Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha SR-B20A

Powered sound bar with built-in subwoofers, DTS® Virtual:X, and Bluetooth®

MFR # SRB20ABL

Yamaha SR-B20A

Yamaha SR-B20A

Powered sound bar with built-in subwoofers, DTS® Virtual:X, and Bluetooth®

MFR # SRB20ABL

75 reviews
View this product

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Cockeysville, MD on 11/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have poor hearing, and could not understand words on our main TV . This sound bar makes a world of difference. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Proctor, AR on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my Sony tv. Love the different sound selection. Also love how it comes on when the tv comes on. Also I couldn't beat the price. Would have gave 5 stars if it was wifi capable.

Pros:

Cons: 5 t0 10 sec delay for sounds to kick in after you turn on tv.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Satellite Beach, FL on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All in all, very pleased with my purchase. Don't have any other sound bars to compare the performance and did expect a little more bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another great product from Crutchfield.

Crutchfield customer from Rapid City, SD on 11/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this to replace an older Sound Base. Not disappointed. The sound is very good and the bluetooth feature is great as it pairs with Alexa and my iphone. And the price was good.

Pros: Slim design Good Sound. Great Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Garrochales, PR on 11/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, sounds very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good sound

Crutchfield customer from Pekin, IL on 10/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the over all sound quality.

Pros: Low profile, small foot print

Cons: Variations in volume between programs and when the commercials come on blast you out. This isn't an issue when using the TV speakers.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Lockhart, TX on 10/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice soundbar that is a great improvement over the standard speakers. Installation is straight forward and I appreciated the template for attaching to the wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Miami, OK on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value and works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Ravenden, AR on 10/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality for the price! Easy hookup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Buy

Crutchfield customer from West Sunbury, PA on 9/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound easy hook up just one cable. Enables the voices to be heard more easily

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Upper Marlboro, MD on 9/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a really good soundbar for the price point. I have a Sony 43X800H and the sound wasn't good for the room it's in (which I already knew before buying it). It's not in its permanent place so I didn't wanna buy anything sound wise. but it got to be annoying. This one is pretty basic, doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles (which I wasn't looking for), and just flat out sounds good, especially when I added my Polk sub to it. If you're looking for a good 2.1 bar to make your TV sound better, then this is a good choice

Pros: Compact Easy to setup Simple to use Sounds great for the price point

Cons: Short power cable

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Petersburg, IL on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Yamaha sound bar is so worth the money. Much deeper bass and better sound than I was expecting!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 9/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well packed, as promised, this thing is easy to set up and sounds really good, plenty loud and clear dialog for movies, so far very happy ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JC

Crutchfield customer from Ooltewah, TN on 9/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this sound bar for our club house. good sound quality for a very reasonable price. Would recommend.

Pros: Good quality, fair price.

Cons: Had to hook up both HDMI cable and the Optical cable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sound upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

makes the sound of my flat screen go from bad to awesome, and the sale price is hard to beat.

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from West Haven, CT on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound for the price really helps with dialogue and surprisingly good surround effects

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Really Nice Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Chevy Chase, MD on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this is a very nice-sounding soundbar from Yamaha. It's suitable for a small living room or bedroom. Highly recommended! Crutchfield delivered this to my apartment within a day or two - amazing customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Snellville, GA on 7/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality and very easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Port Isabel, TX on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice designe and prety good sound reproduction for an inexpesive product. Real good buy

Pros: Nice size and easy to installI wish it would have included a much longer optical cord

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda, MD on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound quality.

Pros: Sound quality.

Cons: Directions for set up are misleading. Can use optic cable. Do not need HDMI eARC cable unless you want dolby sound.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Don't hesitate - Buy this one!

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW - great sound for a simple system. Easy setup too

Pros: Good sound with rich tones Good low end base without overpowering the room Easy setup

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does What It Claims

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is pretty awesome, I can hear talking so much clearer than my previous sound bar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Spencerport, NY on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the money. Clear voice works great, more bass and better sound than the tv speakers and music sounds pretty good.

Pros: Price, clear voice, overall sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A worthy buy

Crutchfield customer from Belden, MS on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha SR-B20A sounds good. I chose it for the Clear Voice feature and it seems to help me understand dialog on my TV. Music sounds good. Not as good as bookshelf speakers, but more than adequate for listening while life goes on. Set up was super easy! And the volume and mute controls on my Direct TV control the sound bar. I am using both the HDMI cable and the optical cable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprising amount of surround for a single soundbar, I've tested a few at similar price points and by far this one was the best bang for the buck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not What I Was Hoping For.

Crutchfield customer from Cadillac, MI on 6/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this sound bar hoping it would help my hearing impairment, especially with the dialog issue. When I enable the "Clear Voice dialog enhancement option, There is little if any improvement. I have this connected to my TV using both the optical and HDMI ARC cables. Also, when I connected it to my LG 49UJ6300 Flat screen TV, for some reason I lost the volume up and down scale indication on the TV. The volume does change with the remote although the visual indicator is missing. When I contacted LG support, they suggested I reset the TV back to factory settings which I refused to do. I was very pleased with the sales representative, Simon, who help me and answered all my questions prior to purchase.

Pros: Compact and stylish.

Cons: Owners manual lacking detail and doesn't reflect the actual device.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent simple, clean soundbar!

Alfred from Port Chester, NY on 6/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this soundbar for my 1 bedroom apt. I previously had a 2016 Yamaha ATS-1060. It was working fine, but I wanted to upgrade, specifically for the DTS-X, Bluetooth 5 and cleaner design. First thing I noticed was how much better built this was then my 1060. Tighter and thicker cloth. The speakers were also better enclosed. On my 1060, you could pock a hole with your finger if you wanted to. Not with this bar. It is slightly larger at about .75" longer and every so slightly wider. Thickness appears the same. I should note that I had to use the included Toslink cable since my 2015 Samsung TV does not have HDMI-ARC. I did use my HDMI cable to place in the TVs regular HDMI, so I could control on/off with the TV remote. I also placed the soundbar lying flat in front of TV. I felt this speaker this speaker would sound better positioned on the wall. In stereo mode, there wasn't much difference and its just ok for that, but you need to play with the settings to get the sweet spot for YOUR ear. The Bluetooth 5 on the SRB20A worked perfectly. Much better than my 2.1 that my 1060 had. Now, with Movies, it sounds very good for a single bar. I was streaming, through FIOS, Wonder Woman 84 on HBO Max. Volume at 54, 3D surround on, extended bass on, bass set at 4, clear voice on. The DTS-X is a definitely an upgrade over my previous DTS virtual surround processor. The Bass sounded a bit tighter also. I would give it a 4.5. Thanks Cruthfie

Pros: DTS X Movies Clear voice Bass from only the bar

Cons: Stereo mode only average at best

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Sand Springs, OK on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much Better Than Your factory T.V. speakers. This Bar gives depth and volume to any room. Worth the Price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha Soundbar is GREAT!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Scott helped answer questions with this product and made ordering easy and used my rewards. Very happy with the ease of set up and the sound quality from this sound bar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Newton, NJ on 5/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great - trouble turning it on and off with the tv/ direct tv remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect option that's affordable

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha SR is great for any situation, whether it be for gaming, movies, or just listening to music. It has multiple features including subwoofer, 3D sound, clear voice, gaming and movie mode. Bluetooth connection makes listening to music convenient. For the bar by itself I would rate the bass 7/10 with subwoofer turned all the way up, but you can add surround sound speakers and additional subwoofers.

Pros: Has option to set up surround speakers Sleek modern design

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sound at a low price.

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So stoked! Big Sound, you can actually hear people talking. The voice is clear on all movies and series. The sub hookup makes me happy as I am able to use my PSW 12 now and it's seamless! Big sound for a small price.

Pros: Clean Big Sound, Seamless Integration with TV, Sub Integration, Super Clear Voice, Great Price

Cons: -none-

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Caledonia, MI on 5/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordering this product was easy and it was shipped promptly. Very happy with the ease of set up and the sound quality from this sound bar! The big thing for me was that it has a subwoofer pre-out which allows me to hook up my wired subwoofer. So far, very happy!

Pros: Ease of set up Sound quality Subwoofer pre-out

Cons: Looks nice, but cloth mesh on top of sound bar can get dirty easily. Minor con.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Ranch, CA on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent sound bar, works just fine for me, HDMI ARC was a breeze. I use it in a medium sized room, makes the sound better than the TV speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

As advertised.

Crutchfield customer from Bluffton, OH on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working perfectly! As others have mentioned the bass is not very powerful!

Pros: Easy to use and setup

Cons: Weak bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 4/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Obviously there are more expensive sound bars out there. Listening to some friends' and comparing to my old, much bigger, pricier sound base, this unit is a bargain and sounds better than my old sound base. The different settings make a noticeable difference in dialog and music.Mine is connected to a small subwoofer (one of my must-haves) and the system sounds terrific. Interestingly, when I adjust the subwoofer settings on the sound bar, it seems to somehow adjust the external sub as well. Not sure if this is exactly the case, but I like it! Bluetooth works seamlessly for streaming. Also had some connectivity issues with a new TV and Crutchfield advisors are tops! Highly recommend this unit for the budget conscious.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtown, MD on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great looks good Lowe price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 4/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greatly improves our ability to hear dialogue on programs with lots of background noise. Very easy to set up. Performs as advertized.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Descent bass at moderate volume

Crutchfield customer from Cottonwood, AZ on 4/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is pretty good with surprisingly good bass at moderate volume levels. At high volume the bass distorts. It works fine as an inexpensive sound bar on a secondary TV but I wouldn't use it for my primary TV.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Bass begins to distort at moderately high volume

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Makes TV sound great

Crutchfield customer from Gadsden, AL on 4/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made a big difference in understanding the voices and words on movies and newscasts on my brand new TV. Easy set up for this Senior lady.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from West New York, NJ on 4/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sound bar I ever bought. Crystals clear sounds and powerful bass.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Green Brook, NJ on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice size -fits right below my new 55" Hisense TV -great sound and like that I can change the effects from my iPhone app

Pros: Good size - great sound - great control of sounds

Cons: I like subwoofer at 1 or 2 - anything higher is a bit too much

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Met my expectations as a huge improvement on my Sony TV's sound. It seems like one of the best sound bar values. I paid a lot more for the Zvox I'm replacing, and this sounds much better. I suggest paying extra attention to whether or not the connections suit your needs. This model is a little odd about what inputs/outputs it supports. It was perfect for my needs, but may not be for yours, e.g. if you're into having Alexa built-in. I just cared about the HDMI arc support, which works flawlessly. The bass is surprisingly adequate, even without an external subwoofer. The highs and mids are also clear. It can fill our medium size living room with plenty of quality sound. The remote lays out the features in a very clear and usable way. But I only use its remote occasionally to tweak settings for specific needs when they arise. In general everything happens through the TV remote.

Pros: Very good sound for the price. Works perfectly with HDMI arc. Good bass in a small size

Cons: Odd connection assortment. No built-in Alexa.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. The voice enhancement is great. Has a Sub pre-out so you can use any home theater sub with this, I'm using a Klipsch 12". Would Recommend this over any other sound bar in this price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Low Dollar Soundbar

Zed from Grand Rapids, MI on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have got to say this the best bang for the buck I've seen this year. Performance is great, features are great. I would recommend this product to a friend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha delivers quality

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha SR-B20A fits my audio needs in several ways: the size is perfect for my TV size (55" LG), the Bluetooth capability makes listening to Spotify from my Android phone fun & easy, and the sound choices (3D surround, clear voice, stereo, extended bass, movie, game) offer listening choices from streaming movies to live news. While not meant to be a high powered audio source, this soundbar delivers quality, an attractive look, and meets my all-around listening needs on several levels. I am happy with my purchase.

Pros: Multiple audio choices, good quality sound, attractive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Broadview Hts, OH on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this sound bar as a house warming gift for my sister and brother-in-law (he's a film fanatic) and I went over to watch a movie and some tv with them. The sound was excellent, clear, and full. I thought the little subwoofers sounded great and not over bearing like a full system. It's nice to have a sub out connection though and the clear dialogue button works well. I liked it for the price and features and more importantly they like it much better than tv speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple setup and decent sound

Philip from Cary, NC on 3/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a bulky low powered 15 year-old stereo receiver and speaker pair (Bose bookshelf) for our big 7 year-old LED TV. Goal was a simpler setup that wouldn't disappoint. HDMI ARC between the TV and soundbar basically took care of the "simpler setup" part, reducing the number of cables and remotes to just one. Although the room it's in in fairly large, the soundbar still does a decent job of proving clear audio without distortion. After trying out all of the options, I found that the Stereo preset with Clear Voice enabled to be our most used configuration.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to set up; dialogue now easier to understand.

Crutchfield customer from Tijeras, NM on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a speaker bar to improve quality of dialogue on TV. It is now improved and I can understand it better. This one was easy to set up. I had some initial problems with my remotes not working the way I expected them to. I called Crutchfield tech support. The tech support person concluded that I needed to reset the speaker (internal computer). That solved the problem. All works fine now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good bang for the buck

Brian from Milton, DE on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy out of the box setup using the digital optical audio cable, though it didn't come with the HDMI cable that allows it to be controlled with TV remote. Great sound in my room with 14' ceilings. Plenty of punch in the bass when watching in surround mode too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Soundbar!

Crutchfield customer from La Grange, IL on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As seniors, we were looking for a better sound and volume than our TV could provide. This is a great solution. It was simple to hook up. There are a few sound options on the remote. It is so much easier to hear dialogue and music from the movies. The sound quality is very good. It sits right under our TV on the stand, a perfect size. A good value, a good product, we are very happy. A great price and quick delivery from Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha Soundbar provides a rich sound experience. The voice mode provides clear speech when watching movies or TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over the past 40 years I have owned and still own numerous Yamaha audio products. Never had an issue with any of them. About 10 years ago purchased a Yamaha YAS 101 soundbar. Still have it and it still sounds great. Needed another soundbar so I purchased a SR-B20A. No complaints. Sounds great by itself but I added a Polk PSW 111 subwoofer and it fills a large family room with amazing sound. The Clear Voice feature works as described and is a big plus when watching action movies with a lot of background noise. Highly recommend SR-B20A soundbar as well as Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic soundbar!

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bass speakers in my 9-yr old Sharp TV crapped out, so I bought this. MUCH better sound! DEEP bass. Crisp highs. A great value. No sub is needed unless you want to move earth at very high levels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Pittsboro, NC on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup and way better than tv speakers at a reasonable price. Not exceptional, but I'm happy with it on my bedroom tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Louisa, VA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and options. Love it. Great choice.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from West Bend, WI on 2/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just needed something to enhance the under-powered sound from our new TV so we could hear it better. I thought I'd need to get a fancy array of speakers and mount them to the wall. But all I did was put this on the stand in front of the TV, and it worked perfectly. Easy to attach to the TV. I wish I'd looked into this sooner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sound bar has great sound including amazing base.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Satisfied. Great bang for the buck.

Lawrence from MARSHALL, NC on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this for my Sony XBR-49X950H television. Connection was simple via HDMI and the sound is significantly better than the TV sound alone. I am completely satisfied with this soundbar. The bass is less than with a dedicated subwoofer but still plenty of bass since I'd rather not shake the walls. This soundbar also provides plenty of volume in my 45x22' room with high ceiling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using it in place of my LG flatscreen's built-in speakers. Big improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Somersworth, NH on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent sound upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Hope, RI on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was concerned that this bar might not provide the sound improvement I was looking for, being that it's a 'lower end' unit. My concerns were unfounded. My surround sound system is more of a pain to use than it's worth, so I was looking for something that's mindless to use and still gives me the fuller sound I enjoy. I also already have a subwoofer, so wanted something that would take advantage of that and not add another piece of hardware. And I don't need WiFi or any of the smart features of higher end models. The Yamaha SR-B20A checks all those boxes. Once I got it hooked up, the difference in sound was immediate, even without the subwoofer. Voice dialog is crystal clear at very low to very high volumes and anywhere in between, so much so that it is actually clearer than my home theater system. With the sub plugged in, the sound is way more than I ever expected. Setup was quick and easy; just a little bit of fiddling and it's controlled through my cable remote. I am extremely happy with this purchase. Home theater system will be getting boxed up - I don't need it any more.

Pros: Great bang for the buck; awesome sound, especially with a sub; easy setup and operation.

Cons: Doesn't come with a HDMI cable.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Excellent upgrade to tv sound

Ed from Coventry, RI on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really pleased with this soundbar. I already have a subwoofer from my soon-to-be-retired home theater system, so I didn't need a soundbar with another sub. The SR-B20A is one of the few with a RCA sub connector, which was a must-have for me. To be honest, I was concerned about how it would sound, being a 'lower-end' model. But as soon as I connected it, even without the sub, the improvement in sound over the tv was immediate. In fact, this bar actually outperforms my home theater system for watching tv shows and movies. Dialog is so much clearer and easy to hear, whether at super low night time levels or cranked way up for noisy movies. HDMI connection to the tv's ARC connection is simple and works flawlessly with my cable remote. Bluetooth connectivity is also simple to set up. If there are any cons, it's that the SR-B20A does not have WiFi or 'smart' features offered in the more expensive units, if that's what you're looking for. I don't need any of the frills and extras, so this one suits my needs perfectly. Overall I couldn't be happier with this purchase.

Pros: Affordable, great sound, subwoofer RCA connector (if you already own a sub), easy setup and operation.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Glenshaw, PA on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice for price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Performance for less tnan $200!

Crutchfield customer from Southgate, MI on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing performance for less than $200! I considered several more expensive options however after discussing with the Crutchfield Team this was the perfect solution for my current needs - to upgrade the soundstage from the existing TV integrated speakers . For anyone looking to spend a few dollars less, the "C" variant was surprising robust as well (SR-C20A).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Solid upgrade

David from Howell, NJ on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I compared carefully against Yamaha's SR-C20A, and noticed this one is larger and heavier, which told me it'd have bigger sound, and it didn't disappoint, from a low-profile bar. In fact maybe a little too "boomy" sometimes, which is impressive since it doesn't have a dedicated subwoofer (which I did not have room for). Definitely far better than the TV's speaker. I don't love having (yet another) remote but I'm not sure there's ever a good choice with these sound bars unless there's some vendor-specific integration models which I've never found. I took a star off for two reasons: 1) no volume indicator, which not too many models have but I'd like to know it; 2) the "clear voice" setting doesn't seem to make much difference, and sometimes dialogue in some scenes is still low but that may be my environment. Not the cheapest bar I'm sure but a solid upgrade. Be sure to check the dimensions as mine just fits between the feet of my tabletop TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from San Luis Obispo, CA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound at a reasonable price. Typical Yamaha quality with easy set-up. I would buy this bar again.

Pros: Yamaha quality without breaking the bank.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from Denmark, ME on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We now have much better sound when watching movies. The Clear Voice option enhances the dialogue making conversations somewhat easier to hear. At times, though, it's difficult to discern whether Clear Voice is ON or OFF. For the price it works as expected. Easy set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just three words."I love it"

Pros: Just the perfect size

Cons: Not enough bass, but I'm adding a separate subwoofer anyways

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

The Yamaha that wished it could but can't.

Crutchfield customer from Pageland, SC on 10/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not really impressed. Unit build quality is good but sound isn't as good as I was hoping for. Unit does good on voice improvement for tv but it can not handle any lower frequency. I gave my samsung sound bar to my son and law when I got this unit which is far superior for over all sound. After I received this unit the price came down by twenty dollars. This was an open box unit but I don't believe that there is anything wrong with it other than it is not ready for the big leagues. I will use this unit in the den and just use the surround sound system when I need it.

Pros: Build quality, warranty and good voice improvement for tv.

Cons: Lower frequency Port out the end of the unit with really bad turbulence sounds.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Guest from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a NOT the greatest sound bar. I bought it thinking that a Yamaha would be decent even at this price. Yes, it's louder than the tv speakers but the quality of the sound is worse. It sounds tinny/metallic even at low volume. The bass is mediocre at best. Don't let the "built-in subwoofer" phrase fool you. I'm surprised that Yamaha would sell this. I didn't give it one star because of the price. You get what you pay for.

Pros: super easy to use looks nice

Cons: sounds pretty terrible if you know anything about what decent speakers are supposed to sound like

Crutchfield response on 10/13/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your soundbar. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 10 found this helpful

True Surround Sound!

Mykal from USA on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best bar for stand alone surround sound without using rear speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha SR-B20A

Crutchfield customer from San Clemente, CA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is much improved over the TV sound. My biggest surprise was it automatically synced with my cable system and Sony TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP