Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay® 2 (White)

MFR # WX-051WH

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Wireless powered speaker with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay® 2 (White)

MFR # WX-051WH

18 reviews
View this product

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from Nyack, NY on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big sound fills my kitchen. The MusicCast app that I use to link this speaker to my Living Room is a bit buggy and I often have to re-link it. The manual is very limited in explaining this gear. I am happy with the sound. I'll just have to wait for Yamaha to update the MusicCast app which is especially lame when I'm using Qobuz. Spotify is much better suited to MusicCast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice mobile speaker for whole house audio.

Crutchfield customer from Anahola, HI on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, great sound! Part of whole house audio setup using several Yamaha Amps and the MusicCast app, which so far has worked flawlessly.

Pros: Great sound, simple integration into home audio system using music cast app.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hoping for better Sound quality at this price point.

Joel from FAIRHOPE, AL on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this product too difficult to set up. Compared to a Sonos system this speaker doesn't even come close to the sound quality of Sonos or the ease of Setup. I bought it because it was bluetooth and had other connectivity options than wifi which was needed to set up on my boat. The bluetooth kept giving me problems. The app did not perform correctly. I was hoping for this price that the system would be easy to setup and have sound quality similar to SONOS but I was wrong. After playing with the system for 2 hours and consistently running into problems I decided to send it back. Crutchfield support was very good. No issue with them.

Pros: Multiple connectivity options

Cons: Poor Sound quality for the price/ Not enough base or depth. Difficult Set up

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Multicast Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Tarentum, PA on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the new speaker it sounds great. Set up was a little troublesome but nothing the Crutchfield tech guy could not walk me through. Wireless connections always seem to require a little patience to set up. I use the speaker for my kitchen and for sitting outside on my porch in the evening. Plan on getting the smaller version for my basement work shop.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Full range audio, Very pleased with tis product.

Crutchfield customer from Ramona, CA on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speaker, sound is impressive. I am now considering buying another matching speaker for Stereo sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no stranger to MusicCast devices having a mix of 7 devices prior to purchasing a WX-051. The reason for purchasing WX-051 was so I could use as a dedicated wireless rear surround when connected to Yamaha AVR (TSR-7850). As I expected, the setup was straight forward...took a matter of minutes and I was engulfed in really nice (accurately decoded) surround sound. The way Yamaha has things setup you can 'release' the WX-051 to listen as a dedicated speaker. I did listen to the WX-051 as a stand alone speaker and it has that nice clean, punchy Yamaha sound. It's definitely a step up from previous generation WX-010 and WX-030. As usual, the Crutchfield buying experience was top notch from start to finish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Secondary Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker can crank out some very good quality volume! The only reason not to give it 5 stars is that if you pair it with your wired speakers that are in the receiver, you will get a time lag if trying to listen to vinyl, or any other input sound. It works great for anything you are streaming.

Pros: Sound quality. Volume. Ease of pairing.

Cons: Lag time if using wired inputs vs streaming audio

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this in a small den (12'X12') and the sound quality is excellent. I was disappointed that even though it has two woofers and two tweeters in a side by side format they cannot be separated to serve as left and right channels. In this small room I guess I can live with it this way as the idea of placing two of these at a cost of nearly $1,000 in my room seems out of line. The biggest down side is the clumsy MusicCast app and lack of any meaningful tutorial from Yamaha.

Pros: Great sound in a an attractive small package, seems very well built and solid.

Cons: MusicCast app, which must be used to control it, is difficult to navigate in ways that seem unnecessarily complex and user unfriendly. I had hoped to use it with an optical connection as a sound bar for a TV as well as with wifi for stereo audio. Switching back and forth with the app and the inability to control the volume with the TV or Cable remote makes using it with the TV a real nuisance. If it stays here it will only be used for the stereo audio.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from Grosse Pointe, MI on 2/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. The speaker easily links to a Yamaha receiver in another room through the MusicCast app. Bass Boost function provides a deeper and fuller sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound this thing produces fills our kitchen with happiness. Love the wireless system!!! I still don't fully understand the MusicCast App, but hopefully before long I'll be 'up to snuff'.

Pros:

Cons: The MusicCast App is a little clunky. I could help them make it more user friendly!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Joe from Henderson, NV on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the sound, plus using this WX-051 in another part of the house wirelessly connected with a Yamaha MusicCast receiver provides the whole house with clean crisp sound without having to turn the volume way up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put it in my kitchen as a 3rd zone from my sound system. It has good sound and nice lows. I use it mostly for streaming Pandora from the WiFi.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Finally, a surround solution that works

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have tried EVERYTHING to get my soundbar to provide the same experience as when I had a true 5.1 wired system. I finally caved and bought this. This speaker provides enough rich rear surround sound that it's almost as good as when I had in-ceiling rear speakers. I'm very happy with with the combination of my Yamaha 400 soundbar with the subwoofer and this speaker. MusicCast is really great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, MI on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy.. sounds great and easily hooked up with music cast out on the porch. A big upgrade from our Bose Bluetooth...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from South Salem, NY on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I think the speakers sound terrific, the app to control them is very inconsistent. I put 2 in each room and it is nearly impossible to get them to work in sync as stereo without having to start from scratch and setting them up again. So every time I want to use 2 speakers in a room, I have to start over. Going to try support again to see if I can get help with the Yamaha app and speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing Speaker

Dave from East Aurora, NY on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A worthy tradition in the Yamaha line of only the best in sound. This is part of a Yamaha MusicCast system that includes the Soundbar BAR 400 (YAS-408) and a pair of MusicCast 20 speakers. After doing the initial setup using the MusicCast app on the BAR 400, it was a simple plug and play to seamlessly connect to the other components -- out of box to music was less than 5 minutes to get the MusicCast 50 speaker up and working. It is installed in our dining room and I am totally impressed and satisfied with the ability of this unit to produce true stereo quality sound. The Yamaha MusicCast system is a pleasure to work with and intuitively easy to use, whether linking and unlinking rooms, setting volumes individually or collectively, and/or individually connecting to a variety of inputs. We use Alexa, as well as the MusicCast app to control the entire system including the MusicCast 50 speaker. Only "downside" is I foresee ownership of more Yamaha MusicCast components in our near future...

Pros: > Yamaha Sound and engineering > Crutchfield advice and support > Easy of setup and intuitive control

Cons: >None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Crutchfield customer from Ooltewah, TN on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast 50 (WX-051)

Blair from Rcho Sta Marg, CA on 9/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am really enjoying this speaker. I am using it as a wireless rear surround for my home theater set-up with a compatible Yamaha receiver. I can also disconnect from the home theater and use it as a stand-alone network or Bluetooth speaker with the MusicCast app. The sound is very good and the speaker appears to be very well built. It's also a very nice looking speaker so it's even wife approved!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP