Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
Connect ID #
139 271 965 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V6ABL

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V6ABL

49 reviews
View this product

Skip this one

Tyson from Menomonie, WI on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is something off about this receiver. I picked it up just before Christmas of 2020 and I wish I had returned it. It replaced a ten or so year old Yamaha which was much better at many things. I'll admit that this one does sound a bit better, and the on screen display is more responsive but that is pretty much where it stops. Yamaha has said that they will be replacing my main board for free, and it better be. No shipping or anything of that sort. To start, the HDMI 2.1 problem. It wasn't until some time after I purchased it that the fact that it wasn't going to be a simple firmware update like promised. They have been updating the firmware on this fairly regularly over the last few months. It hasn't actually fixed anything. eArc is still a mess. Quite often when I turn on my LG OLED the RX-A6 will turn on but not actually play any sound. With the current firmware there is around a 5 second delay before it recognizes that it is supposed to be playing sound. Of course that is better than the occasional time where I have to completely restart everything to get sound. I'm currently testing having my series X plugged into the back of this. For some reason, half the time I have to restart the Xbox because it thinks that my display is 640x 480.. because this stereo was rushed? A bit nitpicky, but the volume knob doesn't feel good to use. I'm used to receiver volume controls having a feeling of quality. This one does not..

Pros: Good Sound Attractive Looks high end

Cons: Poor eARC Has a hard time communicating with other modern devices Actual quality makes it feel rushed. "2.1 will be available via firmware update" will require more than a firmware update. Updated remote is of lower quality and functionality than previous Yamaha remotes. Display is smaller than it needs to be.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EXCELLENT choice if you are not well-versed in TV/Media/Audio.

Andrew from Atlanta, GA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional value, outstanding product with minimal deficiencies, EXCELLENT choice The RX-V6A represents better value than competitive receivers, particularly in the way of features. An essential 7.2 Atmos receiver with 4k/120hz (after update), HDR10+, VRR, some form of usable speaker calibration, multi-zone, and this number array of inputs has NO BUSINESS selling for this price. Even now, it is extraordinary value. If you are unsure as to your needs for a home theater, or you have mixed theater, gaming, and listening needs, this has everything you need. While some may critique sound quality, there is little use in doing that since sound quality is subject to other factors such as your speakers and your media source. This receiver has a variety of EQ options, including a minimalistic frequency-based EQ. The preset options were enough for me to find the sound I wanted. There is nothing wrong with the sound quality that this produces, and it tempers volume only when all channels are pulling at EXTREME volume. My RX-V6A is powering two Klipsch RP8000's, two RP600's, two Klipsch Reference 5 1/4's, one Emotiva C2, and feeding one Klipsch 112sw and one JL Audio Dominion d10. It can be balanced, punchy, or bright to your taste, and can produce brutal, earth-shaking volume. If you need a complaint, this can be quirky about switching inputs repeatedly. Once every few weeks, all sound disappears after an input switch and it must be turned off and back on to fix. Infreq

Pros: Unmatched feature set at price point Versatile sound profiles with strong amplification Yamaha Music Cast app is very easy to use Supports theater, gaming, and listening needs

Cons: Occasional sound failure after switching inputs requiring soft power cycle.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2d Yamaha IN THE HOUSE

Jerry from Palm Beach Gardens on 6/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After purchasing a Yamaha Aventage 1080 from Crutchfield about a year ago I really became enamored by the warm yet crystal clear sound coming from the amps and DACs of the AVENTAGE series. My 4 year old Pioneer Élite in my dedicated micro theater started to act up last month with HDMI handshake issues with my new 4K Vizio P75 TV so after attempting (and failing) mutual firmware updates as a solution I decided it was time for a new Receiver. I was determined to wait for the AVENTAGE RX A6A which was unfortunately not available yet. On a whim I bought the RX V6A and as it turns out it is more than I need in both quality and operational feel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Pros: great sound ease of setup and ease of use. Great value at the price.

Cons: Yamaha's room correction repeatedly makes the center too hot and the subwoofers too far. Minor tweaks fix everything.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great receiever with a couple small issues

Bradley from CHEEKTOWAGA, NY on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver almost a year ago on day 1. I just now (8 months later) finished getting the multi-zone stuff setup with some outdoor speakers so I can finally review it. Overall the sound quality of this receiver is great. There are a lot of settings to tune my various speaker sized 5.1 setup. It was a huge upgrade from my 14? year old audio-only receiver. I can finally properly decode all the streaming audio (Prime, Netflix, etc..) and get surround sound from them. No issues with sound/speaker/multi-zone stuff. I only gave it 4/5 stars because there are a few things that can, and should be better, especially in 2020/2021. Most of issues relate to the various GUIs and the front screen and streaming media. The front screen is way too small to be seen from 10-15 feet away. Also the on-screen (on TV) volume display, for example, is also very small, and there's a small delay from your pushing buttons to when the screen text changes. My biggest issue is with streaming music from your home network, such as another computer or NAS. There is no equalizer to tweak the audio. Every PC music app has a basic equalizer. The result is your streamed audio files might sound different that on your PC. The other issue is the terrible GUI when streaming audio. It's like Yamaha just got it to work and said good enough! Most of my issues can probably be fixed with software updates. However, almost a year in and 3 or 4 updates I haven't noticed any changes to any of th

Pros: - The audio quality is great. I upgraded from a simple audio receiver (different brand) to this A/V receiver. It's an upgrade in sound quality for sure, as well as supporting updated audio types. - The multi-zone works great. You can play different sources at different volumes. Great for a pair of outdoor speakers that you want completely independent of your living room audio. - The MusicCast phone app works good for controlling your music if you're sitting outside.

Cons: - I wish the on-screen GUI was a little better, especially when playing audio files over your home network. - There doesn't appear to be any way to apply any kind of equalizer to your locally streamed media, from another computer or NAS. This is something that every computer media player has. - In 2020/2021, the physical display screen on the front should be bigger and better. You can't really see it from 10-15ft away on your couch. There is so much real-estate for a larger screen.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Perfection!

Guest from Monroe, WI on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I knew I had some good speakers, but this receiver really brought out the best in them! Love this AVR!

Pros: Makes everything sound exceptional!

Cons: Haven't found anything yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, IL on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is good, but i much prefer tactile control buttons (like on my 1995 Yamaha RX-V2090 A/V receiver) vs. the smooth-faced front of this receiver . Two major complaints with this unit: 1) there's no RCA input jacks on the rear to interface with any recording device (e.g., CD or tape recorder/player; I had to shelve my 2005 Sony RCD-W500C CD recorder), and 2) the surround sound MusicCast wireless capability does NOT function with Verizon's JetPack wi-fi hotspot device, and once you've set that up, there's no way to turn it off unless you delete all your saved settings (so back up all your settings to a memory stick first). Also don't understand why FM radio information for the song and artist playing can't be displayed on my TV--my car stereos display song and artist names--why can't this expensive receiver display FM data on screen? I'm basically satisfied, but definitely not "wow'd".

Pros: Phono input

Cons: 1) No RCA input jacks; 2) MusicCast not interoperable with Verizon JetPack wi-fi hotspot.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Bellflower, CA on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lot of features, able to bi amp with my ML 40 I and the sound is phenomenal

Pros: Sound and quality for the price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Hot Springs, AR on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound easy to use. I love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Badass

Crutchfield customer from Elberta, AL on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome !! Just getting it set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Junk or just a bad unit

Crutchfield customer from Schaumburg, IL on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1) Every sharp sound, be it two swords clanking together or a door slamming, causes this receiver to shut off. Volume doesn't even need to be high for this. If you try to turn it back on you receive a message indicating a possible speaker wire problem. Turn it off and then back on a second time and it is back to normal. 2) Firmware updates sometimes succeed, but usually have to try at least twice to get it to install properly. 3) Inconsistent power and volume. Watch a show one time and volume is okay. Watch that same show again later and the volume could be lower or higher even though playing from same streaming app. Sales pushed this unit pretty hard. I only bought it due to recent quality issues with Denon products and because it would be in stock soon, but I regret that decision immensely. Hopefully others have had better luck with their Yamaha products, but my experience is that I wasted a good amount of money. Since there were problems with order delivery dates and with having to replace a blown speaker I am out this much. Crutchfield did match a sale and refunded the difference. That has been the only good part.

Pros: Not certain there are any.

Cons: Funky menus, inconsistent power/volume, shuts off randomly with sharp noises, difficulty loading new firmware

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Wake Forest, NC on 3/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outlet is the way to go. Cuts off Spotify somewhat frequently though

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use and modern simplistic design. Amazing sound quality and features, now that it is installed and calibrated. This was an upgrade from an existing Yamaha unit. The Yamaha Manual is not intuitive and set up display and graphics are outdated. Thanks for Crutchfield's Tech Support, they are amazing and have been for years. Setting up multi zones took time. This was a multi amp install with 13 speakers in 4 locations. Very happy with the end result and thanks for the great customer service as always.

Pros: Modern Design Easy to Use Sound Quality

Cons: Set up and calibration Owners Manual and Search Capability

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

One of the worst reciwvers I've ever had

Crutchfield customer from WOODSIDE, CA on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ARC doesn't work. Configurability is horrible (cannot edit labels, cannot configure audio/video mixing)

Pros: Bluetooth works well, but it requires the remote.

Cons: Horrible customization options.

Crutchfield response on 4/1/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

5 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Lavallette, NJ on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System is a little difficult to get working the way you would like it to. But once you do it works fine. Has terrific sound.

Pros:

Cons: No manual included

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Rock Springs, WY on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved our old Yamaha and decided to get this new one. Works beautifully and learning more about it every day.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound choices. Easy to navigate. Nice new look too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, sounds even better. Upgrade from an older Yamaha. Set up was super easy. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Lutz, FL on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit. What a difference. I can now hear voices in the audio!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Supporting software is little better than DOS

HK from Phoenix, AZ on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this receiver from another source, so this isn't about Crutchfield. I have always used Crutchfield when I can, their customer service is second to none. This Yamaha amp on the other hand is a mess. When attempting to connect to the internet I tried to use the manual option. After inserting the password on the most confusing 'keyboard' I have ever encountered 3 times with no luck I gave up. The password is hidden without an option to unmask to correct a bad key entry it was impossible for me. Next I used the WPS key on the router. That worked although the system connected to the wrong stream ( I have three on the router). Couldn't figure out how to change. Techies could do it no doubt, I'm not a techie. Next is the remote. The remote, unlike every other manufacturer I looked at later, doesn't provide for direct access to a source. Want the Blu Ray player? Toggle through ALL the input sources. Same with sound options, toggle through them to get what you want. I have a Yamaha Musicast streamer (I bought from Crutchfield) that is an awesome product. So I wanted to connect to Musicast on the receiver, no luck. I followed the instructions (such as they are) and couldn't get any results. That was it for me...I returned for a refund. 2 stars because if you're a techie you can probably work through some (not all) of the issues otherwise 1 star.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Great performer but confused with inputs

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha RX-V6A is a great Av. Great value for the money. Instalation was simple. The only negative is that it gets confused and take a few second to figure out what input to put out. Some times fails to figure out the output and requires manual selection of the input to use. Maybe I need help tweek the configuration with the help of Crutchfield tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Instrument

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great instrument with easy set-up. Has internal Bluetooth generator making connection to headphones a snap.

Pros: Bluetooth generator

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Salem, SC on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been very happy with this Yamaha receiver. I've had several Onkyo's over the years and I like this one much better. It was easy to setup in my home theater/atmos and sounds awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Kahului,%20HI on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would recommend this unit to most people. It was easy to install and set up. Sound is good. I wish the front display was brighter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Reidsville, NC on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me say here that I am not supremely knowledgeable on av receivers. Expected more from this product. Knew the LCD window on the front was going to be small but figured i could see the current status of the receiver by using an info button on the remote; NO. My previous Yamaha RX-V685 had that. Also, the on screen notes say for mute or volume change are really small; really small. I just expected more and didn't get it. As soon as the Denon AVRS960H comes in, i'm going to return it and get that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Issues with 4K UHD.

Crutchfield customer from WESTMINSTER, MD on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Undecided on a rating between 3 and 4. The receiver has good audio once you figure out the proper settings. Yamaha has multiple settings that you have to play with to figure out what they do. My issue is with video processing. I have a Roku Premiere+ connected to it, via ethernet last tested at 75Mbps, with confirmed 4K UHD at 60Hz output. However it seems the receiver's ability to process that consistently is, inconsistent. Streaming UHD content from both Netflix and Disney+, especially, is very unreliable. Regularly selecting a UHD title will result in an error on Netflix and Disney+ appears to be buffering with the receiver cycling through Decoder off and Pcm/dsur. If I connect the Roku directly to the TV, no issues. It seems very likely that receiver is the issue, which is unfortunate.

Pros: Looks good. Easy initial setup. Good audio.

Cons: Fine tuning is not intuitive. Seems to have an issue managing UHD streams.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Swarthmore, PA on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Was fairly simple to set up once I got used to the on-screen menus. Sound is great. I am using the Zone 2 pre-amp outputs with an amp to power a multi-room system, which took awhile to configure. Have Zone 1 configured as a 3.0 system, so not using the full home theater features. Directions are vague and leave a lot to be desired. Would be nice if the Musiccast app had the full functionality of the remote. Also wish I could customize the Scene settings on the remote & phone app. Wish there were some legacy video inputs on the back (S-video, component, etc.), but still a good value at this price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Tarpon Springs, FL on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great but I am having difficulty getting this set up to operate my tv as easily as the Yamaha receiver it replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Finally

Guest from Charlottesville, VA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

we haven't had decoded sound for years. It is fantastic. This set has every feature we can think of and is very easy to install and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

sounds great, but use a cell phone to control it.

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great, however the screen on the front is all but useless. You have to be standing right in front of it to see anything being displayed. I have found the hand held remote be be not very helpful because, once again, you can't tell what the screen is indicating. Controlling the RX-6a via a cell phone app works well though. Setup is simple. You can tell Yamaha saved a bit of money by reducing the number and quality of jacks in the rear. It's really set up for HDMI inputs primarily. It does have a phono connection though, which is a great for my use.

Pros: great sound

Cons: useless front display

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Edwardsville, IL on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality and easy setup. Like how easy it is to hookup to sound system and external devices.

Pros: ease of setup, nice look

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good, but not yet fully cooked.

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Onkyo TX-RZ800 had a premature death due to DTS chip failure and since Denon is not treating the defect as a recall and is abandoning Onkyo customers, I had to buy a new AV receiver or pay on my own to get the 4 year old RZ800 repaired. It has been plagued with DTS chip problems for the last 2 years and Onkyo's support of the product has pretty much disappeared. After much research into Denon, Onkyo, Marantz and Yamaha, I finally settled on the new RX-V6A. While I strongly considered its reference line twin, the Aventage RX-A2A, ultimately I settled on the V6A with the opinion that absent the additional warranty on the A2A of one year they are essentially the same. I've had the V6A for a week and spent the weekend setting it up. I have a 5.1.2 Atmos system with zone 2 speakers in my kitchen and am pushing the video to a P-series Vizio Quantum dot. We also do gaming and in part chose the V6A due to its future support of 120hz 4K for that reason. And it will support a future release of 8K 60hz. My first impression of the V6A out of the box was that it about ½ the weight of the RZ800. Not inherently a bad thing, unless you count weight as a factor in amplifier design. One of the things other reviewers have noted is the simplicity of the V6's front panel. Essentially a large volume knob in the center, a smaller do-it-all control nob. There are also 4 presets that can be used to store commonly used video/audio combinations that Yamaha

Pros: 4K 120Hz and 8K 60hz, Dolby Atmos, great cost/benefit future-proof feature set

Cons: Simplistic design is a weakness, much of control has to be be preset in software, lack of ability to control sound or video easily from the remote. Firmware still a work in progress.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Rockledge, FL on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clarity of sound produced is incredible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sound is exceptional

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!!! Easy to connect to music cast and was up and running in less than 5 minutes on my phone.

Pros: Great price and flexibility. Awesome sound and easy to connect to especially multiple zones. Sleek look. I definitely recommend.

Cons: The response time is a few seconds delayed. Occasionally loses connection....which isn't fun during a party.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and set up of the unit was not too difficult. Still struggling to get the Music Cast app to work, som ethat is the reason for 4, not 5 stars. As far as sound quality for the price, you cannot beast this home theater receiver.

Pros: Ease of set up with existing components

Cons: Music Cast App

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Jason from DOTHAN, AL on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the Yamaha brand and needed to update, so I went and purchased the v6a and am not too disappointed. everything works great, except the music cast app. the sound is great from all movies I have watched so far( all 4k, some standard bluray and a few regular dvd), I am still getting used to the manual and the instructions contained therein(not a good techy), but I was able to set it up to work for the content being viewed. I do wish I could have a physical paper manual to refer to though. what I have been frustrated with is the the music cast app, not that it does no work great when my phone has it, but every time I leave the house for work or other tasks or errands, the app seems to reboot\restart\reset itself and I have to do the setup and connecting of the v6a every time I come back home and want to use it again, that part sucks. Also the 12+ year old rx-v630 that I had, seems to have been able to push my speakers better that this new v6a, it might be just my imagination, but I have listened to some of the same music from the youtube app on the v6a and I have to turn the volume up at a higher level than I did with the v630. on the v630 I only took it a third of the way and my speakers hit really hard, while on the v6a I have to put the level at one half to a little higher to get the same affect. I am not a good techy so someone may have to explain this to me to help me understand.

Pros: great picture quality pass thru, great sound, fairly easy to use

Cons: musicast app not working properly.

Crutchfield response on 1/4/2021
Jason, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good app and sound, Instructions aweful

Crutchfield customer from Lake Oswego, OR on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Love the App. Multiroom(zone 2) setup required 3 hrs and eventually a trip to YouTube, factory instructions are aweful. Alexa usage is not existant, but can turn on but not much else. Once I get over the lack of Alexa and set up time, I will begin to enjoy this unit....

Pros: App Sound Look

Cons: Alexa Instructions Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Milan, IL on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of power, great buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Atmos doesn't work

Charles from Upper Marlboro, MD on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't get the my height channels to play when Dolby Atmos is enabled. Properly configured source settings on my Sony UBP-X800 to enable Atmos and selected Dolby Surround on AVR; still nothing. Did a sound test and confirmed height channels are working (when Atmos disabled). However, no audio from channels when Atmos enabled. Unit display shows active channels when Atmos enabled. Notice in the photo the front presence channels (between the surround and subwoofer) are inactive. This should not be. Extremely disappointed as I waited weeks for this unit from backorder. Called Crutchfield customer service 2x but no one could identify problem. Will be returning within a week if Yamaha customer service is unable to resolve. On the upside, the sound from this unit is absolutely mesmerizing. Pity the height channels won't work. 2.75/5 stars.

Pros: Sound Power Value

Cons: Cannot operate Dolby Atmos Counterintuitive interface Yamaha customer service unavailable

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

14 of 19 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Ephrata, PA on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup & great sound even when cranking up the sound levels. Using Polk speakers all around except for 2 back speaker for 7.1 system. They are Realistic OP 10 I purchased in 1976.

Pros: Set up & sound

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Brambleton, VA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality AV receiver with many features

Pros: Sound easy to setup AirPlay 2

Cons: App's are confusing No integration with Apple HomeKit

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

A Born Winner...

Crutchfield customer from Dumont, NJ on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

outstanding receiver/amp. i am an anolog listener (cd, records. laptop audio library). There is this tremendous surround sound (simulated) and it surrounds the listener. I find new life in my older recording. for me, this unit was worth every cent. thanks Bo. Regards, Happy customer Ralph

Pros: revitalized listening to stereo recordings.

Cons: required wireless devises for full function - urgo games, movies.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Mike from Upstate New York on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not able to BI-AMP and also use my Front Height Atmos Speakers.

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Not Able to BI-AMP and Play my Front Height Atmos Speakers at the same time.

Crutchfield response on 11/11/2020
Mike, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Please reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 17 found this helpful

Shiny bells and whistles vs. dark and simplicity

Patrick I from Louisville, KY on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed an HDMI upgrade as my Yamaha RX-V1600 would not pass full HD from my PC to my new Samsung TV. But I've spent hours/days/weeks trying to get my Logitech remote to work consistently. When I switch to PC, as the remote is programmed to, the receiver randomly switches to the DVD input instead. I tried multiple ways of programming the remote but it comes out the same. Apparently it remembers the last input used instead of switching to the specific input. Once I unplug the power to my DVD player, this is no longer a problem... except then I don't have a DVD player. Assuming it has to do with HDMI Control or CEC or E-ARC, I disabled them. But then there's no TV input on the receiver to switch to. Either way, I have to use the individual remotes, with multiple selections each, to change inputs reliably. I have none of these issues with the RX-V1600 using the same DVD player and TV. And who in their infinite wisdom at Yamaha thought a glossy piano finish would be good for a home theater receiver? I can see every light and movement in the room reflected off the receiver. Very distracting. That's why AV receivers are traditionally matt black. This was an impulse purchase and a mistake. I'm returning the RX-V6A.

Pros:

Cons: Reflective finish. Bells and whistles at the expense of simplicity. No paper manual. Must have a computer handy to make receiver settings changes.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 27 found this helpful

Well... It's definitely Yamaha.

Aaron from Albany, NY on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm going to be honest with all of you, this is probably my most impulsive purchase I have ever made, as I am in a rush to get "2.1" for 4k at 120 on the Series X I pre-ordered. I consider myself a pretty big Yamaha fan as I have now had three different models over the last six years. The RX-V377, RX-V685, and now this one, which I have already submitted a return for and will go over in my cons. I would say overall it feels like Yamaha just rushed things and did a very poorly executed job on the firmware and the remote control. What I would have done is cloned the firmware from the v685 model instead. The HDMI CEC keeps turning on my shield when I try and shut everything off. I find HDMI CEC to be very helpful as I use my old 685 remote for this new receiver and that's a substitute for my Shield remote to eliminate having to carry another remote. So I can't just shut off CEC, so when I shut everything down I have to switch inputs to something different before shutting everything off for it to be able to keep my shield off... Which never happened on the 685. I really hope Yamaha works things out, I did see a report that the HDMI boards in these new receivers are faulty and a firmware update will not fix it. In the meantime I'm going to have to do a direct hook to whatever TV I buy by Black Friday, for my new Series X to come, which Is a bummer. In the meantime I'm going back to v685, which is actually an upgrade in several ways.

Pros: Let me start with the pros first. Upon unboxing this receiver, this is got to be the fanciest looking one by far. It's shiny piano black finish with the LCD screen on the right hand side and the big dial in the middle, as well as the touch buttons that "beep" are quite a nice addition. It actually reminds me of the original PS3 Phat. I do have to hand it to Yamaha, they did do a good job with the music cast capabilities on your phone. I also noticed that the HDMI switching is sligh

Cons: I don't know if I'll be able to get all the cons in here but I'll do my best. - The menu is 8-bit based and EXTREMELY laggy, nothing fancy about it at all, and it no longer has descriptions of every menu setting like the 685 does. - Pandora music cast on screen interface is very buggy, and they no longer have a Spotify interface compared to my RX-V685. - The remote control is total garbage compared to my RAV570 remote that came with my v685. - HDMI CEC keeps turning on

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

41 of 45 found this helpful

A must for Home Entertainment

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I reviewed over ten different systems, this was not easy since there are so many out there to accomplish almost same goal. I am so glad I chose this one, the simplicity of connecting it to my home speakers with BananaPlugs and 7 different sources (DirectV, Alexa, FireStick and blue-tooth). The Music Cast App to control the system inputs is light years ahead of any other app. I connect via Wi-Fi. and so I can be outside in my yard and have access to my outdoor speakers at any time. Great sound and simplicity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Crestview, FL on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with the new receiver so far. It was easy to set up, looks good, and sounds good. Using with an old Sony subwoofer, a pair of Pyle PDMN-48 speakers up front, a Yamaha NS-C210 center and four AET HT-200SF speakers at the sides and back, sound is clear, easy to hear and can get plenty loud. The smooth front panel looks nice, the touch sensitive areas are labeled, but I missed the MENU(CONNECT) on my first attempt to sync with the MusicCast app. All the speaker connections are the screw down/banana plug style, if you're working in a dark room, at a bad angle or have big fingers, it'll be easier to connect a lot of speakers with banana plugs.

Pros: Good price, sounds great, sleek design, it's nice putting on music from my phone/Spotify/Prime Music with the MusicCast app.

Cons: There seemed to be a delay between button presses on the remote and the on-screen cursor moves when I manually renamed HDMI inputs, at all other times I didn't notice any delay. The touch sensitive front panel will collect finger prints, but there's a remote control and phone app control, so you hardly need to touch the receiver itself.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

New receiver

Crutchfield customer from Wausau, WI on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally received my new Yamaha! I was able to hook up my RTi5 fronts with a CSi6 center channel speaker. No surrounds yet, they are on the way. While I have not had ample opportunity to play with all the settings I am so far impressed. The set up is easy using either the setup app or the quick setup guide and the microphone set up is slick. I did not set up the Musiccast app since I can control my music through other apps and I do not have a separate zone set up. The sound is great and the preset options all sound unique. Once I have had more time to play with the options I will update.

Pros: Easy set up Pre set sound options give a nice variety Clean, minimal look

Cons: No owners manual. Must download. Hard to see the display.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Oviedo, FL on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, no issue. The placement of the volume knob and the screen could be better though. Sound/video is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

TOP