Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha WXC-50

MusicCast wireless streaming preamplifier with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay®

MFR # WXC-50DS

Yamaha WXC-50

Yamaha WXC-50

MusicCast wireless streaming preamplifier with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, and Apple® AirPlay®

MFR # WXC-50DS

90 reviews
View this product

WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the WXC-50 to add to my work shop system and to go with a new Aventage RX-A2A I purchased for my main home theater / music system. This thing is awesome and really breathes new life into my older gear. Until now I had been using a cheap bluetooth adapter with my work shop stereo system and this unit is a night and day difference in sound quality and obviously in overall features. I love the ease of use and the flexibility the WXC-50 offers. The adjustability and connectivity available through the Musiccast App is awesome. I will be purchasing more of these units to add Musiccast to other stereo systems throughout my home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great streaming player

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We replaced a squeeze box music player. Very happy with this new piece of equipment. We will stream music all day off of this through the music cast ap and it is good. We haven't totally dialed in everything but we plugged it in and we were listening to music in minutes. We listen to an online radio stations KEXP and KRCRW and we all think the quality is way better than the squeeze box. When the internet is spotty we also listen to the music in my itunes. No problems here either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Lake Elsinore, CA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, easy set up and link with Music cast app

Pros: Simple to set up and use

Cons: Volume control lacks denominations, which I find irritating

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Happy

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this preamp / streamer. I've been using the DAC in it and have stop using my Cambridge Dac Magic. For the money I paid I think I have a product that matches up with others costing much more. UM...Anyone looking for a DAC?

Pros: Very easy to use.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Bluffton, SC on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as prescribed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Tiny Powerhouse!

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Springs, GA on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this unit as the source for an Audiosource AD508 amp that drives four pairs of speakers around my house. The app on my mobile means I can control it from anywhere and the sources available are practically unlimited. It also can provide multiple sources simultaneously which is a great feature if my wife is watching tv in the great room (optical input) and I want to listen to Sirius, Pandora, IPhone playlist, you name it on the deck or workout room. Comes with a remote, but the app is so flexible, I've never used it.

Pros: App for mobile control Wide range of input sources available Easily configurable Small, but powerful!

Cons: Haven't found one for my needs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the money

Zach from Peoria on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money....this little guy is a decent preamp, dac, and streamer. Doesn't sound bad at all. Except its buggy. Constant access errors which prevent any control of the unit. The app is slow and clunky. Doesn't have all the popular streaming services.

Pros: Does just about everything. Compact Good sound quality

Cons: Buggy not reliable. App needs work. Missing a few streaming services.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing connectivity

Crutchfield customer from Brenham, TX on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my RV Toy hauler and it is amazing with the Russound 250 amplifier and Jamo Studio series!

Pros: Too much to write.... Outstanding product so far!

Cons: No digital readout to understand how loud you are on volume. Minimal Cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Full Connection to DM

Derek from Columbus, IN on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice network streaming solution. Spotify Connect is a big plus

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Charles City, IA on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was different to set up. The new audio items are not as user friendly as the ones from the70s. Once I got it figured out sound is clean really like it. TIM

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from FALMOUTH on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connected to a relatively old HI-FI system -Yamaha R-S7000 et al, and using it as a streamer via wi-fi, with Tidal and Spotify. The sound quality is VERY GOOD. I compared the sound quality of TIDAL streaming vs CD player using a 2020 record by Laura Marling, with a Marantz CD6004 CD player. The CD music quality was better, but to my surprise, NOT by much. TIDAL quality is slightly better than SPOTIFY. However, 'SPOTIFY connect', where one commands the music albums etc. from the SPOTIFY app, is way more streamlined than the TIDAL experience. In the TIDAL -Musiccast approach you have to use YAMAHA's competent but slightly ugly Musiccast app to search from music in TIDAL, etc. I hope TIDAL rectifies this soon, and adds Musiccast to their 'Tidal connect' services (works with SONOS, etc.). If TIDAL go this way, I may switch my music service from Spotify to Tidal. Of course you can also stream from your phone via bluetooth, or via wi-fi, and from NAS servers and so on. I gave the WXC-50 4 stars because (1) the unit takes USB storage NO larger than 32GB (FAT32 file system) and because (2) apparently, the WXC-50 does NOT support variable-rate WMA format. Other than that, this units is an excellent streamer + DAC for the cost.

Pros: Very good for the money

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great buy

Mark from Castle Rock, CO on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is a lot of flexibility in this little unit, sound is great and the price point was perfect. Has added music to new rooms in my home. Crutchfield got the unit to me quickly and I am now enjoying my love for music even more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unimpeachable!

Abe from Walnut Creek, CA on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using this preamp for a year now and not only has it performed flawlessly (once I followed the wifi directions to a tee), the sound is fantastic with all sources. I use it with bluetooth, 3.5 mm connector from tv, optical connection from my CD player. It is a perfect hub for all of these sources. The quality, interface and sound are unimpeachable for the price in my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Convenient

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, FL on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built, missing a coax digital in, app could be improved, volume control from iOS devices is only in large increments making it difficult to control.

Pros: Compact size. 12V trigger.

Cons: Missing coax digital input. App for iOS needs improvement. Long lead time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds AWESOME, but..........

Andres from Hollywood, FL on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since I only gave the Yamaha WXC-50 only 3 stars, I'd like to first start out by saying that this little guy sounds absolutely awesome. Right away I noticed a clarity in my music, and a sound stage expansion that I had been missing simply by listening to my networked files via Plex. No comparison at all, even though I was listening to the same, full CD resolution files. The WXC-50 gave new life to my system that I hadn't even known I'd been missing. For reference, I am using this connected through my Yamaha RX-A800 AVR. I am using the coax digital output from the WXC-50 into one of the coax digital inputs on my AVR. Subwoofer and analog outputs only work when the WXC-50 is set to "Preamp". Problem is that in this mode, volume is controlled by the WXC-50 *and* my AVR, leading to improperly controlled volume levels on either the main speakers or the sub! The WXC-50 uses two DAC chips - a somewhat lower quality Burr-Brown DAC, and an ESS Sabre 9006 DAC. Good luck trying to figure out which one works with what output. Both the Basic and Advanced user manuals and the Yamaha website are mum on the subject, and very vague on hook-up options. So one is left wondering which is the better mode option, Player or Preamp. Then the MusicCast app - it is SLOW and terrible even on a fast WiFi connection. It works, but is annoying to use. At this point, the sound is the only thing keeping me from returning this, and I have yet to finally decide..............

Pros: Exceptional sound. Brought new life to my system. USB is a great feature for local hi-res files. Solidly built, with excellent quality components throughout. Good option to bring older, analog, legacy Yamaha components into the modern streaming age.

Cons: Can't identify which of the two DACs serves which output, and in what mode. Subwoofer output only works in analog "Preamp" mode. Manuals are essentially useless in terms of hook-up options. MusicCast app needs much more work. It's close, and functional, but is deserving of much better attention.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

klaus from Rocklin, CA on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic product and very well made. I use it to stream SiriusXM and my Digital music library. It was very easy to hook-up and set up..

Pros:

Cons: none...

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best Streaming Pre-Amp Period

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The WXC-50 is the best Streaming preamp on the market. The MusicCast interface is extremely simple to use, aesthetically pleasing and robust with music choices. Its built really well and sleek enough to fit just about anywhere. I use a lot of these on many types of projects and the results are always the same, happy customers and no return truck rolls. I like Yamaha receivers and amplifiers to begin with but in my opinion this is the best product Yamaha has released thus far. If you are thinking about a streaming amp (WXA-50) or preamp (WXC-50) look no further. It doesn't get better than this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good DAC marred by poor MusicCast app

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, MA on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of positives including excellent sound, lots of inputs in the back, and DLNA support. Setup was very easy. However the MusicCast app experience was far from ideal. Navigating TIDAL as well as browsing music collection via DLNA was very sluggish.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sabre DAC makes this a must have for Streaming

Douglas from Clyde, NY on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Aventage 1020 with a Burr Brown DAC, a RX 481 unknown DAC, a 501 Int Amp unknown DAC, and a 803N with the Sabre DAC that is in the WXC. WXC is running to the 501 as a player via rca inputs. The 501 is running in pure direct to a set of JBL 530s, and a Yamaha 10 inch sub. The 803N is running a set of SVS ultras and a SVS PB1000 sub. The 1020, 481, and 501 have been run with the 530s at some point and the 1020 with the BB DAC is far superior to the others. The 803N with the Sabre is just crystal clear and so defined, pin drop fine. The WXC with the Sabre DAC , to the 501 to the JBLs and sub are on par with the 803N and SVSs. The WXC really handles the low end and is just clean and no coloration throughout . My 501 remote powers on the WXC, set up in 20 minutes with finding my best rca cables. Wifi is a breeze, WXC updated its firmware within first 30 minutes of use. Pandora, Sirius, Net Radio all worked smoothly through the Musicast app on my android. I cannot overstate the clarity of this Sabre being in the WXC or the 803N. It is just so clean and clear, and yes crappy recordings sound crappy. Kansas played over Pandora about 15 minutes in and it was obvious this WXC is a keeper. It resurrected my JBLs to the level of the 803N and 1020. Please compare your DACs they are not all created equal! The bass line from the Yamaha sub is the best it has ever been, the Yamaha sub now truly rolls off and sounds smooth. The only change is the WXC. Yamaha knows Music.

Pros: Sabre DAC, 501 remote turns it on and off, Musiccast App, the clarity and clean sound it produces. I was already using Musiccast with my 803N, so the WXC setup was all done from the app. I did not need or use the remote that came with the WXC.

Cons: Don't know how it operates with wireless speakers. No APTX bluetooth. But Yamahas BT antenna does, no longer in production though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from College Grove, TN on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great little media player... just getting started with it but sounds awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceeds exoectations

ed from Grand Coulee, WA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my whole-house audio. Musicast App allows control of input from anywhere in the house. Connection was fast and easy. Streaming Pandora, Spotify and music stored on my phone works great.

Pros: easy connection, stable streaming

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving my WCX-50. I have an Onkyo TX-RZ820 receiver with music apps built in, but it has consistently dropped music play in various apps. I end up having to unplug the receiver to reset the wireless music apps to get them to stream again. The Yamaha has no such issues and plays flawlessly!! I am extremely happy with the sound quality and streaming abilities. I'm running off of it's internal DAC and sending signal to my Onkyo via RCA cables. I haven't tried it using optical yet.

Pros: Streams flawlessly Great sound quality Nice size factor Can be used as a preamp with a separate outboard amp Phone app works well Remote is small, but works well

Cons: This is minor, but I lost on screen display of what's playing if the tv is on, as well as through the receiver's app. Note: This doesn't outweigh any of the positives in any way and has relieved all of the frustration of having to constantly reset my receiver!!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great system

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup. App was a little finicky to connect at first but love everything about this system. For multiple zones it works really easy to connect together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Analog Approved

Tim from SAN JOSE, CA on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 100% pure analog system that I use for listening to vinyl. I've been looking for a way to inject digital streaming playback capabilities, that would not 'contaminate' the analog path with digital processing. This unit integrated flawlessly, acting simply as a source switcher to my tube amp. Pandora sounds amazing, although an A/B comparison proves that vinyl is still king!

Pros: Simple setup, flexible installation options, nice set of features for this price point, good quality.

Cons: The buttons and indicators are a bit inscrutable. I would prefer discrete buttons for source switching, rather than a toggle. Would also love a motorized volume knob with indicator, but at this price point the basic controls serve their purposes adequately.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Streaming SiriusXM

Crutchfield customer from Rittman, OH on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this device to wirelessly stream SiriusXM from my router (in another room) to my Yamaha integrated amp. I prefer this setup to using an Echo Dot, which you cannot tell if you remembered to tell to 'stop'. The setup of the device and use of the MusicCast app on my android phone was simple. Very pleased; the device also has multiple inputs for future use.

Pros: Easy setup, good wireless streaming, future growth.

Cons: None found yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent choice for affordable hi-res streaming

Crutchfield customer from Lake Forest, IL on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very affordable option for hi-res media streaming. Very easy setup, sounds amazing. I have two small issues, one being the app (MusicCast), which needs a little refinement. The other issue is that it does not yet support Amazon Music HD. There are too few options to consider when evaluating your hi-res streaming service of choice (like Tidal and Qobuz), so why not also support Amazon Music HD?? It so happens that Amazon Music HD is the most cost effective of the three although it is somewhat limited with just how "hi-resolution" it is. Nonetheless, AmMusicHD is a very viable option which certainly should be available to the WXC-50. Those small matters aside, I still highly recommend this product!

Pros: Easy to use, easy to setup, lots of connection options

Cons: The MusicCast app needs to be tweaked. The streamer/app need to support Amazon Music HD

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Highland Park, IL on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the sound. The help I got from Crutchfield's team was outstanding. The app is working great for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

To co exist for now with Sonos

DLL from Scituate, MA on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This I purchased as it also does wi fi through a network Yamaha music cast app and has the ability to add Wireless speakers to different rooms in the house. Sonos does this and I have loved my Sonos products unfortunately as they become 5 years old or older they will become legacy devices that in time will become completely obsolete if you fail to want to participate in a trade in offer and buy new Sonos products. Yamaha is a more reliable manufacturer and they build for exceptional quality in their products. The Wxc 50 was automatically integrated to my network and it was an easy setup I did within minutes. It plays through a Yamaha 801 integrated amplifier in my set up. My Palladium 17b speakers by Klipsch are a perfect match. The Yamaha 300 CD player is a great match in my system. I can do everything I would care to do using my Apple I pod and I can listen to my Apple Music. I have Sirius and Pandora and these I can play on the music cast app and they were easy to set up. The internet radio is nice on music cast as well and if it requires a fee in time it can be done on the music cast app. The old Yamaha app still works on the network s500 receiver I have but it is harder to set up by comparison. Sonos is a great company but the products rarely go on sale and they are too expensive to become obsolete because of upgrade problems. Yamaha is my investment for the future. My Sonos app is now designated S1 so in time nothing will work anymore as no upgrades are available.??

Pros: Easy device to work with.

Cons: .None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Hendersonville, NC on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent preamp! Love that you can stream so many things so easily via MusicCast.

Pros: Easy to set up MusicCast

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

worthy upgrade to chromecast

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this as transport to replace google Chromecast audio. I knew convenience would improve but wasn't sure about sound quality improvement. Very pleased to have purchased this. Sound quality is better and I can hear more subtle sounds. Great purchase on solid product. My set up is ls50 speakers with peachtree nova150.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Forget vintage HiFi technology today is so much better.

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Originally ordered the WXC-50 preamp but two days later my vintage Yamaha receiver(pic1) started to act up. Never took it out of the shipping carton. Called Crutchfield and requested a exchange for the WXA-50 (pic 1) no problems. Even sent the new amp by 2nd Day Air, Nice. Had trouble adding it to my MusicCast app as room 2, tech support hung in with me until it worked. Turns out had to click something in settings on the iphone xs. Plenty of room filling power and drives my Fluance Signature Series bookshelf speakers with great soundstage. I already own the Yamaha R-N803 for the living room, wanted this for the bedroom. Used the app to stream my turntable to the unit and sound was the same as the den could not tell the difference (see pic 2). Net radio, XM, Amazon music just a good as the R-N803 has the same DAC as the $750 R-N803. All I can say is buy it! and Crutchfield is the only place to purchase from! These people really want to make you happy with your purchase. They have a customer for life. When I get the bug to update the living room speakers(after my taxes are done) I know who to call. Thanks Drew for you help.

Pros: Love the form factor. The EQ allows you to trim high, mid, and low frequencies to your liking. Or choose between floorstanding, bookshelf, or compact speaker to adjust sound automatically.

Cons: Only six presets available, but you can use the app to add more favorites. The only other con; I wish it had a sleep timer. Oh and spending too much time in mornings in bed listening to tunes. Makes me lazy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Nsilo from Miami, FL on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the bluetooth and wifi functionality, volume control is a little whacky and the remote is a little small, but I am able to control the volume with my samsung TV remote and the app, added a much needed modern element to my existing sound system, worked great with bose 901 equalizer and amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrade older music system

Guest from Reseda, CA on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was amazed the sound of this relatively inexpensive unit to update my audio system with streaming music. I download music from iTunes and airplay to the WXC-50. I found that using the pre-amp into my Lexicon amp did not sound that great. Using the digital out to my B&K preamp sounded great. It was comparable to using my Arcam CD player. Have Vienna Acoustic Mozart speakers. I had experimented with MP3 players previously and the sound was very poor. Again the WXC-50 with airplay just amazes me. Have yet to try streaming directly from Apple Music. If you have an older audio system you want to upgrade to digital, the WXC-50 is a good way to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Adequate, but needs work. Best for network streaming

Omar from Jamaica, NY on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a network streamer, it's solid, but it needs work. When navigating the server, THERE'S NO SEARCH! Every time you want to play an album/track you MUST traverse through artist and album. Several panes need simple (but serious) organizational restructuring. Also, there's a *very noticeable hum* when using the optical input at higher volumes (just past 9 o'clock) that isn't present when you bypass the preamp. Lastly, built-in DAC on my CD player actually sounds better, though not by much. The convenience of this streamer outweighs the slightly better sound of my CD transport. I accidentally casted a video file to it, and it crashed the device. I had to restart everything (server, musicCast app, preamp) to get it functioning again. DON'T DO THIS! Overall, this is good if you want an AIO solution without having to tinker too much.

Pros: Simple Setup. Multiple inputs (aux, optical, network, usb storage, bluetooth). Cast from any dlna device including windows media player. Net radio feature REALLY makes free high quality streaming a viable option (you may find you use it more than pay services).

Cons: Doesn't read external playlists, only those saved in MusicCast controller app. Optical input generates hum.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from New City, NY on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This preamp delivers big time, I'm extremely happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great product but may be difficult to set-up

Crutchfield customer from Old Lyme, CT on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once set-up, the product is 5 stars. The set-up looks simple but the directions are lacking. After spending several hours on my own, I finally called Yamaha support, The support person was wonderful and obviously was very experienced.. She even admitted, however, that as simple as the set-up looks, it can be tricky as one small mis-step can cause failure. It took the two of us 45 minutes retrying many times until success. As long as one is aware of the possibility of set-up difficulty, I strongly recommend this product. Fortunately, once set-up, there should be no reason to repeat it ever again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good addition to a stero system.

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my stereo system after seeing one at a friend's house. It was easy set up, connect and iPad to and enjoy music through the internet. I use Spotify which works great. And now I get reasonably high fidelity music over the internet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Lacking support for ROON

Jack H from San Diego, CA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha has already abandoned SW upgrades for this unit. I inquired with them about support for ROON as a ROON endpoint and they do not support and have no plans for support. That is a show stopper for me. The Musicast app for library management is buggy at best, and ROON has become the premier solution for library and streaming management. I invested in two of these units and have already replaced one with a Google Chromecast Audio that has superior audio performance and is supported as a ROON endpoint. Disappointed in Yamaha.

Pros: Has subwoofer output, but no crossover frequency control

Cons: No ROON support, Musicast SW is buggy.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 11 found this helpful

Fits the bill!

Crutchfield customer from Allen Park, MI on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used with Spotify via my I phone through bluetooth and works great! This preamp is connected to a 150 Watt per channel Emotiva amp and sounds awesome!

Pros: Small, but poweful!

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did not "break the bank" and works well

Jerald from North Salt Lake, UT on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this item to pair with my Luxman R-115 stereo receiver circa 1987. The Luxman R-115 is now used in my office at work. The Luxman only has RCA inputs so, I needed a device that would accept a USB drive for my digital tunes but output to RCA connections. I wanted something for this application that would not break the bank. The Yamaha WXC-50 fit the bill. I have 70 GB of tunes on a flash drive. I run the output directly to the amplifier section of the Luxman. I like the sound I get through my Vandersteen Model 1b's (the Luxman was always sweet sounding). I use the MultiCast app on my phone or through the Web interface. The MultiCast is functional but has the same limitations as similar apps (HEOS). I want to play music by genre, year, and artist. These apps limit you to just playing an album, song, or playlist. Build quality is top notch. For the price it is hard to beat.

Pros: Does what I need it to do but will do tons more. Really solid build quality

Cons: Would love a better app or WEB app. Flash drive needs to plug directly in the unit with no extension wire.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good net player

Crutchfield customer from Cullman, AL on 8/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm still learning about this net player, but so far it's exceeded my expectations. I bought to interface with my iTunes library to play over the stereo. Easy setup, although documentation could be better. Multiple methods of connecting to your network. Rock solid network connection, without a single drop. Pretty impressive that!. The sound is far superior to Apple TV (2nd gen). I've not really put it to other uses. The phone app is rock solid as well and controls the player. Once it's turned on and connected though I use iTunes to select songs. I'm very pleased with this and have to say it has accomplished all I wanted.

Pros: Easy set up, solid net connection, great app control, far superior sound quality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth The Money

Brent from Boca Raton, FL on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If set up property, this unit does not disappoint.

Pros: Price Size Sound App

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MD on 5/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great compliment to my Yamaha amp, this allows me to add bluetooth and wifi to my 35 year old amp.

Pros: Almost every sort of connection is available.

Cons: Cell phone required to get the full potential.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Sugar Land, TX on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I need a device to add to my stereo HIFI system to bridge music stored in my NAS server, also to serve as AtoD converter, to covert my cassette deck analog output to digital. This WXC fits all my need.

Pros: Easy to set up. Integrate into existing HIFI and NAS server without any problem. MultiCASTing with my living stereo system, which has Yamaha Receiver, works nicely.

Cons: Build quality can be better. Only one Analog RCA input.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Allen from Plano, TX on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased 2 of these, one for the living room and one for the outside speakers in the pool area so I could stream with Spotify Connect and play both zones at the same time. I was previously using a Mac Mini in the living room and using the USB out to a very nice DAC that also uses a ESS Sabre DAC chip. I already had a couple of good Class D amps to power the speakers. The wife and I both think the Yamaha WXC-50 sounds substantially better. After reading reviews of some folks having connectivity problems with the WIFI connection I decided to use a ethernet bridge to hardwire at both locations which is working great. The set up with the MusicCast app went very well as did the firmware upgrade. Then adding the second device was even easier. I connected with Spotify, Pandora and Tidal and all are working very well. I cannot comment on Airplay, Bluetooth or connecting to a server as I have no use or want to do so. I was looking at this unit and a Sonos Connect and decided on the Yamaha due to connectivity inputs and outputs and also the excellent reviews about sound quality. I am very pleased with the MusicCast system, the app, and would recommend it to anybody as a music streaming option and multi zone playback.

Pros: Connectivity and sound quality.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very hard to connect. Still haven't been able to connect to the WiFI. Two calls to tech support have helped a bit but still no dice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Solved a big problem. Great product.

Rob from Marina on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm going to describe myself audio-wise ONLY to help qualify my review and why I bought this. Rig: NAD 356bee, KEF ls50s, technics sl1200, Pro-Ject DS CD box. I subscribed to Apple Music 2 years ago, and use a dedicated iPod with a cheap HDMI audio extractor box, Apple HDMI converter, and toslink optical to get the digital signal around the iPod DAC and into the amp. Crystal clear... but a complete pain because if I want to surf music I have to stand by the rig. Purchased the Yamaha WXC on an impulse to see what it sounded like acting like an expensive antenna for Bluetooth from the iPod so I could take the iPod to the couch. Oh man. What a surprise! It is so much more. Wish I knew sooner. I read the advanced manual available on Yamaha site and got quasi familiar with set up before it arrived. No issues. Rig is 20 feet from a Comcast router through two 1930s stucco walls with no issues. The set up took about 30 minutes, and the manual is well written. Here's the kicker and what I didn't recognize before I set it up: Now when I play Apple Music from that iPod or phone from anywhere in the house and set the Yamaha as the Airplay destination (that I connected to Amp via toslink), the streaming signal to the WXC never passes through the iPod, rather it comes straight from the router! How do I know? I turned off Bluetooth... resulting sound is equal to the HDMI extraction method. A-B tests between streaming and CD reveals CD is superior, but not enough s

Pros: Signal quality and sonic integrity to the amp is flawless via toslink. Internal AC Power supply Well written manual

Cons: Wish the standby light wasn't red... (had to pick on something)...

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Summit, NJ on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit did not retain WiFi connections despite being physically close to Router. Instruction booklet that comes with unit is hopelessly incomplete and skips required steps. App downloaded similarly is incomplete but also contains steps that never are prompted or occur. Yamaha customer support involves lengthy phone queues, multiple cut offs, resulting in hours on the phone and multiple days. When finally got through to Rep he indicated he knew nothing about unit and would have another call back. No call back that day, and no time given for call back ( you have to be with:unit when called) . Rep insisted steps were mentioned in manual but later revealed that he was referring to an online manual, not what is in fact provided with the product. Ridiculous and insulting; unit returned

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/11/2019
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience with Tech Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it. He contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

9 of 10 found this helpful

Not Worth the Money

Craig from Oklahoma on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lost the ability to connect via WiFi within the first week. An inexpensive pre-amp but I expected better performance. Would not recommend this unless its a budget decision. Very disappointed. Returned and picked up the Cambridge AZUR 851D. Great pre-amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Wifi Implementation is Poor

Darren from Jackson, MS on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a nightmare to set up. I think the problems can be contributed to my Asus AC3100 router though. I replaced my Asus router with a Netgear Nighthawk X6 R8000. That solved my problems. But, it cost me an extra $275. Yamaha couldn't help me figure out how to get the Asus router working with it. To be fair, I had a Sonos Connect before the Yamaha and it had similar issues. That's how I ended up with the Yamaha. It spent about 2 weeks of back and forth with Yamaha support and they didn't really solve my problem. I've read a lot of reviews of other people having wifi issues. I wonder if they were using Asus, too. Before changing the router, the only way I could get it to work at all was to plug it into the network and use the iPhone app. I configured it with a static IP. Then, unplugged it from the network and went back to wifi. At that point, I could log into the IP with a browser and access it, sometimes. I noticed that anytime I changed my wifi settings on the router, the router would restart services. That would get the WXC-50 working temporarily. Once I got it working, it seems to work well. But, now that changing routers fixed the Yamaha issues, I'm thinking about switching back to the Sonos because I liked the iOS app better. The Yamaha app is missing one significant feature, you cannot slide a marker to fast forward and rewind a song.

Pros: Seems to work okay now

Cons: Wifi is glitchy, maybe not compatible with Asus (but neither is Asus) so could have been a setting that neither Yamaha nor Sonos could help identify. Had to replace with Netgear router at a significant cost

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

very pleased

marc from Brooklyn, NY on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy set up, great sound, very pleased.

Pros: look, set up, sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

greg from Weaverville, NC on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had good experiences with Yamaha products and the WXC is no exception. solid performance and a wide variety of ways to access music. i chose this product as part of a whole house wired audio system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Wixom, MI on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Compact and Versatile

Bob from Olympia, WA on 10/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little unit is a Swiss Army Knife for small audio systems! Well made and sounds great. It networks to my main Yamaha system but that isn't necessary. It makes a nice stand alone system too. I can control it with my laptop, iPhone, or the included remote. If the specifications fit your needs, what's not to like? Just add powered speakers and the Internet. Yamaha suggests hard wiring the audio and using an Ethernet cable for CD quality or higher. One reason I bought the WXC-50 is to try some Very High Definition audio files so my system is hard wired. For the best sound be sure to read the advanced owner's manual and turn off everything you don't need. I listen to the WXC-50 on a pair of Neumann Active DSP studio monitors.

Pros: Very well made; ADC, DAC, and DSP sound very fine.

Cons: Needs the app for full control; system should be hard wired for top performance.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from High Falls, NY on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific device. Setting up the app. was a little wonky, but once done, the WXC-50 works great (I'm using it with Spotify) and sounds great through my Pioneer 1050. Highly recommended intro to music streaming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Tc from Lake Hiawatha, NJ on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Optical input not working

Pros: Sounds ok

Cons: Optical input not working. Will send it back

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Bordentown, NJ on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent online streaming device. Tried the HEOS but was disappointed. Apps works great and as it should. I highly recommended this to anyone streaming online.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rekindled my love for music

Warren H from Houston, TX on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little gadget has me using my audio equipment much more. Easily connects music sources wireless over wifi to my hard wired NAD integrated amp and speakers. Can now use my phone to direct music from iTunes, pandora, and other sources. Love this gizmo.

Pros: Wirelessly receives music sources over wifi to my older stereo system

Cons: Not vinyl quality, but close enough

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Junk

James from Everett, WA on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Complete garbage. With IOS, WIFI setup does not work. If you think this will work with WIFI, forget it. It won't. If you have a hardwired ethernet connection, great - it will work. Otherwise, don't bother.

Pros: Works good if you are hardwired

Cons: WIFI is advertised, but their product development is completely incompetent in this area. Read the features. Where it says WIFI ignore it. There is no WIFI built into this product that works.

Crutchfield response on 6/5/2018
James, we're sorry you're disappointed with your pre-amp. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

5 of 30 found this helpful

Get this NOW!

Evan from Parma, OH on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivers as promised. The DAC is outstanding. Volume control is extremely precise. If you want incredible sound without breaking the bank, this is the pre-amp for you! No complaints whatsoever!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, GA on 4/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well and integrated no problems into my MusicCast house. Love MusicCast. Using this with and old B&W Zeppelin that I had and was not using and it gave music to my shop! Seems like great quality but still might be priced a bit high.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Brings Together Old and New Technology

Don from Austin, TX on 4/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Yamaha WXC-50 to expand my listening options and have been using it for almost two weeks. I have a vintage Pioneer SX-950 receiver and do not want or need a home theatre setup. Mainly just listen to music in various forms from LPs to CDs, to FM radio, to Internet Radio, to stored music on my iPhone and iPad. The Yamaha did exactly what I needed it to do-allow me to listen to Internet Radio stations directly, and stream music to it via the music library on my iPad and iPhone. I have not used the DAC in the Yamaha to convert a CD digital signal via a CD transport to analog so that my Pioneer could "broadcast" the signal but I suspect it will perform excellently. You do need to download the Yamaha MusicCast app to set up the Yamaha WXC but that was easily done after locating the app on the App Store. Setup of the Yamaha was super easy if you follow the instructions in the App. This device is a space saver as you can use the included stands to prop the Yamaha on its side. It wirelessly hooks up to your WiFi signal in your house and this was easily accomplished again by following the instructions provided by the MusicCast App. This device is Bluetooth capable so that you can sync up your Bluetooth-enabled device and sent music to the Yamaha if you prefer. Anyway, I give the Yamaha WXC-50 five stars because it and the MusicCast App work very well and allow old vintage technology to work with new technology bringing together the benefits of both worlds. Recommend!!

Pros: Easy Setup with MusicCast App WiFi Capable with wired capability Bluetooth Capable

Cons: None except maybe the price

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Tube power amps using digital frontend

RJ from Jackson, NH on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I built two 60 watt mono block tube power amps as a foundation for a vintage 2 channel audio system. My goal is to mix old and new technology, tube power amp driven by a digital front end. I plan to use ported speakers that are yet to be designed and built. I connect my current speakers which is a ported box with 2 - 12" drivers and one compression horn. The WXC-50 is connected to my mono blocks using TARA cables. Using the "basic" WXC-50 manual, I followed the set up procedure. I used a IPhone for my music source, the sound quality was poor. I suspected equalization/compression was being applied to the signal path. I then down loaded the "advanced" WXC-50 manual and turned off many features that colored the source material. The system came to life after making the configuration changes. I would recommend this preamp if you are comfortable using a device with many programmable features. The networking functionality is slick and reliable, and the enclosure is well constructed.

Pros: Good network functionality Reliable source connection

Cons: Need to use advanced features to get the performance output from the device.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from N Plainfield, NJ on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not very impressed. Maybe it's the app that you have to download. The app is very frustrating to use on my phone. It works better if you're right next to the machine.

Pros:

Cons: The app that goes with it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Top quality all around, look, feel and sound

Carlos from Arlington, TX on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We were lucky enough to buy a 50 year old house that was built with audiophile 8" 2-way stereo cabinet speakers in every room. So we were not looking for a way to control wireless speakers. Our goal was to integrate the convenience 2017 WiFi technology with 16 great sounding old school cabinet speakers (actually all 16 speakers needed full restoration before they sounded great again). The WXC-50 provides the preamp for a 16 channel Russound amplifier along with acting as a source for streaming services and internet radio. Turned out our favorite radio stations were also available in the internet, so we don't miss not having a tuner. The WXC-50 also serves as a hub for inputs from the TV room Yamaha integrated amp which is hooked to the CD player, tape player and turntable. The simplicity and ease the WXC-50 and the Musiccast app provides for controlling volume, source and selecting music has increased our music listening four fold. The WXC-50 may be good for controlling wireless speakers, we will never know. But it also is a great way to bring an existing wired home system into the 21st century.

Pros: Great Yamaha quality Musiccast simple user friendly interface Equipped with broad array of input and output connections

Cons: Only one which is very, very minor. Source input indicated by a single LED that changes color. Requires remembering which source is which color. But we use the app 99% of the time anyway. Un

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely floored by the sound quality. This was to replace the dac in an Airport Express and at the same time take over AirPlay duties from Apple Music on an iPad. Using the WXC-50 set to Player mode, the difference in SQ compared to the Airport is stunning. Bass runs deeper, midrange more pronounced and high end detail is sparkling. Overall the sound is fuller and the presentation and soundstage wider and more realistic. WiFi and AirPlay connection has been flawless and the MusicCast app does well enough although I really only use it for set up since Apple Music doesn't run natively in the app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50 MusicCast wireless

Guest from Brooklyn, NY on 1/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would love to give this receiver and system a three, but I just can't. It sounds all right and when it works, it's great to be able to play CDs, vinyl, MP3s, anything over analog and digital speakers (The digital speakers have to be Yamaha MusicCast speakers.) The problem, I think, is the MusicCast software. It is flukey. Often, to get the speakers to work, you have to fiddle with the software on your phone, reconnect to wifi or re-link to the speakers. I was just listening to music from my computer over a Anker Bluetooth device. I was also able to turn on my MusicCast system and play music in the rest of the house. I was disturbing my wife so I turned it off. but later I went to play music over my Anker and the MusicCast speakers came on and I was not able to turn them off. This is just one small example. It is not simple. You cannot just turn it on an off. There is always something that needs fiddling with and it's not always the same thing. The worse thing, though, is that the speakers stutter when the wifi router hops channels, which can be frequently. Even worse, and more baffling, is the stutter continues when the digital speakers are turned off and only the analog speakers are on. Perhaps something to do with the receiver acting as a wife/bluetooth streaming portal/controller? Who know, but it very annoying, and makes me considering going back to clean, simple, clear analog sound until the digital bugs are worked out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, KS on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Currently using this to stream music thru my Yamaha A-S801. Works perfect so far. Breeze to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good function/sound for the $$

Jeff from Cincinnati, OH on 11/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm owned the unit for about a month. I do not have any other MusicCast speakers other than my main until so this has been primarily used as a network player/audio only distributor. I did use the pre-amp function briefly as it only outputs to the sub on that mode but switched back to network player. I have the unit hooked into the "external decoder" input on my almost 20 year old Yamaha 5.1 AVR. My previous set-up was a 2nd gen apple TV through the optical in on my AVR and using airplay for everything. The sound is a fantastic improvement over the audio processing in my AVR, particularly in the DAC. I also like how the ability to play multiple avenues of music (pandora, spotify connect, music on my iphone) can be done quickly and in few steps. The sound quality is also better than my previous AirPlay via ATV option. The MusicCast app, while generally functional and well developed, is not without its quirks. Often, the app will freeze when switching pandora stations and/or some stations will not load. I also wish the "my music" function had search capability so I did not have to scroll incessantly to get to a certain album. The remote helps offset some of these quirks but it is not high quality so I question its durability over time. Given the focus on the app, it is not surprising that the remote is the way it is. I also wish I could get subwoofer out on the network player mode, but again, understand why. Overall, I am happy with the unit given the price

Pros: - MusicCast app is (generally) user friendly - ESS Sabre DAC sounds good (for the money) - Wireless works well - few, if any, dropouts.

Cons: - MusicCast app isn't perfect from a function/stability standpoint - User guide leaves some key pieces out (i.e lack of subwoofer output on network player mode) - Remote seems low grade as compared to the main unit

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Works Great. Set up a little frustrating

Mike from Culver City, CA on 11/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All is great, but set up was a bit frustrating. Even if the weakest network in my house is always listed, I now realize no matter what network is listed, it will automatically change to the nearest (strongest) network (if you have more than one network and if you move the unit). Wasn't the best when it comes to intuitive set up, but once I got it working, all is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Very nice and easy to use with the phone app.

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 9/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice and easy to use with the phone app. Was a little hard to set up on the network but figured it out and works very well now. I use it to connect my living room Yamaha receiver with my vintage Sansui 9090DB in the library. I am able to play in both directions. This allows me to play audio (USB, TV, RUKU, etc.) from the living room to the library and also allows me to play records from the library to the rest of the house. Everything sounds very good in both directions. The App is very easy to use with the exception of trying to change albums, that took a little getting used to but is fine now. Just a learning curve. I can't give this unit 5 stars just because of the price. Other then the price it is a wonderful unit and I highly recommend it.

Pros: Ease of use. The app makes it very easy to use. Input/Output options are very nice. USB port for adding WAV (and MP3 if you must) files to your vintage system.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great streaming preamp

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, CA on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great streaming pre-amp. Sounds killer with my Odyssey Stratos amp and Klipsch Chorus II speakers. MusicCast works well too. Only issue I have is that it seems to lose contact with my router when turned off and back on again. I have to unplug it and plug t back in and then it will reconnect. No other device I have on the network has this issue. I plan to hardwire it using Ethernet soon, which should fix the issue of course. But over all it's a great preamp and I'm very happy with it.

Pros: Small Looks and sounds great Easy set up and use

Cons: Loses contact with router

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect Modern Pre-Amp for our Digital Age

Crutchfield customer from Warrenton, VA on 7/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

PERFECT little pre-amp, that I didn't even know I wanted. HAHAHA! Trying to use some older (Luxman RX102) receiver to cobble together a simple living room analog system with my 20+ years old Adcom amplifier, Adcom 5-disc CD changer and a pair of 25+ years old B&W Matrix 803 floor standing speakers. Only to find out the receiver was kaput! When I went searching on the web for pre-amps, this caught my eye as my HT system uses a Yamaha HT Receiver, that I can control certain audio functions w/the Yamaha app from my iPhone 6, so I was familiar with using an app to control the receiver. Well, (duh, why didn't I think of accommodating this source of music?!) most of current music is on the iPhone, plus Pandora and other sources. This pre-amp offered the pre-outs for not only the amp to power the two floor speakers but also another RCA port for an unused B&W subwoofer, and the unit is controlled via the cell phone thru the new MusicCast platform/app. This key piece of the system just makes my music so available. Looking forward to possibly buying some self-powered speakers for other parts of the house that use the MuiscCast platform.

Pros: All the elements and ports you need, small powerful package, good antenna, great sound quality and flexibility,

Cons: None really - have to get used to controlling the unit with the app on your phone and recall the different colored lights for which music source is playing.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50; so far so good

Roberto from Atlanta, GA on 7/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not an audiophile, but trying. Small attractive box and very simple to set up. Currently set up wireless in home network and hardwired via optical to my NAD integrated amp's on board DAC (C375beeDAC). Sound is much better via optical than analog connection. Currently using it in direct mode as a player. Have not tried Sonos, so can't compare. Via USB drive it can play a variety of files (Wav, AFLAC, Apple lossless) but you can not copy playlists and play iTunes playlists from USB. You have to create your own playlist in MusicCast. The app is solid, easy to use but the implementation of Pandora is weak; at least at this point I have not figured how to enter artist name (have not tried Spotify yet). Only had it for two weeks.

Pros: Small, solid build, easy to set up, lots of connection options.

Cons: Can only Airplay iTunes from laptop; no direct interface with iTunes. Pandora's implementation through MusicCast very weak; a lot of mobile app's features missing. The screw-in antenna connection is flimsy, antenna will slide sideways at the most minor touch.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great digital pre-amp

Ivan from Hialeah, FL on 6/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easily connected the WXC-50 directly to a NAD power amplifier and noticed a sound quality improvement when listening to Spotify. Now it goes directly from digital via wifi to the amplification. It is great that now I can control the volume directly from remote OR phone when using Spotify Connect. Easy to connect and setup. Remote is very small but does the work. It would be great if it was a RF remote. MusicCast is easy to setup and use with lots of features. But I mostly go directly to Spotify because I'm not using other rooms. Very nice look and feel. Much better than similar products. And also more inputs than other. Very satisfied with the purchase.

Pros: Features, inputs, interface with Spotify Connect, looks

Cons: Small remote, need to point directly to device for control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Gary E. from Winchester, VA on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all I just want to thank my advisor ( Rusty). I have been a long time customer and always been satisfied with all my purchases. I have been driving four Definitive AW-6500 with a Onkyo TX 8555. This year I wanted to go remote with more power by my pool. After talking to Rusty he recommended Yamaha WXC-50DS, Niles WVC 100E, and a Crown XLS 1002. I couldn't be happier with this purchase. I would highly recommend these products, I have more than enough power and it is very clear. Once again I just want to thank Crutchfield and my advisor (Rusty) .

Pros: Excellent product

Cons: I have no cons !!!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Chad from Las Vegas, NV on 4/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was initially stuck between Yamaha musiccast and Sonos. I went with Yamaha and have no regrets. I now have musiccast in three rooms and love it. This little pre-amp is great. I use it mostly for streaming pandora and listing to WAV files. Controlling with the app is very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crystal clear audio

P.A. from Eden Prairie, MN on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW - This little guy really added amazing audio performance to my sound system! Added the WXC-50 as component to stream Spotify and other internet music in a dedicated closed audio system. Easy setup and logical controls. Hooked it up to my old Bryston SP1.7 pre-amp/processor using the coaxial connection. Power to Martin Logan speakers provided thru a Bryson SP7 amp. The music room is really rocking with the crystal clear digital sound provided by the WXC-50!!

Pros: Easy set-up Great audio Digital outputs Small footprint

Cons: It's not free

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Connect anything and everything

Jim from Cherry Hill, NJ on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great way to add wireless capabilities to your existing equipment. I decided to get into the multi-room music game with my new home starting with this piece. I saved myself hundreds of dollars (which is spent on this) on the purchase of a Martin Logan sound bar. I bought the dumb version with this device in mind. Not only does it allow me to add wireless to the soundbar but I can also broadcast my tv through out the house as well as anything else I send through it. That's the huuuge plus on this device; connectivity out the you know what. Analog, digital, wifi, Bluetooth, Ethernet. Options galore making this a permanent addition to my equipment for a long long time to come. I also added the WC-30 speaker and everything plays very well together through the strong MusicCast app. Looking forward to buying the amp and another speaker to expand my system someday.

Pros: Connections galore Strong app Plays well with other devices

Cons: None yet except interference with baby monitor that uses 2.4 frequency as well.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Versatile streaming applicance

David from New Orleans, LA on 2/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been searching for the right streaming audio appliance, and I think I've found it in the Yamaha WXC-50. My main use for the WXC-50 is to stream Spotify Connect into my main system, which features a McIntosh tube preamp and a McIntosh solid-state power amp for the living room speakers. The Mac preamp feeds an old NAD receiver for a second zone on my porch. I'm impressed with how much better Spotify Connect sounds on the Yamaha as compared to using bluetooth to get the signal from my phone to the stereo via AirPlay and Airport Express. I am not yet using MultiCast to put sound in multiple rooms, but I will probably add a powered speaker or two.

Pros: Easy to get Spotify Connect up and running on my home system Clean Yamaha design with many features yet to discover

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

If you love music you're gonna love the WXC50

Scotrider from Bloomington, IN on 2/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit after looking for a music steamer for over a year. Most of the products in this area are high end with prices starting at $1k and going up and the reviews on them have something in common, i.e. they have buggy software or they only use Bluetooth for wireless streaming. I wanted a wifi connection (and it works great). I read some of the reviews on MusicCast and frankly they weren't good and as a result I delayed my purchase as I associated MusicCast with Onkyo's remote software (which is basically useless). With Crutchfield's guarantee I decided to try it. Should have purchased sooner, I haven't had ANY issues with MusicCast. The unit was easy to set up, the included manual says it is for basic setup and it isn't kidding, nevertheless it was enough to get things working. An 'advanced' manual is available on line. I use it with Spotify, SiriusXM, and my Mac based music library no problem, connected to my Rotel RA1570 integrated amp with an optical input. Sounds great to me. I was helped with an online chat as Airplay is used to connect to my Mac and I have had problems with this software in the past. He looked up some alternative software at modest cost for download if I had issues. Good news is Airplay has worked perfectly...that in itself tells me the product is exceptional.

Pros: Works flawlessly.

Cons: You need to look at your music source on most apps to see what is playing, really a nit not a Con.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great connectivity for a stereo setup

Nathan from Longmont, CO on 2/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because I was looking for a way to get more inputs and remote volume control for my stereo hi fi setup. I have two JBL LSR32 studio monitors powered by a Hafler amp and two powered subwoofers, one stack on each side of the TV. I didn't want a 5.1 amp, and all the integrated amplifiers either didn't push enough power or do not have the fidelity of the Hafler. The WXC-50 fit the bill perfectly. I use the optical input for my Blu-Ray player and the analog inputs for my streaming services. The app works very well for volume control, and it can be controlled by anyone with the app which is nice if someone leaves or falls asleep anyone else can mute or change volume. I also use Spotify a lot with this setup, it's nicer than going in bluetooth and you aren't limited by range (at least within the house). No annoying drop-outs that you get with bluetooth either.

Pros: Great App Spotify Connect works awesome Subwoofer out is adjustable from App

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It really works!

Gary from Rochester, NY on 2/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have alot of HD tracks on my computer. I kept trying to figure out a relative simple way of playing them on my stereo system. Up until I bought the WXC-50, the only way I could figure out how to play them was to burn the files to a DVD, and then play them on my Blu-Ray player. I have been a Sonos user for around 4 years now. Sonos does not recognize these large files. The WXC-50 works great with these large files. I couldn't be happier with it!

Pros:

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Really versatile heart of my system

Scott from Minneapolis, MN on 1/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My listening habits and music sources have changed over the past 50 years, so I traded my old big heavy high-end stereo for modern powered speakers and this unit. The size makes it less intrusive in the space and it looks sharp, too. It was a little awkward to get all the parts talking over wifi, but since then it's been great. Sound quality is better than I hoped and stability has been very solid (apple tv gathering dust because of dropout issues). I can stream from my office Mac and iPhone plus plug my laptop and standalone DAC and CD player directly in the aux and optical ports. Considering adding a second unit in the exercise room to expand capacity. There are a ton of ports, although with only one aux (RCA) input, this won't suffice as a traditional pre-amp. I was plugging and unplugging the phone and DAC at first, but have since gotten used to using wireless for the phone. Spotify and Pandora play easily with the phone app. Very satisfied.

Pros: Flexibility Quality Appearance

Cons: Only one RCA input

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome... with one exception

Joel from Phoenix, AZ on 1/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this product in general. I felt compelled to take one star off my rating because I have not been able to figure out a way to connect to my iTunes library on my iMac to date, other than by manually connecting from the iMac via AirPlay to the Yamaha. But Spotify, Pandora, and AirPlay are all phenomenal. I am extremely satisfied with the quality and functionality of this music streaming device, but connecting it to my iTunes library so I can select my existing playlists and search through my own music was the main reason I bought the device. The product manual does not get into much detail, and maybe I am just too new to this to make it work. Hoping for a simple solution that will take this up to 5 stars!

Pros: Excellent price, high quality construction, does what it does very well

Cons: Connecting directly to my existing music files on my iMac has not been as simple as I had anticipated/hoped

Crutchfield response on 1/25/2017
Joel, whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get this working the way it should! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Product somewhat misrepresented

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 1/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the unit so that I could expand my present stereo system to other rooms without wires. I purchased a couple of wireless bluetooth speakers for the expansion, but found that it was not a simple project for a non-professional like myself. I explained my plight to Yamaha via email and this is what I received after a couple of weeks. "The WXC-50 can stream Bluetooth out to one speaker only, it cannot do multiple speakers. All you need to get a signal from the WX-C50 would be an analog input. That would not do Bluetooth but would get audio signals from the WX-C50" Presently the unit is a disappointment and practically useless since I do not have the time to experiment and communicate until I find a way to accomplish my goal. I previously had an inexpensive system that included a transmitter to plug into the headphone plug of my receiver and two wireless speakers to place in other rooms. The sound quality was not the best, but at least it worked for social gatherings etc.

Pros: Small

Cons: Directions for expanding/augmenting an existing stereo system and receiver are somewhat inadequate for a layperson.

Crutchfield response on 1/30/2017
Thanks for your review. We're sorry the system didn't work out for you, and we can certainly setup a return or exchange. Yamaha is correct - Bluetooth has limitations when it comes to multi-room music. Using the WXC-50's MusicCast system would work best for that. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 7 found this helpful

Made my RX/Amp relevant again for music.

Paul from Stamford, TX on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised and works well. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that there is no MusicCast app for Windows but the MusicCast app for iOS is awesome! This device brought my Yamaha RX-V1500 Rcvr/Amp back to life for music so nice much of my music is now digital and resides on several different devices.

Pros: Ability to now stream music from other devices including thumb drives and the internet itself. Easy Tom stall and use. MusicCast app for iOS is very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons: No MusicCast app for Windows

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Paul from Frederick, MD on 10/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to add some network functionality to my current set up. Wow, this little (Heavy) box can do some incredible things. I paired this with Yamahas new midsize network speaker and I can now seamlessly listen to music throughout my whole house. I have my turntable running through it and it sounds great streaming to my separate speaker. It is mainly set up for wifi however you can connect to it through Airplay, spotify connect and even blu tooth. You can also send a blue tooth signal to another device though there was a significant delay in this process. But now if I choose I can actually listen to my vinyl records on my little cheap blue tooth shower speaker if I want which is really neat. Basically, this pre-amp does it all. It's awesome. Compared to other systems like SONOS it seams to have way more options.

Pros: Easily adds all the network capabilities you can think of to any Amp setup

Cons: Its silver and all of my equipment is black (yeah, that's the only con I could think of)

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

Dean from Chicago, IL on 10/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are using this for streaming music to our walking track. There are many options available including USB, AUX input, Pandora, Spotify and more. Having the ability to control the volume and inputs via web browser and mobile app is awesome and makes running events so much easier.

Pros: Multiple input/streaming options Easy installation and setup Control via browser or app

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha WXC-50

JF from Washington, DC on 9/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1. First impression: looks and feels great. 2. Very easy to install. I connected it to my network w/ ethernet cable, CD player w/ optical in, Power amp (plus trigger cable w/ mini jacks to turn it on/off), and of course speakers (Elac UB5). 3. Performance: great! The control app (android) works perfect, and the sound is awesome! Verdict: great product, very satisfied!! Side note: I haven't used the Network function yet (only optical in, USB (MP3, FLAC), and internet radio). I use a power amp, so use the Yamaha in pre-amp mode, I haven't tried the player mode ("player" is "pre-amp" without volume control).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP