up. My last receiver was only a 5.1, pretty sure my neighbors hate me now. Cannot test the 4k 120 hz with my ps5 as my TV is only 4k 60 hz. Also like the music cast app that allows control from my phone. Overall, I would say this is a very capable budget/starter receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's Adequate but step backwards

Richard from Minneapolis, MN on 4/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok. Replacement for similar 5 year old Yamaha 5.1 system. Very disappointed it does not have iPhone graphic controls like the 5 year old system. Seems like a step backwards for much more money. Setup took several internet searches to figure out where to adjust settings. Sounds good. Miss the graphical interface to change program, etc.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Mike from Jefferson Cty, MO on 4/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the help of crutchfield advisers, it only took about ten minutes to set up and enjoy. Absolutely love it. Great sound and power.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cool receiver

Camilo from San Juan, PR on 4/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver with many features and it also looks great - not your typical receiver look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

William from Fort Collins, CO on 4/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the way this amplifier interacts with Dish, Disney+ and my Panasonic DVD player.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would absolutely recommend!

Crutchfield customer from Ringgold, GA on 1/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Many online reviews rate this unit as good but not great, but these reviews are comparing to not only high dollar units but the newest technology. For you average user like myself who is stepping up from an old system or sound bar or even from the integrated speakers in the TV this is a HUGE upgrade! This was an Christmas upgrade for my fiancé. I paired it with a Klipsch Reference Theater pack 5.1 surround speaker system. Spent all day the day after Christmas cleaning up her cabinet and running cables on the built-ins. Went with all five speakers in front for now and utilized the Yamaha Virtual Cinema Front . Receiver is hidden in the cabinet and we control it with the phone app instead of having to have it visible for the IR remote. Looks amazing when the cabinet is open, and more importantly sounds AMAZING! I'm a movie guy, she's a music fanatic, and this entire amp and speaker setup came in at under $775 and she is beyond thrilled! Problem now is the rattling doors and shelves on the built-ins when she's got it cranked up! Would absolutely recommend.

Pros: Yamaha Virtual Cinema Front! Sleek look, amazing sound, control from phone, stream Spotify etc.

Cons: None at this price

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Christmas for us.

Crutchfield customer from N Ft Myers, FL on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have been without a receiver for several years now, and this year for Christmas my wife and I purchased this receiver. Wow it is amazing. We played Christmas music from our phones and it set the mood perfectly. We are watching tv and movies thru the receiver and it is great. Should have bought this a long time ago.

Pros: easy set up easy to use great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy with my new Yamaha receiver

Crutchfield customer from Newbury Park, CA on 12/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love everything about my new Yamaha receiver, from the ease of set up to the incredible features right out of the box- I couldn't be happier with my selection and plan on buying more high end stereo products from Crutchfield, and this was my first purchase- but not the last! One happy customer. Jim Brahney

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always owned Yamaha receiver great receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, MI on 11/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this earlier in the year, thinking there may be a microchip shortage and just set it up yesterday (11/29/21). Easy/intuitive set-up, functionality and good sound make this receiver a solid value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 11/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product; great dealing with Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, CO on 11/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only had it hooked up for a week. Good sound, picture on tv is better than direct tv box. I haven't done anything else such as setting up the surround sound with the mic.

Pros: Good audio/video plug in and enjoy

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic receiver at a great price. Quick shipping and excellent customer interaction via chat in product selection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Belvidere

James from Belvidere on 10/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meh....I swapped out my Harmon Kardon receiver fo this since my new 75" Samsung is now hung on a wall where I did want wires....the blue tooth has to be reconnected with each use of the TV, the sound quality id fine, not great just good. The blue tooth lags on certain applications...so I see lips moving and no sound...I've only had this now for about 4 days....not sure if I'll keep it.....I feel like I took a step down from H/K......

Pros: ummmmm? well it works.

Cons: BT lag, connection issues upon each application, did I mention lag? The display panel was built by 1988, 8th graders....it just does not have a good look....

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

very slow and fails to stay sync'd with rest of system.

Jeremy from Beaverton on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the slowest receiver! it takes forever to sync up to the rest of your system. as you are watching tv this receiver decides it needs to resync and all you see is a spinning wheel on your screen. it doesn't matter if it is tv, music, movies, streaming, this receiver has a tough time syncing and staying sync'd. The old Tube receivers from the 1970's that took a long time to warm up is faster and more reliable to stay connected and sync'd than this unit. There is not reason on this planet for Yamaha to build in delays like this.

Pros: Probably a really good receiver

Cons: so slow and constantly resync'ing so you don't actually get to use the receiver as much as you like. it takes your nice relaxing time and forces you to watch a spinning wheel. not very relaxing.

Crutchfield response on 10/13/2021
Jeremy, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Buyer beware

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 10/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great performance hindered by worst user interface experience I've ever experienced. Poor internet manuals and the only saving grace is that after 45 minutes on phone with technical support apps can be used as well as video sources. After owning countless other electronics you can just power up and use, would only recommend Yamaha to someone I really disliked.

Pros: Sound and video is great

Cons: Good luck using it / still considering having a party to smash it to bits and celebrate having something easy to use again.

Crutchfield response on 10/11/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from River Ridge, LA on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Valencia, CA on 9/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm pleased,there's a slight odor for about an hour but I understand that happens sometimes with new electronics. The odor is gone now.I'm just listening to a great piece of equipment.Crutchfield does it again!

Pros: Reciever goes perfectly with my Yamaha S501 Amplifier,And the Bowers and Wilkins 5.1 setup.plus it looks different than most receivers,it's beautiful.great purchase,great sound.

Cons: NOTHING.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

worst receiver I've seen in 50 years

Scott from W NC on 9/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ten month review: I expected a lot more from Yamaha. Worst control panel layout/design and UI I've seen, EVER. Horrible blueish 1980s fluorescent looking display. With RGB LED panels the norm, this is the best Yamaha can do? Really? Sound is OK, though over-rated power output. Infrasonic & low freq noise is way too high, which is obvious w/a sub (even at low output). The FM tuner is a world class joke. One of the worst I've used in 50 years. Absolutely ridiculous poor performance. Even low cost receivers of the 70s' and 80s could beat this thing, HANDS DOWN. AM performance, don't bother. Guess tuners are just a add-on gimmick these days. Sure obvious no engineering came close to this unit. Remote control layout is straight out of a strung-out psychotic druggie's nightmare. Non-intuitive, illogical, too small buttons etc. A $10 generic TV remote has better design layout. Worst of all, you can only access many functions via the lousy remote, or accessing from the front panel is such a PAIN, I just give up. The on-screen (via HDMI) menu is functional, albeit extremely basic, sparse, and like everything else on this unit, totally illogical and obtuse design. After using it for ten months now, we're somewhat acclimated to the many quirks. But, today, the receiver BT (which does have excellent range) suddenly died. NO BT link at all. Just quit while it was on, connected. That's it, I'm done. Another fine piece of far east junk, TOSSED. Thanks Yamaha/Crutchfield. Adios.

Pros: Make excellent paperweight or door stop Hasn't caught on fire - yet Great BT range... when it works, if it works

Cons: expensive paperweight/doorstop excessive infrasonic noise horrible control panel layout & design horrible remote control design (IR only, no RF remote) exceptionally poor tuner performance

Crutchfield response on

8 of 22 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Freeman, SD on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-V4A (2020 Model) is a great receiver. It was easy to set up. May current speaker system sounds even better. I would recommend this receiver to everyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Spot On Equipment

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this receiver. It performs as advertised and meets my needs. Crutchfield once again has excellent customer service on the sales and service side. The pandemic slowed down delivery but Crutchfield reassured me that I was next in line when the product arrived.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome receiver

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, TX on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with my new Yamaha receiver. I've only had it about two weeks and I'm still learning all the features. Decided on the rx-v4a because at some point I want to have wireless rear speakers and this was the one in my price range. It's fairly easy to use tho the manual is a bit confusing. Also it looks great. Definitely would buy again but it being a Yamaha I don't think I will need to.

Pros: Great receiver. Nice to look at. Has all the functions I need and some that I haven't figured out yet

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Kinda sucks.

Crutchfield customer from NASSAWADOX, VA on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivers good sound quality, but the "features" tend to suck. Or just not function. Need to reboot almost daily for one remote to turn on Apple TV, Sony TV, and RX-V4A. Replaced an Rx-V679 which is now in breakfast room w/old Apple TV and old Samsung tv, all of which work together splendidly. My 3rd Yamaha AVR, after a Technics and 2 Harman Kardons. Many stereo receivers/amps since 1972.

Pros: Sound quality.

Cons: Everything else.

Crutchfield response on 4/19/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Bluetooth problems

Bruce from Anchorage, AK on 4/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Please know that the Bluetooth transmit is temperamental.  Some devices do not work and some have stuttering issues.  Crutchfield was good enough to send me a replacement unit and it performed the same.  Yes, we did all the stuff including duplicate devices, updated firmware, tried all settings, for many hours and no luck.  Maybe a future firmware will fix.  Oddly, if you tell the receiver to look for more devices the stuttering stops while it is looking (15 seconds or so).  Very happy with the unit otherwise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Glenwood Spgs, CO on 3/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up and sound is great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Glenside, PA on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-V4A is a terrific AV receiver that contains most of the features that are on more expensive makes/models. And if I'm perfectly honest, I would have preferred LESS features. It's a little complex for someone replacing a 1973 Pioneer receiver but I'll keep working at it.

Pros: Great receiver with enough features to follow new technology for years to come.

Cons: A little too complex for now.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver was pretty good but caused an issue pairing to the tv and bluetooth. I had to buy an IR repeater to solve the issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Festus, MO on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy with this unit. It has a great sound and many features. I love the new style. It stands out from all the standard looking HT receivers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Really nice, and exactly what I was looking for.

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clarita, CA on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice, and exactly what I was looking for. I am powering a Bose Acoustimass 16 system and the sound is excellent. Plenty of power, and great sound processing for watching Netflix, Hulu, and others. I am HDMI switching at the TV, so the family can opt out of using the receiver, making switching between Fire TV, Roku, Apple TV, and Google TV super easy. We are then sending optical audio from the TV to the Yamaha for when the full immersive experience is desired, which is all the time now. Really the receiver, especially for the price. Thanks again Crutchfield!

Pros: Performance per dollar is excellent.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Coamo, PR on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Christopher from Mchenry, IL on 3/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver! I've got wireless speakers all over the place. Works seamlessly... and no more pesky wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great, with complexity.

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-V4A is a terrific AV receiver that is very capable for the price point. it contains most of the bells and whistles which appear on more expensive makes/models. And if I'm perfectly honest, I would have preferred LESS features. The myriad of streaming and AV settings bring out the only real complaint I have about this unit: complexity. The very first thing you should do is use the QR code on the front of the manual to load the extensive documentation from the Yamaha website. And bookmark it - you WILL need it. Even the remote is visually complex. Happily I was able to program my Harmony remote to simplify configurations. While you can do the same with the Yamaha remote, I still would encourage others to seek out a 3rd party remote, such as the Harmony, for this reason.

Pros: A wealth of features and configurations.

Cons: Complexity.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Beverly, MA on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Great features to watch movies and music. For an introductory A/V receiver it can't be topped.

Pros: Easy set up. Great sound options.

Cons: Can't connect HRD with Apple 4K

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Fair Oaks, CA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smart looking amp with nice clean sound. Can bump up the sound with multiple enhancers including extra bass if that's your think. Make sure you get the app installed on your phone to make sense of how to use all the features.

Pros: Easy to use one you have the app.

Cons: Biamp did not work with my Wharfdales and haven't figured out why yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product ! Easy to install and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very easy setup for a very capable receiver...

Crutchfield customer from Wimberley, TX on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first receiver I've researched and purchased in decades - my how things have changed! I simply needed to source a 2.1 channel stack made up of legacy Yamaha NS-A200XT columns and a Yamaha YST-SW160 sub. The embedded acoustic optimizer (YPAO) made the initial setup very easy, detecting my speakers accurately and adjusting their relative levels nicely. And the sound is classic Yamaha - precise and punchy! Plenty of power for my application/space. I highly recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Another successful project

Crutchfield customer from Clarks Hill, IN on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always Crutchfield has the product in your hands within two days. Because I already had my system set up and it was as easy as remove and install the connections to my equipment. I had one question and with a short phone call that was also resolved. I can't say enough good things about Crutchfield and the quality products they sell!

Pros: Setup was easy. Instructions clear and concise. Back panel is well laced out and clearly labeled.

Cons: Nothing in the quick setup instructions for use and setup of AM/FM stations.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Winter Garden, FL on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this receiver to replace an older Yamaha home theater receiver in order to get the newer features such as Apple Airplay. It was easy to set up and works as I had hoped. The ARC feature for getting sound from the TV back to the receiver doesn't always work, but that may be something I am causing. I like the power and the features and would buy it again.

Pros: Great Features, flexible setup

Cons: ARC feature is a bit flaky at times

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Doesn't provide the bass I'd like but sound is clear overall

Crutchfield customer from Cordele, GA on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall it has some nice features and the surround sounds nice. I can't get the system to produce as much bass as I would normally like and that my previous Onkyo receiver provided. I wish i could override some settings in the surround mode to direct more bass to the tower speakers and sub but overall the sound is clear as it is. I also wish the display for what sound program is being used would display on the t.v. screen, similar to how the volume does, so I can tell what mode I'm in without trying to see the receiver. Instead of scrolling through the different inputs I wish there was a dedicated button for each input. Also, the usb does not play my music recorded in wma format, like it says it should. The USB works in my car and on other computers so I don't know why it won't work on this receiver. In order to make it work, I have to re-download all the music in an MP3 format. The nice things about the receiver is that it works seamlessly with other remotes; in that I can press a button on my satellite remote or Amazon Fire Cube and the receiver changes the inputs automatically. The instruction manual is online but it is pretty detailed and easy to use and understand; just wish it explained the details about some of the settings more and what they mean, but overall the manual is great for beginners as it takes you step by step how to set everything up. The system provides lots more bass if set up in Bi-amp mode but you lose the surround settings.

Pros: surround sound is great, works seamlessly with other devices

Cons: not enough sound directed toward tower and sub bass; even with settings all the way up for those, won't play wma formatted usb, receiver screen hard to see from a distance

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent value

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I brought this into the house to replace an old thing a friend gave me. The Music Cast speakers work really well at a distance and through wall...the RX sounds great and responds even though it sits in a cabinet entirely enclosed, thanks to Alexa. The price for performance was very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Troy, AL on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At the advice of Crutchfield rep I bought this receiver and could not be happier. Has many preset sound options for when you are watching different thinks (movie, sports, etc). Easy and quick set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Macon, GA on 1/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice Slick look and Sounds Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Hutchinson, KS on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds Great, even with old speakers. It was a little confusing for me to setup but Crutchfield's tech support had me up and going in very little time. I think it is great unit for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to enhance dialog. User Guide is lacking.

Crutchfield customer from Justin, TX on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this receiver set up for only 10 days, and continue to learn more about it. Still trying to get a handle on the terminology such as "scene" and the various sound programs and sound decoders. My nearly 20- year old Yamaha HTR-5440 had similar sound enhancement functions, but they were more clearly defined in the user guide, whereas this guide (325 pages!) is more about listing the choices and telling you how to select (and enjoy!) them, and not so much about what they do. Also, the manual was written by folks for whom English is not their primary language. On the positive side is the "Settings" menu, which allows you to change the level of each speaker independent of the others. I also like the ability to raise the "dialog" volume. We all know how loud crowd noise (and fake crowd noise) is when watching football games, right? It's sometimes so loud that it's hard to hear the announcers. So what I did was kick up the RX-V4A "dialog" setting, and reduce the overall volume a little. Those adjustments brought the announcer's voices to the foreground, and dropped the volume of the crowd noise. I also found that on some channels the announcers were in the center channel, with crowd noise and referees in the right and left channels. When that's the case, raising the center channel volume works great to accomplish the same thing. Then again, this could have been one of the sound decoder modes I had chosen while experimenting!

Pros: Capabilities and Features

Cons: User Guide doesn't explain them well

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Seagoville, TX on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied. This unit does everything and more than we need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Gregory from Astoria, NY on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear sound, very impressed. Very happy with all the options and inputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great choice for modest 5.1 system

Crutchfield customer from Slinger, WI on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decided to upgrade home entertainment system in a 300 sq ft family room. A 5.1 surround system would be adequate for my wife and I who are approaching 70. The Yamaha receiver was recommended and its modest power is enough for my needs. Added 2 new Klipsch reference speakers for the surround and 3 new Klipsch reference premieres for the front and center. The decision to go with a much better center speaker was the right one. Also added a 550 RMS watt 12 inch powered SVS Pro subwoofer to shake the little room for movies and some music. Everything works together fine and am quite pleased with the result and the choice of the Rx-V4A. Overall a nice setup for movies and we plan to watch many more in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Neat features

Crutchfield customer from Elk River, MN on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has lots of features that work well for our environment. Some highlights: - Easy Bluetooth setup - When we turn on the TV the receiver automatically switched to the TV

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Bois D Arc, MO on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went from an older smaller Yamaha receiver for the theater room to this one. More precise sound. It seems it separates the sound better. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very very happy with this item and all its features! Crutchfield suggested it after I told them what I was looking for with the setup I have and it didn't disappoint at all

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Value

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CT on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots for features with good performance = Value. You could spend more; you don't have to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Timothy J from Millwood, NY on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it. Use to have soundbars, a couple of years ago I decided to go back to real wood enclosed speakers - what a difference. Then I started with an A-S301 amp, upgraded to this receiver - again what a difference. I like to follow the KISS principle (Keep It Simple Stupid) so the only thing complex with my setup is bi-amping my speakers so I only use a 3.1 speaker setup. This receiver takes my old amp setup and enhances it. In a smallish room the 3.1 speakers and this amp do a great job at the illusion of surround sound. (Afterthought :I can't give an opinion on gaming through the system since I've out grown that aspect of my life. If I did, I would probably have gone to the V6A instead)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Value -- Easy to Set-up

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, MA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I've been very pleased. I replaced a 10-year-old Denon unit that died. Frankly, I think it did me a favor as I never thought much of the Denon and after I installed the Yamaha, I think I was proven correct. I found set-up easy (including the automatic room acoustics set-up) and it sounds great. The on-screen menus are nice and the app is fine. I have a Roku, cable, and some Bluetooth so I'm not pushing the envelope of tech... I appreciated the advice from the Crutchfield team during the buying process, it saved me from myself as I usually like to research every detail but I knew I was overthinking it for my pedestrian requirements...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RX-V4A(2020 model) is incredible a fantastic piece of machinery !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A provides excellent sound with difficulty

Crutchfield customer from Leland, NC on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'd like to give this 5 stars for the simplicity of setting this up for generating excellent sound. Out of the box I was able to easily connect to a pair of good quality wired speakers and my TV and the sound was terrific. The next day my MusicCast 20 speakers arrived the next day, and it was simple to replace and configure the wireless speakers. I've connected a Blu-Ray player, and CD player and can get them all to play successfully. As I switch between components, or play the XM Radio, Pandora or other apps through the receiver, however, I always need to go to the app to tweak setting to get the sound right. The "Scenes" can retain some but not all settings. Someday, I'm sure I will be able to complete the setup so that I can switch easily between TV and music using just one or two remotes, but I have not figured out how to do that. The 349 page manual attests to the complexity of this setup.

Pros: Great sound, a lot of options

Cons: Complex to set up

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I really like the Yamaha.. It have only had it (2) days, but the sound and options are great. The quality is exceptional for the price!!! Shout out to the Crutchfield staff for helping make the right choice for my home!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, GA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, love music cast Bought a Demond one for my downstairs, man cave.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Good unit. Bad phone app

Crutchfield customer from Nesquehoning, PA on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a decent unit. Not crazy about the app tho. If the app was good it would get 5 stars

Pros: Clean power for surround speakers Nice design

Cons: The app to control it and your music sucks. Hopefully they make a new app.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good but cuts a few corners

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this for about six weeks now. The audio quality is great, certainly way better than the THX Onkyo it replaced. The automated speaker configuration is spot and I'm hearing all sorts of nuances that I was missing before. It especially shines in the video game department, so if you're a gamer you should seriously consider this. On the flip side a lot of the other goodies are app based. You can set it up as a remote speaker for Pandora or Spotify and then not use the app, but most stuff is app based. There almost no manuals in the box, just QR codes directing you to apps. The apps work fine, but it takes some getting used to. The remote is nothing special as I think they figure you'll be using the app for that as well. I just didn't expect to get locked into their ecosystem so much.

Pros: Great sound, not too pricey, awesome automated speaker setup.

Cons: Requires a firmware update out of the box. Everything is controlled via apps, which is a little wonky. Remote is nothing special.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Milton, WI on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really enjoying this receiver. It's loaded with features and set-up was a breeze. The sound is fantastic even at low levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A great little receiver!

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver! I also bought new Polk speakers from Crutchfield, which I originally powered with a 6 year old Yamaha receiver. When I bought this receiver and listened to the new speakers, though, I was blown away! The difference between this receiver and the 6 year old Yamaha receiver I had is considerable! This receiver has a great sleek look, with piano finish, and LOTS of clean power. And it automatically switches to the device you are using, which is great and idiot-proof for guests, etc. I highly recommend buying. I just wish it had Dolby Atmos, but that's not really crucial. It has the latest generation HDMI inputs, so there is no problem with decoding 4k HDR, which the earlier receiver could not do, even though it had a 4k bypass. The HDR from 4k discs and Netflix is absolutely stunning, and the sound is clear and strong. I especially like that you can increase "dialogue" so you can hear everything, even with loud background music or effects. BUY THIS RECEIVER. I promise you will not regret it!

Pros: Budget friendly, with all the features you want.

Cons: Its height is substantial, which required re-working shelves in entertainment stand.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Upgraded from an older Onkoyo, the features are great esp wifi options, and sound is really nice. Product feels really robust. Would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loads of features on this thing, I've been playing with it for days and feel like I've only scratched the surface. Audio output seems great, though I'm still slowly building my surround system so have only listed on stereo so far. Bluetooth and wifi connections seem strong, no issues there, and it looks nice and sleek. Only squabble so far is the speaker connections are a little cramped and design isn't the best for bare wire connections, so I may go to banana connectors for additional speakers.

Pros: Solid with all the modern tech

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Bedford Heights, OH on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of clean power for 5.1 to clear sound. All of the functionality is easy to operate on the internal programming. The Wi-Fi and Bluetooth works great. The on screen display is user friendly. So far great buy for the money.

Pros: Functionality is great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V4A

Crutchfield customer from Stockbridge, GA on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was waiting on this for more than a month. It was worth the wait! Sound is great and setup was easy. I had also ordered speakers and sub for living room. They arrived right away so it worked out that I had some spare time to install the replacement speakers. After just TV audio, it really sounds good! Just have to do some reading and play with the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great unit

Justin from WALHALLA, SC on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am coming from a 10 year old Onkyo system and I can tell you this system is far superior. Sound is great, but the intelligence built in the software is outstanding. It identifies every component connected and auto switches. It passes audio through to my TV even when turned off so I can chose if I want the TV audio or the external speakers. It auto shuts off when I turn off my TV. Airplay works great. This unit is so much more user friendly and my wife really appreciates that. It auto picks the active input and work great. Nice job Yamaha.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Positive first impressions.

Douglas from Juliette, GA on 10/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since there are very few reviews anywhere, I wanted to leave my first impressions of this unit. First, Crutchfield shipped it very quickly and it arrived safe and sound. The free labels attached to the box was a nice touch. Setup was a breeze. I pulled out my ancient Panasonic AVR and plugged in my my 4K TV, Dish HDMI and UHD player. I have banana plugs on my speaker wires so connecting was simple. The labels helped keep up with the speaker wires. The unit started up fine and took me directly to the menu. I stepped through the well organized menu, connecting to my home network via wi-fi. Once done, I exited the menu and PBS from Dish Network came up immediately. The sound and image were great, even though I had not run the EQ. Next I put in a Blu-Ray to check the upscaling, which I had turned on in the V4A. Upscaling looks fine and the TV info showed it was receiving 4K. Next, I tried a UHD disk and the image quality and sound was excellent. I downloaded the app to my iPad and was able to control the unit with it. It even notified me a firmware update was available. Today I'll install the firmware update and EQ the system. So far I'm very please with the V4A. It's my second unit in the living room. It's got me looking hard at replacing my aging Onkyo in the dedicated home theater with a Yamaha

Pros: Build quality, ease of menus, sound and picture quality.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound