Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay® (Black)

MFR # WX-021BL

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay® (Black)

MFR # WX-021BL

34 reviews
View this product

Great Little Speaker!

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality, great sound.Plays well with other wired speakers and no latency issues. Would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Wireless Surround. Use Fixed IP Address.

JCM from Miami, FL on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been very happy with this purchase. Speakers sound great as rear surrounds in my 5.1 system, wirelessly paired to a RX-V485 receiver. Tips: 1. Connectivity: Initially the speakers were losing their connection about once a week and resetting the connection was fidgety and tedious. Once I gave the speakers a fixed IP address using my router, the connection has been flawless. 2. Mounting: Cheap universal speaker mounts from Amazon work great. Stick on Cable concealers work great to hide the cables along the wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great wireless option!

Crutchfield customer from Ft Walton Beach, FL on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair to use as wireless surround speakers with my Yamaha receiver, very easy to setup with the MusicCast app. They sound great. Highly recommend if your options are limited to run wires for back speakers.

Pros: Easy setup with MusicCast app, great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I almost gave up on network speakers but then I found these!

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After tolerating the Denon HEOS for a couple years, I admitted defeat and bought a couple of these guys. The Crutchfield team was super helpful with my Luddite questions and I'm delighted with the product. Cooperates great with iPhone and my Mac. I control them via iOS rather than with Yamaha's app and they seem a bit happier that way. Easy to control multiple rooms, no cut outs, I'm not left scratching my head every time I press play. I'll probably pick up the Yamaha MusicCast receiver (after my next paycheck), :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Terrific Little Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little speakers are a dream -- they easily connected to my main speakers via the MusicCast app, though the initial set-up to get them onto my home WiFi was tricky (not sure why -- my phone just seemed to have trouble finding the MusicCast setup network; once I got on there was no problem). I'm using these to extend sound throughout the apartment. The main Yamaha internet receiver is in the living room, and I now have speakers in the kitchen, den, and bedroom. They synced immediately, so going from one room to the next the playback is seamless. Better yet, with the MusicCast controller and the receiver, I can play CDs or stream from almost any source and still have the sound broadcast throughout the apartment. Yamaha tech support is also great.

Pros: Decent sound, especially for their size; terrific syncing across several rooms for seamless listening experience; small size and portability makes them easy to place almost anywhere.

Cons: Somewhat tricky to get set up on WiFi initially.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 8/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressive small wireless speaker. I am using a pair for rear speakers with the Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1080 that is setup in a 5.1 system configuration and they are a perfect fit for this application. For placement flexibility I adapted the wall mounting option and placed them on speaker stands.

Pros: High quality sound in a small speaker. Easy to set-up.

Cons: The labels on top control panel are hard to read in low light.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, TX on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connects to all our devices in our home. Have in our kitchen which is central to our house. Perfect spot for adding music to get togethers or when I'm cooking I'm definitely enjoying it. Have had no issues with connecting my phones or iPads to it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Sewell, NJ on 7/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

affordable sound was better than I expected. Setup for surround took a bit, but with a little help from crutchfield, works great. Thanks for the support

Pros: surround sound with these thru my Yamaha amp, produced wonderful sound & separation.

Cons: Tricky to set up supplied instructions were insufficient. Had to get help from crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, FL on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been waiting forever to purchase these speakers therefore as soon as I received the lower in price alert from Crutchfield I purchased two. I gave the speakers a 4 star rating only because I feel a little betrayed by Yamaha. My RX-A660 does not recognize the surround /stereo function therfore I don't really get the full surround sound effect. Yes, I can use the MusicCast app to link all my Yamaha devices however it is not the same. For example sometimes when using airplay I have to pause and restart music so that all the devices are in sink with the song. On a good note, the speakers function well on their own. I would just recommend that if you are looking to purchase these speakers as a true addition to your surround stereo effect just confirm that your Yamaha receiver is on the list of "qualified receivers".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Wireless Speakers for Yahama MusicCast system!

Gene from Danville, CA on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, I love Yamaha's MusicCast platform! It took me some time to get used to it and learn most of its functionalities, but I love being able to control my Yamaha N803 receiver as well as various speakers using the MusicCast app on my iPhone or iPad through my home wireless network. We recently bought a house that had hard-wired indoor and outdoor speakers. While the indoor speakers work great, I found that the sound quality and volume level for the outdoor speakers left something to be desired. I did some research on Crutchfield and bought a pair or Bose wireless outdoor speakers and a Bluetooth extender. Once I stared configuring them, I realized that I could not use the Bluetooth speakers in the way I wanted them since MusicCast works over your home wireless network. I called Crutchfield's Tech Support and described what I needed to do and they asked if I heard of the Yamaha MusicCast speakers. I checked them out and ordered two of the WX-021 and boy am I glad I did! They are easy to connect to the MusicCast platform, put out phenomenal sound, and allow me to integrate them with the indoor wired speakers. I can also use them anywhere in the house where I don't have hard-wired speakers (garage). Thanks to Yahama for coming up with MusicCast. Also thanks to Crutchfield for great customer service (they have a no-hassle return policy which allowed be to return the Bose speakers and I got my new speakers in a couple of days). I'm a Crutchfield customer for life.

Pros: Well-built speakers, very high quality sound, very easy to connect speakers to MusicCast system, easy to link to other "rooms" in MusicCast or use them as stand-alone speakers.

Cons: I wish they were rated for outdoor use but that would be hard to do since they must be plugged in to AC power. Not an issue though as I just bring them inside when I'm done use them.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Apps Cut Out

Crutchfield customer from West Chicago, IL on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pandora and other music apps keep cutting out. Don't know if it's the speaker or the network connection. I've ordered a powerline connection, but not happy I have to spend another $100.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Timothy from Valrico, FL on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have a Yamaha receiver in the family room and a Yamaha WX-030 in the bedroom, with the addition of this WX-021in the kitchen, we now have music flowing through the entire house. I deducted one star because the Yamaha Musiccast app has some glitches, over all I love the way Yamaha helps fill the house with music..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers for surround sound system. I am hearing things in old movies that I never knew were there. Wireless with a long electrical cord I can place them wherever I want. The sound is incredible for the size of the speaker.

Pros: Pro and con. I messed something up on the app trying to set it up and the Crutchfield tech gave me a direct line to Yamaha and they were very helpful and got me straighten out.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Jim from Oak Park, CA on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great for a secondary speaker in the kitchen, so we can hear the TV / Yamaha Tuner better (via MusicCast app), without raising the overall volume louder in the family room.

Pros: Love the MusicCast app for playing audio solo in the kitchen, or simultaneously with our family room TV/Audio system, RX-A2080.

Cons: I have a Bluetooth transmitter in the room above our kitchen, so I need to toggle the transmitter on and off as needed. Otherwise, while using the bluetooth headphones upstairs for TV, it would also automatically sync to the WX-021 in the kitchen below. Certainly not a deal breaker, just took me a bit to figure this out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Purchased 2 . . . will be getting a 3rd

Sue from Gilbert, AZ on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased two WX-021 speakers (for bedroom & office) to go along with a YAS-408 soundbar and subwoofer (in family room) to complete a whole-house MusicCast speaker system. I was able to get through the setup (with the MusicCast app) without any help from customer service, but I'm pretty sure it was only because I'm an IT professional who makes a living troubleshooting. Home networks and wireless devices all have their eccentricities so setup was not as simple as the instructions would lead you to believe. However, I'm still giving 5 stars because I know the Crutchfield techs would have resolved all issues and the sound I'm getting throughout my house is BEAUTIFUL. I'm especially amazed by the blend from room-to-room; I was worried I might get some phasing, but there is none. Although the wireless speakers can be easily moved from room to room, I will probably get a 3rd speaker down the road for an additional room. All pieces of my new system were either open box or scratch & dent (to save money) and I can confirm that they are still clean and very high quality . . . no regrets in not purchasing brand new.

Pros: Beautiful full sound all by themselves Open box items are still high quality

Cons: Configuration was a little confusing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Too Shabby!

Crutchfield customer from Osteen, FL on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not Bad! Sound Quality could be a bit better for a expensive speaker. I use them as surround they sound good linked to Yamaha receiver.

Pros: Sound is decent! Works as Wireless surround!

Cons: Not all that easy to setup took multiple times to connect with app.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great space saver with good sound

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good speaker with decent sound that doesn't take up a lot of space. This is my first wireless speaker and it works well with my wired speakers. No delay either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Floyd from Chester, PA on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha did a great job on this one. Easy to set up and the sound is great for a small speaker. Can not wait to add more to my system. As always Crutchfield is the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 1/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good,but not great sound for the price. Wireless feature is terrific, as the speaker can be picked up and moved to wherever there is a power outlet in the home. Paired with the Yamaha N-303 wireless receiver I purchased, and the mobile software app MusicCast on my smart phone, I have convenient music or other audio literally at my fingertips wherever I am in my home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Blanco, TX on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding value/sound. I have 3 in different rooms and appreciate the quality of sound generated. I am now replacing a number of towers and smaller monitors with these!

Pros: Ease of installation, quality of sound.

Cons: Would prefer more bass options.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, MI on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. Super loud at a low volume

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Sound, but Music Cast has Glitches

Carlos from Fort Worth, TX on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound for wireless speaker of it's size. But no replacement for a quality wired speaker. MusicCast when it works is great. But connection issues are a pain at times. Maybe a range issue sometimes. But problems persist at close range. Hopefully software updates improve situation.

Pros: Sound quality, simple setup, clean ascetic design.

Cons: Music Cast software glitches and reception range.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Harald from Saint Louis, MO on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. easy set up with a phone.

Pros: Super sound

Cons: When using multiple speakers they sometime go out of sync, requiring a reset on the phone controls.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Williston Park, NY on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Easy setup and great app to control on smart devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Thomas from League City, TX on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound quality and very versatile

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, DE on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great piece...easy to use... Sirius access finicky

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

sounds all around

Spence from Elyria, OH on 12/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love that these expanded dimensions of sound around me, with MusicCast's current incarnation allowing me to add two as rear speakers wirelessly.

Pros: small, good looking, wall-mountable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Brookings, OR on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SMALL,BUT HIGH QUALITY SOUND

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, pounding bass.

Gerald W. from Gainesville, VA on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deep bass and has a great sound. It can really crank the tunes. It is easy to set up downloading the music cast app. I set my up with SirusXM radio and can't be happier. You can control everything from your phone or you can get an Alexa device to control it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound and nice rich bass for the size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Delivers as advertised

Bike from Houston, TX on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described, clear wireless sounds on the patio.

Pros: Works

Cons: Not weatherproof

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

Crutchfield customer from Lahaina, HI on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These small speakers have very good sound quality. I am using them in an outside room (covered deck) approx. 20' x 20' Plenty of sound with the two I purchased. I use them with a Yamaha sound bar and the music cast app., not crazy about the app as it is not really intuitive and takes time to figure it out!!! The other components from Yamaha are awesome however and Crutchfield has provided Sterling service and along the way!

Pros:

Cons: Music Cast

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 20 (WX-021)

eddie from Coral Springs, FL on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality and a great compliment to my surround sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

William from Raleigh, nc on 9/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love new tech. These things also allow a nice look.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

TOP