Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
Connect ID #
095 286 473 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V6ABL

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Dolby Atmos®, Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple AirPlay® 2, and Amazon Alexa compatibility

MFR # RX-V6ABL

11 reviews
View this product

Atmos doesn't work

Charles from Upper Marlboro, MD on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't get the my height channels to play when Dolby Atmos is enabled. Properly configured source settings on my Sony UBP-X800 to enable Atmos and selected Dolby Surround on AVR; still nothing. Did a sound test and confirmed height channels are working (when Atmos disabled). However, no audio from channels when Atmos enabled. Unit display shows active channels when Atmos enabled. Notice in the photo the front presence channels (between the surround and subwoofer) are inactive. This should not be. Extremely disappointed as I waited weeks for this unit from backorder. Called Crutchfield customer service 2x but no one could identify problem. Will be returning within a week if Yamaha customer service is unable to resolve. On the upside, the sound from this unit is absolutely mesmerizing. Pity the height channels won't work. 2.75/5 stars.

Pros: Sound Power Value

Cons: Cannot operate Dolby Atmos Counterintuitive interface Yamaha customer service unavailable

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Ephrata, PA on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup & great sound even when cranking up the sound levels. Using Polk speakers all around except for 2 back speaker for 7.1 system. They are Realistic OP 10 I purchased in 1976.

Pros: Set up & sound

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Brambleton, VA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality AV receiver with many features

Pros: Sound easy to setup AirPlay 2

Cons: App's are confusing No integration with Apple HomeKit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

A Born Winner...

Crutchfield customer from Dumont, NJ on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

outstanding receiver/amp. i am an anolog listener (cd, records. laptop audio library). There is this tremendous surround sound (simulated) and it surrounds the listener. I find new life in my older recording. for me, this unit was worth every cent. thanks Bo. Regards, Happy customer Ralph

Pros: revitalized listening to stereo recordings.

Cons: required wireless devises for full function - urgo games, movies.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Mike from Upstate New York on 11/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not able to BI-AMP and also use my Front Height Atmos Speakers.

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Not Able to BI-AMP and Play my Front Height Atmos Speakers at the same time.

Crutchfield response on 11/11/2020
Mike, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Please reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Shiny bells and whistles vs. dark and simplicity

Patrick I from Louisville, KY on 10/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed an HDMI upgrade as my Yamaha RX-V1600 would not pass full HD from my PC to my new Samsung TV. But I've spent hours/days/weeks trying to get my Logitech remote to work consistently. When I switch to PC, as the remote is programmed to, the receiver randomly switches to the DVD input instead. I tried multiple ways of programming the remote but it comes out the same. Apparently it remembers the last input used instead of switching to the specific input. Once I unplug the power to my DVD player, this is no longer a problem... except then I don't have a DVD player. Assuming it has to do with HDMI Control or CEC or E-ARC, I disabled them. But then there's no TV input on the receiver to switch to. Either way, I have to use the individual remotes, with multiple selections each, to change inputs reliably. I have none of these issues with the RX-V1600 using the same DVD player and TV. And who in their infinite wisdom at Yamaha thought a glossy piano finish would be good for a home theater receiver? I can see every light and movement in the room reflected off the receiver. Very distracting. That's why AV receivers are traditionally matt black. This was an impulse purchase and a mistake. I'm returning the RX-V6A.

Pros:

Cons: Reflective finish. Bells and whistles at the expense of simplicity. No paper manual. Must have a computer handy to make receiver settings changes.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Well... It's definitely Yamaha.

Aaron from Albany, NY on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm going to be honest with all of you, this is probably my most impulsive purchase I have ever made, as I am in a rush to get "2.1" for 4k at 120 on the Series X I pre-ordered. I consider myself a pretty big Yamaha fan as I have now had three different models over the last six years. The RX-V377, RX-V685, and now this one, which I have already submitted a return for and will go over in my cons. I would say overall it feels like Yamaha just rushed things and did a very poorly executed job on the firmware and the remote control. What I would have done is cloned the firmware from the v685 model instead. The HDMI CEC keeps turning on my shield when I try and shut everything off. I find HDMI CEC to be very helpful as I use my old 685 remote for this new receiver and that's a substitute for my Shield remote to eliminate having to carry another remote. So I can't just shut off CEC, so when I shut everything down I have to switch inputs to something different before shutting everything off for it to be able to keep my shield off... Which never happened on the 685. I really hope Yamaha works things out, I did see a report that the HDMI boards in these new receivers are faulty and a firmware update will not fix it. In the meantime I'm going to have to do a direct hook to whatever TV I buy by Black Friday, for my new Series X to come, which Is a bummer. In the meantime I'm going back to v685, which is actually an upgrade in several ways.

Pros: Let me start with the pros first. Upon unboxing this receiver, this is got to be the fanciest looking one by far. It's shiny piano black finish with the LCD screen on the right hand side and the big dial in the middle, as well as the touch buttons that "beep" are quite a nice addition. It actually reminds me of the original PS3 Phat. I do have to hand it to Yamaha, they did do a good job with the music cast capabilities on your phone. I also noticed that the HDMI switching is sligh

Cons: I don't know if I'll be able to get all the cons in here but I'll do my best. - The menu is 8-bit based and EXTREMELY laggy, nothing fancy about it at all, and it no longer has descriptions of every menu setting like the 685 does. - Pandora music cast on screen interface is very buggy, and they no longer have a Spotify interface compared to my RX-V685. - The remote control is total garbage compared to my RAV570 remote that came with my v685. - HDMI CEC keeps turning on

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

23 of 23 found this helpful

A must for Home Entertainment

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I reviewed over ten different systems, this was not easy since there are so many out there to accomplish almost same goal. I am so glad I chose this one, the simplicity of connecting it to my home speakers with BananaPlugs and 7 different sources (DirectV, Alexa, FireStick and blue-tooth). The Music Cast App to control the system inputs is light years ahead of any other app. I connect via Wi-Fi. and so I can be outside in my yard and have access to my outdoor speakers at any time. Great sound and simplicity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Crestview, FL on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with the new receiver so far. It was easy to set up, looks good, and sounds good. Using with an old Sony subwoofer, a pair of Pyle PDMN-48 speakers up front, a Yamaha NS-C210 center and four AET HT-200SF speakers at the sides and back, sound is clear, easy to hear and can get plenty loud. The smooth front panel looks nice, the touch sensitive areas are labeled, but I missed the MENU(CONNECT) on my first attempt to sync with the MusicCast app. All the speaker connections are the screw down/banana plug style, if you're working in a dark room, at a bad angle or have big fingers, it'll be easier to connect a lot of speakers with banana plugs.

Pros: Good price, sounds great, sleek design, it's nice putting on music from my phone/Spotify/Prime Music with the MusicCast app.

Cons: There seemed to be a delay between button presses on the remote and the on-screen cursor moves when I manually renamed HDMI inputs, at all other times I didn't notice any delay. The touch sensitive front panel will collect finger prints, but there's a remote control and phone app control, so you hardly need to touch the receiver itself.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

New receiver

Crutchfield customer from Wausau, WI on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally received my new Yamaha! I was able to hook up my RTi5 fronts with a CSi6 center channel speaker. No surrounds yet, they are on the way. While I have not had ample opportunity to play with all the settings I am so far impressed. The set up is easy using either the setup app or the quick setup guide and the microphone set up is slick. I did not set up the Musiccast app since I can control my music through other apps and I do not have a separate zone set up. The sound is great and the preset options all sound unique. Once I have had more time to play with the options I will update.

Pros: Easy set up Pre set sound options give a nice variety Clean, minimal look

Cons: No owners manual. Must download. Hard to see the display.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha RX-V6A (2020 model)

Crutchfield customer from Oviedo, FL on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, no issue. The placement of the volume knob and the screen could be better though. Sound/video is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

TOP