Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Powered sound bar with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2 and wireless subwoofer

MFR # YAS-408BL

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Powered sound bar with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Apple® AirPlay® 2 and wireless subwoofer

MFR # YAS-408BL

62 reviews
View this product

Great sound

Denise from HAVERHILL, MA on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I must say I'm quite impressed with this system. It is for use in the bedroom and really adds to the sound for both music and movies

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is amazing, super easy to set up and connect to MusicCast 20 speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from East Brunswick, NJ on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very underwhelming system. The room I was trying it out in is probably too big for the system but it was only slightly better than the tv speakers- for 500 I was expecting a lot more. My Logitech 2.1 computer system for 99 dollars blows this thing out of the box- which is extremely disappointing because I was expecting a lot more punch for 500 dollars.

Pros: Connectivity available.

Cons: Sound/value

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

The best sound bar

Crutchfield customer from Chesilhurst, NJ on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love this sound bar. I'm a home theater person and have several of them, but I must say the quality of sound is the same. The 3D surround sound just fills the room. I feel like I'm at the movies. I definitely recommend this Yamaha sound bar. I can't wait to add some more speakers to it.

Pros: It has the best sound

Cons: I really have nothing bad to say about this sound bar.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

High quality, good value.

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, MI on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this equipment because of my familiarity to Yamaha motors and their quality and this didn't disappoint. Very happy with sound and bass. Setting up the speaker with my Amazon echo was problematic and troublesome. I don't believe I still have it set right and you have to download an app from Yamaha to make work. I would like to see a set small surround speakers to place in back of room that connect wirelessly.

Pros: Great quality Easy set up

Cons: Amazon echo setup

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Bellaire, OH on 10/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clear sound with a solid bass as well. ????????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A bit pricy. But great that it connects to my Yamaha receiver via Music Cast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not terrific; expected better based on reviews.

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price I thought the sound and ease of use would be better. I took quite some time to get audio from my iPhone, but after a firmware update that resolved the stutter audio and allow it to be used for my music, I've decided to keep it. For the size of our room and height of our ceiling, the midrange is really lacking. The bass is ample and the treble is there, but the 3D imaging for the surround sound really requires, I'm guessing, an acoustically neutral room and proper height adjustment of the sound bar to really work. My sound bar is located about 12" below the bottom of the screen, which is on a rotating pedestal, so not practical to place right beneath the screen. My 10 year old Denon with second hand JBL 5.1 speakers and an Audio Research subwoofer blows this system out of the water, but I just don't have the room or the speaker wire to set it up. Perhaps a couple rear channel Yamahas will round out the sound and fill in the midrange, but dare I chance another $550 to see if it helps? Great idea for where space is not available or wireless is the only option. Might have tried something else if I could have found compatibility with my old TV that limited my selection to this unit since I could plug in my analog output from my 10 y.o. set with old HDMI. It works, but isn't stellar.

Pros: Small size and easy to install.

Cons: Surround sound isn't great. Midrange is flat. Not enough fullness of sound to fill my high-ceilinged room. Must turn up loud to hear.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

PEJ Musiscast YAS 408

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent a few months making this decision to purchase a sound bar to replace a stereo system with large speakers. This simple out of the box unit with literally 3 plugs (2 electric and an ARC cable) and downloading 'MusicCast' it starting playing my songs within 30 minutes after unpacking it. The crispness of the tones for music and the voice control for watching TV is great. I can say that turning it up to 50 out of 100 on the volume control was plenty enough. It is loud at that level and the bass is awesome. It is easy ordering off of Crutchfield and if you have a question you get a straight up no-nonsense answer. I think I will be buying the little round speakers to round out the surround sound of this system. All in all, it was a simple decision and the good thing is my wife enjoys it too.

Pros: Good sound Good bass (kicks it out) Don't need to turn it up past 50 to get ample volume. Sold on Yamaha !

Cons: I wish the controls are on the front rather than on top. Really once you set it up, the remote takes over so really no need to see it....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound from this set up. Music Cast is a great way to create a whole house sound system. The only inconvenience is that there are no visible indicators for power or input on the front of the unit. Makes it difficult to see when the unit is mounted up high

Pros: Great sound! Speech is clear

Cons: No indicator lights on the front. (They are on top)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pshew, it rocks!

Thomas from PLANO, TX on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was worried that this wasn't quite what I wanted it to be. The reviews hinted that it was a tad underpowered and it may be, but I bought it for the master bedroom, and it is perfect. Clear voice works extremely well. Subwoofer really has enough bass for metal and punk. Shame at this price point it doesn't have Alexa or something built in , but it more than makes up for finding my Airplay setup, music server, and my RX-A780 super easy once I fingered out the app. The highs are funny depending on the source and what scene you pick, so that will take some more diddling with. Overall I am glad with my pick and I think Yamaha has another hit on it's hands.

Pros: Nice sub woofer. Clear voice works great. Nice musically and for special effects.

Cons: A little light in the power. Lights are invisible as most people will use it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Brookline, MA on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good overall sound quality. Musiccast app is not the most user friendly but it seems like you should be able to use most functions without the app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound great Bass clear voices sounds just like you're in the movie theater

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quality sound. easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Long Valley, NJ on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was easy to set up and sounds good. I find the display or lack of display of what the setting are a little annoying. They are on the top of the bar which is not visible when sitting watching TV or from any distance. There is no indication of what level the sound is at for either the bar or the sub woofer. You figure it all out by hearing it. No bad, but some better graphic display would be nicer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good, not great

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To improve upon a tvs speakers this fits the bill nicely. No clipping, no more distortion, much greater low end extension. Musiccast is a huge bonus on top and makes good use of the speakers when not watching TV. Ive found it to be a capable sonos alternative. Setup is straightforward and pretty much like any other soundbar. Which means it depends more on the tv and what you're trying to accomplish more than the soindbar itself. Cons. Low end is not super powerful. Its there and fills out the overall sound but it lacks impact. Sub can also sound a bit muddy in fast action scenes or with music at volume. Easy to lose dialogue. Really need to massage the settings and i havent found a set it and forget it configuration where the dialogue stands out and the low end is still audible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great soundbar!!

Crutchfield customer from Round Hill, VA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy setup. Sound is terrific.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality is amazing, integrates well with my TV and smart home devices. The app is a little underdeveloped but overall fine. Haven't had any issues with it not turning on like other reviews on here. (Likely due to bad WiFi)

Pros: Great sound, easy to customize the experience you want & change that on the fly

Cons: Does not integrate with Alexa as well as I had hoped. Never works as the "preferred speaker" and Alexa commands typically just work 1/2 the time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sleek and functional

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds and looks great. One complaint is the overactive Bluetooth technology that kept homing in on unwanted devices and channels. For instance, I was listening to SomaFM on my iPad and the system switched midstream to SiriusXM internet on my iPhone, so I had to turn off my phone to switch back to iPad, and then it switched to my iTunes library on my iPad, so I had to turn off iTunes to get back to SomaFM. Not very user friendly, but that's Bluetooth for ya, not so much a reflection of the Yamaha sound bar. And I had trouble with setting up a Wi-Fi network for hi-res sound on the Yamaha. I finally gave up, settling for the lower-quality Bluetooth sound. More tech-savvy users may not have the same trouble, but I didn't belabor the issue since the Bluetooth quality was good enough for me until it's time for movies. Switching between stereo and surround-sound on Bluetooth alone yielded a dramatic difference in spacial effect and voice clarity. The bass is also impressive. I can't wait to connect a projector (backordered!) and my Blu-Ray player to see what the Yamaha can really do with a hi-resolution sound source. I like that it's got HDMI input and output as well as 3.5mm analog input, which gives me flexibility in placement and function. I can unplug the Blu-Ray and plug in my AppleTV streamer, for instance. I'll update this review, if I can, when I finally connect my Blu-Ray and backordered projector.

Pros: Sound quality, appearance

Cons: Setup for non-techie types like me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stay away. Stay far, far away.

Andrew N from Goose Creek, SC on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Setup was very easy, and the the device itself functioned fine. The app was a bit clunky, but that didn't bother me. The audio quality is horrible. Tinny and the bass is either too much or too little. Nothing really mid-range--at least when using it for music and television viewing--the Xbox seemed to do a LOT better with sound on games, at least. I actually preferred my TV audio about the same (and it's a TCL, which doesn't have great speakers), which is scary when you spend this much on something. I have NO idea how they could call this "room filling sound." I called Crutchfield tech support, and while they did their best (AWESOME people work at Crutchfield), there's nothing they could do. I have 60 days to try this thing, but I'm 80-20 likely to return it.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: Pretty much everything else.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Jamestown, NC on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sales techs at Crutchfield are the best. Very knowledgeable and personable.

Pros: Easy to connect. Good sound quality. Very compact for mounting in front of tv.

Cons: Would prefer panel lights on front of sound bar.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a very nice product even though I haven't used it fully

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Low quality sound

Crutchfield customer from Temple, NH on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The audio quality wasn't what I was expecting. We were hoping to use this for music and television viewing. The device functioned fine, setup was quick and easy (the app could be a lot better, but that seems par for the course from what I've seen), but for the price the sound was tinny, didn't fill up the room; it felt like only a modest upgrade over the television audio. The 3D sound setting was terrible, I don't know if you need to do further setup but it made the audio sound weird and was not usable for us. Aesthetically, we had it hung on the wall under the television and the short/deep profile with the metal grate was fairly unattractive. The wall mount is just a couple built-in screw catch tabs, making it difficult to snug up to the wall completely and difficult to catch the hangers.

Pros: Easy setup. Worked fine all else considered.

Cons: Tinny sound. Not much volume. Didn't "fill" the room. Not nice looking. Wall mounting wasn't easy to get snug against the wall.

Crutchfield response on 5/5/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Mc Kean, PA on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding system. Perfect amount of bass for movies and the hard rock I listen to. My only complaint, which I've gotten used already, is the indicator lights being on top.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Indicator lights on top

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up is easy. Sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Silverthorne, CO on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and powerful subwoofer. Works perfectly in my rec room. Excellent customer service helped me make a confident buying decision within my budget.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Salesperson very knowledgeable products very good was excellent I definitely recommend them or buy from them again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Lolo, MT on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Early in product use my issue is with lack of level sound some things are very low volume level and some are very loud honestly not sure if I have not got something set right or what but very annoying at this time

Pros: Very easy to use. Fair sound quality

Cons: No level sound. Fair sound quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good for the money

Crutchfield customer from Mount Angel, OR on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While I really appreciated how easy the Yamaha sound bar was to install and use, I just didn't find it to be what I want to use to listen to TV, music movies, etc. I wouldn't discourage any from using this system but would encourage trying to find a place to listen to it compared to stereo or surround sound system. I did a lot of research and was convinced it was the best value. I ended up returning it and going in another direction.

Pros: Easy to setup and use Nice looking Good sound

Cons: Status lights are on top of the unit and can be difficult to see. A soft, power on light on the front would be very helpful.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to clean up home theater system. This soundbar has excellent sound quality but not as good as the 3.0 system it replaced. I replaced the previous system to simplify everything and separated the stereo into a separate system dedicated to LP, CD. Happy with my purchase

Pros: Great sound, simple to use for everyone

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Universal City, TX on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow...this is the most amazing sound bar. Phenomenal sound quality. Easy to use ... Customer service at Crutchfield, as always, was great. Very quick shipment and delivery. I am a Crutchfield fan...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality sound bar for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very, very good sound

Melanie from SPRING VALLEY, NY on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connected my YAS-408 to my MusicCast 20 (2 speakers) to create a boost of audio in the Family Room- 18' x 15'. Very good quality, clear , crisp sound - music & TV/DVD's. My disappointment came when I had to adjust & equalize the sound levels. Needed to put the MusicCast 20 up to maximum levels to hear the system sound they way I wanted it to hear. I been a Bose customer for 25 years -but Bose has now steered away from receiver friendly speakers , which isn't the direction I'm going in . Maybe the MusicCast 50 would have been better, but I consider this a smallish room.

Pros: Very adaptive system.

Cons: Needs more punch!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good sound and I like with the hdmi hookup so that you can use only one remote

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Andover, MN on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the bedroom surround sounds good and the sub kicks hard

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha YAS-408 Sound Bar Review ...

Crutchfield customer from New Prt Rchy, FL on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this Yamaha sound bar (model YAS-408) a month ago ... it was replacing a more expensive Samsung sound bar that unexpectedly went bad ... I listened to my Customer Sales & Support specialist (Dino) highly recommend this unit ... and assured me that if for any reason we were not totally satisfied with this Yamaha sound bar ... that I could return it for a full refund or credit towards a more expensive sound bar ... We hooked the new sound bar up about a week ago ... I am happy to report that the main sound comes out of the bar itself ... and bass comes through a separate sub-woofer that connects wirelessly ... and without a doubt ... we were quite surprised and happy with the sounds we were hearing ... bottom line ... incredibly full, rich sound regardless of the source ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Good quality system

Crutchfield customer from Ottoville, OH on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good sound for the cost. Even with the clear dialogue feature, I still need to occasionally adjust the volume to hear. The subwoofer quality was surprisingly impressive for the cost. I actually keep it turned down a bit. Overall impressed and glad I purchased this.

Pros: Good sound, super easy to install and setup.

Cons: Still need to occasionally adjust volume for dialogue.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, GA on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sub woofer connected easily, as well as connectivity to my MusicCast network. Great sound and flexibility.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: Does not appear to have any ability to manage an equalizer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solid well rounded soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 10/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just bought this to upgrade my older Polk Surroundbar 6000 because I wanted some more modern features like Bluetooth and WiFi. So far, the YAS 408 is pretty good. The sub is great - not boomy or sloppy at all, very tight and musical which is so important for a soundbar package. The bar itself is pretty good. I'm still trying to figure out which preset sound modes are best for music, tv, and movies. For movies, I was kind of disappointed until I enabled the 3D surround setting. That changed everything. Very wide sound staging, and is really pretty good at mimicking surround sound. I am planning on adding some musiccast 20 speakers as surrounds later which I think will really help round out surround sound. I have found the 3D surround setting to not be great for music. At higher volumes it made the upper register pretty icy and piercing so I suggest turning that off when listening to music at a higher volume. Many people are frustrated with the lack of lights on front display. I don't mind at all - you can use the app to tell you everything you need to know about the bar's settings. Overall, the bar is pretty good. Certainly not disappointed but still can't compete with a traditional home theater set up. Decent value for money, would probably buy again, but might check out other options in the same price range before buying this one. As always, Crutchfield was fantastic during the buying and shipping process. Wouldn't buy anywhere

Pros: Musiccast system is great, 3D surround setting is impressive, very attractive form factor, fantastic subwoofer

Cons: Doesn't "wow" me for music

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MI on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would recommend YAS-408

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a Samsung soundbar & subwoofer to Yamaha YAS-408. Mainly due to voice clarity. The YAS-408 does a great job especially with voice clarity. Subwoofer reacts better too. Cons: Remote only works with Yamaha products. It will not even control Samsung tv on/off. Also indicator lites on sound bar are on top of unit making it hard to see statuses, but in reality I would not want to see the lites in front because of the distraction when viewing tv. I would suggest having them on front with a button on remote to activate them at will.

Pros: see review

Cons: see review

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Lyndhurst, OH on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup, superb sound and nice balance with separate bass control. I wish the led lights were on the front panel, although with experience, it is easy to know which sound pattern is on. I also like the automatic shut-off. Well worth the money!

Pros: Great sound Easy hookup Great sound balance

Cons: LED's would be better on the front of the speaker bar

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Tye, TX on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not overly impressed. The sound isn't bad, it just isn't....WOW!!! I have the Klipsch R-20B and the difference between the 2, in my opinion, is HUGE!!! The dialogue enhancement is a neat feature, but could be better. Sound for movies is ok, but TV programming sound is just "dry!!!"

Pros: Ok sound

Cons: Only ok sound

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent value for a TV sound bar.

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding quality for the price. If you just want a solid addition to your TV audio, you can't beat this unit. The sound is great, especially the base, and the operation with my TV is seamless. The BT audio works great and the networked use is also good. The only complaints I have are the app is cumbersome and unreliable and the control buttons on the unit itself are hard to get to if you mount the soundbar to the wall. Minor issues that don't detract from the basic functionality of the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Antioch, IL on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK here it is. Is it a pain in the butt that the operating lights are not on the front panel? Yes kind of. I didn't think it would be a big deal but I do have to stand up off the couch to check system. At times it seems as though the remote is non-responsive. But all in all, this system will blow away your current flatscreen TV speakers.

Pros: Clear voice, music cast option

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Downingtown, PA on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I am happy with this soundbar. The sound is very good, not as good as you can get with a true 5.1 surround system but very good for a sound bar. The set up was fairly easy although had some difficulty getting the ARC functionality to work with the TV. I agree with other reviews that having the info on top of the unit makes it difficult to know exactly what mode things are in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking and good quality. However the only feedback of sound bar mode ( I.e. clear voice, 3D surround , etc.) are the lights on the top of the bar. You can not tell the mode from your seat. Also AirPlay is intermittent when playing music from iOS device.

Pros: Looks nice Good quality

Cons: No feedback of mode from seated position Airplay breaks up when playing music.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Raymond, WA on 3/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a Samsung system with this Yamaha YAS-408 in my 5th wheel RV. very easy install, and the sound is fantastic. Would recommend this to any one wanting to upgrade what they have. VERY HAPPY. Shipping was great, had it in 3 days. Thank you.

Pros: Priced rite for a high quality system.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very Good Sound From My TV

Bruce from Marlborough, MA on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product for those who want excellent sound from their TV, but don't want speakers everywhere and a bunch of wires going to and fro on the floor around your television set. As you know, the bean counters at the TV manufacturers want to keep the cost of your television set as low as possible, so they put really cheap speakers in their TVs. The Yamaha BAR 400 obviates or mitigates that and makes movies fun to watch again. There is a power wire that must be connected to the sub woofer but it connects wirelessly to the system so speaker wires are eliminated. The system sounds very nice, The only draw backs are that the sub woofer could use a little more oompf and the remote control could be designed a little differently so you would easily know just by looking at it which end should be pointed toward the TV. These are not major issues and I am very happy that I bought the Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408).

Pros: Fewer wires to connect to speakers Fewer remote speakers Excellent sound

Cons: 1. Sub woofer could use a little more oompf 2. Control lights on the sound bar could be put on the front so that they could be seen by the user while seated 3. Remote control could be chaped differently so that the end to be pointed toward the TV is apparent at first sight

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Juda, WI on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. This unit was from the outlet store and it seems to work well but when it was removed from the box I noticed something rattling around inside the sound bar. It works but it's a bit worrisome. The Bluetooth isn't the best. It cuts in and out with my iPhone and iPad. Otherwise it's as advertised and I would recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Jon from Littleton, CO on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced my towers and Polk subwoofer along with my Dennon receiver. Not as big a sound but this will do for sure. Love the clear voice selection. The hard to hear dialogue is finally brought to the front so even I can distinguish it from the background noise. If you are looking to simplify without giving up that much then take a chance on this. I am glad I did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound and bass

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and quality. There's also an app in the apple store for this soundbar. Great buy!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Dave from Knoxville, TN on 3/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My prior setup was traditional receiver, left right and center speaker plus cheap subwoofer. My son purchased a good quality sound bar and it became immediately apparent to me that it's sound was significantly better than mine. Coupling that with my wife's resistance to having wires running across room to give me surround sound led me to this sound bar. I am very happy with the sound baring in mind that I have not added the rear speakers yet. Dialogue easy to understand a sub is strong and tight. The setup is quite easy and fast. The bar is not perfect. One, pairing the bar with the xfinity remote proved problematic. Solution, call to Crutchfield. Bottom line I am very happy with your technical support. My call was answered immediately and your employee was very helpful, friendly and professional. Coupling the bar to Alexa also was not an easy process. The bar has only two hdmis as does my tv causing me to delete my DVD hook up. I have a dedicated home theater and rarely played a DVD in living room so losing that connection is not a big deal.

Pros: Sound Music Cast allowing for surround sound and multi room connection Alexa Easy connection

Cons: Limited connection Setup Lights on rear of bar

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Another GREAT Yamaha bar

Sue from Gilbert, AZ on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already had a low end Yamaha soundbar (ATS-1070) that I had purchased at Costco and ABSOLUTELY LOVED. The quality of sound from that bar led me to look at Yamaha when I decided to go with a "whole-house wireless" system. I needed to get a MusicCast compatible bar (YAS-408) to go with the 2 wireless speakers (WX-021) that would go in other rooms in my house. My family room has high ceilings, hard floors and no drapes/curtains so it is a very "live" room that is easily filled with sound, but I am still able to get a warm controlled sound from the YAS-408 bar and subwoofer whether I'm playing rock music, TV or streaming a podcast. The MusicCast app allows for good adjustment . . . . I am very pleased with my new system!

Pros: MusicCast features Crutchfield customer service (Trish)

Cons: Size of subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 2/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sound bar was a great buy, specially since I purchased it on sale. It is very easy to install and the sound quality is exceptional. It also has the ability to interface with blue tooth which allows for other types of access. I am very happy with my decision to purchase this sound bar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What I expected for the cost and performs well in our space

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Quality

Lou from Pitman, NJ on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product. I have the Yas 207 and this is definitely an upgrade from that unit. The 400 has much more power and sound quality, it really fills the living room.

Pros: Loud Clear Fills room

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Pittsford, NY on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am very satisfied. It was easy to set up and I am learning how to use Alexa with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Javier from Aguadilla, PR on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

Crutchfield customer from Melville, NY on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to setup and use. Thank you for the recommendation!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Yamaha MusicCast BAR 400 (YAS-408)

MAURICIO A from Brisbane, CA on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for me..is what I needed..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great TV dialogue and music sound

Alan from Plano, TX on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took some researching but I wanted a unit that could expand into a true 5.1 system, but in the meantime be a quality 3.1 system to replace a well rated, but cheap and lacking 2.1 Vizio. Though the Vizio made music sound pretty good, it simply could not deliver on the TV front. Dialogue was so muddled it seemed I needed a true 3.1 system. The YAS-408 Musiccast Bar delivers! My only test so far is hooking up the digital optical cable but I can tell right away dialogue comes through clearly as I watch scenes from Jurassic Park and Transformers. Even without using the Clear Voice function I was getting good dialogue. Clear Voice ON made it even better! Yet all the effects and music are still very much alive, even at a lower volume. And I love how the sub-woofer volume can be controlled separately! It took a couple attempts but I managed to connect the phone app and get all that working too. Music can stream nicely from my phone to the bar and sounds very good. I have an Energy brand 5.1 surround system fed by my Denon receiver, which I consider quite good for a small speaker system and this Musiccast Bar sounds almost as good. I'll be using it in another room. Since this was a new model, I wasn't sure what to expect with few reviews to guide me. But other Yamaha sound bars have been well reviewed and gave me some confidence this one would be great and it seems to be based on this initial experience. How well is hold up over time will be another review to come.

Pros: Moderately priced for so many features; 5.1 expandable; MusicCast capable; quality sound; clear dialogue; good sounding music.

Cons: Only one HDMI input; app is a little tricky.

Crutchfield response on

26 of 27 found this helpful

TOP