Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha T-S500

AM/FM tuner

MFR # T-S500BL

Yamaha T-S500

Yamaha T-S500

AM/FM tuner

MFR # T-S500BL

53 reviews
View this product

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Cheektowaga, NY on 2/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, could use a remote to turn unit off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, WA on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be happier bought this to go with my Yamaha Amp that I purchased a couple months back looks great sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Gaffney, SC on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seem to be a good tuner but have not time to really say for sure

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Cana, VA on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Administrator

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear sounds

Pros: clear

Cons: no remote

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Woodinville, WA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had Yamaha equipment over the years and really love it. I recently decided to let go of home theatre and just focus on a Yamaha A-S501 preamp, C600 CD changer, and this tuner. I'm very happy (with 4 kef q150 speakers). Love Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from La Canada Flt, CA on 10/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A welcome addition to my amp and takes in very little space on my stack shelves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good match to Yamaha amps

Crutchfield customer from Astoria, NY on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tuner is easy to set up. A couple of my stations weren't added automatically to memory, but were easy to add manually. Doesn't seem any better than the tuner on my retired Sony receiver, but the unit is easier to use, better looking and matches the new A-S301 amp nicely. I like the rotary station selector knob.

Pros: Easy setup and operation. Rotary knob for station selection. Remote from Yamaha amp controls tuner.

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Lititz, PA on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought as Scratch and Dent. Perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Olive Branch, MS on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is just what I needed. It sounds great and works great with my sound bar and sub. The only thing I did not know it did not have a remote but my cable remote works everything. I am 100% satisfied and and it fit perfect where I needed it to fit. Thanks You Crutchfield and your rep that helped me he was great and very patient while answering all my needs.

Pros: Great

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and and I got lots of stations with just the supplied antennae. A remote would be nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good no-nonsence tuner. Easy to set up. Hooked it up to a roof antenae and found I had many more stations than I knew about. I like tuning with a dial instead of up and down buttons also very quiet while tuning between stations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Norman

CHRISTINE from Norman on 4/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought mine, getting a good deal on one with badly damaged box. Got lucky, the unit was unscathed, ad works well. I didn't care about the lack of an included remote, as I have an A-S500 that operates it... though it would be nice to be able to put it to sleep with the remote. My fix to that is to leave it on 24/7, as I do the amp itself. To silence it I simply choose a different input. It's reception is good in my location; broadcasts come in clean and noiseless, and the sound quality is very good - probably better than some of us older enthusiasts may admit. I've been startled at the sound quality on many occasions, listening to my favorite all-classical spot on the dial, er, ie, spot on the frequency display. I also have an NAD 4130. Doubt I could tell them apart by ear. Maybe. Excellent tuners that only an audiophile wouldn't love. Great for music lovers, though. That was tongue-in-cheek, as I am a bit of a 'phile myself. Love the Yamaha tuner and amp, driving Monitor Audio Silver 6 speakers. My high-value bedroom system. Sure, I stream music, sometimes play discs, often play laptop files. But I also have three local radio stations I enjoy, especially with a good tuner.

Pros: Works remotely using my integrated amp remote Solid IF performance, clean reception Very good sound quality Doesn't break the bank High Value Slim profile conserves cabinet space Visually pleasing, esp with amp

Cons: No remote included will bum out some, not me Can't turn it off remotely Comes in black only - but I wanted black - some might find that a con 'Bout it

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The equipment has worked to meet my expectations. Gus was very helpful and the equipment arrived faster than I thought. It is nice to be able to listen to radio again through my system instead of the small boom box or undercounter tuner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An inexpensive tuner like this shouldn't get 5 stars, but I've been pleased with it in every way: convenient tuning; good sound quality; good radio sensitivity; *great* price. I've attached an indoor folded dipole antenna, and I can receive a FM station 40 miles away (in mountainous terrain). This tuner is a "best buy".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Easthampton, MA on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfection

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from West Richland, WA on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very suprise how well the tunier receive single that my overprice sony receiver could not pick up and I had a very good FM ant

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Great Tuner

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own a Yamaha R-S500 Receiver which I love. Upgraded to the T-S500 and A-S801 Integrated amp, the sound quality has improved but the R-S500 picked up more stations than the T-S500 when set for automatic tuning. I have to manually tune all the stations I had before not a big deal but ... The build quality is solid and would definitely purchase again.

Pros: Yamaha Quality and nice sound.

Cons: Auto Tuning

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needs a REMOTE!!!!!!!!! We are in 2019!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Cordova, TN on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used Yamha electronics for over 30 years and have enjoyed the best service!!!!

Pros: Great equipment

Cons: N/a

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500 Tuner

Rich from Millsboro, DE on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good build quality. Reception is good.

Pros: Yamaha quality Old school looks A real Tuning Knob!

Cons: A little pricy compared to competition

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great reception, good sound, lots of presets, easy to install and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 9/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good basic tuner. The Yamaha T-S500 has all the features necessary to bring in most stations clearly and cleanly. The mono choice is great for distant FM stations . The features are easy to access and easy to set up and operate. All around this is a very good tuner for those of us who use amplifiers instead of receivers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Another great Yamaha product

Joe from Shelton, CT on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the Yamaha tuner. It picks up distant stations with ease and great clarity, especially when paired with an outside antenna. Tuners of this caliber are hard to find today and the Yamaha hits a home run. The bonus is the very competitive price point. I wish it had a remote but it is not a deal breaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent Value

Kyle from Saint Peters, MO on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value! FM reception is clear even with the very basic antenna that comes with the tuner. A remote would be nice, but the absence of a remote is not a deal breaker for me. I do wish this tuner were available in silver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

John from Royal Oak, MI on 6/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tuner gives excellent and clear sound from both fm and am.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great tuner for high end hifi system

Brent from Germantown, TN on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tuner. Pairs up perfectly with my Yamaha A-S3000, Yamaha CD-S3000 and Sonus Faber Venere S hifi system. Get one of these while you can. Seems like the stand alone high end tuners are hard to come by these days.

Pros: Good FM reception Solid build quality Decent AM reception Easy to use Great value for the price

Cons: No remote but it's designed to be paired with Yamaha's AS series amp's remote Cheap FM antenna but I already use a high powered antenna

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha Tuner with great Crutchfield Service

Gregory from Bay City, MI on 3/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with appearance and performance.....received it very fast.....easy to operate.....dials and locks in good signals automatically with a touch of the dial without having to fiddle around trying to get it right on the mark...sounds very good.....and very reasonably priced.....Thanks....

Pros: Crutchfield is fast and courteous.....Tuner has easy automatic dialing of good signals in surrounding areas....looks very nice and professional....good clear sound.....

Cons: None....

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

So easy, even I could install it!

Jim from Sanford, NC on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

PERFECT for my application! Strapped up to an amp and an office PA system, it fit the bill! Programming the preselected stations was super easy, and the install was painless! The online support was great, too! And reception blew the previous unit away.

Pros: Great all the way!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from Fort Washington, MD on 11/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crystal clear reception with only the loop antennae. Excellent product.

Pros: Great price/look reception

Cons: no cons

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Does its job

Jack from Reno, NV on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been using about two weeks. No complaints. Never have taken to digital tuning display, but I suppose the days of the analog display are long gone, never to return. Alas!

Pros: Elegant appearance.

Cons: Plastic tuning knob.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Best option for FM Tuner

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 10/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent tuner for $$

Chris in Houston from Houston, TX on 6/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent tuner for the $$. Wish it had digital HD but the Japanese brand high end receivers bother given few stations. Old FM tuner was HK3490 receiver with a powered Terk antenna. The HK was replaced by an NAD amp (replaced by an Anthem) with no tuner. This tuner is superior to the HK in performance, clear and demonstrating its high selectivity (same antenna). I've not tried the AM.

Pros: - performance for the $$ (NAD tuner +$150 with only gain use of remote, maybe better build but lesser perf specs) - easy to set up and use (esp if only using presets)

Cons: - no digital FM HD - no remote control (not needed in my case)

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Very simple to hook-up and all you need.

Paul from port orchard, WA on 2/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to operate and enjoy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Crutchfield customer from tully, NY on 1/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dosen't pull in stations as hoped. I do live in the country about 20 miles outside of the city. I'm going to buy a better antenna then the one that came with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500 Tuner

Shan from North Carolina on 12/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great new piece. Works perfectly at pulling in stations at almost 80 miles away with just the factory antenna that comes with it.

Pros: Great reception. Works with Yamaha's integrated amp flawlessly.

Cons: Manual power on/off button, not on remote with amp.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

A Great Addition

Kent from New York on 8/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as an addition to my Yamaha A-S500 amplifier. Love it, the fast delivery and Crutchfield's prices. Crutchfield has become my go to company for electronics purchases.

Pros: I like all the features. Good signal strength.

Cons: None, as I have the amplifier mate with remote that controls both. RDS would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

J Farr from Georgia on 7/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I received the receiver in a very short period of time. Receiver works fine! Only wish it could be turned on/off with the Yamaha amplifier remote control since they're from the same family. Maybe consider putting an switch outlet on the back of amplifier that the receiver could turn on/off with amp? Just my thought. Outside of this one tidbit....receiver is doing it's job.

Pros: Looks great cosmetically. Tuning is fairly easy to setup preset stations.

Cons: Need on/off switch on remote or have dedicated on/off switch outlet on back of Yamaha amplifier. I think the setup for this called switch (or unswitched) plug?

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha Tuner

Mary from Pennsylvania on 6/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for high quality. Looks good with my Carver Amp and preamp.

Pros: Price for quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha Reinvents Its Product Line

HallB from Stroudsburg. Pennsylvania on 6/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good solid tuner at a reasonable price;. I appreciate the ability to reduce remote clutter and use remote on Yamaha integrated amp. I owned Yamaha components in mid 70's and I am delighted to find out the name still represents quality and dependability! Also want extend my complements to your product support staff for their assistance in eliminating a set up glitch.

Pros: Simple and logical control set up. The tuner pulls in stations in a dead zone in my residence.

Cons: It would be nice if remote controlled power on/.off on the tuner ot if the amp had a power outlet that the tuner could be plugged into. A minor issue.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha T- S500 Tunner

Keith M. from Murrieta, CA on 10/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have enjoyed using this tuner. The feature I like best is the tuning mode. Set up was simple. Finish and quality of workmanship is first rate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Perfect

SteveJ from McAllen, Tx on 8/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, great sensitivity

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Yamaha Tuner

Dale from Columbus, Ohio on 8/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AM and FM reception are both what I wanted. Tone is good.

Pros: Reception

Cons: Does not have its own remote. Amplifier remote will not turn power on or off.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Easy set up, nice unit

Spencer59 from Honolulu, Hawaii on 6/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Easy to set up right out of the box, pulls in fairly weak stations well.

Pros: Simple, easy to set up. Pulls in weak stations.

Cons: I did have to look at the instructions for presetting.....

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

yamaha ts500

Alfred H from Maugansville, MD on 5/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it looks nice and it has good sound

Pros: it pull in weak station yamaha is a good brand i am very happy with it i would by another yamaha product crutchfield is a great company

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

T-S500 AM - FM Tuner

mojo man from San Antonio, TX on 3/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have no problems with this tuner. It is simple, but that just means I do not have to be a rocker scientist to use it. I thought it was a little pricey. My wife said but the dad gum thing and we did and I am very happy that we did. There are some really good AM stations here that I like to listen too, and this tuner picks them up and they sound very good. I give this tuner all the pros and no cons. The FM reception in this city is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Good basic package but disappointing sonic performance

Boston from MA on 1/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to like this tuner. It's simple, had good sensitivity/selectivity, intuitive UI, etc. But the sound quality was way sub-par. It had a thin sound overall that lacks any sense of depth or refinement. I wasn't expecting much at this price range, but it's almost as if engineers at Yamaha forgot how to make a decent tuner. I ended up returning it.

Pros: Good sensitivity - able to pull in weak stations in Stereo better than most tuners I've tried, Good UI, Elegant styling

Cons: Disappointing sonic performance

Crutchfield response on

16 of 24 found this helpful

Basic Tuner

Eric H from Cleveland, OH on 12/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would rate this 5 stars out of 6, but a remote control is NOT included, but the TS500 will work with Yamaha remotes, and the big display does not include RDS data. So this is a very basic tuner. However, what it can do is deliver astounding FM reception and hi-fidelity with great dynamics and tremendous bass. Output is on the high side compared with other Yamaha stereo components, so you have to adjust the volume to avoid getting "blasted." In my judgement, the Yamaha TS500 compares to the Dynalab MD90 FM tuner in sensitivity, selectivity, and dynamics. However the Dynalab is 2.5 times the price of the Yamaha!

Pros: Great reception and astounding fidelity!

Cons: No remote included and no RDS display.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

BryanB from Redwood City, CA on 12/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good-sounding tuner when the transmitted signal is stong, but reception on anything but the strongest signals is far below that of my 15-year-old Yamaha TX-950 tuner using the same antenna in the same location.

Pros: With a strong signal gives good sound. Better and apparently flatter wide-range frequency response, especially highs, than the receiver tuner I compared it to.

Cons: Only works well with the strongest signals, and therefore restricts the number of stations available at my location.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500

Jim B from Richmond, Va. on 8/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this Tuner because my wife likes to listen to the radio while she' s cleaning but I listen mainly to my iPod or Lp albums. It has the same sleek look that the amp does so it complements my room. It does what it's suppose to do and the amp does the rest so my wife is happy which means I am happy!

Pros: The sleek look

Cons: Preset/Tuning knob could be a little nicer

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha T-S500 Tuner

Charles P from Ashburn VA on 1/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Yamaha tuner is much more sensitive than the tuner built into the Denon receiver that I had been using. FM reception is difficult where I live. Previously I had the receiver input set to Mono to reduce background noise. The Yamaha tuner when set at Stereo has less background noise than the receiver had when set at mono. FM reception is much better using the Yamaha T-S500 tuner, so I rate this tuner very highly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 23 found this helpful

TOP