Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Powered sound bar with MusicCast and 4K/HDR video passthrough

MFR # YSP-2700BL

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Powered sound bar with MusicCast and 4K/HDR video passthrough

MFR # YSP-2700BL

27 reviews
View this product

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Crutchfield customer from Chesterfield, MO on 10/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a five year old Bose system with the Yamaha. Sound is so much crisper and the bass actually fills the room. The enhanced "clear voice" helps the wife hear conversations much better over the background noise and low bass that many of the programs on Netflix seem to have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

unqualified thumbs-up

Crutchfield customer from Fort Davis, TX on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had not had to update our A/V equipment in almost 20 years - had a yamaha home theater receiver and klipsch speakers for a 5.1 arrangement. That old system performed well, great for surround sound home theater, great for music. Failing components got me to looking at this ysp-2700 sound projector for the audio. In short, does it provide the same rich, room-filling experience that our old components did (when they all worked) ? NO. Is it very very close ? YES ! Take the time to read the instructions, and learn how to tinker all the settings, and you will be rewarded. How does it do with music ? Again, our old components (when they all worked) had the edge, but if you make the time to read the instructions, you will be rewarded with strikingly clear, room-filling sound. I even give this new unit the edge at low-to-moderate volume levels. I have absolutely no regrets with choosing this unit over the traditional receiver/speakers configuration. NOTE - if you study the downloadable manual prior to purchase, you will see that some room configurations are more difficult for this unit. Ours is one such room, but study of the manual and a few days of tinkering with settings yielded top-notch results.

Pros: very good manual, well-organized, good diagrams, great sound, great alternative to the more traditional surround sound set-up

Cons: not really a "con", but should be willing to read the manual for best results

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Unobtrusive, great sound.

Lenny from Parker, CO on 8/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this soundbar - it has a very low profile and is perfect for my bedroom TV. It might be my room accoustics (high ceiling and curtains along one wall) but I don't notice a strong surround sound effect. Still, it sounds great and is unobtrusive. I dropped a star only because the sound lacks the warmth I have come to expect from Yamaha. I have tried turning the volume up on the subwoofer, but the crossover seems to be fixed and it just gets boomy with the sub turned up.

Pros: Great sound except lacks warmth. Very unobtrusive.

Cons: Lacks trademark Yamaha warmth. Surround sound effect is not that noticeable in my room.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

tin can sound

Mike from Parkton, MD on 7/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

How disappointing. This system has zero power; zero depth. The sound may as well be coming from a tin can. It's really just awful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/9/2018
Mike contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another system. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 11 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Glenn from Argyle, TX on 7/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yamaha YSP-2700 was a perfect fit on our fireplace mantel. The wireless subwoofer was placed across the room in the dining room and works great even at a 40 foot distance. The sound is crystal clear and doesn't distort at high volume. Would definitely recommend this speaker system and Yamaha quality.

Pros: High quality, great sound

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, IN on 7/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this soundbar. Very impressed with Yamaha's Sound Projector Technology. I feel true surround sound from the way it can use your rooms acoustics.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice aesthetically streamlined sound system for every day television and movies. Music can be easily streamed via a cell phone, WiFi connection, and the Yamaha app. Sound quality is okay, but lacking some of the mid to mid-low frequencies that can add depth and fill out the range. However, given the size of the 16 tiny speakers, I can't complain too much.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Gary from Kingston Spgs, TN on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is Outstanding. 5 Stars all the way!

Pros: Crystal clear sound bar and Sub is very deep

Cons: Little Pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Full Sound

Nick from Medina, OH on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Liked the speaker but really fell in love with it after watching Baby Driver what a sound! Be warned if you mount on the wall be sure to use low profile HDMI cables or it will not mount correctly.

Pros: Intelligent sound sound setup works great.

Cons: Wall Mounting impossible without low profile HDMI cables.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

You Can't Improve on Perfection

Jim from Oakland, ME on 4/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, phenomenal sound throughout the room; compact, sturdy design; adaptable for use with iPhone applications; and Crutchfield has been very helpful with explaining setup and features of the unit.

Pros: Phenomenal sound quality; compact design; and excellent Crutchfield customer service.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Met all expectations and then some!

Jim from Palm Harbor, FL on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The YSP-2700 met all of my expectations and the support staff exceeded my expectations living up to the Crutchfield Mission of Superb Customer Service

Pros: the unit and the entire customer experience!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Michael from West Peoria, IL on 1/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with a vaulted ceiling.

Pros: Easy setup.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

thomas from Sauk Rapids, MN on 11/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice and powerful unit

Pros: powerful speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great quality!

William from Virginia Bch, VA on 11/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been a home theater guy for 15 years and I was a little skeptable to buy a soundbar. I called Crutchfield and was recommended the ysp-2700 because it had good sound and very few returns. The sound isn't as good as a receiver, speaker setup but I didn't expect it to be. I have it in my bedroom, which is a good location for this unit because the sound can bounce off all four walls. The surround sound effect is excellent, almost as good as my receiver/speaker setup. The tenor is a little tinny sounding, but I expected that with the speakers being so small. The bass is adequate for the size of the room. All in all, I am very satisfied. Setup was easy and everything on the unit works as is it supposed to. Great quality! I am glad I bought this unit and thank Crutchfield for their advice.

Pros: Easy setup, everything works. Surround sound effect is as if I had rear speakers.

Cons: Tenor is a little tinny.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powerful sound system

Edward from New Bern, NC on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound system....replaced a Bose Cinemate GS and was a significant improvement. It is used a home theater system in a small space (40' motor yacht) so real estate is at a premium and the listening area is not square. This system programs to compensate for odd acoustics and does a tremendous job...really appreciate the ability to control the sub woofer via the remote as well as overall volume. This was a great suggestion from Crutchfield...wouldn't have looked into this on my own. Extremely pleased with this product...worth the price.

Pros: Small footprint, adapts to room acoustics, clear dialogue track, ability to chose between stereo and surround sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Everything one needs for inconspicuous great sound

David from East Aurora, NY on 9/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this paired with a Sony XBR65X930D 65" 4K Smart LED TV, also purchased at Crutchfield, and while it is everything I hoped it would be, the one thing I never considered, which this unit has, would have likely forced me to otherwise return it: it is only 2" tall with the wireless net antenna folded horizontally, as mine is. This is important because the Sony's sensors and bottom of display are only about 2 1/2" from the table I have it on (using the supplied stand). Many soundbars are not this low, so make sure, if you're considering purchasing a new TV to put on its stand and place on a table, how close to the table the display and/or sensors are, because you may be limiting your choice of soundbars - luckily this one is aurally fine in any way I can think of, but I can see the whole screen and don't have to go through all sorts of contortions to use the TV remote! Also, a good wireless router like the Linksys EA9500 (Crutchfield has some equivalents) will always be helpful when trying to punch a signal around a two-story home, although the YSP does have an ethernet port.

Pros: Only about 2" high, very important with newest TV's.

Cons: A little tricky traversing the YSP's remote at first, but after using the remote to help with the initial updates, it was no big deal.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 9/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small size and jaw-dropping signal processing. Location of unit is asymmetrical to room, yet I still get an audio experience beyond my expectations. I have wonderful, delightful, extraordinary sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Crutchfield customer from Bremerton, WA on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did try to pair the bar with wx-010 yamaha speakers to use as surround sound, but this bar is ment to be a stand alone. So far its been good. There are alot of things that can be adjusted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Better sound bar but

Conrad from Douglasville, GA on 7/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the YSP 2200 but it was taken out by a lightning strike. Couldn't find a comparable unit with the 3 hdmi inputs and low profile. Had several issues that I resolved. The subwoofer being much larger than the previous wouldn't fit in cabinet. After several failed attempts hid it behind tv in cabinet. Still trying to resolve issue of blocking tv infrared Since it does not have IR pass through I have to raise the remote up high. Or move the unit way in front of the tv. Why take away something that works. Also experiencing lip sync issues that I never had before? Sound is awesome and the options are more noticeable. Yamaha simplified the settings but took away some of our choices. Like naming the inputs.

Pros: Simpler remote control means less choices Great sound Better subwoofer

Cons: No IR pass through Larger subwoofer footprint Can't watch video when using Bluetooth for music cast

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-2700 Digital Sound Projector

Andy from Greensboro, NC on 6/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is great product with easy set up. It has good sound with movies via surround and functions well when used to play music. Easy to customize the sound of the unit to desired taste. Musiccast is a huge bonus and has functioned flawlessly since set up. Pricey it is, but get what you pay for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Compliments my 4K player and OLED TV

John from Tucson, AZ on 3/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product, love it so far. Easy set up, needed something to go with my LG OLED and Sony Ultra 4K player with its HDR pass through.... Sounds amazing in my small bedroom, excellent soundstage.....

Pros: Set up, soundstage

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome theater presence in a soundable

Larry from Albuquerque, NM on 3/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound stage, very clear and crisp sound and voices. Had previously tried a big box store soundbar that was just a better speaker but not a theater experience. This produces a very good theater experience without the hassle of extra speakers, wiring and a receiver.

Pros: Relatively simple setup Great sound stage and theater sound

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just like being in the theater.

DENNIS J from Castle Rock, CO on 1/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I thought I had made a big mistake buying this soundbar. Then, I decided that before sending it back, I should actually read the set-up portion of the manual instead of just brushing through it. Eurika!! I now love this unit. The major attraction, of course, is the surround sound. This unit produces very crisp clear sound and the surround feature is just subtle enough to give it a very natural feeling. Yes, the set-up takes a few minutes but once you've got it all done you have a unit that you want want to show off to your friends.

Pros: Very full,clear sound. The subtle surround feature .

Cons: Not the cheapest unit on the market.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pretty Solid

Mystery from Massapequa, NY on 1/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good so far. Have a huge open concept room which I know isn't ideal for this product but we didn't want 7 speakers around the room. The sound is very impressive - tested with basic tv and numerous 4k movies via Netflix/HBO/integrated apps from within my 2016 smart Samsung 4k 65 inch tv. I like this for what it is (it's not the same as real surround sound but it's VERY nice and clear sound).. the simulated surround sound definitely works - captain America etc (very nice).. the cons are really poor integration with my Samsung smart TV apps. If you lose power the settings are basically forgotten meaning you have to train it again to remember to pass video and sound through each input. Also I've had to reprogram my Samsung remote like 4 times now . I don't know if I'm keeping this product or not - I really like it and want to keep it but firmware appears super buggy. Maybe I'll wait a bit longer because the sound blows away anythig you'll experience from a basic TV sound. Great product overall but the bugs in the smart tv interface are while this is getting 4 stars

Pros: Very Clear Sound sound Impressive simulated surround even in open concept room Lots of Options. Like seriously a ton of settings. 4K pass thru is why I got this. It works (1 HDMI from TV to sound bar wih ARC, another HDMI for soundboard to cable box. 2 extra slot slots open! Will use for UHD player shortly and still have 1 left over. Actual 7.1 simulated surround. A lot of speakers Cool that it had a MIC for tuning to your room and you can save 3 presets (blinds open/closed etc

Cons: Poor interaction with 2016 smart TV. Sound bar forgets settings switching between cable box and Netflix integrated app. Sometimes I hear sound and see no picture . I've had to re set it up multiple times. Bass is "ok"

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great sound

Gene from Salem on 12/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Yamaha 7.1 home theater 9 months old, we were getting a new OLED TV so we decided to go with a new Yamaha sound bar and eliminate the home theater and all the speakers in the house. This was the best decision we did what a sound this unit works great, being our first sound bar that I looked at we are glad to clean up around the TV and walls

Pros: Great sound and easy setup

Cons: A little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Compact Bar Great sound

Lucy and James from Riverview, FL on 11/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this as a second choice. First purchase was the Samsung K950 (another review), didn't work out so I selected this one for the 4K video compatibility and it does HDR.. Doesn't do Atmos, which I really wanted, but the YSP-5600 is too expensive and limited on what it does. Smaller watts than I wanted but actually surprised me on the sound output. The virtual sound is really set to a square or closed off room. I have a weird Living room so I don't really get the full surround sound effect, but I will remedy that later by adding some rear wireless satellite speakers. All In all I am pleased. It is compact and sits well below my fireplace mounted TV.

Pros: Great sound Hooked up as per instructions very easy set up

Cons: For the Price, It should include wall mount Definitely room schematic sensitive

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Stunning Sound Quality!

Bart from Lincoln, NE on 10/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will be the first to say I have never been a fan of sound bars and everyone I have ever heard has been fair at best in sound quality. I needed something for my bedroom as I just moved my 70" Sony LCD to my bedroom and replaced my living room with upgraded equipment. I took a shot on this sound bar being that I wasn't too thrilled about running wires in my room and the audio quality from any flat screen TV is just....well sad. This piece of equipment is absolutely amazing! I has a feature when you are doing the setup called Intellibeam which uses a mic to similar to what other receivers do for listening position. I kid you not, when watching a movie I can hear the sounds behind as a true 7.1 setup would do. The clarity is outstanding and if you are a Spotify fan like I am, you will be impressed. Music sound quality is also outstanding. It has 3 HDMI inputs with ARC which was a must for me. It also auto powers on and off when it receives or stops receiving an HDMI signal. The icing on the cake is the wireless subwoofer. It pairs automatically and did not have any hoops to jump through. This isn't the most detailed review but I am simply going off of what my ears are hearing as I am very picky when it comes to sound quality. Definitely recommend the purchase and as much as I hate to say it, the price tag is worth the sound quality this puppy delivers.

Pros: Sound quality, design, easy setup, 3 HDMI with ARC, 2.2 DHCP (4K ready), truely sounds like a 7.1 system

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on

38 of 38 found this helpful

TOP