Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

Powered sound bar with 4K video passthrough, Dolby Atmos®, and MusicCast

MFR # YSP-5600BL

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

Powered sound bar with 4K video passthrough, Dolby Atmos®, and MusicCast

MFR # YSP-5600BL

24 reviews
View this product

Love this soundbar!!!

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 8/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this soundbar!!! The sound and crispness is awesome and it has plenty enough volume to satisfy every time I watch a movie or TV show. I use to have to turn my TV all the way up just to hear anything, but not with this soundbar; it took care of all those problems. I also like the ease and comfort of the easy to access buttons and controls on the unit itself and on the remote. It really makes life easier. The built in eq's really come in handy also. I am still learning about my soundbar and look forward to discovering more features that it has. I used to stands that come with it to place it on my entertainment table, but it is nice to have to option to be able to mount it on the wall too.

Pros: Serious volume, easy to use, easy setup, built in eq's, incredible sound quality!!

Cons: The sound bar has some weight to it, but it's not like anyone is going to be carrying this around once they find a spot for it :)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

Crutchfield customer from Pickerington, OH on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one sound bar you can experience Almost true Dolby Atmos. If you want more BASS you need to add Sub woofer as per your room and requirement.

Pros:

Cons: Need Extra Sub Woofer for true bass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound.

Jesse from Lynwood, CA on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is mainly plug and play however. My TV doesn't support ARC and based on some research I've done, I will not get the true 7.1 Dolby Atmos and DtsX sound I was expecting. I like that I can manually calibrate the beam/sound, range and direction and it automatically calibrates itself based on the room layout. The sound is good based that I'm running an optical cable and not HDMI for best results.

Pros: Support Dobly Atmos and DTSX

Cons: Optical cable fits loosely Cannot get full features without ARC Cost No Subwoofer included.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing Sound Presence, Plenty of Volume, (get a Subwoofer!!)

David from Houston, TX on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing! My clients could not believe this little sound bar was able to actually fill up their entire media room! We paired it with a 16" powered subwoofer by SVS. This is in a 20 x 30 foot dedicated media room that had previously only been getting sound from their 80" TV's built-in speakers. (Ugh!) We made sure to align the sound bar in the ideal placement, directly in front of their heads, and used the built-in tunning program (several times just be be sure). We also played with moving the subwoofer to different locations to find the it ideal setup. Each time we reran the auto tuning program. The majority of its use will be with live football and sports viewing, but we tested it with several Blueray DVDs (like the 2017 Wonder Woman). A decent subwoofer is required! Having lots of experience with numerous high quality sound systems over the last 30 years, all I can say about this "little" sound bar is Wow! ..... We tried the sound bar in different rooms just for the fun of it. The floorplan layout and furniture\wall coverings DO make a big difference at how well the 3D surround effect works. ..... Being able to leverage the mobile app remote control, music sharing, and streaming functions within the MusicCast environment is a real game changer, too. (MusicCast: built-in feature of the YSP-5600 sound bar) ..... Photo is before the install, but this is the room it went in.

Pros: Excellent with Left, Center, Right, and Above sounds. Easy install. Yamaha's MusicCast is a real game changer! Didn't have to invest in crazy-expensive system to get pretty decent surround sound. Works with 4K (but not HDR)

Cons: BIG relative to typical sound bars. Can't create true surround sound, but gets close. Doesn't support pass through of HDR.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600 All You Need & More

Jenell from Los Lunas, NM on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a Soundbar that didn't require a Smartphone to setup or maintain. The Yamaha YSP5600 was just that. Easy setup, easy connection, and most of all I didn't need to the room mic (PLEASE DON'T USE THE AUTO-ROOM CALIBRATION) for the setup. I'm hands-on, old school, and this suited my needs. I upgraded from a 5 year old B&W Soundbar (yes UPGRADED!!!). The 5600 is hands-down the best bar I've used or heard, money was not an option, I simply wanted the best. Unless you're gaming or playing music, you don't need the subwoofer, as I use it for TV and movies only. I spent days looking at dozens of Soundbars, then conveyed my needs to the folks at Crutchfield, who knowledgeably confirmed my decision. Item arrived in mere days and I couldn't be happier. Trust me ... a Woman, a Physician, a Veteran.

Pros: No Smartphone required for setup (though it can be used). Amazing sound quality, easy remote manual adjustments.

Cons: Not one negative remark regarding the Soundbar ... I could have written better instruction manual in my sleep. DO NOT USE THE AUTO-ROOM CALIBRATION.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

DON'T USE AUTO-CALIBRATION!

Guest from CA on 10/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

DON'T USE AUTO-CALIBRATION! Yamaha's P.E.Q. utilized in it's AVR's etc are muddy and muffled. After setup, disengage the P.E.Q that it sets after auto-calibrate. After AUTO-CALIBRATION & you turn off the P.E.Q. you'll be amazed! I've read here where people were saddened by the bar's sound after setup. The P.E.Q. (Parametric Equalizer) aka room correction Yamaha uses is woeful in it's calculations. I know, I own Yamaha & it took me some fiddling to find out why it wasn't living up to the hype. Salesman need to tell the buyer to not use auto-setup with the mic. Just set it up yourself & the unit will slay you, I promise! Yamaha needs to dump that P.E.Q. model they use in their AVR's, Bar's etc. If you own a Yamaha YSP-5600 or any Yamaha AV Receiver that uses mic & auto-setup? After you run the mic setup, go into the menu and turnoff the P.E.Q. setting and setup your own E.Q. parameters using it's onboard E.Q. in the menu settings. Follow my advice and you will fall in love with your Yamaha YSP-5600. By the way? Any showroom that successfully demos this unit, has shutoff the P.E.Q. as they know it overcorrects and muddies up the sound. Once setup right, the Yamaha YSP-5600 sparkles and delivers true "phantom ATMOS." ~ peace

Pros: Unbeatable surround sound Bar None! LoL!

Cons: P.E.Q. used in mic auto-calibration is muddy & only messes up the sound. After mic auto-setup, the P.E.Q. needs to be shut off.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Outdated, Poor Sound Quality, Not worth the price

Tony from Ledgewood, NJ on 7/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had REALLY high hopes for this system - 46 individual speakers in a sound bar with Yamaha DSP, Dolby Atmos , DTS - X - what could go wrong? First - it's huge (46 speakers have to go somewhere!). Please ensure you have enough space to mount or place this giant. Took it out of the box, did the setup with the mic and was really awestruck when we were hearing sound coming from our ceiling. The YSP5600 did an amazing job of that. But sadly, that's all it did really well. Other than the sound being reflected from the ceiling, the sounds from the rest of the speakers didn't do a very good job of creating that jaw-dropping sound experience that I was expecting from this device - dare I say, it was flat and didn't create nearly the kind of virtual soundstage that I've heard from other soundbars that cost far less than this one. Then there's the outdated technology - it only supports (1) HDCP 2.2 Input - so if you have a 4K UHD TV and were hoping to route two HDCP 2.2 devices through this soundbar - think again. It also doesn't support HDR passthrough - which is very commonplace these days. Finally, for a unit at this price to not include basics like wall mount, and a Subwoofer is odd. Ultimately I had to take advantage of Crutchfield's generous return policy.

Pros: Very realistic Overhead Sound reflection. Nice Remote

Cons: Only (1) HCDP 2.2 Input out of 4 HDMI Inputs No HDR Pass through Very Large

Crutchfield response on

6 of 13 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

Crutchfield customer from Guntown, MS on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Greatly Disappointed

Richard from Melbourne, FL on 1/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was greatly disappointed In the YSP-5600 sound bar. For the price I paid I expected at least sound equivalent to a Bose system (without the bass of course). My wife complained that she could not understand the dialog in some TV shows. I adjusted the treble and voice clarification features that seem to improve the voice quality but the overall sound quality is just not there. I followed all instructions on setup described in the owners manual. It has several good features bluetooth and WiFi connectivity and performed a successful firmware update during the setup process. Having 3D surround sound is worthless if the sound quality is missing. I have owned (and still own) Yamaha receiver/amplifiers, the sound quality has always been amazing so I figured I couldn't go wrong with this product.

Pros: Many good features like bluetooth and WiFi connectivity. Plenty of HDMI inputs along with other standard inputs. Automatic calibration of the system using an external Mic.

Cons: Poor sound quality for the money.

Crutchfield response on 1/8/2018
Richard, we're sorry you're disappointed with your sound bar. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome But

Tom from San Diego, CA on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This awesome product was easy to set up. Just know that you'll actually have to go online for some of the setup instructions. Because of it's size & weight and because of the way the wall mount is made, it was a challenge to attach to the wall mount because there are sides/metal plates where there would be the only place to visually confirm that the unit is indeed mounted properly. Also in the advertising of the unit, I nowhere saw the requirements for the best listening experience. These requirements include no vaulted ceilings and no seating against the wall. Seating should be toward the back 1/3 of the room.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Surround sound is limited by room characteristics

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Versatile, excellent sound quality 5.1 and 7.1 quality

Tony from Lihue, HI on 9/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After almost a year of ownership, I can say that I do not regret the purchase AT ALL! I started with the Auto config set up, and from there, I went into the setup menu, and tweaked some settings, and had the sound basically where we wanted it. There are lots of Yamaha DSP settings to choose from as well, and that will keep you experimenting with your particular room for a while. Our viewing room is about 25 x 15 with a pitched roof. Yes I know it is recommended that the roof be flat...but...you have to work with what you you've got. The "surround" sound projection is still very good, and the overall sound quality is excellent. As with all speakers, "sound bars" especially, the room is an important sound component. It's fun to experiment with and tweak! This is not just a "sound projector", but a full blown Preamplifier/amplifier. You will need a sub, and can go with Yamaha's additional wireless adapter if you're too far from the YSP-5600 or just do not want to deal with any extra wires. If your listening area is very large, I would consider another sound source. While it can fill up a room quite easily, if you get above 1000-1500 or so sq feet, you may want to go with a regular 5.1 or 7.1 system. In Stereo mode, with no DSP enabled, the FLAC files on our media sound clear and precise, and mirror the CDs from which they were ripped. As for the 4K issue, you can always bring the sound into the YSP5600 thru the Digital Coax port, or the Optical input.

Pros: All speakers(except for the sub) are in front of you. With Yamaha DSP options, and the setup, you have almost limitless control of the sound that reaches you. No Satelite speakers required ( again except for the sub). For us, the Pros outweigh the Cons. For Stereo, sound quality is as good or better than a 5.1 or 7.1 setup. costing the same or more.

Cons: Not as "loud" as a regular 5.1 or 7.1 Receiver/surround set up. Separation between channels is better using separate speakers, of course. Very sensitive to the shape of your listening room. Takes time to break in the system.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

Excellent Bar

Jake from San Francisco,Ca. on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound bar. You do need a sub. Very happy with product.

Pros: Excellent for movies Very wide soundstage Sub control on remote

Cons: Needs a sub

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent audio for home entertainment

Bill from Cary, NC on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great replacement or start for your home movie entertainment. Gives out great sound without all the surround speakers.

Pros: Replaces bulky receiver and speakers without all the wires

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Ok sound easy setup

Steve from Downers Grove, IL on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I expected better sound, but not bad. The measurements are like any other preamp/receiver in that they change every time you redo the setup. I do like the simple airplay integration, and the wireless network. Set up wqs easy and intuitive. Also, as other reviews have pointed out you do need a sub...not an option. Coming from a 5.1 system I had one handy and it made a world of difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

No HDR support

Tyrone from Maryland, USA on 8/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a customer of Crutchfield I wanted to point out to current/future owners and Crutchfield that this product has a significant short coming which is not (and should be) highlighted on its web site. That is its LACK of support for HDR passthru (support) via the only port on the YSP-5600 that supports HDMI 2.0/HDCP2.2. I only found this out today when connecting up the Xbox One S which supports 4K with HDR. My Vizio P50-C1 supports HDR10 and Dolby Vision. The Xbox screens indicated that I was passing a 4K signal but not HDR. When I started combing the web I confirmed that not only did it not support HDR (reportedly due to older hardware being installed) but it allegedly was made far more clearer with our neighbors across the pond (UK). I am incensed that a product of this capability and expense would have such a glaring oversight and not be crystal clear about it to the consumer. If HDR passthru (support) is not a big deal for you then consider it. Otherwise run away and if you are a current owner I would strongly encourage a letter to Yamaha corporate as to how they plan to rectify this.

Pros: Has everything that a soundbar should but and this is a big BUT.......

Cons: No HDR support due allegedly the hardware in the device

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2016
Thanks for your review. We sent your feedback to Yamaha and the confirmed the YSP-5600 does not offer HDR pass-through. This sound bar was designed prior to the finalization of the HDR hardware specification. So if you have a HDMI source device with HDR capability, you will need to connect it directly to your TV. Your TV may be able to send audio back to the soundbar via HDMI ARC. Keep in mind, most TVs send audio two-channel PCM, so you will lose Dolby Atmos support. As you suggested, we have updated our web presentation.

63 of 65 found this helpful

A Great Product for Our Configuration

KCFL Bert from FL Panhandle on 8/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have a FL beach house and recently tore out an old built-in wall unit designed for an old style "box" TVs with only a 36 inch maximum width. We then built and installed a new wall unit and spec'd the dimensions to both accommodate a 60" LG TV and this Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector. The center section of the cabinet has doors and drawers where the cable box, dvd, modem and router are hidden then above that sits the Yamaha with a shelf above it where the LG sits. We could not be more pleased with the end result given that the room itself could not accommodate a multi speaker surround system. The room itself is irregular shape and there was no practical or aesthetic way to accommodate rear speakers. And because of space limitations we wanted an arrangement that was high quality with less clutter. This Yamaha offers impressive sound quality given those constraints. There is plenty of audio power. Set up for the Yamaha was simple except for also configuring the device on a Logitech Master Remote where I initially made some human errors. We are still learning some of the enhanced features. Thanks to Artie for working with me to come up with this configuration. He offered a couple alternative ideas with this being his top recommendation for our situation and we are pleased. Wireless streaming capabilities work well. While we have space for it, we have not set up a wireless sub woofer. We will re-evaluate that over time and may or may not do that.

Pros: A great sound solution for rooms not conducive to a full multi speaker surround sound system.

Cons: It is expensive, but it best met our needs. While not a complaint, we use a Logitech master remote for basic daily functions but supplement that with the individual remotes to enable enhanced features. For example, on the Yamaha it does make a difference to switch from dialogue vs music vs movie listening modes. It is a bit heavy but once installed it hopefully should not need much subsequent moving. The cables that came with Yamaha were too short for our cabinet and had to be replaced.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

Thomas from Vacaville, CA on 5/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After 1 month of use I am completely satisfied with this system. From Atmos Bluerays to 50's cds, they all sound better. The control you have with the remote is amazing. I know there are features that I have yet to use, but each thing i discover is a pleasant surprise. Setup could not be faster or easier. Great System.

Pros: Completely different sound experience.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600

Frank from Hamilton, OH on 4/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace a 5.1 speaker system so that we could make better use of our available space. I was a little skeptical at first feeling there is no way this would work or sound good. However, I have to say that I have been very surprised and happy with the purchase. You definitely need a subwoofer to take full advantage of the performance of the sound bar but the performance of the sound bar with my sub is just outstanding for both movies and music. Next step is to upgrade my sub!

Pros: Easy to set up, no wires and great sound. Also great service and return policy from Crutchfield if for some reason it does not suit your needs.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha Sound Project with Atmos capability

Tony from atlanta, GA on 3/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I live in a condo and needed a high performing sound solution without a ton of speakers taking up space. No, it doesn't replicate Dolby Atmos like several pieces of Klipsch speakers firing from overhead and every corner but that wasn't my expectation. Great range of sound especially paired with a Klipsch sub. Very happy with the purchase.

Pros: Packing 44 speakers into a single bar provides optimal performance for a small footprint.

Cons: Pretty expensive and the LED can be hard to read through the grill.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound

The Pic from miami, FL on 2/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This really is an impressive piece of technology. The sound is incredible, the setup is a cinch. Must have for movie/music sound lovers.

Pros: Easy to set up, clear instructions, the best sound from a sound bar hands down.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

John J from waterville, OH on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the unit for over a week and have not been able to hear it yet. Seems to be copy write issues with TV manufactures.

Pros: Still trying to hook up.

Cons: Instruction/setup is very confusing. For the price of the unit they could have given you a printed manual. I have talked to tech support twice and cannot figure out why it won't work.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 21 found this helpful

Overall - Worth it

Joseph from st paul, MN on 2/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressed!! It does a great job of mimicking the side speakers. I am not so sure about the overhead (Atmos). I am not sure the source material was Atmos, so that's probably the reason. The area we are using it in is open to the kitchen with fairly high (10 foot ceilings), which is the reason I bought it. Rear speakers would look silly in the open area of my house. You do have to crank it up to be more effective, but I didn't notice any distortion on the higher volume levels. Yamaha obviously put a great AMP in the bar. I agree with the previous comments about that. I really think it's a great bar, probably the best. It replaced a DT SSA-3. A good sub is a MUST for ANY sound bar. I like the rackable YST-115 for an even cleaner look, as you can hide the sub wire in the wall without having to fork over $150 for a wireless option. I'd buy it again, but it should be a bit lower cost in my opinion. Ironically the same day I set this up Klipsch sent me an email about a similar setup that they have released. As far as size, yes it's large but not as large as some folks talk about. How else could you physically get that many speakers in a box? It's about as wide as a DT SSA-3 but twice the height and of course thicker. It's not a "big" deal. Go for a big TV to make it look proportional on a wall. It would look kind of silly inmo paired with anything under 55" TV.

Pros: NO wires! No distortion! Overall I would buy again, despite my Cons below.

Cons: A bit of a pain to setup. The onscreen menus reminded me of the Mac 2 days. :) The wireless setup was a chore to setup after initial set up. I'll probably call for help on that one. Price point should be a bit lower given you have to buy the wall mount separate and the wireless speaker option.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

Yamaha YSP-5600 Digital Sound Projector

James from burton, MI on 2/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really a great replacement for five point one sound system, the wife loves the no wires for the back speakers. I had a 5.1 system that cost me $5000.00, I added a sub-woofer to this sound bar and it really came to life.

Pros: having quality sound with no back speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Kenneth K from guaynabo, PR on 1/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After the initial set-up and running its auto Beam adjust. I tested it with a few movies, some Spotify, allcast and DLNA. I can say the sound is clear and no distorsion. I have it paired with a Klipsch Reference R-12SW Sub. The Martian, some Lord of the Rings and a game Battlefront wich features ATMOS, all sounded great. As for music, Blues, Jazz and ROCK, same results great spaciousness and superb music.

Pros: No Wires for speakers, A lot of formats, sound modes to please and features to boot. Superb Surround, ATMOS sound awesome, and AUDIO fine tuning.

Cons: Can be a bit tall and might cover part of your screen, if placed at the same level, easily fixed.

Crutchfield response on

25 of 25 found this helpful

TOP