Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha WXA-50

MusicCast wireless streaming amplifier with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay®

MFR # WXA-50DS

Yamaha WXA-50

Yamaha WXA-50

MusicCast wireless streaming amplifier with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay®

MFR # WXA-50DS

34 reviews
View this product

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Lutz, FL on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful. Clean. Easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

William from Newtown Square, PA on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this amp/streamer to power my vintage Dahlquist  M-905's.  It works well with the MusicCast app and allows me to access my music library on a NAS.  The ability to access all of my music, online sources, and link other Yamaha MusicCast  speakers ( I have 3) is wonderful.  Setup was a breeze and it works flawlessly. My only issue is that the amp isn't powerful enough to really drive these old speakers at high volumes.   I will be exchanging this unit for the WXC-50 pre-amp streamer and connecting to a Denon amp.  Great unit and I would recommend for a different application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compact Amplifier for digital times

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic addition to the home office. Easily hooks up our speakers to a compact amplifier that hides well on a desk, and the airplay feature is seamless. Would highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice small factor with MusicCast connectivity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Maybe a 2and antenna.

Crutchfield customer from River Ridge, LA on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has trouble being found. MusicCast is always searching for it. But nice when connected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Choice

Crutchfield customer from Papillion, NE on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well and as described. App is intuitive and it works with all our existing music apps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really nice amp for stereo streaming!

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a small stereo amp for my home office to replace a Pioneer VSX-70 which sounded fine, but took up too much space and was overheating in the cabinet I use. After a month of use, I am loving this WXA-50. Using 2 x Martin Logan Motion 4 bookshelf speakers and a B&W powered sub. Plenty of power and sounds great. I love the app and that it has many built in streaming sources (SiriusXM, Pandora, Spotify, etc.). Very responsive with "auto on" almost instantly when I start streaming. Auto power off is nice too. Would definitely buy this again.

Pros: App is great Sound is great Very small in size for the power Great auto on/off responsiveness

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to set up and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small unit, BIG SOUND.

Hugo. S from Chicago, IL on 7/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First and foremost, I bought this unit to power my Elac UB5's speakers which are 4ohms. Power hungry bookshelf! Also the size of the amp is ideal for my set-up, I'm placing this on top my fireplace mantle, right next to my Smart tv and a conventional av receiver wouldn't fit depth wise.. I've previously had a Samsung sound bar unit, but it was old and it was time for a change. Sound is amazing when playing music, no issues in that department, Bluetooth connects with ease. The Wi-Fi and music cast feature are good to have but honestly I'm not one to use them. Well, at least for this time being. All my music I can control with the Spotify app in my phone or the app on my Samsung TV. I'm replacing this setup to be as my main music/tv/movies listening unit. I will be adding a SVS subwoofer soon to complete the listening experience. My only concern at the moment is that the unit does run a bit hot than what I expected. So try to not put anything on top of the amp if you're laying it flat. Also the try not too loose the credit size remote control. Too small for my liking.

Pros: Size, power, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth.

Cons: I HATE the remote. Too small for my taste, try not to loose it, or have your kids play with it. I wish it had a led display on the front, would make it so much easier to tell what is being used (aux, opt, Bluetooth, etc). Instead the led indicator in the front.changes color, one for each input.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Lockport, IL on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

runs very hot sound not that good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/29/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Potomac, MD on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Does just what it advertised to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice package with great iPhone App.

Crutchfield customer from Ocean City, NJ on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace two Sonos devices. One was their AMP and one a pre-amp. Sonos stopped supporting the software updates due to age so I was looking for a more up-to-date replacement. Also, the Sonos continued to have problems with the SiriusXM app and the final software update removed the ability to ply music from my iPhone. I received the Yamaha WXA-50 last week and installed it. The install was a snap and it replaced BOTH Sonos units. The apps work great. With the Amp I can control the volume via my smartphone, however, using the aux out to connect to my older Yamaha amp on zone 2 requires me to control the volume on that via the Yamaha Amp. It's not a problem as I have wall mounted volume controls for each pair of speakers and I connected the Amp output to the pair out by the pool so I can control volume via my iPhone. The other speakers are in the house so controlling volume while in the house, while not ideal, is acceptable via the wall mounted control. Because of my choice to connect the way I did, I don't have the option of selecting different music sources for each pair of speakers. Would I recommend this to you! Sure. Would I buy it again, absolutely. I may decide to purchase a second unit so I can truly control each zone independently and also have iPhone volume control for the in house speakers.

Pros: Simple install, well designed. Excellent iPhone app. Expandable with standalone speakers, other Yamaha amps, etc

Cons: Price (I wish it were a little less expensive and I would have purchased a second unit. Lack of volume control via iPhone on aux out.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great wireless little amp

Sam from Somers, CT on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this to power 2x Definitive Technology outdoor speakers (AW6500). I crank them to about 80% and the bass/clarity is great. Not sure how loud Max volume is, but i'm assuming they'd be powered enough. Does not get as warm as i'd have thought. Great if you have Musiccast devices already. (I have 7 zones)

Pros: Size Power Features Speed Case quality/build

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Matthew from Longmont, CO on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this amplifier with bookshelf speakers and a subwoofer for the desktop computer in our study. So far it's been pretty nice. I have a few other MusicCast components, so the ability to have whole-house audio is nifty (thought I don't know how often we'll use it).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Forget vintage HiFi technology today is so much better.

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Originally ordered the WXC-50 preamp but two days later my vintage Yamaha receiver(pic1) started to act up. Never took it out of the shipping carton. Called Crutchfield and requested a exchange for the WXA-50 (pic 1) no problems. Even sent the new amp by 2nd Day Air, Nice. Had trouble adding it to my MusicCast app as room 2, tech support hung in with me until it work. Turns out had to click something in settings on the iphone xs. Plenty of room filling power and drives my Fluance Signature Series bookshelf with great soundstage. I already own the Yamaha R-N803 for the living room, wanted this for the bedroom. Used the app to stream my turntable to the unit and sound was the same as the den could not tell the difference (see pic 2). Net radio, XM, Amazon music just a good as the R-N803 has the same DAC as the $750 R-N803. All I can say is buy it! and Crutchfield is the only place to purchase from! These people really want to make you happy with your purchase. They have a customer for life. When I get the bug to update the living room speakers(after my taxes are done) I know who to call. Thanks Drew for you help.

Pros: Love the form factor.Great sound. The EQ and Bass boost allow you trim sound to your liking or select between floorstanding, bookshelf, or compact speaker modes for automatic adjustments. Experiment have fun!

Cons: Only has 6 presets but you can use your phone to access more favorites. Wish it had a sleep timer.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Hendersonville, NC on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent addition to my home stereo system! Easy to connect to MusicCast and the app works very well. Nice to be able to control so much from your phone or iPad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Like it, music cast can be better tho

Crutchfield customer from Fort Washington, PA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this to power outdoor speakers. It works as advertised and was very simple to set up. The only knock is the music cast app. It works great if you use streaming services like pandora and Spotify, but Apple Music isn't well connected. You can't select multiple speakers to play the same source via the app (again with Apple Music, it does work with pandora), it must be done with a computer. Thats more of a knock on the music cast system vs Sonos than this piece of equipment. The equipment is well built, heavy and powers great sound through my polk speakers.

Pros: great sound, easy set up, well built

Cons: music cast app needs to be updated a bit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Issaquah, WA on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked it up to a pair of B&W 685 S2's which were being wasted in a cheap home theater setup and am extremely happy with the outcome. The sound is full and tight. The MusicCast app is functional enough to not need to use remote control or approach the amp. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fun little streaming integrated amp

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this little gem to the house a few weeks ago in a small office space. Configuration via the app was easy. The amp provides a clean 50w and fills a small room driving inefficient speakers. Streaming Spotify Connect and from a network server. Some problems with Spotify podcasts tagged as multimedia. The musicast app links to the upstairs AVR. It performs as advertised and is a joy to use.

Pros: Form factor & aesthetic Music Cast app Streaming functionality Clean sounding amp

Cons: Doesn't like some Spotify podcasts 50w @ 8 ohms on inefficient speakers can feel limiting No pre amp outputs (just on the WXC)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tiny but mighty

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is tiny but has a lot of power and just the right features for our tiny row house. We had tried some other proprietary wireless speakers and Roku speakers and all were inadequate in terms of sound quality. Also, you have to ONLY use proprietary equipment. This amp allows you to use the MUSICAST wireless system and connect wired speakers of your choice. We connected our Canton Karat speakers and they sound great. Note, we are more into hifi stereo than surround sound. If home theater is your thing, look elsewhere for other musiccast products. In this tiny package we can connect to WiFi, connect TV to our speakers and stream to amazing sounding speakers Through a whole house system. We have yet to encounter any distortion in sound regardless of how high the volume goes. Small size is perfect for our needs. We love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My patio is complete.....

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a neat little amp. It was relatively easy to set up and integrate into the MusicCast network. The basic setup instructions are worthless. On the Yamaha website - the advanced manual will save you a lot of headaches. I have it set up to drive a pair of Yamaha outdoor speakers on a back patio. It's not quite as "punchy" as I would have liked - but it's not reasonable to expect that type of performance in an outdoor environment. I'm quite impressed with the performance and value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Solution for Patio Music

Crutchfield customer from Grand Junction, CO on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly as specified after linking to WiFi network. Good sound. Simple control via Musicast App. We play music via Pandora since our main receiver doesn't have WiFi link. I could purchase the WXC-50 preamp to add that functionality to the main receiver, but that isn't necessary for our purpose. I couldn't get the WiFi linking procedure to work in the instructions which came with the amplifier. I downloaded the advanced manual for the amplifier which discussed using the WPS feature on the router to link the amplifier to the router. That worked flawlessly. This amplifier does generate a lot of heat. The picture showing the amplifier stacked vertically between books is not a good idea.

Pros: Great sound. Simple control via Musicast app on smartphone. Reliable.

Cons: need good ventilation for heat removal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WXA-50-a great find!

Guest from Ashburn, VA on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Yamaha Music Cast platform and network enabled receiver offerings including the WXA-50 wireless streaming amplifier have provided a solution to our recent home audio upgrades and expansion! Just perfect-the WXA-50 powers a pair of outdoor Klipsch speakers with either the same or different music sourced with the Yamaha RX-V780--all via a single app on the smart phone. Crutchfield staff was very helpful and took the time in providing the options for various whole house audio systems. Thanks!

Pros: plenty of power, compact design, streaming audio and great sound is as easy as it gets!

Cons: price, exclusive to Music Cast platform

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love MusicCast

Crutchfield customer from Allendale, MI on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. I have two I use to run my deck zone and beach zone. The main advantage is MusicCast. Perfectly synced music through the house and outside. All zones

Pros: Perfectly synced music across zones

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 7/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really awesome streaming device!

Pros: Power, size, bluetooth, multiple streaming sources

Cons: Price, limited ability for additional speakers, have tti purchase one for each area you want music.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Hollister, CA on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little unit. Easy to hook up, Connects to the network and can link easily between the units. Great component for a whole house system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

John from Concord, CA on 10/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Recently Added this amplifier tomorrow system so that I have music outside. It works really well I'm really happy with everything it works in sync with the inside receiver or you can have music throughout your house and backyard or whatever room you would like to use it In.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Bethesda Md on 4/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this little puppy is impressive. But first and very important: Ignore the mini manual provided and download the full manual which is very good and which provides several options for connecting the device to your home network. Because, as others have stated, that was problematic. But the connection options provided in the full manual solved that for me. Once connected, and you have the app up and running, the unit really shines. The sound shaping, room setup, network, Bluetooth, all are easily configurable as was the Apple Airplay output which was my biggest need. Really nice, sturdy, design to this amp. For those comparing to Bose SA5, the actual amp aesthetics, app controls and features are superior. A big concern I have is that for an amp this sophisticated, it only outputs 55 watts per channel. The Bose did 100 wpc. I have a pair of Definitive Technology 6500 high end outdoor speakers and they want power so I have to crank this amp up to get it there. Hopefully not an issue if playing for longer periods of time. But, all in all, pretty impressive.

Pros: Design, features, tiny size and overall capabilities.

Cons: Only 55 wps, Mini-manual provided is lacking, but downloadable full manual is well done.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Will not connect

Greg from Millersville, MD on 11/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought 6 of these at a very expensive price. You would think for that kind of money they would work. Tried setup, failed, failed, failed. I only tried 3 of them but none of them would connect. I spent over an hour each trying to get them to work. Major fail. I talked to Crutchfield support and they tried but nothing is working. Yamaha is totally no help. I was really looking forward to this system, now back to the drawing board.

Pros: Will not work so I don't know

Cons: Will not connect. Cant use. No sound.

Crutchfield response on 11/14/2017
Greg, we're sorry you had issues with your amplifiers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

8 of 14 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Arlington Heights, IL on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp's MusicCast system is difficult to match to home network. Written instructions not clear. After getting app installed, the source receiver and the remote amp will not sync sound, eco delay stinks. Support from Yamaha has been hard to reach with only periodic, brief e-mails that have not yet solved the issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/19/2017
We're sorry you're having issues with your amp. If the problem continues, please just reach back out to our tech support team. They can either help get it working the way it should, or possibly return it for an exchange or refund.

6 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Coronado, CA on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really enjoying this Yamaha product. Sounds great with Yamaha 8" ceiling speakers or Bose 251 speakers. Easy to connect, but instructions could be a bit more specific and detailed when adding it as a new zone and connecting to the MusicCast system. I figured it out fairly quickly though. Yamaha tech support takes many days to get any response so I'm really glad Crutchfield has friendly, good, and responsive customer and tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Ryan from Charlotte, NC on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great solution for multi-room audio and am pleased I purchased, but important to understand the limitations. Switched to wired ethernet connection after poor performance over wifi when trying to stream same source to multiple rooms. MusicCast app is mediocre and works well for linking rooms and playing some sources but problematic if you're tied into the Apple universe. Since Apple Music/Radio is protected, can't play from within app (purchased content is fine). Can use AirPlay to stream, but AirPlay is limited to connecting to one device at a time (Apple limitation). The workaround is to stream from iTunes on a mac/PC as that allows selecting multiple destinations. If you have a MusicCast enabled receiver, use AppleTV as an input to stream and the receiver will then allow you to connect to multiple streaming amps. Currently using 4 of these and will likely add more.

Pros: Easily select/link multiple rooms. Compact. Strong performance over wired ethernet connection. Far better than other solutions.

Cons: Overpriced. Mediocre MusicCast app. Limitations that you need to consider/workaround if Apple Music/Radio is your primary source.

Crutchfield response on

21 of 21 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered 4 amplifiers unfortunately one of them was not working!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 33 found this helpful

Yamaha WXA-50

Crutchfield customer from Coralville, IA on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 20 found this helpful

TOP