Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
Connect ID #
696 741 412 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Denon AVR-S540BT

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # AVRS540BTBKE3

Denon AVR-S540BT

Denon AVR-S540BT

5.2-channel home theater receiver with Bluetooth®

MFR # AVRS540BTBKE3

186 reviews
View this product

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Owings Mills, MD on 11/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Glad to hear it's discontinued! The first two I received were defective right out of the box. The third unit worked fine for about 7 months and is now making a loud annoying clicking sound. It's next stop is in the trash! Stay away from this brand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/14/2022
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield come with lifetime tech support.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Derto from Vega Baja, PR on 7/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Muy buen servicio , y equipo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon

Mark from Nebraska City, NE on 6/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use but the interface could be a little smoother. Older Denon is easier to use.

Pros: Good sound, easy remote.

Cons: Interface needs a better update.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Michael from Lexington, NC on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Loving the sound for my theater

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Family room receiver

David from Caguas, PR on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The receiver was connect to the TV thru BT, with Bose 251 speakers in the terrace (outside of the house) is good but the power maybe with more power should be better.

Pros: Price

Cons: Power

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Thomas from Henderson, NV on 5/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It seems to be a good simple receiver considering the price. It comes with no owner's manual in the box, but it has all of the basic functions, and they are easy enough to figure out. When I performed the built-in audio tuning function it was clear that the test noise coming from the right speaker was a very different pitch from the left one. I'm not sure if that is a function of the Denon receiver or the brand new Klipsch Reference speakers that I have. I suppose I could switch the left and right cables to see if the difference follows the speaker wire, or does it stay with the speaker regardless of the wiring. That would isolate the problem to either the Denon or the speakers themselves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy hook up, great Bluetooth

Eliot from Forest Hill, MD on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice receiver. Set up was straightforward and quick. I'm using it in 2 separate rooms and my only concern is that the sound is much fuller coming from the rear speakers. It may be just the way it works but it would be nice to have the same sound quality out of all 4 speakers. Crutchfield has always been great at responding to questions so I'll be calling them in hopes that it is a simple setting adjustment.

Pros: Connections, Bluetooth

Cons: Sound quality differences between front and rear even in multi channel stereo.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

May be better but who knows

Robert from Madison, MS on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick start manual useless. On line manual massive and incoherent. Tech help from Crutchfield helpful but unsuccessful in problems. After many attempts to get this to work as successully as a cheap sound bar resulting in nothing but frustration the unit has been returned to Crutchfield and I am awaiting a refund.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 13 found this helpful

Great

Ronald from DIAMOND CITY, AR on 2/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All I can say is compared to my old receiver this one is great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Denon rocks!

Brian from Malibu, CA on 1/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Denon has a long history of great receivers and this one doesn't disappoint. Many thanks to Crutchfield's tech support for their guidance on pre-purchase guidance!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Jimmy from Hollywood, MD on 1/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up and works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 1/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Denon Receiver works just like I expected it to do. The quality is wonderful and the shipping and customer service tracking was helpful and the receiver was delivered exactly when promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, TX on 11/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very nice and very easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

Crutchfield customer from Gatesville, TX on 9/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound, but sound is not as customisable as my 20 year old Pioneer as it relies on preset schemes. But it does sound good. For tv it doesnt seem to keep my subwoofer awake, but neither did my Pioneer. I guess I xant hook up my gaming pc through it either, gotta figure that out. Bluetooth is nice and the auto setup was great.

Pros: Gets the job done Inexpensive Bluetooth

Cons: Not very customiseable

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, AL on 9/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Setup was very easy, wished it had network connection ability. Sound is crisp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good product for the price. The remote is not the best, cannot get it to talk with my direct tv receiver. It is very easy to set up otherwise.

Pros: Good output; easy to set up.

Cons: Not the best remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Better/cheaper option than Yamaha

Crutchfield customer from Eagleville, PA on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this to replace the Yamaha RX-V4A that stopped connecting via bluetooth after only six or seven months. The Yamaha's wireless option for speakers also never synced. It was always delayed so this "old fashioned" wired surround speakers will be a better option. Much less expensive and is, so far, working quite well. I wish I had bought this first as I am outside the return window for the Yamaha. The setup for the Denon was great and easy and, once I got it configured, this works to autostart pretty much all my devices and switches to the correct input. i.e. fire-up the blueray and the tv comes on, switches to external speakers and then the receiver fires-up. The Mrs. noticed improvement in the movie sound the very first night. My music-listening in 90% streamed from my phone and it is probably 80% of what I use this for, plus movie nights. Music all day at this house. Very pleased to get this and it arrived quickly. Really like watching these new receivers setup their own speaker balance. Pretty slick.

Pros: Cost Easy to setup and operate. Really nice balance when using the mic to setup the speakers.

Cons: Too early to tell

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice unit with plenty of nice features.

Crutchfield customer from Camas, WA on 8/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced 35-yr old separate components (Am/FM tuner, pre-amp, power amp) with this unit. Already impressed with the increased clarity and improved range of audio. I like the Bluetooth connectivity for ease of music selection and having TV surround audio. Allowed for the addition of a center speaker and sub to the two 3-way and two 2-way speakers we already have in operation. The auto set-up feature for EQing and balancing the speakers in the room is slick. Music sounds great!

Pros: Pretty easy set-up. Plenty of useful power using quality speakers. Auto EQ and room balance of speakers. Not expensive. Bluetooth and surroundsound.

Cons: Comes loaded with more than 50 FM presets - useless to me. Once programmed, presets can only be obtained by scrolling through list or manual tuning (no numeric pad on remote or unit to make selections.) Need to scroll through TV inputs to return to TV viewing after using non-TV functions. First-world problems.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Lots of features

Crutchfield customer from East Granby, CT on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great set of features for money, love usb music and Bluetooth streaming from phone.

Pros: Features

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Sutton, WV on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No comparison to my old RCA receiver that was 20 years old. Easy to set up and use.

Pros: Plenty of power Easy set up Easy to navigate all menus

Cons: Little big on size, but not a problem

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon is the best

Lui from Puerto Rico on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Is a super excellent receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Rangely, CO on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It does what I want

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Isabela, PR on 6/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional value and performance

Crutchfield customer from Edgewood, NM on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Many people with families have budgets and I am one of them. I had an Onkyo that cost 3x what this Denon does. The center channel went out on it for the 2nd time and it was out of warranty. I always liked Denon but they were expensive. This is Denon's budget model and on paper looked like what I needed. I didn't expect much from it but being a Denon I had hopes. This model exceeded all expectations. You can read the specs so I won't go into that. I can tell you it gives more than it's competition. It drives my Polk speakers easily. And it sounds better than my old Onkyo. One con I would say is it's "night mode" does not work as well as Onkyo. But for the money it is so good I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great power. Crisp, clean, great fidelity. Easy to set up & balance Left-Right, Bass-Treble.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Lynn, MA on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Ocoee, FL on 4/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice amp, does just what we need for a HT upgrade at an affordable price. Very satisfied. Very quick delivery from Crutchfield!

Pros: Easy set up, sounds great!

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Joshua from Cincinnati, OH on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound and clarity. Upgraded from soundbar (a decent one) to this and a 3.1 setup and difference is not even measurable in my book. For entry level receiver it is very very good for movies and music and has plenty of power for my mid size room. Large rooms likely want to look up a model as I feel this would be weaker in a large room setting and not fill room with sound. Just my opinion but for mid size room (14*14) and lower it is perfect and unless you want ATMOS I would have a hard time justifying. Well done Denon well done.

Pros: Easy and simple setup Clarity and power for my size room

Cons: Nitpicky but the speakers have minor pop when changing sources. Also being able to use banana clips on better connection posts would have been nice but entry level so it works.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Failed after 2 months

Anthony from Leadville on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very odd issue. Amplifier worked fine for 2 months then shutoff and went into protection mode. Unplugged all speaker cable and it worked fine for 24 hours. Then it went into protection mode again. I began unplugging all the connections and noticed I was grounding a bit of current so I unplugged. I Checked the units chassis grounds which looked perfectly fine and then I noticed the oddity. There was discolored Scotch tape on the side of the thermal fuse housing and there obviously was once Scotch tape on the top of the housing but barely any of it was left and most of it had melted. Very strange. Im hoping to just get a Quick direct replacement from Denon. We shall see.

Pros: Great unit for the money

Cons: Obvious QC problems

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Redmond, OR on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great with lots of easy to use menus and manual adjustments. This receiver is perfect for an upgrade from your traditional theater in a box products! I have always used Yamaha, but this Denon is just as well designed and made as the competition, if not better. Its ready to do WORK!!

Pros: Super Easy to use and setup.

Cons: None that I am aware of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For our limited audio listening in a condo, with others upstairs, it's perfect. It did take a little time to adjust the sound, especially the bass, it was well worth it. The only complaint would be only off and on can be controlled by a Fire TV stick remote so you have to have both remotes to use the TV.

Pros: Everything you need from a A/V monitor in limited space.

Cons: Limited Fire TV Stick control.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid all-around receiver with intuitive controls and above-average capability. It follows the now-familiar pattern of offering little visual feedback on its front panel, all but requiring that you connect it to a screen to perform meaningful setup work. This is annoying, but necessary for us all to grow accustomed to it, as the new normal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Durango, CO on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The new receiver was very easy to set up. It is sleek and the controls are few, which is what I like in a stereo receiver. The receiver pairs well with my Bose 301 speakers. Overall, I must say, I am highly satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

John from SYKESVILLE, MD on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Installed on closet shelf close to the ceiling of bedroom for use in nearby bathroom. Paired with wireless Klipsch 10" in bathroom closet and one stereo ceiling speaker. Wife hates it so you now it's amazing! My teenagers love to jam in the shower.

Pros: Price Sounds good Inputs

Cons: have to press Bluetooth button on remote to pair the first time.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Mcminnville, TN on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You can spend a lot more but for a small home theater why would you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Performance and Value

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, MD on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded to this Denon after owning an entry level Yamaha for 10 years. Running through discontinued Polk Model 60 series 5 channel (I believe TSi series is the equivalent) and dual SVS PC-2000s. Ran the room correction and fired up some movies and music. Immediately noticed improved top end/clarity (think cymbal frequencies, etc.), mid-range, and great interaction in that 80-120hz range interacting with the subs. Better performance under high volume as well. A call to Crutchfield ahead of the purchase cleared up my questions between this and the more expensive 5 channel Denon. This is a basic, no frills unit for a dedicated 5 channel movie/music/game room. For the price, this was a great upgrade to an old receiver and I'll be a returning Crutchfield and Denon customer.

Pros: Price, performance, setup, room correction.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon quality at a good price

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would have given it 5 stars, but it sure would be nice to have a phono input on the back panel. It does have Blutooth, which is a nice touch, and it has all the power and outputs one would need for most applications. Great value for a Denon quality product. This is my fourth as a loyal customer; for good reason.

Pros: Sounds great, lots of features at this price point, Blutooth, and plenty of inputs and outputs.

Cons: With it had phono input.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Manakin Sabot, VA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this receiver after finding that my new Samsung Q80t did not turn on my old Yamaha receiver through the ARC input. The Denon has worked flawlessly and the on screen setup was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superior

Dan from Superior on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am totally disappointed in this product. I made every speaker and HDMI hookup carefully and began the setup program which failed saying there were no speakers hooked up when obviously there were so I retried and it failed again. I called customer tech support and after trying a couple of things he told me to box it up and return it. I returned it and replaced it with a Sony receiver and am very happy with their product. Sorry Denon but your product failed the quality I expected.

Pros: None

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Berlin , MD on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had to wait for several months for this unit due to low stock levels (Covid-19 delays), but it was well worth it. Outstanding system. Sound quality is fantastic. Setup procedures are a little confusing but after reading the setup steps on the Web-manual, it got real easy. I spent a few hours following the quick step setup procedures, i finally got on the Denon web site and followed those steps. Much easier. Thanks for a great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Get more at a lower cost!!

Dennis from Upstate, NY on 12/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the lower cost, impressed with the terrific sound!! Easy set up with the included speaker Mic. A large remote, but in a snap, remote changes from CBL/SAT to a variety of choices. Blu-ray, DVD/Blu-ray Player, Game, TV Audio, Media Player, USB, AM, FM, Bluetooth. The Denon compliments an upper end 4K TV and a 4K Blu-ray player. Living room is now done! Crutchfield service was outstanding!!

Pros: A price that made sense for the quality in sound and use.

Cons: Something I should have done sooner!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon is the Nest!

Ryan from Council Bluffs, IA on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just bought the AVR-S540BT, this is a great addition to my 4K tv and Xbox One X. Mind blown does not even say it all. Setup was easy and the mic for speaker setup is easy, it just takes minutes. I will never buy another receiver again!

Pros: It was relatively inexpensive to buy.

Cons: That I didn't buy one sooner!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Cordova, CA on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Connecting the iPod.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When I purchased this item it was with the hope that I would be able to connect my beloved iPod 80 Gb classic. Alas,it was not to be. Apparently since I bought the "bare bones" model, its ability to enable the aforementioned iPod connection is not available, even though it says so on the box, in the printed matter and on the web site. ( I was, however, able to connect the iPod to the receiver using the audio inputs in the back. I have to crank up the volume though.) That feature is available on upper echelon models which are well above my budgetary constraints. My wife gave me the "evil eye" when I told her I was buying this "bare bones" Denon model. I don't wish to contemplate the "looks" I'd get if I told her I was going to spend even more money on superfluous "things". All things considered, I am mostly satisfied with my purchase. Still, I would have loved being able to connect the iPod to the receiver using the USB connection and getting full fidelity. This is more a venting than a review, so, I must thank you for the forum to enable me to provide my opinion. Thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great low priced amplifier. Replaces and old Denon in our Rec Room. Much better than the old one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great purchase

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 9/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Denon was easy to start up and does the job I purchased it for very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Trego, WI on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great products good prices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent buy!

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pines, FL on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound with plenty of options. Extremely easytoset up surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 9/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

At first setup I was a little disappointed. There seemed to be fewer options for customizing my sound than I was expecting. However that was before I discovered the full manual setup in the manual, which allows for a lot more flexibility in configuration. It definitely needs a powered subwoofer to go with it, even with large front speakers capable of 32hz sound it didn't seem to want to pass the low frequencies through (but a sub was always the plan and once hooked up, it woke the whole system up magnificently). My only significant complaint at this point is that you have to use their app to play Bluetooth rather than just connecting directly. The app works fine on my iPad but crashes with my phone. But that's not a defect in the receiver per se. All in all I'm quite happy with the purchase and I'm sure it'll give me many long years of music.

Pros: Easy auto setup with included room mic, solid power and sound quality for a quite reasonable price

Cons: Requires Denon app for Bluetooth connection, which app is not 100% stable; may take some minor tweaking to get sound the way you want it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome Sauce!

Waylon from Houston, TX on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this receiver about a year ago to replace a faulty receiver and it has been exceptional. I did all my research and this is the receiver I wanted. The price was right and it is Denon quality. I have not had any issues with it and it drives my 5.1 system perfectly with plenty of power. It is easy to tweak the auto setup and adjust the audio delay/volume to your liking. I am very pleased overall with my purchase.

Pros: Easy setup, the bluetooth connectivity makes the receiver fun.

Cons: The auto speaker setup leaves much to be desired but you can modify it how you like and it is relatively simple.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Value packed receiver

Crutchfield customer from Pageland, SC on 9/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit for my younger grandson and he loves it. It has the technology that his generation is into such as bluetooth etc. Setup was easy and it sounds good. I wished that audio equipment today could be programmed without a tv . At the time I thought we would have am/fm and a cd player to start with but a tv is required for setup. I guess that just shows I am really old school and that my pioneer elite surround sound receiver had it's setup built into the system no tv required. We are very satisfied with the Denon AVR-S540BT . I would give Crutchfield a 5 star rating ***** for being a very special customer service oriented business.

Pros: Price, value and features. Great starter receiver.

Cons: The old school in me wish programming could be done via menu in the receiver without a tv. But with a tv very easy setup. I guess I am just getting old.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not happy.

Paul from Hilton, NY on 8/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great at first. Easy set-up. Great sound compared to my 20 year old receiver. HDMI control (CEC) abruptly stopped working after about 6 weeks. The receiver will not work with any remotes other than it's own, so multiple remotes were needed to watch TV. Denon support blamed my 50" LG TV. After replacing the TV the problem remained, I was not happy. I found several other people on line with exactly the same problem. Crutchfield was great, they took the receiver back and issued a refund right away. I'm waiting for my new receiver to arrive. It's NOT a Denon.

Pros: Great sound. Easy set-up.

Cons: Poor reliability. Poor customer service from Denon.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

AMAZING

Crutchfield customer from Bethlehem, PA on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome product ! Cruthfield is an amazing company to work with !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Mick J from Winchester, VA on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Needed to replace a 19 year old JVC receiver in our family room. Wanted a Onkyo since we already have one in another viewing room, and very happy with it. Onkyo was not available, as is the case with many things during the pandemic, so I chose Denon. I've had Denon products before, and had good experiences with them. This Denon receiver is perfect for our needs. Very easy to install and program, and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Grand Junction, CO on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Get sound for the value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great for thr price

Pros: esay to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great budget receiver

Crutchfield customer from Abilene, TX on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what i was looking for, works perfectly and I have zero issues for what I am using it for

Pros: simple interface and easy setup

Cons: mic auto calibration is hit or miss, it takes multiple tries to get it to work, but i didn't care about this

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, tons of feature for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty easy to hook up. Only have used it for a day though so time will tell. It was delivered one day after expected date.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 8/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver for the price. Nice looking. Easy set up. Love the display dimmer. Delivery was fast. Next time I'll check Crutchfield for electronic equipment before I check the others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding! NOT RECOMMENDED!

Frank from Newbury Park, CA on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Denon receiver is exactly what I wanted. Low in cost, and powerful enough to drive my TV stereo system. I just wanted a basic A/V receiver and this is what this Denon is. The surprising thing was how good the sound is, especially for the money. It was easy to set up too. I had one glitch that was my fault. I didn't remove the cable from the satellite box to the TV. As soon as I figured that one out, and removed the cable from the TV and plugged it into the Denon receiver, all was good. Maybe it is my imagination, but I think the picture improved some too. I have a 73" Mitsubishi TV. With the new Denon receiver driving my JM Lab Cobalt 806-S speakers, programming is much more involving too. Delivery was as promised, in two days flat, and free. I'm a long-time audiophile with a very expensive, all-tube audio system that is totally amazing, so you can trust my ears and eyes on the video system. UPDATED 10/9/20: First, let me give many kudos to Crutchfield. Their customer service is excellent, their staff is knowledgeable and friendly. You can tell that they enjoy their jobs. I highly recommend them. With that said, I previously wrote a five-star review on my first Denon S540BT. Shortly after the review was submitted, the unit failed. I got nothing except a blue screen on the TV. I returned the unit to Crutchfield for a replacement, which was back ordered and had to wait about four weeks for the replacement. When the second unit arrived, I installed it right away and it worked perfectly and I decided not to change my five-star review. The sound was excellent and running just a two-channel system, it was perfect for what I needed. Then, about two weeks after delivery, I decided to play my first Blu-Ray. Zilch. Nothing but a blue screen. I had sound, but no picture. I called Crutchfield and they agreed to replace the Denon with a Yamaha RX-V385 for a slight difference in price ... under two dollars. Crutchfield is allowing me to keep the Denon until the Yamaha arrives so that I can continue enjoying the stereo sound from the TV programming. Another two thumbs up for Crutchfield. The Yamaha has excellent reviews from other Crutchfield customers, so hopefully, this will solve the problems.

Pros: Excellent value. Really good sound and picture. Easy setup. Attractive unit. UPDATED 10/9/20: Excellent sound quality. Easy to set up.

Cons: None found so far. UPDATED 10/9/20: The quality control really, really sucks.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Waldorf, MD on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased! Great quality, great cost!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Topsham, ME on 8/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver for the price. Very good on input options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would buy àgain.

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 8/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This reciever is better than expected using it to power my speakers in the back yard. I didnt know the speakera sounded so good until we hooked the S540BT up. We watched Abbott and Costello meet Frankenstein then cars on our 120" outdoor screen and epson project AWSOME. Easy hook up and easy instructions.

Pros: Sound, setup, ease of uses

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, IL on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very nice product very easy to set up sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product Support on a Faulty Reciever

Crutchfield customer from Wamego, KS on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unfortunately the one shipped to me had a bad internal amp. Crutchfield product support was excellent and a replacement is on the way fast!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so it did everything I needed it to do. I did not know that every AV receiver has to be hooked to the TV to see the menu, had to connect it to a monitor and was able to configure what I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Coloma, CA on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect. Exceptional product for the money .

Pros: Very good sound Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding AV Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, VT on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very reasonably priced. Great sound and easy setup with the setup assistant. It provides the best sound without the hassle of adjusting the speakers manually. Simple hookup for speakers and devices attached to it. Best purchase I've made this year

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Haven't had it but just a short while and so far it delivers great preformance. Just what I was looking for.

Pros: Easy set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Replacement

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, GA on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a S510BT because the video output failed after 4years. So far, so good with the new one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had to do the set-up routine twice and get some advice from tech support on configuring my DVD player but it all worked out and works fine now.

Pros: Has HDMI support, which my old receiver was lacking.

Cons: No inputs for other audio devices but it does have Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon is still my favorite

Crutchfield customer from Paradise, TX on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced old Denon with this one. I am completely satisfied with the performance and ease of setup. I read one review that complained the setup was difficult which I would disagree. The Bluetooth functionality is a breeze and more power than I need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As advertised. This was a great selection and it was easy to setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works exactly as it should

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good. Everything works as it should. It was a good experience for me since I had a Denon receiver before, and there was a lot of similarity in the workings.

Pros: Good looking, reasonably easy to operate

Cons: I wish the FM reception was a little better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Colonia, NJ on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up, sound quality is great. Really enjoy the Bluetooth functionality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap and Sweet

Marty from Hillsboro, OR on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this AVR as a short term replacement for a Marantz 7011 that blew it's amp, while I'm waiting for the Marantz 8015 to be released. This is a really basic receiver but it fits my needs for the living room 5.2 system. One good thing to know is that it won't take banana plugs the inputs are to small, so I had to remover all the plugs and just put the wires into the inputs. The setup is really easy - it walks you through it, and the sound is fine. I wouldn't use this for my home theater setup but for fairly simple system I have no problems with it. It comes with a mic for room correction but it bother with it. It obviously lacks features that you find on high end AVR's but for this price it's pretty much a steal.

Pros: Price Connectivity Ease of setup

Cons: None based on the price.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great. Great buy for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great A/V receiver

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, FL on 7/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing product for the price and the Crutchfield staff are amazing for support, something I'll never get at the big online retailers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

There was a very small dent on top of the unit. The surround sound audio test was struck on stage 1 of the 5 stage sound test. Had to skip past that part. The unit works fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Jenkintown, PA on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very satisfied with this product. My old Denon receiver which I used for my surround sound system in my basement stopped working and I needed a replacement and this is just the right receiver for what I to replace my old receiver. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in a great receiver for you home theater system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Belle Vernon, PA on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second denon receiver. Sound quality is great and setup is simple. Functionality of bass,treble,and channel levels is awesome. Crutchfield like always has been great. I have klipsch elac and Polk speakers and they all sound good but room acoustics determine which ones I use in certain rooms. Mostly use for music but sounds great for movies too.

Pros: Good price. Exceptional quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very user friendly!

Pros:

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good unit for basic surround and blue tooth

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clean sound, easy to use, easy to set up. Auto tune for the room and speakers feature works well. Bravo!!!

Pros: Features, price

Cons: Has no line level or audio monitor output. So you can not send signal to another device with this unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Guest from Here on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I can hear sounds!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Stillwater, MN on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Affordable home theater solution

Crutchfield customer from Morrison, CO on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased 2 of these units: one for my daughter, and one for my mom. An excellent base component for a simple, yet sufficient home theater system for those who just want a bigger sound. Easy user interface. Multi-channel stereo for rocking out. Good little unit.

Pros: Price, DTS, Multi-channel Stereo, user interface

Cons: Slightly under-powered, but still sufficient

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Covington, LA on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver for the price. Attached my wired speaker system and it sounds new. Set-up was quick and easy. Only required one HDMI cable to attach Smart TV (with attached DVD) and sound plays through clearly. Connected older CD player and functions well. Bluetooth works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great value!

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got this for my family room, both as a surround system for video games and Blu-Ray discs, but also as a replacement for my jury-rigged audio system for my turntable and CD player. My only issue is that is seems very video-centric; there aren't input specifically for audio components. You have to just use the audio portion of a composite video input. I may have to just dig through the options more, though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Muscle Shoals, AL on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Yea for Bluetooth

Pros: All systems go

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MEH

Crutchfield customer from Binghamton, NY on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

a little more difficult to set up with a samsung smart TV than i thought. Not happy that it did not have speaker inputs for a non powered subwoffer., but i guess that was my bad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from New Harmony, UT on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice receiver for the price. My old Onkyo gave up after two years. Needed a replacement, mainly used for head phones. Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Work only intermittently

Tea from Omaha, NE on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second day since I got this receiver. I am using this receiver for (1) listening FM, (2) listening to music from my phone via Bluetooth, (3) the audio from a TV (connected with an optic cable), and (4) watching movies through Apple TV (connected to the "media player"HDMI ) ". (1) and (2) have been working fine. (3) and (4) have been working only intermittently. No sound from the speakers on many occasions. Resetting "Video" and/or "Input" in the setting seems to solve an issue although I did not change these settings. It has been annoying. This particular one is defective or the model has some issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/27/2020
Tea contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Conover, WI on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great receiver and great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very Pleased

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great value and easy set up.

Pros:

Cons: does not offer the banana plug hook up for speaker wiring, but happy with the purchase.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Shorewood, IL on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I hooked an older set of Bose Acustomass 15 speakers to this unit and it works great. For a lower priced unit it does a very good job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

GREAT for the pribe. Would highly recommend for first time 5.2 sound system. You will not go wrong.

Pros: Great company to work with I've gotten several auto radios before.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Findlay, OH on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Product! Works perfectly as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MEH

Crutchfield customer from Valley Center, CA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was hoping I could watch TV without the Receiver on. You can't with this model. Other than that it seems to work well for the price.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Doesn't come in any other color but black.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

HBin

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was my first Denon product purchase and I'm not disappointed. The on-screen hook-up was very helpful in speaker set-up. Controls are easy to understand . The labeling tags were very helpful also. I tagged the components as they were disconnected , making the new hook-up very easy. Great value for the price--would highly recommend.

Pros: Great value for the price!!

Cons: The only con was that the speaker openings were very small. I have Monster cables and they had to be pared down to fit the openings.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon

Crutchfield customer from Holden, LA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great budget receiver with plenty of sound.

Pros: Nice sound for 70 watts per channel 2 preamp sub outputs. Trusted name. App support. $1.99 gets you a great EQ.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Freehold, NJ on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Miami Beach, FL on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just what I needed, with more options than I was looking for, set up does not take that long, you are taken step by step thru your T.V. Yes you need a TV set, and it does not take that long . "NO MANUAL" might cause a problem for some people. If you need something simple and at a good price (got it on sale) this Denon AVR will do, it sounds great.

Pros: It has a lot of options, and a lot more than I needed.

Cons: " NO MANUAL"

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid bluetooth receiver for the money

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was looking for an affordable home receiver with a bluetooth and a sub out. ( My beloved Onkyo of 10 plus years finally died.) A couple weeks in and I really like this unit. It's simple to use and has a bunch of hdmi ports in and a single out to the TV to keep the number of cables down. I only wish the remote were lit to make it easier to use at night. Other than that, I'm happy.

Pros: Simple, affordable and well-built. Bluetooth works great.

Cons: A lit remote would be great.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Linwood, MI on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to hook up. Paired well with my speakers and other equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent bargain reciver

Crutchfield customer from Eagle, ID on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent, basic home theater receiver. Performs better then expected! Does everything as advertised. Simple connections. Plenty of power in my small room.

Pros: Price, performance

Cons: Limited connections

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Basic Home Theater System

Crutchfield customer from Minocqua, WI on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've tried a couple of sound bars with my two TV sets in the living room (ultimate PIP) with not much luck. One was entry level and the other high quality. The sound quality just was not what I expected. I had a 7.2 channel theater at my old residence, but didn't have the space to set it up at my new home. So, I decided to explore finding something that could replace the sound bar and not break the bank in the process. This receiver was recommended to me by the online salesman and it does exactly what I was hoping for with a price tag under $250.00! I was able to resurrect a couple of main speakers from the old system. I also ended up purchasing a center speaker because my old one was to big for its location. This is a 5.2 system and I use it without the surround speakers and it works great. The best part about this new system is being able to switch between the sound of my two TVs with the press of a button. I recommend this produce if you're looking for a high quality home theater system at a reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product that doesn't brake the bank

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Dover, DE on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic, easy to hook up and sounds great with my old Bose speakers. Would highly recommend to others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great receiver to update system!

Crutchfield customer from Maitland, FL on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic value. Fast delivery. Easy connections. Subwoofers need own power, even though there is RCA jack. Very satisfied. I highly recommend.

Pros: A perfect fit to upgrade

Cons: If you have a subwoofer, it needs its own power, or you can purchase a subwoofer power amp for less than $100.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Cohoes, NY on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this on sale. Great receiver for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased!

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had this unit for a few weeks now and I have been completely satisfied with it. It was easy to set up. The speaker calibration process was easy to follow. The unit that I replaced had posts for the speaker wire connections and this unit has clips which are easier to use. The display is bright and easy to use and I like having the 5 audio-video inputs. The sound is great through our surround sound system and the remote is easy to use. This is a great unit for the cost. I have no negatives to say about it. I would also like to comment on Crutchfield. I have been a Crutchfield customer for 40 years and their people and service cannot be beat. If I want something in electronics, I always go to Crutchfield. I trust their people and their recommendations and I have never been disappointed in any of the many purchases that I have made from them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Athens, PA on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far I like this receiver, seems well made, gets good FM reception, has good features.

Pros: Nice solid item that did not cost a ton of money. Works well. Very happy with tuner. Bluetooth works fast and easy. Like most receivers once you figure out set up options it becomes very easy. So far happy.

Cons: SETUP. needing it to be hooked to a TV for use, frustrating. when you just want it for tunes, remember this, you will be lugging it back in house or a TV to the garage to do the setup. that part blows. very basic EQ. wish it had more. Need remote for some actions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Stamping Ground, KY on 3/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Powerful receiver, very easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MS on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a good starter and is easy to set up. Can't beat it at the sale price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

system rebuild

Crutchfield customer from Queens Village, NY on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i love this unit it's been my best purchase of the new year. adding the Polk speakers was also a wonderful idea, thy are a great pairing. Thank you Crutchfield for all of you help next up a new CD player to go along with this system.

Pros: so far everything about this equipment has been great, I have had experience with the brand of speakers and the receiver in the past and the quality is still the same.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Rockaway, NJ on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

From a first time buyer of audio equipment, easy set up and great sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from San Tan Valley, AZ on 3/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great price point receiver that packs lots of features. Easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great receiver, little price

Crutchfield customer from Ellendale, MN on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very happy with this receiver. It sounds absolutely fantastic! The remote control is easy to use and the receiver was very easy to hook up with the provided instructions. I would recommend to a friend and I would buy again

Pros: Crisp clean amp

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good and Bad

Bob from Knightdale, NC on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I agree with Aubrey. This is a very good receiver for the price but...without an instruction manual, several nuances offered by this product can be easily missed. The "quick set up guide" is great for the initial install but it took two calls to Tech Support and a lot of frustrating "trial and errors" before I was able to get the receiver up and running. I was ready to return it to Crutchfield. The bad part - I'm still not sure it is operating at 100%. Overall you do get your money's worth from this Denon.

Pros: Lots of options for a very good price.

Cons: No instruction manual.

Crutchfield response on 3/4/2020
Bob, to help save on costs and protect the environment, many products don't include an owner's manual in the box. Manufacturers either include it on a disc or send you to their website to download it. However, one of our tech support Advisors, Josh, takes the time to scan the manuals for products we carry, so you can access them right from our web site. The first item appearing in the "What's in the box?" section for a product on our site is a link to the owner's manual. You can view it in your browser or download it to your computer.

20 of 20 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using the ARC feature is awesome, receiver volume control synched right up with my Samsung TV

Pros: Easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 2/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good price prompt delivery. I am pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Steve C

Crutchfield customer from East Wenatchee, WA on 1/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice unit, simple connections, easy set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

If you want a basic, yet inexpensive great sounding HT receiver!

Crutchfield customer from Bridgewater, NJ on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I picke. d this up to replace a 20 year old HT receiver that bit the dust a week ago. Considering how cheaply made and the lack of inputs many in this price range force on you, this one was a steal at the sale price, would have been more than worth it full price. So it does take some time to break in and sound good, but after 5 hours, it came into its own. Now is it a $2k unit with 50 different sound settings and 25 audio inputs - of course not. What it is: a great sounding 5 channel HT receiver with 4k HDMI passthrough and great Denon sound. Love this thing so far - even though it is hooked up to an extra TV in the basement with only a pair of bookshelf speakers.

Pros: Plenty of HDMI inputs, 4k pass through, sounds great for the money

Cons: Could use more analog and digital inputs

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Denon

James from Atlanta on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent receiver

Pros: Runs smoothly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Ballwin, MO on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect to anchor a small home theater

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great denon sound and quality

Crutchfield customer from Tolland, CT on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this is a great little basic 5 channel receiver. my father had a old denon he bought over 10 years ago and it's still running and sounding great and never had an issue hence the reason i purchased this one. it's perfect for a small to medium size living room with small bookshelf or efficient speakers. it comes with blue tooth and sounds fantastic. it connects to my iphone and my wife's android phone effortlessly. i'm just using it for two channel stereo listening with a connected subwoofer and it fills my medium size living room with nice clean sound. the set up was easy. i hooked everything into the denon first my bluray player cable box phono preamp speakers and subwoofer cable. plugged in the denon turned on the tv turned on the denon and there was the walk through menu. very simple. this unit does not have any kind of internet features but...since every bluray player and every tv made now has all of that built into them plus all the other different streaming devices there is no big loss. just money saved not having them. the only gripe is the spring clip speaker connectors on the back of the unit. this receiver partnered with a inexpensive sub/sat speaker system would blow away most soundbars and would probably cost less then a lot of them too. i've been listening to this receiver now for 4 months with no issues whatsoever. if you are looking for a basic 5 channel surround system this is the receiver to get.

Pros: price, easy to set up, easy to connect phones,great sound from blue tooth

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Denon s540bte

Rollin from Mineral Wells W.V on 10/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a old Kenwood surround I needed a upgrade and I'm not disappointed with the denon s540bt I like it alot

Pros: Everything a pro

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works and sounds great and does everything I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Jordan, NY on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love the item for the price. Still trying to get the Apple TV remote to control the tv, receiver and Apple TV but not the fault of the receiver. I'm happy!

Pros: Excellent product for the price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful piece of equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Unbeatable entry level HTR

Crutchfield customer from Clifton Park, NY on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a very good entry level home theater receiver. It has decent power, good features, and 4k HDMI (why I bought it). Kids like to use the Bluetooth connection for music. I even connected my phonograph! All the functionality I needed for our living room 4K TV. The price was unbeatable as well. Hope it last as long as my still working 20 year old Denon receiver I am replacing it with. Note... this new receiver weighs less than half of my old one...

Pros: 4K HDMI, BlueTooth

Cons: Push clip speaker connections are terrible!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Palatka, FL on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is what I need for a simple 5.1 surround system. The receiver have all the power that is needed. It sound good and music can be streamed from my phone. It is easy to set up. I would recommend this receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Best available

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing unit and even better price!!! Best unit for the $$ extremely satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this receiver. It replaced my on Denon that should have been replaced a long time ago. I can now listen to FM with no static. The only issue is the setup is a little complicated. For setup should have TV and speakers in same room, however, I don't have that as my TV is in the bedroom and speakers in living room. Took it to friends house and he set it up and then brought it home and connected everything and wow got great sound coming from my Klipsch speakers. Thanks Crutchfield for recommending this receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Great deck

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CO on 6/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Denon Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, NY on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent product, easy to shop online, prompt free delivery, Perfect.

Pros: fast & secure

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs

Crutchfield customer from Fallbrook, CA on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to set up, sounds awesome and honestly, the picture on the TV is much improved over the receiver that I replaced. So glad I got this one!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Blackshear, GA on 5/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works great, easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent value!

David from Temescal Valley, CA on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent value! I ordered this AV receiver to replace a perfectly functional, but outdated Pioneer. For me, one of the key selling points was the numerous HDMI ports which would allow me to connect this to a newer TV. This did the trick for sure. I found it super easy to set up, and the tool that Denon includes to help get the EQ set up for my room was awesome. This unit sounds amazing with my older JBL speakers and a powered sub. My new Center Channel speaker will be arriving soon too so I'm excited to see what that does. Overall, this is an excellent receiver for the price paid!

Pros: Easy to use Lots of HDMI ports Easy to set up Sounds awesome

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Irondale, AL on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Is a great update from my previous receiver. Needed/wanted 4K scaling and Bluetooth (was behind the times). Sound is great and setup was painless.

Pros: Value Easy setup Audio calibration included Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Hayward R from Cincinnati, OH on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far this receiver has worked very well. Easy to set up and good value for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Chickasha, OK on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For the money this unit is good but it could use a little more power. I know, I know, I could have bought a more powerful one but I didn't want to spend the extra money. It had the features that I needed and the name stands on it's own. I tried the microphone system to set up the 5.1 surround but it left one rear speaker much louder than the rest so I set up myself. All in all I say this unit is well worth the money if you want an entry level sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Easy to Set up Denon AVR-S540BT

Rene from Vancouver, WA on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to set up. Product has performed excellently. Service from Crutchfield was outstanding. Product shipped promptly.

Pros:

Cons: Need to determine how best to connect old VCR to product.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Mount Arlington, NJ on 1/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little receiver. Everything seems to be working good after 2 weeks of having it hooked up with my Kef speakers. Not as powerful as I hoped but still plenty loud if I crank the volume past half way.

Pros: Easy to hook up and straight forward.

Cons: Perhaps a lack of power but not too much. Though I might be spoiled and asking for too much.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good Value For The Money

Gary from Greensboro, NC on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A good all around AV receiver for the money.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: No printed manual comes with it

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Brad from Smolan, KS on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's an awesome receiver. Great quality.

Pros: Clean and easy bto hook up.

Cons: It doesn't link up like my onkio did. I have to have two remotes for operation unlike before when TV, DVD and receiver would all run off one remote.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome Receiver!

Tick from Genoa, IL on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome receiver!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Huge bang for the buck. Thrilled

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Denon AVR-S540BT

Crutchfield customer from Destin, FL on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works Great! Replaced a Yamaha unit that went out after about 8 years of constant use. I hope this one last as long

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful